The Avenell Road Awards (the ARA’s) your chance to vote..

Welcome to the First Annual Avenell Road Awards (the ARA’s) .

Today is your chance to vote on some things that you may love or hate being a Gooner so get your glad rags and penguin suits on and cast your votes. (even if you are just a reader have a vote) I will announce the results later or in the morning.

Just a bit of New Years Day fun, the serious stuff starts soon. We will no doubt be playing Fantasy Arsenal now that the transfer window opens so here’s your last chance of light relief.

Happy New Year to all posters and readers.

Oh and Happy Birthday to our lil’ Jackie boy. Sweet 18..

111 Responses to The Avenell Road Awards (the ARA’s) your chance to vote..

  1. London says:

    Two posts in a day? That’s showing off 😉

  2. London says:

    Player of the decade was a tricky one.

  3. Rasputin says:

    Testing Post ave!!

    Yea London, ‘player of the decade’ and ‘most improved player’ were the two categories where I couldn’t pick one candidate. I was disappointed that Hunt the *** wasn’t an option in the “Most annoying player that plays for an opposing team in the last decade?” section

  4. JonJon says:

    london that is tricky theres so many of them…i love them all (apart from the obvious 😉 ) but my decision was based solely on a football decision… 😉

  5. Rasputin says:

    Aha JonJon – you chose TH14 same as me then 😉

  6. JonJon says:

    no rasp…i chose dennis.. 😉

    henry is my favorite player…but as far as legends go i think dennis tops it…he started the ball rolling with technically superior players and finished his career with us..

  7. avenell says:

    Oh dear Rasp… What will Irish say.. 😉

  8. avenell says:

    I just had a thought then .. as the results are hidden .. how do we get to see them..lol..

    It’s okay I’ve sussed it.. 🙂

  9. JonJon says:

    lol

  10. Rasputin says:

    Dennis spanned 2 decades though JJ?

    I’ve said before, I consider DB a footballing genius and TH (in his time with us) as a phenomenon

  11. Rasputin says:

    BTW TH14 scored the most goals in the prem in the decade I’m informed by my son 😉

  12. JonJon says:

    yeah denis spanned two..but he still qualifies for this one.. 😉

    yeah thierry scored the most goals this decade…robbie keane was second and i think fat frank was third…

    both were brilliant rasp..henry is my favorite..but denis was special in his own right…

    ive always said with denis and henry upfront i was dissapointed we didnt win more than we did…

  13. peachesgooner says:

    Hi all

    Happy New Year again

    Most improved player – only one possible answer.

    Talking of Irish and Thierry, she and I were texting last night and I was telling her about the 50 greatest premiership goals that had been on sky tv when I got home in the evening – luckily I only saw the top 12 which featured goals by Kanu – the third goal from the impossible angle against Chelsea, Robins fabulous volley against Charlton and Dennis’ chip and turn against Newcastle. I was relieved not to have to mention Thierry……;)

  14. peachesgooner says:

    Do you think Philippe has the same foot injury as me …. 😛

  15. JonJon says:

    sky did one of those, legs…

    top goals of the decade and di canio won it…none of theirrys goals were in and dennis came second…

    rvp was better than di canios and he wasnt even in it..

  16. peachesgooner says:

    Hi ave – no wonder you were upset not to have the right post go up this morning….. well done that must have taken you ages to do ….. 😀

  17. peachesgooner says:

    That was the sky one JJ

  18. peachesgooner says:

    Some of those goals in the top ten were quite flukey and could have gone anywhere IMO only the Bergkamp goal was pure skill……

  19. peachesgooner says:

    …..and Robins and Kanus of course…..goes without saying 😳

  20. peachesgooner says:

    Look at all those legs in a row 😛

  21. mr o ola says:

    Ramsy is far the best player in arsenal at the moment he has scored two goals in 3 matches, he knows how to control the game and knows when to shot. On like the rest that just pass at the front of goal all the time. We are always in and opponents box every 2 minute if they shot 4 times one of them would at list go in that is how man u and chelsea are wining games every week if we do that we would be clocking the 150 goals in a season at list i think their next training they should concentrate on shotting

  22. JonJon says:

    oh.. 😳

    i seen the poll and they were voting but they only had like 10 goals to vote from..so i dont know what i was watching…

    might have been sky one then

  23. peachesgooner says:

    Looks like the Follies Bergeres …. 😆

  24. avenell says:

    Hi mr o ola.. You are free to come on when you want now.. It’s the first one that gets stuck..

    Hi Peaches.. I turned on the blog this morning and I was expecting this yet something else come up.. It was more amazement and frustration that I am useless on computers.. 😦

  25. peachesgooner says:

    Hello mr o ola – yep you won’t get any disagreement here on those thoughts, I just hope Ramsey doesn’t catch the ‘better not shoot’ bug …….

  26. avenell says:

    I don’t agree on Ramsey.. He will always take on a risky pass when we are all pushing up..

    and like Diaby and Theo it’s always easier to score the third or fourth goals as the other teams are pushing up giving us more space.

    But he is only n’ n’ n’ nineteen..

  27. JonJon says:

    ramseys got alot to learn still mr o ola..

    hes a great little player but turning it on against pompey is a different kettle of fish to the top sides…and europe…

  28. Rasputin says:

    I think the best goal technically that TH scored (can’t remember against who)… he was out wide left approaching the corner of the box and he received a diagonal pass coming across his body and he just helped it on its way with a lot of power and curl into the top right corner – incredible technique… someone remind me of the opposition if you can.

    Surely the criteria by which ‘best goals’ should be judged are degree of skill and margin of error. Pires’ goal aginst Portsmouth was fantastic but I think we were already 4 up and as keeps saying 😉 … it’s easy to score when you’re comfortably in front

  29. Rasputin says:

    Up until his injury, Cesc was our best player based on recent form, for me TV (closely followed by Gallas) has been the best player judged on the season so far.

  30. JonJon says:

    pires scored a screamer against southampton when we beat them 6-1..he and pennant got hatricks…

    he also scored a peach against the dippers…

    cant think of the team rasp…but my favorite henry goal was against the mancs where he flipped it and hit it from 30 yards…orgasmic..

  31. Rasputin says:

    That’s it JJ – Southampton not Portsmouth (I knew it was on the south coast)

  32. peachesgooner says:

    Nah – you wait, he’ll soon be part of the ‘how many passes can we complete in front of goal and not score’……..

  33. JonJon says:

    i wanted to vote for cesc rasp but im in love with TV…

    cescs been amazing but tv’s form has left me purring…we havent seen a defender like that for a long while..hats off to wenger for what will be the signing of the season…

  34. Rasputin says:

    I was at that manc game right in line with the shot JonJon, it was so unexpected and vbrilliant at the same time that I just laughed hysterically for about 5 minutes. Few things in life can make me that happy 🙄

  35. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rasp 😛

  36. Rasputin says:

    Hello peaches, Happy New Heel to you 😉

  37. peachesgooner says:

    Bugger 😦

  38. peachesgooner says:

    A new heel – now would be some gift 😀

  39. peachesgooner says:

    A new heel – now that would be some gift 😀

  40. Rasputin says:

    Looks like your love-child Big Phillipe Phlop is going to play on sunday peaches……

  41. Rasputin says:

    Can Phillipe Phollop go into Raife’s terminology 😆

  42. peachesgooner says:

    He wasn’t a Big Phlop when he played alongside Toure to get us to the Champs Lge final – bad man management thats what I say – sue the manger 😛

  43. peachesgooner says:

    ‘manager’ 😳

    No point in being clever if you miss some letters out 😦

  44. peachesgooner says:

    Definitley it should rasp ….. 🙂

  45. Rasputin says:

    I wonder if smart-arse-ave (SAA for short) realised that his cunning new pollpotpost would mean that it takes forever to reload the page?

  46. rico says:

    Good one ave, and now i see why you were concerned, what if the most under performer is not in that five 😉

  47. peachesgooner says:

    Speaking of laughing hysterically at a game – I was with rasps son at the trouncing of the spuds and he couldn’t stop laughing when Cesc scored our 2nd goal from the ko – obviously runs in the family …. 😛

  48. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rico – do you think someone else should be in that list then ……

  49. JonJon says:

    pick your own rico..like strawberries…

    rasp phillipe phallope…PMSL…

  50. avenell says:

    SAA here.. yeah I did think that might happen when I previewed it..

    tbh it was a bit of an experiment to see how many read and how many people actually post on here..

    I think you can only have one vote.. if that’s the case we have a few bloggers who are read only..

    Well over a 100 actually..

  51. peachesgooner says:

    100 have taken part in the poll?

  52. Rasputin says:

    The voting slip comes up again everytime you reload ave – but I haven’t tried voting twice. I think a lot of blogsurfers skip over the post – don’t take it personally, I think it was a jolly good idea…. I look forward to the results to see that everyone agrees with me 🙄

  53. avenell says:

    Just over peaches.. I feel i’m being watched.. 😯

  54. avenell says:

    No it says you have already voted when you try to vote twice.. I just tried it..

  55. peachesgooner says:

    So its not going to be a fix then …..

  56. avenell says:

    Peaches, it’s not like those dodgy 70’s pop groups trying to get to no1 in the hit parade.. 😉

  57. peachesgooner says:

    All the talk is definitely about buying strikers but what about a keeper………sometimes I really don’t understand Arsene…….

  58. peachesgooner says:

    Has anyone seen kelsey today – has he been on……

  59. avenell says:

    What sort of keeper do you expect to come in Peaches?

    An old one that might be worse than Almunia or a top class one that will block Fabianski’s progress into the first team?

    I don’t know what he will do, In a years time the problem is solved.. Is it a big problem?

  60. avenell says:

    Not on here I don’t think but he wished us HNY in advance so perhaps he never intended to be on..

  61. JonJon says:

    i think fabianskis gotta be given a go before we talk about signing keepers…

    i think almunias times coming to an end..well it depends on his form..but it isnt looking good…

    wont be long before fab2 gets a go…then we’ll see if we need to buy…

    mannonne and chesney are good prospects but if fab cant cut it we should buy

  62. Rasputin says:

    I thought Fabianski improved steadily when he had a run in the side. Almunia came straight back in once he had sorted himself out. Fabianski was very commanding and positive against citeh, IMO he’s already better than Almunia but is not being given the chance. I don’t see any evidence that AW will replace Almunia with Fab in a year’s time?

    We have probably the best 2 CB’s in the prem yet our defence looks nervous because they are unsure of the keeper. Maybe we could dispense with a holding midfielder if we had a more reliable keeper?

  63. peachesgooner says:

    With Almunia playing so poorly this season I just feel that Fabianski should be already in the team. There is widespread panic when we defend largely because there is no confidence in Al. Either Arsene recognises this as a problem or he doesn’t……if he does I feel he should do something about it…….if he doesn’t then the panic will continue and mistakes will be made…..thats all…………..

  64. peachesgooner says:

    Exactly rasp – we would we be so worried about no Song if we weren’t so worried about the keeper and defending poorly ………..

  65. peachesgooner says:

    Too many ‘we’s in there 😳

  66. Rasputin says:

    Brad Friedel would have been a great stop-gap for a couple of years whilst the younger keepers learn their trade – we should have bought him when Lehman left. Obviously Given was the biggest miss.

    Almunia is in his prime. I ask again, when has he ever been outstanding for a run of games? Is his best good enough? He’s just not aggressive enough for a top keeper and indicisiveness is the worst flaw a keeper can have.

  67. rico says:

    I am seriously worried that we will have no Song, any doubters will soon realise just how good a job he has done very soon…

    If AW has money, I hope he gets a HM and then a striker…

    Both is what we really need and on top of that if Senderos goes, we need to replace him – if we do that then we have a darn good chance for a trophy or two….

  68. peachesgooner says:

    He could be a bad keeper but still be a better communicator…….the panic is twofold a) hes making mistakes and b) knowone knows what hes going to do…. 😦

  69. peachesgooner says:

    I think even Songs serious doubters know that hes done a great job so far this season they just think he wasn’t good enough in the beginning and weren’t prepared to give him a chance.

    I feel like that about Diaby except in reverse – I think Diaby is a cracking footballer but felt he wasn’t intelligent enough to do the job Arsene wanted him to do for us. Now I’m hoping his newly transplanted grey cells don’t fail before the beginning of May 😛

  70. peachesgooner says:

    Hmmmmnnnnnn legs v Philippe thats a hard one……looks like BPP might still be around for a while longer 😛

    And if hes got what I’ve got wrong with his foot then I can tell you it really hurts……still… 😦

  71. peachesgooner says:

    Follies Bergeres is back…better go and cook some dinner……. 😆

  72. rico says:

    I always thought Diaby was going to be the one to fill the gap that Paddy left – but sadly I was mistaken big time….

    However, the last couple of games he has really improved, but that is alongside Song – maybe he is ready, I don’t know, but I guess we will all soon find out ….

  73. rico says:

    Catch you all tomorrow

  74. avenell says:

    Cheers rico.. night.

  75. Rasputin says:

    Night rico 😉

    Diaby hasn’t had a braincell transplant, he’s just been allowed to play his natural role and not try to be a DM or HM, that is why he was so good in the first half against pompey and went missing in the second when he played further back. He’s a brilliant instinctive footballer, not someone who reads the game particularly well and he’s still poor when not in possession of the ball, but he is clinical in his finishing and I’d bet his goals per shot ratio is pretty impressive.

  76. avenell says:

    Peaches… call me a traditionist, but I liked your purple Arsenal badge..

  77. kelsey says:

    Hello and Happy New Year.What’s all this about Senderos in the squad for Sunday,

    I am cream crackered so please be brief.

  78. avenell says:

    I wonder if Diaby has ever played the no9 roll even in training. He may be more suited there than AA.
    and AA could then play his natural game..

    We have proved we can score goals from midfield and even defence, so it’s not like we are relying on Diaby to score all the time.

    He could be a real pain for the opposing defences..

  79. avenell says:

    Hi Kelsey.. it’s on Arse.com..

    IOA.com.. to be brief..

  80. Rasputin says:

    I’d like to se that ave. I said last year when we still had Ade that I thought Diaby might be able to play Ade’s role without the offsides and laziness.

  81. peachesgooner says:

    kelsey – it seems Phil has been nursing a poorly foot which Arsene hopes will be better so that he can play on Sunday – added to that Arsene has said that no-one will leave in January except on loan soooooooooooooo………..he could be staying ….

    Brief enough 😛

  82. peachesgooner says:

    ave – did you like my badge avatar better than my legs or better than Phillipe …. 😀

  83. avenell says:

    I never saw that Rasp.. I just liked him when he played behind Bendtner against Man U last year..

    This years formation could make him more suited as the “wingers” can run beyond him..

  84. kelsey says:

    thanks ave and peaches,so why is he on the bench every other game but never used.

  85. avenell says:

    Peaches.. they both have pluses and minuses..

    Personally I like the avatars like Raifs Rasps (first) and London’s.. I suppose I am biased..

    I don’t really like the new Arsenal badge and what it was changed for and some players are difficult to make out..
    I suppose we want different things from our avatars..

  86. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – what good is Diaby to the team if he doesn’t read the game particularly well and is poor when not in possession of the ball……..just asking 😉

  87. Rasputin says:

    My first was the Yin Yang – I didn’t think that was approved of?

  88. kelsey says:

    i am changing my avatar then.

  89. peachesgooner says:

    Defenders are often on the bench and never used aren’t they …..

  90. avenell says:

    Why rasp? I thought that was a bit personal and a bit Arsenal.. Suited you..

    A bit like Peaches first the colours suited her and Arsenal as well..

  91. peachesgooner says:

    D’you want my legs kelsey …….

  92. avenell says:

    Don’t go with what I say kelsey..

    I have no taste I’m with Mrs Avenell remember.. 😉

    She isn’t here tonight.. 😉 phew!

  93. avenell says:

    We will do the best avatar awards next year.. 🙂

  94. peachesgooner says:

    ave – you’re very naughty 😦

  95. avenell says:

    You know I don’t mean it.. she has to put up with me really and the blog..

  96. Rasputin says:

    peaches, re Diaby – its square peg and round hole syndrome.

    He can maximise his potential playing further forward and minimise the adverse effect of his shortcomings….. Very few players are perfect; DB was a crap tackler and Gilberto was a pretty poor passer of the ball.

  97. peachesgooner says:

    So where does he fit into our team …..

  98. Rasputin says:

    We don’t have a settled team. We have a large squad by necessity because of the propensity of our players to get injured. For us, winning the prem has more to do with how the side copes with the loss of ‘important players’ because that is the situation we find ourselves in the majority of the time. But I think he fits in best as a No. 10 although as ave says, I’d like to see him tried up front as the target man. We have loads of potential No. 10’s

  99. peachesgooner says:

    It must bother Arsene that he buys a player to play in a particular role and finds that hes better somewhere else……..thanks rasp 😛

    Original Italian job v Quantum of Solace hmmmnnnnn

  100. Rasputin says:

    OK peaches … I know when you’re being ‘ironic’ 😆

  101. peachesgooner says:

    Moi 😆

  102. London says:

    You know if Wenger is reading this we will never get a new striker in the window.

  103. peachesgooner says:

    Well at least we now know Songs best position and with both Robin and Nikki injured maybe Diabys will come to light. Arsene what d’you think………

  104. peachesgooner says:

    Hi London – Happy New Year

  105. peachesgooner says:

    Taken at face value, I thought Wenger was describing plantar fasciitis.

    Ha see, I told you BPP has the same thing the matter with his foot as me 😛 😛 😛

  106. London says:

    Happy New Year Peaches

    And I hope your foot improves, night, night.

  107. rico says:

    Morning all

  108. London says:

    Morning Rico

    I have had to walk up and down the High Street today to get the news after finding out that your one stop shop was closed 😦

  109. rico says:

    Morning London,

    A post has been done for this morning by JJ, so I haven’t done a round up – best you go rest your tired legs 😉

  110. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters..

    NEW POST. You will like this one London.. 😉

  111. alfamilano says:

    Morning all,

    great idea for the poll. Much as I love TH I’ve always thought that Dennis was the best player that we ever had (at least back to the 70’s from personal experience).

    The list of annoying players and managers could have been long long long.

Leave a Reply

