Who’s sorry now…

Carrying on from the post JonJon wrote about the money circus goings on at Citeh, this morning I thought about a few comments that were made by bloggers about the Citeh players. The general topic was if a player swap was going to be involved with the Ade deal, then which players would we want.

I can’t remember who said this, but no doubt it was JonJon as he remains so positive at the moment, which is good for all of us – the comment was something like ‘Why do we want any of their players, if they aren’t good enough for Citeh, then they are not good enough for us’

(Stephen Ireland apart, I believe that comment is spot-on)

Citeh may have all the money, but what is very strange for me is that they are buying players who clubs are prepared to let go – they have not yet bought a player who his club is desperate to keep but the money is vast they cannot afford to turn down the offer!

The John Terry saga proves this, and the Lescott situation could very well end up with the same result.

Tevez wasn’t Manures to sell, so he doesn’t count.

So, they may be improving on what they had, but are they really improving to such an extent to really be able to challenge the clubs in the top half of the table – For me, as it stands I think the answer is No.
What they have done (pending Kolo) is given us 41 Million pounds for us to improve our club, and from now until the 31st August, I am going to remain positive and believe that that is exactly what Arsene Wenger will do. Add to that a possible 6 Million pounds we will get if Eboue leaves, the club possibly have around 50M pounds to spend.

Arsene Wenger as we all know could buy a whole first team squad with that amount of money, but for once I am go to believe it will be just three good/great players but not for silly money.

So thank you Mr Mark Hughes (unemployed by Christmas 2009) you may just be the one who has given us a real chance of winning silverware this coming season, where as your club will finish somewhere mid-table, and with many disillusioned players requesting a transfer, and trust me, you won’t get anywhere near the price that you paid for them back in your bank account.

And who will be sorry then…..

264 Responses to Who’s sorry now…

  1. rico says:

    Morning 😛

  2. peachesgooner says:

    I like your optimism rico but I’m still not convinced that any of that money is Arsenes to spend on adding experienced players to the squad. I hope I’m wrong and will happily blow the dark clouds away if we sign Huntelaar – as I think he’ll be received as the most exciting addition to the squad.

  3. peachesgooner says:

    You and me then……. 😀

  4. rico says:

    peaches – history has made us all negative with Arsene’s signings, but this summer he has suddenly got mega bucks, so I am going to stay positive and very hopeful 😉

  5. rico says:

    Guess so peaches, the boys have done a runner, either that or they are all sat laughing having read the post 😉

  6. Rasputin says:

    Excellent rico,

    A Connie Francis title about expectation of a ‘Canny Arsene’ 🙂

  7. peachesgooner says:

    Its all about the money I’m afraid…..the players are flocking to Citeh when given the chance to earn big big bucks.

    It doesn’t mean that the players they are letting go are rubbish it means they’ve changed their agenda and the big fish don’t want to play alongside the little fish……..its all about a big show for Citeh now 😦

  8. rico says:

    Fulham are getting twitchy over Hangeland, they know he will want to play for us if we make an offer, JJ says the midfielder is in the bag, Huntelaar is holding out for us, and we could get all three for less money that is smouldering away in Arsene’s pocket 😉

  9. Rasputin says:

    I agree with the sentiment that with all their money, citeh are still not signing the top players (possibly with the exception of Tevez). I feel sorry for SWP … another big bucks move to be a bench warmer ….. I bet Defoe is feeling the same at totnum now they’ve signed lanky 😆

  10. peachesgooner says:

    I’m certain they’ll come unstuck – and you’re quite right about Mark Hughes being out of a job by Xmas 🙂

  11. rico says:

    Thanks Rasp 😛

    peaches – I have to disagree, yes they want the mega bucks, but when chelsea started all this off they went out and bought great players – Citeh are at the moment are buying trash.

    And the other thing I believe is if they are earning so much money, and the sole reason for them to move is for the money, what will drive them to play, to fight for a position in the huge squad ?

    Ade got his pay rise with us then went missing, and he is not used to not being top dog either…

  12. peachesgooner says:

    I thought Defoe would be pleased to have Crouchy alonside him now – they had a good partnership at Pompey didn’t they and ‘arry wanted to bring him when he signed 😆

  13. rico says:

    Rasp – SWP is the author of his own, he followed his stupid fathers advice, went to chelsea for money, now that is back to haunt him as another club with similar money will be the one to put his butt back on the bench again…

    I think we wanted him, but he made his choice, may his splinters be very sore 😉

  14. peachesgooner says:

    rico – I thought I’d agreed with you that they were buying rubbish – must have been subliminal 🙂

  15. peachesgooner says:

    I heard that the deal was done for SWP to come to us and then the Chavs came along with much more money and daddy said ‘take the money’ – twit……

    Its very nice for the players to not have to worry about money for the rest of their lives but actually they are footballers and should want to play football – thats the part I really don’t understand…

  16. Rasputin says:

    Peaches – maybe Defoe will get games .. don’t forget they’ve still got Pav and Keane, last time he was the sub, not first teamer. I din’t give a toss either way – its the spuds.

    rico … not like you to be so harsh. SWP is a give it all type player who has been badly advised. I asked a wekk ago on here – who would folks prefer at THOF, SWP or Theo and the big guns all plumped for SWP 😦

  17. rico says:

    😳 – sorry peaches, I thought you disagreed 😦

    Spot on peaches, football is a gift, the stupid amount of money they get paid is.. well.. stupid, but to rather have a big wage and watch from the bench, that just doesn’t make sense

    I loved playing any sport when I could and would have loved to have been paid, but the one thing I truly hated was ever being subbed, left out etc… gggrrrrr

  18. London says:

    Clever, clever post Rico

    I, of course, love the optimism.

    There is one small point I would question “history has made us all negative with Arsene’s signings” (Rico)

    Wenger’s reputation of not doing as much as he should in the transfer window only stems from last summer and I agree with the consensuses that Wenger did not cover himself in glory.
    But that is just one year…..one single, solitary transfer window. In every other transfer window during which Wenger has been at the club he has come up trumps and surprised us by signing someone we were not expecting. So on that basis I think my optimism is more rational and valid than other people’s pessimism.

    Disclaimer: this is a general comment and not aimed at anyone in particular.

  19. rico says:

    I remember that day Rasp, are you sure I didnt say Theo, as SWP was tainted 😉

    I agree he was badly advised by his dad, but I can’t feel sorry for any player who prefers money over playing 😉 Not being harsh Rasp honest 😦

  20. Evo in Oz says:

    Morning all,

    how is everyone?

  21. Rasputin says:

    Morning Evo …. fuelled by the spirit of expectation sums us up I think 🙂

    rico, sorry, of course you are one of the big guns .. forgive me 😛

  22. London says:

    Morning Evo

    Well I am happy and looking forward to watching some more football tonight.

  23. Rasputin says:

    One thing that will make me very happy next season…..

    Nik to score more prem goals than Ade – its gonna happen!!! 😉

  24. peachesgooner says:

    Hi evo – how are you feeling about all this transfer nonsense…..

  25. Evo in Oz says:

    im excited for the new season and the new signings! i think kanu jnr will tear a hammy off the bone in the first first games and be out for the whole season!

  26. rico says:

    Morning London

  27. peachesgooner says:

    Oooh I hadn’t thought he might get injured…..I’m hoping he’ll make a complete fool of himself and get booed by the Citeh fans……..

  28. rico says:

    Rasp, whats a big gun – I don’t get it 😦

  29. Rasputin says:

    You know .. the ‘heavyweight’s on here …ave, JonJon, London, yourself 🙂

  30. rico says:

    peaches, that sounds good and as he goes off crying he falls over the boards and is out for the season… 😉

    Hi Evo – looking forward to tomorrow 😉

    Last friendly tonight then and the boys will be home ready for the weekend, I can’t wait 🙂

  31. Evo in Oz says:

    hey Rico, yes 3rd test starting and i just remembered we have Hannover, so id better get to bed shortly and get back up for the game!

  32. rico says:

    Cheeky Rasp, i don’t consider myself to be that at all 😦 I am no bigger than anyone else, I just don’t feel sorry for SWP’s 😉

  33. peachesgooner says:

    Whats better – to watch him being offside and missing chances and lolloping about in their shirt or for them to be wringing their hands cos hes injured……

    Sorry, I’m obviously feeling very mean this morning, I’ll go and commune with some plants and be back in a better mood 😉

  34. London says:

    Good Morning Rico

  35. Rasputin says:

    Do you think its possible that in his home game against us, he could miss an open goal, be offside, break his leg at the same time and then get booed as he is being carried off on the stretcher … or am I asking too much? 😕

  36. peachesgooner says:

    Martin O’Neill has claimed that Citehs spending spree has made them serious contenders for the title…

  37. Rasputin says:

    He’s just bitter because they ran out of steam last season, and he’s lost his best player to them.

  38. peachesgooner says:

    rasp 😆 as long as we’re there to see it …

  39. Rasputin says:

    How long will it be before Ade kisses the citeh badge? …. answers on a postcard…

  40. peachesgooner says:

    …..he has to score first…. 🙂

  41. Rasputin says:

    I’ve just thought of an addition to my Ade scenario….just after he’s missed the open goal, Nik trips over and ‘accidentally’ headbutts him ….. perfect….. 😆

  42. rico says:

    Nik would become my hero then Rasp 😉

  43. peachesgooner says:

    I’ve just checked the fixtures and we have to wait till 24th April to see it in front of our own eyes at the Ems 😦

  44. Rasputin says:

    I can’t remember rico … were you a Nik fan, or a yet to be convinced? I changed my mind about him after christmas when I recognised his work rate and desire. Technically he is better than Ade in my opinion, and hopefully the composure in front of goal (RVP could still do with a bit of that) will come this season.

  45. Evo in Oz says:

    he will be kissing the badge and dancing in front of the fans in the first game, any money on that, im in for 100 quid

  46. Rasputin says:

    Sad but true Evo – I’m not taking your bet….

  47. peachesgooner says:

    Have you been won over rico ……

  48. rico says:

    Ha ha Rasp, you are being a tinker again 😉 I am yet to be convinced by Nik, but I don’t think Ade has helped his progress, this season, without that idiot around he should be much happier and his football can only gain from that imho

    At least he will be onside

  49. rico says:

    By Nik peaches, not yet, but I remain open minded 🙂

  50. peachesgooner says:

    That is very sad 😦

    Did you notice that sky called us ‘North London Giants’ 🙂

  51. Rasputin says:

    Now he’s gone, I’ve just thought of a good nickname for him ‘Pepsi’ – seems to sum up his bubbly enthusiasm 😦

    Don’t be too sad rico … onwards and upwards … unlike Villa who will be sliding down the table and finish below citeh

  52. peachesgooner says:

    I hate seeing players that we’ve loved in another shirt – well maybe not so worried about the divine ones like Thierry and Sol – somehow it looks so wrong…. 😦

  53. Evo in Oz says:

    Rico – one day you will love nikki B and get him on your shirt!

  54. London says:

    King Kolo: you were a giant amongst the Giants of North London; we obviously cannot wish you well at your new club but perhaps we can wish you happiness in your life.

  55. rico says:

    haha Evo, at least the printing would be cheap 🙂

    It’s a sad day for our club 😦

  56. Evo in Oz says:

    hahaha…26 is 2 numbers, so you might have to fork out when you get it…

  57. rico says:

    I was think of the ‘Nik’ Evo, forgot the number 😦

  58. Evo in Oz says:

    i will buy you one! lol 🙂

  59. rico says:

    mme, thanks Evo 😉

  60. rico says:

    Here here London

  61. kelsey says:

    Morning all,
    so Kolo has gone. 7 years great service bought for about 200K and sold gor 15/16 million.Good business by Wenger.Kolo is 28 we have seen the best of him,the malaria did not help him and his injury at the ANC when he continued to play in the semi,was a rather foolish decision.

    AW will have thought long and hard about it first,and on balance the right decision for the club.I wish Kolo well. if we bring in another defender is questionable at the moment especially with Senderos seemingly in no mans land.

    Forget about the ANC,it is not until January,we need to be up with the pace first and see how the injured players like Nasri and rosicky fair and Eduardo recovers from his leg brak.

    We don’t have 40 million to spend.Ade payed for Arshavin and vermaellen,so the toure sale will be used partly to buy a defender or possibly huntleer in attack.One signing the most, in my eyes.

  62. peachesgooner says:

    Hi kelsey

    I agree that Ades sale has only put back into the coffers what’s been spent on Arsh and Vermaelen.

    Huntelaar or Hangelaand…….thats the big question I think…..

  63. Rasputin says:

    The Hunt or Hang … sounds like a trendy pub 🙄

  64. Rasputin says:

    kelsey,

    What you say makes a lot of sense … the corollary of which is that had we not sold Kolo, or anyone else, our summer spend would be over. I can accept that we only spend what we raise from sales whilst we have a huge debt to service. Ade has realy done us a big favour …. and bon voyage to Kolo; I’ll miss him.

  65. Rasputin says:

    Afternoon ave … very profound!…. so CR is still a cheating little b’stard whatever colour shirt he wears 🙄

  66. kelsey says:

    Afternoon Boss,
    nice video,wrong site 😉

  67. avenell says:

    Hi Kelsey, Rasp. There was no Good Arsenal news around.. so..

  68. Rasputin says:

    If I had to put my house on it, I think we may sign Huntelaar – maybe 55% chance. I don’t think we will sign Hangeland, but would like to be wrong.

  69. avenell says:

    Kolo deal hit’s a snag over his loyalty bonus!!

  70. kelsey says:

    yeh, and Fabregas was at Barca training ground this morning,just for a chat with TH14.

  71. avenell says:

    It was on SSN..

  72. rico says:

    Afternoon Roadsters 😛

    Didn’t the Ade hit a snag too over some money owed to him by Arsenal..

  73. rico says:

    Huff – was it something I said 😉

  74. avenell says:

    Hi rico.. yes I think it depends on if he wanted to go or he was “eased” out..
    If he handed a transfer request in during the Jan transfer window, I wonder if that still is considered that he wants to go, even if it got refused.

    The Ade one was slightly different, where Mr Loyalty was asked to go and find a club, or so we are told.

  75. rico says:

    Hi ave – I did wonder what that was all about, didnt know how it worked..

  76. avenell says:

    If you remember back to last Jan.. that’s why the Arshavin transfer went into the deadline..
    Didn’t AK47 pay a part of it out of his own pocket? i believe he got a bonus for extending his contract 3 years or whatever before, but because he never saw the contract through and wanted to go he had to pay at least some of it back.

  77. rico says:

    Blimey thats a long time ago for an oldie to recall 😉

    I do remember now, what a silly rule though..

  78. avenell says:

    The players have too much power now, they want it all ways..

  79. Irishgunner says:

    Afternoon all,

    Any news?

  80. avenell says:

    Hi Irish.. Kolo deal hits rocks for a bit, Hunterlaar could be a goer, small rumour on Villa..

  81. rico says:

    Greed greed greed ….

  82. Irishgunner says:

    Hi Avenell,

    I thought the Kolo deal was 100% done? Surely Arsenal will give him the loyalty money if that’s what its about?

  83. Irishgunner says:

    I knew it, he doesn’t like Mourinho.

    Reports in Spanish publication Sport claim that Alexander Hleb will undertake a medical with Bundesliga side Stuttgart this afternoon after the Belarussian snubbed the opportunity to join Jose Mourinho’s Inter Milan. The 28-year-old had been utilised as a makeweight in the swap deal which saw Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Samuel Eto’o trade places. It is now suggested that the decision on the part of the former Arsenal man will cost the Nou Camp hierarchy an additional €4.5m as they look to compensate their Italian counterparts.

  84. rico says:

    Afternoon Irish – those chicken of yours behaving better..

    Ave, did you mention a chance on Villa… 😛

  85. Irishgunner says:

    Hiya Rico – yep they are, they were left out yesterday evening and were very good 🙂

  86. Rasputin says:

    Hi Irish,

    Hleb even offered an olive branch to Arsene to come back to THOF rather than join Maureen….

  87. Irishgunner says:

    Can you blame him Rasputin?

  88. Rasputin says:

    I thought they served the best ice cream in Milan 🙂

  89. Rasputin says:

    If anyone deserves a loyalty bonus it is Kolo. I do hope they’re not using the fact he put in a transfer request in January (subsequently withdrawn) to get out of paying him……

  90. avenell says:

    Irish.. It’s not really loyalty money, it’s we have given you a bonus to sign this contract.. You broke the contract!
    I am sure he was rewarded for his loyalty to Arsenal in the wages he was given..

    He will get £25 million out of this Man City deal, so let Kolo pay up, or city..

  91. rico says:

    Just another player who thought that the grass was greener elsewhere, the same will be for Kolo and Ade

  92. Irishgunner says:

    They do serve the best ice-cream in Milan 🙂

    I’d be appalled if Adeuslessyor got his bonus and not King Kolo.

  93. avenell says:

    How do we really know if Kolo was loyal anyway? Man City could be the first club to seriously want him and he has jumped ship..

  94. Irishgunner says:

    He’s getting a massive pay rise at City anyway so I shouldn’t be worried about him 😉

    So is Hangelaand coming?

  95. Irishgunner says:

    The “Sack Wenger” brigade are out again. Apparently they want Rijkaard as a choice of manager – oh dear!

  96. kelsey says:

    very interesting about Hleb, but remember he doesn’t like big city life.

    I was thinking to myself that perhaps we have seen the last of “testimonials” for 10 year service to one club,most probablyin the next couple of seasons.

  97. avenell says:

    I want Robson out, I want Dalglish out, I want Fat Sam out, I want KK out.. Er why is this stadium half full?

  98. Rasputin says:

    They must be nuts. I can’t be certain of anything, but I’m pretty sure by now that AW has had his hands tied financially for several years but has had to maintain a dignified silence.

  99. Irishgunner says:

    Afternoon Kelsey,

    Yep, there hasn’t been a testimonal in quite a while that I can remember for any club. I think Maldini has turned his one down at Milan.

    Don’t think they’ll be any at Arsenal any time soon.

  100. avenell says:

    I reckon Arsene and the board went into the financial hardship of building the stadium together.. Arsene knew it was the best for the club long term, as did the board and they are sticking by there decision.

  101. Irishgunner says:

    I said it all along, bring Fat Sam and Phil Brown in as a double management team for a few months and we’ll see where the Wenger out brigade are then….

    Wenger has made mistakes but the man ain’t Jesus, clear head and he’ll sort this out.

    We change managers now and hiphip horray we’ll be the new Tottenham.

  102. Rasputin says:

    The way football is going, players will be getting rewarded for long service after 2 years 😦

  103. Rasputin says:

    I think we’d stand more chance with Roy ‘Chubby’ Brown Irish 😆

  104. avenell says:

    The true meaning of testomonials has changed now anyway, it was a financial reward for long service. to compensate a footballers short career, now the players are set up for life if they play for just a few years.

  105. Irishgunner says:

    It would be a comedy Rasputin 😆

    Honestly, I don’t mean to be condescending to the general football fan but you have to question at times how much they actually know about the game. They read something somewhere like Wenger is Hitler who wants to play with U-17 teams only and run with it without knowing the backround and reasons to why he is doing it.

    I probably haven’t explained myself well but its all just names and money and ….

  106. Irishgunner says:

    I’m starting to get more and more disillusioned by football to be honest, its entertainment now more than a sport.

    I do wonder whether I will still be watching it when I’m 50.

    I can understand why the Manchester United fans set up their own club a few years back. The club has very little soul left, it pains me to think Arsenal will go the same way.

  107. Rasputin says:

    Being an Arsenal fan is a bit like being bipolar Irish … we have extreme highs and the occassional deep depression. The type of football that Arsene aspires to is as good as it gets. Just remember the years when we were just head and shoulders better than anyone else and other fans would just acknowledge it and enjoy the spectacle – we have to hope we are at the beginning of a new era that will eventually lead to the same pinnacle.

  108. avenell says:

    If we got a rich billionaire backer and we done a Man City.. I wouldn’t feel the same about Arsenal and would either support local football or find another hobby.. 😦

  109. Irishgunner says:

    Its not about us not winning Rasp, the soul of football is quickly dying and its because of making capital. Its not the game I grew up with.

    Even Man Utd fans are getting despondent and they can’t stop winning.

    Arsene Wenger is a purist who sadly was just about to really hit the heights when Roman Ambramovich came along and really but a spanner in everything.

    Look at the World’s Current Best Player – a diving, cheating little ba$tard, is that what kids are meant to look up to?

    Compare him to Arshavin. Arshavin makes you love football, Ronaldo makes you hate it. It does for me anyway.

  110. Irishgunner says:

    Avenell – That’s exactly it, I think you are thinking what I am. What would be the point anymore? Maybe if the recession hits football like Wenger said it does, it might be the best thing for the sport.

  111. Rasputin says:

    The money is the problem. There’s no going back, its all about market forces and the whims and ego’s of billionaires.

    The sport is going through a period of adjustment and we are taking the only logical course – but if one of our rich shareholders gets total control, that could all change … then again, it may not!

  112. avenell says:

    Irish.. I respect that opinion.. I have a post in draft that I am working on, I will put my view on and email you..if that’s okay perhaps you could add your thoughts.. I would like that.

  113. Irishgunner says:

    Sure thing Avenell 🙂

    Rasp – The money to a degree but the people is charge as well. Surely FIFA can do better the Sepp Blatter?

    FYI – On the Arsenal.com forum someone just said that Wright has been on talksport saying we may be taking Vieira back on a pay per play deal?

  114. avenell says:

    Cheers Irish.. I won’t say no more on the subject as I will save it for that post..

    Re. Vieira.. oh no I have gave him a caning saying he is past it.. 😉

  115. Irishgunner says:

    Ha ha that’d be some u-turn.

    Then again it is Ian Wright and Talksport, neither of which I really trust.

  116. kelsey says:

    I want to change my user name to Kissinger,please.

  117. Irishgunner says:

    As in Henry Kissinger?

  118. avenell says:

    Kelsey.. I’m not sure if I should ask why.. but why?

  119. kelsey says:

    you can ask ave. irish got it. Think about it 😉 I am being serious.

  120. rico says:

    Paddy no4, on his way back – wow that would be a shocker, no doubt this could be the beginning of his coaching badges

  121. Rasputin says:

    Henry Kissinger was supposed to be ‘The Great’ peacebroker of the 20th century…..

  122. kelsey says:

    Changing subject,

    I stopped listening to Talksport about 4 years ago when Th14 was in his prime and Adrian Durham(who obviously has to contraversial) suggested that the only way to stop Henry was to break his leg,and he meant it.

  123. rico says:

    I didn’t get it either kelsey 😦

  124. Irishgunner says:

    You want to impose detente?

  125. Irishgunner says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever heard talksport, just read what is been said.

  126. avenell says:

    I know who Kissinger is.. just didn’t know why!

  127. Rasputin says:

    I think kelsey may be making a cross-blog reference …. naughty boy……

  128. avenell says:

    Here you go Irish..
    http://new.talksport.net/mediaplayer/media_player.asp?sListenLive=yes&c=&t=&preroll=on

    I always listen to it in the morning.. it’s better than 5 live, but they don’t like Arsenal, or to be exact they make there money through phone calls and adverts so they say thing to wind people up.. That gets the phone going, always remember that when listning and it’s not too bad..

  129. Rasputin says:

    Well having Vieira back on a pay per play basis is better than signing Sylvestre or watching Vieira turn out for the spuds …. I still don’t believe it 😦

  130. Irishgunner says:

    Thanks Avenell I’m giving it a listen now

  131. avenell says:

    Rasp on Arsenal TV last night it showed the Man U Arsenal game from about 05.. It showed Silvestre headbutting Ljungberg after he pushed DB10 over.. It all came flooding back to me why I hated him..

    Irish.. I don’t like Durham, Wrighty acts like a dick on the show too.. All the film crap winds me up.. Brazil ain’t too bad, or me and Rasps old mate Parry is okay in small doses with Townsend.. Hawksbee and Jacobs are are funny sometimes but after a while get a bit boring..

  132. rico says:

    Tee Hee, part of my post has been quoted on another channel and AR has had a mention 😉

  133. Irishgunner says:

    They do a show in Ireland on Today FM with Matt Cooper called the last word. Its not only sport, they do politics and the like as well but its pretty good.

    http://www.todayfm.com/Shows/Weekdays/Matt-Cooper/listen.aspx

  134. peachesgooner says:

    rico – where?

  135. avenell says:

    She cannot say.. she will be breaking the rules.. please refer to Boring, Boring Avenell..

  136. kelsey says:

    You are all completely off track.I am not refering to anyone here,there or the opposite of righties.Please don’t read anything into it,i just like the name.

    I am doing some behind the scenes work connected to Arsenal.A good samaritan if you wish.

    Which site rico, any clues ?

  137. kelsey says:

    what rules ave, we have rules today 😉

  138. kelsey says:

    official on arse.com.toure has gone.

  139. Irishgunner says:

    Its Hannover we are playing tonight, thought it was some over random team. They should be a better test.

  140. rico says:

    Haha ave, may I do the hokie cokie dance – just for peaches 😉

  141. rico says:

    Ave – you know me better, I respect the rules on all sites 🙂

  142. rico says:

    ave – all i get is a white box on that link – please help 😦

  143. avenell says:

    Works for me rico.. I have just checked it.. wait until the little thingy stops spinning then it comes on..

  144. rico says:

    My little thingy is not spinning ave 😦 😉

  145. avenell says:

    Yeeeees!! Fabbie.. good work from pinkie..

  146. rico says:

    I got it now – hoorah 😛

  147. avenell says:

    You may need to download media player..

  148. kelsey says:

    did you know ebowie was playing and when cesc scored they put up walcott.great reverse pass from Robin.

  149. rico says:

    Good to see Cesc playing 🙂

  150. avenell says:

    The commentator sounds like Mr Chumley-Warner..

  151. rico says:

    Eboue’s crossing is not bad, in the right place and with good pace…

  152. rico says:

    Great comment – ‘the diving competion is up the road’ 😛

  153. rico says:

    Denilson doesn’t improve much does he 😦

  154. rico says:

    I do like our kit, Arshavin’s bum looks a little less big in his shorts 😉 (just for London 😛 )

  155. avenell says:

    Is he playing? I haven’t seen him lol..

    Statman, Statman, Statman.. dinner,dinner Statman!!..

  156. kelsey says:

    the commentator is driving me mad.has he got a contract to talk non stop and repeat himself every 5 minutes. verbal d*******

  157. kelsey says:

    is nic playing on the right wing. agreed nice kit rico.

  158. rico says:

    I heard the commenator mention Vivas for Hannover – is that old Nelson 😉 🙂

    Ave – that is very very funny 😛

  159. rico says:

    Wicked Traore 😛

    kelsey, turn your sound off, its better 😉

    He is on the right in a three pronged attack kelsey..

  160. Irishgunner says:

    😆 Vivas is like 40 now and retired, he’s a blast from the past

  161. kelsey says:

    nicci offside …..sell him.

  162. rico says:

    Was that Ade offside…………. NO it was Nik 😛 😛

    Only jesting

  163. avenell says:

    I don’t like to argue.. 😉 But the kit makes us look like the Spuds.. a bit.. 😦

  164. rico says:

    No ave, ours doesnt look white, it looks as if it has a slight cream tint with a pin stripe – its cool 😉

  165. rico says:

    Ah – TV is pronounced

    Verrmaylan – thanks mr commentator 😉

  166. kelsey says:

    is it pronounced manoneee or manon

  167. rico says:

    I wonder if Citeh would like Statman 😉

  168. kelsey says:

    now we have got silvashtray

  169. rico says:

    i think manoneeeeeeee kelsey 😉

  170. rico says:

    Man Oh Nay kelsey 😛

  171. kelsey says:

    any thoughts guys,would like to see some more shots from outside the box instead of wengerball all the time.

  172. avenell says:

    I don’t know how good the opposition are.. if they are good we are playing okay.. Our telepathy is a bit off at the moment..

  173. JonJon says:

    evening guys…nice one rico..

    exactly..they may be buying loads of players but if wenger wanted kolo and ade he wouldnt of sold them would he…

    adebayor paid for AK and germeline…

    kolo will pay for huntelaar

    wenger will sell eboue next and use senderos in a swap for hangelaand and thats us done with a couple of mil to spare… as wenger does…

    who are the boyz doing so far ive just got home…

  174. choy says:

    evening all..

    we have someone claiming that we have signed Villa and De Rossi.. to be unveiled on the 2nd of August!

  175. kelsey says:

    someone choy ?

  176. choy says:

    there is a mark fella, who has this to say:

    annoymous Says:
    July 29, 2009 at 18:23
    Afternoon

    Last night i came on here after pressure from my son to tell fellow Arsenal supporters of two new signings that will be announced on August the 2nd. After looking through the site and reading fans responses to the news, i feel the need to come back on here and reiterate the facts. Arsenal will sign at least two new players during this current transfer window, David Villa from Valencia and Daniele De Rossi from AS Roma, as stated previously i cannot reveal my source and i dont expect everybody to believe me, confirmation will be before Sunday’s pre season game at the Emirated stadium, i just thought the need to calm fans anger, i myself am an ardent follower of the team and have been for many years

    Heres to a sucsessful season

    Regards

  177. rico says:

    JonJon, I have missed you me old mucker 😉

    Hi choy – wow, if that is true thats incredible… but the De Rossi think I think was a spoof put on Wikki 😦

    But you just never know eh 😉

    Still wouldn’t mind Huntelaar though, and rumour is that the dippers are after Hangeland

  178. choy says:

    take it with a pinch of salt… it probably is a windup!

  179. choy says:

    evening rico!

  180. rico says:

    JJ, Denilson who has now been re-named by ave as Statman is poop !!

  181. JonJon says:

    im sorry i couldnt stick abot earlier rico…work demands..i was reading though..well done..

    choy you have made my night with that statement… 😉

  182. avenell says:

    Hi Choy… I love the rumour boys.. tug at the old heart strings…. you know you shouldn’t believe them, but a little something inside wants it to be true..

  183. kelsey says:

    van persie is a hollander ?

  184. JonJon says:

    statman..lmao…

    poop?? whats new..

  185. kelsey says:

    choy,

    mark was the guy on the lefties who broke the adebayor transfer about 4 hours before the media.

  186. avenell says:

    That’s a Dutch vegetable strainer..lol

  187. rico says:

    JJ, bless you – I understand and no worries

    I know Villa is another tiddler, but if we get back to playing the slick football we used to play, who needs height – we have Nik and Robin 🙂

  188. avenell says:

    kelsey.. I thought that was Matt..

  189. JonJon says:

    who likes the look of vermalaen?

    i do..its been a while since ive seen a composed figure at the back…ive been used to endless years of flapping by kolo god bless him but why go to city??

    and that loyalty thing is bollox…i said yesterday that he owes us nothing but we dont owe him a thing either..

    weve paid him enough money over the years and made him the player he was…

    he demanded a transfer in january so hes broken his side of the deal also.. if he didnt want to leave he didnt have to…so wheres the loyalty payment come in to it on top of the millions citeh are paying him…

  190. choy says:

    it does give us hope .. hopefully maybe..

  191. kelsey says:

    i don’t think this line up works very well.

  192. kelsey says:

    ave yes you most probably right.

  193. rico says:

    JJ, I think its the man we will miss rather than the footballer – he was a gentleman with us and we never heard a squeak out of him until christmas just gone by.But now he plays in blue, and I hope he fails….

    So, Villa, Huntelaar and De Rossi, and even maybe Hangeland…. Ok ok, too optimistic 🙂

  194. avenell says:

    Did that prick just say Dudu was Croation born?

  195. JonJon says:

    nice rico… lmao.. i hope he fails too…

  196. kelsey says:

    Evs said…

    totally agree with you wrighty
    however i have heard one hell of a rumour that has come from a mate who works inside the club, hopefully its true:
    basically the guy who told me is never usally wrong and apparently as he said to me “toure (as been confirmed), senderos, and eboue will be sold” and potentially on saturday the club willl make an announcement of the signings of TWO WORLD CLASS signings
    I know who they are but im sure you’ll want it to be a surprise
    Ones a striker the other is a defensive midfielder who we faced last year in the Champions league

    yes it sounds like it cant be true however there was an error on the arsenal website (that was quickly corrected) and wikipedia which said the DM played for arsenal, so could it possibly be true?
    same rumour different site. oh rico…..villa 🙂

  197. avenell says:

    To celebrate the new signing.. I have opened a bottle of San Miguel.. a biggie.. 🙂

  198. kelsey says:

    he just called our keeper fabianski

  199. rico says:

    Villa, Villa, Villa, Villa,Villa, Villa, Villa

    Now that could be 30 goals – imagine, him and the other dumpy bum Arshavin together 😛

  200. avenell says:

    Kelsey.. Is that because it is his name?

  201. rico says:

    Ave, I have opened a bottle of water 😉

    JJ, whats for dinner tonight 😛

  202. avenell says:

    Don’t let Eboue get injured we need to sell him..

  203. rico says:

    Guys, you recall me sniggering when the friendly against Valencia was announced and I suggested very tongue in cheek that that would be when he signs ??

    Maybe that game will be when he plays against his old clu 😛

    Ave, I thought Szneschy (spelling) was in goal ??

  204. choy says:

    valencia rico!!!

  205. JonJon says:

    the cupboards are bare my dear…

    so ive rustled up plateu of pasta a la shell with a light glasing of sweet and sour sauce…

    followed by a bacon and egg buttie.. 😉

  206. rico says:

    thanks choy 🙂

  207. rico says:

    JJ 🙂 sounds the nutts nutts 😉

  208. avenell says:

    Old Jonjon’s cupboard is like the Emirates trophy room. aaah

  209. kelsey says:

    ave,
    rico and i are right Szneschy (spelling) was in goal ??

  210. kelsey says:

    rico is mystic meg 🙂

  211. avenell says:

    Kelsey.. I didn’t see much of the second half, I just heard that knob say Fabianski was on from half time.. I never even put full screen on.. you are probably right..
    I thought you meant the way he was saying it!

  212. avenell says:

    I am sure he also said “with a name like Eduardo de Silva you would have thought he was a Brazilian”

  213. JonJon says:

    all these rumours are great fun to read..

    i know we will sign some players…its just so much fun trying to second guess wenger…

    de rossi and villa would be fantastic…

    but i think hangelaand and hunt are more realistic…

    if we sign the first two though i would be over joyed…even if we dont win anything it will shut all the fans up..

    i can just see the agm now….

    “well i did it my way then i did it your way and it still didnt work, so sue me…” 😉

  214. rico says:

    Ave – he is Brazilian isn’t he 😉 😉 😉

    I like the comparison to JJ’s cupboards and the trophy cabinet 😉

  215. rico says:

    Not Stephen Hunt from Reading JJ ?? 😉

  216. avenell says:

    Could be Mike from Porkies.. 😉

  217. JonJon says:

    PMSL.. 😆

    you guys!!!!! haha

  218. kelsey says:

    apparently ebowie threw his shirt and boots to the crowd. that’s another one off.

    we are going to play with 11 players all saeason,no subs,no changes, simples.

  219. avenell says:

    He probably missed and they went over the stand.. 🙂

  220. rico says:

    🙂 ave

    kelsey, the boots wont be any good, they are two left footed one 😉

  221. rico says:

    Here is the Eboue goodbye…

    http://www.newsnow.co.uk/A/360993529?-19387

    fast forward to 4.15

  222. rico says:

    So – no Ade to slate and probably no Eboue…

    Poor old Denilson and Diaby 😉

  223. avenell says:

    Your now going to say looks like I am on my own.. haha

  224. rico says:

    Ave – exactly, I was just about to say that and wish you all a good night, then you spring from nowhere 😉

  225. avenell says:

    I tried to get it in on the same time.. lol..

    So things are good then, Mr Wenger is having a sort out.. He has been a bit too tolerent. now the old manager is back, no more Mr Nice Guy..

  226. rico says:

    Does make you wonder ave, he seems to be sorting a lot out right now, and making sure the sales are completed in good time – i cant remember the last time he did that – i think i feel even more positive than JonJon now 😉

  227. avenell says:

    Thanks for the post and everything else you did today, you really are a diamond..

    I would like to ask one thing though.. What happened to the links you were sorting? Did you hear anymore?
    I cannot see the favour returned..

  228. avenell says:

    Oh there is other good new Martins is off to wolfsberg.. phew..That’s that one dead..

  229. rico says:

    ave, i went on to both the other and noticed that, leave it with me and i will chase them up – we just need to put the other one up please when you have a mo and if you still want it added…

    And its my pleasure 😛

  230. avenell says:

    Shall i just steal the link and put it up? I will do that now, if you want..

  231. rico says:

    Phew indeed, we dont want him..

    Have to go now ave, cocoa to make and drink 😉

    See you all in the morning, stay safe and sleep tight and keep dreaming 😛

  232. rico says:

    That would be spot on ave, then I will chase both up with a cheeky comment in the blog – 😛

  233. avenell says:

    It’s up.. just check it tomorrow..

    night rico x… take care!

  234. Rasputin says:

    Hey ave – what’s all this coded talk going on?? are you cooking something up?

  235. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rasp – what can they be cooking up between them 😉

  236. JonJon says:

    anyone about??

  237. JonJon says:

    heya rasp…

    how you been feeling today??

  238. Rasputin says:

    Hi JonJon,

    I’m good thanks – hope you are too. Are your optimism levels still peaking? 😉

  239. JonJon says:

    im brimming with confidence mate…

    we are making millions on players who should of been sold a year or two ago…

    even eboues off…good stuff.

    wengers rebuilding rasp…hes having a good old clear out first…

    good signs…im telling you..the emirates cupis where we announce our players…

    next season is our season..wengers not pissing about anymore..

  240. Rasputin says:

    OK JonJon … if you say so 😛

    Did you watch the game tonight?

  241. JonJon says:

    haha rasp…

    no i couldnt get a proper connection and nobody would tell me what the crack was…

    were we any good???

  242. Rasputin says:

    Pretty good in the first half with Cesc and Nik on …. pretty average in the second. Worryingly, JD and Germolene seemed to keep getting in each other’s way and looked shaky – so there’s some work to do as it looks like that will be our second choice CB partnership.

  243. JonJon says:

    did senderos play??

    did wenger put a defender in the midfield???

    i thought i seen a clip of the wenger interview where he said hes got so many defenders hes having to put some in the middle of the park…

    i dont think its his plan for next season…i just think hes trying to get everyone minutes…

    and at the same time admitting he needs a proper DM.. 😉

  244. Rasputin says:

    I only saw highlights of the first half. The goal from Cesc was very good from a brilliant through ball from RVP. AA didn’t do much and nor did Dudu when he came on. No Phillipe. EE was playing left midfield in the second half …aaaaarrrggghhhh … please god, not again 😦

  245. avenell says:

    What do you want to know Rasp?

  246. JonJon says:

    i think eboues off rasp…dont worry about that….

    the left spot is fully covered with AA rosick and nasri…

    no more room for comedians.. 😉

  247. Rasputin says:

    Evening ave … nothing you don’t want to tell me … the thread of conversation earlier didn’t seem to make sense so I wondered if I had missed something … no worries 😛

  248. avenell says:

    Alright Jonjon, Peaches, Rasp..

    all up a bit late..celebrating or mourning??

  249. JonJon says:

    celebrating…

  250. avenell says:

    Rasp. I think you mean where rico tried to get us linked to a few other reputable places, we have done our side of the deal .. she will chase them up to do there’s.

  251. Rasputin says:

    Contemplating 😆

  252. Rasputin says:

    OK ave – good plan .. I notice that there are sites with fewer responses than AR getting on NN …

  253. avenell says:

    Yeah I know, I have tried a few times, so too has rico.. they are like the “Big Boys” and not very welcoming.. They don’t tell you if you are in or not, they don’t answer emails.

    They say they only want original blogs and that is difficult because there are over a thousand Arsenal ones, so I don’t know what they want really..

  254. avenell says:

    Early New Post!!

Leave a Reply

