Is the Record Broken?

BY RASPUTIN………

What is the statute of limitations regarding track records?

We last won a trophy in 2005 when, by a minor miracle, and aided by some benevolent woodwork we managed to keep Man U at bay for 120 minutes. The magic boot of Paddy scored the deciding penalty in the shoot-out to win us the FA cup for the 10th time.

Since then…. nothing…nowt….zilch…numero zero…..except the finest training facilities and the best club stadium in the country!

The stadium and all its ongoing complex financial ramifications is the justification most commonly proffered to explain our lack of success in recent years. We can, and have, argued long and hard as to whether the money was/is available to buy new players. Our squad of players has cost a fraction of that of the rest of the ‘Big Four’.

My belief in Arsene Wenger has been seriously challenged since the end of last season. I love the man for what he has done. I am proud that he’s our manager. I am proud that he is a visionary and has put our club at the forefront of modern football thinking.

BUT…….. his tactics, team selection and player positioning have left me baffled all season. Did we really have such riches in depth previously that these apparent flaws in his make-up never surfaced, or is this a new facet of his personality that is borne of his obsessional mission to make the ‘youth experiment’ work. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve groaned in disbelief when hearing the team announced just before a game.

Wengerball is a wonderful thing to behold – admired the world over, but when it doesn’t work because the side isn’t balanced, we are just ordinary, and for us spoilt gooners, ordinary isn’t good enough!

No-one has the right to question our overwhelming collective desire as fans to see Arsenal succeed. We do have the right to ask questions when things go wrong…….but now is not the time. I don’t even want to contemplate us failing to reach the CL final……so I have to join the optimists and support our boys with every fibre of my being ………….and it’s ARSENAL….ARSENAL FC…we’re by far……

67 Responses to Is the Record Broken?

  1. JonJon says:

    well done rasp that was excellent…

    i have also questioned the geat man this season…the CL offers great hope…and when the time comes i will be the biggest optimist there is…but when i see dodgy lineups and strikers playing wing and CAM playing DM and CM play no. 10 it leaves me scratching my head and expecting to get beat..

  2. rico01 says:

    Top Bannana Rasp 😛

    But will winning the CL make the old geezer say… ‘We dont need new players, I have faith in my young players’

    Its a difficult one as I badly want us to win the CL …

  3. avenell says:

    Thanks Rasputin.. your post sums up the frustrations of supporting Arsenal, but the importance of the loyalty.

    I have an idea Jonjon.. What about a 7 day widget for booking post writing?

    Like Saturday …. Jonjon..
    ….. Sunday ….. London etc.
    The only problem I can see are times.. we need a time for booked posts say 10 in the morning..

  4. JonJon says:

    rico…

    if we win the CL we all know it will be more down to luck than us having great players….

    we got outplayed in rome villarreal and at OT….

    and we are going to finish outside the top 2 again and weve had some woeful performances this season…

    whatever happens…we need strengthening…thats obvious..

  5. JonJon says:

    thats a top idea ave….

  6. Rasputin says:

    Thanks roadsters 🙂

    I don’t know a single gooner…deluded or otherwise, who dosen’t believe we could/should have won the FA cup this year…..we’ve missed that golden opportunity, and I do blame Arsene. The time for analysis / praise / recrimination will come after tuesday. If we get through to the final, I don’t think I would criticise AW whatever the result when you consider how we were feeling at the start of the year….. or maybe I’m deluding myself now 😉

  7. avenell says:

    The frustrating thing I find is we are so near then a team selection ruins it. A bit like a Audi Quatrro with it’s accelerator, brake and clutch pedals in the wrong order.

  8. JonJon says:

    ive said before rasp…if we win the CL all will be forgiven…failure again this season though and questions need to be asked….even from the most loyalist of fans….

  9. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    Well done rasp – I expect there’ll be a lot of waivering between optimism and pessimism in the next few days 😆

    I agree that we should definitely be playing in the FA Cup final and its a great shame that we aren’t.

    Its also a shame that english domination of the champs league pits us against a team that we know and knows us so well 😦

  10. peachesgooner says:

    ……and the final yet again could be between 2 english clubs ……..

  11. Rasputin says:

    I’m off out ’til late afternoon roadsters – enjoy your day 🙂

  12. kelsey says:

    Nice post rasputin,we all write in different ways but at the end of the day Arsenal is our common bond.

    Ave,if you are about this current post is in the ARCHIVES, and when you click onto AR you get yesterdays post.

  13. kelsey says:

    here’s a thought if we were to lose in the CL would you prefer it to be in the semi or the Final.i am not advocating we will lose,but just a thought,in fact i am convined we will win on Tuesday,but the away goal may be our downfall.
    Walcott,is he that good really ?.I still keep to my original opinion that sure he is quick,but how often does he come on in a cameo role against a tiring defence.He was totally blocked out of the game against United,and IMO, 4 yers on i had expected more improvement.Many will say he is being played out of position on the wing,but Wenger persists.does he think he will be our new TH14 ?.I am not convinced,he definitely looks better in a more central position.

    The we have Ade and Bedntner.I firmly believe both would be sold in the summer if possible and a new striker brought in.Rumours daily,santa cruz being the latest.

    Groin injuries appear to be daily news,are our
    players being over trained. ?

    A few questions hopefully to raise some debate.

  14. JonJon says:

    kelsey…

    id rather lose a final than a semi…

    walcott isnt that good and id rather sell him now and buy the real deal rather than wait 5 years just to see IF he is the real deal….

    ade and bendtner need to go….but add diaby and denilson to that list too….

    RSC is better than ade and brikki put together but we still need a villa or a benzmema…

    and yes our training methods are wierd because ive never known anything like it…… 😉

  15. kelsey says:

    Hi JonJon,

    and another thing that gets my goat up.This constant referal to 20 games unbeaten in the PL.If we draw our last 4 games we could finish 4th,though unlikely,but to put it into perspective we have won2 lost 2 and drawn 1 of our last 5 games.Wenger is the new tinker man.For example Eboue had a really good game against boro,then he drops him.he plays diaby on the wing which was totally ineffectual.how he thinks every player can play a number of different positions beats me.some defenders can play more than one other position,but in our case the lack of experienced squad depth causes this to happen,which leads us to the old chestnut of not slowly buying one or two players of maturity and experience,over the last 3 years,instead of this obsession with youth.

    Quite frankly the annoying thing is that we are so near to really compete,yet the boss doesn’t see it.

  16. kelsey says:

    sorry I meant finish 5th.

  17. JonJon says:

    the boss hasnt seen alot kelsey…

    hes seen things this season that nobody else has…years ago it made him look a legend…now hes just making himself look stupid..

    wengers past it…

  18. rico01 says:

    Afternoon all 😉

    JJ – re your earlier post, I agree with what you have said, but knowing our old Ebenezer he will just say – My youngsters shosed quality, resilience and were mentally very strong, they have big character and i have always had great belief in them’…. Any excuse for the boss not to spend 😉

    However, we all know very different 😛

  19. avenell says:

    Eduardo out for 3 weeks.. 😦

  20. JonJon says:

    haha rico

    yes wenger will say that.. wenger will say it even if we dont win the CL….

    such a tight wad….

  21. JonJon says:

    whats wrong with him????

  22. avenell says:

    Groin I suppose.. RvP could be back for tuesday, that gives me no confidence. arsene will play him on the wing again..

  23. kelsey says:

    Groin strain of course,when he collided with Rio.
    Excluding tomorrow we have a possible 5 games to play for RVP to shine.Question is will he be able to play 5 games without sustaining injury,as he and AA are the only 2 players i can think of that could change in a second.

  24. JonJon says:

    yey robin our season is saved… 😉

  25. kelsey says:

    i can’t write properly anymore.i meant change a game in a second 😉

  26. JonJon says:

    robin could change into a barca shirt in the summer in a second….earning us 20mil….!!!!! ;)any takers???

  27. JonJon says:

    we sell theo 25mil
    robin 20mil
    ade 20mil
    brikki 10mil
    diaby 5mil
    denilson 10

    we buy veloso 15mil
    silva 25
    ribery 25
    villa 25

    then we can play 4 2 3 1

    cesc veloso
    silva AA ribery
    villa

    hahahaha barca eat your heart out….. wheres my championship manager game???? 😉

    jonjons night is booked… 😉

  28. kelsey says:

    ave,

    I know it seems like i am blowing my own trumpet or whatever the expression is,but i told you so,that the takeover was sooner than later,a few months ago.

  29. JonJon says:

    i hope he does take over….those americans dont mess about… winning means everything to them….they are of a competitive nature….gazidis already said 4th isnt good enough any more….

    the sooner the better…. the kroenke/gazidis partnership will take us forward…make us a global brand especially in america….to do that we need the silverware….

  30. London says:

    Top Post Rasputin

    It gives people like me a greater understanding of where you stand on the various issues; there is also plenty for me to get my teeth into. Hehehe

  31. JonJon says:

    bonjour london…

  32. kelsey says:

    hello London 🙂

  33. London says:

    Bonjour Jonjon comment ça va?

    I wrote that things had changed in an earlier post

    https://avenell.wordpress.com/2009/04/01/the-credit-crisis-is-over-for-arsenal/

    I have an idea for something similar….

  34. London says:

    Hello Kelsey how are you today?

  35. avenell says:

    London .. new idea in the widgets.. book a post so we can leave it free for who fancies what day.. >>>>>>>^^

  36. kelsey says:

    I am fine thank you,London.So with kroenke now holding 28.7% he is near the 30% where by he can enforce a takeover.Apart from Lady Nina,members of her family own about 5% so there are many possibilities to consider.I believe that with Kroenke now on the board maybe an initial injection of money before a proposed takeover,but then again we are led to believe there is a reserve fund already available,which AW has refused to spend.

    Ave put me down for 0-0 tomorrow please.

  37. avenell says:

    There is no reserve fund as such, it depends on how much further we go into debt..
    We had that magical £93 million in the bank all year, but we owe £146 million at the end of the month. we also make about £36 million per year butwe also spent a bit on Arshavin so we will be borrowing a bit until the flats are sorted.

    0-0 I will put you in..

  38. JonJon says:

    we borrowed millions for the stadium….why not for some players????

    ca va bien merci london….

  39. rico01 says:

    hello again, sorry, busy pants day – good news though about Stan the man, much rather he than the Fat russian 😉

  40. rico01 says:

    Hey London – where have you been 😦

  41. rico01 says:

    I’m here, you have all gone so I will do the same, catch you tomorrow…

    ave 3-1 away win for me please…

  42. peachesgooner says:

    Hello

    Anyone about? Just watched interviews with Cesc and Theo on arse tv – they can talk the talk lets hope they can walk the walk 🙂

    They are both positive that the tie can be turned around to our advantage, they want the crowd to boo united when they have the ball like the mancs did to them – interesting idea!!!!

  43. avenell says:

    Just watched Tom Watts waving an embarressing arsenal flag that we are giving away at the Emirates Tuesday..
    These tossers at top level are turning us into popcorn eating, kiora drinking plastic fans.
    Rah Rah Rah!!

  44. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters and Roosters 🙂

    Put me down for 0:2 today ave – AA and Denilson to score. Since I do not feature on your table, how about an extra point for every goalscorer you get right (clutching at straws! 😳 )

  45. Rasputin says:

    Hi London – (when you read this).

    Thanks for your comments. I thought you knew where I stand on the Arsenal…..I’ve never tried to hide my opinions 😛

  46. kelsey says:

    Morning Rasputin,

    That post i put up last night on the other channel, is not idle gossip.I mentioned before that my best pal over here is a director of BWIN,based in Gibraltar,and he went to Madrid with a few mates yesterday for the match against Barca,this weekend.Over lunch with the directors of RM about BWIN renewing their sponsorship shirt deal,it came out that RM want RVP as he is disillusioned with what’s going on at our club,and wants away and there are negotiations taking place.It may all come to nothing,but it tells me that the senior players expected more strength to be brought into the club last summer and perhaps they believe that we will remain stagnant yet again over the summer.

  47. kelsey says:

    Though I have gone for 0-0 today,I think it is vital we put out our strongest tam and secure three points and then at least 4th.spot is guaranteed.I just never know which team will turn up,so i have gone for a draw,and hope i am wrong.

  48. chaf says:

    Good morning.

    Totally missed yesterday, love the post, a few words in there not associated with football supporters. (The complicated ones!) Unfortunately I’m questioning AW myself now, and that worries me as much as he does. I suppose well have more answers than questions by wednesday.

    Ave, when you get up, put me down for 1-3 today.

  49. chaf says:

    I’m not worried about RVP going. In fact he was in my list of players I would let go.

    He’s another player that didn’t deliver the potential, is injured half the season, and plays better for this country than us.

  50. Rasputin says:

    Morning chaf, Kelsey,

    Yes, I agree with you both. Although RVP has been more constructive with his play this season (more assists) I still consider him a luxury player and he is one of the many injury prone players we seem to accumulate.

    Just a point about the post. I tried not to make it too extreme, but there was a question in there, linking the headline and the text……is AW tactically wanting?…..has he always been that way?……is it just part of his ‘youth dream’?

  51. chaf says:

    He’s done extremely well in the past if he is tactically inept!

    But I question him more and more now. If we were winning I wouldn’t.

    The youth dream is odd because not many of the young promising players ever make it into our first team.

  52. Rasputin says:

    I’m torn chaf. I look back over his time and remember his persistence with players like Stepanovs, Cygan (the arhentinian whose name I can’t remember)and even Reyes to an extent and I think we were lucky that the invincibles side picked itself and we weren’t decimated by injuries that season.

  53. Rasputin says:

    arhentinian = argentinian

  54. rico01 says:

    Morning all – in relation to our mighty fine Ebenezer Wenger, I think this summer is his last chance, he now has little excuse not to sort this squad out, and it shouldnt take rocket science for him to do this – he has Gazidis to sort out any transfers, all he needs to do is sort out who should go. I am sure I could help in that department, as we all could..

    Outs for me would be

    Silvestre
    Ade
    Nik
    Robin ?
    Denilson
    Diaby
    Eboue
    Senderos

    That should get us near on 60 – 70M pounds to spend, three players in, one CF CM & CH – and play Theo as a striker!!

  55. Rasputin says:

    Morning rico,

    Fantastic assessment – you’ve solved all of our problems in one post 😛 (P.S. I’m not being facetious 😉 )

  56. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    My prediction is Pompy 1-3 Arsenal

  57. rico01 says:

    Morning Rasp – I would not think you were, not for one minute 😉

    One positive thing though, Almunia showed against Manure what a great keeper he ‘can’ be – that has to be the best display from him ever. For once he looked really confident, and got everything he went for. He has set his own standard now and if he maintain that level we will be fine in the GK area. Fab isnt a bad back up, and he is still young in GK years.

    The question is, if you had that 70M in your pockets, who would you all buy….??

  58. rico01 says:

    Morning George, that makes three of us, I think chaf has gone for that score too

  59. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    rico

    r u happy with the Stan move 😉

  60. rico01 says:

    George

    I really dont want the Russian guy in and we need something to change our club imho – we are stagnant at the moment and Stan seems a better option. I think he will bring a stronger mentality to the board, and Americans don’t like to lose, so hopefully it will be a good thing. But the short answer to your question is yes 😉

  61. rico01 says:

    Going on from that George – a while ago, cant remember where I wrote it now, but I thought then, as I do now, that Ivan Gazidis will be the surprise share holder. I honestly think he may end up buying out Usamonov and then he and Stan take over our club. The Stan bit has come right, guess now we will have to wait and see if the second part comes true 😉

  62. rico01 says:

    This is funny, and serves you bloomin well right Mr Brown – AKA Tosser 😛

    Phil Brown believes the spitting row with Arsenal may have damaged people’s perception of Hull.

    Brown alleged Cesc Fabregas had spat at Tigers assistant boss Brian Horton following the teams’ FA Cup tie at the Emirates Stadium. The Arsenal captain was subsequently charged with improper conduct while Brown has also been charged by the FA over his criticism of the referee, Mike Riley.

    Brown admits it may have altered people’s impression of the club. “Possibly it did,” he told The Times. “I can’t go overboard about that because it’s part of an inquiry and I’m under FA scrutiny, but there was a lot (that) went on after the game.”

    He added: “I would have dearly loved to speak to Arsne Wenger straight after the game.

    “I would have put it to him manager to manager, instead of going public, but there was no access to him.

    “If there was access, none of this would have come out. But I couldn’t speak to him or get any sense out of anyone else.

    “Let’s conduct the inquiry and then we’ll see what comes out.

    “I think it’s something we need to look at. For as long as I’ve been involved in football, there has been a culture where the managers have a chat beforehand and afterwards and it doesn’t spill over into personal animosity.

    “We talked about a Respect campaign for the players at the start of the season. I think the League Managers’ Association have a duty to make sure we all get together and say that this tension just can’t go on.

    “I know there’s long-term battles going on with some of the big boys, but it doesn’t have to be that way. We should be able to talk to each other, manager to manager.”

  63. rico01 says:

    Blimey – I have just read that Eduardo is out for the rest of the season 😦

  64. Rasputin says:

    Poor old Dudu…. really sad eh rico? – that’s one of my fantasies shot down…… now I’ve only got Gallas to make a surprise comeback and head in the winner against the chaves in the CL final 🙂

  65. rico01 says:

    Rasp – It is really sad, AW has said he is the unluckiest player he has know 😦

    Are you watching Soccer AM, D O’Leary, Gooner and Jensen Button have been on (Button on the phone) Maybe the two Gooners are a good omen for Tuesday – 😉

  66. avenell says:

    New post up… JJ’s

Leave a Reply

