Coyle has no injuries! No surprise that we do after round one!….

Owen Coyle brags that he is able to play the same side that started on Sunday, well lucky him – we have lost one player from our crop who took part in the game on Saturday, but we got fortunate, the way our players were kicked it could have been much worse.

Round two, and we will get the same amount of points at the end, but the win will be very different, the goal margin will be different and you never know, if we get a proper ref tonight some of our goals could even be from a penalty or free kick – after all, we didn’t get many decisions in our favour on Sunday did we?

In fact the only decision I recall going our way was Tomas, you know the one, 1,2,3 kicks on our boys so Tomas took revenge – another day he could have seen red….

Tonight’s game will be very different in another way.

50,000 home fans behind the boys, (yes I know the club like to make out there are more) the fortress of The Emirates, the fear factor for Bolton when they travel and add to that they got beaten in their back yard and tonight they will fear losing by so so many goals, and I think they will!!

Coyle won’t park the Double Decker Bus; he doesn’t play that way, so all being well our goal difference will be awesome by the time the final whistle goes – that could count come the end of the season.

We already know Denilson and Walcott are back, but in some ways, maybe that’s a bit of a shame.
In the away game we saw Eastmond step up and play the ‘Song’ role, and he didn’t do so badly really. I still think he was a bit out of his depth but the pace of the Premiership is not something you can get used to in one game.

I say play him again, or, as suggested here a couple of days ago, why not give Coquelin a go? That way we can see how good he is; compare him not only against Eastmond, but the same opposition.

Talking of the youth/reserves – I miss watching them on Arsenal TV, don’t you?

Eastmond, JET and maybe Watt will be our subs tonight – I wouldn’t mind seeing Sunu on the bench too, maybe he could come on, only when we are 5-0 up though.. 😉

Anyway, enough of speculation, come 7pm we will all know who will play, but I think we all know the result will be good for us….

What more can be written, just hope the snow we have here in Berkshire stays away from The Emirates.
I am going for a big win tonight, and us sitting top of the league come 10pm.. Shame Sky have chosen the spuds game to show 😦

Shame for the kids, they went out of the FA Youth Cup last night after losing 2-0 to Ipswich

189 Responses to Coyle has no injuries! No surprise that we do after round one!….

  1. rico says:

    Morning Roadsters…

  2. Irishgunner says:

    Morning Rico

    We’ll be top of the table when I get up in the morning SWEEEEEEEET 🙂 Won’t get to see the game though so I’ll need updates *cough cough*

  3. Mustang says:

    Morning Rico,

    If the Bolton thugs decide to play kick boxing instead of football and get away with it like they did in round one then it will be a hard game. But I hope our quality shines through for the sake of the so called best league in the world.

    By the way I heard Coyle talk about taking Jack the lad on loan, do we want him to go to Bolton?What is he likely to learn from them, Jujitsu?

  4. Big Raddy says:

    Good post Rico & thanks for helping….

    Everyone is talking as though the game is won and we have 3 points in the bag. Although we are clear favourites, it must be said that had Bolton taken their chances on Sunday, we would have lost.

    I think Denilson is a must tonight, if fit, Eastmond can play at Stoke, but we have to play our strongest 1 in the EPL. I would like to see Vela get more than 15 mins. He looks hungry.

  5. Rasputin says:

    Morning again Roadsters

    Fine post rico 😉

    I actually think that based on the evidence of last week’s game where the style was pure Bolton thuggery, Coyle will not instruct his players to play football. I think he’ll tell them to play for a point knowing we are eager to get the 2 goals to go top. I hope Clichy plays and we don’t leave the gaping holes down the left flank for Klasnic to exploit. They’ll chase every ball, defend deep and counterattack by hoofing the ball and hoping Taylor or Davies can do what they failed to do on wednesday.

    I agree with Raddy, we should not take to the pitch thinking the game’s already won. Best scenario is 2 nil up at half time and they’ll be playing for pride in the second half…..Worst case scenario is nil nil with15 minutes to go….

  6. rico says:

    Morning all,

    Pleasure to help Raddy 🙂 Just trying to keep the belief 😉

    Mustang – I hope he goes to West Ham, Zola is a good man and Jack could learn a lot there..

  7. rico says:

    Morning Rasp, we can think that but the players must not 😉 😉

    See AW is saying his usual –

    Returning players will be like new signings!! Come on boos, give us a new signing, that will be like a new signing 😉

  8. rico says:

    Raddy

    I am surprised that Denilson is fit for tonight, I thought he was out for a few weeks according to our boss – but now he is suddenly fit again, does make you wonder if we rush our players back too quickly sometimes..

    Same with Theo, he was meant to be out for another week or so…

  9. Rasputin says:

    Hi rico,

    That statement by Le Boss dosen’t come as any surprise to me ….. I’m more surprised that he keeps playing the same game … I hope his tactics on the pitch are less predictable……

  10. rico says:

    Me too, did you see that he was missing from training yesterday Rasp…

  11. Rasputin says:

    No rico … what do you make of that?

  12. rico says:

    I don’t know, G&P have said he also did his press conference early – maybe he was busy elsewhere 😉

  13. Irishgunner says:

    Maybe he had a dental appointment? Or an appointment with the “I need better excuses doctor?”

  14. rico says:

    😆 Irish, and there was me thinking he was snapping up our new striker 😉

  15. Rasputin says:

    Hi Waltzing Maire 🙂 …. surely you of all people haven’t been turned into an Arseneskeptic when it comes to transfers?

  16. Irishgunner says:

    Me, Rasp? truth be Arsene was ringing me to tell me of our two new World Class £30miilion signings but asked me not to tell

  17. Rasputin says:

    😆 irish …..

    Talkshite are still talking shite …. yesterday they said that if we went top, we’d be the worst team ever to top the prem, and this morning they said we paid £25m for AA ….. I want my license fee back 👿

  18. Irishgunner says:

    Just a useless bit of info.

    My name on Bleacher isn’t Marie as in the English/French name its Máire (Mau-ra) the Irish for Mary, just too lazy to put in the fada over the a.

    Now ye can sleep at ease tonight knowing that 🙂

  19. Irishgunner says:

    I shall not start on the meeja.

  20. Mustang says:

    I bet a pound that AW will not sign a striker that we think we think he should this window. Given that I am not a betting man, that is like betting 100 quid for a 50-50 bet.

    But seriously if he doesn’t sign a striker this window we will regret it. Our players are too injury prone and I expect Nick, Theo, Dudu, AA to be out again before end of February.

  21. Rasputin says:

    I couldn’t find a fada on my keyboard, but at least I used the letters in the right order – unlike ave yesterday 😳

  22. Irishgunner says:

    You think your bad Rasp not being able to find a fada? I can find ESC, CTRL, PgUp but there doesn’t seem to be any ANY KEY, where’s the ANY KEY?

  23. avenell says:

    Marie rhymed with dundee better…. 😦

    Morning all.. Happy Top of the League day.. 🙂

  24. Irishgunner says:

    Glad to see I ruined your fun Avenell, now you’ll have to come up with an Aussie stereotype that rhymes with Máire 🙂

  25. avenell says:

    My ickle Koala Maire.. 🙂

  26. Rasputin says:

    Irish Goolagong? 😉

  27. Irishgunner says:

    I should have known I was asking for trouble ha ha lets just leave it as Irishgunner – if ye knew how long it took me to come with such an original name it would shock ye…

  28. kelsey says:

    Morning all,

    nice post rico.

    I disagree about Coyle,he has to play his brand of football with the Bolton thugs,but nevertheless they will attempt to chop us down.

    If Walcott plays,good luck to him.even money he gets injured,5-1 he scores. Hope I am wrong.Not the sort of team for him to make a return.
    Apparently Denilson had abdominal problems,yet initially it was stated that it was his back,ribs.

    I don’t agree we would have lost on Suinday, a home team will always create chances,but thankfully they are clueless.Major worry is Traore,he got roasted in that game,so maybe Silvestre will come in.

  29. avenell says:

    Morning Kelsey…. Isn’t Clichy likely to be back? Please..

  30. rico says:

    Morning kelsey & ave –

    Anyone else have the snow, its dreadful where i live
    😦

  31. Irishgunner says:

    I’m sure Clichy will play and then Traore comes back for the FA Cup

  32. avenell says:

    Sunny here rico… after another night of rain..

  33. A very worthwhile read the following link… a recent interview conducted by G Balague with our captain fantastic.

    http://www.guillembalague.com/interview_desp.php?titulo=Cesc+Fabregas%3A+Proud+to+have+given+my+all+for+Arsenal&id=74

  34. rico says:

    Lucky you ave,

    Maybe Traore on the left of midfield?
    At least he could whip a cross in for our 2’6″ centre forwards 🙂

  35. avenell says:

    We don’t really have a left of midfield now.. they are striker/inside left/wingers… like Dudu or Vela..

    Wingers are so 1970’s..

  36. avenell says:

    Your not as wise.. or as old as me ….. yet.. 😉

  37. rico says:

    Ok, maybe he will play on the left of Cesc – better oh wise one ??

    Ah, yes, not long though 😦

  38. any of you guys lucky enough to be trotting off to the emirates tonight?

  39. Irishgunner says:

    I wish Stringfellow 😦

  40. avenell says:

    Not me Stringfellow.. Too expensive and it takes too long for me nowadays.. 😦

  41. Loads of unsold tickets still available at the box office apparently.

    very surprised, the entire country is skint!

  42. gazzap says:

    The game has now sold out. I am going tonight.
    I dont think we need to worry too much about a DM, but I would rather have attacking midfielders who can also have an eye on defence. as such Rosicky, Diaby and Cesc would be my choice for the middle. Use sparky Vela up front. I really want to see so much more of Vela.

  43. gazzap says:

    the website suddenly listed it as Sold out though they might have really meant, not available to purchase online.

  44. avenell says:

    Blackburn have only sold 1500 tickets for the villa game tonight..

  45. i too would love to see more of vela, wide left.

    he has pace to stretch, he can cross well.. and if in the right position coming inside, the lad is an awesome finisher.

    but it would mean putting arshavin central or wide right..i hate seeing arshavin as CF.. he is useless there.

  46. Irishgunner says:

    With all the games coming up people are probably picking and choosing a bit too.

  47. gazzap says:

    I think bolton might fancy themselves tonight because they did OK against us on Sunday. that will play into our hands. they might be a bit over confident. I think the Arsenal players are still hungry and Cesc is bang on form. we wont take this one lightly, not with top spot at stake.

  48. Rasputin says:

    Its a bit mean of ol’ Sol to sue Pompey for £1.5m with all the financial strife they’re in …. I hope he can be that ruthless when he gets on the pitch for us …..

  49. Irishgunner says:

    Yeah I thought that too, a couple of players have overlooked fees if a former/current club are in trouble.

    Bit of a Spud left in ol’ Sol eh?!

  50. bang out of order is sol

    the man is worth in excess of 20M already.

    he creamed them for silly wages when he told us he was going abroad….

    and now wants to kick a man when they are down.. poor show.

  51. Rasputin says:

    It’s abit different to Olof Mellberg who gave all the wham away fans (3,200) a free T shirt for his last game…

  52. Rasputin says:

    Vela out wide is good for me and I’d like to see Eastmond start again against Bolton as we may need him again before the season ends and this is all vital experience – if not Eastmond then Coquelin for the FA cup.

  53. Irishgunner says:

    Campbell and loyalty were never two words that would go together. Suppose its his own decision but its a kick in the gut to the Pompey fans, their club is going down the pan and a millionaire who gets paid thousands a week to kick around a ball comes to kick them when they are down, not nice in my book.

  54. Rasputin says:

    Campbells a strange cove don’t ya think Irish? He never really smiles or seems to be enjoying himself. Gallas is similarly ‘serious’ but there are times when you can see he lightens up.

  55. avenell says:

    I prefer Dudu and Vela breaking into the box in the hole that Arshavin has created by pulling the centre backs out wide.
    Having a winger wide player usually means that we just knock hopefull balls into the box and the centre backs just head clear..
    Wingers are anti-wengerball.

  56. Irishgunner says:

    Gallas is serious about playing, think he just wants to get the job done, same as Campbell really. I think Campbell enjoyed winning the league at WHL.

  57. Irishgunner says:

    Okey Doke that’s me for the day, hopefully when I wake up The Arsenal will be top of the table.

    Bye all and enjoy those that are going.

  58. avenell says:

    Your not watching tonight Irish?.

    cheers..

  59. rico says:

    See sky are running the Smalling story, and Young Guns too – 6’4″ defender – 7M 🙂

  60. rico says:

    Catch you later Irish..

  61. Rasputin says:

    ave, I think we may be talking about different things with the term ‘out wide’ …. Vela looks very effective when he receives the ball on the halfway line wide left. He is the 2nd fastest player at the club , so he can skin their rt midfielder and rb and still cut in rather than lob a pointless ball into the box ala Sagna. Often he will go right to the corner flag and still cut inwards towards goal with the ball at his feet.

  62. avenell says:

    I am with you on that rasp, but I think Clichy can do that job again now and Vela doesn’t fit the system as well then. I prefer a more technical player to be wide midfield like our Sir Bobby or AK47 when RvP is fit or Dudu in the middle of the 3..

  63. rico says:

    I read that earlier ave, crap isn’t it!

    Sorry for lack of posting, bit busy shooting rats!!

  64. alfamilano says:

    Afternoon all, I will be there tonight roaring the boys on. We can’t take it lightly but I’m in the ‘Coyle will go for it’ camp which I hope is good news for us. Be great to have Clichy back as well. I think Eastmond did well enough to be given another go, it’s not as if Denilson is at the top of his game at the moment especially if still injured.

  65. Rasputin says:

    This seems like a lot of money for a player who won’t be ready fro a season or two? ……

    ……”Arsenal set to make £7m bid for Smalling”

    Fulham defender Chris Smalling has been linked with a £7m move to Arsenal.

    The 20-year-old made his debut as a substitute in Fulham’s final Premier League game of last season, a 2-0 defeat to Everton, and has gone on to make eight appearances for Roy Hodgson’s side this term.

    Smalling’s performances have attracted the attention of Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger.” …….

  66. alfamilano says:

    Rasp, hi.

    I thought Smalling looked pretty good. I think he could be first team next season, maybe £7m wouldn’t be too bad (especially as we wouldn’t pay all of it until next year anyway).

  67. avenell says:

    Rats are Gods creatures too.. 😦

  68. Rasputin says:

    Hi alfa … well he’s 6ft 4 1/2 ins so no-one could say we were lacking in height at the back.

    I think one of the most important abilities of a CB has to be to read the game and that comes from experience so I find it hard to think of him as 1st choice in a year … but I’d like to be pleasantly surprised. Whatever happened to Harvard Nordtveit … I thought he was going to be the next TA?

  69. avenell says:

    He is on loan in Norway or somewhere up Raddy’s direction.

  70. Rasputin says:

    Yes I know ave … I just wondered if he was living up to expectation? I waited a long time to see BigP play for the first team and as we all know, he’s been a bit of a disappointment. If AW has faith in JD and buys Small – where does that leave Harvard?

  71. avenell says:

    Okay.. It leaves us with TV as a definate and JD and Smalling fighting it out for Gallas’s spot gradually being introduced in the next year .. Then when Gallas has gone 4 Ch fighting for 2 places I guess.

    Which is about right..
    Nordveit is a bit small though, unless he has shot up a bit..

  72. Rasputin says:

    6ft 1in apparently at 19 – so taller than our current CB’s

  73. avenell says:

    I haven’t seen him since Setanta went down, taking our access to Arsenal TV with it.. 😦 he just looked a bit small then, I think he was even played at right back in the last game I saw him..

    Good tackler…

  74. Rasputin says:

    I know ave, when I took on Sky, all the footie was on there. Now I’m paying £43 a month for a load of rubbish repeats and very little football 😦

  75. avenell says:

    Have you gone down the ESPN route? I swerved it..

    I think it’s all going to bang soon with the quality of streams getting better..

    No sky, no money in football.. Perhaps advertising around the pitch will bring the cash in..

  76. Rasputin says:

    I can’t be bothered ave … like you say, the streams are getting better. The problem is that on a cold night like this, many may prefer to watch on TV in the comfort of their own home and eventually the club will lose revenue (obviously not if you’ve bought a ticket any way)

  77. avenell says:

    Did you see the Citeh v the Debt ridden reds last night on the beeb?

    Mark “kipper tie” Lawro was awful as a pundit during the game… Up Man U’s arses. Then Shearer and Hansen contradicted him at HT..lol

  78. rico says:

    Its dark now, so I can’t see outside 😦

    BT are about to undercut Sky for the footie so I read they other day, could be worth keeping an eye on it as BT Vision is the way forward – according to some 😉

  79. rico says:

    Tonight’s Official Matchday Programme

    For each Official Matchday Programme sold tonight, Arsenal FC will donate £1 to the DEC Haiti Earthquake Appeal.

    Lets hope everyone who turns up buys one….

  80. rico says:

    ave – you have to be careful with the steams now though, they are all being monitored ready to start prosecuting both the braodcaster and user – heard it a few weeks/months back on a 5live debate.

  81. avenell says:

    They will busy then rico..

    It’s out of order really as even the FA encouraged it when a England game was only available on a stream..

  82. rico says:

    double standards imho….

  83. Big Raddy says:

    The England stream was a pay per view.

    I watch stream for the cricket as it isn’t available on DK TV. Tonights game is on after the Dippers, KO 23.00, Can I wait without checking the score or watching a stream? We shall see.

  84. rico says:

    😆 Raddy, bet you don’t 😉

  85. rico says:

    off for supper 😛

  86. Big Raddy says:

    I won’t take that bet Rico !!

    Hope we put out a very strong team tonight. I would like to see Theo get a half hour late in the game (replacing a MF or Mozart ). His pace towards the end of a game is lethal (hopefully his finishing will be lethal as well).

  87. avenell says:

    Almunia,

    Sagna Gallas, TV, Clichy

    Fabregas, Denilson, Diaby

    Rosicky, AK47, Eduardo..

    Not too bad..

  88. rico says:

    I think its only you and me who believe in Theo here Raddy 😉

    Shucks about the bet, I was all for getting a big windfall 🙂

    Come on you Gooners 🙂

  89. rico says:

    Bollox 😦

  90. Mustang says:

    1 nil down in under 10 minutes!!!???

  91. avenell says:

    Better early than late.. At least we will pick our game up..

  92. avenell says:

    Denilson you are having a laugh..

  93. Mustang says:

    What is going on!!!????

  94. rico says:

    Double Bollox!!

    We will be lucky to get a draw, get the team were over confident, just as i was 😦

  95. hh says:

    only one thing to say . bottlers wenger in all for putting that dick dennilson on the fuckin pitch

  96. avenell says:

    We need one back before HT… we’ll be okay..

  97. rico says:

    what has denilson done wrong guys, i am not watching as stream has crashed??

  98. avenell says:

    he gave a stupid penalty away…

  99. avenell says:

    Get in Tommy.. 🙂 🙂

  100. JonJon says:

    score???

  101. avenell says:

    We need 4 to go top..

  102. avenell says:

    2-1 down.. The dippers are beating the marshlanders..

  103. kelsey says:

    Too intricate again.Clichy is not fit and gave the chance for the first goal,penalty was stupidly given away by denilson who also looks ring rusty.eddie should have scored one or two if he had lifted both chances.Rosicky goal should have been saved but we are definitely still in it.diaby,cesc and arshavin playing well. will we see theo 😉

  104. rico says:

    I don’t really care about being top, being second is best and then we have a target to chase – all i care about is the three points tonight…

    Bit like the greyhound chasing the fluffy hare, take that hare away and he will go slower….

  105. rico says:

    See, Eastmond should have started 🙂 😉

  106. JonJon says:

    we losing??? no way

    sorry guys i havent been around..not been having fun at my end at all…

    i tried to get back to yor post on sat ave about match reports but my connection kept going…in the end i just gave up…

    its playing nice at the minute though so i thought id take advantage..

    cant beleive we losing..

  107. avenell says:

    I would go through every player we had instead of starting Denilson..

  108. avenell says:

    Jonjon even London can post while he’s skiing..

  109. avenell says:

    If we win this 5-2 what a boost for the season.. c’mon..

  110. JonJon says:

    whoopy do for london

  111. rico says:

    😆 JJ

  112. rico says:

    Come on boys….

  113. Mustang says:

    Fabtastic!!!!
    2-2

  114. avenell says:

    Haha Fabbie…:)

  115. rico says:

    Woop Woop,…….

  116. avenell says:

    Nice one Gallas… lol… Have that one for Merida..

  117. rico says:

    Beeb are saying it should have been a red card ave?

  118. avenell says:

    They are saying what is Wenger going to say.. He’s probably sick to death of the kickings we get everytime we go up north..

  119. avenell says:

    Get in Tv…. YEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!

  120. rico says:

    WOOOOOOOOOOOpy Woop 🙂

  121. Mustang says:

    Get in!!!!!!

  122. avenell says:

    Should have brought Vela on and dropped Rosicky back.. 😦

  123. rico says:

    Should be an easy match report in the morning ave, I am having a lay in, but only as i will be very old 😉

    Off now, stay safe all

    Nighty night..

  124. avenell says:

    AA…:) we are top the League.. 🙂

  125. Mustang says:

    We are top!!!!

  126. rico says:

    rico Says:

    January 20, 2010 at 8:41 pm edit

    I don’t really care about being top, being second is best and then we have a target to chase – all i care about is the three points tonight…

    Bit like the greyhound chasing the fluffy hare, take that hare away and he will go slower….

  127. avenell says:

    Being on top with no hare suits me… 😉

  128. rico says:

    Night Baldy…. 😉

  129. hh says:

    eating my words. well done avienel you never gave up like dennilsson who had a brilliant second half/ became a man

  130. London says:

    Albanian TV is a wonderful thing.

    I found a bar….70 euro round trip taxi fare……worth every centime.

    We were magnificent.

  131. Big Raddy says:

    What a fantastic game.

    Rico….. I would have lost the bet !!

  132. Doo woop says:

    Who’s your daddy, Premier League, who’s your daddy!

  133. Rasputin says:

    Some stats for all the idiots on the radio that thought Bolton should have got something out of the game. The only categories they beat us in are yellow cards and fouls committed…….

    ARSENAL BOLTON

    Possession
    Arsenal 57% Bolton 43%

    Attempts on target
    Arsenal 14 Bolton 4

    Attempts off target
    Arsenal 6 Bolton 3

    Corners
    Arsenal 9 Bolton 3

    Fouls
    Arsenal 16 Bolton 17

    Yellow Cards
    Arsenal 1 Bolton 2

  134. kelsey says:

    Morning all.

    Great comeback and as Arsenal fans we never get the credit due.One minute we are pansies and the next we are too physical.
    There is a new determination in the team that fights to the end.

    The highlight for me was that Theo got 2 minutes 😉

  135. Rasputin says:

    Morning kelsey,

    Thaty should have been 2 minutes and 1 goal. AA shoild have squared the balll to Theo, he was in acres of space and not offside … 5:2 and all the Bolton apologists would have had nothing to bleat about.

    I am worried that they may look at Gallas’ tackle retrospectively and give him a 3 match ban – with the next 4 games being pivotal, that would be a major blow 😦

  136. rico says:

    Morning all

    😛 Raddy, should have shaken on it 😉

    David Platt has been on Sky this morning – he normally gets right up my nose these days, but having written us off he said he needs to eat humble pie…

    Bolton certainly didn’t like a bit of what they dish out do they….

    Sadly though, the Gallas tackle will go off to the FA, they will ban him and we have a worry!! 😦

  137. rico says:

    Mark Randall – what a lad, he started a massive brawl last night in the Saints v MK Dons match…… No surprise there then 😉

  138. alfamilano says:

    In the ground we all thought Davies was faking it. Hard to be sympathetic when Bolton have been kicking lumps out of us for years, including last night. At least it looked late rather than wild, two footed over the top a la Gerrard.

  139. Rasputin says:

    Here’s a headline for you rico……..

    Arsenal Bully Boys smash poor sensitive Bolton ….. 😆

  140. rico says:

    Not me this morning Rasp, I don’t do match reports 😉 😉

  141. rico says:

    alfa, AW said just that in his i/v too, if you can’t take it, don’t give it I say 😉

    Must have been a great night at The Emirates 🙂

    Late yes, but nothing other than that…

  142. Rasputin says:

    Does anyone know the extent of Diaby’s injury?

    A couple of observations …

    Cesc = best player in the prem by a country mile

    1st goal mainly down to Clichy trying to be too clever bin his clearance and Almunia just watching the ball bounce past him

    2nd goal obviously down to Denilson

    They have both recently come back from injury and did improve as the game went on. Clichy has always been guilty of ignoring the simple option when it comes to clearing the ball.

    Owen Coyle is a twat for his aside to Arsene when they shook hands at the end of the game … he should have been gracious … it wasn’t Arsene’s fault… and actually it is very hard to see what’s going on from pitch level … he has since apologised for the tackle

  143. kelsey says:

    Rasp,

    he is having a scan this morning,so best way i think he will be out for stoke.

    Anyone rate denilson,i don’t ?

  144. rico says:

    Can’t really disagree with any of that Rasp.. 😉

  145. rico says:

    kelsey, i have never really thought he was up to scratch…

  146. Rasputin says:

    I have to agree kelsey. I think Denilson was only supposed to be a ‘squad player’ but circumstances have led to him playing a major role. In the 18 months in which Song has improved greatly, Denilson has stood still and they’re both of a similar age. Diaby has also shown a massive improvement. I would now definitely pick Song and Diaby as deep lying midfielders opposed to Denilson.

  147. Rasputin says:

    Cesc is now showing ‘consistent brilliance’ He’ll be valued at far higher than £45m if he carries on like this for the rest of the season … I hope the board have the nuts to resist a £60m+ bid for him …..

  148. rico says:

    AW on Abou Diaby’s injury…

    Diaby has a calf strain, from a kick he got at Bolton on his calf. He went into the game with a stiff calf already and he didn’t survive. I don’t know how long he will be out. You have to check with him because you see more on the scan, so we have to be cautious.

  149. rico says:

    Rasp – If Ronaldo was worth 80M, Cesc has to be worth at least that or more – For us though he is priceless 🙂

  150. Rasputin says:

    We joke rico … but it’s true! He now has everything in his locker… runs the game … scores the goals … defends like a demon …. is really tough …… he’s a combination of the best of Messi and Xavi

  151. alfamilano says:

    Rico, AW and me, we’re 😎 😆

    Denilson wasn’t good again IMHO, first 15 mins no class at all. Better in the second half. Eastmond looked good for the 10 mins he was on.

    What are we moaning about? We were fantastic! Dudu looked very good, good movement, some real confidence in his tricks and passing. Clichy started to pick it up in the second half, he’ll be great again in a couple of matches.

    Nothing left to say about Cesc. Surely the best all round player in the world at the moment.

  152. Rasputin says:

    The only thing you can say that Cesc lacks is blistering pace … but he doesn’t need it because he thinks twice as quickly as every other player on the pitch ….

  153. alfamilano says:

    PS ‘arry has dropped his interest in RVN. Instead he’s put in a bid for TV, on the basis he’s a better natural goal scorer than any of the spud strikers.

    😆

  154. Rasputin says:

    It’s being reported that Dzeko was at the game yesterday …. no…. it couldn’t be true ….. we’re not going to buy him …….. or are we ?????????

  155. Rasputin says:

    Why is there a lack of euphoria in the Arsenal blog world?

    I’m looking forward to seeing those two young pups Campbell and Tweety line up against Stoke … plenty of long throws straight onto Sol’s head please 😛

  156. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    I just read that about Dzeko too – are you smiling rasp or shaking your realistic head ………

  157. Rasputin says:

    Morning peaches …… I can’t win, I’m normally the miserable bugger on here, yet this morning I’ve come on all happy and no-one wants to join in 🙄

    You have no idea how happy I would be to be wrong in my prediction if we were to sign Dzeko … although it is true, it doesn’t look like we need another striker with 51 goals in the league already this season and no loss of momentum even without RvP and Nik

  158. peachesgooner says:

    So Owen Coyle thinks we should have kicked the ball out of play when Davies was on the ground – like Bolton would have done that wouldn’t they?

    Anyway haven’t the FA decreed that only the refs whistle stops the game – its only in Europe that the players use their own initiative of ‘fair play’ I thought.

  159. peachesgooner says:

    …..and when we played Everton a couple of weeks ago and Denilson went down like he’d been shot with no contact from anyone the game carried on……..we would have like the play to stop but it didn’t……get over it 😉

    Teams aren’t going to like if they think we’ve turned into hard nuts 😆

  160. peachesgooner says:

    Now I’m talking to myself….. 😦

  161. Rasputin says:

    We need a match report or just a short new post peaches to get some chat going 😦

  162. peachesgooner says:

    There are lots of match reports about so we only really need a few excited lines to start the day off…….ave might be penning them as we speak 😉

  163. rico says:

    Sorry guys, been animal-ing and cleaning 😦

    I am hoping ave has a match report, nothing in the drafts though…

  164. Rasputin says:

    Here’s a match report for you ave ……

    FOOTBALL WON, BOLTON DIDN’T

  165. rico says:

    Is this Dzeko appearance true guys? Please tell me it is 😛

  166. Rasputin says:

    It doesn’t have to be a match report rico … there are plenty of other talking points …..

  167. Rasputin says:

    I very much doubt it rico … like I said earlier, scoring goals doesn’t seem to be a problem – it would be good if we conceded fewer …

  168. rico says:

    Today is ave’s or JJ’s Rasp…

  169. Rasputin says:

    Not blaming you rico … just a bit disappointed as I want to celebrate with you all 😉

  170. rico says:

    I know, we are all on top of the world – we sit top of the EPL, what a birthday present for anyone who has a birthday today 😉 😉

  171. peachesgooner says:

    Morning rico 🙂

    Good point about the number of goals conceded rasp – so many goals have been conceded by all the teams though …….

  172. alfamilano says:

    Peaches, Rasp, I’m euphoric (and a bit hoarse).

    I was so happy last night I even had a friendly bit of banter with the bloke behind me, who normally drives us all mad. Sample bellow last night, at 3-2 up ‘Take Arshavin off, he’s sh***!! We need a defender!!!’. Cue AK47 and we are top of the league. 😀

    All the blog needs to say is ‘Top of the League’ 😀

  173. Rasputin says:

    I thought Dudu had a pretty good game yesterday, but he does seem to have lost a bit of pace … I wonder if it is as a consequence of the injury?

  174. rico says:

    Morning peaches – bet the foot feels better this morning 😉

  175. rico says:

    Great to see Tomas shoooooooooooot and score 🙂

  176. Rasputin says:

    Hi alfa,

    Today is a headline writer’s dream. I know we shouldn’t get carried away especially with the games ahead, but to come back from 2 down and grab top spot was some achivement …. pissing off the Bolton Bullies was jus an added bonus 😆

  177. peachesgooner says:

    I was duty bound to tell Irish what was going on – I’d told her I would text her when we scored – didn’t tell her anything until it was 3-2 ……

  178. Rasputin says:

    Yes rico, but in typical style, the commentator blamed ther goalie instaed of praising Tomas … he smashed it in the back of the net, the keeper would have been there too if he’d got in the way…..

  179. peachesgooner says:

    Anyone would think that game was easy – Bolton were really up for it and they still thought they could get something from the game when it was 3-2 – they were attacking furiously……….

  180. alfamilano says:

    Rasp, Dudu was very good. I’m not sure one way or another about his pace, could be he’s lost some. He just seems to be getting his confidence back – turning, passing, great runs off the ball.

    No-one has mentioned Almunia’s free kick save either, v. good and v.important. I’ve said before I don’t rate Almunia but that save was excellent.

  181. rico says:

    Guys – I have to go out for a few hours..

    Catch you all later – enjoy the day…

    Top, and we’re Gunner stay there 🙂 🙂

  182. kelsey says:

    We have now seen a worse keeper than Almunia 😉

    Owen Coyle has burnley up next.

  183. peachesgooner says:

    Morning kelsey – how did the stream work out for you?

  184. Rasputin says:

    I agree with you on Almunia’s save alfa. Unfortunately he seems to have learned s trick from Lehman where he collects the ball after being under pressure, gets all excited and immediately rolls the ball out to a defender who’s not ready to receive it and who gets closed down before he can do anything with it. It can lead to a swift counter-attack but often the ball gets played back to him hurriedly and he hoofs it upfield and we lose possesion.

  185. Rasputin says:

    Bolton going down and Burnley staying up would be great …. as long as Hull go down too. That would purge the prem of it’s 2 least worthy managers.

  186. peachesgooner says:

    I agree rasp – I’m always worried about what Almunia is going to – his goal-kicks are useless and as you say he often rolls the ball out to a player who isn’t ready to receive it.

Leave a Reply

