Damned transfer rumours, I Hate them, OR do I?

We get “rumours” or “reports” every Transfer Window; Arsenal are linked to this player or that. The heart soars only to be disappointed in the cold light of day by the unreality of the stupid rumour.

Where do these reports come from? Well they breakdown into distinct types.

Denis Hill Wooden-top announces Arsenal have money to spend, if Arsene wants to buy someone.
Immediately some fan knows someone at the club who says Le Prof was in Paris and seen talking to a well-known Centre Back. This is then reported as fact. Headlines appear, Arsenal are “tracking”, “eyeing” or “monitoring” said player, Subotic/Kjaer, for a “reported” fee of £30 million.
Wow, fantastic! But, hold on, so also, reportedly, are Man City, Manure and Chelsea, let alone Barcelona, Real Madrid and Inter Milan. Now how likely is Arsenal to outbid these clubs? Not at all? Nada? “Chance” and “fat” spring to mind! HATEFUL disappointment.

Then there are the Agents who are trying to negotiate new contracts for their clients. You know, “Mussolini/ Buffoon” the well-known Italian keepers are in “discussions” with Arsenal and are flattered by the interest. Wow … Brilliant; no more Almunia: except that the report is quickly followed by another in which said Agent denies any contact with Arsenal. HATEFUL disappointment.
Then there is a report that Le Prof has said about this player or that, “I like him” and “I have known about him for a number of years”. Yay, no more Denilson/Diaby — great; but wait, the player says he has heard the rumours but knows nothing directly. HATEFUL disappointment.

Then, worst of all, an irresponsible, discourteous, underhand director of (let’s say) Barcelona, bangs on about the irresistible lure of Barca for your best player, who goes all coy and says that he would like to play for Barca, “one day”. In fact so irresistible is this lure that they will honour us by offering 1/3 rd of the value of said player. HATEFUL disappointment.

But wait, actually, I find I am beginning to strangely love hearing about these rumours. I can delight in those linking us to this or that fabulous player, even if only briefly; I can rail and moan to my friends and relatives about the appalling injustice of some of these stories; and during a very quiet transfer window I can go on the net and seek out my fellow fans and chew the fat, ad nausea, regarding the merits or otherwise of this or that rumour. Bliss!

I love Arsenal and even these nonsense reports help to bridge the gap between seasons.

Written by Red Arse – the first of many I hope 🙂

100 Responses to Damned transfer rumours, I Hate them, OR do I?

  1. rico says:

    Morning all

    Thanks for the post RedArse 🙂

    Now I’m going to read it, quite topical I believe baring in mind all the news around about keepers and Gallas…

  2. rico says:

    You are spot-on RA, reminds me of one of my favourite songs…. just for you all……………

    Arsene Wenger is my Buttercup!!!!

  3. rico says:

    Gallas says no to Juve

    We have upped our bid for Schwarzer according to many reports, I guess the old chap is a fill in until Chesney matures, surely this spells the end for our Spanish keeper….

  4. rc says:

    anyone fancy ryan nelson as centre half from black burn to the emirates, could do worse!!

    waht about Samir Handanovic as a goalie did well last night against the england team!!

  5. rico says:

    hi rc, i thought the keeper had a good game last night to, i wonder if he could have done better for the goal but after that he was pretty solid..

    i don’t know enough about nelson to comment..

  6. rico says:

    Hi Avashnee, I am 🙂

  7. Marko says:

    I’m signing for Arsenal, I’m unknown to you all but I’m a centre half, both footed with a crunchier than a crunchie tackle on me. I attack balls coming into the box, I’ll fight my own players to win. I hit a thunderous free kick. Hope your all excited to have me play for you.

  8. Nedu says:

    Hi rico and co. Nice post ra. There’s just an air of disappointment anytime we hear a rumor and it turns out to be nonsense or atleast wenger flatly denies it! Anyone seen Inler in this competition, he was great against spain, rugged with his skin cut hehe.

  9. rico says:

    Incey, you poor old thing Avashnee, Incey!

  10. rico says:

    Hi Nedu, i think RA’s post sums up just what a roller coaster ride we go on each summer, January is nearly as bad too…

  11. rico says:

    Marko, don’t get too excited, we’ll miss out on you on the last day of the window…

  12. Nedu says:

    Ha! By me january is worse-just that we get to play some footie. Marko thats a pretty impressive CV. But something is missing-can u get injured for 4months?

  13. rico says:

    Everton have said centre-half Phil Jagielka is not for sale and have turned down an £8m offer from Arsenal.

    Anyone honestly believe this one….. 8M!!!!

  14. Red Arse says:

    Hi Rico

    well it’started, Moyes says that Jagielka is a no-goer for Arsenal and he is going to do his damndest to keep Pienaar.

    That’s the other side of these transfer rumours, journalists forget to ask the players club first. (Not that it mattered with Fabregas.) 😦

  15. Red Arse says:

    Rico

    you probably noticed that your man Van the Fart may be on the move from Real. Arsenal were heavily linked with him, subject to Fab going but I see that Manure are now the favourites.

    Hang on, Didn’t old purple nose say that he would not be buying any one this transfer window, having bought the Mexican boy wonder?

    That’s the trouble, it’s not just the journos, it’s also the mangers who speak with forked tongue. 🙂

  16. rico says:

    Hi RA, did your email find you in the end?

    Thanks big time for the post, hope you like the little line after your name 🙂

    Re Jag’s, Moyes said the same about Lescott but lost him in the end, can’t see us going after him for mega bucks though… I would love us to get him or Cahill, bit of British at the back….

    Bob Wilso has said we were looking at Howard before he went to the mancs, but his medical situation prevented the club from taking it further…

  17. rico says:

    VDF RA 🙂 Just the player we need, him and RVP 🙂

  18. rico says:

    😆 Nedu, poss too old too 🙂

  19. Nedu says:

    The journos have to sell papers. I doubt if phil was even considered. Remember when Cana signed for Sunderland, he was linked with us profusely but he was not even considered! The papers just pick up somebody they think we might need and then start talking rubbish.

  20. Red Arse says:

    Hi Rico, Nedu, Avashnee and other Gooners,

    Thank you for your little note at the end of the article Rico. I’m flattered. An especial thanks too for the song. What a lovely touch, right on the button.

    I did not get your email, must be lost in the ether! 🙂

  21. rico says:

    That’s just it Nedu, that why I think the post is spot on, its just paps, agents or a n other stirring up a story to make headlines…

    And we all love it 🙂

  22. rico says:

    RA, your smoothness is rubbing off on me 😉

    I will re-send the email and keep my fingers crossed 🙂

  23. oliver says:

    morning ra and friends….good post, transfer rumours usually serve everyone’s interest EXCEPT the club’s supporters. some are amusing, some are annoying, most never materialize…nice work – i shall not be coming out of my shell anytime soon.

  24. Eddee says:

    Morning Rico!

    I kinda like rumours, maybe because of their untruthful nature, I don’t really know! But I like the tone, and I appreciate the fact that salient issues aren’t allowed to die naturally.

  25. rico says:

    Hi eddee and oliver

  26. Eddee says:

    Thanks for the inspiration. I’m gunner write a post on why I like transfer rumours.

  27. Nedu says:

    Why hasn’t anyone said a thingy about England’s game yesterday? That goal had a bit of ‘in ya face!’ expression to the ‘keeper.

  28. Eddee says:

    @Nedu – at least it went in and England are through, unlike a vast majority of the African contigent.

  29. oliver says:

    Nedu, I congratulated England and their supports at the final whistle yesterday. No disrespect, but as I am not English, I personally cannot care less how the team does.

  30. rico says:

    Nedu, as much as the paps like to get all excited about the england win, i didn’t think the performance was that much better, a few players are still ‘missing’ and if they hope to beat germany they will need a great improvement…

  31. rico says:

    oliver, i’m english through and through but i couldn’t care much either 😉

  32. Red Arse says:

    Hi Oliver, Eddee,

    I’m sure Rico would encourage you to write an article. If I could do it, I’m sure you can too. 🙂

    Talking of inspiration, I was thinking of writing something about the “worrying” trend for managers to have girls’ first names. I’m not being sexist, it’s just that men with the “wrong” first names have often caused us gooners irritation.

    For example, Joan Laporta, Sandra Rosell, (both Barca) Alice Ferguson (Manure) and so on. 😉

    Anyone got any other suggestions? Poetic licence permitted. 🙂

  33. oliver says:

    rico, perhaps i would feel differently if arsenal were represented on that team, but we are not, so… besides, the team’s composition makes it very easy for me to strongly dislike them – too many characters that inspire nothing but contempt…usa are into the next round, that is what i care about at the world cup. that, and individual arsenal players doing well and returning for pre-season training intact!

  34. Eddee says:

    Rico, have you heard of the latest rumour? I hear Van Persie is on Inter’s wishlist, ha ha ha – this summer’ fake transfer proceedings is really heating up.

  35. Red Arse says:

    Oliver,

    My views co-incide with yours to a large extent, vis a vis; no Gunners representation in the England team, and the unpleasant and undeserving characters from other Premier League teams. Where I differ is that credit should be given, at a footballing level, to a job well done.

    I really am chuffed that an unfancied team (U.S.A) suddenly, against all the odds, come thru in the last minute. Excellent!

    I also wanted Ghana to win and although I have no time for Maradona ( I don’t like his version of “Like a Virgin”) I love watching Argentina, especially Messi.

    In other words, during the World Cup, I love good, exciting football wherever I find it, whatever the country. Sounds a bit pompous, but I don’t mean it like that. 🙂

  36. Red Arse says:

    Eddee

    I suppose that if you are a good player (RVP) it is no surprise that someone would like to “pinch” you.

    But I am quite confident that story is yet more rubbish. RVP is Arsenal thru and thru. YAY! 😉

  37. oliver says:

    ra, i agree that credit should be given for accomplishment, and i felt i did that yesterday when i congratulated the england team/england supporters on this forum. i just cannot get enthused about the england side – they are not my country and the side is stocked with players i dislike. to me, that has no bearing on whether i give credit or not – just that i will not take in interest in their results.

  38. Red Arse says:

    Fair enough Oliver, my comment was not meant as a personal criticism. (when you read my stuff always think the best. When I disagree strongly with someone, it will be self-evident)

    You did post your congratulations yesterday, and as I said we are in agreement on your other points.

    I was simply extending that view, based only on the style of football, or wanting African teams to well in “their” WC.

    However, much though I might enjoy a game I won’t lose sleep if a country, other than my own, gets knocked out. 🙂

  39. Red Arse says:

    Rico, have you buggered off to watch Wimbledon? It’s the nobbly knees for you, isn’t it? 😉

  40. oliver says:

    ra, thanks for the clarification – i perceived that you were making the point about england, not teams in general, hence my response. i now see what you were saying and i definitely agree…

  41. Red Arse says:

    Oliver,

    No, I hold no especial brief for England but they came into the category of a team under pressure doing well. like you, I am not keen on either the composition of their team, nor the style.

  42. Red Arse says:

    Oliver,

    Looks like we are the onlt two left and I have to go out.

    Just read that the Koscielny deal has been delayed because Arsene has left his Blackberry, in England, and can’t read the small print on the deal agreed by Gazidis.

    Is that Bizarre, or what? 🙂

  43. rico says:

    i’m here RA, just busy watching tennis, faffing around with other jobs etc 😦

    inter can take a hike eddee

    oliver, come on, you know you want to give us a post 🙂

  44. rico says:

    ‘you cannot be serious’ about your last RA ?

  45. Red Arse says:

    Hi Rico,

    Re the koscielny thing I saw it on one of my screens. Can’t remember where though.

    Although wierd, it could well be true. Crikey!

    Later.

  46. rico says:

    later RA 🙂

  47. oliver says:

    hahahahaha…sport.co.uk just came out with something “quoting” koscielny’s agent to the effect that everything should be a go on that particular transfer, except that arsene cannot review the latest proposal because he did not bring his blackberry to south africa…that’s original…in my opinion, arsene should upgrade to an iphone. iphone 4g goes on sale today here in the us…eventually i will upgrade to that (trying to convince my wife to replace her razr with one), when my 2g finally conks out.

  48. oliver says:

    rico, it seems that ra and i posted the crack-berry thing at the same time. if arsene had an iphone – club-issued or personal – he would have brought it with him….lol

  49. rico says:

    I thinks thats real funny oliver, almost too funny to be true 🙂

    who needs a blackberry, eh,…..

  50. agirlagunner says:

    Bravo, RA! Now you’re not just “Anyone”, now you’re “Someone Who Writes”. I love and hate transfer rumors in equal measure.

    I love that song too, rico. Old skool and fun.

    oliver, you a techie? I am the least technologically current person I know. Maybe because I haaaate Math and phones and keyboards have numbers… 🙂

  51. oliver says:

    hi agag, nope, i am not a techie…sometimes i wish i am, but i do appreciate a good phone. and if arsene cannot be arsed to bring his crackberry with him, perhaps that is a less-than-ringing endorsement for that device….i think the story is bizarre and a bit funny as well….

    arsenal cannot be arsed? did i actually say that?

  52. agirlagunner says:

    Hey, Avashnee! Before the stains started tapping YKW up, Spain first (YKW, Torres 🙂 Villa), then the Dutch second (don’t like Robben, Sneijder). I changed my mind after Xavi’s well-documented fixation with YKW’s DNA; that blabbermouth is lucky he’s not met me. I will, in all seriousness, smash his jaw to smithereens. That seems to be the only way to shush him.

    Oh and I am normally even-tempered, btw. But talk of the stains = hypertension. 🙂

    And you?

  53. rico says:

    Hi agag, we are looking forward to a post from you too 🙂 and how about you Avashnee??

    Just sat waiting for the tennis epic to continue …

  54. agirlagunner says:

    oliver, that is a funny story. Maybe, AW’s on the stains’ speed dial; and he’s grown weary of taking their calls. 🙂 A cheapskate never much likes another.

    rico, I think I’ll write the farewell to YKW (are we even surprised I’m choosing YKW?). If I say he’s going, then maybe he won’t. Haha.

    Ava, hmmmm. I do like that idea!

  55. oliver says:

    agag, you may want to hold off on eulogizing “you know who” – after all, he is still arsenal captain.

  56. agirlagunner says:

    Brazil are always a good bet, Ava. Why do we have Denilson instead of Gilberto again?

  57. oliver says:

    i always liked gilberto and never liked how arsene handed the post-thierry captaincy issue…i understand gilberto losing his first-team place to flamini probably had something to do with arsene’s choice, but i consider gallas to have been a poor captain. i certainly was not impressed when i head gilberto talk about how he we found out about the decision. i always saw him a class guy and thought he deserved better from arsene and the club.

  58. agirlagunner says:

    oliver, I’d be happiest if he were going to stay. If he does not go, I don’t even have to write. 🙂

    Kidding, rico. I don’t have feelingly felts at the moment, you see. 😦

  59. agirlagunner says:

    Gilberto is a true gentleman. 😦 AW made a mistake letting him go.

  60. agirlagunner says:

    Take care, Ava. See you soonest.

  61. Paulie says:

    Schwarzer……why?

    I am struggling to see the point in this transfer…. I KNOW he’s not a bad keeper but surely with the ( alleged ) money we have we should be going in for someone better? Even if it’s just a show of intention? I still think Lloris for between 16 and 20 mil would be a bargain even if France did have a bad world cup, he looks like a quality keeper

  62. Red Arse says:

    Hi Agag

    Thank you for making me an honorary “someone”. Now it’s your turn! (smiles slyly and polishes his “someone” badge) 😉

    I think a blog from you in an “Agag” style would be serendipity. (he puts metamorphorical arm around Agag’s shoulder, thinking pure thoughts).

  63. rico says:

    spot on RA, agag, you cannot wait until ykw goes, that should be another 5 years 😉

  64. agirlagunner says:

    lol, RA. I’ll get around to it, one of these days. 🙂 Before rico bans me from commenting to death, but not pulling my weight in 🙂

    I have added Pedro to my hitlist, btw. Absolutely no class. Oh, the stains will get their comeuppance, I am sure of it. And not a day too soon!

  65. K-TR7 says:

    Afternoon all.Italy going out!3 one down and the game is ending!…

  66. oliver says:

    italy are out…the finalists from the 2006 wc have both been eliminated at the first group stage – can anyone recall that happening before?

  67. K-TR7 says:

    Italy have pulled one back but they are out anyway!its surprising cannavaro won the world player of the year 4 years ago…he was poor in all the games…

  68. oliver says:

    never thought cannavaro deserved the world player of the year. i will not miss this italy sides’ negativity and cynicism either. full marks to slovakia, they were the better side over the 100 or so minutes they wound up playing.

  69. rico says:

    Blimey riley, Italy are gone…..

    agag, i would never do that 😉

  70. K-TR7 says:

    Lippi brought this onto himself oliver.this is the worst italian squad i’ve seen.he picked players like gatusso who aren’t regulars in the clubs while snubbing flair players like cassano/balotelli/micolli.he also ignores young players like rossi.i hope prandelli changes things since italians are always fascinating to watch…

  71. rico says:

    the tennis m,atch is finally over, sadly, the french geezer lost 😦

  72. oliver says:

    k-tr7 agree with you here. prandelli is new blood, at least and that may correspond with younger/different players coming through. at least he may not feel beholden to the veterans of the 2006 wc winners. didn’t lippi’s juventus teams get stale on him during both spells he had in charge. i know he won several scudettos there, but if i remember correct, on both occasions the end looked similar to what we saw today.

  73. Suhail.TV says:

    Hello all.. an exiting second half.. Italy played like jeuventus(current) in WC..

  74. Suhail.TV says:

    Mahuth..Rico, Nicholas Mahuth follows Nicholas Anelka to France.. 😦 work rate however is different.

  75. rico says:

    Hi STV – shame they are on their way home though 😉

  76. Suhail.TV says:

    As far as the transfers.. We can not even compete with Spurs Villa or even Sunderland these days..

  77. Red Arse says:

    Hi Rico ma cherie,

    If I am repeating this I apologise, but Avenell threw me out. Little devils. 😦

    I think Agag, known throughout the world for Agagisms, is weakening and a super dooper article is on the way. GO Agag ma petite choux. 😉

    Now all we need to do is work on my friend Oliver. An article from him, (with paragraphs), would be really interesting! 🙂

  78. Suhail.TV says:

    Curtis Davies and Loric Cana

  79. Red Arse says:

    Rico

    I haven’t received your email. Did you use a carrier pigeon? To get my own back, I have sent one to you, which probably won’t arrive either! 🙂 🙂

  80. oliver says:

    someday

  81. Red Arse says:

    Suhail

    Curtis Davies and Loric Cana, … What? 🙂

  82. rico says:

    I am dissapointed about the email RA, i was just saying a huge thank you in it 😦 😦

    STV, he had a totally different attitude towards tennis than his footballing team mates…

  83. Red Arse says:

    Rico, oh love of my life, you have already been so kind. 🙂

    I have really sent one to you! Hope it gets there.

    Having been cast into the ether by Avenell, I have now come back with my old Red Square tag! Yay!! 😉

    Where is my man Wath? He should have recovered after imbibing after the England win, or his friends vineyard. (Never asked me to go! 🙂

  84. Red Arse says:

    Rico

    Where is Erick?

    Suhail is not talking to me, why? 🙂

  85. rico says:

    RA, the email address for the site goes to Avenell, not me 😦

    WATH is still freezing his doo daa’s off in SA, he’s not home for a few days yet… The old git still refuses to write for us….

  86. rico says:

    Not sure on Erick, its exam time so he could be real busy…

  87. Suhail.TV says:

    Hello RA.. 🙂 They are the players we missed to villa and sunderland

  88. Suhail.TV says:

    Rico, Exams..for Erick.. again.. these stuffs are not alloed during a world cup..

  89. Red Arse says:

    Rico

    The addresses I have are the Avenell one and Dave’s.

    Never mind, I am sure it will all wotk out. 🙂

    I return from my short sojourn, and everybody buggers off. I did have a shower this morning guys. 😦

  90. Red Arse says:

    Hi Suhail,

    Thanks for that. I actually have always had a soft spot for Curtis. He is a big Gooners fan, and a fine CB, although injury prone. 😦

  91. Red Arse says:

    oliver, speak to me! It’s lunch time … no excuses. 🙂

    Agag, it’s still light over there. Where are you? I think I am going to watch the cricket if you don’t talk to me! 😦

  92. Suhail.TV says:

    And AW hoped for cana and saw him as a replcement for flamini.. and sunderland signed him for..for… ~>5M

  93. Red Arse says:

    O.K. I cannot compete with bloody Wimbledon! I hope Nadal loses. 🙂 🙂

  94. Red Arse says:

    Suhail you are right, of course.

    I have got the hump with these tennis fans so I am off. Speak to you tomorrow! 🙂

  95. Suhail.TV says:

    Signed no mid fielders and left us to see Denilsen passing sideways and passing it again sideways

  96. Suhail.TV says:

    Bye all…

  97. rico says:

    Night STV, I am here, honest, just busy 😦

    RA, if i could get an email to you then you will have mine, but your email address is obviously like Basil… it’s Fawlty 😉

  98. rico says:

    Now im back, youve all buggered off 😦

  99. rico says:

    All quiet so I’m off to watch tennis, cricket and footie, see you folks tomorrow…

    be good, night all 🙂

Leave a Reply

