Happy Birthday Arsène …….

Sixty years ago today, our fine manager was born – Happy Birthday, maybe even you will raise a glass today, no doubt a few fans will 😛

I am sure most of us thought ‘Who the heck is this man?’ when he arrived at Highbury to take over from Rioch, and I am even more sure that many of us thought ‘He’ll never last’ – But he has and now having celebrated 13 years with the club, today he celebrates reaching the ripe old age of 60!!

I would say that 60 years old is a long way away for some of us, but best I don’t upset anyone 🙂

He had a little dabble at playing the game, but from seeing the names of the clubs he played for maybe he knew he would always be better at managing a team rather than playing for one – Mutzig, Mulhouse, Strasbourg were his employers during his playing days…

Strasbourg (youth), Cannes (assistant), Nancy, AS Monaco, Grampus Eight Nagoya were the clubs where he applied some of his magic as Manager.

In 1988 he won the French League championship with Monaco, the French Cup in 1991, and was voted French ‘Manager of the year’ in 1988.

On to Grampus Eight where he was Japan’s ‘Manager of the Year’ in 1995, Emperor’s Cup winner in 1996, Japanese Super Cup winner 1996 – Not bad I suppose 😉

And then in 1996 we all had the pleasure of being told this skinny man with spectacles bigger than my wine glasses would be our manager. Boy how he changed our club, the players followed his strict diet and gained a few years of their playing careers, the alcohol stopped flowing and even Merse had to sneak into the betting shop, that’s if he dared!!

So what has done for us then in the thirteen years that he has been at the helm? What has he achieved to make him more grey over the last few seasons, what can he look back on and toast it with a glass of the finest French Red on his 60th?

League champions in 1998, 2002, 2004,
FA Cup winners in 1998, 2002, 2003, 2005,
‘Manager of the Year’ in 1998, 2002, 2004

I have a cunning thought; all that is missing from the above is a Champions League Winners medal and a Carling Cup Winners Medal.

At the end of the season, still in Arsene’s 61st year, how many of us would be happy if those two missing medals are won?????

Go for it Arsene, bring us fans some happiness in May 2010 – do that and I am sure we will all want you here to raise a glass on your 70th..

Happy Birthday Arsene – You have a lovely day, you deserve it – I will be raising a glass to you later, actually, probably before ave gets out of bed!! 😛

191 Responses to Happy Birthday Arsène …….

  1. London says:

    Happy Birthday Arsène

    Good post Rico.

  2. rico says:

    Morning London, Roadsters

    It is so annoying to wake up half way through the night feeling hungry!!

    See you all a bit later

  3. rico says:

    ARSENAL chairman Peter Hill-Wood has vowed to slap down any shareholders who dare to criticise Arsene Wenger today.

    The Gunners boss will be speaking, on his 60th birthday, at the club’s annual meeting at the Emirates Stadium.

    In May, Wenger and Hill-Wood were infuriated by some of the questions aimed at the Frenchman during a Q&A forum with shareholders.

    Wenger was attacked for his transfer policy and had his tactics questioned after a fourth successive season without a trophy.

    But Hill-Wood is determined that sort of thing won’t happen this time.

    “Arsene is going to say a few words and woe betide any shareholder who stands up and tries to criticise him,” he said.

    “I am not going to have it because what he has done over 13 years is unbelievable.

    “If you were a sensible, realistic shareholder, you would be very pleased at what is happening here.

  4. kelsey says:

    Happy Birthday Boss .(did you get my card, doubt it )

    “I would say that 60 years old is a long way away for some of us, but best I don’t upset anyone :)”

    I am extremely insulted by that remark and won’t post on here again for at least an hour.

  5. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    So why doesn’t Le gaffer take the Carling Cup seriously then 😉

  6. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters,

    Nice post rico…..

    “bon anniversaire” Arsene 😛

    kelsey, don’t get upset ….. it can be too long to look back on your 60th 😆

  7. peachesgooner says:

    Happy Birthday Arsene – I’ll pop my card in later 🙂

    Nice post rico

    Although Hill-Wood is determined not to have shareholders spoil Arsenes birthday I think they will face some difficult questions at the AGM today.

  8. peachesgooner says:

    Hi gnarley – I think Arsene is systematic in his approach to winning titles and unfortunately the Carling Cup passed him by. If we had won the CC in ’98 he may have had more respect for it. Now all he wants is the Champs Lge and the Premiership…….

  9. peachesgooner says:

    I’m never going to be 60……

    or at least admit to it…… 😛

  10. kelsey says:

    Right, feel better now.By the way Arsene is older than me.

    Had to laugh that liverpool are so skint they cant pay off benitez as he has 4.5 years left on his contract.

  11. peachesgooner says:

    kelsey – don’t you mean Arsene is way older than you 😀

  12. charybdis1966 says:

    Morning all, to be honest if I could I would have liked to have retired by the time I’m 60, but short of marrying a wealthy older woman I don’t think my dreams of early retirement will happen! However Wenger does not have a job like the rest of us and the joy of seeing his team win a trophy will keep him going, as long as his health stays ok, as Wenger himself has always said.
    I was watching the Chav game last night but as soon as Kalou finally took the 6th of the tap ins he was presented with I stopped watching and proceeded to look at old re –runs of Magnum PI. Nothing beats getting over undeserving Chav victories than 80’s yank ‘tec shows.

  13. peachesgooner says:

    Hi chary – I started off watching Madrid v Milan and got bored at 1-1, watched a bit of the chavs and switched them off at 2-0. Found a weird new drama on BBC2 about space travel…….its american and has ‘Lost’ undertones…….but why on BBC2 I wonder……

  14. charybdis1966 says:

    Hi Peaches, I think it was called something like ”Artificial gravity” but the thing with real “Lost” overtones is that Flash forward on Channel 5 – I think it’s some of the same writing team.
    I reckon it’s always harder to get excited in matches where you have no real emotional interest, like when we play for positive reasons and Chavs/Manks/Spuds in the hope they lose. I always smile when any of those 3 lose.

  15. peachesgooner says:

    I agree whole heartedly with those sentiments – last season I added Villa to my ‘hope to lose’ teams…..sometimes its even Everton 😀

    I used to tease my son, that when teams around us played, I wanted them both to lose……he didn’t get it 😆

  16. rico says:

    Morning everyone, bit late today, The man in Mumbai has had to help out again… 😦

    BT Wireless is a pain at the moment 😦

  17. rico says:

    Kelsey, I thought you were way off 60 😉

    Glad you were not offended for tooooooo long 😉

    Maybe this season Arsene might think a bit different about who to play in the CC if we progress to the final. We all really need a trophy and I know we teased the Spuds when they won it, but deep down I was envious – am I allowed to admit that 😉

  18. rico says:

    The down side of Rafa being under pressure, he will no doubt play a full strength side against us next week – I am really looking forward to that game, finally we will get to see Jack, Merida and Coquelin play 😛

    Oh, and Senderos and Silvestre 😦

  19. rico says:

    Arsenal midfielder Andrey Arshavin believes Barcelona play the best football in the world and admitted he was gutted when his move to the Champions League holders fell through prior to his transfer to the Premier League. The diminutive Russian claims the club will struggle to win Europe’s top club competition because he believes Arsene Wenger’s squad is probably missing two top quality players, and in his eyes Barcelona, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Chelsea are better equipped to do so.

    Arshavin told Russian website Bobsoccer: “The most beautiful football isn’t here, but at Barcelona,”

    “But after them, perhaps Arsenal.”

    “We are probably missing two top players.”

    “When the transfer collapsed (to Barcelona), of course I was upset,’

    “But then I took it as fact. It was fate.”

    “And of course I moved to Arsenal. I think my current club are the second most entertaining in modern football. It was well worth it.”

    The Russian international was then asked if Arsenal could realistically win the Champions League and he replied: “It will be difficult, but it is possible,”

    “I would single out four teams as the favourites: Barcelona, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Chelsea.”

  20. peachesgooner says:

    Hhhmmmmmmnnnnnnn – not sure I like AA’s honesty on this one – he doesn’t mind what he says does he…..

  21. rico says:

    Me neither peaches, even though we know its true, he shouldn’t be airing his views so publicly 😦 If it is a true ‘quote’

  22. rico says:

    http://www.newsnow.co.uk/A/378598506?-19387

    This from Young Guns is worth a read…

    My Internet still keeps crashing 😦

  23. peachesgooner says:

    I’ve had that a couple of times rico – I think you have to be lucky to get someone that really knows how to fix the problem – the first guy I spoke to the other day was hopeless…..

  24. peachesgooner says:

    Good article rico – Coquelin is a star in waiting, I’ve seen him play a few times and hes a really good ball winner. He’ll be in the Carling Cup squad so we’ll all get a chance to see him.

    That article made a good point about who could step into Songs shoes at the moment if he got injured.

    Senderos 😛

  25. peachesgooner says:

    Only jesting with you 😆

  26. rico says:

    That’s funny peches, can you imagine him alongside Cesc – maybe Diaby would look then 😉

    I like Coquelin, he reminds me of a little Jack Russell… 😉

    Hopefully this comment will appear before I go crashing again 😦

  27. rico says:

    Eduardo is back for West Ham, I just wonder if Nasri will be on the bench too – Tomas should be back, that means only Theo and Denilson missing

  28. rico says:

    No-one around 😦

    Catch you another time

  29. London says:

    Will Bendtner be available for West Ham?

  30. peachesgooner says:

    If anyone hasn’t heard this – its wonderful, fast forward 5 minutes to the start of the show

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00ndqq4/5_live_Sport_Arsene_Wenger_at_60/

    its on bbci player

  31. rico says:

    Great link peaches, thanks..

    Its funny when they talk about Avenell Road 🙂

  32. rico says:

    Can you believe that Rafa Benitez has spent just under £229M sice he joined the dippers in 2004!!

    Arsene could have bought twenty full teams with that kind of money 😉

  33. rico says:

    Morning Roadies 😛

  34. rico says:

    Nikki and Tomas Rosicky are 50/50 for Sunday

  35. London says:

    Good link Peaches

    I even found a parenting tip in there: Arsene tries to not to use the negative; he will avoid saying “Don’t do that” but rather, he will say “Can you do this”. My children are going to be grateful to Arsene 😉

  36. peachesgooner says:

    Raddy if you’re about come and talk to me here, I don’t fancy being squeezed in between DDM’s jokes 😦

  37. Big Raddy says:

    Sorry Peaches, Been elsewhere 🙂

    & I like DDM’s jokes. People over here are so PC, I never get to hear such offensive stuff.

    Took a much needed break, both from blogging and football, went to my ‘retreat’. Wine,weather and food (in that order!) brilliant.

    Now back refreshed and looking forward to the WHU game. I have hated them ever since I got attacked there in the 70’s. And when Kevin Campbell had bananas thrown at him from the Chicken Run, it showed the *Happy Hammers* in their true light …. East London Racist Thugs.

    Take away the 3 legends, Moore, Peters & Hurst and they have no history. God knows what Liam and Wrighty were doing when they played at Upton Park, they would have better off at Underhill.

    Anyway. How was Florida?

  38. peachesgooner says:

    Hiya – sorry, I went to check on the vineyard 😛

    Its a gorgeous day here today and I was reminded that my grapes might have ripened sufficiently to be tasted. They are yummy – have to gobble them up before the birds realise. They’re a Muscat type and really do taste of Muscadet – how clever am I 🙂

    Florida was hot hot hot – 97 every day. My sis-in-law doesn’t like the sun so I was a bit of a ‘lonely larry’ sitting by the pool but I wasn’t going to sit indoors!!!! It was nice to see my brother and catch up with him without all my brood around too – ‘quality time’ I think its called. 🙂

    Italy sounds gorgeous and you came back to a team still winning 🙂

  39. peachesgooner says:

    Are you planning a footballing trip at all?

  40. Big Raddy says:

    I am over in Dec, but not for a game.

  41. peachesgooner says:

    Maybe we’ll get a lunch at the Orange Tree then 😀

  42. kelsey says:

    Can you cry under water?

  43. rico says:

    Afternoon all

    peaches, lucky you with your grapes, our little blackbirds have scoffed all ours 😦 we did eat a few and they were not too bad 😉

  44. rico says:

    Hi kelsey, didnt see you there, sorry 😦

  45. kelsey says:

    Hi rico,

    bad news about Sophie I am afraid,anyway hope you all are OK,don’t feel like blogging at the moment.

  46. rico says:

    Sorry to hear that about Sophie, thats really sad 😦

  47. rico says:

    I sit, then go, then pop right back
    To check I’m not still on ‘my jack’

    No comments left, so reality is,
    I have found out, I am just that 😦

    So now I go, stuff to do,
    I guess the same is for all of you,

    Tomorrow morning I will be up
    Off to see our cute little pup……

    Night all

  48. peachesgooner says:

    Hi all

    I can’t compete with ricos eloquent poetry 😦

    Oh dear kelsey, that doesn’t sound good about sophie
    😦

    Been listening to Talksport while working in my greenhouse and the great debate about whether Man U would be in crisis if they had lost 4 games……so boring…….Liverpool have played badly and don’t have a good enough squad simples 🙂

  49. rico says:

    Hi peaches… 😉

    We watched a programme the other night about wine making, they say if you let the fruit start to turn rotten, it oozes alcohol – I have chomped twenty rotten apples today and not a hint of cider in sight 😉 😉

  50. peachesgooner says:

    😆 ha ha ha rico 😆

    So shall I let the grapes stay on the vine…….the birds’ll eat them all 😀

    It got dark and I forgot to cut some before I came in. My feet are clean – I could mash a few 🙂

  51. rico says:

    Tee hee peaches, you go and munch on, but promise, no driving after 😉 😉

    Good wine surely needs dirty feet 😉 Or is that pork scratchings … 😦

    I am off to the pub, just a little walk down the road – if you are still around in a while peaches, I will be back – if not 😦 Have a lovely friday evening and see you somwhere tomorrow no doubt 😉

  52. London says:

    What a lovely poem.

  53. rico says:

    Morning Roadies

    Off to check around for some gossip 😉

  54. rico says:

    Eduardo is back tomorrow, Tomas is out, Nik still a doubt but all three keepers are ready to fight for the gloves…

    Henri Lansbury scored two goals last night for Watford – Good man 🙂

  55. rico says:

    http://videos.sapo.pt/JSmM2Y0dCcIq7pyilnkT

    Lansbury’s Goals 😛 He is No5

  56. rico says:

    Catch you all later

  57. London says:

    The thing I thought most noticable about our Henri was his power. Quite impressive.

  58. London says:

    It’s not too difficult to imagine a midfield power house made up of Lansbury and Ramsey with Coquelin sitting just behind.

  59. rico says:

    Morning again everyone 😉

  60. rico says:

    London

    Lansbury looked really good, big and strong with a little bit of skill in such a short clip too. How long is he on loan ??

  61. London says:

    I hope he is out on loan for quite a while. I think that unlike Sidwell and Muamba he knows that he has the talent but accepts that he will have to wait and fight for his place and because of that will not make the mistake of leaving too early, as it is thought by some that the other two did.

  62. avenell says:

    Stoke beat the spuds haha.

  63. rico says:

    Woooooooooooooooo

    Spuds lost at home to Stoke 😛 😛

    Gosh, how shallow am I 😉 😉

  64. peachesgooner says:

    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

    He he he he he he he he he he

    I can’t stop laughing………

    😉 🙂 😛 😀 😆

  65. peachesgooner says:

    And while I was lauging so hard I missed Theo being filmed round the corner where he has his hair cut….. 😉

  66. London says:

    Saturday, 24 October 2009

    Barclays Premier League

    Birmingham 2-1 Sunderland………….Dull, dull, dull
    Burnley 1-3 Wigan………………………….Boring, boring, boring
    Hull 0-0 Portsmouth………………………..Purleeese
    Tottenham 0-1 Stoke…………………….. Hahahahahahahaha
    Wolverhampton 1-1 Aston Villa…….. Paint drying

    What a dull bunch of football clubs; look no further for a reason to have a European League

  67. avenell says:

    Chelsea 5-0 up.. 😦

  68. avenell says:

    and there transfer ban looks like being suspended.. 😦

    it looks like us and them..

  69. rico says:

    Morning Roadsters

    Hope you all remember to put your clocks back 😦

    Shame our chickens don’t realise the time change, 6.15 they were up!!!

    Off for the gossip, and I am going for a 2-2 draw today. My heart tells me we will win, but my head says something different 😦 And that is because we have no Tomas

  70. rico says:

    All very quiet on the rumour front, off to get some chores done early and cant wait until 4pm

  71. rico says:

    Aaron Lennon got crocked yesterday, lets hope he is out for a while 🙂

  72. London says:

    Morning all

    I am going for a sober 1-2. Hopfully we will grind their faces into the dirt but there are too many dead ends with Eboue on the wing and Diaby on the pitch. The same team as Tuesday to start.

  73. London says:

    Lennon’s injury looked serious enough to keep him out for at least three weeks. Teehehehehe said the spider to the fly.

  74. London says:

    Oh yes and we should have Rosicky, Nasri and Walcott back by then, how do you howl with laughter on a blog?

  75. London says:

    Peaches at 5:29 I suppose comes closest.

  76. rico says:

    Morning London – Lennon going off left them with ten men at the end, thats worth another tee hee 😛

  77. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    Thanks London 🙂

    When we play other london teams I always feel that I should be going 😦

  78. peachesgooner says:

    Do either of you want to change the time back?

    Go into settings – Timezone – change to UTC

  79. London says:

    The sun is shinning, I’m skipping about, I have read two other Arsenal bloggs, one has got a head line that made me laugh and the other compares Alex Song to Paul Davis which was an interesting thought. I went over to spud Newsnow to get some info on Lennon; I couldn’t find any but while I was there I couldn’t stop myself from teasing them on “Dear Mr Levy”, No Modric, no Defoe, no Lennon……we are waiting for you, said the spider to the fly. The world is such a happier place when you wake up in the morning and you have a game to look forward to.

  80. Big Raddy says:

    This will be a fine day (though it is awful weather here). We will beat WHU, go above the Spuds, and hopefully get a Northern draw.

    And the girlfriend is making a Chocolate Cake

    Deep Joy

  81. London says:

    Morning Peaches

    Yes, I know what you mean about wanting to go. I used to get that pull so badly about this time in the morning to the point that I just couldn’t bear it any longer. In the end, I just used to get up and rush there in the hope of buying an odd ticket when I arrived; I always used to get one, I probably would today..ooooohhhhh I wish I was going.

  82. peachesgooner says:

    I’ve never been to an away game – I wouldn’t fancy going on my own though. When my neice was going out with Traore I nearly found myself at WHL but managed to convince her that watching on the telly was better than the 2 of us walking around the lane looking for the bloke that was waiting to give us our tickets.

  83. London says:

    Morning Raddy

    Can we have a score prediction?

  84. Irishgunner says:

    1-3 to the Arsenal

  85. London says:

    Ohh Peaches, it’s so much fun, not Wembley or such but the little old grounds like Fulham or West Ham for that matter. It’s the closest you could ever feel to being back at Highbury, everyone really gets into it and sings their hearts out, I love it.

  86. London says:

    Hello Irish

    Where are you today?

  87. rico says:

    Morning Irish, hope the trip is going well ?

  88. Irishgunner says:

    Hiya London,

    Eventually made it to Sydney.

    How are you??

  89. Irishgunner says:

    Evening Rico 😉

    Yep, got here is one piece anyway 😀

  90. peachesgooner says:

    Hi Irish – how’re you doing? Still no Tomas 😦 Must have been all that extra effort he put in cos you were there last week 😉

  91. peachesgooner says:

    Are you going to be able to see the game – what time is it there?

  92. Big Raddy says:

    Well done Irish. I love Sydney, . I would live there if it wasn’t for the girlfriend’s family. You will have a great time, and make sure to go on the harbour boats for a day – it is a great and cheap way to get a feel for the city.

    0-4 today

  93. Irishgunner says:

    Hiya Peaches,

    Doing good – still a bit confused with the time and weather. It was bucketing down rain here this morning but spent the day in shorts cos it was so warm 😕 Went to the Zoo yesterday – some great animals there but I still miss my cats 😦

    That’s what I thought about Super Tom – he missed a sitter by his standards last weekend and I blame me.

  94. Big Raddy says:

    Morning London.

  95. Irishgunner says:

    Its just gone 9 here Peaches so I reckon the game will be on about 5am – early rise for me but if its a crap stream I’m going back to bed.

    Hiya BR – got a bit of a Cruise from Sydney Harbour to Taronga Zoo so saw a bit from that. The plan is to leave Sydney in the next few weeks and travel a bit. Have some friends staying about 3/4 hours from Sydney so probably meet up with them and work our way up to Perth after the summer ends.

  96. peachesgooner says:

    I bet even a rubbish stream will keep you glued 😉

  97. Irishgunner says:

    There is always BBC text updates 😉

  98. peachesgooner says:

    I think that Tomas has definitely made the difference to the mid-field clicking – we didn’t look as fluent the other night without him.

    Still, we only have to score one more than them 😛

  99. Irishgunner says:

    Super Tom is an all rounder – he can defend, link play and score (when I’m not putting him under pressure 😉 ) its why I like him so much

  100. London says:

    I also don’t think it is appreciated just how much Super Tom helps bring out the best in Fabregas.

  101. Freire says:

    Hello all, morning!

    If there will be any bet, I’d go with a 2-1 for us today.

    See you later!

  102. Irishgunner says:

    Must be off again folks – c’mon you Gunners!!!

  103. Big Raddy says:

    Hopefully Nasri can bring out the best in Fab in the same way as Mozart does. That way we can afford to lose TR to the inevitable injuries

  104. London says:

    That’s Sao Paulo, Sydney, Copenhagen, Berkshire, Winchmore Hill and Little Venice checked in….Cornwall should be having his first cup of tea soon lol

  105. London says:

    Yeah BR, I agree, Nasri should help a great deal because nothing is happening between Diaby and Fabregas at all, in fact that’s the reason I have gone for such a low score today, naturally I hope I am wrong but hey ho we will see.

  106. rico says:

    I’m back, had to dash earlier …

    Has anyone a pre match mouth watering post to go up, get us all in the mood for the game ?? 😦

    London, your 11.32 is funny, bet he forgot the clocks 😉

  107. Anonymous says:

    Hi Roadsters,

    I think we may have to ‘win ugly’ today.

    1:2 is my prediction ave 😉

  108. Rasputin says:

    Hi Roadsters,

    I think we may have to ‘win ugly’ today ….. put me down for 1:2 please ave 😉

  109. rico says:

    Hi Rasp – thats spooky, the poster before you said exactly the same 😉 😉

    How are you?

  110. rico says:

    I am going for a score draw, 2-2

  111. Rasputin says:

    Hi rico – it was me posting twice!!! I forget to fill in the top of the form 🙂

    I’m good thanks – hope all’s well with you and the menagerie 😛

  112. rico says:

    Tip top thanks Rasp, I guessed it was you 🙂

    I’m sat in my home shirt, Cesc on the back, ready to watch the Mancs thrash The Dippers then us get a hard earned three points 😛

  113. rico says:

    The menagerie are mighty fine too thanks, soon to add a new one to the bunch – very excited 🙂 🙂

  114. rico says:

    Anyone watching the Manure match??

    I think this is ‘the ref gets back’ at Manure – Evra and BarbyToff have been booked for what appeared to be nothing, Torres is diving all over the place, and the dippers are getting away with some naughty tackles..

    A Manure pen shout that a few weeks ago I am sure would have been given…

  115. rico says:

    HT and 0-0, not the best of games, but for sure there will be a red card, will it be Evra, Berby or Torres 🙂

  116. rico says:

    Hi rico, I am watching, its a boring game really, lots of cheating going on and the ref is a bit of a twurp….

  117. rico says:

    Spot on, the refs is having a shocker, underneath his shirt I think he has a Liverpool shirt on 😉

  118. rico says:

    Ha ha rico, two shirts, the ref will think he is another fat ref and have a moan again 😉

  119. rico says:

    Come on the Mancs 😛

  120. rico says:

    No Song today 😦

  121. peachesgooner says:

    Hi, I’m back rico…..

    No Song….whats the matter with him ….. 😦

  122. rico says:

    1-0 Torres, what a bummer!!

  123. London says:

    No Song hhhhmmmm that’s interesting, we could have a Wenger vision on the way.

  124. rico says:

    Hi peaches, I dont know, I read it somewhere…

  125. peachesgooner says:

    Man u bound to score now 1-1 i reckon

  126. rico says:

    98th minute peaches 😉

    Come on Michael, hattrick 😛

  127. rico says:

    That SAF is in for a heart attack……

    Carragher should have had a red card!!

  128. peachesgooner says:

    # 0 mins ARSENAL TEAM: Mannone, Sagna, Gallas, Vermaelen, Clichy, Eboue, Song, Fabregas, Diaby, Arshavin, Van Persie. Subs: Almunia, Silvestre, Gibbs, Nasri, Eduardo, Ramsey, Bendtner

    Panic over – we have our Song 🙂

  129. rico says:

    just the 5 extra minutes peaches 😉

  130. peachesgooner says:

    Ooooooh Nasri on the bench 🙂

  131. rico says:

    peaches, that was you know who having a chuckle about song 😉

  132. rico says:

    Great to see him back, just great….

  133. peachesgooner says:

    Arsene didn’t listen to me about Eboue and Diaby playing at the same time in mid-field 😦

    Pool score again…….och well……

  134. Rasputin says:

    Diaby’s playing … aaaarrrrggghhhh 😦 😦 😦 😦

  135. London says:

    Rico

    I know you hate them but that was the best result for us. The dippers will self combust later in the season. I almost forgot two red cards.

    Nasri on the bench…..ooooohhhhh were are good

  136. Rasputin says:

    This is a poor team selection when you consider the players at our disposal. I reckon it’ll be a scrappy draw now ….

  137. peachesgooner says:

    Its a good bench rasp……

  138. peachesgooner says:

    I just hope Nasri, Dudu and Nikki are really fit to play

  139. London says:

    Scrappy first half but we have too much power for the second half to go astray.

  140. London says:

    If Wenger subs Diaby for Nasri the writting is on the wall.

  141. Rasputin says:

    Its been too many times in recent years that we’ve had the chance to gain ground at the top and we’ve lost to inferior opposition. Because of the results elsewhere, this is the most important game of the season so far…..

  142. rico says:

    London, my dept of hatred goes beyond any reason, I wanted them to be beaten good and proper..

    Eboue and Diaby start when Nasri, Jack, Merida, Dudu and Ramsey are fit?? Just does not make sense to me…. 😦

    I would rather see Coquelin than Diaby, at least he tackles with some vigor!

  143. rico says:

    That was lovely between the two gaffers

  144. rico says:

    I love this kit, i have the shirt, mme, signed by Cesc and Theo 😛 😛

    I won’t wear it though 😉

  145. rico says:

    Nasri looks as if he has lost a few pounds, I wonder if his bum is still a little on the large side 😉 😉

  146. rico says:

    Just WHAT is it about our keepers, TV told Mannone to come for the ball then….. !!!

  147. rico says:

    I am off to watch and hopefully enjoy the game, this multi tasking gets me nowhere…

  148. peachesgooner says:

    1-0 yippppeeeeeeeeee

  149. rico says:

    RM – Bac or Eboue… 😉

    Count the times we play the ball up front to…..

    No-one !!!

  150. rico says:

    Diaby has improved… in not one area of his play..

    Eboue is smiling and playing pretty well imho

    AA is ‘bored’ again, and what worries me is that the team think it all too easy again!

  151. peachesgooner says:

    Just what we needed…..well done William 2-0 🙂

  152. rico says:

    Little Willy Willy 😛

  153. rico says:

    Commentator :

    ‘Diaby couldn’t make anything from this Van persie corner’

    Dear Mr Tyler – Diaby can’t make anything from any thing, let alone a corner 😉 😉

  154. rico says:

    I do think Mannone is the best kicker out of all our keepers

  155. rico says:

    Mr Tyler, I like your idea, what would Carlton do at a club like Arsenal – he would fill his boots and become a hero …

  156. rico says:

    Arshavin is shocking today 😦

  157. peachesgooner says:

    Sorry rico, I didn’t think you were multi-tasking today 🙂

    Agree about Arshavin – he must be very very hungry

  158. rico says:

    I didnt know that the equaliser in the CL cost the club £350,000. thousand that should be, enough naughts ?? 😉

  159. rico says:

    😛 😛 peaches – I wasn’t going to, but its such a boring game 😉

  160. peachesgooner says:

    Eboue is getting into great positions and doing the wrong thing with the ball every time 😦

  161. rico says:

    Diamante, what ever his name is reminds of another player, he was a real thug – what was his name peaches ??? You must know who I mean.. 😉

  162. rico says:

    Bit like Nikki B then peaches 😉 😉

  163. rico says:

    And another by Eboue peaches 😦 he is a twurp sometimes, a cross would have got us a third….

    Run Diaby, RUN!!!

  164. rico says:

    AKA – Run Forrest, Run 😉

  165. peachesgooner says:

    I don’t know who you mean rico…..

    Oh poo…..bl**dy Diaby gave away that free kick 😦

  166. peachesgooner says:

    Its not a fantastic come-back – we gave it to them. Rubbish team selection – bloody Eboue and Diaby not not not good enough 😦

  167. peachesgooner says:

    Why not make the change with 20 minutes to go – not now………

  168. rico says:

    Well well well, I am in shock… !!

    Forrest Gump peaches

    The team were lazy, over confident and arrogant – why oh why do they not learn…

    Dreadful !! Sadly though, I got the score right too!!

  169. peachesgooner says:

    I got the Forest Gump rico – who’s the thug-like player like Diamante…..

    Arsene Wenger should be furious that his team can’t defend a 2 goal lead – naive defending. But also, that was a really strong bench and he didn’t use it…..whats the point……..

  170. kelsey says:

    quite right ladies.

    We seem to carry on in the way we played midweek.Diaby really is a disaster, Eboue has got a nice smile and basically nobody really stood out today though vermaelen is class. Bad team selection,against a woeful side in West Ham.

    I feel sorry for Mannone but he just hasn’t got the experience as yet, you never palm the ball away back into your own goal mouth.

    I worry now even though we haven’t lost much ground on the other top sides but champions don’t lose a two goal lead and start strutting about,the arrogance you mention.

  171. kelsey says:

    and what did Mr. Road think of it all ?

  172. peachesgooner says:

    Mr Road 😉 very good……

    Come on Mr Road you must be up now surely……..

  173. rico says:

    Sorry peaches, i forgot I asked about Diamante.. I cant remember the footballer, best I forget trying or i will lose another nights sleep 😦

    ave posted the other day guys saying something had put him on a real downer, he said he would be a grump – maybe that is why he is not here… 😦 I don’t know

  174. peachesgooner says:

    Oh dear – sorry ave – I expect your mood didn’t improve today then – cheer up mate – come back soon 🙂

    rico – can you give me a clue about the thug…..a recent player?

  175. rico says:

    90’s i think peaches, and for the West Ham, I can see him if i shut my eyes, off to wikki ….

  176. rico says:

    Julian Dicks peaches, ring any bells 😉

  177. peachesgooner says:

    Sorry rico, lost on me, I spent the early nineties too engrossed in being a mummy and theres a huge gap in my footballing knowledge 😦

  178. rico says:

    No worries peaches, he just had one of those faces………..

    bloomin kids eh… 😉 😉 😉

    thats me done for the day, roll on wednesday for the dipper game, catch you all soon…

  179. Rasputin says:

    I wish I’d made my 4:10 comment directly to Arsene because now I’d say …. I bloody told you so!!!!!….. That was all horribly predictable 👿
    I’d have bet my house on them geting the second goal and Song reverting to the clumsy give away a free kick merchant when he’s done for pace …. aaarrrggghhh!!!!

    Same old complacent go to sleep side. Same old crumbling confidence when we are put under pressure. Same old cowardly Arsene picking the usual suspects and making late and bad sustitutions.

    We were crap … wgat you gonna do about it big mouth spin doctor Ivan? …..

  180. peachesgooner says:

    We should be able to be complacent when we’re 2 up, we should be able to take our foot off the gas but we HAVE TO STAY IN CONTROL OF THE GAME and today we were hardly in control at all. We found ourselves 2 up without playing well having been gifted a goal by the keeper and Gallas rising majestically to head home from a set piece.

    We created very little…..Eboue got into great positions but doesn’t know what to do when he gets there and neither arsh, cesc or van persie are going to pass to him…..

    Arsene – Please only play Eboue as a right-back its just not fair.

  181. avenell says:

    Hi everyone.. sorry I haven’t been about today, I have been working and everything i have touched has gone wrong.. 😦

    A bit like Eboue and Diaby then.

  182. peachesgooner says:

    Hi ave – nice to see you 🙂

    Its not their fault – they aren’t good enough – the Arsene love-in didn’t last very long did it 😉

  183. peachesgooner says:

    There is no shape to the team when they are both on the pitch. They can’t attack or defend as a team because the team is down to 9 men from the start

  184. avenell says:

    Hi Peaches.. thanks. nice to talk to someone in the same boat.. That was terrible today.

    Why do we need to get the ball forward at such speed when we are already 2 up?.. Mannone is as bad as Fabianski, they need to chill out.

  185. peachesgooner says:

    Zolas subs were really good – that Hines was a real handful, he was switching sides…..you could see straight away that he was having a big influence and the Diamante bloke too……….We should have made our subs as soon as the hammers stepped up their play……its not like he had Eboue and Diaby on the bench!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  186. Rasputin says:

    No balance to the side, no leadership in midfield, no cojones from the bench ….

  187. avenell says:

    I am going to have to try to watch it again.. I sort of watched through it today as I was doing other things.

    Where did van Persie go in the second half.. I thought he was subbed then he sort of appeared?

  188. London says:

    Disa-fuckin-pointed

  189. peachesgooner says:

    Join the club

  190. Anonymous says:

    ANGRY FACE!!!!!

    That is all…… 2-0 up and we messed it up.

    Same old, same old, why have a good bench and an average midfield……….

  191. London says:

    New Post

Leave a Reply

