Defenders in…..defenders out, does he ever learn!!!!!

 

What happened towards the end of last season……….did we or did we not have a serious problem with defenders going missing through injury?

Surely if we are buying a defender its to ensure we don’t have the same problem again. I don’t think we can count Senderos as he wasn’t here. Why is there talk of a defender leaving just because we are buying one? Were we so unlucky that our back-line was decimated……….this won’t ever happen again?????

I think we should keep Gallas in the knowledge that he is older and will be even more injury prone but he is a proven winner and a great defender and is experienced.

Kolo Toure is the last ‘invincible’ – we need to hold on to him just for the history for as long as we can. He loves Arsenal and I don’t want to see him in anyone elses shirt – much too upsetting.

So thankyou Arsene for buying a new defender but could you keep hold of the others so that we don’t have another scary situation at any time this season.

100 Responses to Defenders in…..defenders out, does he ever learn!!!!!

  1. peachesgooner says:

    I thought JonJon might need a new place to post sshhhhh you know who video clips 😆

  2. Irishgunner says:

    Afternoon Peaches/Kelsey/JonJon/London/Rico/Rasputin/Evo/Wonderbuy/Avenell

    Maybe AW is going for a whole new central defence?

    Bischoff is off to PSG apparently, he was pointless.

    Breaking News: After a month and a half Irish has found the kittens and they won’t come near me…..

  3. rico01 says:

    Hi Guys – Kolo has to stay, Gallas is a great defender but a trouble maker, Senderos needs a bit of help, JD, he needs a bit too, Silvestre is poop, Nordveit is too young, so …. Out with Gallas me thinks and in with two new 😛

    And a HM and a striker if Ade, RvP and or anyone else goeas 😉

    Glad you have found the kittens Irish – they will come near you soon, especially when they see the food 😉

  4. Irishgunner says:

    Rico – The Kittens and I have got to the stage where they just stare at me and do that spit thing to try and frighten me off ha ha – I only found them about two hours ago.

    My youngest cat had one kitten two days ago but it died last night 😦

    Time to get them two neutered…

  5. rico01 says:

    Rhat’s real sad Irish, I feel for you 😦

    Those who spit at you, are they born Spuds fans or something 😉

  6. Irishgunner says:

    The mother just couldn’t look after her – she is one of the ones that is a little wild so I couldn’t do any thing to help her. Just get her neutered now so it won’t happen again – trying to catch her will be fun.

    Ha ha they must be Spuds 😆 One is black and the other two are ginger and white, so cute, the mother has been looking after them well – she is one of the tame ones so hopefully the kittens will tame and we’ll find them a good home.

  7. rico01 says:

    I hope so Irish, we love cats, I think I have mentioned that to you before, but because we live on a pretty busy road, it would be unkind to have one 😦

    Mind you, we could do with borrowing a real bruiser, to get rid of the rat !! The buggers run through all the gardens and through ours, one of the neigbours have offered to shoot them, so we may have to take their offer up real soon 😉

  8. Irishgunner says:

    I love cats too but as of today we officially have 10 which is too much.

    So we are going to tame the three kittens, find them a good home, neuter the two females that aren’t done and be left with 7 and that is it, we’re not taking in any more.

    They are all strays or kittens of strays that we have.

    Our cats bring us dead mice or rats to the door and scream their head off till we come out and give them food as a reward 🙂

  9. kelsey says:

    Nice to hear about the cats, Irish.

    rico how is the pig’s tooth, hope it is better than mine 🙂

    Peaches, a nice concise post,but we haven’t actually signed him yet.

    Rasputin what is your avatar or is it something you teach or connected to the park, if you don’t mind me asking.

    By the way are England playing Theo tonight, and who are we playing ?

  10. Irishgunner says:

    Afternoon Kelsey,

    England are playing Andorra and by the sounds of it Walcott will start.

  11. rico01 says:

    kelsey – we had to do the dfficult but humane thing early this morning – she wasn’t strong enough to have an operation, she was very very poorly….

  12. Rasputin says:

    Afternoon all,

    Yin Yang kelsey – a taoist symbol depicting the universe in constant motion but always in balance….also its red and white so Araaaseennnnoooouuuaaalll

    My cat is a born killer – voles, mice, baby rabbits, leverets, moorhens, other small birds. I can’t dislike him because he loves me and is only following his instincts …. 😦

  13. Rasputin says:

    Is it my new avatar – everytime I post everyone disappears?

    I’ll eat my shorts if we are interested in paying £17m for Pandev……

    “With Arsene Wenger seemingly closing in on Belgian defender Thomas Vermaelen, Lazio striker Goran Pandev appears to be next on Arsenal’s wishlist.

    Linked with Tottenham, Chelsea, Liverpool, Bayern Munich, Fiorentina and Juventus, Arsenal are the latest outfit to express an interest in Pandev, who has expressed his desire for a new challenge after five years in Rome.”

  14. Irishgunner says:

    Afternoon Rasputin,

    I watched “Don’t Look Now” last night. It is a very good film but I feel I’ll have to watch it again to make sense of some items.

    I like how the plot was slow paced but worked so well.

    Not too sure on the ending though and what it meant.

  15. Wonderboy says:

    Who’s Wonderbuy? Is it a shop?

  16. Irishgunner says:

    It is indeed.

    It is where you came from Wonderboy 😉

  17. Rasputin says:

    Hi Irish,

    Yes you definitely need to watch it again. There are numerous subtle, almost subliminal visual references to his daughter / red mac / water etc….. Check out the brief glimpse of the old lady cleaner in the toilets when Julie Christie goes in to help remove something from the woman’s eye?

    I don’t want to give you my take on the end as it may affect your own conclusions.

  18. Rasputin says:

    How’s Manbat Wonderboy … pow.. zap…. splat ….. kaboosh…. 🙂

  19. Irishgunner says:

    There seems to be an awful lot going on in the film so on first watch it is a lot to take in.

    Definitely in that sequence there was a lot of play with mirrors especially on Julie Christie’s facial features from different angles.

    The colours red, blue and yellow were vibrant throughout but the reason hasn’t struck me yet ha ha

  20. Wonderboy says:

    Wonderboy and arch nemesis Nasty Man came from nowhere we just are. I saw that film ‘Don’t look Now’…scary, i couldn’t look.

  21. Wonderboy says:

    No seriously, scared the pish out of me.

  22. Irishgunner says:

    It isn’t really a “horror” its more “creepy”.

  23. JonJon says:

    wonderboy

    do you have the power to kill a knat from 200 yards away with mind bullets???

  24. Rasputin says:

    There’s always the chance with a film of that ilk that people will try to read stuff into it which isn’t really there …. the author can just evade questions with a ‘knowing smile’ whilst collecting the royalties! …….. classic examples of which are ‘2001’ and ‘The Matrix’

  25. JonJon says:

    fligadoodoodoofligadoodoo

  26. Wonderboy says:

    I went to Venice last year,it’s a lot more beautiful and less creepy, the only scary thing was the price of the drinks!!

  27. Wonderboy says:

    JonJon, how ’bout the power to move you?

  28. Irishgunner says:

    I didn’t realise the same director was responsible for “Performance” with Mick Jagger, now that film I don’t like.

  29. JonJon says:

    come fly with me, fly….

  30. Rasputin says:

    Hi JonJon,

    Have you heard of the vigilante ‘superheroes’ in the states that walk the streets in full costume and help keep the peace? There is a web site where they can register their superhero name. The population support these fruitloops in their fight against evil…. only in America!

    http://news.softpedia.com/news/Ohio-Police-Not-Happy-with-Shadow-Hare-Vigilante-110680.shtml

  31. Irishgunner says:

    Have ye guys seen “Memento” – I really like that film.

    The first time I saw it I missed the first five minutes which left me very confused for the next hour and forty minutes.

  32. Irishgunner says:

    Ha ha I’ve heard about them Rasputin 😆

  33. JonJon says:

    rasp..

    thats awesome…

    if we could make names out of our first teamers, who would they be..

    robins mr glass

  34. Rasputin says:

    I haven’t seen that one Irish ….. I’ll keep a look out for it……

  35. Wonderboy says:


    CLASSIC.

  36. Rasputin says:

    ade – hammock boy

  37. Rasputin says:

    Kolo – The Incredible Buttock

  38. London says:

    Irish

    If you watch “Dont look now” again notice what the daughter is wearing in the beginning of the film.

    There are Dog people and Cat people in this world I am one of the latter.

  39. JonJon says:

    wonderboy

    i was going to say something about that yesterday but i didnt know if you knew and i didnt want you to think i was an idiot on our 1st blogging sesh…

  40. JonJon says:

    LMAO rasp..

    kolo… 😉

  41. Rasputin says:

    Hi London, yes you’re right, the ‘red mac’ theme is echoed throughout the film…. there are also a lot of other cross-references.

  42. JonJon says:

    denilson..crabman

  43. Irishgunner says:

    London – I will definitely watch it again soon.

    Is it something less obvious than the red rain mac?

  44. London says:

    Irish, no it is simply the red mac. I am going to have to watch it again to see the point that Rasp was refering to. I rate the film very highly.

  45. Irishgunner says:

    I reckon you could watch it again and again London and see more things in the film.

  46. London says:

    Peaches

    I agree, you can never have too many good defenders.

    I always like to acknowledge a new post.

  47. JonJon says:

    your right london,

    peaches,im sorry and i like your way of thinking.. 😉

  48. Rasputin says:

    Arshavin ‘Red Dwarf’

  49. peachesgooner says:

    Thanks guys 😛

    No need to fawn over me – I’m still laughing that the previous 2 lined ‘post’ received the record number of comments. Shall I retire now …….. 😆

  50. peachesgooner says:

    rasp 😛

  51. Rasputin says:

    So ‘Wonderboy’ owes more to Jack Black than van Persie…

  52. peachesgooner says:

    Well done Irish for finding the kittens 🙂

    Awfully sad about your piggy rico 😦

    Wonderboy – I couldn’t open the clip 😦 😦

  53. Irishgunner says:

    The kittens aren’t been very receptive to me so far – they just stare out at me from under their hiding place 😕

    Must try again!

  54. Rasputin says:

    rico,

    I’m sorry, I missed your comment about the ‘little piggy’…. Tough love is very hard sometimes, I held my faithful old dogs head in my hands for his last few moments and cried like a baby when I had to have him put to sleep.

  55. peachesgooner says:

    Time to smile…….

    Enjoy xxx

  56. kelsey says:

    Sorry to hear you news rico,at least I got off with an injection.Sincerely I mean that as you know I love animals.
    Rasputin, did you design that avartar yourself,it’s to say the least quite unusual.

    London, I know you don’t like to respond to me, but out of interest where are benwell and chaf.

  57. Big Raddy says:

    Looking forward to tonight, and hoping Theo gets a start. It will be a night of streams for me, which can be very frustrating.

    Rico, sorry to read about your pig. Like Ras, I have said goodbye to a few dogs, and it is always heart-breaking.

  58. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – did you wiggle your nose or did I for Peter Crouch to start tonight 😀

  59. London says:

    Hello kelsey

    In an attempt to avoid being misunderstood I have become very cautious. The less I say, the less people can jump to the wrong conclusion.

    As for Chaf and Benwell, I am sure they will reappear at the beginning of next season if not before.

  60. Rasputin says:

    Hi peaches – I do recall you saying that you thought Crouch should be given the chance up front tonight.

    Glenn Johnson has looked very good tonight. Theo’s cut back for the second goal was sharp but he is still nowhere near top form by my estimation.

  61. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – so Arsene doesn’t listen to me but Capello does 😛

    I agree about Glen Johnson – he was good the other day too.

  62. Rasputin says:

    There is talk of him returning to the chavs……

  63. Rasputin says:

    rico was right – at least becks is passing to Theo, Lumplard still looks for A’hole (JonJon!) all the time and begrudgingly acknowledged Theo for his assist for his goal….

  64. peachesgooner says:

    Did you see that 83% possession…….Jimmy Greaves said at half-time that Andorra were the worse team he’d ever seen………

  65. peachesgooner says:

    I say that David Beckham is a bit fab isn’t he 😆

  66. Rasputin says:

    Beckham’s long crossfield passes have been magnificent, but he wouldn’t get anywhere near as much time on the ball against a top team.

  67. peachesgooner says:

    Very true rasp, hes had so much space hasn’t he – hes even done a bit of running I saw 🙂

  68. peachesgooner says:

    Avenell are you about – you havn’t popped in at all today – are you OK……….

  69. avenell says:

    Yep.

    Ras .. nice avatar..
    Rico.. 😦
    Peaches.. good post. thanks..
    Irish.. I was last on your list.. 😦
    I cannot stand Beckham the deformed one trick pony with a slab of ink on his neck.. 🙂

    Howzatt??

  70. kelsey says:

    “What did we learn from England’s 6-0 demolition of Andorra? Andorra’s continued presence at this level is a joke and FIFA and UEFA really need to sort out a pre-qualifying tournament for the bottom-tier nations.” The above quote is taken from a headline i read this morning,,and really sums up everything.Absolutely nothing was learned last night,except we are three points nearer to qualification for The World Cup.Andorra has a population of 70000 and apparently not one national attended.Why not bring The Vatican City into the competition,just to raise more money.Having said that for over 50000 England supporters to attend,with major disruption to the London Underground system,against one of the minnows in world football, shows regardless of the economic climate their is still a huge passion for our national team.I wonder how many other European countries could have matched that attendance,against such opposition and traffic chaos.

    Oh Good morning everyone.

  71. chaf says:

    Good morning.

    Just had a catching up with the last few days. I watched the England game last night, what a waste of time and money. Jimmy Greaves also said the only brave people around Wembley were the people to turn up and watch this rubbish, and they panicked and cut him short. Best moment of the game. Avenell Road could put a team together to beat Andorra, they should stick to making sweaters.

  72. Rasputin says:

    Morning Doorstops, hi kelsey and chaff 😉

    Glen johnson rightly man of the match. An England formation of 2:7:2, a midfield that never needed to defend and a backline that played in the midfield – no wonder Peter Crouch looked embarrassed when he tripped up and scored 😦

    If Theo can improve as much as Johnson in the next couple of years, he’ll be amazing, but at the moment I think he has some way to go.

  73. Rasputin says:

    Very little news for the ‘Jackanory’ slot this morning…..

    Bassong is pleading for a premiership team to rescue him – I pray its not us…

    and… Bischoff can Pischoff! to PSG ….

  74. Big Raddy says:

    Morning,

    I really like Theo, and think he has a glorious future ahead of him. I also like Capello and have tremendous respect for him.

    However, to play Theo ahead of SWP is baffling. If SWP is fit, (and I assume he is) then to me he is the better winger. He scores more, is as fast, trickier, and has a better final ball. That said, Capello must surely know best and has great faith in Theo.

    Johnson was superb last night, his link play with TW was great, even Sagna-esque.

    And unlike some, I greatly admire Beckham…. if I were a lady, he would be the chosen father of my children 😉

  75. Big Raddy says:

    LOL Rasp

  76. Rasputin says:

    Morning Raddy,

    Yes, I agree about Beckham, OK he may have been overrated and overhyped by the media, but he is a great role model for kids, a consumate professional and living proof that experience and technique can compensate for a lack of pace etc. I’d certainly put him in the world cup squad. Ave’s just jealous of his six pack 😳

    Its sad to think that those fantastic crossfield passes are something that Alonso could have provided for us last season. I miss the lightning fast ‘pinball’ football of a few seasons ago that would turn an opponents corner into a goalscoring opportunity for us within 20 seconds…..

  77. rico01 says:

    Best moment of the England game ?????

    Cole being subbed !! 😛

  78. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    Doorsteps!!!!!!!! Doormats more like 😛

    Form an orderly queue please for David Beckham behind the ladies……..

    Anyone remember why we bought Bischoff?

  79. rico01 says:

    Morning All, thanks for your kind words yesterday..

    David Beckham – I love the guy and the player, he is a perfect role model, and one of the few who always puts the England shirt on with pride, and he is perfect for Theo to follow in every way. Beckham also rates Theo very highly and but for him, Theo would have been ignored yet again.

    Raddy – I think most women would love him to be the father of their children, mind you if it were physically possible, I think their are a few men out there to who would love him to be the father of theirs 😉

  80. peachesgooner says:

    Raddy – that interview with Jimmy Greaves was classic 🙂

    What did he do previously when he was a pundit to get himself removed from our screens?

  81. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rico

    I thought it was Alan Shearer that was the blokes bloke………..wasn’t there a time when men thought more about Shearer scoring than scoring themselves 😳

  82. Rasputin says:

    Peaches … you’ve stolen my greeting for tomorrow … don’t think of yourself as a doormat, more of a ‘feather duster’ 😆

    Hi rico, its nice that Raddy and I can reveal our feminine sides don’t you think.

    Jimmy Greaves lost his regular slot on TV years ago because he was a bit too ‘honest’ in his comments. I think he’s hilarious – I wonder if he’s still smarting that he didn’t play in the World Cup final … he was the best striker in the country at the time…

  83. London says:

    Morning Roadstars

    The only purpose I can see for Beckham playing last night was to help try and avoid the embarrassment of a potentially pathetically low attendance, something that could have very easily happened when playing an absolute waste of space like Andorra.

    The chances of Beckham being involved in the next World Cup are slim to nonexistent. Beating Andorra should have been viewed as a forgone conclusion and an opportunity for someone to be given a chance to gain valuable experience ahead of South Africa.

    That said, his cross field passes were very entertaining so I suppose the Show Pony filled his purpose of being there.

  84. Rasputin says:

    Morning London,

    I understand what you’re saying … but you can only play the opposition that’s put in front of you. We were on a hiding to nothing. If we hadn’t scored 6, we would have been slated, and when we have, ‘its only because the opposition were crap’.

    I’ll take a bet on with you if we’re both still around at the time …. I think Beckham will be in the squad for the next World Cup … you decide what forfeit I have to pay if I’m wrong 😛

  85. rico01 says:

    Rasp 🙂

  86. peachesgooner says:

    Morning London – not a Beckham fan then 😀

    Did I hear correctly that the ticket prices were seriously reduced for the game last night aswell because of the opposition – there were loads of children there which is really nice and they saw lots of goals……dream come true I’d say 😉

    Shame London Underground decided to be such killjoys!!!

  87. kelsey says:

    Blimey rasputin says to London,

    I’ll take a bet on with you if we’re both still around at the time re Beckham.

    Can I have some of that providing i am alive.I side with Beckham not being in the squad. Shall we say one or two implants either way as the wager.

  88. rico01 says:

    If I had to chose right now between Ade or Beckham for the coming season, I would choose Beckham every time 🙂

  89. Rasputin says:

    Hot off the presses…

    Manu have accepted an offer for £80m for Ronaldo ….

  90. Big Raddy says:

    I am with Rasp. I will bet Peaches house that Becks will be in the squad.

    Ronaldo !!! £80m. Madness…..

  91. Big Raddy says:

    Jimmy Greaves was forced to stop because he became boring. I think it may have had something to do with his alcoholism…..

    He is great for a 3 minute soundbite, but he hasn’t the intelligence to make a decent broadcaster. Imagine Ian Wright taking Lineker’s role and you get the idea….

  92. Rasputin says:

    Could be 80m euros – but apparently it’s true ………

  93. Rasputin says:

    Hi kelsey,

    You can have a couple of implants but I get to decide where they are located if I’m right 😀

  94. kelsey says:

    Ronaldo worth 80 million, Newcastle for sale for under 100 million

    I think you and raddy are a couple of perverts,having beckham’s children, and now you want to improve my body.Where’s mummy. 😉

  95. Rasputin says:

    That’s a brilliant point kelsey – Ronaldo rated at 80% of the value of Newcastle…. I wonder how that makes the toon fans feel?

    From Sky Sports

    Manchester United have confirmed they have accepted a bid from Real Madrid for Cristiano Ronaldo.

    Ronaldo’s future at United has been the subject of constant speculation, with Real having trailed his signature for the last three summers.

    Real president Florentino Perez has made no secret of the fact that he would like to lure Ronaldo to El Santiago Bernabeu.

    The Spanish titans have now agreed an £80million offer for the Portuguese ace and United have given the World Player of the Year permission to talk to the capital club.

    Ronaldo will head to the Spanish capital to hold discussions with Real and undergo a medical.

    Real have already snapped up Brazilian superstar Kaka in a world-record deal, but a move for Ronaldo would significantly eclipse that figure.

    “Manchester United have received a world-record, unconditional offer of £80million for Cristiano Ronaldo from Real Madrid,” read a club statement.

  96. peachesgooner says:

    Ronaldo and Kaka in the same dressing-room, do you think they have enough mirrors….. 👿

  97. London says:

    Rasp

    I wouldn’t bet against you on that one. They will probably take him because of the media interest that he brings to the table.

    To Everyone

    I have written a headline post which I am going to put up in about 10 minutes unless anyone says other wise. It is one of my controversial specials so don’t get upset.

  98. peachesgooner says:

    Go for it London….. 😆

  99. rico01 says:

    80M – Bloomin Henry, that means Manure will be even stronger next year if they spend the money – David Villa I bet!! 😦

  100. London says:

    New Post

Leave a Reply

