They call him Mellow Yellow

Ok he is not Mellow, but he plays in Yellow and we are linked with him.

And yes, I have cheated and used Wikki

Felipe Melo de Carvalho (born 26th August, 1983 in Volta Redonda) is a Brazilian footballer who currently plays as a defensive midfielder for Italian Serie A club Fiorentina. He is particularly well known for his aggressiveness, having collected 17 yellow cards and 3 red cards in his first Serie A season.

Club career

After a successful first season at AlmerΓ­a, Melo agreed to transfer to Italian side Fiorentina in an €8 million transfer for the 2008-09 season. This was confirmed after Almeria’s match against Recreativo de Huelva in the Spanish league. He made his debut in the first leg of the third qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League against Slavia Prague, and scored his first goal in a viola shirt against Atalanta in the Serie A.

Melo has attracted interest from English club Arsenal FC in the summer transfer window. Arsenal are reported to be prepared to pay around Β£15 million for his services.

203 Responses to They call him Mellow Yellow

  1. rico01 says:

    Hopefully this is now reasonable πŸ˜‰

    Catch you all later – Thanks for your help London πŸ™‚

  2. London says:

    Well done Rico

    I was trying to find a clip of him but without luck if anyone has anything can you post the link.

    I have decided to believe this story because I like it, in the same way as I have decided to believe the Eboue story for the same reason…..because I like it. Lol

    Actually if the Eboue story, about him wanting to leave, is true then I would describe it as the politest transfer request I have ever seen.

  3. Rasputin says:

    I like the musical thread rico πŸ™‚

    … and I like the sound of this guy too – the only thing is he has already rejected interest from us once before and is likely to cost loads if he does what he’s suggested and signs a new contract with a high buy-out clause.

  4. Rasputin says:

    What the hell’s up with Alonso? – twice in one season….

    “Xabi Alonso crocked his Spain team-mate Cesc Fabregas in training in Bloemfontein on Tuesday.

    The 22-year-old Arsenal midfielder limped away and was visibly angered by the tackle. The damage to Fabregas’ left instep is not expected to keep him out of the Confederations Cup match against Iraq tonight.”

  5. Rasputin says:

    Rico – out of interest, where did you read that our first game of the season was against wham – as posted yesterday?

  6. rico01 says:

    Hi all – Glad you liked the musical link Rasp, It just came to me in a flash and thought ‘go for it’ πŸ˜‰

    The West Ham fixture and others was on Newsnow yesterday, cant remember which site, but when i do i wont believe what it says anymore πŸ˜‰

    Thanks again London, I took a peep at what you were suggesting I do, at least now I will know for the next ‘fluff up’ I make – but the good news is I managed to delete the bad one πŸ˜›

    Do you think Alonso wants Cesc’s place Rasp, I couldn’t believe it either when I saw that news..

  7. kelsey says:

    Hi rico and all,

    Don’t know much about mr Melo, but as rasputin said he liked the musical theme,which intrigued me so I looked up your title.

    Forgive me rico,but please don’t censor how it came about,ah well here goes.

    “Mellow Yellow” is a song and single release by Donovan. It reached #2 on the Billboard charts in the U.S. in 1966.

    The song was rumored to be about smoking dried banana skins, which was believed to be a hallucinogenic drug in the 1960s, but this rumor has since been debunked. According to Donovan’s notes accompanying the album Donovan’s Greatest Hits, the rumor that one could get high from smoking dried banana skins was started by Country Joe McDonald in 1966, and Donovan heard the rumor three weeks before “Mellow Yellow” was released as a single. (According to The Rolling Stone Illustrated Encyclopedia of Rock and Roll, he admitted later the song made reference to a vibrator[citation needed]; an “electrical banana” as mentioned in the lyrics.) The phrase “mellow yellow” appears on page 719 of the first American edition of Ulysses, where it is used to refer to Mrs. Marion Bloom’s buttocks, but it is not known if Donovan got the phrase from there.[1]

  8. Rasputin says:

    I think Alonso’s quite a dirty player – he often slides in studs. He deliberately kicked through when he injured Cesc (I wouldn’t mind if he did it in an Arsenal shirt) πŸ˜•

  9. rico01 says:

    Rasp – you are not difficult to please then πŸ˜‰

    Hi kelsey, I read all that stuff about bananna skins and smoking earlier, incredible isn’t it what some will try, good on him though πŸ˜‰

  10. kelsey says:

    Did you know that alonso has put 3 players out of action for months through his hard/dirty tackling in the last year.

  11. rico01 says:

    Breaking News – Breaking News……

    Sky Sports News

    Arsenal are top of the league πŸ˜›

  12. Rasputin says:

    Good research kelsey – backs up my point….. I don’t know why the refs haven’t cottoned on

  13. rico01 says:

    What has happened to your Avatar Rasp 😦

  14. London says:

    Rico

    How did you sort out the spacing above?

  15. rico01 says:

    And kelsey – compare that to Paddy, he was less ‘damaging’ to players yet got so much stick, and so many unjustified red cards

  16. rico01 says:

    London – I followed your advice, and when I looked it gave me an edit option so I sorted out the spacing πŸ˜›

    You would think at my age I would be a little more PC friendly, but I really dislike them 😦

  17. rico01 says:

    Oh, and I managed to delete the ‘muck up’ post πŸ˜†

  18. rico01 says:

    But on the down side, I saw there was a draft post by ave, I think I may be in for a telling off… πŸ˜‰

    😳

  19. rico01 says:

    ZipedyDoDa
    ZipedyDay

    I’m on my own now, so i may as well play…. around πŸ˜‰

  20. rico01 says:

    Actually, I may as well carry on doing the house work 😦

    Catch you all later

  21. rico01 says:

    Rasp – Here is the site that released the fixtures, bless him, at least he has made it right, good man πŸ˜‰

  22. peachesgooner says:

    Hello – the plant hunter has returned, anyone about πŸ™‚

  23. rico01 says:

    Gosh, are you all doing house work πŸ˜‰

    Evening peaches

  24. rico01 says:

    All quiet, so catch you tomorrow 😦

  25. Rasputin says:

    Don’t go rico – I’ve only just got in …. 😦

  26. Rasputin says:

    Surely this can’t be true – 7/10 on the bullshitometer…

    “Respected France Football journalist Philippe Auclair declared on Talksport this afternoon that Bordeaux’s Marouane Chamakh is close to signing for Arsenal.

    The Moroccan International striker, who this season played a key part in Bordeaux finally toppling Lyon from the top of Ligue 1, is available for around Β£7m having reached the final year of his contract.

    Powerful in the air yet skillful on the ground, Chamakh is an obvious candidate to replace Emmanuel Adebayor, should the Togolese be moved on this summer.”

  27. chas says:

    A link for a few Felipe Melo clips

    http://www.metacafe.com/tags/felipe_melo/

  28. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rasp

    Theres no point in signing him if Ade is still with us 😦

  29. London says:

    Here is a clip of Marouane Chamakh it’s worth a quick look because the format is so different. Peaches if Adebayor goes you are going to love this guy. lol

  30. avenell says:

    Hi Chas welcome to Avenell Road.. πŸ™‚

  31. Rasputin says:

    Blimey London – I’m glad I watched your clip to the end, I was about to slit my wrists after the 1st minute…. he’s pretty damn good isn’t he….

  32. Rasputin says:

    Hi peaches – was that a ghost on the site a minute or two ago?

  33. kelsey says:

    yes

  34. peachesgooner says:

    Hi London – thanks, he does look awfully like we’d love him if he scored goals for us – I hope his conversion rate is better than the clip πŸ™‚

    rasp – maybe it was just the wind πŸ˜›

  35. Rasputin says:

    Peaches – I think in this era, when a manager identifies that he needs a certain type of player, he has to make a list of targets and pursue them in order of preference because he is unlikely to get his first choice (unless you’re RM that is) Of course there is also the ‘red herring’ tactic to deflect attention from the prime objective…… With all the talk about Dzeko and now Chamakh – we may well be after RSC πŸ˜‰

  36. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – don’t you think realistically that RSC will go to Mark Hughes – mind you he didn’t exactly push for a move to Citeh last season……..

    When was the last time our opening game was away…..my friend Tricia is awfully upset that we aren’t(spelling!) playing at home first game 😦

  37. Rasputin says:

    Yes I do think he’ll go to citeh .. I was just mentioning him as we haven’t really been linked with him lately – therefore it would be quite Arsenal-like.

    Peaches – why are you and I bothering to chat on here?

  38. peachesgooner says:

    Come and find me then πŸ™‚

  39. Rasputin says:

    I will, I’ve put 15 days of effort into this site for nothing………..

  40. Evo in Oz says:

    gday all, i watched a you tube compilation of him yesterday and liked what i saw.

  41. rico01 says:

    Morning all, whats up Rasp ??

    Hi Evo, like you I have just watched the clip London put up, the latter part is very pleasing on the eye, he looks really good.

  42. rico01 says:

    And whats all this about Manure to swoop for Robin, no way, surely…

  43. Big Raddy says:

    Morning All,

    Back after a few intensive days.

    Not much news around is there? If this carries on it will be the quietest pre-season I can remember. Apart from RM, has anyone signed a player?

  44. Big Raddy says:

    More rubbish Rico.

    RvP stalls on his contract – brinkmanship – lazy journo thinks, who had a bucketful of money? Ah yes, MU.

  45. rico01 says:

    Morning Raddy

    Birminham have signed some player from abroad, and Wolves have snapped up Hannaman from Reading πŸ˜‰

    We have signed ……… mme, no-one πŸ˜‰

    Usual summer transfer progress

  46. Rasputin says:

    Morning Raddy and rico πŸ˜‰

    I don’t give much credence to the ‘RVP stalling’ story either

  47. rico01 says:

    Hi Rasp, are you ok this morning ?

  48. Rasputin says:

    I’m fine rico – it’s the others πŸ˜•

  49. rico01 says:

    http://www.newsnow.co.uk/A/353027624?-19387

    Thomas is soon to have a medical, maybe that should include the other Thomas too πŸ˜‰

  50. rico01 says:

    I am beginning to hope the Chamakh rumours have more substance, he looks really strong…

    Rasp πŸ˜›

  51. Rasputin says:

    I’ll tell you sometime rico – my candour wouldn’t be appreciated on here…..

    I hope your old fave Thomas can resurrect his career – potentially he’s as brilliant as AA. I’ll definitely be going to Barnet if he’s going to play preseason.

    I’m hoping that the impression the media are trying to promote of RVP’s ‘attitude’ is a distortion and what he’s really been saying is…”I love the club and want it to achieve success” – I can’t blame a player like him who is now entering the middle of his career for wanting to win something, without ambition, he wouldn’t be competitive.

  52. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    I just carried my lap-top down to the greenhouse to see if the signal would travel there and it doesn’t 😦

  53. rico01 says:

    Rasp – anytime πŸ˜‰

    I hope Thomas can aswell – as much as we have felt let down he must be really frustrated and desperate to play the sport he loves again, and for the club he obviously loves.

    Many clubs wouldnt have put up with Robin’s injuries, he should just get on and sign his contract, thats the best way to deal with all the press speculation πŸ˜‰

  54. rico01 says:

    Morning peaches, Take your greenhouse indoors then πŸ˜‰

  55. peachesgooner says:

    The Times are bigging up our Gibbsy in advance of tonights under 21’s game – good for him…. πŸ˜›

  56. Rasputin says:

    Not content with winding up pool over Torres, SAF has now decided to have a go at us and feign interest in RVP…. what a *%$Β£^Β£”‘er …

  57. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Evening all

    This Melo fellow sounds anything but, but @ the same time haven’t we wanted a mean mother of a thing. Just his CV 17 yellows & 3 reds last season would be enough to make idiots like Taylor from Brum to take a backward step?

  58. rico01 says:

    SAF is a hypocrite isn’t he!

  59. rico01 says:

    Hi george – you are spot on, teams lack ‘the fear factor’ when they play us, unlike the ‘Paddy’ days – he would be just what we need πŸ˜›

  60. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    G’Day Rico01

  61. London says:

    Morning Roadsters

    My guess as to what is going on with RVP is this: I don’t believe that we are going to be making any really big signings during the summer. We will get our usual sprinkling of fifteen year olds; we will get a fifteen mil defender from Ajax. Then, after the financial heavy weights have gorged themselves we might even pick up another fifteen mil bargain, I favour Mahamadou Diarra from Real because of his height and his defensive qualities but that has probably got more to do with my lack of knowledge as to who exactly is available rather than anything else; anyway I digress, the one thing that I feel certain about is that we will not be spending thirty mil on a new striker; so to compensate for that, I expect the club to announce that RVP is staying and dress it up as though he is a new exciting signing. This will follow the normal PR pattern; the club do not announce good news for the sake of it, they always use it as a means of trying to keep us, the fans, happy. They did exactly the same with Theo: we all knew he had signed a new contract long before we were told and as was predicted they used the timely announcement to try and cheer us up after our CL exit. The news that RVP is staying will be announced in a similar way but this time it will use it to lift our spirits just before the start of the new season.

  62. rico01 says:

    Morning London, you old cynic you πŸ˜›

  63. London says:

    Morning Rico Lol

  64. Rasputin says:

    Morning London, gnarley,

    I’d give any RVP threatening to leave media stuff a 9/10 on the bullshitometer, you’re right, he will stay (I hope!!)

  65. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Howdy Ras

    Exactly, why would RVP leave @ the start of a Premier league winning season for The Arsenal. Champions. I’m booking my flight over for the victory parade down to the Islington Town Hall.

  66. Rasputin says:

    I’ll buy you a pint of XXXX when I see you gnarley πŸ˜›

  67. London says:

    Morning gnarley

    I like your optimism and why not? manu will be weaker, Chelsea’s new manager could just as easily fail as did Scolari, Liverpool’s season is over if they lose Gerrard to injury; so, why not believe that we are going to win the league next season? I do. See you at the parade in Islington.

  68. Big Raddy says:

    I love your positivity GG. And of course you are right.

    It must drive the club’s financial people nuts (and AW) when a player holds the club to ransom. Of course, RvP’s agents job is to get the highest return for his client, but how does the club plan for the next campaign with such uncertainty? If RvP can get an extra Β£1m a year in Italy, he will go, and if he does, we will have to replace him (or will we given that he plays in AA’s favoured position?)

    On which point, perhaps I have it arse about face and AFC are playing hardball with Robin, secure in the knowledge that we already have his replacement. Particularly if Mozart can regain his fitness and fill the left midfield role.

    To me, RvP is dispensable and we would be better off concentrating on a defensive rebuild.

  69. Big Raddy says:

    GG our EPL victory will compliment our Ashes win πŸ˜‰

  70. Big Raddy says:

    And Islington is so lovely in the merry month of May

  71. rico01 says:

    Who mentioned an Ashes win …. πŸ˜›

  72. rico01 says:

    Can you believe, rumour is Citeh want ‘The Beast’ ….

  73. Big Raddy says:

    2/10 on the bullshit monitor Rico

  74. kelsey says:

    Morning all,

    dog duty all night, not the greatest way to start the day.

    I just read an interesting fact that RVP has played 79 league games in 5 years, is that correct ?

  75. rico01 says:

    That high Raddy? πŸ™‚

  76. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Ashes win BR? Ok, I’ll meet you all @ the Islington Town Hall in May for the parade, & drinks will be on me.After ras has shouted me the XXXX πŸ˜›

  77. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    “I was walking down Islington way, in the merry merry month of may, I was taken by surprise by a topless double decker bus, & 500,000 gooners, Hey”

  78. Irishgunner says:

    Morning folks,

    I can’t believe no-one has mentioned the best footballing news ever…..

    North Korea have qualified for the World Cup. Fantastic, I wonder will that mad little bastard be coming along?

  79. rico01 says:

    Morning Irish

  80. Rasputin says:

    I need to clarify the bullshitometer – high score (9/10) = 90% bullshit = no way Jose….. πŸ˜›

  81. rico01 says:

    Ah, The Beast = 10/10 then

  82. Rasputin says:

    Hi Irish,

    The Seoul World Cup was by far the most corrupt (in terms of decisions and bias) but also highly entertaining don’t you think. The N. Koreans will be taking themselves much more seriously…..

  83. Irishgunner says:

    Morning Rico

  84. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    You mean this mad little bastard πŸ™‚

  85. Rasputin says:

    LMAO gnarley πŸ˜†

  86. Irishgunner says:

    Morning Rasp – One of the most corrupt games I have ever witnessed in international terms was Italy versus South Korea in 2002. The more I’ve seen it the more I’ve laughed.

    Italy had 2 clear goals ruled offside despite Vieri clearly being on, one Korean actually kicked Maldini on the head on the ground, no wonder the Italians gave up.

    Of course this was closely followed by the awful officiating in the Spain vs South Korea game.

    Hiddink can’t claim that as a success – it was cheating although I doubt he was involved.

    I am intrigued to see how North Korea get on, I’ve never seen them play.

  87. Irishgunner says:

    GG9 – πŸ˜† that’s the mad bastard.

    “You’re breaking my balls Hans”.

    I love the “ronely” *lonely* song in that film.

  88. Irishgunner says:

  89. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Irish

    Not as corrupt as the Italy v Australia game 2006. Even the Italians down here in Oz just say FIFA needed Italy to win coz of ratings. FFS

  90. rico01 says:

    Got to pop off for a while, catch you later

  91. Irishgunner says:

    That was the game with the “penalty” was it GG9?

  92. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    …..or the hand of God game in Mexico ’86. That was probably just a dopey linesman or ref tho that one.

  93. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Thats it Irish.

    See ya Rico

  94. Irishgunner says:

    Yep that was another dodgy game.

    Australia were my team too at that World Cup – drew them at work, although I had the French backed to win, darn their inability to take penalties.

  95. Big Raddy says:

    I was in Italy for the Oz game.

    Even they thought it was a pen !!

    But for corruption nothing can beat the Argentina v Peru game in WC78.

    And let us not forget the Dippers CLQF v AFC. Two terrible decisions cost us the CL.

  96. Irishgunner says:

    I’ve been out of the loop a bit yesterday – no access to much news.

    How is Cesc? Did he play for Spain?

  97. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Penalties is not a good way to sort out the winner of a World Cup Final IMO. Why not just keep playing till the Golden Goal goes in. Its not like the players are in a hurry to be somewhere else, @ a time clogged by fixtures.

  98. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    I’m off now Irish. See you tomorrow.

  99. Irishgunner says:

    Aw yes Dirk Kuyt and his babysitter ref.

    Even Eamon Dunphy said Arsenal were wronged on that occasion and he was going through his “Arsene Wenger is a whinger and turning into an old man” stage, now he is on his “Arsene Wenger is a saint” stage.

  100. Irishgunner says:

    Bye GG9 πŸ˜€

  101. Big Raddy says:

    And their ‘penalty’. No surprise it was in front of the Kop.

    The ref was a ‘homer’.

    I am still pissed off about it. But then the Norwegian ref in this years CLSF was quality as well πŸ˜‰

    Dunphy? A waste of good carbon.

  102. Irishgunner says:

    Eamon Dunphy is entertaining. I hate watching matches on any other channel but RTE. Dunphy talks rubbish a lot (most often when he is drunk) but sometimes he can be good.

    Really the English ones are too sanitized in favour of any English team whether club or international that are playing.

    The RTE Panel really tear into teams.

    On the Chelsea game, it was ONE clear cut penalty he missed – the Pique handball. Its not anti-Chelsea bias or anything but the other penalties were 50/50 imo.

  103. Big Raddy says:

    Irish….

    Football is all about bias. If I wasn’t biased, I wouldn’t care…..

    As far as I am concerned, any pens against AFC are a result of a blatant dive, bad refereeing or anti-AFC bias.

    Any dodgy decisions given to us are of course correct.

    The media are clearly biased against us, until they sing our praises (last heard Milan away 2008)

    I agree about the Chavs game.

  104. Rasputin says:

    Irish, Raddy,

    The kind of ‘bias’ that was shown in Seoul and some of the other examples you have listed could only happen if there were some level of corruption right at the top – FIFA / UEFA?…. do you believe this to be the case (answer YES… 😦 )

  105. Irishgunner says:

    BR – I totally agree with you but that is for fans.

    Its okay for the media to be biased on the international stage but to a degree. ITV have never questioned Capello or the English players (apart from Theo πŸ˜• ) to be honest. Its all a bit too rosy in the garden.

    Perhaps I’m too used to Trapattoni being questioned πŸ˜†

    As for fans, total bias. I back Arsenal to the point of delusion.

  106. Irishgunner says:

    YES

  107. Big Raddy says:

    Yes. No question about it. Some of the decisions made in Seoul were beyond belief. Funny though……

  108. Rasputin says:

    Well it looks like the signing of Thomas Vermaelen is all but sorted.

    It’s appropriate that someone with the initials TV should protect ‘the box’

    Raddy – were you a fan of Tom Verlaine? – I’m not excluding you Irish, but he’s well before your time πŸ˜‰

  109. London says:

    Marquee Moon, love it

  110. Rasputin says:

    Hi London, sorry, I should have known you’d be knowledgeable of that era too πŸ˜›

  111. Irishgunner says:

    Haha just as well Rasputin cos I’ve no idea who he is

  112. London says:

    That sounds dire Rasp, this is better

  113. Rasputin says:

    You’re right London – I’ve taken mine off – don’t want to give a bad impression of TV……..

  114. Irishgunner says:

    Melo just scored for Brazil

  115. London says:

    And as if by magic, here is that goal.

    http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/2757623/

  116. Evo in Oz says:

    gday all

    http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/champions-league-who-can-arsenal-face-

    im sure we’ll end up with either:

    Sparta Prague
    Dinamo Bucharest
    Dinamo Moscow

    or celtic

  117. Irishgunner says:

    That’s not too bad Evo. Either of the two Dinamos would be good.

  118. rico01 says:

    Afternoon all

    How did Mellow play Irish – any good ??

  119. rico01 says:

    Should I say, how is he playing, it hasnt finished yet πŸ˜‰

    Evo, any of those would do πŸ˜›

  120. kelsey says:

    Hello Irish and Rico,

    any news i’m up to my neck in dog….. and dog…

    You could say it is difficult when the boss is away.

  121. Irishgunner says:

    3-0 Brazil Rico

    Melo is doing well, scored a good goal, breaking up play here and there and just passing neat close balls.

  122. rico01 says:

    Anyone seen the strange news today, Cissoko (similar) failed a medical to move to AC Milan –

    The reason he failed – Teeth problem causing a muscular disorder !!

    That is true πŸ˜›

  123. Irishgunner says:

    Hi Kelsey,

    No news apart from Melo looking a decent player.

  124. rico01 says:

    Hi kelsey – now you know hard it is for us ladies, every day of the week….

  125. kelsey says:

    I do rico,

    but it is mid thirties here and the humidity is unbearable for me and the poor dogs.Air con on all the time,and they will not eat,but are drinking buckets of water.

  126. rico01 says:

    Irish – lets hope there is a lot of truth about us getting him, he sounds just the ticket..

    Thats not so good kelsey – at least they are drinking plenty, so are you i hope

  127. Irishgunner says:

    Not a great game to judge him on though Rico. The Americans are pretty bad and were over-run in midfield.

    It’d be good to see Brazil play Spain, see what Melo is like against the best midfield in world football.

  128. rico01 says:

    Good point Irish – I forgot who they were playing 😳

    Got to dash again, catch you later

  129. Rasputin says:

    Do you think there is even a small chance we might buy Melo Irish?

  130. Irishgunner says:

    Who knows Rasp.

    He looked decent today. Seems a very game player, willing to the end to work to get the ball. Again as I said it was only America so a bigger test is needed to see how good he is but this was only his sixth cap and he fitted into the Brazil team easily enough.

    All depends on whether Wenger wants to do enough to get him. We need a DM, as good as Song looked towards the end of the season he isn’t good enough.

  131. Irishgunner says:

    Ha ha his passing reminded me of …. Denilson.

  132. Rasputin says:

    You’d think if we bought a Mascarano-type midfielder that we’d have to let one of the ‘promising youngsters’ go – or more likely that they’d want to go in search of regular first team football… somehow I can’t see AW doing that. London may well be right and Vermaelen will be the only big signing of the summer.

  133. Irishgunner says:

    There isn’t much need to do that either.

    Wenger could also go for a Senna-type who has only 1-2 good years left in him and kill two birds with the one stone.

    1) Arsenal get an experienced player that we need now who can fit into the team with ease.

    2) He tells the youngsters whoever they may be, that they will play the Carling Cup and get an odd appearance but X will be the number one choice for the next season or two and you will learn off X etc.

    These youngsters are playing for one of the best clubs in Europe and getting a lot of games and if they don’t want to sit on the bench, play reserves etc then they need a dose of reality.

    Did you hear what Kieran Gibbs said today?

    A young man with his head firmly screwed on.

    “It will be difficult because when you play week-in week-out you get used to it and it would be different coming off the bench again,” Gibbs said.
    “I’m still 19 and he (Clichy) is a world-class left-back. I’ve still got a lot to learn from him and I don’t think it will be too disappointing for me to continue learning from one of the best left-backs in the world.

    “I enjoyed it at Norwich. Would I go again? I would go again if the manager wants me to, if he feels I need more experience before going back in at that level.”

  134. Big Raddy says:

    Good to hear we are after a Brazilian midfielder. And we do need someone who likes a card!!

    Gibbs is just the ticket for us. I would like AW to send him out on loan with a specific role as a left midfielder. Clichy is here to stay, but Gibbs could develop into a more attacking role.

    One thing for sure, if Gibbs continues to develop, we will not be able to keep them both happy.

  135. Rasputin says:

    Great response Irish, and I agree with you Raddy.

    Sorry I can’t stay to debate but I’m off to the cricket nets.

    Catch up later folks.

  136. Irishgunner says:

    BR – I was hoping Wenger would play Gibbs at LM towards the end of last season but that all went up in the air with Clichy’s injury.

    Like the games where he played Diaby out on the left, why not Gibbs who can cross a ball and offer defensive cover too.

  137. rico01 says:

    Oh what a night – now there’s a song πŸ˜‰

    Catch you all tomorrow – stay safe…

  138. Rasputin says:

    Sorry I missed you rico…

    England 2 nil up against Spain…..

  139. Irishgunner says:

    Egypt just beat Italy 1-0.

    The Italians were awful, just awful.

  140. Rasputin says:

    I think we could win this one Irish……

  141. Irishgunner says:

    How has Theo played since he came on Rasputin?

    I heard Gibbs went over on his ankle.

  142. Rasputin says:

    Brilliant play by Walcot on the left wing to set up the second goal.

  143. Irishgunner says:

    Good – They can put that in the newspapers tomorrow πŸ˜€

  144. Rasputin says:

    Here’s the clip of Theos run and cross to Milner

    http://www.101greatgoals.com/videodisplay/2759641/

  145. Irishgunner says:

    Thanks Rasputin.

    He is been lauded as a super-sub on the blog sites.

  146. Irishgunner says:

    Nicely done by Theo – used his speed well.

  147. Rasputin says:

    I guess there’s no-one about… night all πŸ˜‰

  148. peachesgooner says:

    Hey rasp – I’m just in are you still there? Thanks for putting up the clip of Theos assist for one of the goals. What was the final result?

  149. peachesgooner says:

    So, it seems you really have gone……..and I’m off to bed too, nite nite all πŸ˜‰

  150. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters and Roosters…

    TV has made the best possible start to his Arsenal career (to be confirmed today after the medical) with this statement…….

    “When a club like Arsenal knocks at your door, you just go.

    “I am so proud to be signing for Arsenal. They are a fantastic club and I have enjoyed watching them since I was a child.

    “Arsene Wenger stands for good, attacking football and dares to work with young talent. That appeals to me enormously.

    “I’ll be up against the best strikers in the world but I am not scared by that. I will give all my body can give.”

    Arsenal boss Wenger landed his man with a quick phone call.

    Vermaelen said: “I went on holiday to Spain and suddenly a British number appeared on my mobile phone. It was Arsene Wenger.

    “He said he absolutely wanted me and we would talk further as soon as I signed for Arsenal. It was a very short call but I felt the respect.”

  151. Big Raddy says:

    Morning All,

    I am up early to await the plumber.

    Having a gas feed moved 2 feet in our kitchen. Cost:Β£600 for at most an hours work. The world has gone mad !!

    Forget dentistry, plumbing is the way to the big bucks.

  152. Big Raddy says:

    Nice first interview, they train them well at Ajax.

    Theo looked hungry last night and got a great reception from the Swedes.

  153. rico01 says:

    Morning Roadsters

    Raddy, that is silly money, you poor old thing, Β£600 for 2 feet ….. ;)Ok a bit smutty so early in the morning 😳

    Rasp, I read that TV interview, how refreshing is it to hear a player speak about our fine club in such a way – today is the day then, Friday transfers back on the radar πŸ˜›

  154. rico01 says:

    And what a great pass from Theo, after a powerful run, see he can do it – and from the left too πŸ™‚

  155. Rasputin says:

    Morning R n R πŸ˜›

    The sun’s shining, Theo’s showed his class, and from the left wing. It demonstrated exactly what we were saying a few days ago about giving him the ball early and at pace. There were two players in the box waiting to tuck away the cross and in true Arsenal fashion he cut it back to Milner … I wonder how many of our players would have been in the box?

    TV’s passed the introductory statement challenge with flying colours. I don’t care how tall he is, he’s got great attitude and is a fighter.

    Totnum must be nuts not to sign Fraizer Campbel – but I’m glad they haven’t..

  156. Big Raddy says:

    And it is Kelsey’s joke day. Hurrah.

    Have you read about the shenanigans with Formula 1 ? A breakaway championship run by the top teams, including McLaren,Brawn and Ferrari.

    I bring this up because I can see a time in the not too distant future, when we will have a Pan-European League breaking away from domestic leagues. All over Europe the leagues are being won by the same 3/4 teams year after year. The competition is poor,and the revenues low due to poor gates.

    With the CL the top teams get stronger and stronger, the gap widens and the only way to get to the ‘top table’ is by having a sugar-daddy owner (even then it is tough).

    The G14 already exists and wields huge power. They say that they are committed to their domestic leagues, but for how long?

    I haven’t given this too much thought, but it could be a good subject for discussion on a quiet day in summer.

  157. Rasputin says:

    Great minds rico – you got there before me πŸ˜‰

  158. Rasputin says:

    I was thinking the same thing Raddy. There are certainly parallels with the way F1 is heading. AW talked about a European Super League several years ago.

    It’s all about money. Capping the investment of F1 teams obviously negates part of the advantage that the ‘Ferrari’s’ have over the lesser teams – they’re not going to accept that. Ecclestone deserves everything that’s coming his way…

  159. rico01 says:

    Yet again Rasp πŸ˜‰ Love the R & R – just what I need – rest and re’coup’eration πŸ˜‰

    Not a racing fan myself Raddy, but it’s all in a bit of a pickle isn’t it – I heardon 5live this morning that it is expected for all the mess to be sorted out today.. Bit to indepth for me to understand 😦

  160. Rasputin says:

    I was thinking more Rock’n’Roll where you and Raddy are concerned rico πŸ˜†

  161. rico01 says:

    πŸ˜› Rasp

  162. peachesgooner says:

    Morning ‘The Three R’s’

    Shall I change my name – we could have an ‘R’ site πŸ™‚

    I love what TV has said – fancy being on holiday and Arsene Wenger phones and says ‘I want you to come and play for Arsenal’ – how exciting πŸ™‚

  163. peachesgooner says:

    Raddy – The Orange Tree was a cattle market last night – just like the old days 😦 Luckily I was only there for the food πŸ™‚

  164. rico01 says:

    Morning peaches

    Rasp, did you see Pakistan beat South Africa yesterday in 20/20, I thought SA would go on to win..

    And the girls are playing the Aussies today in their semi-final in 20/20 – we may just be giving a bit of stick to George and Evo later πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

    Got to go out for a while guys, catch you later

  165. Rasputin says:

    Morning peaches πŸ™‚

    The 3 R’s … Rock n Roll n Rheumatism?

  166. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – I’ve overcome the challenge that is the Arsenal web-site and have completed the job – do I get a gold star πŸ˜€

  167. Rasputin says:

    Peaches – CL medal for you, red card for me due to my abject failure 😦

  168. peachesgooner says:

    See you late rico πŸ™‚

    I was thinking more of Rico, Raddy and Rasp 😦

  169. peachesgooner says:

    There there rasp – you can’t be marvelous at everything πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

  170. Rasputin says:

    Yes I saw that rico – so if P’stan go on to win, we have the moral victory because we’ve already beaten them πŸ˜•

    Do you remember when the bloody sweaties beat us at Wembley shortly after we won the World cup?

  171. peachesgooner says:

    Did anyone see the game last night – was it good – we don’t play again ’till Monday I think. I’m very pleased that Theo got on the pitch and got an assist. Great positioning from Milner πŸ™‚

  172. peachesgooner says:

    Was it Milner that scored – I typed that and then stopped to think about it……. 😦

  173. Rasputin says:

    Fraizer got the first, Milner the second – assist by Theo

  174. Rasputin says:

    Fraizer = Fraizer Campbel

  175. peachesgooner says:

    Where’s kelsey – not like him to be late about πŸ˜‰

  176. Big Raddy says:

    This could become The R’s Hole !!

    In my day (as you probably know Peaches) I hugely enjoyed the Orange Tree Cattle Market.

  177. Rasputin says:

    Since its joke friday – this is one of the funniest clips I’ve seen in a long while…..keep watching, it gets better as it goes on……

  178. Big Raddy says:

    I was there the day we got beaten by Scotland. It was horrific, the sweaties tore the place up.

    Oh…. it has just brought back a childhood memory. Indulge me….

    After the Scotland game, I was with a couple of friends and we waited around as the stadium emptied,(pre-officious stewards) hoping to pick up some valuable debris – usually a programme, rosette, or if we were very lucky some coins.

    On this day we found a number of full whisky bottles on the terraces after the game …… never having tried whisky, we were all thrilled by this ….. one of us took a swig …. not whisky …. luckily not me !!

  179. Big Raddy says:

    Very funny. Never seen the Apprentice, but would like to

  180. Rasputin says:

    UUggghhhh – sweatie juice 😦

  181. peachesgooner says:

    The R’s Hole – fantastic Raddy πŸ˜›

    I reckon Simon could have given Alan Sugar a run for his money don’t you think Raddy?

    Boys are truly disgusting – yuuuuuuk!!!!!!!!

  182. Big Raddy says:

    Simon and Sugar are very much alike. They even look the same !! Must be in the blood πŸ˜‰

  183. London says:

    Good Morning Calleros

    Peaches, what was the food like at the Orange tree last night?

  184. Irishgunner says:

    Morning all,

    The kittens are growing up, they are on solid food, time soon to fly the coop. Kids grow up so fast these days πŸ˜₯

  185. peachesgooner says:

    Hiya – sorry London had to pop out for a bit.

    I went with a couple of girl-friends and everyone enjoyed their meal. They do a crispy duck salad – I’m sure I’ve told you before – and its my favourite dish. They’re in the process of changing the menu they’d better not drop that!!!!!!! They always have a fabulous scallop dish and really interesting risotto on their specials. They’ve started doing Belgian Frites with a cajun dusting or mayonaise yum. Its good for kids too they have Fish goujons, nice burgers and pizza on the menu.

    Shall I offer to do their PR πŸ™‚

    The Bull and Bush in Hampstead is part of the same chain and a bit closer to you isn’t it. Thats also one of our old haunts!!!!!!!!!!

  186. peachesgooner says:

    Hi Irish – have the kittens decided that you’re not the enemy yet – I think I’ve missed a few days……

  187. Irishgunner says:

    Hi Peaches,

    They are a bit odd are those kittens.

    They spit and hiss at me yet they let me rub them and were all about me this morning when I gave them food but yet continued to hiss at me πŸ˜•

    Oh, and we have a bully in the pack. The little black kitten has decided that everything is his, he actually put his paws around the food to stop the other getting at it.

  188. Evo in Oz says:

    gday all, how goes it?

  189. Evo in Oz says:

    So its 2pm GMT and no Vermaelen signing yet, but i guess these things take time and never go according to plan hey?

  190. Irishgunner says:

    I thought Vermaelen news would be out by now?

    Maybe he’s a looper and the medical was all in his head πŸ˜•

  191. peachesgooner says:

    Hi Evo

    Just had a scroll through NN and theres nothing about TV at all 😦 Who said he was having a medical today, was that official?

    Irish – what are you going to do with the kittens – can you find them homes if they’re a bit on the wild side

  192. Irishgunner says:

    I thought it was TV himself that said he was flying in on Friday for a medical although I don’t think he said what Friday haha

    I think we have a home for the kittens, all three are going together, not 100% certain.

    They are still young enough to be tamed.

    We gave away a kitten to a farmer about 3/4 years ago. She was a complete nutjob, she’d hiss and spit and try and scratch you if you came near her, but the farmer said she’d be good to catch mice so took her and another one.

    Now she wears a red collar and has her own chair in the house.

    They can tame to a degree – our youngest cat decided last week that she now likes to be petted. Up to then she’d run away.

    Cats are odd.

  193. peachesgooner says:

    I’m really not a cat person – my neighbour breeds Burmese Blues in her garage!!!! and they are always all over the place – they hiss and spit at me and then try to please me by leaving dead mice or voles on my front door step.

    Cats are odd πŸ˜€

  194. Irishgunner says:

    The dead mice are presents – my cats do it all the time, they expect a treat (and they always get one πŸ˜€ ).

    My cats aren’t posh or bread. The oldest is a feral cat and all but two have spawned from her, but they are great each in their own way and I wouldn’t swap them for the world – but I don’t want anymore ha ha.

    Whisper it but I called one “Ade” after a certain footballer 😳

  195. Irishgunner says:

    *Correction all but three, one of my cats is a catnapper but that’s a whole other story

    (I’m talking to myself)

  196. Rasputin says:

    Vermaelen is and Arsenal player – official ……

  197. Irishgunner says:

    Vermaelen confirmed

  198. Rasputin says:

    Hi Irish…..

    That’s excellent news, I have high hopes for him. The more I read, the more I like him.

  199. rico01 says:

    Woop Woop – The new TV is off the shelf and in our back room πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Even AFC.com have confirmed it, right then, who is next…..

    Afternoon fellow happy chappies πŸ™‚

  200. Irishgunner says:

    I really like the way he’s talking. He seems to happy to be at the Arsenal – and so he should πŸ˜€

  201. rico01 says:

    NEW POST – cheated again πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

