Three Most Wanted

By that I mean POINTS!!

Another away game for us then, but thankfully not too far for the team to travel tomorrow so no excuse for fatigue or stiff muscles after getting off a ten minute coach ride πŸ˜‰

Three points tomorrow and we are right back up with the big boys, and that is exactly what we need to be tomorrow evening – Big Boys, with a big performance. Last season we were dreadful in this fixture, the game almost dominated by some old dodgy dipper called Murphy, well that won’t happen this time around.

Song is a better player now and he won’t allow Murphy to have such a good time, no, he will boss the midfield allowing Cesc to do what he does best – play with freedom and let his passing split open the Fulham defence time after time (see a Song)

We have Arshavin and Walcott back, fighting fit and desperate to start, we have Thomas Rosicky so surely that will mean no play for Diaby or Eboue from the start? I hope that is the case.

The back four picks itself I think – the only question is who plays in goal? Will it be Mannone, Szczesny or Almunia – I am not so sure there much between them, maybe a good game to stick with one of the younger two, let them get more confidence. I would go with Mannone, because it’s easier to spell πŸ˜‰

The midfield – well we know Cesc and Song are going to be there, so who is the third, I am guessing he will play a 4-3-3 so if he does I would go with Rosicky – boy it’s great to see him back πŸ™‚

Then the front three and I guess this is where we will all disagree, I would love to see Arshavin, Theo and Eduardo – I don’t care on which side of the park they play in fact I wish they would have freedom to roam. I remember we used to see Bobby on the left, Freddie on the right, the next minute it was the other way round. The defence won’t like it if they swap around a bit πŸ˜›

So it would look like this if it were down to me.

Mannone
Sagna Gallas TV Clichy
Song
Cesc Rosicky
Walcott Eduardo Arshavin

Maybe he will go for a 4-2-2 as we are away, I would play the same team but slot Arshavin into the midfield and play Theo and Eduardo up front. Yesterday I got my hopes up about Vela playing tomorrow, but he is β€˜not ready’…

Mannone
Sagna Gallas TV Clichy
Walcott Song Cesc Rosicky
Eduardo Arshavin

Surely, that team will be able to spank Fulham. So on to Fulham….
Funny old start to the season for them, bit like us really!

They have lost to Chelsea, Villa and Wolves, but have beaten Pompey and Everton. Doesn’t tell us much really, they have only played two games at home winning one and losing one. The Chavs beat them at Craven Cottage 2-0, so I say let’s go and beat them by three goals at least!

Up front they have that little weasel Johnson, who loves to score against us, but I expect TV to deal with him easily. My main concern is Big Brede on set pieces, he did it to us last season and we can’t let that happen again so I just hope TV and Gallas have their stilettos’ on for a little extra height πŸ˜›

Greening, Duff and Davies? Could cause a problem, but somehow I don’t think so. I don’t know enough about any of their other players to comment.

Other than that, on paper the game should end with us securing all three points and a good weekend can be had by all of us. Then it’s back to the CL on Tuesday, a nice home game…

222 Responses to Three Most Wanted

  1. rico says:

    Morning Roadsters

  2. rico says:

    My score for tomorrow

    4-1 to us πŸ˜›

  3. kelsey says:

    nice post, off for the time being, put me down for 3-0 to us please,ave,

  4. rico says:

    catch you later kelsey

  5. rico says:

    Gotta go clean some chicken poop up, back in a little while

  6. Big Raddy says:

    I am going 2-1 to us.

  7. Big Raddy says:

    Has anyone ever gone for us to lose?

  8. rahul says:

    hmmm don think walcott ll play.. he’ll be on the bench i guess.. the polish goalie(writing his name IS diff [:P]) was good again wba n hope he gets a start. Looking forward to the match… [:)]

  9. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters.. Good post Rico.. freshened things up a treat.

    Hi Raddy and Kelsey.. I think someone predicted a loss to Man U last year.. there have been a few draws though.

    I am going for a 1-0 to us. If I aim low I can be pleasantly surprised. πŸ™‚

  10. avenell says:

    Hi Rahul.. welcome to Avenell Road you can blog freely now..
    I don’t think Walcott will play he has only just returned to training according to Sky sports.

  11. rico says:

    Morning ave, Raddy and Rahul

    So no Theo then 😦

  12. avenell says:

    Jonjon phoned last night rico.. he is doing really well got himself sorted and bought a house.
    Problem he has is no internet connection and others have been taking the piss at work so they banned it there.
    But I think he will be back when he is sorted.. πŸ™‚

  13. rico says:

    Spanish U21 star Cesar Azpilicueta has confirmed that he is aware of the rumours linking him with a move to Arsenal, but stressed that they remain just that, as he is yet to speak to anyone from the North London club.

    The Osasuna right-back, who has represented Spain at all youth levels is one of country’s hottest young prospects and despite just turning 20 last month has already enjoyed two seasons in La Liga.

    Arsenal is one of many clubs monitoring his progress, however Azpilicueta is more than happy to continue his development at Osasuna.

    “I know of rumours linking me with Arsenal but I have yet to speak with anybody from the club,

    “At the moment, I can only concentrate on working with Osasuna and progressing my football.” (Sun)

    This is a new one πŸ˜‰

  14. rico says:

    Hey ave, that’s great news about JJ, that might explain why he doesn’t answer his emails πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ send him and Mrs JJ my best please when you next speak to him

  15. avenell says:

    I will do rico..

    He reckons a fridge freezer and a sofa are more important than internet connection.. need to get his priorities right if you ask me.. πŸ˜‰

  16. avenell says:

    Oh .. and he never answered his emails even when he was connected.. lol..

  17. rico says:

    πŸ˜› ave, to both of your last, who would you play tomorrow then …..??

  18. avenell says:

    Mannone (I never saw Chesney on tuesday)
    Sagna.
    Gallas,
    TV,
    Clichy,
    Song,
    Cesc,
    TR4
    AA,
    Dudu,
    RvP..

  19. rico says:

    Me too – with a bench of Nik, Theo, Vela, Eboue, Silvestre/Phil, GK, Ramsey/Jack πŸ˜‰

    I can see the three points drifting our way as I type πŸ˜‰

  20. rico says:

    Sorry for the vast delay, busy girl in the garden 😦

  21. avenell says:

    Yeah.. I have to go out now and get an engine management light taken off then another for a MOT.. 😦

    So me too.

  22. rico says:

    Wenger – Why I haven’t spent summer profit

    By Richard Clarke

    ArsΓ¨ne Wenger is free to re-invest the profit he made from his summer trading but feels his β€œunbelievable” squad can already compete for the title without further investment.

    The Arsenal manager sold Emmanuel Adebayor and Kolo Toure during the close season, bringing in only Thomas Vermaelen as a replacement. If you believe the reported figures, that is a profit of around Β£30 million.

    His relative lack of expenditure has been discussed in the wake of recent defeats in Manchester but, speaking at the official opening of the Highbury Square development, the Frenchman put up a robust defence of his position.

    β€œWe sold Kolo and Adebayor but bought Vermaelen,” he said. β€œThat money is for me. I know how much I have and I am happy with it.

    β€œBut last week we played Wigan. We won 4-0 and on the bench I had Bendtner [while] Walcott, Arshavin, Nasri, Denilson and Djourou were not playing.

    β€œDo we have the squad to compete with the other [β€˜Big’] four? I say yes.

    β€œWe have an unbelievable squad. Where do you put all the talented players?

    β€œI believe we can show that we are not in a position where we need to buy. For me, we are in a position where we want to transform our potential into being real Premier League contenders.”

  23. rico says:

    So the old tinker does have a few pounds, a striker in January please boss πŸ˜‰

  24. avenell says:

    Arsene will flex the financial muscles in Jan and get Chamakkkkkka. He is doing the same as he did last year with AA.. do you want Β£3 million or jack s**t in the summer?.

  25. rico says:

    Hope you are right ave, we need him. We should be in the latter stages of the CL after Christmas, the FA Cup and still in the chase for the EPL – i don’t think we have enough fire power right now.. The good thing is he has come out publicly and said he does have money and should January arrive and we are not far off the top, I reckon he will bolster with a bit of experience to help us over the line.

  26. kelsey says:

    just read that as well rico.

    Almunia still out with a chest infection. hmmmm

    denilson also out.

    Enjoy the game everyone, see you next week πŸ™‚

  27. rico says:

    Hi kelsey, bye kelsey πŸ˜‰ Hope all is good with you and your animals

  28. rico says:

    Arsenal winger Theo Walcott is desperate to kick-start his campaign after a shoulder problem last season robbed him of the best form of his career.

    The 20-year-old was injured in November and was sidelined for four months, meaning he could not build on his famous hat-trick for England against Croatia in Zagreb.

    After returning to full fitness from that injury, Walcott has since been hampered by a side strain and has not played since the summer.

    “I think my game was going to a new level before I got injured but you always get the odd injury,” Walcott told the London Evening Standard. “Hopefully this will be my last one.

    “I haven’t had much of a pre-season or any games. I’ve had 45 minutes and that’s it – it will take me a few games to get back into the flow but I am raring to go and I am sure it will come.”

    Walcott took inspiration from Arsenal team-mate Tomas Rosicky, who has just returned after being sidelined since January 2008.

    “It is always frustrating when you are injured – you don’t want to be sitting on the sidelines watching your team-mates struggle – as we did at times last season,” he said.

    “The best thing is just to come in all smiles when you have your treatment and work very hard when you are out injured.

    “For me, just watching Tomas Rosicky was an inspiration because he was out for 20 months and, by comparison, me being out for a few months is no big deal.”

    Walcott is keen to fit into the new formation of Gunners manager Arsene Wenger.

    “The boss has changed the formation to 4-3-3 and I think that will help us play more attacking football and free me up down that right side,” said Walcott.

    “I played for Southampton Under-17s in a 4-3-3 formation on the right wing and I really enjoyed it. It gives me the chance to go and attack defenders and I can’t wait to get back into the team and show what I can do.”

    Big talk Theo, good on you, I for one hope you take your chance and show us all how good we want to believe you are πŸ˜‰

  29. Big Raddy says:

    Would be great if Theo could achieve his potential. He really could be a superstar. But injuries could halt his development, and he needs to get a couple of injury free seasons.

    I agree with AW, right now we have a fine squad and I wouldn’t buy anyone

  30. rico says:

    This blows our theory ave, and my hopes 😦 😦

    Wenger – I will not go back for Chamakh

    Arsène Wenger will not launch another transfer bid for Marouane Chamakh in January.

    The Frenchman held talks with Bordeaux over the summer but a deal to bring the Moroccan international to Emirates Stadium was never agreed.

    Speaking at the official opening of Highbury Square, Wenger said he now has enough strength up front to no longer require the services of Chamakh.

    Asked if he would go back for the 25-year-old during the next transfer window, Wenger ruled out the possibility. “No, we don’t go anywhere,” said the Gunners’ boss.

    “We have plenty of strikers. Eduardo has made a recovery and Nicklas Bendtner has extended his contract; that means we have strikers.”

  31. rico says:

    Raddy – like you, I think he is a player yet to be at his best and injuries really mucked up last season for him – many think I am a tad biased towards him because he is a local lad to me, but its not that, I really think he will be a great player – he needs to gain confidence in his own ability.. I am sure its there, it just needs to come out, and we sometimes forget that he is still younger than most…

  32. rico says:

    All pretty quiet so I will bid you goodnight,

    Catch up tomorrow – stay safe …

  33. Big Raddy says:

    So…. It’s goodnight from Rico and goodnight from me……..

  34. Evo in Oz says:

    gday all

    dont think Walcott will start, maybe on the bench at best

  35. rico says:

    Morning all – lovely bright morning πŸ˜›

    Nothing to get the team up for a game more than Danny Murphy writing us off – thanks Danny, hope that comes back to bite a huge chunk out of your bottom πŸ˜‰

    http://www.newsnow.co.uk/A/373063722?-19387

  36. rico says:

    Off for a bit, back soon

  37. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters.. quiet day for a matchday..

  38. Big Raddy says:

    Murphy is right though. This team doesn’t frighten anyone ….. YET.

    It will come.

  39. rico says:

    Hi ave & Raddy

    Dippers at home in the cup then πŸ™‚

    Its ok for us to say that Raddy, but not an ex dipper πŸ˜‰

  40. avenell says:

    We have drawn the scousers in the Carling.. at least it should be on the telly.. πŸ™‚

  41. avenell says:

    Didn’t see you there rico, sorry forgot to refresh page.

  42. rico says:

    We should be able to win that one ave πŸ˜›

  43. rico says:

    No worries ave, how you doing ?

  44. avenell says:

    Okay thanks .. I have a few things to get done before the game so I am not about much. oh and Nita is doing a walk around Truro tonight for charity, so a bit of babysitting in between,

  45. rico says:

    Me too, promised to go and watch the local footie team this afternoon, not sure how long the viewing will last though πŸ˜‰

    Make sure Nita takes a torch and stays safe

    Catch up with you a little later, you sound like you have a lot to do 😦

  46. peachesgooner says:

    Hi all

    Gorgeous day so I’m not really here. hope everyone is well and looking forward to us taking 3 points at Craven cottage this afternoon.

    Put me down for 2-0 please ave.

    Good luck to Anita for her walk tonight, catch up later πŸ˜‰

  47. peachesgooner says:

    Thats 2-0 to us, sorry wrong way round πŸ˜†

  48. Freire says:

    Hello all !
    3v1 to us today, easy easy.

  49. avenell says:

    Hi Freire..

    I have put the score predictions in.. let me know if I have missed anyone out..

  50. avenell says:

    Chelsea are losing.. πŸ™‚

  51. rico says:

    And down to 10 men ave, silly old Cech sent off πŸ™‚

    Spuds 3-0 up, Maunre 1-0 up

  52. rico says:

    And Watford have just equalised 😦 😦

  53. rico says:

    Blackburn, down to 10 men are leading 2-1 against Villa!

    Some very strange scorelines right now

  54. rico says:

    Dippers are 6-1 😦 😦 I hate them!!

  55. rico says:

    Spuds 5-0 😦

    Come on the mighty gooners, lets get 7 later πŸ˜›

  56. rico says:

    Robbie Keane got four goals today, thats his quota for the year done and dusted then πŸ˜‰

    Woop Woop – The Chavs have been stuffed 3-1 πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  57. rico says:

    And Berby the Toff has got off the mark, he probably will need a rest now πŸ˜‰

  58. avenell says:

    Chelsea 3-1 down 4 mins of stoppage time to go.. πŸ™‚

  59. rico says:

    Hey rico, you have been a busy girl with all the updates – you now ready to sit and watch our boys stuff the neighbours πŸ˜‰

  60. rico says:

    ave – you have prevented me from having a chat with myself πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  61. rico says:

    Tee Hee, its over and Mr Martinez must be so so happy πŸ˜›

    I bloomin well am πŸ˜‰

  62. rico says:

    We need this boy back for the Dipper CC game

    http://www.newsnow.co.uk/A/373152345?-19387

  63. avenell says:

    haha..

    Chelsea lost.. now we need to play catch up..

  64. rico says:

    Too true ave, big game tonight, could be a huge confidence booster if we win, off to settle myself down ready to shout at the television πŸ˜‰

  65. avenell says:

    I need to find a stream.. 😦 could be a difficult match report..

  66. avenell says:

    Bendtner and Diaby to start.. Rosicky on the bench. No Dudu.. 😦

  67. rico says:

    That is a bad start ave, both your lack of stream and Diaby and Dudu……. 😦 😦 😦

    Nik and Diaby better play their hearts out!!!

  68. Freire says:

    Who’s going to start?

  69. Irishgunner says:

    Where is Eduardo?????

  70. rico says:

    What a double save by Manonne, Hang your boots up Almunia πŸ˜‰

  71. rico says:

    Nik is pants so far imho
    Diaby has started really well
    Clichy is still Clichy
    Arshavin reminds me of a Jack Russell

    AND – Andy Johnson is still a very good striker

  72. rico says:

    24 Mannone
    22 Clichy 10 Gallas 5 Vermaelen 3 Sagna
    17 Song
    4 Fabregas 2 Diaby
    52 Bendtner 11 van Persie 23 Arshavin

    Substitutes

    53 Szczesny
    18 Silvestre
    28 Gibbs
    27 Eboue
    16 Ramsey
    7 Rosicky
    12 Vela

  73. rico says:

    Manonne is confident in his area, he came out for a cross and knocked Gallas out πŸ˜‰

  74. rico says:

    sooooooooooooooooooo close to being in the lead 😦

  75. avenell says:

    We need to stop RvP taking free kicks.

  76. peachesgooner says:

    Another great touch by Mannone…..

  77. rico says:

    Shocking free kick ave, shocking!

  78. rico says:

    peaches – he looks good doesn’t he ? πŸ˜›

  79. peachesgooner says:

    Amazingly, rico, he seems to have grown to the task doesn’t he. If only he was shouting more…….

  80. Rasputin says:

    Hi Roadsters,

    Cesc still way off his best, Clichy still failing to do the simple things wrong, Diaby a waste of space, team half asleep, come on Arsene… do something at half time!!!Β¬!….

  81. avenell says:

    Alwight Rasp.

    Rosicky is the ideal player for these games.. but I bet mr wenger takes AA of for him and not diaby..

  82. rico says:

    mme, poor old Nik, that was studs in his back 😦

  83. rico says:

    Hi Rasp

    I thought Diaby started brightly, or is it just that I am tuned to him being poop πŸ˜‰

    That old ‘Spicy Keeper’ is a tricky one to beat…

    Vela needs to come on, and within 20 minutes of the re-start πŸ™‚

  84. Rasputin says:

    Hi ave,

    I’ve really had enough of these ridculous team selections …. it’s painfully predictable. Fulham beat us twice last season. We need to play our best team in every prem match and choose players to play our kind of football, not pick sides to negate the strengths of the opposition. I think RVP is a luxury … better to have Dudu and Rosicky rather than RVP and Diaby (or Rosicky for Nik)

  85. rico says:

    Oh, and Thomas πŸ˜‰

  86. Rasputin says:

    Same old, same old….Vela, Rosicky and Dudu would give us some attacking edge. There are no triangles. When we have the ball in midfield there is often only one choice of pass and that gets intercepted. The players are not showing for the bal, I think its a lack of confidence in the ability of players around them.

  87. Rasputin says:

    Hi rico,,

    I must aplogise, I only come on to rant these days πŸ™‚

  88. avenell says:

    Sometimes mr wenger picks the tall players like Diaby and Bendtner for tactical reasons.. I’d prefer the opposition to worry about us like the old days.. we knew our best team, so did the opposition, but they still couldn’t beat us..

  89. Rasputin says:

    Exactly ave … he did against Stoke and we still ost 2 nit from 2 long throws…. for a genius he’s not a good learner 😦

  90. peachesgooner says:

    We need to get hold of this game and start bossing them around………

  91. rico says:

    Nik and Robin are rubbish !!

    Rasp, thats funny, rant away πŸ˜‰

  92. peachesgooner says:

    I forgot Arsh can do that……wriggle his way through πŸ™‚

  93. peachesgooner says:

    Fantastic goal from our luxury player πŸ˜†

  94. avenell says:

    Right foot again RvP.. πŸ™‚

  95. avenell says:

    Ahh the we’re the north bank, we’re the clock end highbury chants..

  96. peachesgooner says:

    Feeling nostalgic ave πŸ˜‰

  97. avenell says:

    We’re the residental end Highbury square dosn’t have the same ring to it..

  98. Irishgunner says:

    “residental end Highbury square” – πŸ˜†

  99. peachesgooner says:

    :0 πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

  100. peachesgooner says:

    Tomas 2 coming on πŸ™‚ for Arsh????????????????????????

  101. avenell says:

    You can read arsene like a book.. 😦 TR4 on AA off..

    Hi Irish..

  102. Irishgunner says:

    Need a second

  103. Irishgunner says:

    Hi Avenell,

    AA is just back from injury so perhaps that influenced his decision???

  104. peachesgooner says:

    Who’s gonna get Pantsil sent off – hes so dirty 😦

  105. avenell says:

    One day AA and TR4 will be on the pitch together..

  106. Irishgunner says:

    Whoever writes the commentary on Arsenal.com needs to use spell check – instead of writing “shirt” he wrote “shit” and he keeps writing “fins” for “finds”

  107. peachesgooner says:

    Diaby aaaaarrrrrgggggghhhhhh

  108. peachesgooner says:

    Mannone must have been practising his goal kicks too – much better today

  109. peachesgooner says:

    Can we stop giving the ball away now? Mannone has been fantastic but why keep putting him under that pressure………..

  110. Irishgunner says:

    Eboue and Diaby on the pitch together in midfield πŸ™„ its the nightmares of last season again

  111. peachesgooner says:

    Irish – Eboue just had a great chance after some quite brilliant interplay with Cesc – blocked by Schwartzer

  112. avenell says:

    We need to chill out now.. not do our normal..

  113. Irishgunner says:

    Peaches – The more I complain about Eboue the better he does, generally he scores as well πŸ˜‰

  114. avenell says:

    That’s extra time.. not injury time lol..

  115. peachesgooner says:

    I’m chilled πŸ™‚

  116. peachesgooner says:

    Hhhmmmmmmnnnnn what we need to do now is keep the ball……….

  117. peachesgooner says:

    ……..which of course we won’t……

  118. peachesgooner says:

    Yer man puts it well wide Irish……

  119. Irishgunner says:

    Would of scored if I gave out more πŸ˜‰ blow the damn whistle

  120. Irishgunner says:

    There we go, phew

  121. avenell says:

    And I get a score prediction right.. first time in 9 months though..

  122. Irishgunner says:

    3 points behind the Spuds and Liverpool with a game in hand

  123. peachesgooner says:

    Right, who wants what for dinner, I’m cooking πŸ˜‰

  124. peachesgooner says:

    Well done to you ave πŸ˜‰

  125. rico says:

    Great result, 3 points is what we needed and that is what we got, well played Fulham though, they were tough!

    Manonne was my MoM by far, he kept us in the game and gave us the points, well done young one πŸ™‚

    I’m off now to enjoy a Saturday night of Strictly Come Dancing with a smile, a smile that is all because we won… πŸ˜†

    Nighty night all

  126. avenell says:

    23 miles from Reading here I come.. πŸ™‚

  127. Irishgunner says:

    X Factor time πŸ˜€

  128. peachesgooner says:

    Thought you were baby-sitting…… πŸ˜€

  129. peachesgooner says:

    My mistake, I thought you were coming for dinner 😦

  130. avenell says:

    What are you having? go on make me jealous as I have to cook my own tonight.. 😦

  131. peachesgooner says:

    Poor you, I oven roasted some vegetables earlier today which I’ve tossed through some Fusilli pasta and am washing it down with a very nice Shiraz…….

    Did you cook Amelias supper? What a good daddy you are πŸ™‚

  132. avenell says:

    No Nita doesn’t go until 10.45 and she couldn’t get any sleep.. In fact why can’t she cook my dinner?.. 😦

  133. peachesgooner says:

    Why aren’t you cooking her dinner then? … πŸ˜›

  134. Rasputin says:

    Hi Roadsters,

    We scraped through then ;_ Pleased my slating of RVP had the desired effect and he scored just to spite me πŸ˜› ….. Diaby’s still pony ……

  135. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rasp

    Did you go off in a huff then… πŸ˜€

  136. avenell says:

    Re the chelsea game.. If penalties are not part of normal play.. how can a substitution be made before play restarts?

  137. Rasputin says:

    Hi Peaches,

    No, was just busy …. you of all people should know that all I want is for Arsenal to win and if a player proves me wrong I am delighted = Song last season …. having said that I don’t think he is anywhere near as good as at the end of last season yet.

    Cesc’s pass for RVP’s goal made up for all his previous misdirected efforts …..

  138. peachesgooner says:

    How many minutes do you think we’ll get on MOTD?

  139. Rasputin says:

    5 …. or 6 if you include Arshavin πŸ™‚

  140. peachesgooner says:

    He is minute isn’t he πŸ™‚

  141. peachesgooner says:

    Someone should put together a clip of Arshavin trying to outjump defenders – was it you who said if we ran out of keepers we should put Sagna in goal with Arshavin on his shoulders πŸ˜›

  142. Rasputin says:

    Yep …

    I am surprised no-one has suggested that we may have discovered our best keeper today….. It’s too early to jump to conclusions, but why would you drop Mannone for any of the others after today’s performance?

  143. rico says:

    Morning Roadsters

    What feels so good about yesterday for me is that it’s us who have scored the goal and dug in to defend and not concede – its us who are thinking ‘what a display by our keeper’ – so many times we have come away from a game where we have been the team who faces a side with a keeper who has made so many saves to prevent us from getting anything.

    That feels good.

    The more I see that double save from Mannone, the more I wonder whether Almunia would have been able to do that, I am not sure, but I don’t think so.

    Rasp – I am with you all the way on your last comment, Mannone definately deserves to play on Tuesday and for as long as he continues to perform in such a way – 10 out of 10 for me, if he can play like that at 21 years old and improves, just maybe we have a world class keeper in our camp….. Finally!

  144. rico says:

    Jermaine Pennant says….

    He’s been an instant hit, providing more crosses in La Liga so far this season than any other player – including Cristiano Ronaldo.

    But he would swap everything to play for Arsene Wenger again at Arsenal, accepting that he “lost the plot” when he lost his place in 2003.

    He said: “Wenger was more relaxed than Benitez, he would give me proper advice. He would encourage me to show my skills and that is why he has done so well with young players.

    “He would always tell me that I had amazing potential.

    “Unfortunately, there was so much hype around me I thought I should be playing every week. When it didn’t happen I got frustrated and lost the plot.”

  145. rico says:

    All quiet this Sunday morning so I am off in the garden, catch you all soon

  146. Freire says:

    Hey you all, good morning.

  147. rico says:

    Hi anyone πŸ˜‰

    i have come to the conclusion that the beautiful weather is keeping everyone busy in their gardens – and when the cold dark days arrive the site will be a tad busier πŸ˜‰

  148. rico says:

    Almunia is out for the game on Tuesday, come on Mannone, same again please πŸ˜›

  149. Irishgunner says:

    I do wish Cesc would show some passion when we score, he’ll be off to Barca tomorrow πŸ™„

  150. Freire says:

    I didnt understand, Irish. LOL

  151. Irishgunner says:

    Hiya Freire – People reckon that Cesc didn’t have any interest in playing for the mighty Arsenal anymore because he didn’t celebrate his goal, which was our fourth, against Wigan when he ran half the length of the pitch to get there with a sore ankle.

    I think his celebration yesterday showed otherwise.

  152. Freire says:

    Oh, yep yep. I have this idea too. As Avenell said some days ago, Cesc is not the Cesc of old.

  153. rico says:

    Hi Freire & Irish

    What a load of B***X some people write Irish, and the lad was a ‘ little bit crocked’ πŸ˜‰

  154. rico says:

    It also makes me laugh when you read some fans views…

    We play beautiful football and lose, no good

    We play a good side away from home, play not the best we can but gritty at times, come away with three points and that is not good either….

    If we played like we did yesterday and got the result we did yesterday all season, would I honestly care ?? I don’t think so – because we would win the league…

    Chelsea and The Dippers do that each week!! Grrrrr

  155. Irishgunner says:

    Freire – I’m been sarcastic.

    Cesc is doing fine – a few stray passes but not too many players could pick out the pass like he did yesterday.

    I think some Arsenal fans like to create doomsday scenarios so they have something to moan about. Cesc is Arsenal, he is our captain and he will do his best while he is here. If people start moaning about him and his performances then he’ll be off and I wouldn’t blame him – so much for fans and support eh?!

    I find it incredible the level of self worth some Arsenal fans have. Nothing is ever good enough for them – no wonder we have a label of being spoilt brats.

  156. Freire says:

    Right, Rico.
    We must come back for the Boring Boring Arsenal, winning 1-0 every match and we’re gonna be champions.

    And what did you think about facing Liverpool on Carling Cup?

  157. rico says:

    Well said Irish… Also,Cesc has been kicked and kicked this season and Lord only knows how he keeps going 😦

  158. Freire says:

    Irish, you’re right. If people keep on talking bullshit of Cesc, he is going to get out like Adebayor did.
    But you need to agree with me: Arsenal is not the Arsenal of old as well.

  159. rico says:

    Freire, a win is a win, what is the point in playing a team off the park, having 60% posession, but no points when the final whistle blows??

    In an ideal world the beautiful football would get us the points, and many many games it will. But for me, guts, grit and three points is what counts and yesterday we did just that, and against a Fulham side who look really good under RH

    I think we will win against the Dippers – a tough draw yes, but they play their kids too and I just think ours are good enough to get by them. We do miss Merida and Hoyte though.

  160. Irishgunner says:

    Since I started supporting Arsenal in 1994 we have:

    Won 3 Leagues.
    Won 4 FA Cups.
    Won The Cup Winners Cup.
    Won The League Unbeaten.
    Been Runners-Up in the Cup Winners Cup, UEFA Cup and Champions League.
    Been in the Champions League 12 seasons in a row.
    Never finished outside the top 4 under Wenger.
    At times played football unseen elsewhere.
    Have had players like Wright, Bergkamp, Pires, Adams, Keown, Henry, Arshavin, Fabregas, Vieira, Van Persie to watch week in and week out.

    We build a new stadium which always brings a few seasons of uncertainty – although in this time we have been in a Champions League title, come within 4 points of winning the league and make the Carling Cup final with a bunch of kids – and what do people do??? Bloody moan………….

    Only Manchester United can claim more than Arsenal in recent history but oh no not good enough for some. Gets my goat!!!!!

  161. rico says:

    Freire

    There will never be an Arsenal of old – its gone, but the now and new Arsenal will one day be as good – different, yes, but as good

  162. Freire says:

    But Rico, look: Yesterday we played ugly and got three points. Against Man City, we had the whole match for us, but they got three points. That’s the question: Arsenal is not constant. I don’t know what makes us so inconstant inside the pitch. We can’t deceive ourselves. I don’t even know how big is our luck for games like yesterday.

  163. Irishgunner says:

    Freire – you left out the variable of Adebayor been a complete and utter wanker.

    Cesc is nothing like that twat. He actually wants to play for Arsenal.

  164. rico says:

    Mine too Irish, mine too….

    And, Cesc doesn’t want to play in a team that has players who don’t want to play for Arsenal.

    Freire, Cesc and Ade – there is nothing similar in their attitude to our club, nothing! Cesc is an honest guy who loves the club, Ade, well I am not allowed to post the words I would use to describe him!!

  165. Irishgunner says:

    Everyone gives out about games and wishing we’d win a trophy but bloody hell the club isn’t falling apart.

  166. rico says:

    Freire -see my earlier comment about keepers! Yesterday Mannone kept us in the game, against Citeh Almunia had a howler – there is your answer IMHO πŸ˜‰

  167. Freire says:

    Sincerely, Rico & Irish, I don’t trust in any players. Since Henry is gone, I’m not suprised if all of our players go away for some great title and money. Adebayor didn’t surprised me, and I wouldn’t be if Cesc goes too.

    The point is: Cesc is a highly rated player over the world. He knows what he can do. We know too. And, in my opinion, Cesc would go away toget some great title with another big team from Europe if we don’t have attitude of a winner team.

  168. Irishgunner says:

    On that twat that used to “play” for us – its nice to see a lot of the older players having a pop. Charlie Nicholas said he wasn’t in the least bit surprised.

    I cannot wait for it all to fall apart from the twat at Citeh – before or after the ACN

  169. Irishgunner says:

    Freire – He is 22 and Captain of a major European side. Barcelona were in a lull for many a season too, it could happen again.

    Gallas, Vermaelen, Sagna, Clichy, Fabregas, Van Persie, Rosicky, Bendtner – they all want to win.

  170. rico says:

    Freire – what makes you not trust any of them ??

    Irish – we will be the ones sat watching others fall apart soon, and we will owe nothing to anyone – we are in the best position to go forward

  171. Irishgunner says:

    Rico – If we become the next Leeds (which I doubt) then I will complain but until then I’m not going to moan like a little bitch about something that hasn’t happened.

    We are still near enough to Chelsea and United to level and surpass them.

  172. Freire says:

    Rico – I trusted a lot in Henry, and he is the best for me yet. He is gone since 08 ( i think) and i keep on loving him. But I learnt not to hold on any player. When Henry went to BarΓ§a, I cried a lot, really. Players are just players, and in this world, unfortunatelly, money and titles talk higher.

    irish- I know they want to win. But if everyone wants to win, why did we lose against Manure and Citeh playing so good?

  173. Irishgunner says:

    Because you can’t win every game Freire – United only won 1 of their games against top sides last season and who was it that won the title?

  174. Irishgunner says:

    I don’t know about you but when I saw the fixtures I’d have been delighted to take a point each away to Everton, Citeh and United as it was we beat Everton so the points are the same.

    United have lost to Burnley, Liverpool to Villa, Chelsea to Wigan – we’re doing okay so far.

  175. rico says:

    Spot on again Irish – there are many clubs around us who could at any time be ‘the new Leeds’ – it won’t be us as AW is too clever with money, as is the board πŸ™‚

    Freire – Henry had to go for him, not because he wanted too imho – he and his wife broke up and he needed to get away – many peaople in life have to do that, I am just glad we had him at AFC for the time we did – and even now he talks of us as ‘his home and family’ – I bare no grudge. Same with NikNak, he needed to go too

  176. Freire says:

    I don’t like to lose any match. I know we can’t win every game, but we need to get constant. If we do, we’re not going to lose silly points to teams like we did agains manu and city.

  177. rico says:

    We are doing just mighty fine, yes it’s frustrating to have so much of the ball and come away with nothing, but we are far from out of this season’s race right now – and far far better than last season.

  178. Irishgunner says:

    The amount of niggly injuries we get does annoy me though – them boys need to eat some Weetabix or something

  179. Irishgunner says:

    We are 6 points behind Mancs and Chelski, 3 points behind Liverpool (I don’t see the point in counting the spuds) and we have a game in hand against the above mentioned.

    We play Blackburn at home next week while Chelsea and Liverpool face each other – erego should we win which we should we will make up ground on or both.

    If we win and Liverpool lose it could well be we move ahead them and also have a game in hand so in short lets πŸ™‚

  180. rico says:

    None of us want us to lose any games, but sometimes it happens, I ruins my evening, the next day and I don’t sleep – but hey, it happens πŸ˜‰

    At least we thumped Wigan, the same team that thrashed the Chavs, now that’s something to smile about πŸ˜›

  181. rico says:

    Pasta and porridge Irish πŸ˜‰

  182. rico says:

    Talking of pasta, I am off to cook dinner, early I know but so was my breakfast and I haven’t eaten since 😦

    The night shift will be around soon πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    Stay safe Irish and Freire, enjoy your evening

  183. Irishgunner says:

    Plus we beat Everton away 6-1 and they have since come back to form – c’mon Freire we have to be giving you hope πŸ˜€

    I think Guinness is the solution Rico – it worked for Best and McGrath πŸ˜†

  184. Freire says:

    Ok, Rico. Have a nice dinner, LOL.
    here it’s 13h42 yet.

  185. Irishgunner says:

    “Early dinner” πŸ˜† I have mine at 1pm every day πŸ™‚

  186. Freire says:

    Hahahaha πŸ˜€ I know, Irish.
    Hope never ends.

    And talking about the spuds, i reckon they’ll start to lose after we beat them, you’ll see. πŸ˜›

  187. rico says:

    Pasta or Guinness Irish ????

    Guinness every time for me, and it certainly puts the pounds on πŸ˜‰

  188. Irishgunner says:

    They won’t last the pace – top 7 would be a good finish for them imo

  189. rico says:

    Ha ha Irish – we snobby southeners call that lunch πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  190. Freire says:

    Guinness *_____*

  191. Freire says:

    Guinness, Ireland, England, Emirates Stadium, UCL title = Dream; =\

  192. Freire says:

    Well, gotta go now. See you tomorrow ladies. Have a nice afternoon.

    Arsenal Forever.

  193. Irishgunner says:

    I have lunch after dinner – i have several food breaks during the day, I’ve a pizza on now yum yum I love my high metabolism cos I don’t put on weight – long may it last πŸ˜€

    I only like Guinness with blackcurrant

  194. Irishgunner says:

    I must be off too – have a good day/evening

  195. rico says:

    Morning peeps

  196. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters..

    Hi rico.. I have to pop out for a few hours.. back on later.

  197. rico says:

    Hi ave – catch you later

  198. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters,

    “results on the pitch come first” … yeah right! πŸ‘Ώ

    ……….Arsenal have revealed an increase in turnover and a record profit after tax but chairman Peter Hill-Wood insists results on the pitch will always come first.

    The turnover of the Gunners’ parent company went up to Β£313.3million from Β£223m for the year ending 31st May, while their profit was an all-time high of Β£35.2million.

    Arsenal’s move to Emirates Stadium in 2006 – funded by a long-term loan at a fixed interest rate – continues to pay dividends, with matchday revenue increased to Β£100.1m from Β£94.6m which was mainly down to progress to the semi-finals of both the UEFA Champions League and FA Cup.

    Operating profits, before depreciation and player trading, in the football business were up from Β£59.6m to Β£62.7m.

    The Highbury Square development, meanwhile, remains robust despite the difficult financial climate and falling house prices, with the completion of 208 private apartments bringing in Β£88m, while, since the end of the financial year, more units have been sold at the club’s former ground.

  199. rico says:

    Hi Rasp, I had a chuckle at that one, like we all believe that comment PHW 😦

  200. Rasputin says:

    Hi rico,

    You’re right. Hopefully when the apartments are all sold and the books balance they won’t then find another excuse for not investing in the squad…..

  201. rico says:

    Indeed Rasp – can’t wait for the day either, out with the dross and in with….. more dross πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

  202. Rasputin says:

    We haven’t bought much dross for a couple of years – but then we haven’t bought many players in the last few years … πŸ™„

    Hangeland certainly looked like he was trying to prove a point at the weekend. He was playing in midfiled, defence and attack. I’d still prefer TV but it would have been interesting to see how the two would have played together. Gallas is doing well at the moemnet, but will he stay fit and can we get another 2 seasons out of him I wonder?

  203. rico says:

    Its boring to hear it all over again, but we need three players still with the abilty and experience of TV & Arshavin – we can all see it, just hope one day the club does Rasp.

    I thought Gallas was crocked on Saturday after his coming together with Mannone and then another bad fall… I can’t see him staying injury free and then will be up that creek without a paddle 😦

  204. rico says:

    Denilson has been ruled out for two months

  205. rico says:

    Nik is out for tomorrow too, following a minor car accident

  206. Rasputin says:

    Our luck with injuries goes from bad to worse 😦

  207. rico says:

    Rasp – Nik will be back for the weekend, and tomorrow maybe we will see Theo, Eduardo and Vela πŸ™‚

    Every cloud πŸ˜‰

  208. rico says:

    Forget Theo for tomorrow, he is playing a ‘reserve’ behind closed doors tomorrow 😦

  209. rico says:

    I am off for the night – have to go and celebrate my neice being 21 – any excuse for a nice Italian meal and a beer or two πŸ˜›

    Catch you all on another match day πŸ™‚

  210. Freire says:

    Hello everybody. Good afternoon.

  211. London says:

    Nice one Freire

  212. Wrighty7 says:

    Evening all!

    I predict Arsenal to beat Fulham 1-0 and RVP to score

  213. avenell says:

    Haha evening wrighty..

    Man citeh 3-1 good offside goal by Tevez.. 😦

  214. avenell says:

    How is it that when you get a stream for other teams it doesn’t freeze and it’s better quality?

  215. Freire says:

    LOL. It happens to me as well, Ave.

  216. rico says:

    Good Morning Roadsters,

    Off for a peep around at the news

  217. rico says:

    Spanish side Xerez are reportedly interested in Arsenal’s Mexican 20-year-old Carlos Vela. Reports suggest the Spanish minnows are ready to offer a six month loan deal for the starlet.

    Nikki B was ‘very lucky’ after his coming together with a lamp post πŸ˜‰

    Ben Arfa wants out of Marseille – and AW has said he will buy in January… If needed! We all know what that means 😦

  218. London says:

    Tonight’s game throws up the mouth watering prospect of Fabregas, Arshavin and Rosicky on the pitch at the same time. But I suspect that Wenger will persist with Diaby. The up side being that this will bring an end to this experiment sooner rather than later. Due to injuries Diaby has never had a decent run in the team so now that he has one he is either going to show that he has got it or Wenger is going to realise that he hasn’t. I hope the former happens and he sets the league alight but at the moment he seems to be more on course to confirm the latter.

    ———–Vito
    Sagna,Gallas,Vermaelen,Clichy
    —-Fabregas,Song,Diaby
    —-Arshavin,RVP,Eduardo

    We win 2-0

  219. rico says:

    NEW POST UP

Leave a Reply

