Sky Sports ruined my Saturday rituals….

This is, unashamedly, for Arsenal fans of a certain age. If you are not a Gooner do not read on, this is not for you.

My earliest recollection of going to watch Arsenal was when my dad took me to Highbury, for my birthday, more years ago than I care to admit to. After that, it soon became a weekly ritual and in the long week, from Sunday to Friday, leading up to the game on Saturday, I spent countless hours scouring as many newspapers as possible to glean even the smallest article about my beloved team.As Saturday came closer, the pent-up excitement and sheer exuberance was almost too much to bear.

Then Friday evening was spent getting my Arsenal shirt, scarf and bobble hat ready for the off, neatly folding and re-folding to ensure they were pristine, until my Mum yelled for me to turn the light out and go to sleep!
Saturday morning dawned, I leapt out of bed and hurtled into the shower and distantly heard other family members shouting at me “it’s only 4 a.m.”. Oh no! So, back to my room once more, squirming with the need to be quiet and patient, willing the hours to fly by. To pass the time, I got down my carefully stored box of Arsenal programmes, and equally carefully read thru my lovingly collected programmes, with the teams printed on the back cover.
Then, at last, the moment arrived! Everyone was up for a hurried breakfast; then I tore down to the shops to buy three papers, it had to be three papers or Arsenal might not win. Sports pages read, chores done, we were off.

Down to the tube station, tickets obtained, the journey had begun. Arriving at Arsenal (a tube station named after my club … Bliss); the fans surged off the train, and, with my dad’s arm wrapped protectively around me, we were squeezed into the long and slightly spooky passenger tunnel, until we emerged out of the exit onto Gillespie Road, like a human sausage. Not long now. Up Highbury Hill to the West Stand turnstiles, click, click we are in. Then, I am throwing myself up the stairs to grab my seat opposite the East Stand where the teams would eventually emerge, like a human snake.

The teams are out, the big hand on the Clock in the South Stand is ticking inexorably towards 3 p.m., the crowds’ singing is growing louder until, in a huge crescendo, the hand reaches the 3; the referee blows his whistle and the game is on.

Such joy, such ecstasy! I didn’t know it then, but no orgasm in later life would ever match that moment.
After the game, with hands, nose and feet frozen, it’s off to get a hot cup of reviving Bovril, before beginning the journey home. Did you see that tackle? I’m sure he was offside! I think Rocky Rocastle is brilliant, I want to play like him. My poor dad had to put up with my prattle all the way home. Home at last, exhausted, in time for the Grandstand sports report.
That ritual was repeated week in and week out, with the substitution of Beer for Bovril as I grew older. 🙂

Happy memories, indeed, but what is Sky’s connection?
Well nowadays, because of Sky’s schedules, the ritual of a Saturday 3 p.m. kickoff is almost a thing of the past. There is Saturday and Sunday lunch time kick offs; Saturday and Sunday evening Kickoffs and so everything has changed!
There is though an upside to this. As a passionate Gooner I love the fact that I can see, not just the home games, but also many away games, frequently shown on TV. Many Arsenal fans in Africa, America, the Philipines and all over the world can see the games and enjoy them too.

One final massive benefit is that it has led me, indirectly, to a great website, here at Avenell Road, where I can chat about all things Arsenal, with so many good friends and fellow Gooners, and share with them moments of serendipity and humour.

That is worth losing my Saturday ritual for.

Now, where are the morning papers with their rubbish but fascinating transfer rumours!

Written by Red Arse

209 Responses to Sky Sports ruined my Saturday rituals….

  1. rico says:

    Morning all, thank you for the post Red Arse..

    For fans like me who don’t get to The Emirates often, I guess I’m pleased in some way the televison coverage is there, otherwise I wouldn’t get to see the football.

    I certainly understand where you are coming form though, even though there is once sentence I think you are fibbing about 😉 😉

  2. Erick says:

    RA fantastic Article the scholar has done it Again by the way your swahili aint that bad 🙂 Rics hola 😉

  3. rico says:

    Hey Erick, hows tricks?? 🙂

  4. FamFam says:

    ….and Mr Rico,what is dat sentence pls?

  5. Erick says:

    🙂 Not bad at all Rics 😉 hope you have seen the Cesc interview I must say am not impressed whats up with El Captain

  6. Erick says:

    Is it me or are people in here using snake alot 🙂 its a by the way 🙂

  7. rico says:

    The good old cesc i/v Erick, i am not sure he’s truthing ….

  8. skwam says:

    masterpiece, the heading and the argument for it not worth your most wonderful memories as a young gunner

  9. Erick says:

    Rico they say the new president at the stains will personally be involved in the negotiation lets see how it sorts its self out

  10. rico says:

    hi skwam, you any memories to share??

  11. rico says:

    Whats the new presidents wishes though Erick, does he want cesc as much as laporta did?

  12. Erick says:

    Fam fam its Mrs Rico or Avenell not Mr. lol

  13. rico says:

    Erick 😉 I don’t get your 9.18 comment 😦

  14. Erick says:

    Rico the last time I got to see an Article about him he was to inquire where negotiation are at then I read he will be doing the negotiation so am not sure if he realy want Cesc

  15. Erick says:

    Rico the word snake has been used in here alot from the human snake in RA Post to K-tr7 calling some player a snake am not sure who it is hope you get it now Rico 🙂

  16. mikeB says:

    RA,

    Morning, and great read; I kinda suspected something along these lines, when you mentioned the post yesterday. Well done, and look forward to you taking this to the next level some time soon.

  17. rico says:

    Erick, i get it now, barca are full of smakes 😉

  18. rico says:

    Morning mikeB

  19. rico says:

    smakes = snakes 😉

  20. Erick says:

    There you go Rico 🙂 Mike B Morning to you

  21. mikeB says:

    Morning Rico

  22. rico says:

    Rosicky is being linked to a move to germany although he has dismissed it saying he is looking forward to our pre- season…

  23. rico says:

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>.

    This man has gone now then??

  24. Erick says:

    Any news on Kosciely (spelling) and Aw reckons Honda is the star of the Wc Rico your fear of the japanese names may haunt you if Aw goes for Honda

  25. mikeB says:

    If only others were as unequivocal.

  26. mikeB says:

    Morning Erick,

    mornings on here are a bit like the Royle Family welcoming visitors.

  27. Erick says:

    Rico a host of German clubs are inquiring about his service but he still a Gunner. Which man Rico?

  28. Erick says:

    Mike B that must be Rico welcoming visitors she got me with the welcome so it workr 🙂

  29. rico says:

    No confirmation yet but no doubt we will hear soon, i still hope he has a few more in the bag to announce at the same time…

    Honda has looked really good Erick….

  30. Naz says:

    Goosebumps mate goosebumps, the days of loyalty and pride in the shirt

  31. rico says:

    Look to the right of my comment about the man Erick.. 😉

  32. Erick says:

    Workr = works

  33. rico says:

    Naz, we need those days back, the loyalty and pride in the players who are lucky enough to wear the shirt…

  34. Red Arse says:

    Hi Rico, Erick, MikeB and new guys,

    I am flattered by your comments, so when I get slaughtered later I will remember what you said. 🙂

    I don’t know if any of you have frequented The Compton, or the Cock before games? We may have unknowingly bumped arms, bums or kneesies! Wouldn’t that be a scream. 🙂

  35. Erick says:

    Naz hope you got to read what Song said about the shirt My favourite player by far. Rico can’t see the man

  36. Erick says:

    Morning RA nobody can mess with a scholar like you 🙂 hope you get to use your swahili often 😉

  37. mikeB says:

    RA,
    I’m far too young to drink… I always thought you were.

  38. Red Arse says:

    Erick,

    Rafiki yangu Tafsiri yake kwa agili yangu. Nilifiki ingekuwa kukufanya lagh.

    He has just left laughing his head off, so I hope it is not rude! 🙂

  39. Red Arse says:

    MikeB,

    I am only there for the chat and the women. Arsenal women are the best! 😉

  40. rico says:

    mikeB, i think you fibbing… 😉

  41. Erick says:

    Ra your getting the hang of it ‘Asante sana shujaa wa masomo’ meaning thanks alot scholar 🙂

  42. mikeB says:

    I would never lie to a beautiful woman, Rico.

  43. Erick says:

    Rico be warned RA is in pursuit 🙂

  44. Erick says:

    Mike B @ 10:14 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  45. rico says:

    This is an interesting piece stolen from Young Guns…

    Arsenal have made the bold decision to pull out of the FA Premier Reserve League. The surprise move comes despite leaked details of a much needed revamp, which is set to come into play for the new season.

    The Gunners join Fulham, Stoke City, Birmingham City and Tottenham Hotspur in deciding to pull out of Reserves League, and will instead opt to arrange their own second string fixtures in the form of friendlies. The decision will see a complete overhaul of youth development at Arsenal, with those previously in the Reserve team now stepping up into the first-team as part of the 25 man squad rule. The Under 18′s will continue as normal, while a large number of players will be leaving on loan.

    The clubs prowess in the Reserves has been well documented, and it was thought that Arsenal would be one of the key participants in the new re-shuffled league. However, this move is a sign of the quality in the Academy, with players now poised for a quicker route from Under 18′s football into the first-team. The best players will be moved up to work with Arsène Wenger, while those just needing a little extra will leave on loan.

    Neil Banfield’s role should also adjust slightly. He is expected to focus more heavily on helping making the transition into the first-team a smooth one, while still taking the friendly games.

  46. rico says:

    I’m sure mikeB, but it was me 😉 😉

  47. Red Arse says:

    Rico,

    Got to leave you for a short while.

    MikeB has commissioned me to write another Epic Saga called “Why I am so successful with women!”

    Won’t take long.

    Erick I noticed your comments re snakes, and I am worried in case you pick up on the use of “sausage” in the article. There is only “le grand saucisse” aka Patrick Viera, so I am told. 🙂

  48. rico says:

    See you later RA

  49. rico says:

    Erick, the picture is of Laporta in his undies 😉

    Wonder why you can’t see it…

  50. Erick says:

    Sausages am afraid to use because where I come from they mean a different thing 🙂 Easy on the books RA peace

  51. Erick says:

    Rico am sorry I thought it was a name but if its the Pic I can see it 🙂

  52. rico says:

    Good Erick 😉

    Quiet old news day isn’t it, although the Sun newspaper are talking about Stevie Gerrard 😉

  53. Erick says:

    It is Rico I hope its not Steve G to RM 🙂

  54. rico says:

    Guys and Gals,

    I’m off for a bit, catch you all later before the big match 🙂

  55. rico says:

    Nah Erick, but I bet he goes after his holibobs, its about ssshh you know what 😉

  56. Erick says:

    Cheers Rico Take care 🙂

  57. Red Arse says:

    MikeB

    I have finished my autobiography or “Why am I so Successful with Women”.

    I can precis it for you; I am not!

    Well it’s not so much a precis; that’s it! 😉

  58. mikeB says:

    RA,
    The blurb looked good, but I guess that’s why they talk about books and covers.

  59. mikeB says:

    I see Barca are preparing a new bid for Cesc.

    I was just wondering; do you reckon they looked at the Arsenal website, saw them touting for bids for his number 10 Spain shirt, and got confused?
    Either way I think they’ve got more chance with the shirt.

  60. Red Arse says:

    MikeB

    Well Blurbs are about my level!

    Luckily, I only try and give Rico a break writing the odd article. V. odd. 🙂

    Give it a go Mike. You’ve read the how to book, so you would be a natural. (This message is a secret, just between you and I, Rico will skin me if she finds I have been sticking my nose in again). 😉 I think it’s called “proboscis elongus”. Well, that’s all the German I know.

  61. Red Arse says:

    Mike,

    I saw the headline Barca are preparing a new £40m bid for Cesc. They are like drunks at a party, they don’t know when to f*** off.

  62. mikeB says:

    RA,
    Thought the last article was good… needs taking to the next level though.

    As for the ‘proboscis elongus’, I have to presume the German connection harks back to the days of the Holy Roman Empire, or is that just too lateral?

  63. Red Arse says:

    MikeB,

    I love the allusion to the Holy Roman Empire, but no, I try not to appear (wrongly) to be too much of a “smartus dickus”, so the odd misdirection leaves people guessing. Except you, obviously. 🙂

  64. Red Arse says:

    Mike,

    I should perhaps say that I could never produce articles like young Rico does.

    She writes entertainingly, informatively and passionately, inviting comment and discussion from the reader.

    My articles are undoubtedly amateurish and “closed”, unless I specifically ask for comments, they do not come naturally.

    Todays article tried to link the “old” way of unquestioning loyalty and pride in supporting/ watching Arsenal, pre-Sky, with the current footie watching habits.

    I was sad to lose those ingrained routines but can acknowledge the widespread benefits to Arsenal fans worldwide, and our ability to chat to each other.

    I am more at ease producing “Board” papers and dispensing technical advice. V. different and not so much fun.

  65. Red Arse says:

    I am waiting for Agag to finish her evening meal and come and chat with us.

    Where is Avashnee? Where is Suhail? Where is KT? even the alpha male, aka Wath has disperacu.

    Look it isn’t that bad! 🙂

  66. Red Arse says:

    Well maybe it is!

    I am going to lay down in a dark room and think lascivious thoughts of VDV just to bug the girls. 😉

  67. mikeB says:

    RA
    don’t sell yourself short. You write well. The only criticism I would have is that you could perhaps have linked the nostalgia to some sort of ‘hot button’ of today, but it is easy to criticise and not so so easy to do. I enjoyed today’s post, and so I am sure will others when and if they ever get out of bed.

    As for my comments… I’m new to this blogging thing and so have to go slowly. I have a very dry sense of humour and have to find some way of tempering that for the blogging world, so it doesn’t come across as snide. I also have no idea how to do one of those faces that say ‘joke’.

  68. Red Arse says:

    MikeB,

    Three weeks ago, I was also a virgin so to speak. And like you I have a problem in that I can be v.flippant; meant to be funny but not always succeeding.

    Me too, re the “funny faces”. The regular guys here showed me how.

    Type 🙂 i.e. colon, dash and bracket. You will see them on your screen as you type them, but once they have whizzed thru the ether they will come out as a yellow fizzog. ) = Smile, ( = frown and so on

  69. mikeB says:

    RA,
    🙂

    Thanks for that… my life is complete… I think

  70. Red Arse says:

    MikeB

    : – ) leave no spaces, 😦 leave no spaces. Don’t run them together with words or you get:-) (no go).

    Lesson over, I hope! 🙂 😦 😳

  71. mikeB says:

    RA,
    now you’re just showing-off 😉

  72. Red Arse says:

    Sorry Mike,

    I had to pop out. There is one last part to the “yellow fellow” lesson. If you place your cursor over the face, you can see the typing strokes that make it work. So my blushing pink is : oops : (no spaces) 😳

    The faces do soften a comment and let others no you meant it to be amusing. It’s saved me from upsetting people, I suspect. (Maybe not Agag) 🙂

  73. Red Arse says:

    Mike,

    I think you are ahead of me, although your “wink” 😉 may have been a typo, altho it works with the extra – dash too.

    I know, you are bored, but lethally equipped to plight your troth to the lovely Rico. 😉

  74. SD-London says:

    Unbelievable guys, is the Arsenal world that dry today?

  75. mikeB says:

    RA,
    Much of my writing can be put down to simple typos, but as for the lovely Rico… 🙂 🙂 😳

    Thanks for the help.

  76. mikeB says:

    Hi SD-L,
    Not a bit of it… just killing time til you got here.

  77. Red Arse says:

    Your welcome Mike.

    I’m off again for a while, perhaps chat later?

    Now we can be rude to each other nicely, (as my mum used to say!) 🙂

  78. Red Arse says:

    SD,

    I didn’t see you there. How are you?

    The blogging world does seem quiet today, generally, altho my article probably hasn’t helped here! 🙂

  79. SD-London says:

    Your Article was more like a biography turned upside down.

    You first sounded like you missed the old days then you decided to love the influence of Sky sports on the game.Which i found funny , so there you go, your article was entertaining .

  80. rico says:

    Afternoon all

    Red Arse, stop pestering bloggers for posts, that’s mine, jj and ave’s job…. let them blog peacefully 😉

  81. rico says:

    Real Madri are going to offer £35M for RVP!!!!

  82. oliver says:

    rico, 35 mil for rvp falls into the 4 mil for song category. not worth comment.

  83. rico says:

    😆 oliver, top comment …

    off for a bit again, wont be long…

  84. SD-London says:

    Why does every body think they can just buy anybody from us.

    Real Madrid now ?They are jokers.

  85. Red Arse says:

    Rico, that was a secret pester. 🙂

    SD, not bothering to say “Hi” to me? Or to address me? I’m RA.

    Rico, fyi, MikeB and I were the only ones on the site for what seemed like hours, and we were exchanging helpful advice on writing articles, as there was sod all else going on.

    I’ll get my coat then.

    Bye

  86. SD-London says:

    I use to hate Chelsea oops sorry i meant the Chavs for blowing up the transfer market .I don’t hate them for that anymore but hate them mainly for their Chavy blue colour now.

    Any back to my point: If Real wants RVP they should simply bring £50Mil then we will sell gladly.

    I thank Chelsea(oops Chavs) for that , they started the madness.

  87. SD-London says:

    My appologies RA ,
    Hi 100 times.

  88. Red Arse says:

    That’s O.K. SD 🙂

    Without MikeB for company I would probably have gone bonkers it was so quiet. 😦

    I hate to say this, but I am not RVP’s greatest fan as a centre forward. He is too injury prone and is really an “in the hole” player. Like you, if RM waved £50m in my face I would take it for him. 🙂

  89. oliver says:

    we’re not going to sell robin. i doubt real is serious about this anyways – perhaps they are just trying to gauge interest on arsenal’s part. cesc and robin are both too important to our team – and our style of play – to be flogged off to the first team that comes knocking. i see other blogs have already jumped on this and some are saying that robin cannot get through a full season, so 35 mil represents good value. i will concede the point that robin has had more than his share of injury problems, but what we saw from him last season, up until that injury in the friendly, shows how valuable he can be. this is not championship manager where you can chop and change at will. once again, we have other sites that stare at trees while ignoring the forest.

  90. Red Arse says:

    Hi Oliver,

    You are right at £35m, but £50m would represent good value. It won’t happen, of course, so we don’t need to take real too seriously on this one.

    I think they were also trying to buy Clichy. With Gibbs coming along and with Traore in the background, I would be happy to get £35m for him!

    I’m waiting with bated breath to hear whether you liked or hated my article, or did you not read it? 🙂

  91. Erick says:

    Its about to start Van Persie come on

  92. Red Arse says:

    Thanks Erick. 🙂

  93. oliver says:

    ra, disagree on 50 million representing good value. i do not see this from the money standpoint – i see this from a continuity and cohesion standpoint. i think robin has developed into one of the best strikers in europe and has the potential to keep improving. selling him for 35, 50, 65 million, whatever, means that we have to retool things once again. i firmly believe we will never see the sustained run of success we all hope is just around the corner, if we coutenance selling our best players just because the money seems right. it takes time to build things, but the structure will never be completed if you keep selling your foundation.

    i liked your article – i was quite busy this morning and did not have an opportunity to comment earlier. my experiences attending matches at highbury (circa 93-6) were somewhat similar. i never held a season ticket, but back then, we were able to go to the box office and purchase tickets for upcoming matches. weekend day or weeknight fixtures, we would either hop on the rail from peterboro or huntingdon, ride to to finsbury park and walk to the ground. or drive down to cockfosters and take the picadilly line in.

    last match i attended was late september 1996, versus sheffield wednesday. 0-1 down at the half, platt and wrighty brought us back to 4-1. what i remember most about that night, however, was the arsenal debut of an unknown french kid, just signed from ac milan’s bench, named patrick vieira. he came on as a sub either late in the first half or early in the second, and we all started singing his name. he turned the game around and we won comfortably in the end. and this was the wednesday side that had started that season so well under david pleat – they had won 2-1 up at newcastle only a couple of weeks previously!

    would liked to have kept attending matches, but my professional life would not allow it. just over two weeks later, i relocated to japan and have not been back to england since.

  94. Red Arse says:

    Oliver

    I was at that match! What a fantastic turn around. Until Patrick came on we were just getting no where.

    Oddly enough, I had to go to Japan a couple of months later for a short 5 week business trip to Kyoto and Tokyo.

    I had been before, of course, but it never failed to amuse me that when we had a meeting, the Japanese always out numbered us 2 to 1, no matter how many we were. 🙂

    It’s a small world.

    (Robinho haas just scored, Hol 0, Brasil 1.)

    Thanks for the comment on the article. I was just kidding, but it’s nice to know. 😉

  95. rico says:

    Boring old game of footie on the television… 😉

  96. Red Arse says:

    Hi Rico,

    I thought Brazil look brill. Holland and RVP don’t look at the races. Gilberto looks ace, again

    I see Arsenal have just signed 3 Scholars to Professional contracts. Boateng, Deacon and Yennaris.

  97. oliver says:

    netherlands have been poor. is it me, or does it look like some of those players in orange do not want to pass to each other? brazil do not look any great shakes – and their diving antics are starting to annoy me – but the netherlands look like a collection of individuals who would rather not play together. at least, that is how i have seen this first half.

  98. Red Arse says:

    Oliver, change your mind and take the £50m for Robin. 🙂

  99. oliver says:

    nope. never in a million years. we all know his netherlands form is nothing compared to his arsenal form. apples and oranges, really.

  100. mikeB says:

    I agree Oliver, I think there’s no love lost between RVP and WS, and Robben seems to want to take all day.
    That said, I can’t believe the ref is allowing Brazil so much latitude. Robben was systematically fouled for the first thirty minutes and we saw one late yellow card. Just because they’re Brazil doesn’t mean you can’t book them. And this play-acting is getting on my nerves, bit like the sycophantic commentary.

  101. oliver says:

    mikeB, agree completely. i will add that they will never get anywhere with robben trying to dribble his way though five defenders on the edge of the box, he will lose the ball every time. unfortuately, kuyt looks like the netherlands’ best player – no way they can win under those circumstances!

  102. SD-London says:

    Oliver take the moneeeeey

  103. mikeB says:

    wouldn’t mind Melo though, tough as they come and what a through-ball; can’t understand what he’s been doing all season…?

  104. SD-London says:

    the world cup is back to where FIFA controls everything. last 8 and last 4

  105. DeiseGooner says:

    van persie out for 6 months!!

  106. DeiseGooner says:

    phew hes ok – the pitch cut up underneath him tho

  107. SD-London says:

    what!!

  108. SD-London says:

    dont do that DeiseGooner.

  109. SD-London says:

    Have a nice weekend everybody , i hope Holland wins just because of RVP but i will still take £50mil from Real. :mrgreen:

  110. rico says:

    Tongue in cheek re the game, Brazil should have this dead and buried by now, troubl in camp within dutch players??

    Oh, and RM can take a run a jump, but 50M could get me thinking…. But i think oliver is right, its about us rebuilding now around players who really want to be with us, well, apart from Almunia of course..

  111. rico says:

    See ya SD, have a good w/e yourself 🙂

  112. Red Arse says:

    DG

    The same thought flew thru my mind.

    RVP is a good lad but I just cannot see him surviving a whole season without injury.

    Brazil were the better team but they have become rubbish in the 2nd half.

  113. rico says:

    Wow, 2-1 holland…

  114. Red Arse says:

    Melo stood besides Sneider and simply watched him score. Sorry MikeB, me no like. 🙂

  115. rico says:

    RA, he’d fit in with us then, our defence do that 😉

  116. rico says:

    Bye Bye Melo ……

  117. Red Arse says:

    True Rico, but when your boat is holed below the waterline don’t make another one.

    Melo’s just been sent off, proving my point.

  118. Red Arse says:

    Rico,

    Nadal’s about to win the first set. 🙂

  119. mikeB says:

    Couldn’t believe that… thirty seconds after I said Melo looked good, he scores with an OG, Twenty minutes after that he gets himself sent off. Great pundit I’d make. LOL

  120. rico says:

    Well well well, what a shocker,

    mikeB, i was on your side re Melo, but most here don’t want him, now i’m not so sure either 😉

    RA, we’ll get someone in that midfield, but he sure as heck won’t have been near a brazilian shirt 😉

    One’s bad enough 🙂

  121. DeiseGooner says:

    everyone can have a bad game sometime guys. Melo was top notch in the other games but this one just went by him. Then when he did get involved it was out of frustration. Might knock a few mil of his pricetag though. 🙂

  122. oliver says:

    wow! some turnaround that!!

  123. DeiseGooner says:

    I still think we should get Loric Cana. Hes a right nutter.

  124. Red Arse says:

    Leave it to me guys. I’ll get you a good one. 🙂

    I’m having a word with Sissoko. Big, hard tackler, Athlete. He tells me he’ll probably end up with the Spuds or Citeh.

    Bugger. 🙂

  125. Red Arse says:

    DG

    Do you have shares in Cana? 🙂

  126. mikeB says:

    First game next season… I’m forecasting Gerrard to play a blinder. :_)

  127. mikeB says:

    Still haven’t got the hang of this… 🙂

  128. Suhail.TV says:

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay….
    ah..

  129. agirlagunner says:

    Hello, all. RA, I loved this write! 🙂 There’s something very Christmassy, can’t wait, can’t wait, can’t wait about Saturdays to me when we are scheduled to play. 🙂

    hola, rico! Barcelona v. Uruguay tomorrow, and Barcelona losing would make this a terrific WC for me. Wantaways, vuvuzelas, Jabulani and all. 🙂

    Hi DG, mikeB.

  130. agirlagunner says:

    I meant Paraguay.

  131. DeiseGooner says:

    No i just like the cut of his jib. 🙂 We have missed that energy and nastiness in midfield since Vieira/Flamini left – he has both

  132. oliver says:

    hello agag.

  133. Red Arse says:

    Hi Agag,

    Now don’t tell the others, but your opinion is what I was waiting to hear. Thank you. 😳

    Suhail, can we have a translation, please.

    MikeB, after working my keyboard to the bone to reach you 🙂 you give me a :_)

  134. mikeB says:

    See Sport UK are saying Melo’s agent claims contact from a PL Side, and that PL side is believed to be Arsenal.

    Normally I take no notice of these rumours, but given that he can head a ball into his own net better than Diaby, and given he got himself sent off to save injury before the match at Anfield, and given the fact that RA rates him only slightly than pond scum… I guess he’s on his way 🙂

  135. rico says:

    Hi agag, we know who you meant 😉

    mikeB, but who will he be playing for?? My guess is Real Madrid..

  136. Red Arse says:

    DG

    I like your description of Cana, but didn’t he tell us to bog off a couple of years ago?

  137. Red Arse says:

    MikeB you are giving pond scum a bad name. Shame on you! 🙂

  138. mikeB says:

    Rico,
    you could be right at that; Melo and ‘the special one’ have something in common… they both hate Italians.

  139. agirlagunner says:

    hola, oliver! How are you? STVeeeee, I take it you’re happy? 🙂

  140. Red Arse says:

    Funny thing that MikeB, I am not Italian and I hate both of them! 😦

  141. Suhail.TV says:

    There is always hope for the dutch if an unfit melo and old g.Silva was their midfield caretakers.. I wanted RVP to score and sneijder to be subbed. ULTA happened.

  142. Suhail.TV says:

    Delighted, Agag.. Last 20 minuts of game was one of the happiest time in futbol for me..(not stressful unlike arsenal.)

  143. oliver says:

    fine, thanks. our independece day bank holiday weekend is coming up, so i am trying to finish up and beat the dreaded dc traffic! still have a few more hours to go.

  144. Red Arse says:

    Avashnee must be quite ill, she hasn’t shown up for 2 days now. 😦

    Get well soon Ava. 🙂

  145. agirlagunner says:

    Haha, RA. I walked out in the middle of dinner once because I forgot we had an early kick-ff. I was eating one second, and I was out the door the next, with a hasty, I’ve to go, I’m watching Beloved Club.!

    STV, the Brazilians deserved to lose! They were kicking the Dutch to kingdom come. I almost (not quite, not quite) felt bad for Robben.

  146. mikeB says:

    Well that’s me folks… I’m off until Monday…
    Got a big, big birthday Sunday; Cathartic even (in the psychological sense that is); so will probably be comatose for the next two days…
    Have a good weekend.

  147. Red Arse says:

    Oliver,

    Have a great Independence Day! 🙂

  148. Red Arse says:

    Night MikeB, enjoy!

  149. oliver says:

    thanks ra. we are staying home this weekend. not going to brave the traffic and commotion. i have school work to do, my wife has some projects she is working on as well.

  150. K-TR7 says:

    Evening all!!!that was a very good game and it showed why i insist having a dribbler in the match,robben take a bow son.thats why i insist revitalising AA is vital!…i have crowed about furbizia here and today it was in play alot.i’ll give two instances:the robben short corner was well executed but the brazilians read it well.Another instance is any of you wonder how van bommell completed the game despite many fouls?when he did foul he would quickly hug a player diffusing the sitiuation before the brazilians could protest and the game continued.it may seem like a meaningless gesture but it was very well executed…if only we could get the duracell bunny in de jong…

  151. rico says:

    mikeB, i was on about Gerrard at Madrid, not Melo 😉

  152. agirlagunner says:

    rico, I find it hard to refer to YKW by name. And he goes by a diminutive, which implies a fondness and familiarity, which quite frankly, are alien to me now so… (Hell hath no fury like a fangirl scorned…)

    Oliver, good luck! Make sure you get some R&R on your extended weekend.

  153. Red Arse says:

    🙂 Agag 🙂

    And I thought the Phillipine society was male dominated!

    What an independent lady you are. Good for you. 😉

  154. rico says:

    mikeB, HB if its yours 🙂 21??? 😉

  155. Suhail.TV says:

    RA good article.. just read it now.. and the SKY is C..p

  156. rico says:

    night oliver, don’t study too hard, sneak in a beer or two and a peak at the footie…

  157. rico says:

    😉 agag, we need out of the cup, let him tell us he is staying, then i can call him a liar 😉

  158. Red Arse says:

    Sounds great Oliver.

    I have only been to Washington DC once, to a British Embassy business do.

    Didn’t see much of the city at all. 😦

  159. rico says:

    Hi KTR7, didn’t we nearly get Van Bommel a few seasons back?? It amazes me how he keeps going, as does Gilberto…

    Robins free kicks were up to his usual standard today 😆

  160. agirlagunner says:

    Try some GG, oliver. I promise, you’d like it. I’d tout its nutritional value but… Probably has little, if at all. 🙂

  161. K-TR7 says:

    Benayoun has joined the chavs…melo had 3 red cards and 14 yellows in Serie A last season…

  162. rico says:

    Guys and Gals, I’m having an early one, got a stinking headache…

    See you all tomorrow, enjoy your day/evening/night wherever you are…

    Thanks again for the great read today RA…..

    Stay safe all

    Nighty night

  163. Red Arse says:

    Hi KT.

    Thanks Suhail, i appreciate the comment. 🙂

  164. oliver says:

    thanks rico. appreciate the sentiment, i have not touched a drop of alcohol in almost seven years, and i am trying to keep that going. let me be clear that i have nothing against those who do have a beer or drink, but i choose not to and hope to keep it that way. thanks again, did not mean to get preachy on you.

  165. Suhail.TV says:

    Oliver.. You are good..

  166. Red Arse says:

    Rico,

    Sorry you don’t feel well. 😦 Hope a rest and good nights kip makes you feel better.

    Hope you are O.K. for tomorrow?

    Thank you for being so kind about the post, it does not match up with yours!

  167. oliver says:

    on a separate note – regarding cesc, of course – pep guardiola was specifically asked about cesc and he was quoted to the effect of do not ask me, cesc is an arsenal player. i hope this is not a “good cop, bad cop” act – probably not, guardiola has always seemed to keep his counsel on this issue. i wish others in his city would follow his example, but that is too much to hope for, i suppose.

  168. agirlagunner says:

    RA, Philippine society is matriarchal, actually. We only make men think they’re in control, when the truh is anything but… 🙂

    Nightynight, rico. One last: VDW is cute! 🙂

    Boo, KT! I still don’t know what furbizia is. 😦

  169. K-TR7 says:

    Rico i thought rvp struggled in the first half as did the whole dutch team.in the second half he drifted alot ‘breaking down walls’ for kuyt,robben and sneijder to run into.he also set up sneijder late on and he also set up robben who wasted their chances.he had some excellent touches and ball control at times.he may have not scored but was a vital cog in the machine.on freekicks the tourney has only seen 4 goals from direct freekicks…

  170. agirlagunner says:

    oliver, best stay away from the colored geese then… No turning back. 🙂

  171. K-TR7 says:

    RA sorry for not saying it earlier but your post was fantastic and always make for a good read.nothing better than watching the sunset as you relive the memories of the good old days…

  172. rico says:

    Thanks guys/gals

    agag – 😆 you are so so naughty

    RA, i’ll be fine, i get migraine every now and then, i’ll be good in a couple of hours, thanks though 🙂

    oliver, i’m envious 😦

  173. rico says:

    KTR7, i was just teasin about Robin and his free kicks…. 😦

    Def off now, night

  174. agirlagunner says:

    Feel better, rico. 🙂 These days, I only need to look at my desk at work, and a migraine attack is triggered. 😦

  175. Red Arse says:

    Agag,

    Matriarchal society? Men fooled into thinking they are in control?

    Same as over here then. 🙂

  176. agirlagunner says:

    I’ll let you in on a secret, RA. It’s the same the world over. 😉

  177. oliver says:

    agag, i have previously experienced red horse, ginebra, san miguel, soju, habusake, uzo. you name it, i have probably drank it previously. but i a no longer like that anymore. my wife seems to like how i am now, so…

    nite rico, hope you feel better. i am prone to migraines, so i know just how painful – and debilitating – a headache can be.

  178. K-TR7 says:

    Agag furbizia is cunningness in footy.as i have been mentioning the germans and italians are the most prominent for this.Robben’s short corner was very clever but the brazilians read it well.in the 08-09 season giggs and rooney executed a similar move against the chavs,it ended up producing a goal.Henry did the same;he scored from early freekicks which is another example of furbizia.

  179. agirlagunner says:

    oliver, I’m impressed, of the tipple you ticked off, I have only ever tried San Mig. 🙂 It can only be a good thing if the wife is pleased. 🙂

  180. Red Arse says:

    Agag,

    You and Rico are far too smart for any of us men. 😦

    KT thanks for your support.

    Actually I was really trying to say that, much though they are lovely memories, the way things have worked out I have met you guys, thru the net, and I can’t tell you how much I value being exposed to a worldwide viewpoint and genuine Gooners.

    It is v. humbling! 🙂

    By the way, COME ON Ghana! 🙂

  181. agirlagunner says:

    Oh. So furbizia is what Henry and Pires tried to pull off… and botched… against citeh in 05?? 😉

  182. Suhail.TV says:

    Am off … good night all..
    Sweet dreams..

  183. Red Arse says:

    Agag,

    Come and visit us over here, (subject to the necessary other half permission, which should not be difficult in your case). 🙂

    We will make sure you try all possible alcoholic goodies. Wath would make it his mission in life. 😉

  184. Red Arse says:

    Night, Suhail, good to chat to you! 😉

  185. oliver says:

    what a total loser myles palmer is! not only is he running an active campaign to drive arsene away from our club, his world cup “reporting” is plumbing new lows. his provocative headline, calling the dutch “thugs” says it all – i am sure he means the thug robben, who had lumps kicked out of him all match, and wrongly got melo sent-off by savagely assaulting melo’s boot with his thigh! if the brazil players spent the second half pissing and moaning to the referee about every decision – even the ones he gave in their favor – well, what is the problem there?

  186. Red Arse says:

    Oliver,

    You are a scream. That is brilliant! 😉 Another side of you, clever humour. 🙂 More please.

  187. oliver says:

    ra, do you at least agree on myles, though?

  188. agirlagunner says:

    RA, it is lovely here. Lots of opinions and a good atmosphere. rico, and JJ and ave are great!

    Will sort out my visa first. 😦 First world countries are inherently suspicious of third world country travelers. 🙂 🙂 🙂 Good thing, there’s much to see in Asia; otherwise I’d feel so deprived.

  189. Red Arse says:

    Agag,

    I’m starting to think of having an evening meal.

    Tempt me. What could I expect as a traditional Phillipine, Filipine meal?

    My mouth is watering! 😉

  190. oliver says:

    ra, try sinigang. that is one of my wife’s favorite dishes to make. so many people i know think philippine cuisine is just adobo, pancit, and lumpiang shanghai – that is so wrong! sinigang, pinakbet, and fresh-caught bangus!

  191. agirlagunner says:

    Palmer’s an idiot. And the Brazilians ‘outrage’ at calls perceived to favor the Dutch was quite frankly, hysterical.

  192. Red Arse says:

    Oliver,

    I like to think behind the obvious with Myles. What is driving him?

    I’m not defending him because on the face of it he is a Wally. He gets huge stick here (UK) and I want to think the best of the underdog! 🙂

    If you don’t know what a Wally is, let me know! 😉

  193. oliver says:

    ra, i do not really know what the deal with myles is – he is so stridently anti-arsene now…fair enough that arsene has made his share of mistakes – but who has not? many of myles comments during the past season were downright poisonous. now the headlines of his stories seem to be provocative more than anything – perhaps he just wants attention?

  194. Red Arse says:

    Oliver,

    I still don’t know what that food is, but my imagination has run riot and I am almost dribbling! 🙂 Not eaten since this a.m. 😦

    By the way MikeB, you seem to have disappeared, unanounced! O.K. slight distortion of English, I admit. 🙂

  195. K-TR7 says:

    Agag i think that was more of a pires miss…let me give you more examples;most italian defenders have specialized in halfway line fouls that normally go unpunished since according to the rules its not a dangerous zone on the pitch.italian forwards have retaliated by maximising contact/diving where they feign an injury and this will force the referee to punish an offender even if its the slightest of contact.this tactic has spread like cancer all over even to international level…another instance was in Germany 06 worldcup when italy met Germany.there was a tussle in between ballack and gatusso.Gatusso insulted ballack enticing him to react but ballack kept his cool.gatusso then hugged him and ruffled his hair when he saw ballack wasn’t going to react.in the final Materazzi taunted Zidane who reacted with a headbutt getting himself sentoff.there are no rules against insults in between players and certainly no video replay can ascertain what was said.furbizia is a tool that exploits the loopholes in the rules.

  196. Red Arse says:

    You could be right Oliver, about Myles.

    I had better go as the empty stomach, wine and the need for food is driving me dipsy. 🙂

    Don’t want Agag to think the worst of me! 😉

    Night guys.

  197. oliver says:

    agag can describe them much better than i. for my two cents, sinigang is a sour broth with boiled pork, plenty of veggies, served with steamed rice. bangus is the national fish, also known as “milk fish”, and pinakbet is a dish with eggplant, otong (green beans), bitter veggies, and diced pork, also served over rice. i think some of these foods are prepared different according to region – my wife is igorot, so most the native dishes she cooks have a nothern luzon flavor.

  198. JonJon says:

    evening guys

    i tend not to critise myles too much…hes got alot to say and a lot of it is correct but he tends to include a lot of predjudice in his write ups and it goes against him…

    great piece RA, enjoyed reading it..im always interested to know why ppl became fans of the arsenal..

  199. agirlagunner says:

    And kare-kare (stewed oxtail/beef/tripe in peanut sauce with vegetables and bagoong (fermented shrimp); and lengua in cream sauce; and caldereta (beef stew; tomato sauce-based); and bulalo (bone marrow and beef soup); and lechon kawali (deep fried pork belly); and … now, I’m getting hungry…

  200. oliver says:

    so am i. how about some biko and coffee for desert?

  201. JonJon says:

    egg n chips 😉

  202. agirlagunner says:

    I’m really hungry now, oliver… 😦

    KT, haha. That doomed Henry-Pires move would have been furbizia, except it backfired. My sense is “cunning” means dirty(ish) tactics. I wish we played a little bit more (not too much) of that. Instead, we top the Fair Play League. LOL.

    Hi, JJ…

  203. oliver says:

    hi jj, i certainly agree that myles has often made good points, but many are overshadowed by what seems to be excessive bitterness.

    ra, wally means a number of different things to me. is your reference anything to do with myles’ lifetime in the music industry?

  204. K-TR7 says:

    Is it just me or did it seem like palmer bet his house on Brazil to win the wc?he is so bitter…!hi jj…

  205. JonJon says:

    i prefer myles to the posts some bloggers write about in the cybersphere..

    its probably just me but im the sort of guy who likes to tell it as it is and i like bloggers who have the same attitude..

    i prefer to read posts by ppl who aint afraid to speak their mind…

    theres three types of bloggers…theres the extremist view of nothing is right, theres the middle ground view and theres the other end of the spectrum where theres nothing wrong and everyone is lovely and adorable and god bless arsenal and denilson and wenger is the messiah

    the bloggers who bury their heads in the sand and every post is arsenal are great and we have 100 world class players piss me off more than myles does and dont forget that myles is not really an arsenal fan so his views are meant to be sensationalistic…

  206. Red Arse says:

    Hi JJ,

    I fainted after I read what Oliver and Agag were describing! 🙂 Sounds absolutely delicious. Mmmm

    Thanks for your comment on my piece JJ, appreciate it. 🙂

    Got to go and find some sustenance ………

    Agag, you are such a tease! Fermented shrimp, deep fried pork. (note to self, stop drooling); and Oliver you are just as bad. 🙂

    JonJon, egg and chips don’t compete! 🙂

    Tomorrow guys.

  207. JonJon says:

    egg n chips is my speciality RA..

    sounds like you guys have appeared on masterchef though..rico would love it if she was here, sometimes when i read what shes cooking up for supper its like shes won masterchef.. twice

  208. Red Arse says:

    That girl is a star JJ. 🙂

    You know she is not well, I suppose. Hope she is O.K. tomorrow.

    Got to go JJ. Tired and starving.

    Bye 🙂

  209. rico says:

    Morning all

    New Post

Leave a Reply

