Toffee’s Away.. A Sticky Situation??

By Jonjon..

Over the last few weeks we’ve heard the players and the manager talk the talk, but now its time to walk the walk. We’ve been told that we are ready and the squad is strong enough. Certain players have told us were we go wrong sometimes and what we need to do to put that right. Well talk is cheap and today all talk goes out of the window. Its what happens on the pitch that counts and today the players and the manager have 90mins to show the faithful that they are not all mouth.

Starting our campaign away at Everton is no easy task, we could have done with an easier start to the season although in all fairness, to state the obvious, we have to play every team at some point anyway and I prefer a hard start and an easy run in. Last year we had an easy start and a hard run in and in the so called easy start we lost 5 games so it doesn’t matter. To win the league you have to beat whats in front of you every week, whether it be at home to Hull or Birmingham, or away to Everton. it makes not a jot ofย  difference.

Under Davey Moyes, Everton have become a good football side. They’ve held down a top 6 spot in the last few years now and like Wenger, Moyes has build a good team on a shoe string. He’s worked within his means to get Everton to the status they are, and in a league dominated by money, artificial wages and sugar daddies, a lot of respect has to be given to Moyes for what hes done. That’s where the respect ends though because today is about the three points, Everton are the enemy and soft spots must be put to one side, we have to beat them.

In playing a team like Everton we also have a chance to show what we are made of. Everton are the perfect example of how a team can beat us. They defend as a unit, they compress the play and soak up the pressure and they are dangerous on the break, in the air, and from set pieces. if there was ever a test to see if we’ve put our weaknesses from last season to one side, its today. It could be said that Everton are our kryptonite. The critics will be looking for the littlest thing to attack us with.ย  So three points today, a clean sheet and a couple of goals will keep everyone of our back for the next few days and give us a boost ahead of the Champions League Qualifier against Celtic on Tuesday. Although in all honesty, to me three points is three points, so I don’t care whether we win 1-0 or 10-9.

We have a few injury worries but i feel we have enough to cope. Its not like Cesc, Gallas, AK47 or Dudu are injured. Everton will cause us problems but we have enough quality in our squad to cause them more, so I’m confident we’ll put on a good show and look forward to watching MOTD tonight, or Football First.. I’m not going to predict the lineup because I’m not sure what it will be. When we have so many injuries im not sure even Wenger knows his best eleven and will he be having one eye on Celtic?? I don’t know.

Personally I’d go for

……………Almunia

Sagna.. Gallas…Vera Lynn.. Clichy….

Jack…Cesc… Song.. Arshavin..

…….Bendtner.. Dudu….

Score: Everton 0-2 Arsenal Scorers: Arshavin, Dudu Enjoy the game guys, today’s the day we’ve all been waiting for. The proper football starts and we get to see our boys in our beloved Red and White. Stuff the media, stuff the critics, stuff the sugar daddies, stuff Everton.

COME ON YOU REDS!!!

130 Responses to Toffee’s Away.. A Sticky Situation??

  1. avenell says:

    Hi Jonjon cheers mate.. I have found myself quite admiring Everton in the last few years, since that thug Ferguson left.

    I even like Neville when he puts one over on Man U..

  2. avenell says:

    I am going for a 2-1 win to us by the way… we have to let a goal in..

  3. Irishgunner says:

    C’MON ARSENAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL!

  4. avenell says:

    Amazing Irish…. I was just thinking about sending you an email to see if you were okay..

    I missed you.. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  5. Irishgunner says:

    I was away for a few days been the good older sister Avenell. My sister is going to college in Sept so had to help her get accommodation, so all done ๐Ÿ™‚

    Babysitting the wee nephew now but he is asleep so ssssssssssshhhhhh don’t wake him ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. avenell says:

    I WILL TRY TO BLOG QUIETLY THEN!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. avenell says:

    What’s your score prediction for today?

  8. Irishgunner says:

    Don’t Shout ๐Ÿ˜ฏ ๐Ÿ˜†

    I’m trying to type quietly ha ha

  9. Irishgunner says:

    I think a 2-1 would be an excellent result – don’t see us keeping a clean sheet but do see us scoring.

    I was at the Ireland vs Australia game on Wednesday night and sad to report that Tim Cahill was very sharp and scored two very good goals albeit Ireland were absolute cack.

  10. avenell says:

    I heard someone say on the radio that the aussies were the best side the Irish had seen play over there for a while.. I don’t even know what the score was.. sorry.. me bad..

  11. Irishgunner says:

    3-0 to Australia.

    Not taking away from the Aussies but Ireland were embarrassing – couldn’t even pass to each other and most were shrinking tackles for fear of getting injured.

    I did get to stand for the entire game ๐Ÿ™‚ then complained cos my feet got sore ha ha

  12. avenell says:

    I hate sitting down at football matches, It is one of the reasons that I don’t enjoy it now..
    It’s all too clinical for my liking like going to a theatre..

    But I suppose you are getting a bit old now.. lol..

  13. Irishgunner says:

    ha ha I suppose I am, I’ll be 24 before I know it ha ha

  14. avenell says:

    When you are 24, I can double that.. not so hahaha..

    The one consolation that I have, I was old enough to see Brady play..

    Apart from that you are in a win, win situation..

  15. Irishgunner says:

    I always thought the olden days were the best – so my parents keep telling me, we have it too easy these days ๐Ÿ˜‰

  16. avenell says:

    That’s what I was told, then in the blink of an eye 4 league championships, 4 FA cups, 2 Carling cups and a Cup winners cup later .. you get as old as me.. lol..

    Still at least the world is in colour now.. and you wasn’t born when the Spuds last won the League.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Irishgunner says:

    Ha ha that is true.

    I must go again – have to take the small fella for a walk while its not raining.

    Talk soon ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. avenell says:

    No probs .. I have work to do .. I need to get done before the game..

  19. rico says:

    Afternoon peeps

    Nice one JJ, I don’t mind Everton, well the tune they walk out to ๐Ÿ˜‰ Tough game though, we will need to be near our very best to come away with something

  20. Freire says:

    0-1 to us, Arshavin will score …

    Has someone seen this: http://goal.com/en/news/11/transfer-zone/2009/08/15/1441728/milan-to-announce-signing-of-arsenals-cesc-fabregas-on ?

    How can we trust in this notice?

  21. rico says:

    Bloody Hell, Ade has put Citeh 1-0 up….. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  22. London says:

    Hello Freire

    The answer is that we don’t take a blind bit of notice of it.

  23. rico says:

    Hi Freire – its rubbish I think, the boss has said he is staying, Cesc has said he is staying and so has Cesc’s dad, and Milan, no chance, Barca I think would be the only club he will ever leave us for..

  24. Freire says:

    Hey London & rico …

    I know we can’t trust in Goal.com, but it makes me shiver :S

    Does anyone know if Vermaelen plays today ?

  25. rico says:

    He plays Freire, looking forward to seeing him too..

    Must say, I saw that article and thought, but just for a second ๐Ÿ˜‰

  26. Freire says:

    Well, we have a chance today, I think.

    Jagielka, Yakubu, Arteta, Jo, Anichebe and Felaini will miss the match.

  27. avenell says:

    Afternoon all… Aston villa 2-0 down to Wigan..lol

  28. Freire says:

    F*ck Man City :S

  29. avenell says:

    We have Song and Denilson playing today.. no Eboue though.. phew..

    Freire.. What do you think of the Statman (Denilson)?

  30. Freire says:

    Avenell,
    I personally don’t like him … I think he’s worse than Song.

  31. avenell says:

    I can cope with him as a back up.. but some people are overrating him so much they have turned me against him a bit..

    I too would prefer Song, but Denilson seems more of our Cesc back up..

    It looks like Bendtner is going to play on the wing.. I don’t understand that at all.. I don’t mind him drifting out there at times but to me he is a far better target man than RvP..

  32. Freire says:

    I don’t prefer Song, but he’s what we have right now. I would like to have Cana in our team, but Wenger didn’t :S

    Wenger tried Bendtner on the wing sometimes in some friendly matches. I don’t know what he’s thinking Bendtner is. Can’t understand Wenger sometimes.

  33. avenell says:

    The thing with Cana is, we wasn’t the only club that didn’t want him.. If he was any good he would have had a queue, he isn’t even playing Champions league.

  34. Freire says:

    I think Cana would be a great signing for us … playing in the mid-field, wow, he would be so much better than Song + Denilson. But that’s MY opinion ๐Ÿ˜›

  35. Big Raddy says:

    Looks like a 4-4-2 line up-

    Come on you rip roaring Gunners

  36. avenell says:

    Good afternoon Raddy..

    Have you a link for the game or is it being shown over there?

  37. Freire says:

    well, going to the front of the TV now.. see you all after the game.

  38. avenell says:

    Nice one Freire.. c’mon the Arsenal..

  39. Big Raddy says:

    No Ave, it is on live over here.

    Got the lucky away socks and lucky sweatshirt on.

    Off to watch the first half (with much trepidation)

  40. avenell says:

    Haha.. Arshavin next to Felini coming out the tunnel..lol

  41. avenell says:

    It’s okay Raddy I have found a good one..
    I put my trust in your socks and sweatshirt .. ๐Ÿ™‚

  42. raif says:

    come on you arsenal!!!!!!!!

  43. avenell says:

    Hi Raify.. You got the Jacket dusted off.. ?

  44. rico says:

    Hello Peeps

    This side looks so very different,

    Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na STATMAN – nice goal ๐Ÿ˜›

  45. rico says:

    I am stunned by both Song and Nikki B so far, they look top notch ๐Ÿ˜‰

  46. rico says:

    I love ESPN – The ‘Channel Man’ has scored a great header ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  47. avenell says:

    Kolo who? hahah

  48. rico says:

    What is incredible for me, the two players who are not really in the game (imho) are Cesc and Arshavin

  49. avenell says:

    Our centre backs are crap..lol

  50. rico says:

    Woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooop ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

  51. rico says:

    Hi ave, don’t you think this team has a very different attitude, their body language appears so different…….

  52. avenell says:

    Everton fans booing.. The papers say we are the only bad supporters..

  53. London says:

    How good was that?

  54. avenell says:

    Rico.. Yeah we are playing for each other defending as a team.. now Lazy bones has gone,, ๐Ÿ™‚

    Direct message from our Goodison representive.. JJ..

    Vera Lynn is the nuts.. he is running the defence a proper leader..

  55. avenell says:

    London.. better than you thought.. lol.

  56. rico says:

    Hi London – is this the reason you have stayed so…. positive ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Great first half, the only fault….. 2 of Almunia’s kicks ๐Ÿ˜‰

    The ‘Channel Man’ is very very good – who was Toure, and how different is Willy alongside a ‘real’ defender

  57. rico says:

    JonJon must be…………… you boys can fill that one in, I will just say, very happy ๐Ÿ˜‰

  58. rico says:

    Lescott’s days are numbered at Everton – his head is very much elsewhere – go get him Arsene, Moyes would rather sell to us than the Arab clan

  59. avenell says:

    er moist.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  60. rico says:

    Bloody Hell – Peter Reid looks really ill, that is sad to see, I like him

  61. rico says:

    AVENELL !!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  62. rico says:

    Anyone reckon 3-3 ? ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

  63. rico says:

    We can see you, we can see you, we can see you creeping out ……….. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

  64. rico says:

    He’s cute
    He’s slim
    He plays with a grin
    Arshavin, Arshavin……………

    ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

  65. raif says:

    enjoying the game people ๐Ÿ˜€

    i sure am

  66. rico says:

    Me too raif ๐Ÿ˜›

  67. raif says:

    hopfully we can get 1 or 2 more.. and get a clean sheet i dont think is to much to ask for

  68. rico says:

    Well I was until Eboue came on ( only teasing London )

    ๐Ÿ˜›

  69. raif says:

    whos on the bench?

  70. avenell says:

    Every time the commentater says Rodwell, I keep looking out for UFO’s..

  71. rico says:

    Here here raif ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Isn’t it good to hear Joe Royle rather than those Setanta crew

    My MOM so far – Song ๐Ÿ˜›

  72. rico says:

    Moyes raif, and looking real sad………..

    Get in there Cescy ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  73. raif says:

    Eduardo, Ramsey, Merida

    hopfully we will see 2 of them come on next

  74. raif says:

    what a GOAL!!!!!!!!!!!!

  75. avenell says:

    haha got to go wheel trims to steal..

  76. rico says:

    Ha ha ave, UFO’s my…..

  77. rico says:

    Ramsey and Dudu ๐Ÿ˜›

  78. rico says:

    Wenger is very clever, 5-0 up and Eboue is LW, that is how good a manager we have….

  79. raif says:

    i just went to get a drink who came off?

  80. rico says:

    Off now guys, got to get supper, dont worry, tv in the kitchen ๐Ÿ˜‰

    catch you later or tomorrow, guess we will all sleep very very well ๐Ÿ˜‰

  81. raif says:

    cya laters rico

  82. Irishgunner says:

    I can’t believe I missed the game and have to watch the highlights ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    My nephew better know how much I love him now …. and he better support Arsenal ๐Ÿ˜€

  83. Irishgunner says:

    Eddie ๐Ÿ™‚

  84. Irishgunner says:

    I’m talking to myself and following the game via text but I’m bloody on cloud nine ๐Ÿ˜€

  85. avenell says:

    We wern’t any good.. they were just crap..

  86. avenell says:

    We cannot defend, we nearly threw that away..

  87. Irishgunner says:

    Just saw the goals on Sky News. All those goals were flukes and if you are only 6-0 up in the last minute of stoppage time its so easy to throw away.

    WENGER OUT!!! WENGER OUT!!! WENGER OUT!!!

  88. Irishgunner says:

    I do feel a bit sorry for David Moyes though, I like him and have a lot of respect for him. He does a good job at Everton and I think the fans respect that.

    P.S. Ha ha at Aston Villa

    What about the Crystal Palace game ha ha

  89. avenell says:

    I have to paint 2 wings and a bonnet on a KA now..
    I’m gonna get moving coz I want to speak to Jonjon..

    I will be in every 10 mins to chat though..

  90. Big Raddy says:

    The socks came good again.

    I am unsure about today. Are we as good as we looked or are Everton one of the worst EPL sides ever? There wasn’t a single area of the pitch that we didn’t outplay them. Fellaini at โ‚ฌ15m is a joke, even Denilson was beating him in the air, and their defence at freekicks was pathetic.

    But ….. we played some fantastic stuff. Gallas was MoM for me, he was excellent.

  91. avenell says:

    We only had 9 chances on goal.. that’s 2 out of 3 .. god we miss Ade..

    At least the belief is there from the start now.. it took until we had AK47 last year to get going..

  92. Irishgunner says:

    BR – I didn’t see the game but Everton started terribly last season as well. Moyes will round up the troops and they’ll get a lot better which is great news for us cos we have them done and dusted away from home.

  93. avenell says:

    It was a difficult game on paper, I am glad that is a tricky one out of the way.. it is a boost to the confidence and we have players to come back..

    I cannot wait until I hear Talksport monday…

  94. London says:

    When was the last time we watched a game and there weren’t any negatives at all. The Lefties must have had a collective orgasm watching Denilson’s first goal. If there was a man that we needed to score our first it was him: his confidence soared.

    And, let me see, who would be the perfect player to score the second, yep, Vermaelen, now he was good but to put it in a bit more perspective, Felani and Cahill are probably going to be the pair that offer the most difficult aerial threat that he is likely to encounter this season in the PL and TV had them for breakfast; well, it was probably more like a leisurely late lunch.

    But Vermaelen was not alone in the pacification of those two; he was aided by the imperious (Rasp) Alexandre Song.

    Bendtner was superb and put in some fine work to set up the first goal; I could go around the whole team.

    I am deeply tempted to copy and paste a few comments I made recently about Denilson and Bendtner but modesty prevents me. Ok just one little boast I did pick the team correctly but then again I did wooss out over my score prediction.

  95. Big Raddy says:

    Irish. We scraped a last minute draw there last season, so I am totally delighted

  96. London says:

    Mathieu Flamini

    Rest in Peace

  97. avenell says:

    One swallow doesn’t make a summer… but it is a good end to a film.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  98. London says:

    This is funny

  99. avenell says:

    London .. did you go to the twelve pins as per usual?

  100. rico says:

    My MOM is Song ….. and just behind him is the rest of the team…. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Nighty night all, stay safe..

  101. London says:

    Ave

    No I watched it at home, I only go to the 12 Pins when the away games aren’t on getable TV. They have Russian, Alabinian, Arabique TV and all sorts. I went to every single home game last season and only missed one away game live on telly: Wigan away and it still pisses me off that I missed it.

  102. avenell says:

    London… can you stop now.. you are making me jealous..

    I don’t think I missed more than a handful of home games in the eighties and when it come to all seating I was starting a buisness and missed out on the season tickets.. lack of money and time.

    Now I miss the buzz of it all badly..

  103. London says:

    We will have to sort you out a trip this season.

  104. avenell says:

    It’s okay buddy.. I appreciate that.. But it really is a bit of a disappointment going nowadays and sitting down and not jumping around..

    You must have experienced both.. how do you feel about all the changes?

    Unless you want to write a post about it..

  105. JonJon says:

    what on earth will we do without our lethal striker adebayor???? who will get us the goals?? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    evening guys and what a great evening it is to be a gooner…

    ive just got home intime to see adebayor falling over and slowing down citehs attacking play time and again…oh the joy..

  106. avenell says:

    Hey Jonjonny.. kiss kiss.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  107. avenell says:

    jonjon.. This reminded me of you today.. lol..

  108. JonJon says:

    hahaha…

    nice to know you were thinking of me ave…

    did you get a decent stream??? i hope you did cos we were great today..

    veras a class act..a proper defender…and a leader too…he was whipping the other 3 into shape all game long and song was amazing…thats his best game in our colours…

  109. avenell says:

    I had a good stream then it went off but I got another straight away ‘which was nice’..

    have you sorted your phone out? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  110. JonJon says:

    yeah…i went and got a new one today…how did you guess??? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  111. avenell says:

    Wenger just said on SSN..

    “we have room for improvement” lol..

  112. avenell says:

    Jonjon does it work?

  113. JonJon says:

    yeah…dont conceed sloppy goals…hahaha

    god did we learn nothing from last year…the defence is shit…

  114. London says:

    Ave

    What makes you think I don’t jump around. I’m one of those that they all shout sit down at.

    Jonjon

    you lucky, lucky, b word, I am green with envy, that you got to go to that game.

    Night, night

  115. avenell says:

    London .. you know I didn’t mean you I was generalizing.. so behave.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Jonjon was lucky, that was one of those games that will stick with him till the end..

  116. PDT says:

    1. Contrary to what some of you feel, our defence was pretty good today. Vermaelen was very good, as was Gallas. Vermalaen’s defensive positioning is really quite good and he is very economical with the amount of actual running he does. I really liked his style of defending. Though, truth be told, the defence wasn’t under severe pressure today. Look forward to seeing how they do against Torres and co.

    2. The offense was fast and fluid. When I saw Ade score for City, I had a moment of doubt – did we do the wrong thing by sellng him? Ten minutes into the Everton game, it was obvious that without Ade in the side, we are fast and fluid – no offsides to slow us down.

    3. Song gave an outstanding performance. I have always rated Denilson higher than Song, but on yesterday’s performance, Song is the better player.

    4. Nik B – what a revelation! Who knew he could be so good in a non-central position?

    5. We were extremely lucky yesterday. Last season, we’d have won the game 2-1 or even, maybe, drawn 1-1. Most of our shots went in….at least three of the goals (Vermaelen, Gallas and Fabregas’ 2nd) were gifts. I hope this is an omen of better times for us this season.

  117. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    “Don’t cry for us Kolo & Ade, the truth is we don’t really need you”. ๐Ÿ˜† How good was that, all though I predicted 1-3, 1-6 allows us to sing:-

    “We are top of the league, say we are top of the league”.

    Unbelievable, 4-3-3, which it is technically, worked wonders, & with players still to put pressure on for positions, why would anyone doubt Le Gaffer ๐Ÿ˜ฏ

    I’m loving it!!!!

  118. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    …….& how about Denny & Song, both bossed the game, & Cesc, Little Nicky ๐Ÿ˜ˆ AA23, Billy G, The Verminator, Bac & Gael, RVP, Eddy was a little hot rod when he came on, The pass master, The Waiter & Ramsay who created Hell ๐Ÿ‘ฟ in The Toffees kitchen. 14 x 10/10. I’ve got the Verminator, RVP & AA23 in my Fantasy League. Chamoneeeeeeeeee ๐Ÿ˜Ž

  119. rico says:

    Morning everyone….

    Now don’t slap me down here, but…..

    I am thrilled with our performance, but the last goal aside, what happened to our strikers, why in a game with such ease did they not bag themselves a couple each ??

    I am not in any way suggesting they didn’t play well, but……… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  120. London says:

    Morning Rico

    I think RVP got two assists and Bendtner was instrumental in the all important first goal.

  121. rico says:

    Morning London – just being naughty really ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I wanted more goals ๐Ÿ˜›

    I thought Nik played his best game in a long while, he was so much happier – in fact the whole team seemed so relaxed and together, fantastic start to the season, and good for the confidence before Tuesday..

  122. London says:

    Morning Rico

    I think it is one of those mornings where football just can’t get any better. We have to go back a few seasons to remember this feeling. That said, I see no reason why it can’t continue for a few more weeks at the very least.

  123. London says:

    Where’s Rasputin

    I want to know if he is feeling slightly more reasured, he’s been very concerned recently.

  124. rico says:

    Maybe slightly London – but I think Cesc was spot on in his i/v after the game, feet need to be kept firmly on the ground – we won’t be given as much time and space against other sides.
    What was pleasing though, the defence seemed so much more organised and disciplined, I said last night that Gallas was so different playing alongside a true defender, his game raised to a different level, as did his mindset.

    Clichy and Sagna both got their crosses in, and our attacking play was fast and furious at times. I now realise just to what extent Ade slowed us down.

    I still think we need two more players, we have a whole lot of games to get through.

  125. London says:

    Rico

    One of the little things that pleased me was the look on Gallas’ face just after he scored when Vermaelen ran over to give him a congratulatory hug, Gallas gave Vermaelen a beaming smile: respectful camaraderie has already been established and was clear for everyone to see, good stuff.

  126. rico says:

    Couldn’t agree more London, I thought I would miss Kolo, but after yesterday – no way ๐Ÿ˜‰

  127. rico says:

    Also, I think I was the only one who suggested Gallas should go and Kolo stay – how wrong was I ๐Ÿ˜ณ

Leave a Reply

