Avenell’s Xmas Quiz (answers) and Merry Christmas Gooners..

The Answers to the Quiz..

1… Baseball, Boxing, Cricket, Hockey and Rugby.

2… The Emirates took 123 weeks and 2 days to build.

3… April 19th 1994 was the last all English team to start for us..

David Seaman
Lee Dixon
Martin Keown
Tony Adams
Stevie Bould
Paul Davis
Ray Parlour
Ian Selley
Ian Wright
Alan Smith
Kevin Campball

4…There was a Laundry at the north end of the ground and the North Banks was known previously as the Laundry End..

5… 16 Arsenal players were on World Cup duty in 2006

6..David Seaman injured his knee ligaments reaching for his TV remote control and his shoulder landing a 26lb carp.

7.. There is an Anteater named after Gilberto in London Zoo.

8… Players that have joined us from Spurs are
Freddie Cox.. 1949
Jimmy Robertson.. 1965
Pat Jennings ..1977
Steve Walford .. 1977
Willie Young ..1977.
And I wish I never mentioned it Sol .. 2002 7 in and 4 have gone the other way.

9.. 8 if you include Hleb and Thierry Henry..
The others are..

Jimmy Rimmer Villa 82’..
Silvinho Barca 06’
Van Bronckorst Barca 06’
Andy Cole Man U 99’
Anelka Real Madrid 2000.
Ray Kennedy Liverpool 77’

10. Spurs got a Parrot presented to them that died on the day Arsenal took their place in the old first Division.. “sick as a parrot”

I am not sure if their are any more posts before Christmas. If not I would like to wish everyone a Merry Christmas, go and have a few beers and enjoy

37 Responses to Avenell’s Xmas Quiz (answers) and Merry Christmas Gooners..

  1. avenell says:

    Morning again.

    Here is an ongoing question from the previous post.

    please answer and ask another question.. 🙂

    Irishgunner Says:
    December 24, 2009 at 1:13 am

    Agh I missed all the fun 😦

    Question: Name the brother and sister to have played for the Arsenal (evidently one played/plays for the Ladies team)?

  2. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters, a very Merry Christmas to you all 😉

    Thanks to ave and rico for all their superb posts and hard work and to JonJon and London for their excellent posts and great debating…..

    Hi Irish, just a stab in the dark … is it Jack and Rosie Wilshere?

  3. Rasputin says:

    Ave / rico, I’ve just sent that last comment for a second as the first went into moderation due to my dodgy typing skills – please delete 😳

  4. kelsey says:

    I echo Rasputin’s comments.All the hard work put in by avenell and rico,and some good posts from JonJon and London.

    Maybe Dennis and Leslie Compton 🙂 Irish ?

    A Merry Xmas to you all

  5. Irishgunner says:

    Nope, it being me the siblings in question are Irish.

  6. London says:

    Thank you for the kind words.

    and Irish, that is a tough one 😉

  7. Rasputin says:

    What about Shane and Yvonne Tracey?

  8. Big Raddy says:

    Merry Xmas All.

    A hearty best wishes from the frozen North to all my Gooner cyber-mates.

    Strangely, Xmas is celebrated tonight over here (damn foreigners!) so I will be looking to chat tomorrow, having opened my pressies and finished building my Lego !

    Quiz. Keiron and Robin Gibbs

  9. rico says:

    Hey Guys and Gals

    Blogging is like the chicken and the egg, without the posts, there are no bloggers and without all of the bloggers, there is no point in a new post….

    So I think we should all take credit for keeping AR going, especially through the tough times..

    I truly from my heart wish EVERYONE a very Happy Christmas and a peaceful New Year..

    Santa has promised me some silver, but he said I won’t be getting it until May 2010 🙂 🙂 🙂

  10. rico says:

    When do Newsnow start putting up our daily post ave? Do they stipulate that there has to be a new one each day??

  11. JonJon says:

    merry xmas everyone…
    and thankyou for your kindness..it has left a simple fellow humbled..

    its a pleasure blogging with you all…

    im sorry i havent been around today and i wont be much tonight…todays the 11th anniversary of my dear grandads funeral so xmas isnt a brilliant time for me..but im hoping the festive booze will change all that.. 😉

    i spend xmas day and boxing day with my nanna (beleive it or not boxing day is my nanna and dear late grandads wedding anniversary) 😦

    so i will catch you all after the boozing and the eating is over..lol

    merry xmas to you and your families and stay safe…and please nobody drink and drive…

  12. avenell says:

    Hi Roadsters..

    Let me first echo rico and I don’t know how she brings chickens and eggs into it.. 😉 but without the bloggers their would be no blog so thanks to everyone who posts on here.. 🙂
    Thanks also for all your kind wishes.

    It really is nice that we have all managed to stay together and I still feel we are all friends. So have a very Happy Christmas day tomorrow where ever you are and best wishes to all your families.

    Rico.. today was the first NewsNow post we got 5 times the amount of traffic from there than our other links.
    No you just post when you want. (wrighty only posts every few days}

    Jonjon. that’s really nice what you do for your Nanna, I hope she has had a good year of health and she continues to do so.

  13. rico says:

    ave, you know eggactly how and why the chicken and the egg come into it 😉 😉

    Only just seen AR is on NN today, it’s wonderful…

    Thoughts are with you JJ ..

    Take care all, see you before 2010 😛 😛

  14. avenell says:

    You like these sort of jokes rico.. 😉

    Two mexicans were stranded in a desert, one gets to the top of a sand dune and says “Gringo we are saved there is a tree down there with bacon hanging off the branches”

    So he runs towards the tree but is shot about 30 times.. In his dying breath he manages to say. “Gringo that is no Bacon tree… That is a Ham Bush”.. 🙂

  15. rico says:

    Ha ha ave, and then he shot her….

    Why… ????

    Te-Quilla-her…

    Da da da da da da da da… da da da da da – da da ….

    😛

  16. Wrighty7 says:

    Oy oy oy oy everyone!

    Hope you all have a blinding Xmas Roadsters!

    And by the way, just noticed you are on NewsNow!

    CONGRATULATIONS! Thats great news!

  17. avenell says:

    Cheers Wrighty.. Oi Oi..

  18. avenell says:

    By the way Irish I googled the answer to your question..

    Where did the brother and sister come from? 😉

  19. rico says:

    Merry Christmas Wrighty…

    Night all…

  20. peachesgooner says:

    Merry Xmas all – just managed to sit down phew……

    Well done for all the effort to get AR onto Newsnow.

    What a great time we’ve had this year being friends and falling out……..I reckon we are a great bunch of gooners………

    Have a wonderful, happy, healthy Xmas much love 😀 😛 🙂

  21. Irishgunner says:

    Ha ha Avenell I’m sure Rasp didn’t google it at all at all 😆

    Fine Limerick people Shane and Yvonne Tracey WOOOOHOOO Sadly for Shane it didn’t work out and he’s back playing League of Ireland but anyway least he gave it a shot.

    Happy Christmas all I’m off for my dinner 😀

  22. Evo in Oz says:

    Merry Xmas to all you gooners out there! Prawns peeled here and first beer just about to be cracked! Cheers and enjoy!

  23. peachesgooner says:

    Happy xmas all, hope all our dreams come true, have a lovely reastful day – not me, i’ll be in the kitchen for hours and hours and hours………… 😦

  24. peachesgooner says:

    …….but don’t worry cos I love it ……. 😛

  25. avenell says:

    Merry Christmas all…. 🙂

    Anyone getting bladdered yet? 😉

  26. Rasputin says:

    Merry Chistmas again to one and all 😛

    Irish … how dare you!!! 👿 are you questioning my encyclopaedic knowledge of Arsenal 😳

  27. kelsey says:

    Off for Spanish Xmas lunch starts at 14.00 ends about 19.00.Slow eaters, and it’s pissing down.My hair, my hair 🙂 Have a good one everyone,and don’t mention the word bladdered ave, it sets me off 🙂

    Who kills Archie tonight ?

    I have enjoyed myself on here, just my warpt sense of humour is not always understood.

    The doggies are havcing a party tonight,all nine of them,5 are ours.Keep well.

  28. rico says:

    Hi Roasters

    So has everyone over eaten, drunk too much and now suffering??

    And don’t worry, you have now soon got to eat all over again, but the cold version 😉 😉

    Hope all is going well for one and all 🙂

  29. avenell says:

    Roasters..lol.. rico..

    I’ve been a good boy, but a crate of Peroni I have been given..

    So it’s Peroni o’clock.. 🙂

  30. Big Raddy says:

    Had a super day, apart from falling on the ice and tearing my Achilles tendon (about a 2 week lay off for RvP – could be longer for an old bugger!)

    A few glasses of red and the obligatory schnapps and I am right as ninepence!

    Now for the Xmas movie….. Da Vinci Code. Hope it is as good as the book

    9 dogs Kelsey – you lucky lucky boy !

  31. Wrighty7 says:

    Hey Big Raddy,

    C’mon mate don’t be offended by a harmless post.

    Who these days celebrates for the reasons you obviously do?

    I’ll tell you; hardly anyone.

    I apoligise if I’ve upset you mate because I’ve always respected you but there is no need for that comment really.

  32. Wrighty7 says:

    P.S, hope your tendon heals ok mate.

    Merry Xmas everyone.

  33. London says:

    Wrighty

    No wonder you feel like that mate, you’ve got to change your beer……………Coors Lite………not good.

  34. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters – happy Boxing Day to you all 😉

    I’ve just looked at the prospective line-ups against villa. I don’t want to ‘big up’ the opposition, but they really do have a very good balanced side. Without any real superstars, they have 11 hardworking players that offer pace, width and strength where it is needed …. they are a good team. Their defence is no better than ours but they have pacey wingers who will cause us trouble. We have players who can produce individual brilliance and that may make the difference.

    They are lucky that they have no injuries to key players and I still expect injuries and fatigue to cause them to tail off towards the end of the season.

    We have more talent, less width and less power man for man so we will have to play and defend as a team and be on top form to get the three points……

  35. Big Raddy says:

    Ras.

    We are going to mash the Villains. (I hope).

    I prefer to look at it the other way, AV will have to be lucky and at the top of their game to beat us.

    Yes, they have a balanced side but so do we. If Diaby can string two decent games together, we have the weapon to beat them. We can play on the counter, we can play possession, and we have players who can win a game with individual brilliance.

    Do AV possess a Cesc or Arshavin? No they don’t.

    My danger man is Milner, he will cause us problems as there are few players of his type in the modern game. A new Ray Parlour.

    I feel confident and bullish. But more on that tomorrow

  36. Rasputin says:

    Morning Raddy,

    I’m a bit suspicious of this ‘possession football’ we are so proud of. One of the most disheartening things for me has been the number of occassions where we have lost to teams we should have beaten and the stats have shown we’ve had 65+% of the possession.

    I don’t know if you read my post 3 days ago, but I said exactly the same thing about Milner and also described him as ‘Ray Parlour and then some’ – great minds 😛 What upstes me is that I don’t think AW would ever go for a player like him and yet I think he possesses exactly the attributes our team has lacked at times.

    Villa deserve their position in the league and are the in-form team in the chasing pack. We also agree about the moments of brilliance – hopefully the little guy will be pressing his finger to his lips at least once tomorrow…..

  37. Rasputin says:

    P.S. we shouldn’t expect too much from Diaby – I can’t ever remember him having 2 games in a row. His frailties come in his defensive play and we will need to defend more as a team than we did against Hull. No side can carry more than a couple of passengers – lately Theo has been one!!

Leave a Reply

