Our Heroes versus the Villains.

Morning Roadsters, today is a big day for our Premiership title hopes as we take on Aston Villa. This batch of  Brummies are beginning to be our main rivals from nether regions of the league, replacing the Scousers and the Spuds. Although, it wouldn’t upset me too much…. in fact, come to think about it, I would love it if we won the Premiership and Villa came runners up.

I cannot think of anything that has really made me dislike Aston Villa, apart from they are a bit like Chelsea: in midland terms they are the glamour club, but unlike Chelsea I think they have earned their title through football history rather than just bought it, so not even that really.

Jealous? Yes, a little, they have won the European big one.. Good things come to those that wait, but you have to be in it to win it, that is why a top 4 spot in the Premiership is so important to both these clubs.

There is something about Villa’s style of play that we struggle against, which in reality we should be the best ones in the league to handle them, with our fast full backs counter acting there fast wingers and strikers.

But we always fall into the Villa trap.. possession football moving further and further up the pitch leaving acres of space for Villa to run into. Is this our problem or a lack of desire?

Martin O’Neill, he is a Mr Motivator and I have to hand it to managers who can keep motivating player beyond there capabilities, if we could clone a lot of Arsene and that bit of Martin we would have some manager, but I am not in the dressing room so perhaps Arsene does that anyway, in a more mellow sort of way. Mystic Arsene…

So, who do we start today, we have to work out who we have left un-injured and that doesn’t leave many options. If Theo doesn’t start that would cheer me up as I read that to mean that Arsene is starting to see the same thing us fans can.. I am not entirely happy with Arshavin leading the line, I would rather Eduardo but at the moment beggars can’t be choosers.

All the main players in the Premiership are losing their way but unlike us they have injuries and we have a fully fit squad so we need to take advantage of this. 😉

Man U have no centre halves, the press make me well up more than watching a secret millionaire.. So instead of buying 10 x £30 million pound players, Mr chequebook Fergiescum, you could have bought a 100x £3 million pound players and develop them like we have to and wait,, and er wait..

Chelsea have a batch of players off to the African Nations Cup, so if Man U or Chelsea don’t buy the Arsenal business model will prove to be the winner in this recession ..

My team for today would be different to Mr Wengers OBE’s.. But I expect Arsene to field a conservative line up.

……………..Almunia ..

Sagna… Gallas…. Vermaelen…. Traore..

……….. Song..,,, Denilson….

…………….Fabregas…..

.. ..Nasri…… Arshavin…. Diaby..

I always think we can win at least 6-0 just like I did when we used to walk up the steps to get to the terraces, with my bag of chips, wishful thinking, but that’s what brings us back every week, the unknown, but I am going for a 2-1 today..

That result would bring a smile to our faces and be the best present Santa never brought us..

Just a quickie, see you in the comments..

282 Responses to Our Heroes versus the Villains.

  1. rico says:

    Morning All

    I popped the post up ave as the timer didn’t 😦

  2. Big Raddy says:

    Morning All,

    Is it correct that we haven’t scored in the first 15 minutes this season? Or it could be 25 !!

    Either way, an early goal today would be great, settle us down and allow us to play on the front foot, plus it would force AV to attack us and play a more expansive game.

    Nasri is important, he has been improving steadily and looks to be an integral part of the team. I take him to score today.

  3. Big Raddy says:

    Good post Ave.

    I am not such a fan of M o*N. He is tainted with MU.

  4. rico says:

    Morning Raddy – couldn’t agree more, if we get to 80 minutes and it’s still 0-0 I will be seriously biting my nails 😦

    Nice post ave

  5. rico says:

    Didn’t Cesc score on 7 minures (ish) against Burnley Raddy?

  6. London says:

    Morning Rico, BR and Ave (hope you don’t mind, I couldn’t resist)

    I read all posts very carefully and I noticed that you have got a very clever little hook up there….nice one.

    BR and Rico

    What are your predictions please

    I am going for a woosey 1-1

  7. rico says:

    Morning London,

    I am going for a home win, with a few goals, maybe 4-2

  8. Ray says:

    Hi, I’m a Villa supporter who still feels like a bit of a pretender in respect of the “Big 4”. However, we have definitely improved each year under MONs guidance. I think today will be a very difficult game. I have the greatest respect for Arsenal and on their day they play beautiful football. I know Arsenal will be there or thereabouts at the end of the season and if we can stay in contact I’ll be happy. Today’s result: at this moment I would settle for a draw but would like a win to take away your game in hand.

  9. London says:

    Morning Rico

    I would rather go and see your game of 4-2 than mine at 1-1 😉

  10. rico says:

    Me too, I reckon Diaby, Nasri, Cesc and Theo to score, the latter will come good today 😉 😉

  11. Rasputin says:

    Morning roadsters,

    Good post ave 😉

    I’d take the analogy about adding a bit of MoN to Arsene and apply it to the squdas. The areas where we are lacking are the ones where villa are strong and vice versa. They are a more consistent ‘team unit’ and have had the luxury of knowing who their best 11 are and playing them regularly.

  12. rico says:

    ARSENE WENGER is poised to launch a £12million January bid for French international striker Andre Pierre Gignac.

    Arsenal’s front line has been hit by an ankle ligaments injury to Robin van Persie, which will see him miss the rest of the season, while Nicklas Bendtner is sidelined with a knee problem.

    Gunners boss Wenger has admired the 6ft 2in Toulouse forward for months and believes that with the French club struggling in their league, he can snatch his man despite him being contracted until 2013.

    Gignac is unhappy after managing just five goals this season after grabbing 24 in 37 games last term. He is keen to get away from Toulouse – especially as Wenger would double his wages to £40,000 a week at the Emirates.

  13. rico says:

    Morning Rasp

  14. Rasputin says:

    Morning rico,

    Did you wrap presents for the puppies. My Jack Russel loves Christmas. I have to wrap his presents because he loves ripping them apart and will open every one else’s given the chance.

  15. villa fan says:

    Cheers for the complimentary article, fella. Nice to see fans, especially those who are vocal and therefore possibly influential to their fellow supporters, consider history and look at opposing teams as fairly as possible.
    Looking forward to the game, lads- I’m hoping for another Christmas cracker!

  16. London says:

    Morning Rasp

    Can I have your prediction please.

  17. Rasputin says:

    Morning London, Seasons Greetings 😛

    I’m incined to agree with you … so I’ll go for 2:2

  18. rico says:

    They are a nightmare Rasp, but this year they just had the wrapping paper tubes, it did the trick, they have been spoiled too much so far 😉

    My inlaws have a JR and she is just as bad as yours by the sound of it, wants all the presents!! 😆

  19. Rasputin says:

    Actually London scrap that prediction, I’m going to be positive (my New Year’s resolution 😉 ) … put me down for 3:2

  20. Big Raddy says:

    I am going for a 2-1 victory to the forces of Good.

  21. JonJon says:

    morning everyone..
    hope everyone had a good xmas…

    i dont have a problem with villa either..unless they are beating us.. 😉

    villa are our ultimate nemesis…the way they play is our kryptonite and today is going to be tough…so im not making a prediction…

  22. Rasputin says:

    Morning Raddy (if that is you 🙄 )

    Just seen AR on News Now for the first time … AVERICO has arrived!

    I’ve done some research on Cignac and he seems to tick most of the boxes and would be a ‘typical Wenger’ purchase. He seems quite similar to Chamakhkakakak in terms of ability and goals per game, I’m just a bit surprised that he is valued as high as £12m.

  23. rico says:

    Morning villa fan and Ray, sorry for the delay you were in moderation ..

  24. Big Raddy says:

    Rasp.

    Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery !! Why me ?????

  25. rico says:

    Morning JJ

    Rasp, I would love either of those two, the latter though I don’t think is cup tied, a big fellar too 🙂

  26. Rasputin says:

    I saw some magnificent goalkeeping on MotD last night … I hope Almunia performs well today. I discussed his abilities with some other gooners last night nad we could only list 1 prem keeper who is worse than him – Jensen, then 4 or 5 who are on a par and the rest aqre better with Given, Reine and Friedel being at the top

  27. rico says:

    Rasputin Says:

    December 27, 2009 at 10:19 am edit

    Just seen AR on News Now for the first time … AVERICO has arrived!

    😆 😆 😆

  28. rico says:

    Given is really cheesed off after what Citeh did to Hughes, would be great if he came to us but I bet Manure go for him…

  29. Rasputin says:

    Yes rico, I read that AC Milan are after Mannone – maybe we will splash out on Given. If we could buy just one player in January, I’d go for Given before a striker or CB.

  30. rico says:

    Suggestions around this morning that LJ could be off to West Ham on loan….

  31. Big Raddy says:

    I am always more excited at the prospect of a new CF than a CB. Let’s hope AW gets his man….. whoever that is.

    My only problem with AV is their ground. I have always hated it, and that dislike was cemented that dreadful night when following a lengthy and unpleasant journey, I witnessed a DB10 penalty miss and a hirsuite Welshman skipping past Lee Dixon to score one of the most distressing goals I have ever had the misfortune to witness.

  32. rico says:

    Sadly though Rasp, we know who won’t 😉

  33. rico says:

    Raddy, I was at a concert that night and getting texts about that game, what a miserable night, and to top it off the lead singer of Beautiful South was tiddled!!

  34. JonJon says:

    yup rico…manure need a keeper more than us..if given becomes available we wont get him…wenger loves almunia too much…

    i dont want either cignac or chamkaka…

    problem we have is that we have 6 strikers…so whos going to be happy sitting on the bench in favour of cignac or chmkaka??we probably have 4 strikers who are better than these two anyway so are they going to be happy sitting on the bench???

    if we are going to spend money then lets get a superstar…like AA…someone who will give us value for money and will start every game.

  35. London says:

    Wow, I have just noticed the two Villa comments above, they have got to be the politest two away fans ever.

  36. Rasputin says:

    You’re right JonJon – but who would you go for?

    I don’t know if there are any published figures, I would estimate that about 1 in 3 new shirts had AA on the back the first game I attended at the Emirates after we signed him. He must have repaid a big chunk of his purchase fee in merchandising alone.

  37. London says:

    It wasn’t just Dixon he waltzed past, quite a few of them failed to do what was needed including Vieira…..Song would have taken a yellow 😉

  38. rico says:

    😆 😆 London, you bet he would, or even a red!

  39. JonJon says:

    i find it interesting london, that ray is forward thinking and he wants villa to beat us to take away our game in hand…

    thats how we talk about manure and chelsea…

    it just shows that villa are contenders…its becoming a game of chess at the top and villa are in the mix big time

  40. Rasputin says:

    Song didn’t take a yellow or a red when he let Jenas ‘waltz past him’ to score totnum’s 3rd in the 4 all …. I was screaming for someone to chop him down….. 😦

  41. JonJon says:

    rasp…

    dzeko..villa…or torres…

    yes i said it torres…swap deal..give the dippers 20mil plus walcott…

  42. Rasputin says:

    Torres is top top class. He’d be fantastic for us. But its just fantasy isn’t it JonJon 😕

  43. JonJon says:

    im not so sure..

    liverpool are imploding…they aint qualifying for anything and i cant see a player like torres staying at a rubbish team…i also cant see him staying if benitez goes which is going to happen…

    liverpool also need the money, and torres has already come public and said hes off if the situation doesnt improve…

    so lets give him a way out now….lets test torres and liverpool…lets unsettle him and make him know we want him…

    if you dont try, you dont buy…

  44. Rasputin says:

    Its not so much pool’s situation that makes me think buying Torres is a fantasy – it’s our policy that precludes it. We should try to trim the squad of some of the fringe players to lower the wage bill and then maybe we could consider someone like Torres.

  45. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters..

    Rico .. thanks for sorting the post out.. I’ll have to have a word with you and see what I did wrong..

    Don’t forget Chelsea have run out of strikers.. if Torres was to move to London I would think Chelsea would be his first choice.
    Chelsea would offer twice the wages.

  46. London says:

    It’s funny how Song still takes the blame for the Jenas goal, I know which site started it but they are wrong, the blame lays squarely at Clichy’s door for giving the ball away in such a school boy manner……look at it again Rasp and see if you blame Song or Clichy more.

  47. London says:

    Jonjon

    Do you have the time or the desire to write the match report. I know this is none of my business but if you are I will butt out and we wont accidently double up.

  48. JonJon says:

    yeah rasp i agree on that point…the policy does make it a fantasy…but if wenger ditched that stupid policy just this once then torres is the perfect man…

    so perfect for us…

    hes the closest thing to henry ive seen in the PL and we deserve him…

    sell theo and vela if we have to…or use them as swap deals..but if hes unsettled then we should definately try…

  49. Rasputin says:

    Cesc lost possession by trying a risky through ball shortly before the incident then Clichy gave the ball away and then Jenas left Song for dead was my recollection London … either way, it has similarities to the Giggs goal. Song has a habit of running into the back of a player who gets past him with his hands already in the air as if to say “I didn’t do it” before he has done it!!! … bit of a giveaway – but he didn’t even do that to Jenas unfortunately.

  50. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    Have to disagree London – Song could have hacked Jenas down without it causing us a problem as he entered our half……

    Lovely day for football – can I have 3-1 please….

  51. peachesgooner says:

    In Songs favour I’m hoping that now he has more experience he would read the danger better and put a foot in earlier…….it was over a year ago………still hurts really bad though 😦 😦 😦

  52. JonJon says:

    london..if you are going to the game and you would like to do a report then by all means do…

    re the jenas goal…

    i was pissed of with them all…

    cesc was still trying throughballs with 90 seconds to go and clichys studs had been sabataged and song just couldnt catch up to jenas…he should have chopped him down…but the blame has to be gaels…

  53. London says:

    OK, Fabregas shouldn’t have tried the Hollywood Pass, Clichy shouldn’t have lost possession so easily and Song should have…….well, broken his leg at the very least. It’s still an emotive subject.

  54. JonJon says:

    is anyone watching goals on sunday???

    ian payne just described arsenal as CL pretenders..along with villa….

    tosser..weve qualified for the CL 12 seasons on the trot…whats to pretend about it???

  55. peachesgooner says:

    broken his leg at the very least 😛 thats the spirit

  56. Rasputin says:

    True JonJon, the debate arose because it was claimed that Song would have stopped Giggs, but as you say, you have to be quick enough to catch the player in the first place to be able to bring him down 😦

  57. Rasputin says:

    London 😉

  58. peachesgooner says:

    Disagree rasp – surely he should have just launched himself at Jenas anything to stop him going any further…….it was the spuds afterall 😛 😀 😆

  59. Rasputin says:

    The twats on Talkshite are always trying to find topics for listeners to call in about….. draws that felt like a loss would be a good one and the 4:4 against the spuds would definitely be my worst … its still a weeping open sore 🙄

  60. peachesgooner says:

    I’m gone…… enjoy the game everyone….catch up later 😀

  61. JonJon says:

    also..the defence backed off and gave jenas the space to shoot…

    nobody closed down…

    so its a collective team effort on this one… 😉

    but if i have one critism of song it is his speed…hes not dynamic enough…but hes doing well this season so far..

  62. JonJon says:

    that was a huge blow rasp..probably the lowest point of the season….in my top three definatley..

  63. Irishgunner says:

    Why does the world operate on different time zones it doesn’t suit my needs 😥

    Dunno what’s going to happen today, Villa start off quick we could be in trouble…

  64. Evo in Oz says:

    gday all, i really want the 3 points badly in this one as im sure you all do!

    this is huge!

  65. avenell says:

    Morning Irish..

    I have had this discussion before about different time zones and I don’t see that the actual numbers matter it is just the maximum use of daylight.

    For instance does it really matter if the sun comes up at 16.00 hours in a country and sets at 06.00 as long as the people in that country make the most of the day?

    People have just got used to the sun coming up at 06.00 in the morning and that’s how it is..

  66. avenell says:

    Hi Evo.. how you doing mate, did you have a good Christmas?

  67. Irishgunner says:

    I think times zones should be arranged to best suit me – failing that the EPL should be moved to night time kick offs 😀

  68. avenell says:

    Oz could always get it’s own footie..

    How is the club scene doing over there?. I suppose the towns are a bit far apart for the away fans to travel.. 😉

  69. Irishgunner says:

    Its average at best, not gone to a game yet but place is rugby, aussie rules and cricket mad

  70. Evo in Oz says:

    gday Ave, yeah awesome Christmas mate, still going actually!

    how about yourself?

    1 hour till kick off, i hope we brain them!

  71. Rasputin says:

    Cesc is doubtful for the game. We shouldn’t field any player who is not fit.

    Stephen ‘rhyming slang’ Hunt says we are too soft – we need more practice at kicking GK’s in the head apparently

  72. avenell says:

    Not bad Evo.. today has been in the back of my mind.. crucial time eh..

    Rasp did you see Cech hit his head on the post yesterday?.. same side as Hunt did him.. made me whince.. lol..

  73. Rasputin says:

    Yes I did see that ave. I feel very sorry for Cech. He’s never been the same since. I don’t know if it’s psychological or physical, but I remember thinking at the time that Hunt didn’t need to follow through in the way he did. He’s one compatriot that I’m sure Irish isn’t proud of…….

  74. villarobbo says:

    Villa and Arsenal fans can generally have polite discussions because we recognise that both our clubs are treating the game of football with respect.
    I don’t know much about the ownership of Arsenal, but I couldn’t be happier with the conduct of our own owner, Randy Lerner.
    We both have managers who like their teams to play exciting football. Arsene has always done this, whilst MoN is gradually delivering more skilfull football to go along with our relentless endeavour as the quality of our squad improves.
    Both sets of fans would be overjoyed with a win but would happily accept a draw.
    Cliche time….let’s hope it’s a good game, with football (and Villa) being the winner!

  75. Irishgunner says:

    Cesc on the bench?

  76. Big Raddy says:

    I think Cesc won’t play today. Big afternoon for Diaby

  77. Rasputin says:

    Arsenal
    01 Almunia
    03 Sagna
    05 Vermaelen
    10 Gallas
    30 Traore
    02 Diaby
    08 Nasri
    09 Eduardo
    15 Denilson
    17 Song Billong
    23 Arshavin
    Substitutes
    21 Fabianski, 18 Silvestre, 27 Eboue, 04 Fabregas, 14 Walcott, 16 Ramsey, 12 VelaAston Villa
    01 Friedel
    02 L Young
    05 Dunne
    24 Cuellar
    25 Warnock
    06 Downing
    07 A Young
    08 Milner
    19 Petrov
    11 Agbonlahor
    18 Heskey
    Substitutes
    22 Guzan, 23 Beye, 29 Collins, 04 Sidwell, 16 Delph, 20 Reo-Coker, 10 Carew

  78. Rasputin says:

    I hope Diaby is playing in ‘the hole’ … A lot rests on AA’s shoulders looking at that line-up, but I guess we hadn’t many options…..

  79. Rasputin says:

    MoN wanted Heskey to play so he can ‘bully’ our defence. TV and Gallas need to have big games today…….

  80. Big Raddy says:

    Been sometime since we beat AV at home, today we change that.

    Come on you rip roaring Gunners

  81. Irishgunner says:

    Diaby like playing Villa away last term, big game for him

  82. Big Raddy says:

    How lucky are AV with injuries this season? Apart from Downing who was injured when they signed him, they have been injury free – much like last year pre-Xmas.

  83. avenell says:

    Hi villarobbo, sorry for the delay but the first comment has to be approved it makes for a friendlier site (sort of)..

    I haven’t seen much of Villa this season and I am interested to see how they go without Barry.
    Best of luck (but not too much 😉 )

  84. Irishgunner says:

    Eduardo too needs to prove he should start

  85. Irishgunner says:

    Milner and Dunne have been excellent for Villa. I think they’ll be Liverpool’s problem this term ha ha

  86. Rasputin says:

    I think we can safely say that all the team need to perform and work their socks off. We need to match Villa for conviction and surpass them in technical ability….

  87. avenell says:

    Irish.. your team comment went straight into spam.. I don’t know why or how to get it out of there sorry about that.

  88. Irishgunner says:

    No problemo Rasp got there before me anyway, makes a change 😆

  89. Rasputin says:

    Irish 😆

  90. kelsey says:

    2-1 will do for me.Strange Cesc is on the bench,I hate that when wenger does that to a player who is 50-50 to play.If called upon he could aggravate his injury and then instead of losing him for one game we lose him for several.Don’t see any sense in that.

    I have a feeling Vermaelen will score today. enjoy

  91. Rasputin says:

    Hi kelsey, Season’s greetings 😉

    I think Diaby, Nasri and AA will score today ……

  92. Rasputin says:

    I’m nervous 🙄

  93. rico says:

    Me too Rasp 😦

  94. villarobbo says:

    Avenell, in answer to your question about how Villa are playing without Barry, the answer is…..better. At least in the last few games since Downing has come into the side and allowed James Milner to move into the centre.
    I’m not saying that Barry wasn’t an excellent player for us, but there is more energy and fluidity to our play with the current midfield than the one with him in it.
    Hoping we see more of the same today although I expect they’ll have more defensive than offensive duties than we might hope for.

  95. Irishgunner says:

    ARRRRRRRRRRRGH give Eddie back his shooting boots

  96. Evo in Oz says:

    sopcast stream – setanta

    sop://broker1.sopcast.com:3912/81774

  97. Irishgunner says:

    I watching some stream from Argentina – the only thing that makes sense is the players’ names = bliss!!

  98. avenell says:

    He’s a funny player Downing .. good Premiership player, but never cuts it when he steps up a leval for England..

  99. rico says:

    Hi Irish, Evo

    we should be 2 up now!

  100. rico says:

    make that 2-1 up 😉

  101. rico says:

    Hi ave, you need to set the timer and then publish 😉

  102. avenell says:

    Perhaps I didn’t press publish.. i didn’t know if it was a time zone problem..

  103. rico says:

    Eduardo needs a few games in the reserves…

  104. Rasputin says:

    No early goal then 😦

  105. rico says:

    i dont think the time is a problem ave, its more likely to be the publish button, i forgot once and it did the same

  106. Irishgunner says:

    Why does Almunia ALWAYS let them clatter him???

  107. Irishgunner says:

    flippin time zones 😆

  108. Rasputin says:

    Because he’s crap Irish …..

  109. rico says:

    I think we need to get Arshavin on….. 😉

  110. rico says:

    ave, what did you ask me yesterday about Nasri ?? 😉

  111. avenell says:

    Do you rate him? As you left him out of your team…

  112. avenell says:

    Is that what I wrote?

  113. rico says:

    That was meant to be funny ave, he is poor today …

  114. Evo in Oz says:

    hey rico. bad finishing so far, but good to create some chances, need a first half goal!

  115. avenell says:

    I didn’t think he was too bad.. i’ll have a look.

    I thought he was doing better than AA and Dudu..

  116. rico says:

    You should call your local constabulary ave, it seems someone has stolen your sense of humour 😉 😉

  117. rico says:

    They are very bad ave, nasri is just bad! 😉

  118. avenell says:

    The local nick only opens for an hour a week down here. lol..

  119. rico says:

    Hi Evo, two clear cut and we should be winning this

    Hope you had a good Christmas down under 🙂

  120. rico says:

    😆 ave

  121. avenell says:

    Traore seems to be a clone of TV now.. not such a bad thing..

  122. rico says:

    He has certainly improved the defensive side to his game..

  123. rico says:

    How many corners? all wasted!

  124. Evo in Oz says:

    we never have that many corners….ever!

  125. Irishgunner says:

    Diaby is doing well.

    Eddie and Arshavin have been a bit pointless so far.

  126. avenell says:

    Bring back Stevie Bould..

  127. avenell says:

    Denilson is not doing bad either.. I can see Fabregas coming on with 20 mins left if we are not leading AA and Dudu need him.

  128. Irishgunner says:

    Cesc should only come on if he is fit – shouldn’t be on the bench otherwise.

    Look at what being unfit but being made to play is doing to Torres!!

  129. avenell says:

    Have the Sky panel seen the same game?

  130. Rasputin says:

    Same old Arsenal so far … bags of possession, several missed chances and look vulnerable to being hit on the break. Sooner or later, one of their long balls over the top is going to find Agbonthewhore onside and we’ll be in trouble 😦

  131. kelsey says:

    plussses, song,denilson,gallas,sagna,traore,diaby

    not in the game arshavin,most probably will score.we won’t get many chances and no excuse for eduardo not to score. nasri running round in circles,and it’s not easy without a proper strike force. expect cesc to come on later, and ramsey and even vela.

  132. Irishgunner says:

    Your positivity evaporated pretty quick there Rasp 😆

    We could get caught though, Vermaelen and Gallas need to stay alert.

  133. Irishgunner says:

    Eboue will come on – Arsene won’t get to pick him for another 6 weeks!!

  134. Big Raddy says:

    AA ….. get in the game. Come deep and let Dudu go left. Anything but show us some magic.

    Song & Diaby MotM

  135. avenell says:

    Eduardo should have scored, but the ball was too close to his standing leg.. 6″ further out we would have been 1 up.

    We are doing okay, better than I thought we would be, we are not getting hurried off the ball.

  136. Big Raddy says:

    & TV Kelsey

  137. avenell says:

    Are you the real Big raddy? 😉

  138. Rasputin says:

    No its Big Daddy impersonating him 🙄

  139. Rasputin says:

    No changes at half time – no surprises there then……

  140. avenell says:

    Shirley not.. 😉

  141. Rasputin says:

    2 comic references in 1 line …. bravo ave … and stop calling me Shirley 😉

  142. Rasputin says:

    My ‘at the match correspondent’ texts me “Villa so much bigger and stronger – winning the 50/50 balls” … Heskey has knocked Diaby out of the way a couple of times …

  143. rico says:

    Take AA off, bring on Cesc (if fit) Stick Diaby up top and lets have a target to cross to 😉

  144. rico says:

    Oh and take off Denislon for Ramsey too…

  145. rico says:

    Does Almunia think he is up against David Haye!!!

  146. Rasputin says:

    Don’t take AA off – he’s the one who will produce the magic …..

  147. avenell says:

    I have a vision of 10 players crawling up the pitch with the ball in there somewhere..

  148. avenell says:

    This is better..

  149. rico says:

    SSShhhhhhhh Rasp 😉

  150. rico says:

    Much ave

  151. rico says:

    Good move

  152. Irishgunner says:

    Darn it… C’MOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOON

  153. Rasputin says:

    Maybe the stage is set for Theo to sssshhhhhh his detractors??? …

    Having said that – Cesc is on ….

    Come on captain Fabtastic …..

  154. Irishgunner says:

    “1444: Looks like Stephen Warnock will go into the book for a challenge on Abou Diaby… but it’s actually Ashley Young who goes into the book for some backchat. Brad Friedel pushes a dangerous Eduardo free-kick behind for a corner.”

    He dived ye pillocks

  155. rico says:

    Eduardo has been ruined by the dive incident, he is frightened in the penalty area

  156. Irishgunner says:

    Getting there come on gooners

  157. Evo in Oz says:

    i think im on the verge of crying, come on gooners, get that goal!

  158. rico says:

    Has Traore got a better devensive mind than Clichy? Me thinks so….

  159. rico says:

    Now come on lad, earn your pay!!

  160. rico says:

    This is going in!!

  161. avenell says:

    YEEEESSSS!!!! Fabbie!!

  162. rico says:

    Bloody hell, i am a white witch!!

  163. Irishgunner says:

    Cesc Woooooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhooo

    Getting this free kick thing

  164. avenell says:

    rico de ville..

  165. Evo in Oz says:

    fucking glorious!

  166. avenell says:

    Why did Song do that? Is he that thick?

  167. rico says:

    😆 ave, spooky eh 😉

  168. Evo in Oz says:

    what a superb celebration!

    clean sheet lads!

  169. Rasputin says:

    Captain Fabtastic to the rescue….. now concentrate!!!!!!!!

  170. avenell says:

    Song will probably get a red now.. I hope I am not a Steven Warlock..

  171. Evo in Oz says:

    lads and ladies

  172. rico says:

    Blimey, was that Song with a shot – what a parting gift that would have been had it gone in….

  173. Evo in Oz says:

    Dunne thinks he’s Vermaelen in diguise

  174. rico says:

    Better Theo

  175. rico says:

    We need a second….

  176. rico says:

    Get AA off and Vela on..

  177. Evo in Oz says:

    possession 70-30

  178. rico says:

    Crap Theo!

  179. avenell says:

    As I said the other day we need another Theo to get on the end of Theo’s crosses..

  180. avenell says:

    I can see subs warming up.. leave things alone please arsene.. you will let villa build up pressure on us.. 😦

  181. rico says:

    Great cross ave, just no-one there, you are right…

  182. rico says:

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  183. avenell says:

    That’s the way to do it.. but not the Hamstring.. 😦

  184. Irishgunner says:

    YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEES

    Well done Theo there 😉

  185. avenell says:

    At least he can have a rest against Pompey..

  186. rico says:

    BOLLOX!!! He is now badly injured…

    Well done Theo, well done

  187. Irishgunner says:

    Cesc off Ramsey On c;mon

  188. Evo in Oz says:

    fuck richard dunne – cockhead!

    thinks he’s a striker, was only a matter of time that we caught them on the break with him up the other end of the pitch!

  189. rico says:

    Get him off!!!!!

  190. rico says:

    Its all a cunning plan 😉 😉

    Fab will be fine…..

  191. avenell says:

    What a 20 mins though.. He’s a big an Arsenal hero as anyone..

  192. avenell says:

    Well done Almunia..

  193. Evo in Oz says:

    We’ve totally outclassed them today!

  194. Irishgunner says:

    Manny did well there

  195. rico says:

    Spot on comment ave, spot on….

    Theo did well though….. 😉 😉

  196. avenell says:

    Could be a good kickstart Evo, with players coming back too..

  197. Rasputin says:

    Brilliant 2 nil … but how sad that kelsey’s prediction about prolonging his injury has come true. What a shame the others couldn’t do it without him as Arsene would have liked.

  198. Evo in Oz says:

    great reffing today

  199. rico says:

    Both our pups are sat in the living room, eyes firmly focused on the Mighty Arsenal – its so funny and so sweet! 😆

  200. Irishgunner says:

    He deserved that 1000000000000%

  201. Evo in Oz says:

    clean sheet, goal difference building all the time!

  202. avenell says:

    Good point Evo.. credit where it’s due.. DIABY!!!!

    The media won’t shut up about us now.. we knew. 😉

  203. rico says:

    What a goal, the real Diaby is finally coming out…..

  204. Evo in Oz says:

    unbelievable, what a goal that was!

  205. Evo in Oz says:

    love getting payback on Carew for the CL in 00-01

  206. avenell says:

    Be good to see Diaby get a crucial goal though.. he just does the grand finale..

  207. Irishgunner says:

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOO

    Great win

  208. rico says:

    Great great day, great result, and we are second for an hour or so …. 🙂 🙂

    Now then, who said we wouldn’t win……

    Rasp ‘n’ London 😉 😉

  209. Rasputin says:

    There seems to be a patern emerging lately….. poor/not so good in the first half …. much better in the second.

    Good on Diaby. I shall have to wait to see the highlights to find out whereabouits he was playing. Maybe AW has discovered hgow to play to his strengths. On the other hand, Dudu has lost it for the time being…

  210. Rasputin says:

    Uh Humm rico, actually I predicted we would win and that we would score three goals if you remember rightly (forgot to mention I said they’d get 2 tho 😳 )

  211. Evo in Oz says:

    what a pass by walcott that was for the 2nd goal!

  212. rico says:

    Rasp – Diaby played really really well, I have no idea where he was meant to be as he was everywhere!

    Not that I knit, but I would take that pattern every week if we get the same result … 😉

  213. rico says:

    Evo, and what a pass from Traore to Walcott, three touches and 2-0 🙂

  214. Rasputin says:

    He’s always beeen my favourite … I wouldn’t hear a word said against him …. 😳

  215. avenell says:

    What a dick on Sky..

    Have the team that have gone second in the league 4 points behind the leaders with a game in hand got any chance of the title? they hate us lol..

  216. avenell says:

    Great pass by Theo.. but as we keep harping on .. not until we are in front and the game is stretched..

    C’mon Hull.. 😳

  217. Evo in Oz says:

    how about Eboue jumping into the celebrations on the first goal, does he ever give up! LOL

  218. kelsey says:

    I hate my predictions coming true about Cesc, however we made Villa look an ordinary side and I have to say Eduardo couldn’t come off quick enough for me.

    Right The board,Kroenke,Wenger and rice.Raid the bank and buy a striker, a playmaker and a defender and the league is ours.

  219. Evo in Oz says:

    back to bed with sweet dreams here. catch you all soon.

    cheers.

    3-bloody-nil what a ripper!

  220. avenell says:

    Now Sky are featuring Man U’s injuries… Have they got any more than us?

  221. avenell says:

    Cheers Evo.. night mate.. ripper lol..

  222. Rasputin says:

    Nite Evo ….

  223. Big Raddy says:

    Super game.

    & what a player Cesc is. 20 minutes of genius. The moment he stepped onto the pitch we looked a better side.

    Well done to the whole team. Everyone was good and some were excellent – TV, Song, Diaby, Traore & Cesc

  224. Big Raddy says:

    Typical MU.

    Huge injury list, Berbs out for 3 months…. Complete rubbish. Apart from Rio (who has been pants this season) they have a full first team line-up

  225. avenell says:

    They have a broken chequebook..

  226. Big Raddy says:

    lol Ave

  227. avenell says:

    Have you sorted wrighty out Raddy?.. I didn’t want to get involved, I couldn’t believe that two of the most mellow bloggers could fall out.. and on Christmas day . lol..

    Then I read what happened on his site.. There is two avenell’s too.. 😦

  228. avenell says:

    You don’t hang about Irish.. nice one..

    Is it his knee?

  229. Rasputin says:

    Excellent report Irish 😉 I’m off to find myself a picture of Diaby for my new avatar 😎

  230. Irishgunner says:

    Got it wrong Avenell it was his hamstring – Wenger interview said Cesc thinks its not too bad.

    I thought he’d gone over on his knee, hopefully its just a twinge he felt.

  231. Irishgunner says:

    Cheers Rasp 😉

    I must get some sleep soon. In a little while just going to see the goals again ha ha

  232. avenell says:

    He wasn’t limping as bad when he went off this time..

    We shouldn’t need him against Pompey..

  233. avenell says:

    It’s the Rooney fan club on sky.. cheating fat f**k.

  234. avenell says:

    Hull cheated out of a penalty.. 😦

  235. rico says:

    Bollox, just back to watch footie and Shrek has scored 😦 😦

  236. Irishgunner says:

    Agh crap I’m off to bed

  237. rico says:

    Diaby was my MOM, Song, Cesc, TV, Gallas, Almunia, Traore, Sagna not far behind..

    Almunia today kicked the best he has in a long while, he even crept off his line a couple of times 😉

    Song was immense, how many times when Villa tried to catch us on the break was he the last man back in defence to make a tackle?

    TV v’s Agbonlaghor was fab, TV got him every time..

    Diaby was like ‘a new signing’ I have never seen him play so well, tackled, dribbles, runs… ( sounds like he needs medical help) 😉 – he was good…

    Just how happy do I feel….

    Now come on Mr Orange, get your team to grab a draw…

  238. rico says:

    Oh, and Cesc, anyone who thinks he wants to leave us for Madrid or Barca in the summer need to rewind – watch the way that man celebrated his goal…

    Then after that, rewind and watch again, again and agin, he loves Arsenal with all his heart, he isn’t going anywhere for a long while……

  239. rico says:

    You know something else to, I/we are always a bit hyped up after results like the 3-0 against Hull last week – but today we played a very good Villa side, a very strong Villa side, a Villa side who have beaten Chelsea, Liverpool and Manure this season….

    Today we beat a side who we really can judge ourselves against and we did good, bloomin good…

  240. rico says:

    And………… I am on my own again

  241. rico says:

    I thought Berbytoff was out for three months ??

  242. avenell says:

    Bloody daily mail.. 😦

  243. rico says:

    Great Penalty 😛

  244. rico says:

    Nice break dance Kusack, but dreadful attempt to save 😉 😉

  245. rico says:

    Daily Mail ave ??

  246. rico says:

    Berbytoff is shocking, and to think he looked good at the Spuds 😉 😉

  247. avenell says:

    That’s where I read the berba 3 months out I think..

  248. rico says:

    Bloody paps ave, they fill us with tripe!!

    Talking of which, he is dreadful, don’t you think? I can see Hull getting a win

  249. avenell says:

    Man U are being found out.. this has been coming on for a few years now.. and ronnie and his dives leaving they are useless..

  250. avenell says:

    Tosser Dawson..

  251. rico says:

    Guess I put the dampers on that then …

    Hey ho, Manure are poop, and we have our very best chance this season to win the league..

    Chelsea will suffer with the ACON and will drop more points, if we go into the window and buy the right player or two, anything can happen 🙂

  252. rico says:

    Any other ref but Wiley would have sent Evra off in this game, he has bottled in because of Red Nose…

    Great article by Dicks ave 😛

  253. avenell says:

    At least Hull are where they belong..

    They didn’t look that bad today though..

    Your right about Evra.. and Vidic and Fletcher just get away with constant fouling..

  254. rico says:

    Too true on both accounts ave –

    You had a widget box up with the tables as a link, today I see it has gone… Please dont be offended but I have put it back up…

    Let me know if I am now sacked for poking my snozzer
    😦 😦

  255. avenell says:

    It wouldn’t work rico.. there was a javascript problem, it was just showing the formula..

    Did it work on your computer then?

  256. kelsey says:

    Not much to add, as rico said we beat a very good side in Villa,and I don’t agree with the pundits that we were poor in the first half.We weren’t clinical, but when you play a side in form such as Villa the players have to stand up and be counted.

    Eduardo has lost his edge, and one must question if it will come back, and denilson is just a pretty player.

    Arshavin came to life once he had Cesc on the pitch,the telepathy was great,and even though Theo made an impact for the last twenty minutes,he didn’t do much except his final pass for cesc.Diaby will grow in confidence,and three good points,and wenger must buy as we can definitely win this league with a striker and a viera type player to cover for cesc and of course we lose our most improved player in Song next month.

    Well done lads, nearly,keep up the momentum

  257. rico says:

    Hi kelsey, I was all for agreeing until the AA comment 😉 I thought he was pretty poop all game 😦

  258. London says:

    I thought today was Song’s last game, have I got that wrong?

  259. London says:

    What on earth is Java Script?

  260. avenell says:

    Don’t you worry about that London.. Can you do a post?

    I don’t know where JJ is, so if you could.. 😉 please.:)

    I’ll even say Denilson played okay..

  261. London says:

    I have a match report or will have if you need it.

    Yes, I agree, that was an intersting article, what do you reckon….drugs and an early death?

  262. London says:

    Wooo, spooky

  263. London says:

    Do you know about Song?

  264. avenell says:

    Glad I got the question in first.. 😉

    Can you post at 9 ish tomorrow, that would be as tony the tiger say’s gggrrreat!!

    What article?

  265. avenell says:

    Eboue goes tomorrow if that helps..

  266. London says:

    I’m glad you reminded me about Eboue I just wrote in the report that I expect him to be playing instead of Sagna on Wednesday which would have made me look a bit daft.

    Yeah, 9 ish will be fine I’ve got three quarters of it so far. Should be fine.

  267. avenell says:

    I’ll try and dig out the Song info cheers.

  268. avenell says:

    London.. you may want to read this.. I thought bringing Cesc on was tactical..

    Denilson
    December 27
    Denilson was withdrawn during Sunday’s 3-0 win over Aston Villa. Speaking after the match, Arsène Wenger said he does not yet know how long the Brazilian will be out for. “He has a back problem, the same as before,” said the manager. “I haven’t seen him yet but we will see.”

  269. avenell says:

    I have found this but it is just a comment..

    ex Song will stay with Arsenal until January 5th before departing for training with his country Cameroon.

    This means that Song will be available for the league game at Portsmouth on Wednesday night as well as the FA Cup 3rd round game with West Ham next weekend.

    Emmanuel Eboue will however leave on Monday night along with over Premier League Ivory coast stars such as Toure, Drogba and Kalou.

    This is a big boost with Cesc Fabregas possibly almost certain to miss the game at Portsmouth on Wednesday, whether his injury his bad or not.

  270. peachesgooner says:

    Wow ave thats brilliant about Song isn’t it …….

  271. peachesgooner says:

    I love coming home from a game and reading all your comments…… 🙂

  272. rico says:

    ave – bloomin great that Billabong is in for the WH game, I thought he haw departing straight after the Pompey game..

    Bet you had a fab day peaches… Can you believe London thought we would draw 1-1… 😉

    I am off now all, pups asleep for the night and now I am going to follow their lead.. lead 🙂 get it, lead… dogs and leads… got it yet…

    😆 lol:

    Be safe all

  273. avenell says:

    It must be quite funny trying to picture what the hell we are on about..

    Not so good about Denilson.. could be step up Ramsey..

  274. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rico bye rico – it was a great game 🙂

    Def not good about Denilson ….. how did the hits go today?

    Funny that there were Villa supporters 🙂

  275. avenell says:

    Not when I used a keyword in the title.. 😉

    900ish not too many from outside sources but sunday’s is normally quiet.. workdays are best especially when we play the Sunday before a working Monday..

  276. peachesgooner says:

    Morning – where is everyone?

  277. London says:

    New post

Leave a Reply

