Ar5sena1: 3 T0tt3nham: 0

Remember when the Spuds beat our Carling Cup team 5-1 and every blog we went on all we saw was this new way of writing Ar5ena1?  Well I have just thought of a new way of spelling T0tt3nham ..
I hope it sticks for a while..

All I have heard on the radio since Saturday is Arsenal only beat the Spuds because they had a load of injuries…. Hold up!!!! Before Saturday’s game Robbie (gypsy) Keane opened his giant trap and said that the Spurs had a stronger bench than us.. er so why didn’t they win then?

They said that Lennon, Defoe and Modric would have made all the difference.. Hold up again!!!! What about Walcott? Didn’t he replace the headless chicken in the English team… “Yeah but Modric”…. Rosicky is at least has good has him and finally they never had Defoe. Well who’s fault is that? And we could argue we never had Nasri to counter act that player.
Woodgate? Try Djourou ..
We also have Gibbs who would walk into their team, Wilsere, Ramsey, Denilson, Eduardo. The list goes on.. Stronger bench Keane, hahahaha. delusion is a wonderful thing. As our fans were singing “Champions League you are having a laugh.”

My biggest disappointment on Saturday though was Mr Wenger OBE’s perseverance with Diaby when we had Nasri on the bench and he is chomping at the bit to play.
I have honestly never seen a player in a Arsenal shirt play so badly when the rest of the team are playing so well, every pass he makes is too close to the opposition and our receiving players first touch has to be to skip out of a tackle. When we are attacking he either passes directly to our player or slightly behind, he never passes into the space for our players to run into, this loses the momentum of the attack.

Why doesn’t RvP trust that right foot of his more? I don’t know how many goals he has scored now, but I would bet more have come from the chocolate one.

He wants to play in the Carling Cup aganst Citeh as well to get revenge on Ade. All the media are bigging it up. Well don’t waste your breath on it Mr Wenger won’t risk him in a mickey mouse Cup that even if we win,  the winnings would only pay RvP’s wages for ten weeks.. So forget it..

Anyway just a quick post as I am a tad busy you all have a great day and we don’t have long to wait for our next game…

93 Responses to Ar5sena1: 3 T0tt3nham: 0

  1. avenell says:

    Morning again.. sorry I haven’t been around much.. I don’t know where my time goes and I am a bit computered out at the moment. 😦

    But 🙂

  2. Rasputin says:

    Morning ave, very good post …..

    I owe Almunia an apology. He played well when being thrown back into the cauldron of a derby and looked like our best keeper yesterday. I don’t know how bad his personal/emotional problems have been, but I wish him the very best and hope he becomes an even better keeper after his time watching from the bench.

  3. London says:

    Good post Ave

    I completely agree that there is no way in the world that Wenger will risk RVP for the man city CC clash.

    I always get the impression that Wenger is never too bothered if we go out around now. The CC would have served its purpose of giving the kids an opportunity to get a bit more experience and from here on it seems to viewed as an annoyance getting in the way of the more important business: the League and the CL.

  4. London says:

    Hi Rasp

    Snap, I agree with you Almunia comment. Were you able to go to the game?

  5. avenell says:

    Afternoon Rasp.. Thanks..
    I have been quite protective of almunia I must confess.

    I think we are a bit hard on him.

    If you look at other keepers with the same critical eye like Gomez on Saturday.. he let one go in underneath him and made a cock up with King to let RvP in.. and he keeps Cudicini out.

  6. Freire says:

    Morning everyone!

    Talking about Almunia’a problem, I don’t think I owe him an apology. Everyone has problems in life, and I don’t think he’s out of it. I’m sorry for the people who left his family, but this is not what is going to make me like him as an Arsenal goalkeeper. In my opinion, if he wants to be out of the team for a hundred weeks more, I wouldn’t be angry. That’s ok for me if he left us this January: at least Wenger would see that we need a real goalkeeper.

  7. avenell says:

    Hi london Friere..

    The problem I have with people is the lack of respect to someone who has been a model proffesional for us.
    Anyone who cuts his honeymoon short to sign for us and sits on the bench behind Lehmann for 3 years without moaning shows his respect for our club.. we need to show that back, no matter if we think he isn’t good enough or not.

  8. Freire says:

    hey ave,

    If we keep on showing this big-huge-great respect for the players, we are not going to be champions again soon. I agree with you that we need to show him respect back, but he’s not doing anything else than his own job. I respect his family and his problems, for sure. But the Arsenal fans are waiting for a title since 05 and I don’t think he showed respect for us against Barça when he played like a lady.

    Really sorry, mates, but I don’t really like Almunia as a goalkeeper. As a human, I have nothing to say against him, he is a great man.

  9. avenell says:

    It’s the name calling etc.. saying he isn’t good enough is fair comment..

    You don’t blame Lehmann for the CL final then Freire or Henry missing a bunch of sitters?

    All Almunia’s fault, a keeper who has never been played in a game of that size and rarely played all that season.

  10. Rasputin says:

    Hi London,

    I could have gone to the game, but chose not to! I was at the 4 all last year – it was the worst game I have ever witnessed … it took me months to get over it and even yesterday’s result still hasn’t dulled the memory…

  11. Freire says:

    I don’t really blame Jens for the red card, he did what he needed to do. Barça didn’t score in that chance, and the game stayed at 0-0. Henry missed a lot of chances, ok, but we can’t blame something that hasn’t happened. The Belleti’s goal can’t get into my head. But well, we can’t change what happened now.

    I hope I like Almunia as a GK someday, when he puts us on the CL Final defending a Riquelme’s penalty at the end of the game … maybe, just maybe.

  12. peachesgooner says:

    Hi all

    Sky + has to be the best thing ever – I’ve watched Cescs henryesque slalom through the spuds defence at least 20 times now…..then I watch his goal against AC Milan in the champs lge……then I watch Nasris 2 against the mancs……..deep joy 😛

  13. Rasputin says:

    Hi peaches …

    10/10 to Cesc for the perfect knee slide culminating in a leap back to his feet at the corner flag in celebration 😛

  14. peachesgooner says:

    ave – I’m not sure I like being reminded of the Ar5ena1 but its great to be in north london and know we stuffed them 😆

  15. avenell says:

    Friere but it did happen re Henry.. he missed the target..

    Lehmann didn’t need to bring the player down.. what was worse going a goal down or going down to 10 men.. then losing Pires forever? 😦

  16. avenell says:

    Peaches.. I didn’t really care.. it was just the Spuds over reaction to beating us in a cup that we clearly don’t take very seriously.

  17. Rasputin says:

    Phil Brown for next totnum manager … 🙄

  18. avenell says:

    Or Rafa.. he can get his Robbie and Crouch back.. 🙂

  19. Freire says:

    Losing Pires was the biggest mistake in my opinion. Wenger was wrong again, he could have taken Hleb instead, but some spirit said him that taking Pires we would win the Champions League against Barcelona. Sometimes I think Wenger goes to the matches after some beers…sadly.

    But I prefered staying 0-0 than 1-0 down. You saw: we scored with 10 men, and the ball was crossed by who? Henry. So, Henry did nothing? Really?

    Lehmann apologised for his mistake after the game. Almunia never said ” I played like I played when I was 10 years-old… I let the belleti’s ball in because I’m too weak and I was so affraid that I couldn’t get the only 2 balls they shot on target.”

    Sorry again, Ave, but you haven’t convinced me yet.

  20. peachesgooner says:

    ave – you weren’t here in norf london – they rammed it down our throats – they had T-shirts with it on – it was everywhere. I know it was only the carling cup but it was a loss to the spuds and that must never happen

  21. peachesgooner says:

    rasp 😛

  22. avenell says:

    But Eboue clearly cheated.. if he hadn’t we would not have scored.

    Henry couldn’t hit a barn door that night.. and that embarrassing speech after the game about Barca.. then he joins them the next year with our £10 million in his back pocket… That is why DB10 and TA6 are more Arsenal legends than Thierry. imo

  23. peachesgooner says:

    ave – very controlled Henry rant 🙂

  24. Freire says:

    Well, Ave, I won’t disagree with you because you have a billion Arsenal knowledge more than me.

    The fact is everyone commited mistakes that night and IMO, Almunia’s was worse than everyone’s.

  25. avenell says:

    That’s the fun of it all friere.. we don’t have to agree.. we can just debate and give our views.

  26. London says:

    Peaches

    I hadn’t noticed……the Cesc slide and then up….I’ve seen it now…..good spot.

    How many times do you reckon that you have watched that goal…..I think I may already be in three digits. Lol

  27. London says:

    I can still see Henry…..we are still one up…..and he is one on one with Valdes……if Henry scores we win the CL.

    Bergkamp forever.

  28. avenell says:

    I watched this on espn the other day… Arsenal old boys.. Overmars. Bergkamp, Seaman, Platt, Merson.. etc..

    Watch the DB7 goal.. 1.50 ish..

    A bit like Ade.. lol..

  29. peachesgooner says:

    London – it was rasp that spotted the Cesc slide 🙂

    My contribution to the day was ‘henryesc’ but no-one noticed 😦

  30. peachesgooner says:

    Did anyone notice how nicely Philippe warmed the bench 😛

  31. Rasputin says:

    Here’s the knee slide …..

  32. Rasputin says:

    We shouldn’t ignore the quality of the finish … a lot of players would have lost their heads and shot wide …….

  33. peachesgooner says:

    The magic is in the push and go…….go Cesc go 🙂

  34. peachesgooner says:

    He put just the right amount of weight on the ball to be able to run onto it and keep running

  35. avenell says:

    HenryCesc..lol..
    I hate that knee slide they reckon that’s what ended Ole Gunnar Solskjær’s career..
    Cesc is too precious for that to happen..

    good old copy and paste.. 😉

  36. rico says:

    Who mentioned copy and paste 😉 😉

    Evening Roadies 🙂

  37. London says:

    From the camera behind the goal you can see Cesc send Gomes the wrong way with his eyes and a quick shimmy just before firing it into the corner of the side with less to aim at. The amount of perfect decisions made at full tilt in such a short period of time is quite amazing.

    Go Cesc Go…….Lol

  38. rico says:

    I always seem to scare people away, I must stop
    eating garlic… 😦

  39. coadsi says:

    Evening all. check out the injury news on arse.com but as usual nothing new. however i dont know how accurate this site is but here ya go

    http://www.physioroom.com/news/english_premier_league/epl_injury_table.php

  40. rico says:

    Hey coadsi, you mean you haven’t seen the Colin Lewin Friends widget on the right hand side bar 😦 😦

    Up to date injury reports… Ok, not that up to date, its from AFC.com and I forget sometimes to look 😉 😉

  41. rico says:

    coadsi, if that site is for real, its really good.. I have added it to my favourites

  42. coadsi says:

    so barca off with one of our youngsters rico, ah well i think it will ruin his career but its his call

  43. coadsi says:

    i guess one could print this and compare in the future to see how accurate it is. but ares.com just stopped giving dates. not sure if i mind tho because they were horrible at it. but it interesting to note that we top table with number of injuries, 9.

  44. rico says:

    We do coadsi, and Spuds wanted to spout about how many they had missing – get real ‘Arry 😉

    I think the club will sort Afobe out with a deal if he really rates him, if not then let him sink elsewhere eh.. he will soon realise he made a mistake..

    Rumour is that Eboue wants to leave for PSG in January …

  45. coadsi says:

    dont think eboue will leave b4 the summer, then i think a swap deal for Sahko(sp)will be in order.

  46. rico says:

    I like your way of thinking 🙂

  47. coadsi says:

    Rico do u think this player would be good enough for us? i know its a goal.com article so prolly 90% of it is rubbish.
    Rico any idea how Mr. flamoney doing these days? i ask because i heard that its official now the DB have signed for milan. at 34 years he will be an automatic pick. even with injuries i think leonardo would rather change formation that select flamoney, what a waste.

    http://www.goal.com/en/news/8/main/2009/11/02/1599679/jeremy-toulalan-hits-out-at-olympique-lyonnais-general

  48. rico says:

    I think the article holds little credit coadsi, its no worse than us all shouting ‘shoot’ when the 100th pass goes wrong near to goal – but I am sure he would fit in well with us, 26 years old and said to be the replacement for PV for France, but that has come from Domenech so …..

  49. rico says:

    I think Flamini is being played at RB for Milan, but I am not sure coadsi…

  50. rico says:

    I have to go for a while…

  51. London says:

    Which of our youngsters is off to Barça?

  52. rico says:

    Afobe London…

  53. rico says:

    Morning All

    Liverpool legend Alan Hansen believes it would be good for the game if Arsenal were to win the Premier League this season. The former Anfield stalwart suggests the title is likely to be a two horse race between Manchester United and Chelsea, but claims Arsene Wenger’s side must be considered a genuine challengers given their response to back-to-back defeats against United and Manchester City.

    Hansen told the Telegraph: “Since they lost at Manchester City in September, Arsenal have improved all of the areas that they needed to and they are beginning to give the big two something to think about.”

    “At the start of the season, I predicted a three-horse race between United, Chelsea and Liverpool, but the running order has changed because Arsenal are now the third team and you have to credit Wenger for ironing out their flaws.”

    That’s Hansen and Big ears being positive about us…

  54. London says:

    Morning Roadsters

    Arsenal defender Emmanuel Eboue: I would like to play for PSG

    We all know that Eboue is not the sharpest tool in the box but I find it hard to believe that this statement was made without the club knowing something about it in advance.

    What I read into this is that both player and club have agreed that if the right offer comes in that he will be allowed to leave. I am convinced that the only reason he didn’t leave in the summer was because the offers were too low. As a right back he is worth a good 10 mil.

    He will be playing tomorrow in the big European shop window with the equivalent of a “For Sale” sign on his back. I can only assume that the choice of PSV is designed to send a message that offers from mid range clubs will be welcomed and that it should not be assumed that he only has eyes for the likes of Barça or Juventus.

  55. rico says:

    Run Cesc, Run – So I ran and havent stopped 🙂

    Cesc Fabregas has revealed that the adrenaline boost of watching teammate Robin van Persie score Arsenal’s opener against Tottenham Hotspur at the weekend pushed him to go on his solo run which resulted in a quick-fire second goal for the Gunners. Only eleven seconds separated the Spaniard’s goal from the restart providing Arsene Wenger’s team with the perfect end to a tight first half at the Emirates.

    Speaking to Arsenal TV Online in the aftermath of the game, Fabregas revealed:

    “I don’t normally do that, but I felt good in that moment.

    “Maybe it was the adrenaline of the first goal. I don’t know, I just kept going…one, two and then I just kept going and I was lucky to score.

  56. London says:

    Morning Rico

    We must have been writing at the same time

  57. London says:

    It’s now known as the “Run Cesc Run” goal.

  58. rico says:

    Morning London

    I saw that about Eboue, I wonder if it is for real, maybe he wants to play regular football but in his proper position, PSG will give him that..

  59. London says:

    Excactly, and once other clubs realise that he is prepared to go to a club PSV, offers will come in thick and fast.

  60. rico says:

    Stan the Man has now bought 29.6% shares in total, I guess what we all fear will soon happen … At least it’s keeping the big fella out

  61. rico says:

    Ha ha London, it was so good, maybe we could base a film around it 😉 😉

  62. London says:

    I think it was Peaches who first associated the two….It brings a smile to my face every time I say it……Run Cesc Run.

  63. rico says:

    I saw that London, I just added the Forrest Gump bit after reading his i/v 😉

  64. charybdis1966 says:

    Morning all,
    Anyone got any definitive injury news for tomorrows squad yet ? I’m going to only my 3rd game of the season on Wednesday. Still smiling about Saturday – I saw this posted up after the game “One dead chicken for sale, ideal for Sunday lunch, died of natural causes, choked on it’s own premature crowing. See master butchers R v Persie, C Fabregas and A Wenger for details”.
    I think I can post that even though I’m a life-long veggie !

  65. rico says:

    Morning chary,

    I won’t be telling that one to my chickens 😉 😉

    No squad news yet, maybe later AW will give an i/v and give us a clue, I hope Tomas is back

  66. charybdis1966 says:

    Hiya Rico(I keep thinking of the guy form Miami Vice whenever I say that), don’t you find it annoying when you look on the clubs website and it just says “X missed the games against blah, blah & blah” and that’s it ? No indication of return dates .

  67. rico says:

    Thankfully I am no Tubbs though 😉 😉

    I do chary, i think th long term ones have the suspected period of time they will be missing but the others are just short term niggles. That’s why I think and hope Tomas will be back tomorrow and Jack will be in the squad …

  68. charybdis1966 says:

    Maybe Rico – but why on earth didn’t Wenger sub Diaby and bring Nasri on for a bit ? Surely our number 8 should not be restricted to Carling Cup matches only – if anything it should be the other way round, Diaby in the Carling and Nasri in the important matches. I know Djourou is out for a while and Fabianski/Theo about another 2 weeks and your favourite player out for a month. I remember a few weeks back some Gooners were worrying about how to keep the squad happy as we had so many options – I knew that wouldn’t be a problem as we will always have at least 2 first team players put at any one time. Usually we miss 3 guaranteed starters from our squad.

  69. rico says:

    I never understand his subs chary, perhaps he is giving nasri a gentle return, maybe had we been losing saturday he would have had his hand forced – two games in a week may be a bit hard on his leg?

    Nikki being out is not the best, especially with Theo out too, our options up front are limited. Hopefully we will see Vela and maybe now Watt will get promoted.

  70. rico says:

    You should see a great game tomorrow chary, AZ will be full of confidence and think they can steal the points. We need to play our strongest eleven, win the game and seal qualification…

    That means no Diaby or Eboue please AW, unless the latter is at RB 😉

  71. rico says:

    City’s Carling Cup quarter final tie at home to Arsenal will take place on Wednesday, December 2nd at 7.45pm.

  72. rico says:

    London/Ave –

    Are either of you planning a post for tomorrow??

  73. charybdis1966 says:

    Wenger’s substitutions baffle me too Rico, I really don’t see what he’s trying to do at times. Didn’t Nasri play the full 90 against the ‘dippers in the Carling? Surely then he was worth bringing on while Diaby was playing his way onto the transfer list on Saturday?
    I’ll be keeping an extra special eye on Diaby and the Arsh tomorrow as there seems to be a lot of interest in their respective performances lately.
    Here’s hoping the latter has a stormer yet I fear the former will show he is not Arsenal quality yet again.

  74. London says:

    I will wait for Ave’s response; I am a guest, he is an owner; but, if pushed, I never plan to write anything, if something comes to mind then I write it and if that can be of use then all the better and if not, no harm done.

  75. London says:

    Hi Chary

    My guess is that Arshavin will be on the bench tomorrow replaced by Nasri……Diaby will still be there…….Wenger is going to continue playing him to prove a point.

  76. charybdis1966 says:

    It’s what I’ve always suspected London, deep down Wenger knows when he’s persisted with someone beyond the point of being any use to us but to save face he will continue to play him to show he has faith. Sadly blind faith can cost us and I fear this side of his ego may not help us – why can’t he just admit to himself “OK, I screwed up with Diaby, I’ll only play him against the weaker, sides and give him the motivation to improve in that way”.
    He should admit, for the greater good, his mistake and learn from it, however it’s probably the same with all high profile people, they hate to admit they get things wrong.

  77. Rasputin says:

    Afternoon Roadsters,

    A compliment to gooners from a spud fan would you believe? …. although there is one noteable omission from the list of blog sites 😳

    http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/arsenal/6838/why-do-arsenal-have-the-best-bloggers.html?

  78. Rasputin says:

    The obvious answer to the above is that more intelligent fans will have mastered the 3 R’s ……

    Reading wRiting and aRsenal …. 😆

  79. avenell says:

    Hi Roadsters.. I am up to my elbows in grease at the moment so I will just pop in..

    Rico.. No I haven’t got anything yet, feel free to do one if you would like to.

    Rasp lol.. we are more exclusive on here…. unfortunately.. 🙂

  80. London says:

    Hi Rasp

    That was a good spot, I enjoyed reading that, I couldn’t resist leaving a comment. There is no way that guy is a spud, it sounds like the work of Wrighty to me. Good stuff though.

  81. rico says:

    chary, i like the bit about Diaby playing his way onto the transfer list, if only eh 😉

    Hi Rasp, the three r’s 😆 😆

  82. rico says:

    Hi ave, I will do one if i can, just wanted to check we would end up with three 😉

  83. rico says:

    Bloomin Heck

    Clichy is out for a while, stress fracture to his lower back 😦 😦

  84. avenell says:

    Clichy out for several weeks lower back injury.. Bendtner out for a month..
    But Tommy Gun is available for tomorrow.. 🙂

  85. avenell says:

    haha snap nearly.

    You go for it rico.. We will see if London has a match report thurs.

  86. Rasputin says:

    Hi ave / London / rico …. in no particular order 😛

    We’ve got more than our fair share of injuries now, but luckily, they are in positions where we have very adequate backup ……. I don’t believe we will buy a CB in the jnauary window, but that is definitely where we will be most vulnerable onec Song is off at the ACN

  87. avenell says:

    Rasp.. How times have changed.. We need back up for Song.. lol

    Denilson should be back, and Nasri or As London says Rosicky may be able to do a job there.

    If we did buy someone it wouldn’t be until the last week in Jan and the ACN would be nearly over by then.. one or two games would be in the FA cup too so I am hoping we can get away with it.

  88. avenell says:

    😳 just realised you said CB. I assumed you meant holding midfield when you mentioned Song..

    Your right though, not Silvestre as no1 backup.. 😦

  89. Rasputin says:

    Hi ave,

    Song is still improving I think. He takes a step backward whenever he doesn’t play regular games, so I am hoping the ACN will not hamper his progression …. I think he has won a lot of people over (you know who I mean 😉 )

  90. avenell says:

    The main problem with the ACN is the countries will use a player even if he has a knock causing long term damage..

    A bit like Rafa.. Gerrard and Torres to have ops.. 🙂

  91. London says:

    The fear is not that Song won’t be playing regularly; he usually excels at the ACN, the fear is, as Ave says, that so many of the players come back injured or exhausted. The upside to this, off course, is that this also applies to Drogba, Kalou, Essien et al.
    Anyway, back to the good guys, if you think back to the pre season, I reckon Wenger anticipated the problem of losing Song and played Senderos in that role in preparation. If you also think about it Song is no faster than Senderos and in view that they can both tackle and defend just as well as each other, what’s the difference? The big improvement I noticed in Swiss Phil last week against Liverpool was his passing. I am not suggesting that he needs to play every game and I stick to my belief that in games when the opposition sit back then Rosicky is a better option although I’m sure Wenger prefer Denilson in that role rather than the Czech Captain but hey ho. The other option is, of course, Vermaelen as DM, with his scury rat manner and his determined facial expressions it should take you all back to the halcyon days of Saint Flamini OBE, CBE 😉

  92. rico says:

    Morning Roadies

    NEW POST

Leave a Reply

