Why, oh why, did we sign Bishcoff?

The answer is very simple; you have to speculate to accumulate. As a very young man, Bischoff was a highly rated talent, something that Wenger was well aware of. Shortly after signing for Werder Bremen he received a career threatening injury and the club didn’t know what to do with him. Wenger leapt on the opportunity to pick up such a potential talent for free. Upon signing him, he, very honestly in my opinion, announced in a press statement that the signing was a gamble. A gamble that, as far as I can see, had three possible outcomes:

1  The most ideal would have been that Bischoff turned out to be a very good player and a valuable asset to the squad.

2  Next in order of importance, he could have been good enough to sell at a healthy profit. It is easily forgotten that Arsenal view their youth system as an important income stream and any profit made continues to finance the system.

3  And this seems to me to be what is happening, having not made the grade Arsenal are helping him get another club more suitable to his level.

You may ask, what was the point? To which, my guess would be this: many potentially great players get unfortunate injuries at a young age and are discarded by their clubs. By helping Bischoff, Arsenal sent a message to all the fathers of these unfortunate players that Arsenal is a club that will do the right thing if they take a risk with one of them. Bischoff has turned out to be a waste of time but the next one might be a Maradonna, ridiculous I hear you cry to which I would say once again:

You have to speculate to accumulate.

205 Responses to Why, oh why, did we sign Bishcoff?

  1. London says:

    Ohhh, and by the way, I forgot to say, I would have played Jack Wishire last night rather than Beckham. It was the perfect opportunity to give the best midfield talent that exists in this country some valuable experience.

  2. Rasputin says:

    Good post -interesting points for discussion London.

    The only thing I would say is that if we wanted to have a chance for your option 2, the gamble should have been a bit more adventurous and we should have offered him a 3 year contract – who knows, maybe PSG would have paid us 500K for him instead of leaving on a free…

  3. peachesgooner says:

    Blimey London did I inspire you to write that post…….how cool 😆

    You’re right, Arsene did say it was a gamble signing him and it could’ve paid off…….

    I now have a picture in my mind of a line of crocked players and their fathers arriving at the training ground stretching for miles……… 😀

  4. Rasputin says:

    I’d rather he would have gambled on the extra £2m to get Alonso ….. but no-one will ever know if that version of the saga is true I suppose ….

  5. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Howdy all, is this a Real Madrid free site 🙂

  6. Rasputin says:

    London, do you know why AW withdrew LJ from the ‘limelight’ for us this season? I know he had a dip in form and Arsene put him back in the reserves to experience regular football. It may be that psychologically, putting him on the big stage so young was having a detrimental effect on his development … in which case, AW wouldn’t have been too pleased to see him playing last night.

  7. London says:

    Rasp

    I, of course, see your point. I think if he had shown more talent the club would have signed him on a longer contract but I reckon they knew pretty quickly that we didn’t have the next Maradonna.

    All that is happening now is that the club are trying to salvage anything they can and the only thing that I can see worth salvaging is the benevolent message it sends out to the father whose son is the next Maradonna. The mesage being: sign your son to Arsenal we will take care of him if things don’t pan out as planned. I believe you have a son, you understand this.

  8. London says:

    Rasp

    I’m sure you realised that my LJW comment was said with a pinch of salt.

    But it is an intersting idea don’t you think?

  9. peachesgooner says:

    gnarley – I saw that 😛

  10. London says:

    Rasputin

    I have suddenly realised, I reckon Wenger would have loved the idea of Wilshire playing last night. Wenger was instrumental in persuading Erickson to take Walcott to the world cup; he knew that the experience would be extremely valuable, which is the same reason that I think Wenger would have been very positive about Wilshire playing last night.

  11. London says:

    Wilshire for England

  12. peachesgooner says:

    The thing about LJ is that hes very talented. I watched him play at the Emirates and Barnet last season – what seemed to work for Cesc when he was so young just didn’t work for LJ.

    Cesc – at a young age – was put into a team of very experienced players who I’m sure were aware af his talent and wanted to help and guide him, on the other hand LJ didn’t have that kind of protection when he was thrust into the first team.

    Am I just being a mummy there?

  13. peachesgooner says:

    London – theres no doubt in my mind that Wilshire will be a big star for Arsenal and for England.

    I bet that Wilshire will also be in the squad for the World Cup finals next year……raddy’s already offered my house so I’m on a hiding to nothing now…. 🙂

  14. Rasputin says:

    I am proud of the club when we ‘do the right thing’ by a player, we have always displayed great integrity. As we’ve said before, loyalty is a two-way street. The report says that Arsenal have helped Bischoff to make the move. Although I would have liked to see fitting replacements already in place, I did like the way the club treated the likes of TH and Gilberto when they had been great servants to the club. The trouble is that all this ’emotional stuff’ flies in the face of the harsh economic realitys of running a football club.

  15. Wonderboy says:

    I think Little Jack should find some irish heritage and play for Norn Iron!

  16. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Wilshire for England World Cup would be of more value than Beckham IMO.Wilshire would be there for his development, whereas Beckham would be there for his ego.

  17. Rasputin says:

    realitys = realities 😳

  18. Rasputin says:

    Hi GG9,

    I’m a big fan of LJ – but he isn’t even in the under 21 squad – I don’t think he could leapfrog that straight into the national side.

  19. peachesgooner says:

    Beckham should be there – it will be the last time he features as an England player – he has been a great servant to the England team.

    Wilshire will have many tournaments to look forward to and theres no doubt he’ll play in them. Beckham deserves one more…….I’ll start a petition 😉

  20. Irishgunner says:

    Morning all,

    1) Boring match last night zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

    2) The only reason anyone should care about the Ronaldo deal is that the Manc scum might buy Benzema 😥

  21. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – Walcott did, with Arsenes help I reckon LJ will too……hopefully for more than the experience

  22. peachesgooner says:

    Poor you Irish, waking up to that news…….at least he’ll be playing in the premiership – not much consolation I know 😦

    Theres talk that Tevez will get a proper deal now.

  23. London says:

    Rasp

    Yep, what you say make sense but I reckon the club only allow the emotional stuff to surface if there are no hard economics to be had.

    Gilberto left because they were happy for him to leave, Henry left because they were happy for him to leave. Bischoff for the same reason and slightly more controversially I think they did they same with Flamini.

    When they want a player under contract they do it (Fabregas) and when they don’t, they don’t.

  24. peachesgooner says:

    Also, I read somewhere that Milan and Wolfsburg are having trouble making a deal over Dzeko…….fingers crossed 😉

  25. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    peaches

    Beckham being there coz he has been a great servant is a nice gesture, but what is more important, Beckham or having the right squad to win the whole thing. Sentiment counts for zero when a trophy is up for grabs IMO. But your intentions are honourable for DB 🙂

  26. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Peaches, Is it over the amount Milan want to pay or because The Arsenal may be a better offer.Hope

  27. London says:

    Peaches

    Yes you are my inspiration; it is just a short one day post, hopefully someone will come up with something else tomorrow.

    The idea of a long line of injured players out side the Emirates on crutches or in wheel chairs accompanied by their fathers made me laugh.

  28. Rasputin says:

    Peaches – was that whole Theo in world cup squad at 17 saga a good thing for him do you think? He never got on the pitch in the World cup and a lot of people criticised him instead of the muppet (Sven) who selected him and then didn’t play him – EE could empathise …..

  29. London says:

    gnarley

    I haven’t been over there this morning….pay for who?

  30. Irishgunner says:

    I rather they kept Tevez than got Benzema.

    A better idea all round would be for them to pay back some of the large debt they owe. Be a more responsible club like us 😀

  31. Rasputin says:

    The good news about the big clubs taking their pick of the over-inflated players is that we may get interest in Ade sooner rather than later and perhaps think of replacing him with Dzeko or spending the money on Veloso.

  32. Irishgunner says:

    A fight over Beckham in the England squad I see.

    From an Irish person and thus impartial, I would take Beckham to South Africa as a squad player as he offers something no one else really can with his excellent passing and free-kicks, plus he has experience.

    I watched the game last night and this may be unpopular but Beckham and Rooney really seemed to watch out for Walcott, giving him a slap on the back and trying to get him involved in play.

    Gerrard and Lampard didn’t offer him any help, just had big thick ugly heads on them when he misplaced a pass.

  33. peachesgooner says:

    gnarley – It must be cos they’re waiting for us to make a better offer……..oops flying pigs 🙂

    Maybe Dzeko wants to come to us – I’ll really love him if he does 😆

    London – me too 😛

  34. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    London re Dzeko deal, as per peaches comment

  35. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – I think it was pointless for Theo to be in the squad and not be picked to play at all. If LJ plays for the Arsenal first team and Capello wants to select him and play him then that would be amazing……

  36. avenell says:

    Mrs Ave here, sorry wonderboy you went into moderation again! Ave is busy outside today, and I just noticed it.
    Be free!!

  37. Big Raddy says:

    I like the idea of AFC being a benevolent club. It upholds the worthy traditions of AFC as being above the tawdry goings on in other clubs.

    We are THE Arsenal. It isn’t The United, or The Liverpool or The Barca or even The Real Madrid.

    No, we got the ‘THE’ because we represent the forces of good, whereas United are the men in the Black hats…

    Peaches. If I lose the bet and you are homeless, there is always a place abroad for you…. But Capello, being a right minded fellow, will definitely include Becks in his squad.

  38. peachesgooner says:

    Thanks raddy 😀

  39. peachesgooner says:

    Some inspired thoughts from the mouth of kelsey…..

    Maybe Bergkamp is responsible for our wanting to buy Vermaelen – Ajax connection……..?

  40. Irishgunner says:

    This is a bit off kilter but watch out for the adverts on Sky for the new Ross Kemp on Pirates series – the pirates have a boat called “Eboue 27” 8)

  41. Rasputin says:

    Hi Irish,

    Poor old EE, he’s getting blamed for everything 😦

    Ireland’s a big place so I don’t know why I’m asking this, but are you muckers with Arseblog (oleole)?

  42. Wonderboy says:

    Hi thanks, my fault, i misselt my email address.

  43. Wonderboy says:

    Christ, i misspelled misspelt.

  44. Rasputin says:

    Did anyone listen to David (com)Pleat(w*****r’s) commentary last night. He’s got a brain like an amoeba…. no that’s an insult to amoebae. He said Theos shot lacked conviction, when it was heading for the bottom corner and Crouch decided to defend for poor old Andorra…….

  45. Big Raddy says:

    What would one expect from an ex-Sp*d ?

    Do you recall the halcyon days of blow-up women floating around the North Bank? 😀

  46. Rasputin says:

    I quite liked the blow up FA cups too 😕

  47. Irishgunner says:

    Hi Rasputin,

    Don’t know Arseblogger at all, he is from Dublin and I’m from Limerick. I don’t actually think anyone knows who is is do they? Does he not hide his identity or am I not with the times?

    I think the “Eboue 27” is a compliment to him, that they are his fans 🙂

  48. Rasputin says:

    Wonderboy … I’m confused… how come your avatar is Eric Morecambe elsewhere and AFC on here?

  49. Rasputin says:

    Sorry rico,

    It looks like the chavs have made a bid for David Villa 😦

  50. kelsey says:

    update,
    villa has rejected chelsea and is wanted by guess who, real madrid, as per sky sports.

  51. Rasputin says:

    …. and Cesc too if the reports are to be believed kelsey…

    If they don’t win La Liga and the CL after this – heads will roll at MAD-rid

  52. Irishgunner says:

    Alonso will go to Madrid not Cesc imo

  53. kelsey says:

    hartlepool have made an undisclosed bid for ade 🙂

  54. kelsey says:

    Actually this is the first time I can remember a player wanting to leave united,as opposed to being made redundant by fergie, so any replacement will now cost them more.

  55. Irishgunner says:

    😆

  56. Rasputin says:

    They seem to be targetting younger players Irish (Villa is the oldest at 27), but I hope you’re correct.

    The power base of world football seems to be returning to Spain. I wonder how much they would have paid for these players if it hadn’t been for the chavs/citeh billionnaires?

  57. Irishgunner says:

    Fabregas to United 🙄

  58. kelsey says:

    just read that irish,
    i suppose the tabloids will have a field day with every possible player linked to united.

    it’s a public holiday here today,so the announcement about ronaldo came from united.

  59. Irishgunner says:

    I would only worry about Cesc and Barcelona to be honest.

    On the players, I was talking with another guy this morning and if the transfer window shut now all these would be in La Liga: Kaka, Ronaldo, Iniesta, Xavi, Eto’o, Messi, Henry, Villa, Silva 😯

  60. kelsey says:

    luvely jubbly, all the greatest players on my doorstep,well nearly.real madrid are my second team now.

  61. kelsey says:

    cesc to barcelona is inevitable just when it happens is unsure.

  62. Irishgunner says:

    I think the whole story broke on United’s webpage Kelsey, I heard about it at about 11 I think

  63. Irishgunner says:

    I don’t like Real Madrid – I used to pretend to support Athletico as a statement 😆

  64. kelsey says:

    funny the topic today “was why did we sign bischoff” 😉 a bit immaterial now,sorry peaches wherever you are.

  65. Rasputin says:

    Cesc has signed a long term contract, I’m sure he would only leave if he knew that Arsenal were going to get a pile of money for him, so maybe two more seasons possibly… about the time AW’s contract runs out :8

  66. kelsey says:

    my friends at BWIN are smiling from ear to ear,they only just renewed their shirt sponsorship deal with RM, in May. I would say that was good timing.

  67. kelsey says:

    Ras,

    I make you right.Barca don’t need him yet.2 years is how I see it.

  68. Irishgunner says:

    Ronaldo, Nike’s golden boy at Real Madrid, Adidas’ team of Kings….

  69. Rasputin says:

    Irish / kelsey …. from RTE Sport ….

    Arsenal captain Cesc Fabregas has no intention of following Cristiano Ronaldo to Spain or moving anywhere else as he targets Champions League glory with the Gunners.

    The 22-year-old is no stranger to speculation over his own future, having broken into the Arsenal first-team while still a teenager.
    However, the former Barcelona youth player firmly believes he can achieve all of his club ambitions at the Emirates Stadium, where he is the heartbeat of Arsene Wenger’s young side.

    ‘Of course I see my future at Arsenal. I have a very long contract with the club,’ Fabregas said in an interview with Arsenal TV Online, which was conducted before today’s official announcement on Ronaldo’s impending £80million move from Manchester United to Real Madrid.

  70. Rasputin says:

    Ronaldo’s not worth £30m more than Kaka … I’d rather have Kaka any day …..

  71. Irishgunner says:

    I believe RTE they are Irish 😉

    I have little worry that Cesc will leave this summer and after that it all depends on the direction of the club imo

  72. kelsey says:

    You wouldn’t expect Cesc to say anything else really, but I feel he is loyal to the club and especially AW..

    I watched the Paul Merson interview with Bob Wilson on Arsenal TV early last night,you may have seen it before,but it was riveting viewing.

    He was a chelsea fan, was just about to sign for watford but his dad convinced him to sign for arsenal(Merson thought he wasn’t good enough for us.)

    He explained that GG stood by him through his drink,alcohol betting and drug problem, and he said if he earned the money the players earn today he would blow the lot on the horses.

  73. Rasputin says:

    I’m just off on my way to cricket nets … I’ll read your ‘pearls’ when I get back Irish … laters all…

  74. Irishgunner says:

    Cheer Reaputin – enjoy your evening 🙂

  75. kelsey says:

    Eboue Captain ??????????????????????????

    Nice article but so hard to predict at this time of year.

    I think you should have your own site 😉

  76. Irishgunner says:

    Ha ha Deepak the other Gunner I mentioned in the article said the exact same thing “Eboue Captain” and I say to you what I said to him – Eboue is the oldest and the only real Senior member in my team so I felt sorry for him and made him Captain 🙂

    I think so too, my immense talents are been wasted 😆 why The Daily Mirror haven’t me signed up yet I don’t know 🙂

  77. JonJon says:

    evening guys..

    good post london…very thought provoking…id like to add a number 4 to it if i may..that wenger had no choice to get a freebie because he wanted another midfielder to make up the numbers he lost but had no money or time becuase adebayorgate took all his time and most of his kitty!!!!

    with all this ‘spending’ madrid is doing id like to find out 2 things

    1..where the hell are they getting there money from..

    2…where are platini and blatter now…if this isnt a classic case of trying to monopolise something then i dont know what is…or is it because madrid dont play in the PL???

    pricks

  78. London says:

    Evening Jonjon

    Do you really believe that Wenger expected Bischoff to play serious midfield role this season?

    I’m not sure I do but I do agree with the sentiment of the last word and who it was aimed at 😉

  79. JonJon says:

    not play a serious role london…rather appease the fans a little…4 players out, but its ok guys, look ive brought 4 players in..we’ll be ok..our squad is ready… 😉

  80. London says:

    Wow, Jonjon, I don’t know what to say, I am lost for words. It sounds so hard supporting Arsenal your way.

    Have you ever seen the processions that take place all over Spain at Easter? What it involves is about 12 men carrying a really heavy platform with the Virgin Mary sitting on it, while other men walk beside it, bare backed whipping themselves until they bleed. I am told that they are suffering for their love.

    Mean while, I’m sitting on a beach, sun blazing with a cold drink in my hand believing that we are going to win the Champions League next season.

  81. peachesgooner says:

    Hello London

    You’re a lucky bunny sat on a beach – where are you if you don’t mind me asking 😉

  82. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    evo

    whats up me old Double C mate (Celtic & Carlton). Can you please get yourself back on here, etc for moral support, I can’t take all these poms on during The Ashes on my own.

  83. London says:

    I’m not really on a beach, well, perhaps a metaphorical beach but certainly not a real one.
    I was just trying to create two humorous images as a means of showing different ways of supporting Arsenal.

  84. Rasputin says:

    Morning Raindrops,

    Today’s story is through the arched window…..

    “Kolo Toure is pondering his Arsenal future after strong interest from Manchester City.

    Last night a source close to the centre-back revealed it was ‘50-50’ whether he stayed or went north.
    The Gunners would want around £15m.”

  85. Rasputin says:

    I’ve just read Irish’s latest article in the Bleacher Report speculating on the possible make-up of next season’s CC side, a midfield comprising:

    Wilshere…Coquelin….Ramsey…Merida

    is a really exciting prospect. If those boys keep improving, they would be an awesome unit in 2 or 3 years…….

  86. London says:

    Morning folks

    I certainly agree with that…a very juicy midfield prospect.

  87. kelsey says:

    Morning all,
    more speculation about Gallas and Toure.I have stated before that I would like them both to stay but if either is going we must replace with players that are as good as Kolo and Willie were in their prime,otherwise the squad just gets weaker as I have no real confidence in Djorou or Senderos filling the void.

    Where is Mrs.Kew Gardens today,

  88. kelsey says:

    JonJon,
    in answer to your question last night,

    Good Morning all.

    I have made some inquiries about the funding of Kaka and Ronaldo to RM. 80% of the money is being lent on a 24 to 36 monthh loan by Banco Santander who not only are the biggest bank in Spain,but also the biggest company,and with the real estate business nearly being redundant at the moment the banks are more than willing to lend.The forecast that over a period of 3 years the combined purchase of the two players will be offset and tripled in replica shirt sales.

  89. Rasputin says:

    Morning London & kelsey,

    A good friend who speaks to a top agent reports that there will be a lot of transfer activity next week, although that doesn’t imply it will involve Arsenal. I think the purchase of Vermaelen will be announced soon, but the Ade saga could run and run 😦

    It is reported that citeh have made a £15m bid for RSC, which is disappointing since Dzeko is not coming and he would be a good replacement for Ade if Le Boss even thinks he needs replacing?

  90. Big Raddy says:

    Morning.

    If I were a football agent, I would make damn sure that my client got a hefty return on merchandising and endorsements. Following Becks huge shirt sales, Kaka & Ronaldo must be on a large percentage. So …. I don’t go with the replica shirts argument.

    Irish. That midfield looks fantastic, add in the other’kids’ Cesc,Denilson and Nasri, and we have potential World Domination.

    It has been raining here for 24 hrs. We had planned to take a w/e tour of Danish Islands but the ferries have been cancelled due to high winds. Don’t tell me, Kelsey – it is too hot to go outside today !!

  91. JonJon says:

    morning all..

    thanks kelsey..thats interesting…but what about wages???

    ive read that ronaldo will be on a silly amount of cash a week, which in turn will rise by 25% each season…in two years time he’ll be earning 500k a week!!!!! i dont think shirt sales will make that back….ive read that perez is the 3rd richest man in spain…which suggests they are being bankrolled

    london..that was a great anology..i guess my love for the club does burden me, but i like to throw a spanner in the works with my conspiracy theories…if im right then im right, if im wrong i could of been right, so im still right whether im right or wrong 😆

    and that is a very juicy CC midfield..but id prefer to see a 1st team midfield with more juicyness.. 😉

  92. kelsey says:

    Raddy,

    it was proved that the beckham replica shirt sales wiped out his cost(I think 23million) in one year.

    I will not tell you it’s too hot here Raddy.

    Watch the bank shares. 😉

  93. peachesgooner says:

    London – I love that beach too 😀

    Morning all

    I’m off to Greenwich to move my small one out of his uni flat. Catch up later.

    Play nicely please 😆 😆 😆

  94. London says:

    Big Raddy

    The replica kit thing seems solid to me. The merchandising rights, along with wages, are negotiated as a part of the initial signing agreement.

    Real Madrid are able to pay high wages because they only pay a small merchandising royalty. I read that when Beckham signed he agreed to receive just 25% of the merchandising income; apparently, he tried to increase it to 50% when his contract came up for renewal. I don’t know if he was successful.

    I agree with kelsey’s comment as to why and where the money is coming from.

  95. London says:

    Peaches

    Have you ever seen the film Madagascar, the first not the second?

  96. rico01 says:

    Morning All

    What a quiet day footie wise 😦

  97. Irishgunner says:

    Morning all,

    Thanks for reading the CC article – sweetness if we can keep Cesc and Nasri and combine them with Coquelin, Ramsey, Merida and Wilshere in years to come.

    As for the Real Madrid-Ronaldo deal, I heard from a Manc that Madrid wanted the deal to go through so much that they will pay United the £80mil over just two installements, £40mil now and £40mil by Christmas – how true that is I don’t know though.

  98. London says:

    I always thought it was common practice for transfers to be paid in installments.

  99. JonJon says:

    how long did it take madrid to pay us for anelka

  100. Irishgunner says:

    Normally longer installments than that though particularly for a deal of that magnitude.

    Normally there are adds-on: say the deal is £20mil but you’d get £10mil up front, then another £5mil if he makes X amount of appearances and then another £5mil if the club win a trophy.

    With Ronaldo there is no conditions, £80mil and thats it and as Jon-Jon hinted at – Madrid aren’t the best in the world for paying up apparently.

  101. kelsey says:

    JonJon, it was meant to be 4 million a year for 4 years and the balance in the 5th year.They got behind,were in debt for 350 million and somehow sold their training ground for 400 million.

    I expect as this Ronaldo deal was earmarked months before it became public that with the explanation I gave earlier,it will be quite a quick payment.

    The interesting thing is that United have 30 million to spend before this deal took place, so will they spend all 110 million or will some go back to pay off some of the debt.

    What’s frightening is that we found to compete the last two years and now United,City and Chelsea will pay riduculous amounts to secure the very few of the best that they target.I will omit Liverpool as they are in a real financial mess.

  102. kelsey says:

    found it hard to compete ….

  103. rico01 says:

    Afternoon all, I still can’t believe that any one player, let alone the greasy winker is worth such an amount of money, and in this day when so many people are struggling to keep theirs heads just above the water I think the whole football transfer market is a disgrace… 😦

  104. rico01 says:

    Oh, and still moaning – doesnt it make you realise just how good a manager AW has been with so little money to spend!!

    A nice place somewhere between the two though would be a lot better 😉

  105. rico01 says:

    Rumours are back that Madrid now want Clichy – I say tell Madrid 30M plus Huntelaar 😉

  106. rico01 says:

    Fabianski has signed a new contract, does this mean the ‘in house’ stuff is getting sorted first??

  107. London says:

    Rico

    Yes, Yes, Yes……this situation was anticipated about five years ago and is the reason that the youth project was got underway as early as it was. The only shame is that we haven’t picked up even the smallest piece of silver ware. But from my view on the beach I believe that that will be rectified sooner rather than later.

  108. Rasputin says:

    3/10 on the bullshitometer

    “Paris St Germain defender Mamadou Sakho could join either Arsenal or Bayern Munich, according to the player’s agent.

    Sakho has been linked with a move to the Gunners, with reports claiming scout Gilles Grimandi has been casting an eye over his displays.”

  109. Rasputin says:

    4/10 on the bullshitometer

    “Inter Milan coach Jose Mourinho has submitted a £25 million bid for Robin van Persie.

    Van Persie is currently on international duty with Holland and has two years remaining on his contract with Arsenal, but talks of an extension have continued stalled.

    Van Persie’s apprehensions in signing an extension is understood to be because our silverware drought has reached 4 years and also that Wenger has not given clear assurances of world class signings, to help the club challenge Manchester United and Chelsea next season.”

  110. kelsey says:

    Rasputin Hi,

    I did tell you 4 weeks ago that RVP was leaving his options open.

    I sometimes wonder what these players expect.They get mind blowing wages for what is meant to be the highest grade talent in football, and then blame others if they don’t win silverware.

  111. Rasputin says:

    Hi kelsey – park keeper here … 🙂

    I know I’m being naive and ‘romanticising’ players, but my first criterion would always be ‘do they want to play for us?’

    Do you think £25m for RVP would be in proportion to the money paid for Kaka/ronaldo?

  112. Irishgunner says:

    I’d be disappointed if RvP left – club stuck by him through all the injuries.

  113. Rasputin says:

    Hi Irish,

    I enjoyed your Bleacher article. Don’t start on the loyalty debate again 😆 but I agree with you about RVP. I wouldd say it is no beter than 50:50 that he will stay at the moment.

    I’m off to prepare the cricket pitch for tomorrow… catch up later

  114. Irishgunner says:

    Enjoy your evening Rasputin 🙂

  115. kelsey says:

    do you actually like footie ras, you are always playing or watching cricket in your park, anyway have a nice night.

    Irish, too many naughty jokes for my age 😉 ooops wrong channel.

    RVP should be given an ultimatum,I think he’s one of our best on his day, but this dragging out contract extensions doesn’t bode well with me.

  116. Irishgunner says:

    The youth of today and their filthy minds Kelsey tsk tsk 😉

    Agree with you totally on RvP, he still has two years left on his contract but he should be told to sign up soon to commit to us.

  117. London says:

    I don’t think you are being naive or romanticising players, “Do they want to play for us” seems a very practical criterion. That is why the signing of Vermealen makes so much sense. It is a natural step up for him; he won’t secretly think he should be playing for Barcelona, the result being that he will happy in the red and white of Arsenal. I reckon that they will announce his signing when all the fuss has quietened down. We still have the David Villa fanfare to come yet though.

    If the bullshitometer works in such a way that the higher the score the more likely it is of being bull shit then I would give the RVP story 3/10 and the reason put out that he is unhappy i.e. lack of silverware 8/10.

  118. Rasputin says:

    Kelsey – I live for footie (well Arsenal football anyway), but I still play cricket competitively, tennis and cycling for fun, and football with my boys in the garden which is an extra half acre I bought off the farmer.

    You’re right London, I should have calibrated the AR bullshitometer. Let’s say that the lower the score, the greater the b/s element and the higher the score, tyhe more likely it is to be true … or the convers if you prefer 😆

  119. peachesgooner says:

    Hey rasp – did you get your pitch cut and rolled ready for tomorrow 🙂

  120. Big Raddy says:

    Still raining ….. 36 hrs straight. Reedikulus

  121. London says:

    Rasp

    My suggestion would be 10/10 is absolute unadulterated bullshit.

  122. Rasputin says:

    OK London, 10 = total rubbish, 1 = near cert then 😉

    The pitch is as flat as a maiden’s tummy peaches….. 😛

  123. peachesgooner says:

    Poor you raddy 😦 any sign of it letting up……

    rasp – no bobbles then 😛

    London – my son assures me I’ve seen most of Madagasgar just not all in one go…….group of animals stranded on a desert island…..no baddies…..and the penguins are the heroes 😀

  124. peachesgooner says:

    Avenell – any chance you might like to blog with us on your site 🙂

  125. Rasputin says:

    Toy Story 2 is one of my favourite films and the music to The Lion King was great too. The opening and closing sequences in Ice Age with the squirrel and the nut are also hilarious.

    Avenell …. have you fallen down a tin mine? 🙂

  126. peachesgooner says:

    Sorry rasp – the original Toy Story is much better that Toy Story 2 – the plot in 2 is so unbelievable, the boy would never go away and leave Woody at home and the mum would never have a yard sale and put the boys favourite toys in……. 😦

    Agree about the squirrel and the nut in Ice Age though….

    We absolutely loved the Lion King in my house – my son wanted to be Simba for a long long time…. 🙂

  127. peachesgooner says:

    …….and the singing daughter just wanted to be Belle in Beauty and the Beast whereas the no 1 daughter wanted to be either Cruella de Ville or Maleficent in Sleeping Beauty…….she a bit feisty 😛

  128. Rasputin says:

    I thought Beauty and the Beast was rubbish…. and that’s OK you are allowed ot be wrong and rate TS1 better then TS2 80

  129. peachesgooner says:

    As a mummy I had to watch Disney fims hundreds and hundreds of times – I’m sure I’m a world authority on late 80’s and early 90’s Disney…….I could be relied on to recite huge passages of The Lion King dialogue………and The Little Mermaid…….

  130. peachesgooner says:

    The Little Mermaid……..Ursula what a witch!!!!!!

    The singing daughter actually looked like Belle in Beauty and the Beast when the film was released so of course we were obsessed with it. I had a friend who went to the states and bought the videos which we managed to get copied – very naughty………

    Whats your favourite ever childrens film – the one that you won’t mind your grandchildren wanting to watch over and over again once you’ve introduced it to them……..

  131. London says:

    Good Peaches

    Do you remember the scene in Madagascar when the Lion, Alex builds a camp on the beach that is a bit depressing and next to it the Zebra builds this really cool tiki bar. The idea made me laugh when I was thinking of the different ways of supporting Arsenal.

    Toy Story 1…..best childrens film ever.

  132. London says:

    Jonjon’s got a good sense of humour so I am sure he won’t mind me saying that I pictured him as Alex the Lion. Lol

  133. London says:

    Night night

  134. JonJon says:

    hahaha..london no i dont mind mate.. you know me well enough by now… 😉

    the lion the witch and the wardrobe was my film when i was a kid…loved it..used to watch it over and over again…and i loved the lion king when i grew up…if i ever did grow up.. 😉

  135. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    Sorry London, I switched off before your comments came on – good analogy, its the glass half full scenario isn’t it…….

    JonJon – blogging at 2.22am…….does that mean it was a good evening or a rubbish evening 😉

    I’m off out being a Garden Designer for a while, see you laters…. 😆

  136. Rasputin says:

    Morning Drainrods,

    Todays story is through the round window…..

    Actually, this one is gaining momentum and scores a 4/10 on the bullshitometer (this means only 40% b/s according to London’s clarification) 😉

    “Arsenal are in talks about signing Paris Saint-Germain defender Mamadou Sakho.

    Arsene Wenger began rebuilding the Gunners’ shaky backline last weekend by snapping up £11million Ajax defender Thomas Vermaelen.

    Now the Arsenal boss wants Sakho, one of the most exciting young talents in Europe. The powerful 19-year-old has also been linked with Barcelona and Bayern Munich but Arsenal are determined not to be outbid after rave reviews from their scout Gilles Grimandi.

    Sakho’s agent Tim Hager said last night: “Mamadou will be changing clubs this summer. He wants to play football in England and Arsenal are a good club.”

  137. rico01 says:

    Good Morning Roadsters

    Some good news

    Susan Boyle wows Britain’s Got Talent fans

    She took to the stage at the Birmingham National Indoor Arena to belt out I Dreamed A Dream and Memory from the musicals Les Miserables and Cats.

    The triumphant performance followed a day of doubts as to whether the troubled singer would perform.

    The 48-year-old church volunteer, who shot to fame in the ITV1 reality television talent contest, blew a kiss to fans, who screamed and whistled in appreciation.

    She was introduced to the stage by ITV2’s Britain’s Got More Talent presenter Stephen Mulhern, who said: “She’s so famous even her pet cat Pebbles is famous.”

    He joked that Pebbles was not able to make the show tonight because she was in Las Vegas.

  138. Big Raddy says:

    Best kids film? The Jungle Book

    Sakho: Another 19y.o. coming to THOF or an agent angling for a deal?

  139. rico01 says:

    My first film was Chitty Chitty Bang Bang I think 😉

    But Jungle Book – Different Class 🙂

    That Sakho rumour seems to have gathered pace this morning, have we signed that Thomas with the long surname yet, or is it another Nasri saga

  140. Rasputin says:

    Hi rico …. fine reporting from our Boyle correspondent…… Have you ever seen that brain-dead ventriloquists puppet David Hasselhoff on America’s got talent? … he goes off the scale in cringe-factor…..

    I agree Jungle Book was the best, Snow White was the scariest, and Dopey, my favourite Disney character…..

  141. rico01 says:

    Hello Rasp, I haven’t seen the American one, Hasselhoff is a sick man I think, hasn’t he been in and out of rehab, I think I saw some awful footage of him in a bad way.. He has been given so much help in order to get well again, I hope he does this time for good – I just cant seem to watch Knight Rider and have the same view on him 😉

    Dumbo for me 😉

  142. Rasputin says:

    The young guns continue to strengthen …….

    “Liam Brady and his Arsenal Academy coaching staff saw the fruits of their labour paraded earlier in the week as the club had their annual photo shoot for the latest batch of scholars.

    The majority of the boys are quickly becoming regulars in Steve Bould’s Under 18’s, and you’re all but certain to see some of them in Neil Banfield’s Reserves next season. They will also lead the charge to retain the F.A Youth Cup. So who are the seven new boys?

    Summer 2008 signings Oğuzhan Özyakup and Ignasi Miquel are two of the most well known and obvious names. Özyakup, who captains Holland’s Under 17’s, had a slow start to life with the Gunners but finished the campaign as a regular in the Under 18’s – where he scored four times. Miquel had an injury hit beginning to life in London, but quickly established himself as an important asset in the closing stages of the season. He then made two starts for the Reserves in the final two games of the year.

    Whilst there are two foreign boys signed up, London lads Benik Afobe and Chuks Aneke even up the count. Afobe is regarded as one of the most promising strikers in England. Although he was a bit part player for Bould’s side, he still struck 12 goals including a Youth Cup effort. Aneke will no doubt be an outstanding and crucial player next term but he only made a handful of appearances at Academy level. That said – he did score once.

    Imposing central defender Danny Boateng is one of the most exciting new boys. Capable of playing at left back or in midfield, Boateng is a technically gifted, quick-silver stopper with bags of power. He has chosen to represent Ghana ahead of England but Boateng is another London born starlet with a big future.

    Two lesser known boys are Nico Yennaris and George Brislen-Hall. The former is a versatile and hard working defender who can play in midfield. The half Greek half Chinese youngster is a local lad who has spent a massive amount of time on the treatment table. Yet when fit his energy and no nonsense style can be very important assets. Nico is very much the gamble of the group.

    Left back George Brislen-Hall, known simply as George Brisnal, is the seventh and final scholar. He’s an English, hard working and aggressive defender who can play as a wing-back. He may be small and very different to the usual Arsenal style left back, but he’ll no doubt have a point to prove next term.”

  143. Rasputin says:

    Oops, DH is another one to add to my list of being unfair to the unwell 😳 sorry rico – I guess that means I’d better not talk about Gordon Brown either 😆

    What about the honours list … Sir Nick Faldo? ….phumph… lost us the Ryder Cup last year and not exactly Mr. Popular. Give it Brucie I say for services to large chins – Jimmy Hill runner-up…..

  144. Irishgunner says:

    Children films…. The Lion King by a country mile and then some.

    I have to leave the room every time it comes to the part where Mufasa gets killed 😥

    The musical is excellent too.

  145. rico01 says:

    Ha Ha Rasp, his is drink and drugs, you feel free to slate him all you like 😉 The footage was him in the gutter drunk as a skunk –

    What I think is sad, is what could be behind it, he used to be so popular and all the girls loved him. Now he must be so unhappy inside himself 😦

    Now, Nick Faldo, I was am still am a huge fan of his, so pretty pleased he has got honoured 😛

    And Brucie, I dont know what else he has to do to become Sir – but then it took many many years for Terry Wogan 😦 And what really ‘f’n’ narks me is that old Red Nose has his. Grrrrr

    Irish – Top of the morning, are you showing you age to us now ;)That makes me feel so so old !!

  146. rico01 says:

    Anton Du-Beke must come in a very close second on the chins Rasp 🙂

  147. Rasputin says:

    Morning Irish…

    Lion King – best music by a country mile – I think it won an Oscar for the soundtrack ….

    Most boring Disney film – Fantasia…..

    My favourite non-Disney kids film … Those Magnificent men in their Flying Machines … before my time but I remember the re-runs 😳

  148. Irishgunner says:

    Morning Rico

    Ha ha age doesn’t count when it comes to cartoons. My mother loves them – I bought her “A Bugz life” for mother’s day cos it is her favourite film.

    On the Hoff, I nearly met him in New York, we were in Bloomingdales at the same time but he was on the bottom floor and I was on the second floor – so close.

  149. rico01 says:

    Rasp, surely those men were not before your time 😉

  150. Irishgunner says:

    Do ye guys live in London?

    If ye do I really suggest you go to the West End to see the Lion King musical – fantastic, absolutely fantastic.

  151. Rasputin says:

    rico – there may be a little snow on the roof, but there is still a roaring fire in the hearth….. 😉

  152. Rasputin says:

    I’m not positive Irish, but I believe that the ‘eponymous’ London is the only one of us who actually lives in London…… oh I’m not sure about chaf and benwell, they make be from the smoke too……

  153. rico01 says:

    Spot-On Irish re age, you should see some of the stuff amoung my video’s and dvd’s – if the film has an animal in it, its probably here 😉 Mind you I haven’t watched half of them 😦

    Shrek I think was the last 😦

  154. Rasputin says:

    rico – do you remeber that kids film.. I think it was called ‘The Incredible Journey’ where a couple of dogs travelled across 100’s of miles to reach their owners. One particularly horrid scene where a porcupine stuck it’s needles in a poor pooches nose…

  155. Irishgunner says:

    Rico – Anything but Bambi 😥 that’s just too sad, too sad.

    Rasp – Peaches lives in London doesn’t she?

  156. rico01 says:

    Off to the park to feed the ducks 😛

    See you all in a little while

  157. Irishgunner says:

    Rasp-oh I love that film, there is a bitchy cat in it isn’t there?

  158. rico01 says:

    Bambi nor Lassie Irish 😥

    I rmember the title but not the film, how bizarre is that Rasp 😦

    I shall be looking it up when I get back 😉

  159. Big Raddy says:

    Oh Irish. I had so much respect for you before you wrote about the Lion King!

    Sure, it is good, but to imagine it has anything like the storyline, emotional content or music of The Jungle Book is quite frankly bizarre!

    OK, Elton John writes a decent tune and Circle of Life is a great song, but JB is the Arsenal and LK is Everton.

    To me LK is Bambi with another lead ‘animal’ 🙂

  160. Rasputin says:

    Cripes – you’re right Irish … how could I forget peaches???? 😳 … but it is the leafy affluent part, so maybe they don’t really consider themselves Londoners 😛

    rico – you’ll love that film – it’s right up your ‘animal-mad’ street…..

  161. Irishgunner says:

  162. Big Raddy says:

    Rasp, thanks so much for reminding me of The Incredible Journey. I saw it again a few years ago and it is still great.

  163. Big Raddy says:

    T.I.J. was made in 1963. Even Kelsey had to go with his Mum !!

  164. Rasputin says:

    That’s it Irish – brilliant – I’ve gone all nostalgic… I’ve got to go and be an aggressive batsman now so I’ll have to get those images out of my mind… Have fun everyone ….

  165. Irishgunner says:

    😯 – The Lion King rocks

    I’m a bit too young really for The Jungle Book 😉

    *runs away before she gets lynched*

  166. Rasputin says:

    We all seem to have a lot in common Raddy 🙂 catch up later……

  167. Big Raddy says:

    Give em hell Rasp

  168. kelsey says:

    Morning all,
    just a quick post before heading out.
    I hate cartoons, sci fi except Spielberg’s .

    Papillion is one of my favorits with Dustin Hoffman/Steve mcQueen (true story)

    One flew over the cuckoo’s nest (fascinating fiction)
    Slience of the Lambs 9horrific but spell binding)

    the postman always rings twice

    the fugitive

    The knack 9because i was in it as an extra

    The magnificant men in their flying machines, crap film, but i got 60 quid a week for doing next to nothing for 6 weeks filming crowd sceens in Windsor.

  169. Rasputin says:

    OK, I’m back – where’s the fanfare? 😳

    I’m only prepared to talk about footie and kids films…..

  170. peachesgooner says:

    Tra la la la laaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

    Oh dear……… 😆

  171. JonJon says:

    evening rasp/peaches..

  172. peachesgooner says:

    Hey JonJon – hows your day been? Rasp clearly doesn’t want to talk about his at the crease 😉

  173. Rasputin says:

    No football news either …. 😦

  174. JonJon says:

    its been a quiet day peaches, not done much, just chilled and slept a little…

    rasp, did you bowl any maidens over???

  175. peachesgooner says:

    rasp sweetie 🙂 are you gonna tell us ……..

    I’ve had a lot to drink so i might not be able to take it in, all in one go …….. 😆

  176. Rasputin says:

    We came a close second JonJon ….. the fillies were quite safe as I didn’t bowl – just swung the willow …

  177. chaf says:

    Best childrens film – Whistle down the wind..

  178. JonJon says:

    i cant wait for the season to begin…the weekends are pants without football

  179. peachesgooner says:

    Anyone seen ave, hes been strangely quiet for days…..

    I’m off to bed, the singing one is going to the states again tmoro and mummy is driving to Heathrow at 6am…….what a lucky mummy 🙂

    Catch up tmoro, sleep tight all 😆

  180. JonJon says:

    i think aves had alot of work on..its hard for him to get on as much as before…

    nite nite peaches

  181. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    Early morning airport trips yyyuuuuuuuukkkkkkk 😦

    Still it looks like its going to be a lovely day 🙂

    Raddy – has it stopped raining yet?

    David James has written an interesting article about players injuries for his column in The Observer – I’m going to try and find it.

  182. rico01 says:

    Morning All

    Not much footie news other than Thomas is being given one more season to prove his fitness – Big Phil wants to stay in Meeelan, but urges Arsenal to sort his future out, Robin is talking contracts this week, 80M is what is suggested per week and Theo is in for a busy summer…..

    Oh and we are back in for Zapata

    The only bit I care about out of that is Thomas, and I hope his fitness will get back to top level as I could be a key player for us..

    Theo – well he does have a busy summer, by the end of the U21’s campaign we should finally see the ‘real’ Theo.. I hope Stuart Pearce has the b***s to play him as striker – then who knows, Arsene may even watch and follow suit next season.

  183. rico01 says:

    This is the kind of headline that makes me chuckle

    Boro boss Southgate in talks with Manure re the signing of Neville and Scholes…. Ahhhhhhhhhhh

    peaches – hope your daughter got off ok, at least on a sunday morning there is little traffic 😉

  184. Big Raddy says:

    Clear skies at last, but a fearful wind blowing from Siberia – but thanks for asking Peaches.

    The prospect of Eduardo and Theo with RvP (or AA) playing the DB10 role is mouth watering. Finally, we have a Plan B, two totally different styles of attack.

  185. Rasputin says:

    Morning Risottos 😛 ,

    Today’s story is through the round window….

    It scores a high 8/10 on the bullshitometer…

    ARSENE Wenger must get rid of Arsenal rebel Emmanuel Adebayor – and order Robin van Persie to shut up about his new contract.

    The blunt message for Wenger to sort out his trouble-making strikers comes from former Gunners hitman, Charlie Nicholas.

    The fed-up Sky Sports pundit reckons the unsettled Adebayor should be sold to the highest bidder – along with William Gallas, Emmanuel Eboue and Johan Djourou – as part of a huge summer clear-out at the Emirates.

    He believes that will allow the Arsenal board to fund an essential spending spree, with a world-class goalkeeper, defender, midfielder and striker on the Frenchman’s shopping list.

  186. peachesgooner says:

    Pretty soon the cleaner at the training ground will come out and say that too……its just not very original now is it……

  187. Rasputin says:

    The good news is that RVP is going to negotiate a new cotract this week. If he can stay fit and replicate the form of last season he will be worth £80k a week.

  188. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – did you read my link to the article in the Observer – it could definitely apply to our sick-bay…..

    Haven’t you got work to do 😆

  189. Rasputin says:

    Just read your link peaches – I hope the younger Lewin is as good as Gary. It comes to something when not only do our players get poached but also our physio and groundsmen 😦

    Anyway – stop bothering me, I’ve got work to do …..

  190. peachesgooner says:

    😀 xx

  191. Big Raddy says:

    I would question the work of Gary Lewin.

    I must preface this by stating that I have no medical knowledge whatsoever, have no inside knowledge about the goings on in the AFC physio dept, and have never discussed medical cases with anyone apart from fellow bloggers…..

    That said. How did Mozart get through his original medical? That is Lewin’s dept.Why did it take 2 years to discover his problem? Why was it assessed by medical teams outside of THOF.

    Why do our players take so long to come back from injury? A groin strain is a min. 6 weeks at THOF.

    Why did Lewin allow RvP to come back too early, thus putting him out for the remainder of the season, and probably costing us the title last year.

    How was Theo allowed to go back to the England set up (and re-incur his problem) when he clearly hadn’t recovered from his initial shoulder injury.? Even we fans could see he was running awkwardly and protecting his shoulder. If he is fine now, due to further rehab. , why didn’t he get this treatment last year?

    I could go on.

    Thanks Gary for your years at THOF, but …..

  192. London says:

    Morning Everyone

    That post is looking really tired. I have nothing. Anyone feeling inspired?

  193. Rasputin says:

    Hi Raddy…. when you put it like that hhmmmm ?????

    I guess I just added 2 & 2, if England wanted him you’d think he’d be top class but they appointed Scchhteve as manager 😳 and the report was that he saved Dudu’s leg and JT’s life? – exaggerations no doubt.

  194. Rasputin says:

    I have an idea London, but not the time. I’ll see if I can knock something up tonight and run it by ave – but if someone else can come up with a few lines it would be great.

  195. London says:

    Morning BR

    I can only have a punt in the dark at the first two points. I like to think that medicals were carried out by a higher medical authority than just Gary Lewin. After all he is only a physio. The other thing is that I think Rosicky went all over the world looking for help, UK, the Czech Republic and the States I’m not sure from which country the medical staff, who finally spotted the problem, were from.
    As for rushing RVP back, it seems to me that the finger of blame can only point to Lewin.

  196. peachesgooner says:

    I’m not certain that RvP wasn’t himself in some way to blame – I remember reading an interview where he said that he would have to be more honest with the physios about his own fitness as he could see that returning too soon was causing more problems…..

  197. peachesgooner says:

    On the subject of a post – I thought JJ was going to finish his four part ‘A fans perspective’ – Strikers …….

  198. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters..

    Rasp I am about later if you want me..

    As for Rosicky.. As far as I am aware he got kicked on the back of the knee and this is what caused the problem..
    He already had a weakness in his knee and what would normally have been a 2 month layoff only got picked up when it was found it wasn’t healing..
    It wasn’t apparent until he got injured and never got detected.
    RvP was rushed back too quick, some of the blame must go to the player who mislead (perhaps innocently) the physio’s in his eagerness to play..

  199. avenell says:

    Jonjon started writing part 4 about strikers and when thinking about Bendtner and Ade.. he lost the will to live.. 😦

  200. Rasputin says:

    Ave – if you’re there, I have knocked up a few lines that should ‘stimulate’ debate 😛

  201. avenell says:

    Rasp.. You have your “promotion” lol..

    Is it okay to put up, or would you like it looked at?

  202. Rasputin says:

    Thanks ave, I’ve submitted it to the ‘sub-editor’ for approval 😕

  203. peachesgooner says:

    Hello

    There is a NEW POST …….

    Happy Sunday 🙂

Leave a Reply

