Arsene, Please Bring This Experiment To An End

A draw against the Dutch champions is no bad thing or that’s what I keep telling myself anyway; the trouble is, no matter how many times I say it I still feels as though someone has just stolen something out of my child’s pram while I have been forced to watch, helpless to do anything about it.

The frustration that we all feel this morning is surely proof, if we needed any, of just how much progress has been made this season and just how much we expect.

Last night was a timely reminder of how important it is stay focused until the very last second, a little dig in the ribs if you like, to keep us on our toes, this may be painful but compared to some of the other results last night it is far better than the kick up the backside Barça and the dippers got – nothing like a bit of schadenfreude to lift the spirits.

We played, I am going with Kelsey on this one, average or certainly average compared to some of the performances we have put in this season.

Mannone was average, Sagna was average, although Gallas and Vermaelen were above average but Clichy was only average, Song was average, by his ever improving standards; Cesc, who had no one in midfield to help him was average by his own high standards, as were Arshavin and Van Persie; Eboue for all his good intentions is not going to win us games, I don’t want to do the usual anti-Eboue rant but players have limitations and nothing demonstrates this better than Eboue in the final third.

Which brings me to the biggest waste of space on the field, if this kind of slow paced, non physical, quick passing kind of game doesn’t suit Diaby then what kind of effing game does? The man offered nothing; he didn’t complement the defence, the midfield or the attack; his one advantage over other players who are far more deserving of that position is his height but when it was most needed he blew it: he was supposed to be marking Pelle for the final free kick in which they scored.

I have said on a few occasions that so long as Wenger finishes this experiment by Christmas and not too much damage has been done then all should be fine; last night should be the first window of the advent calendar opening.  We have two home games in the CL coming up and should still qualify at the top of the group.

35 Responses to Arsene, Please Bring This Experiment To An End

  1. London says:

    Morning Roadsters

    Sorry about the short post, I realised half way through that I have a meeting. See ya.

  2. peachesgooner says:

    Morning London – good post, I hope you don’t mind if I put my Diaby comments on from the previous post 😉

  3. peachesgooner says:

    rico – I think the problem with Huggy is that hes a talented footballer with no footballing brain.

    There are loads of footballers with small brains but the good ones have a way of being able to read the game and play their part in it. Rooney is one that springs to mind.

  4. peachesgooner says:

    rico – why don’t you put yours on too

  5. peachesgooner says:

    Last season we were frustrated that Song and Denilson combined weren’t as effective Flamini had been the season before and now we have Diaby who was supposed to be the new Vieira four years ago having a regular place in the team and bringing nothing to the play.

    He does draw opposition players to him but because they know they’re gonna win the ball back from him 😦

    Saying that, I thought Songs protection of the ball was very very good last night. I really trust him now 🙂

  6. rico says:

    Here is mine from the last

    I dont understand Huggy, he is a big chap, but just doesn’t seem to have any real purpose about him, there is being layed back, but Huggy goes beyond that…

    peaches, are you trying to suggest Rooney has a brain ?? Surely not 😉 😉

  7. rico says:

    peaches, re Huggy, I think his head and feet are miles apart, not only in distance 😉 Sometimes he displays a brilliant bit of football, but then it goes wrong, he trys to do another fancy move and the ball is lost – you are right, he just needs his brain to operate and tell his feet to pass the ball, and to one of his own players…

    I don’t worry about Song anymore, I think he is not far off being able to do what Gilberto used to do for us. I really like him.. In fact I think he will be better than Gilberto 🙂

  8. rico says:

    :OOPS:

    Morning London, I am now off to read the post ..

  9. rico says:

    Good one London

    I agree we played average last night, but I think maybe we are taking just a little bit away from the opposition too – They scored a very good goal, yes I know we helped them a little, but they kept going until the end, we didn’t !

    I read somewhere that Cesc said after the game that had AZ scored their goal earlier, we would have stepped up a gear to score a winner.

    That shocks me, why not play to the highest level from the off, put the game to bed and then take it steady – actually why take it steady at all??

    So a point is not so bad really, maybe it’s the little kick in the pants we needed at this stage of the season – maybe the boss will give them what for, nicely in time for the West Ham game…

  10. rico says:

    Adding to my above, I thought the game was boring !! 😉

  11. peachesgooner says:

    I agree the game was boring but when we were drawn in this group I couldn’t see how any of the away games were going to be thrilling……home games are always thrilling to me 🙂

  12. rico says:

    Too right peaches, we miss a mouth watering clash like Madrid or Juve… 😉

    Next round maybe 🙂

    I miss watching them live 😦

  13. rico says:

    Off for a bit, shopping 😦 😦

    Back in a while

    Afternoon ave, when you get your butt out of bed 😉

  14. Rasputin says:

    Hi again Roadsters,

    Good post London. There is a catalogue of reasons why I don’t think Diaby should be in our squad, but top of the list is that he represents the current occupier of the status – ‘why can’t Arsene see that he’s not good enough when its obvious to the rest of us’

    Please, please, please nobody say that we don’t see how amazing he is in training, because the ONLY thing that matters is what he delivers on the pitch in games. There is a strong argument that developing players must be given a run of games and Song has proved that persisting with a player can reap dividends – but as you say London, surely not at the cost of losing games, dropping points or keeping better players out of the side.

  15. avenell says:

    Afternoon Roadsters..

    Another post of quality London.. 🙂

    Rico.. I would rather have been in bed, but I had to go down the solicitors and try and sort the crap out that gave me the hump yesterday.. 😦 I may be a miserable old ave for a day or two..

  16. rico says:

    I thought you were miserable ave, you are as bad as JonJon these days for emails 😉 😉

    Nasri played last night and have seen no reports of any set back – lets hope when he and Rosicky are back, Diaby gets to have a lay in on match days 😉

  17. London says:

    My guess is that Rosicky was just rested last night rather than being injured. He was certainly missed though, Fabregas can’t do it all on his own. Hopfully he will be back on Sunday, and the burst of energy that Nasri will bring should be just what the doctor ordered.

  18. rico says:

    Knee injury for Rosicky London

    TOMAS ROSICKY – AFC.com
    October 19
    Tomas will miss Tuesday’s trip to Alkmaar with a knee injury. However, he is expected to be fit “in a few days” said Arsène Wenger.

  19. rico says:

    Exclusive: Nasri – I’m so happy to be back

    While most Arsenal eyes fixed their gaze on events in Alkmaar last night, the Gunners’ season was given a timely boost by a short but significant appearance in Shropshire.

    Samir Nasri was the star attraction at the home of Telford United as he made his comeback three months after breaking his fibula on the opening morning of Arsenal’s training camp in Austria.

    The French international played 58 minutes for the Reserves and looked as neat and tidy as ever, producing one defence-splitting pass to set up Gilles Sunu’s opener in an entertaining 2-2 draw against Wolves.

    Nasri’s was not the only happy return – Lukasz Fabianski was also back in action after knee surgery – but the 22-year-old’s comeback was the big news after his lengthy lay-off. Afterwards, a delighted Nasri spoke exclusively to Arsenal.com.

    “I feel good,” he said. “I was a little bit tired at the end of the first half but I am so happy to be back on the pitch. It has been three months I was injured so I am really glad to be back.

    “It has been difficult but I was always looking forward for a speedy recovery. I knew it would be hard but everyone was behind me and helping me so I am OK.

    “I don’t know if I am ready yet for the first team. I need to play because nothing can replace the games. So I work well with [fitness coach] Tony Colbert and now after one or two games I will be ready to come back to the first team.

    “It was the first serious injury I have had. Two years ago in Marseilles I twisted my ankle but it was not bad like this one. I was sick also, I had meningitis, so that was bad, but this is the first time I have broken a bone in my body. But I am really happy, I had a quick recovery and everything is fine now.”

    Nasri has been restricted to a watching brief as far as first-team matters are concerned but he likes what he’s seen from the sidelines. The Frenchman believes Arsenal are older, wiser and stronger this season.

    “I think we have made a really, really good start in the [League} and in the Champions League,” said Nasri. “I think we need to keep this spirit and this focus because we have a big, big quality in defence, in midfield and up front. The team is strong and we need to keep this level going.

    “I think we are stronger this year because now we are more mature, we are one year older and the team hasn’t changed a lot so we know each other and that is really good for the season.”

    [Wednesday, October 21, 2009]

  20. rico says:

    Evening everyone 😉

  21. rico says:

    Where are you ave??

    Where is anyone 😦

  22. avenell says:

    Yeah I am here having a look for something.. 😯

  23. rico says:

    Hi ave – have you not found it 😉

  24. avenell says:

    Yes I have now.. I must have a tidy up in there.. 😦

  25. rico says:

    ok ave, catch you later then 😦

  26. rico says:

    catch you later all, off to see the chavs lose 😉

  27. avenell says:

    Is that better than watching the Man scum lose?.. I’ll have to flip a coin..

  28. avenell says:

    Hold on .. that’s an hour away.. are you in GMT rico?.. that’s next week. 😦

  29. rico says:

    I had to eat first ave, someone kept me chatting on the phone 😉

  30. rico says:

    Oh, and wash up without rubber gloves 😉 😛

  31. avenell says:

    Hahaha count Berba booked for diving.. let’s see if he is persecuted like our Dudu..

  32. rico says:

    The tackle by Essien (spelling) is a disgrace, if ever a red card should have been shown…. And i haven’t been watching Mr Ave, busy busy busy – now as we old one’s do, I’m off for Cocoa and bed 😉 😉

    Before I go to night nights… You found it, do you think its ok ????

  33. rico says:

    ave, Berba wont be witch hunted like our little dudu 😦

  34. rico says:

    I’m offski – Nighty night all

    Stay safe 🙂

  35. avenell says:

    Whoops missed ya .. nite rico.

Leave a Reply

