So you think your Arsenal……………!

 

I bumped into a friend of mine a few days ago, she’s been a Gooner for years, not quite so far back to Herbert Chapman, but certainly through the George Graham era and beyond. She has also been a season ticket holder throughout that whole time and up until today.

She’s knocking on a bit now, but loves a good time, loves to be able to sit (used to love standing) and shout from her heart the support she held for our club, our players and of course, our team…

Since we moved to The Emirates though, her life in the Arsenal World has changed, she’d never been used to seeing people arrive after the first kick of the match, or leave before the final kick of the game…

‘The atmosphere just ain’t the same’ she said, ‘and the boys just don’t seem to have the heart they did years ago’.

She asked me a few questions about what goes on today, it made me think….

I chuckled with her, but all the same, deep down I knew what she said made sense. Things have changed, some for the better, much for the worse…

Do you feel the same as she or do you,

Get to the game ten mins late………………?
Leave 15 mins early…………………?
Do you  know where Highbury was….?
Do you know who David Rocastle was……….?
Can you name the team that won the game at Anfield in 89…? (without wikki)

In this day and age of jcl’s and corporate Ruperts, Tarquins and Gemima’s I wonder where all the real Arsenal fans are…?

The club charges us the highest ticket prices on the planet charges us a fortune for food and drinks inside the bowl and has basically frozen out the grass root fans who simply cannot afford to go to games anymore.

Is this why the atmosphere at games is so poor…?

Is it why so-called fans can’t be bothered to get to a game before kick off or leave ten mins before the end…?

Do they actually care about the football or Arsenal? Is it just a day out to tell their mates they “went to a game at the Emirates”…?

I don’t know the answers, but what I do know is, this friend of mine gives up a lot to keep renewing her season ticket year after year. Gone has the banter, gone has the fan based camaraderie, gone has a lot of the fun… But, she keeps on going as do many thousands, but are their many fans out there who would love to go to watch the club they support but can’t get a ticket?

If I had the money and if I lived near to The Emirates, so would I, but that’s because I love Arsenal. I sure as heck  don’t like the way things have gone though….

Today its Blackburn, no doubt the travelling fans will shout their hearts out, they always do. We need just one point, but I expect three today. I hate Fat Sam and every team he manages…. I hope we batter them good and proper.

We may not be playing for a trophy, but sure as heck we are playing for pride……

165 Responses to So you think your Arsenal……………!

  1. rico says:

    Morning all…

  2. Erick says:

    Morning Rico nice post, it true we have the modern day fun just like me in 89 I was a kid who new nothing about Arsenal or where London was yes neither did I know Rocky but have come to learn about him but from the 90’s I had a clue and started to learn the Cannon way.

  3. c gander says:

    been those problems ever since we moved to emirates, i must be honest i haven’t seen one benefit of moving to emirates yet. restricted on funds ,restricted to no trophies. the atmoshere is shocking whenever im lucky enough to get a ticket. looks like they separated clock end and northbank holders to me.the real fans seem to sit OPPOSITE the away fans.im talking the corner with their scarfs always up.

  4. patthegooner says:

    Lukic
    Dixon Adams, O’leary?? or Bould, Winterburn
    Thomas, Rocky, Merse??
    Alan Smith

    And I know the ginga Ninja Groves played but not sure if he started

    Missing a couple there and not sure if they all played, but thinking of who was at the club at the time. I will have to google it.

  5. rico says:

    Morning Erick –

    But overseas fans can’t get to the Emirates Erick, I am sure if you were UK based and could afford it you would love to go.. Sadly though there are so many people who go just to boast they have been, they keep the real Arsenal fan out.

    It wasn’t like that at Highbury…

  6. rico says:

    morning c gander, I have only been to the Emirates a few times and its real quiet, when you do stand often you get told to sit down!

    They are talking about bring the old clock back….

  7. Joe says:

    I respect and fully understand what you are saying here.
    I do however disagree and think your generalizing about the fans.
    Seems to me your adverse to change and the reality is change has to happen.
    That’s life, that’s football.

  8. rico says:

    Morning pat

    Richardson 🙂

  9. rico says:

    Morning Joe, change is good and we needed to get a bigger stadium etc etc, but compare The Emirates to say Anfield – the noise that the fans generate there is something else…

  10. Mustang says:

    Morning Rico,

    an emotional and nostalgic post… I remember a friend and I doing the highbury tour a few years ago and we were literally dragged out of the marble halls at the end of the tour. We were grown men like little kids in a sweet shop, couldn’t get enough of the place. That feeling continues today, there is nothing better than arriving an hour before kick off, sampling a few gooner hotspots, a few singsongs and tasty greasy double cheese burger with all the trimmings. Grab a programme, the gooner and slowly enter the ground while soaking in the atmosphere. We needed to move to a new stadium and Emirates is great but Highbury was magical. God, I miss that place.

  11. patthegooner says:

    Richardson

    Of course. and both Bould and O’leary played.

  12. patthegooner says:

    i think there are moves to continue the Arsenalisation of the Emirates.

    I believe they are renaming the stands to something other than colours and putting the clock somewhere.

    I think at the moment it is a venue rather than a stadium. And I keep saying it but Elvis has to leave the building. I want to be roused before a game.

    It is like they play Elvis to put everyone in a loving mood to make it easier for the stewards.

  13. rico says:

    Morning Mustang – and you say I have been nostalgic 🙂

    Thats what i have always done to, get there early and breath the ‘football air’, watch the boys warm up, a warm beer and then off we go…

    After the match at Highbury I used to meet up with other friends, off to the mexican restaurant nearby where it was happy hour, lovely food and drink, then head off to the tube having missed the crowds…

    Oh, those days 😉

  14. rico says:

    Forgot the dreaded Elvis Pat, whoever put that into place needs sacking!! I’d rather listen to Donna Summer’s Hot Stuff than Elvis…..

  15. Mustang says:

    well Rico you started it!
    I admit it’s not the same at Emirates and this yellow, orange quadrant business doesn’t do it for me….we no longer sing songs like “we are the northbank highbury”; “we are the east stand highbury” trying to outsing each other. They need to sort out the seating…

  16. rico says:

    We need a trophy Mustang, that and the renaming of the stands, bring back the clock and get rid of the ‘oh, i went to the emirates at the weekend’ fans, when they don’t give a toot what the score ends up as…

    Its a bit like Wimbledon, i used to go every year having won tickets through my tennis club or by queing, now its all about money and the real tennis fans dont get to go as much…

  17. Erick says:

    Rico I will make it to the Emirates and they wont be getting me to sit down I will sing all I want until the end of the game first to arrive and last to leave. The problem is football has been taken away from the people that matter to them that say whatever when we loose they dont feel the pain

  18. rico says:

    Erick, spot on, when are you coming to the UK, we must try and help you get a ticket..

  19. W.A.T.H says:

    Top post Rico, Richardson n Davis…!
    The club has alienated thousands of proper Arsenal fans and what exactly has the emirates bowl given us…? I struggle to think of one benefit to be honest cos def seen no improvements or benefits on the pitch.
    I think I need to have a quiet word with Erick as well seems he was spreading malicious rumours on yesterdays thread…. 😉

  20. Mustang says:

    Rico
    interestingly though saw an interview with Wenger and the only trophies he is talking about are the prem league and CL not mentioning the fa cup

  21. doesn’t help the free beer at club level so that why it’s empty there
    and f-ing seats do more injuries than you every got on the terrace’s.

    we won at anfield in 89? really? 😉

    hi and bye

  22. rico says:

    Morning WATH, thanks, I’m having nothing to do with Erick’s naughty comments….

    I knew you would know the team of 89, your the only one old enough 😉 😉

  23. rico says:

    That makes me livid though Mustang, the FA Cup is a wonderful competition and I love us to win it again, right now the CC would be nice, all we end up with is the bleedin Emirates Cup, worthless!! 😦

    rsd, hope all’s good..

  24. W.A.T.H says:

    I was 5…………… I only knew cos I still got the panini stickers 😛 cheeky wench…!

    Erick is big trouble…!

  25. rico says:

    5 my foot!! I was 26!! 😦

  26. th14 says:

    Nostalgia is a wonderful thing. Alas, all things have to change and move on. My happiest memories are travelling to Arsenal. Off at Highbury ans Islington, walk through Aubert Park, laugh, joke and sing with my mates. Top of Avenall Road and a sea of fans. Grab a prog off the seller outside the flats and in to Highbury. That brilliant and never tired of smell of the turf as you get up the stairs, and the anticipation of the match. I held a season ticket for 18 years and loved every second. Yes, The Emirates is too expensive – but we needed to move to generate income. The trophies will come and I’ll love Arsenal until the day I shuffle off. Come on you Gunners!

  27. W.A.T.H says:

    Ya old bat :P:P:P

  28. Erick says:

    RSD what up its been a while. Mr Sailor what did i do i was wasted the GG and grape juice what up 🙂 🙂

  29. Erick says:

    Rico am trying to sort that out the Visa is usually more hard to get than Money they got a list of requirement from here to the northpole and back entering England is like going to heaven but will be letting you know

  30. rico says:

    Nice comment th14 – i just wish we would spend some of the money that we have collected from all inflated prices, that’s when the trophys will come 😉

  31. rico says:

    Erick, I think it’s easier to get to heaven, you just got to be good for 70 odd years 😉

  32. Le Foxe says:

    I can completely see where you are coming from, but to try and compare Ashburton Grove to Highbury or Anfield is futile. Both those grounds had/have decades of history and that adds to the atmosphere. Highbury was always the library and sometimes i do think people get a bit carried away with sentimental memories! You are right in that the banter and the atmosphere was fanastic most of the time, but you have to remember that the way the ground was set out you would have families in one area, the North Bank and Clock End would have your ‘singers’ all in one place and were condensed to make it a lot noisier. Now everyone is spread out. Also, at Highbury, people had been standing next to the same guy for years – when the move to the new gaff came about people were seperated. It takes time to build up that rapport with a random.

    Once we win a trophy and we have a team that we all believe in, i reckon we will see Ashburton becoming a cauldron much like some of the other power houses in the prem and in europe.

    As someone has already alluded to, there is a lot of emphasis on the club leading the way. Elvis needs to go, the stewards need to be reminded that they are not the gestapo and they need to allow fans the freedom to sing and shout as loudly as they like without upsetting Rupert et al.

  33. rico says:

    😆 WATH, can’t be, you don’t see me about in the dark 😉

  34. Erick says:

    14th top comment just cant wait to do my first trip

  35. K-TR7 says:

    Morning…

  36. rico says:

    Hi LF, I am not so sure i agree, surely if the ground was full of REAL supporters the noise would be immense – i understand what you are saying about history and all that, but 60,000 of true football fans should be able to raise the roof tops.. 😉

    I know watching on television doesn’t always potray the reality, but so often you can hear the away fans rather than the home fans…..

  37. rico says:

    Morning KTR7

  38. Le Foxe says:

    Rico – what constitues a ‘real’ fan? Someone who turns up week in, week out and supports his team but in his own quiet way? Or someone who goes along maybe once or twice a season and shouts and sings for 90 minutes?

    My dad has been going to the Arsenal for 40 odd years and is a very quiet and placid man – yes he will shout and cheer and jeer when compelled, but on the whole he enjoys being a part of the club and has done all this time. Just because he doesnt shout and sing for 90 mins doesnt make him less of a ‘real’ fan!

  39. rico says:

    LF, Someone who supports the club in any shape of form, not such a old fart who gets given a ticket from his boss and just goes for an afternoon out for something to do…..

    Thats my point LF, too many people have their bums on seats who don’t support the club…

    Whether a fan is in Austria or New Zealand, I dont care, they follow/support us, they are real fans too….

  40. rico says:

    I’m not on about folk like your Pa LF 😦

  41. Le Foxe says:

    see your point, Rico – just think we have to accept that its these ‘old farts’ and their club level seats that have paid for the stadium and will hopefully cover the cost of 3 or 4 new signings this summer!

    Fingers crossed, eh!!

  42. Le Foxe says:

    Rico….dont worry mate! I know you didnt mean it like that!

  43. rico says:

    😆 LF, lets hope so, i don’t think it would grate so much then, but if we see another Silvestre join us……. grrrr

  44. rico says:

    Phew – had a moment then 😉

  45. BigL says:

    Firstly I feel insulted that you call me a ‘so called fan’. When you pay for my ticket and my daily rate on Saturday then you can dictate when I arrive and when I leave. I pay my dues and the club take enough of my money.

    I wouldn’t arrive late, spending an extra 15 minutes in the pub and missing kickoff just so you can have a few extras beers seems silly to me.

    I do leave early though, not every time, but leaving 5 minutes early makes all the difference between getting home in an hour or getting home in 3 hours. The transport links are crap, and we have all had the 1 hour slow walk just to get to the station. Once the game is over I have a life, and that doesn’t involve 3 hours commuting.

    I think the atmosphere is a bit sterile. The club seems to have made a leap from football team to business. Look at club level, it seems almost compulsory that they don’t take their seats until 10 minutes into every half. In my view the club level area is too large. The club get arsey about flags and that terrible ‘the wonder of you’ intro hardly does a lot to inspire you.

    And dare I bring up the team. A marque big name signing would do wonders for the fans and generate some excitement. Say what you want but its pretty difficult to get excited about a player you have never heard off before, no matter how good he turns out to be.

  46. Neil says:

    I think that one of the reasons for the less raucous atmosphere at some games is partly due to the fact that many season ticket holders are growing older, my Dad for instance is now in his seventies and is quieter than he used to be, season tickets have to be renewed each season to maintain your entitlement , if you lapse for a season you go to the bottom of the waiting list. For someone who has been going to see Arsenal since the fifties and keeps renewing, his lack of noise certainly doesn’t mean he is any less an Arsenal man. I think that the move to Emirates was inevitable, due to the fact that Highbury could not be increased in size. When I first went to Highbury on the terraces it was the largest capacity stadium in England apart from The Valley.
    With the new stadium, which incidently is the best stadium I have ever been inside, we are again amongst the largest grounds.
    The atmosphere is dependant on the opposition, the state of the game as well as many other factors.
    To say that there is never a good atmosphere is simply ridiculous.

  47. Neil says:

    Furthermore if you really want tickets,become a red member and you will be able to buy tickets for many games, I often obtain tickets for family and friends when required, I hear so often that you can’t get tickets, it often really means,’You can’t be bothered to go to the trouble of entering the process.

  48. rico says:

    BigL – Thanks for coming on and giving your views, and don’t feel insulted, you have your reasons for leaving early which others have to respect

    Forget the leaving early to make your own journey easy for a minute, the post is also about the people who watch who don’t give a toot about arsenal, the game and the result, there are many of them…

  49. rico says:

    Neil, I am a red member thank you!!

  50. rico says:

    I didn’t suggest the atmosphere was non-existant, i’m just suggesting it could be better – especially when the team need the fans to raise their voices…

  51. rico says:

    Got to pop out for a bit, back shortly

  52. agirlagunner says:

    Hello, all!

    Some people are extremely fortunate because they live near The Emirates and have access to tickets.

    It doesn’t matter where I am or what time it is– I always watch The Arsenal. Some months ago, I walked out in the middle of dinner with friends from primary school because I messed up our kick-off time and had to rush home. I’ll never live it down. And my mom is certain that one of these days the police will come a-knocking because a neighbor will have reported that blood-curdling screams at 3 am could be heard from my house. (That would be me shrieking ‘goaaaaaalllll!!!!’)

    I’ll make my pilgrimage next year, I hope. Still trying to convince my friends (only one of whom is an Arsenal fan) that a live match at The Emiraes (where we win) will alter the course of their existence…

  53. potter says:

    Big L : try walking to Finsbury Park or Manor House, no queues , much quicker. The Clock end/ North Bank banter has gone because they were all sat together in blocks 4 to 12 and it has taken a few years for the fans to accept each other. You will note when TWOY is played most of the scarves are at the other end. It has not been accepted by the old Highbury crowd and probably never will be. If the clock goes back to the South end it might revitalise the atmosphere but only if the original clock enders that remain are allowed to relocate.

  54. K-TR7 says:

    We have lost 12 points from winning positions away from home.thats enough to have won us the league!AW’s comments about our gks are worrying and it seems like he will back fabianski next season…did anyone catch madrid vs osasuna last night?man they have a POORER/SHIT/CRAP defence,they would make ours to look like inters!

  55. rico says:

    good point potter, maybe its time for the fans to decide the tunnel song….

    Afternoon AGAG, that story about your meal is really funny, nicely so not nasty 🙂

  56. Erick says:

    Afternoon all Aw reckons we should trust him with the transfers he uses “sensible and intelligence” but am not yet going to trust him until he brings home quality player minimum of three

  57. rico says:

    There seems to be something happening Erick, its unusual for wenger to keep on as he is, maybe it will be a good transfer window, but like you, i’ll believe it wwhen i see it 😉

    The Ladies place this afternoon, its on Sky 🙂

  58. K-TR7 says:

    AW is a cunning fox,you will never understand the man…

  59. Erick says:

    You mean the FA cup what time is our game uk time?

  60. Erick says:

    I mean the senior team true K-tr7 very cunning

  61. agirlagunner says:

    If it’s a Saturday night, and I reply to any invitation with “Oh, I can’t… I have stuff to do…”, friends know at once it’s Arsenal.

    Wenger’s faith in Flapianski is misplaced, Erick. How many big games must he mess up to get the boot? We’re also linked to Kjaer now? I’ve never seen him play. The list of potential targets grows longer by the day.

  62. Erick says:

    Agag what really gets me worked up the fact that he claims we don’t need someone in a position yet its clear we have a problem that just does it for me

  63. Suhail.TV says:

    Morning all .. I can never forget the noisey, intimidating.., little Highburry.. With all the big guns.

  64. Erick says:

    Stv whats up man

  65. Suhail.TV says:

    Erick, so far so good.. .. That was good old days..though I never went there I was attached to it.. The players like adams keown petit vieira and sol.. They were masters on the pitch.. Every one respect them.. And that song echoed in ears even after days once the game ends.

  66. rico says:

    3PM UK time Erick, and yes its the FA Cup, at least one of our teams can make a final 😉

    Its a bit like that for me agag, no-one bothers to invite us anywhere if Arsenal are on television 😉

    Afternoon STV, all good i hope?

  67. rico says:

    Highbury = Bergkamp, Henry, Freddie, Bobby, Sol, Wiltord, reyes, Edu, Gilberto, RvP, Cesc

    Emirates = Cesc, RvP, Song, TV and Silvestre 😉 😉

    And we moved for what, money?? For sure we did, but we dont spend enough of it on great players….

  68. Suhail.TV says:

    Rico what ever that for.. Seeing silvertse’s name with cesc RVP verm is annoying..

  69. Erick says:

    Rico hope they win it. Stv nice to hear am also in chill mode not much going on

  70. agirlagunner says:

    The sooner the stadium is paid off, the better it will be for us. To be fair to AW, he knows that it is a priority to keep the team together. I like that key players signed contract extensions in the prior year. AW has to work harder on Gallas though. It won’t do to sign another “promising” defender, when what we need is the finished article.

    Erick, we have months to go yet before the new season, and already this transfer talk is driving me mad.

    I saw this on BBC’s Dreamspaces. How can you not fall in love with Highbury? For some more nostalgia:

  71. rico says:

    STV, you get my point then 😉 😉

    agag, the problem is, and i know the club need not tell us fans anything, but, had they came out as soon as we moved and said, transfers for the next 4/5 seasons will be limited because we want to pay off our stadium debt as quick a possible and keep the club stable’ no-one would be so frustrated, we would then realise just what good a job Wenger has done…

    The clubs problem is that they keep saying there is money and Wenger doesn’t spend it –

    If there is money and Wenger is being stubborn, he is a fool in my book….

  72. Suhail.TV says:

    Qui si agag buenas noches..

  73. rico says:

    Oh, and i want Gallas gone….. and another TV type in..Gallas gets paid too much money ….

  74. Erick says:

    AGAG i usually hate the transfer gossip just can’t wait for the next season to get started thank God Africa is hosting the world cup it will distract me abit

  75. Erick says:

    Stv use another language 😉 Rico I like Gallas because he hates loosing and give so much going forward but is age is not the best but am hoping he gives us another season that would be honourable

  76. Suhail.TV says:

    Rico you should be more carefull against Spanners

  77. agirlagunner says:

    Rico, I think money will be spent this season. We can’t afford to be complacent since the other top teams are also looking to buy. AW is being a tease. He brings up transfer talk everytime now.

    I like Gallas. TV plays better with him than with Sol or Sylvestre.

    Hola, STV. The WC will prove a welcome distraction but to be honest, I’m bracing myself for half dozen injuries…

  78. Suhail.TV says:

    Erick i hate gallas for same reason.. He is running forward as if his b..cs’re fired.. eg man utd game.

  79. Erick says:

    Injuries are amust AGAG am used to them. Stv i like Gallas he hates loosing and thats what champions are made of going forward is natural for us because we are an attacking team

  80. rico says:

    Spanners STV, he/she was on a wind up, I just had to stick in there 😉 😉

    agag, its only really Robin and Cesc from our squad isn’t it? Is Song going?

    I am sure i’ll be more interested when the tournament begins 😉

    Erick, he’s past it and crocked 😉

  81. Suhail.TV says:

    Song should be going along with sagna gallas eboue vela nasri walcott djourou..

  82. Suhail.TV says:

    and hopefully clichy and gibbs

  83. agirlagunner says:

    STV answered the Q, rico but forgot Bendtner! Haha. Nasri Walcott and Djourou are still iffy though.

  84. Suhail.TV says:

    Hello where are every body…

  85. Suhail.TV says:

    Yes agag may be because he is silent in last 3 games

  86. Erick says:

    Rico one of the reasons Mourinho’s and the millionaire owner had a bad relationship and that led him to leave Chelsea is Gallas being included in cashely cole deal he is a fantastic player and experience is vital next season. One guy am begin to get sick off is AA no goon spirit written anywhere near him just empty talk any time i see anything concerning him just go past it he is definetly the next Ademoney

  87. rico says:

    Ah, Nikki STV, how could I forget 😉

    That was a while ago though Erick, he is gone, I am sure…. AA, I’m fed up with him too, not because of all the pap talk, he’s just so hot and cold on the pitch and just plays against Liverpool 😉

  88. rico says:

    1-0 Everton 😦

  89. Erick says:

    Nasir am not sure will make it Gibbs too, Walcot should be lucky Lennon is crook

  90. Erick says:

    Crocked

  91. Suhail.TV says:

    Seems like Q and A is his main business..

  92. Erick says:

    Come you lady gunners

  93. Q8Gooner says:

    Nice post Rico .. I made my first trip 3 months ago .. I went to watch arsenal play manure and then the week after at shiteford bridge .. Yes we lost in both games but it was quite an experience i will never 4get. However, i was shocked from a lot of the fans sitting around me for they were on mute almost throughout the whole game .. And it was really a shame that i could actually hear man utd fans outsinging us “sometimes” in our own stadium.
    Oh and one more thing ..
    So called fans who are keeping and renewing their season tickets for the sake of making money out of them must be banned. I actually paid £350 for arsenal vs. Manchester!!! I know i was ripped off but this is why i was flying all the way to uk .. To support the team i love!

  94. agirlagunner says:

    Great story, Q8 Gunner. What wouldn’t we do for the team we love?

    I should go easy on the shoes and weekend travels, and get myself to London next year.

    Rico and STV Bendtner, barring Burnley, has not been that bad. 🙂

  95. rico says:

    Thatnks Q8, and a great story, remember the asian fan who travelled goodness knows how many miles to get to see us play……

    and doesn’t it then break your heart to be there and its quiet, knowing you would raise the roof each week if you could be there….

    agag, nikki has been pretty good i suppose 😉

  96. rico says:

    2-1 everton 😦

  97. Q8Gooner says:

    Im def. doing it again in october .. I’ll make sure I get the tickets at the right price this time 🙂

  98. Q8Gooner says:

    Oh and I met charlie geroge as well 🙂

  99. agirlagunner says:

    Coooool. Did you do the Legends tour?

  100. JonJon says:

    that is a top top post…

    well done rico…and i got my head down finally and missed the fun.. 😦

    what people need to understand is that wenger may have changed the way we play but hes also changed the way we are supported as well

    yes football has changed and evolved over the years but one thing that should never change is the heart soul and spirit of the club..

    the direction the club has gone means we have no heart whatsoever..none…theres not enough passion…

    the move to the emirates was definately needed..and the club needs the ‘new fans’ money…but without the real hardcore fans the spirit of the club dies..

    but unless the club starts to recognise the fans again the situation will not get better..

    i live in leeds so a season ticket is out of the question for me..but when we lived at highbury i used to go to about 8-10 games a season…the majority of my family are based in london and my cousin and uncle were season ticket holders so it was never a problem..

    since we moved to the emirates ive been to two games there..both in the first year it opened and i hated it..never been back since..for obvious reasons highlighted in the post..too much money lack of authentic support, too many sightsee-ers and not enough noise makers

    i continued to travel to the away games, especially when the lads came up north..the away support is how it used to be..how it should be…singing the whole 90 minutes and not having to sit down to watch the match…footballs become a theatre now..who the fuck wants to sit down and watch a match…??

    but over the last two years due to finances and other personell reasons my attendence to the away games has now dwindle from 10 games in 08, to 6 games in 09 and 1 game this year…and with the birth of my daughter i doubt i’ll be able to go to any next year…

    whats the point??? wenger doesnt aknowledge the fans..he throws two cups and gives shit players new contracts instead of spending the cash on new players..why should i spend money i dont have on a team that dont have what it takes and a manager and a board that dont give a shit about your support only your money

    this sounds really bad but sometimes i wish we would get relegated so all the ‘fans’ would piss off and i could afford to go to all the games…

    id follow the club into the conference if i had to…but the direction the club has taken means i cant even follow them in the PL..

  101. rico says:

    Q8, i went to highbury with a friend who was involved with the refs, had a tour before kick off, met DD, bob wilson and vic akers tried to get me in the showers 😉 held a few of the shirts that were ready to be worn, and walked through the great red doors and on the pitch …….

    i was all over the place – and met 27 foot tall David James 🙂 He is huge in the flesh 😉

  102. rico says:

    not that i’m bragging of course, its just i remember every second of that night like it was yesterday …. 🙂

  103. rico says:

    And that JonJon is a top top comment!

    Afternoon to you, I did wonder if you had crashed, good, you must have needed it…

    Everything you have said i support, like said before, i loved going to highbury, it was a day out, the pre match lunch, the warm beer at the ground, the buzz amongst the fans, thae banter between the north bank and clock end… i could go on…

    one of the very few games i have seen at the emirates was against reading, my girlhood club, and henry came and shook my hand, that was the highlight, when i cheered the team, people around me looked at me as if i was some kind of half wit…..

    at higbury if you didnt cheer the team you were looked at in the same way…. its sad and we can only hope that things get better….

  104. agirlagunner says:

    Rico, Vic Akers obe hit on you? Holy… That’s it. I’ll go next year. I’m swearing off new shoes and handbags and travel so that I can save up. I would have you know, I am already half successful convincing my best gal to put off her wedding for another year; we need to spend for Arsenal after all, and anyway, if its true love, it will wait. Yes, I’m horrible.

    JJ, you sound so resigned. I hope AW cheers you up with a few astute purchases this summer.

  105. rico says:

    The Ladies play just like the men, pass pass pass…..

    Rachael Yankey is sheer class, wonder if we could sneak her into the first team….. 😉

    Hull are relagated then, shame Mr Orange Man isnt still the boss, I like Dowie…

  106. rico says:

    😆 agag, he was showing me around with another couple of chaps, it was just a bit of fun…. i did offer to wait until after the game 😉

  107. rico says:

    agag, just make it clear to her that no man is worth missing the Arsenal play, either that or suggest she honeymoons in the UK, London’s a nice place to stay 😉

  108. JonJon says:

    oh and i was 10 when we won in 89

    off the top of my head (without wiki)but with stickers 😉

    lukic
    dixon adams oleary bould winterburn
    merse rocky thomas richardson
    smudge

  109. agirlagunner says:

    Rico, really, Henry? As in Thierry Daniel Henry, jersey no. 14, amazing, amazing, player, Arsenal captain, and one of the all time greats, France international, Euro Cup and WC winner, the invincible, Henry? I’d have fainted.

    Seriously.

    I will tell her that, rico. Oh and the best gal is not nearly so resistant to the idea as she was previously. I might be succesful yet. Plus, she’d never forgive herself if Cesc moved and she hadn’t seen him play a live match in our kit. She tells me all the time that she was a Cesc fan long before it was fashionable to be one. To be fair she saw the talent where I saw only the mullet. Haha.

  110. rico says:

    Yep agag, that’s the man, i had to push a kid over to get to him, i shouted so loud ‘Thierry’ and he came back and smiled, I will post the photo of him when i get back, if i still have it 😉

    JJ, spot on…. 🙂 I knew you would know, with or without stickers 😉

  111. JonJon says:

    the thing with highbury is that
    1-it had history and tradition
    2-we had darlings of the crowd who the fans could connect with
    3-the pitch was so close that you could practically touch the players if u were in row A

    the thing with the emirates is
    1-it has no special moments..no trophies…we need one bad but wenger throws 2
    2-not enough players that the fans have connection with..
    3-too many tourists who are there to take pictures and dont give a toss about the football..and no amount of shitty red and whit scarfs on seats will fix that..

    footballs a tribal thing..it should be a warzone in the stands and a warzone on the pitch..

    the spurs game was it for me with some players..biggest game of the season…lets have em..and half the squad bottled it…the same ones who bottle most games..

    the club want to arsenalise the club..well the arsenalisation needs to start on the pitch cos the players dont know what it means or have what it takes to play for us

  112. rico says:

    Keep nagging her agag, keep on nagging…

    Mullet 😆

    extra time in the fa cup….

    same old arsenal, chances missed…

  113. JonJon says:

    hello AGAG 😉

    peeps vela starts today..should be interesting..come on lad earn a place next year…

  114. rico says:

    bloody heck jj, i forgot we had a player called vela 😉 i dont want him to leave 😦

  115. agirlagunner says:

    Rico, please do re: the Henry picture. Visas are hell to sort out though.

    Hola, JJ. You certainly remember your football! I think we’re the same age. There is practically no football where I’m from, I discovered Arsenal on my own in 99. And have been a supporter since. Real life intervened in the golden age of the Invincibles (and I did not get to watch week in week out), and when I resumed the addiction, we were… how shall we put it, erm… losing, and losing badly, and losing a lot.

    So our performance this year has been no more disappointing to me than the last five years. Time for AW to deliver silverware, imho.

    Vela to start. I’m excited.

  116. rico says:

    you may have to remind agag –

    right, off to watch the game while packing my bag for the coast, will pop back briefly after the game, but if any of you fine folk go, see you sometime Friday 🙂

  117. JonJon says:

    vela already missed a sitter

  118. Q8Gooner says:

    Rico your lucky .. Ive always wanted to highbury but its too late now ..

    Agag yes i did the legend tout and ive posted some pics on my facebook wall .. It was awsome ..

    Arsenal must do better now we need a fu*#ing point!

  119. Q8Gooner says:

    Agag where u from? Ive been supporting Arsenal since 99 too .. Never missed a single game “on TV” lol

  120. agirlagunner says:

    Fantastic, Q8Gooner, I’m envious. We have a point now. I’d feel better if we got all three points. Our defense is dismal. Just dismal.

    The Ladies lost. Sigh.

  121. agirlagunner says:

    Manila, Q8Goooner. Where the air is polluted, the food is excellent, the beer is fantastic, and there is NO footie.

    Haha on the TV comment. Well, we have to make do with what we have.

  122. Erick says:

    Whats happening to Arsenal gutted we cant hold on to a lead Aw must buy quality and let go of average players

  123. agirlagunner says:

    Erick, our players are proving what we already know– our defense is rubbish.

  124. Erick says:

    True Agag just hope AW does not screw up. The visa issue is such a let down Agag I feel you on that one same applies here 😦

  125. JonJon says:

    we look crap again

    dont have the players

  126. JonJon says:

    were going to get beat again

  127. JonJon says:

    fabianski done well but one good game when the pressure is off shouldnt save him

  128. agirlagunner says:

    They’re playing with no pride. None.

  129. JonJon says:

    they dont have no pride AGAG

    its all about triangles and possession…

    wenger doesnt teach pride..any manager who throws 2 cups a year doesnt have any..

  130. JonJon says:

    oh dear

  131. JonJon says:

    we really are pathetic

  132. agirlagunner says:

    I’ll take an ugly win over our pretty passing any day.

  133. agirlagunner says:

    Fudge!!!! I’m off. Pathetic.

  134. JonJon says:

    the way this is going we wont have improved much from last year

    wat a collapse

    these boys should be playing for their futures

    clear them out

  135. Erick says:

    Bollox

  136. JonJon says:

    this has got nothing to do with injuries or refs

    we just havent been good enough..again

  137. agirlagunner says:

    No pride, no passion, no desire. Shocking. Just shocking.

  138. JonJon says:

    disgusting

  139. JonJon says:

    no win in 8 games

    mental strength my arse

    good enough my arse

  140. Pritpal says:

    “trust me” arsene said this morning, trust what exactly??? if i don’t see a new keeper come august i will completely lose faith. will be embarassing if after all we’ve done this season spurs beat us to 3rd. no wonder arshavin wants to leave, cesc probably does after 2dai too. no heart, fabianski is a clown, almunia is a clown, silvestre is a clown, they all need to go the bunch of them and we need some real winners!!!

  141. Erick says:

    Aw can’t explain it his project is pure crap get some men in there

  142. Mustang says:

    I don’t care if Blackburn field a team with players all carrying baseball bats, we should not be bullied like that!!!! Yes Blackburn were crowding Fabianski but no Arsenal player was standing up to them,

    It’s sad to watch.

  143. Erick says:

    We need a new direction the one we are in is disastrous craaaaaaaap

  144. rico says:

    well, what an utter shower of s***e, dreadful, just dreadful!!

    now we are relying on a spud/citeh draw and fulham to field a weakened side, just shocking…..

    arsene, if you believe in this crop, you are in need of therapy!!!!

  145. patthegooner says:

    No need for a new keeper

    Wenger might want to rethink that one. He actually made some good saves but he just has not presence. he was praying to the Ref at every corner or set piece for the ref to blow up. He should have concentrated on giving a bit back to the Blackburn players. He let himself down…again today and once again a keeper has cost us the points.

    Not only that but Diaby, Theo, Eboue, Sagna, RVP, Nasri are all either 1st team choice or on the fringe of the 1st team, and not one of them had a good game today, they all went missing.

    No passion, no belief, no will or want to win, no leadership.

    Wenger it is time to either be honest to yourself and to us and make the changes in the summer (And at least 3 top top players not one) or leave.

  146. JonJon says:

    any side thats afraid of blackburn needs their contracts tearing up

    we are the arsenal…

    what the fucks going on at this club

    if wenger stands by this shower next season i’ll lose all faith in him

  147. patthegooner says:

    And refusing to shake Fat Sam’s hand at the end is unnaceptable and disgusting.

    He out thought you Arsene, accept it and stop being a fucking spoilt child. these are your players, you chose them, you bought them and you live and die with those decisions.

  148. JonJon says:

    top comment pat

    i was just thinking that

    over half that squad today are considered first teamers and they rolled over and fucking died

  149. bewster says:

    i think the fans leave early because when we win u cant celebrate for fear of having your season ticket revoked the stewards are way over protective it was even mentioned in the youtube video above the way the celebrations have died and if u rustle a bag of sweets you get strange looks the stewards should pipe down and let fans be fans

  150. JonJon says:

    another top comment…

    i hate it wen he doesnt shake hands with ppl..its not sams fault he beat us..its wengers

  151. JonJon says:

    GK
    2 CB
    2 CM
    winger
    finisher

    stop pissing about and spend some of that money you said youve got…

  152. Erick says:

    Am sorry guys I wil say it AW is the problem he doesnt let the players take responsibility play crap and next game you get a start what kind of spudity is that Aw is crap

  153. JonJon says:

    if wenger thinks we dont need a new GK hes wacko..

    hes right though..pride was lacking and when you play for arsenal you win every game and if you lose you lose with pride…not excuses

    so listen to your own advice..your players dont have what it takes so change them

  154. Coadsi says:

    Hi guys, i am convinced that they would rather finish 4th than third. for once in a long while i would like us not to have to go to the CL via those pesky qualification rounds.
    But i think the borad dont mind this and actually see this as more revenue for the club.

  155. JonJon says:

    the fans need to boycott the fulham game

    support for our club is one thing but watching a set of spineless gutless wimps every week who havent won anything in 5 years (make that 6 cos wenger doesnt recognise the FA cup) is another

    we need to shake the baord and wenger into action and boycott the last game of the season..

  156. rico says:

    right you final people, i’m off now and will catch up on friday sometime, be good and take care

    night all

  157. JonJon says:

    i dont even know why im worked up

    i knew we’d lose..i said we’d lose..and we lost..

  158. JonJon says:

    actually i do know why

    cos wenger wont change it..

    same team next year, same problems..one free signing..

  159. JonJon says:

    seeya rico..have a wonderful time..

  160. c gander says:

    ONE WORD …….. CHANGE, wenger makes mugs of all of us,and we let him get away with it

  161. Erick says:

    Cheers Rico JJ Aw is the problem we need change

  162. JonJon says:

    AW wont change..

  163. JonJon says:

    new post

Leave a Reply

