Arsenal Rules O.K.

The Christmas holidays were getting a tad boring so I flicked on the telly and The Big Match Revisited was on, unfortunately there was no Arsenal Playing it was Fulham and Manchester City. I started to watch these 22 men playing on what looked like a ploughed field all covered in mud, amazingly there was still some good passing but I started thinking how football has changed.

A pass back and the goalkeeper picks it up, no free kick. Then the keeper kicks the ball long and it barely crosses the half way line. They can throw it further now than they could kick it..

The  old advertising hoardings, Rumbelows, Gola, Esso.. Some famous companies have gone or no longer sponser football.. It’s funny sometimes when you watch clubs like Burnley have hoardings at their grounds on with sponsored by some company like Joe  Smith the local builder and we are luckily enough to be sponsored by one of the largest airline companies and sports clothing businesses in the world. The great divide.

Anyway this brings me around to the subject of changes, the rules, equipment, the balls, linesmen. Loads of things have changed over the last 30 or so years.

Does it make it better that we get 3 points for a win? I calculated it once and the same team still won the League just the points were a lot closer, sometimes 3 points for a win just makes me feel worse when we only get a draw. It feels nearer a defeat.

The goalkeeper not picking the ball up from a pass back.. I quite like this change it suits the better teams and stops time-wasting.

The new equipment? We now have balls that swerve like beach balls and boots as light as ballet dancers, I don’t know too much about this but the new blades coupled with the new pitches with plastic interwoven into the turf doesn’t sound like a good idea, but the clubs let the players wear them so they know best.

What about the amount of substitutes now,  just a time wasting plot or is it better that we can just rest players and rectify managers team selections?

I’ll tell you the rule that I really hate and that is the offside rule, it is just an opinion, is he interfering with play?
Everyone keeps banging on about we need a defensive coach like Tony Adams or Martin Keown but when they were good as a unit they had a major tool in their armour that they used and that was a proper offside rule which was clear and simple.

Other rules that come in like respect the referee goes out the window after a few weeks because everyone knows that Roonchester United are the main culprits and you cannot send a player off from Fergies team.
The keeper can can move but he must stay on his line is another joke of a rule, how long did the ref’s adhere to that. Then they say respect the ref, well bloody well earn it the rules are all in place just use them with a bit of common sense.

Is their anything you would like to see changed back or you miss and not just those little darlings that used to bring around those scratch card tickets at Half Time.

Have a good day my fellow Gooners…

Happy New Year to all, and here’s to a fab 2010 🙂

43 Responses to Arsenal Rules O.K.

  1. rico says:

    Morning Roadsters

    Happy New Year…

    peaches, the chicks are born and bred in England, they are Gooner Chicks and they even gave me a nice warm wooly Arsenal hat for Christmas 😉

  2. rico says:

    I would like to change this mans date of birth to be born in 1991 – and to be able to see him in our colours for may more years 😦

    Dennis Bergkamp is “proud” that his magnificent strike at Newcastle in 2002 has been chosen as Arsenal’s goal of the decade by the Club’s fans.

    The Dutch master’s classic at St. James’ Park received 34 per cent of the votes cast in our online poll, ahead of Thierry Henry’s lob against Manchester United in 2000 and Robin Van Persie’s volley at Charlton in 2006.

    Bergkamp’s audacious flick which set up his poll-winning goal seven years ago took the breath away but the man himself didn’t realise how special it was until he watched it after the event.

    Click here to watch a special video tribute and read the story behind Bergkamp’s goal

    “In Newcastle I decided on the very last moment that I had to do it like that. It was the only way,” he told the official Ajax website.

    “When the ball went to one side and I went to the other, I had to use some power to push the defender away. And I needed a bit luck as well.

    “I didn’t realise that it was something special. For me and my team-mates it was so important to win in Newcastle that we were just very happy that we scored to go 1-0 up. We were fighting to win the league.

    “Afterwards I got a lot of questions which were all the same. Did I mean it that way? I was surprised and it made me curious as well. So two days later I watched the goal myself. From that moment I understood what they meant. But yes, this is how I wanted to play the ball to become in a good position to score.”

    Bergkamp left Arsenal in the summer of 2006 and is currently coaching the Ajax youth team, but he is proud to be held in such high esteem by the fans he entertained for 11 years.

    “Yes it makes me proud that the fans chose my goal, because I haven’t played football for three and a half years,” he admitted.

    “Arsenal made a lot of goals in the decade and I remember that there were several very nice ones. Which isn’t a surprise with players like Thierry Henry, Robert Pires, Cesc Fabregas and Robin Van Persie. That’s what makes it even more special for me.”

  3. rico says:

    You lazy lot 😉

  4. Tiki says:

    @rico: I don’t think everyone is lazy, they’re just hungover.

  5. rico says:

    Hi Tiki, they should have drunk more water before going to bed 🙂

  6. Irishgunner says:

    Alcohol is evil 😦

    Still feeling the effects and its 22:15pm in NSW, Australia.

    Going to bed now 7hr train journey tomorrow to Sydney. Yipee 😐

    Laters

  7. rico says:

    Hi Irish, bye Irish – have a safe trip, take a bag with you 😳

  8. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters..

    Morning rico..

    Have you any idea what happened to today’s post, this isn’t the one I set up?
    I cannot find it anywhere, I set the timer and pressed publish and everything.

  9. rico says:

    Hi ave, no sorry, I checked that it came on as you asked and this one was here, I just presumed it was the right one… 😦

  10. avenell says:

    I couldn’t see this one the other day either, I wanted to work on it and save it for a rainy day.

    Have a look and see if you can see another one I did yesterday could ya please.

  11. rico says:

    I have emailed you ave

  12. rico says:

    What was the post’s headline ave?

  13. avenell says:

    I have replied.. and I have re-done the post.. it’s in drafts now.. no probs..

    Whre the hell is everyone, and the magic question..

    Have we signed anyone yet?
    This new kid from Brazil seems a bit good.. 🙂

  14. rico says:

    He seems a good signing ave, £3.5M is a lot to AW to part with, so he had better be good 😉

    Its really quiet today

  15. rico says:

    From Young Guns – maybe soon, another player 🙂

    Following confirmation of the signing of Fluminense forward Wellington Silva, Arsenal are hot the heels of their second Brazilian, with Silva’s international team-mate Zézinho also being lined up for a move to North London.

    His club side Juventude have rejected a number of bids from Arsenal but they finally succumbed to increase pressure and accepted an offer in December. However, a change of board has seen President Sergio Florian wait until January to decide whether to sanction the transfer. A group of European investors have also had an offer accepted meaning it will be a two-way fight.

    The exciting left-footed winger is already a regular for the Serie ‘B’ outfit but his days are numbered. It’s almost certain that his current employers will not fully own their prize asset by the end of the January window. Zézinho only signed a new deal recently but his club manager expects him to leave, with an improved bid set to come to secure the transfer for Arsenal shortly.

    “The last contact from Arsenal was about 20 days ago. I think they are waiting until January, when the transfer window opens and the Head of Arsenal Youth will make an improved bid. For now, there is nothing new.”

    A skilful, diminutive but strong attacking winger, Zézinho spent two weeks on trial a year ago, and since then he’s gone on to be a key part of the Brazil youth lineup and for Juventude’s first team. A transfer should be concluded shortly

  16. Rasputin says:

    Hi Roadsters and Roosters 😉

    I ope you haven’t all got pneumatic drills going in your heads this morning! My evening was reasonably sober 😦

    No sniff of any signings – but loads of rumours surrounding comings and goings at the spuds – ‘aay will let pavlyuchenko go for the right price – I pray its not to us…..

  17. JonJon says:

    ???????????????????????????????

  18. avenell says:

    Hi Rasp.. Two Peroni Avenell you can call me.. 🙂

    I’m not sure about Pav.. If we could get him on the cheap and he bangs in 15-20 goals this season.. That should set old ‘arry off..

    Buy him for £8 sell him for a £30 to RM in the summer.. 😉
    I can dream lol..

  19. avenell says:

    JJ.. don’t ask.. it’s a long story..

  20. rico says:

    Hi Rasp sober one for me too, too many animals to look after 😉

    Hi JJ, and it had nothing to do with me! 😉

  21. rico says:

    Anyone know what AW said in his i/v on afc.com about Huntelaar??

  22. Rasputin says:

    Hi ave / rico / JonJon 😉

    Do you think that means that no-one wants to buy BP or that a prospective buyer would like to see him perform in a competitive game to show his fitness/sharpness?

  23. rico says:

    Rasp – I am not sure how anyone could want him, he hasn’t played for so long…

  24. Rasputin says:

    It’s odd isn’t it rico, he’s not that bad and could probably play for any of the lower half prem sides…

    I think Arsene likes him as a person and just wants to help him in his career but there aren’t any takers.

  25. Wrighty7 says:

    Happy New Year All!

  26. JonJon says:

    hello guys..

    phils situation is one we’ll never figure out…

    was he in trouble?? was he injured? was he transfer listed but noone wants him??

    his contract is up in 6 months..maybe its one of those situations where clubs would rather wait for his services then fork out for him??

  27. JonJon says:

    same to you wrighty mate..

  28. Rasputin says:

    Seasons Greetings Wrighty and JonJon,

    I reckon the chavs and manure will buy in January, the spuds might, but I would be shocked if pool shelled out for any more losers…..

  29. London says:

    Happy New Year

    There have got to be plenty of clubs that are interested in Big Phil, my take on it is that he has been waiting in the hope that a club that he likes comes in for him. It could be true that he is waiting until his contract is up but I find it difficult to imagine that Arsenal are asking too much money for him. It wouldn’t surprise me if a potential buyer has asked to see him play as a way of proving his fitness.

    I cannot see Gallas playing tomorrow at all.

  30. London says:

    Pool shelling out for more losers is the one thing that wouldn’t shock me…..they seem to be collecting them.

  31. Rasputin says:

    Hi London,

    I don’t know if BP is automatically 1st/2nd choice CB for Switzerland, but as they’ve qualified, you’d expect him to want ‘exposure’ leading up to the tournament.

    I agree Gallas won’t play tomorrow and even TV may be rested/protected – they are the two players we can lest afford to get injured….

  32. London says:

    Oh and Rico

    Wenger said in his interview when asked that Huntelaar was not on his radar and seemed to be telling the truth, although, I accept that the truth and tranfer windows are two things that very rarely go together.

  33. JonJon says:

    ditto rasp..

    london..i think both gallas and TV will be rested..the silvestre/senderos or silvestre/song partnership looks possible..

    wham have alot of injuries so their team wont be at full strength…its a good chance to rest our lads

  34. London says:

    Hi Rasp

    Good point about Senderos needing to be playing regularly if he wants to go to the world cup. Thinking about it he must want to go which may be the incentive for him to make a decision on going to a club.

  35. Rasputin says:

    Actually nobody will play tomorrow – the game’s on sunday 😳 thanks for not correcting me ……

  36. Rasputin says:

    Maybe we could do a deal with wham for him with CC coming our way 😕

  37. JonJon says:

    london..two quality lines of the day..

    liverpool collecting losers and transfer windows and truth.. 😉

  38. London says:

    As I think JJ said that all the lower teams in the Premiership would take him which I agree I would add that I reckon that so would all the lower teams in Spain and Italy, my guess is that the only thing holding up a transfer is him making a decision and prehaps playing in the world cup may finally make him do that.

  39. rico says:

    Thanks London, re the Hunter bit

    I agree about Big Phil, he is a good man, well until he caught the Italian Bug – since his loan it has gond downhill for him…

  40. London says:

    Rasp should take today’s prize “Liverpool collecting losers” is top drawer……..and really funny

  41. avenell says:

    As nobody liked the last post.. 😦

    Try a NEW POST..

Leave a Reply

