Lucky Thirteen??? – just maybe…….

I have a suggestion, let’s forget the pound man; he isn’t worth talking about anymore….

Let’s concentrate on our team, our team that has had a manger at its helm for thirteen years. Not only is he now the longest serving boss we have ever had, but the most successful, so we have an awful lot to be happy about – don’t we?

Whatever happens with Arsene Wenger in the near future, the position are club are in is well set and the future looks pretty rosy with all the talent in the youth and reserves – I won’t be taken in by ‘that link’ I posted yesterday, nor by the author of it so for the next few years we will have exciting times….

Irish mentioned yesterday morning that there was no post to celebrate the reign of Le Boss and I will take a rap on the knuckles for missing that, so today I thought I would post/paste a few of the tributes from his fellow managers and one special player who to this day we all still miss….

First up – Fat Sam

Blackburn boss Sam Allardyce has paid tribute to Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger, who he will face on Sunday.

Despite the duo not seeing eye-to-eye, Allardyce has become the latest manager to praise Wenger’s 13-year tenure with the Londoners, claiming the Frenchman ‘found his home’ when he joined the club back in 1996.

“Anybody that can get into double-figures as a manager these days is achieving a huge amount of success for that particular football club, and I think there’s few managers that can stay at a particular football club that long.” the Rovers boss said.

“I think Arsene coming from Japan in the beginning found his home at long last and found that he could be allowed to do what he always wanted to do – and that was run a football club his way.

“I think probably elsewhere, outside England, you’re not allowed to do that.

“But I think in England and particularly at Arsenal as the years have gone by, he’s been allowed almost total control of the development of the whole of the football at Arsenal and both have benefited greatly from that.
“So I’m not surprised he’s the longest-serving manager Arsenal has had.”

Both managers have endured a fractious relationship with each other over the years, originating from Allardyce’s physical tactics during his time at Bolton and the former Newcastle boss admitted they are not one to share a bottle of wine after a game.

Allardyce added of their relationship: “It’s been interesting – I would hope we would have a mutual respect for each other but other than that it goes no further.”

“It’s been a regressive nature in the past on how we have played against them but it’s always been within the rules and laws of the game and because we’ve adopted that side sometimes they get a little upset.
“Until football becomes a non-contact sport like basketball then we play within the rules of the game. We always do that and what that has done has brought us results against Arsenal and that’s why we have been criticised.”

Next is Old Red Nose 😛

“Arsene has brought the best out of Arsenal,” the United manager said. “Since he has gone there, the success of the club has been fantastic. He sticks to what he believes in – and so do his players.
“That is why he has been there so long. I read some quotes from his players the other day that sum up the situation pretty well. They owe everything to him. That is nice to read.”

Red Devils boss for 23 years himself, Ferguson feels Wenger’s success at Arsenal proves his own theory that if clubs stand by their own decisions and give managers time, they will eventually be rewarded.

“If you look at Brian Clough, myself and Arsene, it proves longevity brings rewards,” said Ferguson. “His team play the right way and he has a stadium that is full every week.

“He has been an incredible manager for that football club. There is no question about that.”

And then we have the Mighty TH14 😛 😛

Barcelona star Thierry Henry is not ashamed to admit he would not be the player he is today had it not been for Arsene Wenger, the long-serving Arsenal manager.

Henry explains how his fellow Frenchman took him under his wing and transformed him from a struggling winger into one of the greatest strikers to have ever graced the Premier League.

“Of the trophies I won with Barcelona, winning the Champions League was very special because I had not won it before, but I am happy to admit that if it wasn’t for Arsene Wenger I would not be where I am today,” Henry told Goal.com.

“I will never forget how strongly he believed in my ability and he gave me the confidence to go out and play and do well for myself and make my family proud of me. He has never taken any of the credit and that is how humble he is. But the truth is that I will always be grateful to him for re-teaching me the art of being a striker and making me learn from my mistakes. But I have many people other people who have also helped me, like my father and many others.

“Before I came to Arsenal I was very down but Arsene Wenger was there and he knows how the game should be played and the rest, as they say, is history.

“He only knows how much time he invested in me and many others. I still talk to him and watch Arsenal on TV. I just cannot see Arsenal without Arsene Wenger. I’d love to go back some day.”

When Henry left Arsenal, he was already regarded by many as the club’s greatest ever player:
The Frenchman netted a record 226 goals in 364 appearances for the Gunners, his strike rate ensuring that he topped the Premier League’s scoring charts on four occasions.

He won the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year award twice and the prestigious Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year three times.

‘Titi’ was an undisputed idol at Highbury and remains so in the hearts of most who frequent the new Emirates Stadium, despite the whispers of off-field problems that preceded his departure from the club.
Although Henry refuses to go into detail, he does insinuate that the departure of former vice-chairman David Dein played a part in his move to Spain.

However, he is adamant that despite signing for the Catalan giants, he will always have a place for the Arsenal fans in his heart.
“Certain things were not right and with David Dein leaving, I just needed to make sure I did the right ting and not end up in a comfort zone,” Henry said.
“David Dein was also very good to me and he enjoyed a good relationship with Arsene Wenger, and at the time there were also a lot more question marks.

“But I enjoy playing for Barcelona because it is also a great club with a great tradition and great history.
“And although we have won more or less everything here, I do miss the Arsenal fans who appreciated me and supported me through not only the good times but also the bad times.
“They are wonderful people and if anyone of them is reading this article, I would like to say thank you once again for your support for me. You will always be in my heart.”

Henry believes Barcelona are more than capable of retaining the Champions League trophy at the home of arch rivals Real Madrid come May. However, he believes no one in their right mind will dare write off his old club from lifting the trophy in May.
He said: “Winning the Champions League with Barcelona was very special. We have a solid team here and we are very high on confidence.

“No one should say Arsenal or anybody else cannot win the Champions League, because that would be disrespectful and I know how good they are and how good the manager is.

Ok, so it’s a day late, but what are your thoughts on Arsene Wenger, the man, the manager, our leader ????

119 Responses to Lucky Thirteen??? – just maybe…….

  1. rico says:

    Afternoon everyone 😛

  2. rico says:

    Had to sneak Fat Sam’s comments in seeing as we are up against him and his thugs on Sunday 😉

  3. rico says:

    Ok, I asked the question so here is my answer –

    I think we are very lucky, we have a great manager, a great stadium and a group of ‘great’ players, many sadly are no so great. But we are not in too much debt and the future is secure…

    I don’t think it will be long before we start collecting silverware again, in fact, I wouldn’t be at all suprised if come May we have collected a peice or two…

  4. rico says:

    Good old ‘Arry is meant to be leaving the spuds today….. ???? What is that all about then 😉

  5. rico says:

    Dum de Dum – this is fun 😉

  6. Freire says:

    Morning everyone. At school right now, physics class 😐

    See u soon

  7. London says:

    Afternoon Rico

    I agree with your 3:36 I am not sure what I could add to it, I certainly do feel that I could of put it better.

  8. rico says:

    Crack on then London!!

    And from one who had the audacity to suggest Rasp was rude yesterday !!

  9. avenell says:

    Hi rico.. well done girl your getting prolific.
    I take some blame too for not writing about our great leader. But I have been here, there and everywhere in the last few days.

  10. avenell says:

    I get the feeling there may be a missing n’t from a comment.. I hope so.

  11. avenell says:

    Yes.. I am working on a reply sorry about that.

  12. rico says:

    So you should be sorry – I sent it in September 😉 😉

  13. rico says:

    ave – what do you make of the ‘Arry going rumour?? The bookies have slashed the odds big time 😆

  14. avenell says:

    He’s poo pooed it though hasn’t he?
    There are some funny things going down at pompey though, no wages, owner needs op for kidney stones ..

    Something is going on..

  15. rico says:

    I am not sure ave, apparently it a ruck with the board – he is a goner 😉

    The Pompey thing is really strange, see – are we lucky or what 🙂

  16. rico says:

    Oh, and me prolific ?? Makes me sound like someone from Crimewatch 😉 😉

  17. rico says:

    Off for dinner, be back soon

  18. rico says:

    Update is that ‘Arry is about to be nicked, and will be sacked…….

    Money laundering…

  19. London says:

    I still think he was Rico but I don’t dwell on these things for longer than a day.

    If I have understood the situation correctly, London thinks that Diaby is better than Nasri.

    I am afraid you have picked up the wrong end of the stick, at no point did I say that Diaby is better than Nasri neither did I mean to imply it.

    Blog etiquette

    Rico thinks Eboue is a model professional.

    Bollacks, no he is not and I don’t like the implication that I would say such a thing.

    You can delete this if you want.

  20. London says:

    Money laundering? Oh please let it be true.

  21. avenell says:

    London.. Rico wasn’t bringing it up again she was replying to your comment where you state you could have put something better than she could. 5.14..

  22. rico says:

    London –

    I did not bring up the debate about yesterday!!

    Your comment earlier to me – as it read was bloomin rude, and that is what I commented on – my comparison was that you accused Rasp of being rude to you yesterday, however you feel it is ok for you to do the same towards another blogger!

    As for me thinking Eboue being a model professional – please could you be so kind as to guide me to where I have suggested that??

  23. London says:

    Off course you never said that Eboue was a model professional. But it is upsetting when someone says you said something when you didn’t isn’t it? Do you see my point? Do you now judge it as being rude?

    I am confused as to which of my earlier comments upset you? I complemented you on how succinctly you summed up what a great manager we have in your 3:26 comment and I was happy about the idea that Rednapp might be sacked. Or, are you refering to something I said yesterday?

  24. avenell says:

    London Says:
    October 2, 2009 at 5:14 pm edit

    Afternoon Rico

    I agree with your 3:36 I am not sure what I could add to it, I certainly do feel that I could of put it better.

  25. London says:

    OOOOOooooooopppppppssss

    Please accept my sincere apologies Rico. I am clearly in the wrong. I meant to say that I could not have put it better. I am truly sorry.

  26. London says:

    If I could send you flowers and chocs I would. It has taught me a lesson to think a bit longer before I write. I will try harder. Sorry

  27. avenell says:

    London .. I did think that is what you meant.. 🙂

    But it is easy to pick up the wrong end of the stick as we all know..

  28. rico says:

    Ok London, thank you – I accept

    But in all honesty I don’t believe Rasp was suggesting you thought Diaby is better than Nasri – all he was doing, (and this is how read into what he wrote)was telling Irish that you had posted a comment about leaving Diaby in the side until Christmas – and then look to Nasri if he is still poor…

    But now, lets leave it and please, lets move on….

  29. London says:

    Thank you, I will move on.

  30. rico says:

    Guys and Gals – I am done

    Night night

  31. avenell says:

    Nite rico..

    It could be an interesting night regarding ‘arry.. but then again it could be a load of bol**x..

  32. rico says:

    Morning Roadsters from the Rooster 😉

    Off to see if ‘Arry has a job still 😉

  33. rico says:

    😦 He is still there – for now 😉

  34. rico says:

    From Young Guns

    First team duo Samir Nasri and Łukasz Fabiański have been penciled in for Reserve team run outs later this month as they complete the final stages of their rehabilitation from knee and leg injuries respectively.

    Manager Arsène Wenger has already confirmed the pair will return to full training during next weeks international break and he will make checks to decide how short they are before match action. Therefore the Reserves League South clash against Wolves on the 20th of October could see both Samir and Łukasz make their first appearances of the season.

    Nasri has been missing since pre-season when the 22-year-old’s leg took the full brunt of a Abou Diaby shot during a training game. Fabiański’s knee problem wasn’t believed to be serious but it has taken longer than expected to heal, meaning Vito Mannone has jumped notably up the pecking order. The Polish stopper has previously turned out for the Reserves in a bid to keep up fitness levels but this time around he’ll be in action aiming to build them back up. However, with the form of the aforementioned Mannone, a real battle is set to break out for the right to be number one if speculation is right that Manuel Almunia has infact been dropped.

    Wenger will assess the pair before the 20th in the hope that they will be ready enough to go straight into the first-team, or indeed need some game time with the second-string.

  35. rico says:

    From AFC.com

    Arsène Wenger believes Thierry Henry could return to Arsenal to continue the manager’s legacy at the Club.

    The Gunners boss believes the best people to inherit the team once he leaves would be those who have played an important role on the pitch during his time at Arsenal. People such as Henry.

    Asked if he thought the record goalscorer would eventually return, Wenger was optimistic.

    “I can see that happening,” said Wenger. “I believe at some stage the legacy here has to go to some people who have had a big influence at this Club.

    “One day they will want to work, maybe not necessarily with me but working because I will have to stop eventually. Maybe it will be me working with them!”

  36. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters and Roosters,

    Any substance to the ‘arry story regarding the expose and financial skullduggery?

  37. rico says:

    Morning Rasp

    He is still employed – but its a strange one, the betting shops suddenly had a mass of people betting he was to be sacked, I think the odds dropped from
    66-1 to evens – even an old betting thickie like me knows there’s something going on there then 😉

    He has denied he is leaving, but lets hope this smoke has a huge fire 😉

  38. Rasputin says:

    Morning rico,

    Thanks for the info. These financial misdealings allegations keep surfacing against him. Did he prosecute the police the last time they raided his house in the early morning and found nothing?

  39. Rasputin says:

    I see Almunia still has a chest infection … yeah right!!! 🙄 not that I’m disappointed Manone continues … 350 minutes since he conceded a goal and several excellent saves in that time. Valuable experience for the lad.

  40. Rasputin says:

    Bad news for you and I rico as it sounds that Merida is getting impatient at the lack of first team exposure. I really hope he doesn’t ask to leave as AW always considers the players future and development and sometimes I think he lets young players go out of altruism.

  41. rico says:

    Oh no Rasp, I would be really upset if he left. Maybe its a twisted story from the overseas paps 😦

  42. rico says:

    I am with you on the Almunia view, I think he was dropped as AW had enough – if that is the case, why does he have the b***s to drop him but not Diaby ??

  43. rico says:

    Rasp – this is a more positive i/v and calms me a little 😉

    Spanish midfielder Fran Merida is hoping his performances at the FIFA Under-20 World Cup will impress Arsenal coach Arsene Wenger enough to give him some first team experience in the Premier Leauge.

    The 19-year-old has helped Spain’s under-20 side to the top of Group B thanks to three goals in three games.

    “I am focused on the World Cup and when I come back and I will give my best to show him (Wenger) what I can do, and to show him I can help the team. Of course, playing well for the national team helps” Merida told Associated Press.

    Merida is hoping to follow in the footsteps of other great left-footed players Lionel Messi, Xavi Hernandez and John Obi Mikel who all impressed in the youth tournament during their primitive years.

    “I always want to improve, to get better, to get my place in the Arsenal side,” Merida said.

    “Obviously playing with top, top players is nice, and Cesc (Fabregas) is one of them. I would love to make the first eleven at Arsenal, and that Cesc is there as well

  44. Rasputin says:

    Thanks rico … I think you and I are Merida’s number one fans. I just think he is a perfect Arsene/Arsenal type player. I feel sorry for Almunia because he is clearly a really nice chap but we should not persist with players that lose us points …. because as the saying goes … points win prizes … 😛

  45. rico says:

    BY Paul Merson ………..

    ARSENE WENGER may have just clocked up a record 13 years at Arsenal but when he arrived the players gave him six months tops.

    No-one had ever heard of him – not one of us! Not for nothing was he dubbed Arsene Who?

    But we were soon won round by the way he made training so interesting. The lads were flying in each morning because it was unbelievable.

    Don’t get me wrong, George Graham was a great manager and what he did worked because we won trophies – but it was mundane. I could have told you in October what we would be doing on a Tuesday in February.

    Arsene was so far ahead of his time. Everything was on the clock. You could be hitting mannequins with the ball but after 20 minutes it would stop.

    The same with 8 v 8. As soon as the time was up it would end. If it was 1-1, there was no winning goal. He’d make it so different.

    In 8 v 8 he’d vary it all the time, like having two touches if you play forward and just one if you pass backwards. You’d never just play a game, you’d have to use your brain.

    Then there was the finishing with centre- forwards. He’d stand on the edge of the six-yard box and roll it in for you to smash into the net past the keeper.

    You’d think, ‘What was that for?’ But believe it or not, they are the hardest ones on a Saturday.

    At your pre-match meal, he’d walk round saying “chew to win” to make sure you ate your food properly. You had to constantly chew your food, you couldn’t gulp it down.

    He’d changed the diet, of course. You could only have a certain-sized steak and everything was carefully monitored.

    There was a bit of resistance at first to the stretching. We’d come in and do this stretching no-one had ever seen before.

    When we went away with England, the Arsenal lads would be doing them when we were warming-up or warming-down. Eventually all the England squad did them.

    He wasn’t a shouter. I remember we were beaten 1-0 at home by Wimbledon and Tony Adams went mad. He said to Arsene: “Why don’t you say something? We’ve just lost at home to Wimbledon.”

    He just stood there calm as you like and said: “What do you expect me to say? You’ve just lost 1-0, there’s nothing I can do about it.”

    That left Tony speechless, because we’d been used to George going mental. As for the boozing, I was sober at the time and had been in treatment. But he stopped drinking in the players’ lounge and on the coach straight away.

    At Walsall I tried to take some of his diet and fitness things there. Now virtually everyone does it. You can see why when he came in, England had never been near winning the World Cup.

    He can’t have been the only coach who was up there when it came to all these brilliant new ideas.

    You can talk about the likes of Bergkamp, Vieira and Henry but Arsene is the best signing Arsenal ever made and David Dein deserves credit for spotting him.

    It was nice to work under him for a year and he didn’t want me to leave but I went with the money at Middlesbrough.

    He doesn’t like that but people have to pay the bills. I can’t speak highly enough of Arsene but Arsenal are becoming the team that everyone wants to watch because they don’t win anything any more.

    They smashed Olympiakos 2-0 on Tuesday but it was still drama. It was like that match against CSKA Moscow three years ago when they drew 0-0 but could have 14 or 15-0.

    Some day they will beat someone so badly and smash that record of Manchester United when they beat Ipswich 9-0.

    I watched them beat Reading 4-0 a few years ago and it was the best football I’ve ever seen.

    It was like watching the PlayStation. But people want to win and it was only last season when people were asking whether he’d still be there or not.

    As to why he has not made lots of signings, well, Arsene knows every footballer in the world. Ask him about the centre-forward at Austria Vienna, he’d tell you everything about him.

    So if there is no-one out there who would fit into the Arsenal way, he would not buy just for the sake of it.

    Fans have got to go with him because, believe you me, if he ever goes they will never find his like again

  46. rico says:

    You been on that ‘Hummourous’ again Rasp 😉 With Pitta Bread I hope 🙂

  47. Rasputin says:

    😆 rico …. I have to go shopping now… boring… catch you later ….

  48. rico says:

    Catch you soon Rasp, don’t spend too much money 😉

  49. London says:

    Morning all

    A couple of points: Rednapp has denied wanting to leave spuds, and came across quite confident when interviewed on the subject…..and so he should; because, that is a bit like asking Osama Bin Laden if he flew the planes into the Twin Towers? He could confidently say, no.

    The question that should have been asked is: do you expect to get sacked for money laundering? If that had been asked I am not so sure he would be able to look quit so confident……too much smoke here for there not to be a fire somewhere.

  50. London says:

    Morning Rasp

    This is a very interesting point “I think he lets young players go out of altruism.” could you expand?

  51. rico says:

    Morning London… I think he will be gone, just a matter of time, I am lighting matches as I type 😉

    Got to pop out a while, catch you later

    Re re ‘Arry v’s Police – I dont think he sued them for anything, he just whinged a lot about it..

  52. rico says:

    London – I took that to mean for the benifit of the player rather than the club, got to dash now

  53. London says:

    Rico

    I wasn’t certain what he meant so I asked him to expand 😉 It could be read in two ways but it is a very interesting observation which ever way you look at it.

  54. London says:

    Wenger’s team for tomorrow

    ———Vito
    Sagna,Gallas,Vermaelen,Clichy
    —Fabregas,Song,Diaby
    –Walcott,RVP,Arshavin

    We win 3-1

  55. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters..

    London.. we are at home not Blackburn..

  56. London says:

    Bloody hell, how many mistakes can a man make it a week?

    Thanks, I would have missed that?

  57. avenell says:

    You haven’t been the same since you mixed with all those americans..

  58. JonJon says:

    hiya guys,

    my sister has departed for university this weekend in nottingham and my mum has gone with her to help her get her flat sorted, so im left house and dog sitting…

    i thought id take advantage and pop in and say howdy, ive been missing you guys…

    ive had no internet access for weeks and ive been hving withdrawal symptoms…i hate being out of the loop i cant keep up with the news…ive got no sky either so im clueless to whats been going on…

    so how is everyone…im gonna skim back through the comments and find out whats been going on..

  59. London says:

    Hi Jonjon great to hear from you

    Ave, on the subject of the US

    I had an interesting experience in New York recently. Arriving late at night I went straight to sleep and woke early to make my way to a bar that I had already made certain was showing the Wigan game. There is always an enjoyable culture shock when first arriving in NY but making my way to see Arsenal and seeing people in Arsenal shirts walking towards 2nd Avenue at 10 in the morning made it even more surreal than usual.

    The best way I can explain my feelings on entering the bar, which is called Nevada Smith’s by the way, is to compare it to an experience of going on the Ghost Train when I was a child: you sit on a carriage and move very slowly towards a door and than suddenly you go though and everything is very dark except for flashes of strange light, you feel a bit scared by the unfamiliar surroundings. But, then, after a moment, you start to focus, and the first thing I saw was a huge flag on the wall with the words “New York Gunners” then I noticed the bar was full of people wearing Arsenal shirts which naturally put me at ease.

    The game kicked off, the goals started coming, the beer started flowing and this bar started singing; in fact, after they started singing they didn’t stop until the end of the game. Being a cynical old bastard I was thinking that of course we should be beating Wigan but these people were celebrating with a happy innocence that made me feel slightly envious.

    There were little groups of girls in their Arsenal shirts and when someone made a tackle they excitedly started jumping up and down (an interception in American football is a big deal) The thought also crossed my mind that I have heard that it is hard to find a single heterosexual man in New York but I didn’t realise that girls had to go to that extreme, I jest off course.

    I was sitting there, and the place was packed with gooners by the way, when I realised I could overhear two New Yorkers talking about the team, yet again feeling superior in my knowledge of all things Arsenal I was humbled by how I found myself agreeing with them, they were expressing the need for a new goal keeper and another centre forward; although, this was not said in the cynical kind of way that we are familiar with in blogsphere this was said with a helpful innocence. It was a good win and a great experience but I will leave you with this…..when it comes to surreal thoughts can you imagine a bar full of gooners singing “There is only one Arsène Wenger”……. IN AMERICAN ACCENTS!

  60. JonJon says:

    hi london,sounds like you had a good time..

  61. avenell says:

    Hi Jonjon any sign of a permanant internet connection yet? Have you got your house sorted?

    Brilliant London.. It’s interesting how different cultures and people of different ages support the Arsenal. I am not sure if you can generalise. It’s interesting to hear freire’s views sometimes, a little impatient perhaps.
    One thing it must make you very privileged to be able to attend matches.

  62. avenell says:

    That could have been a post.. “An English Arsenal Supporter in New York”.. 🙂

  63. JonJon says:

    i think we’ll be up and running soon ave, ive had a few probs recently with a leaky pipe but other than that its taking shape…

    ive almost got it fully furnished..im doing the bedrooms now but the rest of the house is done..

    then i can concentrate on luxuries.. 😉

    yeah i agree…after blogging with people from different cultures its hard to generalise…but some are only used to success as it was success that drew them to us so will seem impatient..whereas others are in love with the principles and the morals of what wengers doing so dont care whether we win anything or not…

    for me there has to be the right balance…we all want to see our team succeed on and off the pitch…

  64. JonJon says:

    whats going on at pompey?? cos i heard they have a week tofind 15mil or they dissolve..

    and is arry being questioned again??

  65. avenell says:

    ‘arry is just a rumour caused by a rapid decreasing of odds at the bookies for him to be sacked..
    Pompey will have the premier league step in under a new rule they brought in a few months back It will be an embaressment if a club from the richest league in the world goes broke.

  66. JonJon says:

    a rapid decreasing of odds normally means theres no smoke without fire…

    but when theres inside info its normally the trend for hundreds of ppl to put money on it for the odds to slash and for it to be true…

    the other explaination is for just one person whos multi billionaire to have a dream and then bang a few thousand quid on it just for fun…

    either way the odds will slash and the bookies will stop the bets so they dont lose money..they wont take the chance…

    he was a 66-1 the last time i checked so it could be true…or it could be just a lucky punt.as explained above…but he does have history so it will be interesting to see what develops over the next few days on that one..

    that guy in charge of pompey though seems abit strange..hes supposed to have all this money but the players arent getting paid and he hasnt been able to afford the club up front..its definately fishy…how he passed the eligablity(?????) test i’ll never know…

  67. JonJon says:

    is anyone watching SSN

    the panel are licking lord wengers arse…even phil thompson has conceeded that hes one of the greatest managers to ever have lived…

    but they all think we need more strikers…

    but charlie raised a good point..if robin,dudu,AA, nikki, theo, rosicky, cesc, nasri et all…all hit 10 goals plus this season..we wont need a 30 goal a season man…

    and with theway the team are playing that does look a good arguement..although we could of done with a predator against that greek shite in midweek…that should have been a world record playground cricket score…

  68. rico says:

    Afternoon peeps –

    London – I poked my snozzer in as I knew Rasp had gone for a while 😉

    Am I imagining things or did I just see JonJon here 😛 Hello me old mucker, hope all is good..

  69. rico says:

    JJ, just watched the AW bit with the panel, what a two faced bunch of hypocrits – this is the same panel who normally slate him, and the club, CN apart! Grr

  70. JonJon says:

    hi rico…yeah i’ll be around for abit this afternoon..im looking after my mums house and the dog whilest shes helping my sister with her flat in nottingham..

    all is fine and dandy rico..i hope all well with you

  71. rico says:

    pretty good thanks, my nephew did the same trip two weeks ago, but he has gone to L’pool uni, can’t believe it – mind you he supports that lot as well!!!

  72. London says:

    Yep

    I agree with that Jonjon, a predator would have scored a hat full. RVP might have scored but in general his ability to instantly control a well played pass was poor. People will point to the Fulham game and the goal he scored with sublime control; perhaps, I got spoilt by Henry who could do that every time rather than every so often. It pains me to be critical of Van Persie because I am such a self confessed fan but I am still concerned about his ability to be a number 9.

  73. JonJon says:

    i still like merse though rico…

    hes alot like wrighty…he has arsenal in his blood and he thinks the same as alot of do…but he elaborates on it more becuase he has to for the cameras…

    its no different to lee or martin on MOTD…

    but they still gooners…

  74. rico says:

    Spuds are 1-0 down 😛

  75. JonJon says:

    bolton beating spuds 🙂

  76. avenell says:

    Spuds 1 down.. haha

  77. avenell says:

    We don’t like the Spuds then.. lol

  78. rico says:

    I like him too JJ – but he does annoy me at times, as do those you listed 😦

  79. JonJon says:

    LOL avenell…

    yeah besides arsenal i love to watch their results the most…i dont know why.. 😉

  80. JonJon says:

    i think the wheels will fall off spurs wagon soon…they had a bright start but they are one of those teams who can still go on a 5 game losing streak..

    citeh are harder to judge as they have better players but i think that with the tempremental players they do have, bellamy, ade, robinho, etc they will hit a brick wall at some point,especially with hughes in charge…

  81. JonJon says:

    bollox

  82. avenell says:

    🙂 Kevin Davis..

  83. avenell says:

    Damn 2-2.. 😦

  84. avenell says:

    4 points behind the Spuds.. 2 games in hand..

  85. avenell says:

    Sunderland.1 Man U.0 🙂

  86. Rasputin says:

    Hi London,

    Sorry I didn’t respond earlier, I’ve been out most of the day. I think Arsene cuts a fatherly figure – particularly with the younger players and often refers to them as ‘boys’. I have heard him say in interviews (may have been regarding Senderos) that a player wants to leave to further his career and that he would not stand in their way. I think he is a very moral person and maybe the players would lose faith in him if he was seen to be manipulating other players purely for financial gain …. but then again I could be completely wrong.. 😉

    Certainly whenever he has sold players and made a huge profit (Anelka) he hasn’t wanted the player to go but realises you can’t force them to stay and expect them to play ro full potential. I have said before that if a player wants to go, the contract means zilch. No manager puts a player valued in millions in the reserves to teach them a lesson any more.

  87. JonJon says:

    i’ll take a draw out of the spuds game ave, and im enjoying the manure game so far…cattermole and cana are giving the manure midfield nightmares…fltchers being played at his own game only the difference is its 2 v 1…hes getting a good kicking…

    the referee will play an important role in this match…we’ll see how long sunderland have the lead for but if it gets to the hour mark and manure havent improved we can expect to see some wierd decisions go their way…it is at OT after all..

  88. Rasputin says:

    Hi JonJon,

    Great to see you back on – if only temporarily 😛

  89. JonJon says:

    hi rasp..

    yeag i agree with your last sentance…i dont expect to see a player worth millions to be kept at the club is he doesnt want to be their..in the reserves or in the 1st team…

    ades a perfect eg of playing at a club when you dont want to be there…the player doesnt care, and if he is made to play reserve football it serves no purpose either cos in both cases the value of the player will drop…it serves no purpose to keep them…in the end you still lose the player and in trying to keep them you lose his motivation and you lose his value..

  90. London says:

    Rasp

    It’s a very interesting observation, I base my whole argument on how and why Flamini left on that.

  91. Rasputin says:

    Good points London/JonJon. You would also hope that Flamini’s experience may make some of the younger players think twice before jumping ship even if it is to a more exotic location and a few more quid.

    TH14 has been maginifcent since he left and I’m sure his words have bouyed the players when they may have been down.

  92. JonJon says:

    i still dont think flamini applied to that bracket…i still believe rather than flamini being determined to leave us…he had spent 5 years of being not recnognised by the club that in the end made his decision easy for him…he made the final choice but the manager didnt exactly make it a hard choice for him..but ive been here before im covering old ground..

    i think players like hleb, ade, cole apply more to that bracket…

    i also hinks it a reason why wenger likes to tie his players down every few years with new contracts..so if the situation arises he will get top dollar and not lose them for nothing..

  93. JonJon says:

    im begining to think we missed the boat with lorik cana for 5 mil…hes been impressive so fare this season the manure midfield are struggling to get thei game going..

  94. Rasputin says:

    Yes, we should have given Flamini more recognition. He was a fantastic utility player at left back and excelled when he got back to his favoured position in midfield, we should have offered him a fair contract before Christmas and maybe the signing of Diara sent a messae to him too.

  95. JonJon says:

    we should have offered him a new contract after he played at LB in the 2006 CL run where no team breached our defence until the final..which he was dropped for….

  96. Rasputin says:

    Yes, that was a complete smack in the face for Flam. I felt sad for Bobby, getting subbed when mad Jens was sent off. Almunia was a poor replacement and should have stopped their second goal.

  97. JonJon says:

    he should have stopped their first too..he was beaten on the near post for both of them

    saying that we should have been 3-o up by the time they got their first but henry missed about three sitters

  98. JonJon says:

    i think almunias lsot his place…who spends 3 weeks out with a chest infection…

    and fabianskis lost his place too cos don mannone hasnt put a foot wrong…he won us the game at fulham and hasnt conceeded in three matches…

    ive never seen almunia win us games..hes the type of gk who will make the saves you expect him to make but will nevr win you a game…

    mannone deserves a run now, even if he makes a mistake cos weve had to put up with 2 years of mistakes from the spanish waiter…but he looks the part and if wenger drops him now we will see the same as what happened to manninger…weve got a talent there..lets not destroy his confidence..give him a chance and let almunia fight his way back into the first team..if mannines form drops then fair enough but until then he has to be no 1..

  99. rico says:

    Just a pop in and out – ave, I have emailed you re adding another link please when you get chance – thanks 🙂

  100. Rasputin says:

    Agree 100% on Manone JonJon, like I said earlier he conceded 2 goals in his first 5 mins and hasn’t conceded in the following 355 mins – that shows real character and determination.

  101. JonJon says:

    i like the dons attitude rasp…he doesnt seem like a flapper…he looks commanding..and he know where his goalposts are..unlike some..

    manure got lucky but its still two points dropped…

    ive said before that the top teams will take points off each other so as long as we keep taking the 3 points from the lesser teams and manure and chelsea and pool drop points to the burnleys, sunderlands, wigans and spurs 😉 of this world respectively we should be up there at the end of the season..

  102. avenell says:

    Too early to say with Mannone.. we haven’t played any one of note with him in goal yet.

  103. avenell says:

    And Man U only got a draw and 4 mins of injury time .. 🙂
    Dickhead Richardson got himself sent off for kicking the ball away..

  104. JonJon says:

    yeah but we might as well have against fulham..

    i dont think almunia would have kept a clean sheet against them and if it wasnt for that clean sheet we would have lost because we should of lost that game on chances created..

    i reckon good keepers still cost you 4-5 points a season with mistakes but make up for it and win you 10-12 points a season also..

    well he’s only played a handful of games and hes already won us three points at fulham…i dont remember manny doing that…not just this season but last season too…manny always costs us more points than what he wins us…ive never seen him win us a game..

    manonnes young but hes in fine form and to drop him now for manny after the games manny has had so far would be stupid…let the lad have a chance…let him drop himself..if you know what i mean

  105. JonJon says:

    yeah that was daft..why would you do that..??? i think we wont see richardson in bruces next few lineups..

  106. JonJon says:

    right guys its been a fun day, thanks for keeping me company but i have to leave you now…at the next opportunity i’ll try be on again…take care and enjoy the game tomorrow..

  107. rico says:

    Night JJ, stay safe my friend …

  108. London says:

    Did anyone watch that manu game? I caught bits of it, Sunderland were crap but the mancs were even worse. If Rooney gets a serious injury they are going to finish below spuds.

  109. avenell says:

    I heard it on the radio London..

    They were saying every Sunderland player was fantastic until the sending off.

    Jonjon if you are reading.. speak soon buddy.

  110. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    What a lovely day to be off to the Emirates 🙂

  111. peachesgooner says:

    JonJon lovely to see you back on yesterday – I’ve missed you and I missed you yesterday too 😦

  112. rico says:

    Morning all

    Have a fab time peaches

  113. peachesgooner says:

    Thanks rico – I have to say I’m really looking forward to it – some of the football the other night was so stunning……more of the same please ‘men’ 😆

    My daughters band did a gig at the Brixton academy last night supporting the Maccabbees so I’m a little croaky and my feet are killing me but I’m sure watching Arsh wriggling passed players will cure all 😀

  114. rico says:

    I agree peaches, i thought that was the best footie we have seen for a while from our boys, just need to finish our chances today and a good win will be the outcome 😛

    Sounds like you had a good night 😉 Good job you are sitting down today 😉 😉 Sounds like things are going great guns for your daughters band – good on them 🙂

  115. rico says:

    Blimey – a lot of good’s in my last 😦

    Theo to get a hatrick today 😛 😛

  116. peachesgooner says:

    Do you think we’ll see Theo? Arsene might just put him on the bench for decoration – him and Vela they can be like devine bookends 😳

  117. rico says:

    😛 peaches – I do, I think he may keep Thomas on the bench for a little rest 😉

  118. peachesgooner says:

    Ok, I’m off – see you all later 🙂

  119. avenell says:

    Missed ya..
    never mind NEW POST. 🙂

Leave a Reply

