Too Clever is Not Clever..

Right I have counted to 10 and thought about last nights match. Not content with having chucked in the FA cup in with poor decisions,  Mr Wenger has done it again.

Call me old fashioned but when our first choice left back is injured just replace him with our reserve left back. When our centre half is injured just replace him with our reserve centre half. No not you Arsene, we have the best midfielder in the world playing in DB10’s position, we had the player who took Man U apart with his long range shooting playing defensive midfield. In the same game at the Emirates the man who played second striker so effectively is now playing on the left wing.

Why not see if Theo could have a run at O’Shea on the left wing or let Nasri go left Cesc drops back and Diaby plays in the hole?

AAAAARRRHHHHH It was better when Arsene has no choice too much is killing us.

You were lucky last night Arsene we should have lost that 4-0, we were lucky that Man U never got the momentum up that would have killed us off dead.

Something else I noticed last night, when a class technical player has a ball played to him, one touch and that ball is there to be used again, it takes Ade from the “D” to the centre circle to control it only to pass it backwards, unfortunately Theo and Diaby are not much better. These players cannot Wengerball.

There was a few good performances, but overall I’m deeply dissapointed, how we are going to keep a clean sheet at the Emirates who knows??

Almunia 8.5 .. Excellent made save after save, good communication with the defence. Lehmann would have destroyed them or himself with their collective bad marking.

Sagna.. 7.. A good defensive performance, not sure if he is 100% fit yet. Offensively he has become a one trick pony.

Toure.. 7.. Thank god he is still fit, must be difficult trying to keep this defence together and try to motivate the midfield with some good surging runs.

Silvestre.. 5.. Didn’t play his worst game but not good enough at this level, he should have been used against the Fulhams etc, to give Gallas a rest now it’s too late.

Gibbs.. 8.. Top defending against world class players, it funny watching the show pony running towards his own goal because his stepovers didn’t work.

Song ..7.5 Wow super performance good interceptions, starting to pass incisively too. I would like to see him man mark slightly tighter.

Nasri.. 6 .. Out of position, he could play the holding roll but why start the experiment now?

Fabregas.. 6.. Opposite of the above…

Walcott.. 4.. Sorry Theo you cannot live up to your hype, Eboue would have been a better bet.

Diaby..  4.. A round peg in a square hole everywhere he plays, should have been supporting the striker or on the bench.

Ade ..2 ..  Gave it the gob before the game, what a waste of space, If I had the choice of Bendtner plus Dudu or this lazy tosser and Diaby the former would get my vote every time.

Subs 10 poxy minutes.. Bendtner and Dudu..

Has lucky Mr Wenger learnt from this?  I very much doubt it..

Sorry I am not around much at the moment by the way ..

59 Responses to Too Clever is Not Clever..

  1. Rasputin says:

    Welcome home ave……bloody brilliant assessment if you don’t mind me saying so 🙂

  2. rico01 says:

    I second all of that Rasp – You missing was very emotional Ave 😉

  3. peachesgooner says:

    Hello – where is everyone?

    Nice post avenell sweetie 🙂 my crossness has almost abated and I’m veering towards hopeful again.

    What did Raddy say yesterday about addiction, sign me up 😆

  4. JonJon says:

    evening all….

    sorry i aint been about i been doing 12 hour shifts… im knackered…

    the post tells a full story about how i feel at the minute…im going off wenger bitime…..i honestly think hes clueless and we are stuck with a manager whos passed his sell by date..

  5. JonJon says:

    can i just add….i know your supposed to give your full support to the team through thick and thin…but adebayor is a bastard and i hate him with a passion…hates a strong word so i’ll change it…i detest the prat….

  6. JonJon says:

    add diaby to that aswell… i dont hate him…i dont detest him neither…but i think hes dumb… dumb dumb dumb….and he needs to go too….

  7. London says:

    At the beginning of the game what did you say to yourself that would settle for at the end? I said that so long as we were still in it I would be happy, I watched it with Benwell and we thought that we would be prepared to stretch it to a 2-1 loss. When the final whistle came, I felt ok about things because we are not only just about in it we are very much in it. They gave it their best shot and we were on the ropes for a large part of the first half but they couldn’t knock us out.
    I just can’t get as critical as you guys over the team selection; I thought the defence was immense; I was far happier that Nasri was playing next to Song than Denilson. The Fabregas-Adebayor combo has been working and so it made sense to continue with it, maybe if only because there wasn’t a better option. I am not going to attempt to support Adebayor but he is the best that we have and 4-5-1 I believe was still the best option. I seem to remember that it worked well last year when we beat them at Old Trafford. Diaby was disappointing again, Theo was far more out of his depth than Gibbs who I was naturally impressed with but I think those who think that he should stay in when Clichy returns are making a mistake. Fabianski was playing well until his inexperience showed at Wembley: it is only a question of time before Gibbs has one of those, I hope I’m wrong and have to choke on these words but it seems to happen more times than not. I will finish by repeating what I think is the most important point of all and that is that we are still in it. Hehehe

  8. JonJon says:

    hey london… how are ya mate???

    you always offer a most calming view on things… 😉

    i guess im the other end of the spectrum… haha..

    i will disagree on clichy though….clichy hasnt performed well all season…he has been pretty poor for the majority of it by his own standards…. gibbs has come in and been immense and sure, he will make mistakes that will highlight his inexperience but clichys made novice mistakes all season…at the moment gibbs has the edge and it should stay that way until we get the old clichy back…

  9. London says:

    Hi Jonjon

    I am ok, it’s not that I think Clichy is so much better I just fear a Ramsey at Cardiff or a Fabianski at Wembley situation for Gibbs.

  10. London says:

    Rasputin I noticed what I thought was a really good post yesterday; you suggested that match report should contain the match and those in between should be a sort of thought for the day, extremely good ideas. The thing that I don’t understand is why you don’t write a post or two yourself, I know you have been invited to do so; you are clearly capable of marshalling your thoughts in an articulate way so what is stopping you?

  11. avenell says:

    Evening London.. Nice to see ya!

    The point is it doesn’t have to be that way.
    We are better than this. We got totaly outplayed, Do you think Diaby is a better winger than Nasri? Cesc plays in the hole better than he does create from deep?

    If Arsene believes it why wait for a FA Cup semi and a Champs league Semi to start the experiment.

  12. avenell says:

    And how has Dudu picked up a groin strain in 10 minutes?
    😦

  13. London says:

    Hi Ave

    Been working so I haven’t been able to add much.

    The funny thing is I don’t rate Nasri on the wing, Diaby has played better out there I’m not trying to say that he played well last night but….

  14. London says:

    What? Eduardo another groin strain.

  15. London says:

    I don’t see it as being a great embarrassment to be out played at their place.

    They out played us at Wembley in the FA cup final, we played 4.5.1 and beat them in the end on penalties.

  16. avenell says:

    When we played Man U at The Emirates, Diaby was pretty good behind the striker and we could have thrown a few long balls forwards in the hope that his height would help win something in the air?
    Cesc would have hit Ade, Diaby and Theo earlier from deep with long passes that Nasri was not capable of.
    Theo is superglued to the right touchline.
    Nasri would have protected Gibbs at least as good as Diaby on the left.It is not Nasri’s best offensive position I agree.

  17. avenell says:

    Dudu out for Saturday. and Silvestre. Groin and groin..

  18. London says:

    I hope those two injuries are tactical; we will need them both next week.

  19. avenell says:

    I would have thought Dudu could do with an hours playing time so I doubt that one.
    What is it with left footed players and groin strains?

  20. London says:

    I think I tried to say once before that Eduardo wasn’t injured and got it completely wrong, any way, I have to get up early tomorrow so I shall say good night.

  21. avenell says:

    Okay London. nite mate!

  22. JonJon says:

    only went in the bath and youve gone… 😦

    london i here what you say about the ramsey and fabianski scenario… i guess thats the risk though when you have inexperienced backup… kids make mistakes…

    id love to see rasp do a post…

    night london..

  23. avenell says:

    Did you use your Lynx stimulation? 😉

  24. JonJon says:

    im staying away from the team selection tlk tonight….its part of my post for tomorrow… 😉

  25. JonJon says:

    hahahaha yes ave…i was very stimulated…dont know where i got the idea from… 😆

  26. avenell says:

    I thought it may help you create a post for tomorrow..

  27. JonJon says:

    yes i thought the same… i was bushed and dirty and needed stimulation… diaby needs brain stimulation

  28. avenell says:

    We need to turn the water spinklers on at the Emirates everytime Ade stands still Tuesday and blow water up his shorts, that should get the lazy overpaid tosser moving about a bit.

  29. JonJon says:

    im beginning to agree with your theory on theo…. why wait 5 years to see whether he will become a star when we can get 25mil for him now and buy the star we need… same with ade…. fuck him off for 15-20… and get benzema or villa if valencia are going to offload because of their debts…

  30. avenell says:

    Why have a £25 million pound striker on the wing who cannot cross a ball, like you say for 5 years. He is too one dimensional for us, he has caused Sagna to have a poor season.
    He reminds me of the electric hare at walthamstow dogs up and down the touchline, 2 defenders chase him no end product..

  31. avenell says:

    Has he signed this new contract yet?
    4 years of waiting we paid £11 mill for him, now he could leave on a free or a discounted amount.. wtf is going on??

  32. avenell says:

    But he is kinda good lookin’ .. lol 😉

  33. JonJon says:

    lol…

    i heard he signed a new contract before the chelsea game…. but how true it was i dont know….

  34. JonJon says:

    the thing that bothers me is that wenger says we are mentally strong and we are ready…how does he work that one out…. weve played the other big sides in the last fortnight and we crumbled and got spanked in everygame….

    if it wasnt for AA at fab2 at anfield that could of been the PL record defeat….

  35. avenell says:

    There’s more bull coming out of arsenal then.. all contracts were on hold until the end of the season..

    http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/2009/04/06/arsene-wenger-puts-all-contract-talks-on-hold-until-the-summer-115875-21256851/

  36. avenell says:

    I must admit if arsene starts another sentance with “I believe” I could deck him.. He is beginning to look a bit stupid in interviews now..

  37. peachesgooner says:

    Hey chaps – are you still there? I thought I’d have a quick check before I turned the computer off – my wireless is driving me nuts so I havn’t been able to blog all evening 😉

  38. avenell says:

    I’m here Peaches.. we are talking lynx stimulation as it’s late.. 😉

  39. peachesgooner says:

    Shall I leave you to your lynx stimulation then – better than sprinklers up the a*** 🙂

  40. peachesgooner says:

    Someone said that the contracts had all been signed but the club were waiting until we hadn’t won anything to reveal that bit of info to the world 🙂

  41. avenell says:

    I’m off to bed anyway Peaches.. you and Jonjon take care..

  42. JonJon says:

    morning peaches….

    thats what iheard but the validity is questionable..

  43. avenell says:

    Another 5 years of RvP and Theo “whoop a no trophy doo”..

    lol..

  44. peachesgooner says:

    Nite ave – I’m going to bed too – nite JonJon, sorry to leave you all alone.

    Catch up tomorrow xx

  45. JonJon says:

    night peaches

  46. JonJon says:

    night avenell

  47. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters and Roosters 🙂

    Good news…….it is being reported that we are interested in Santa Cruz (a long time favourite of mine) and that may mean that Ade and possibly Nik are on their way out to be replaced by a tall guy who knows how to finish.

    Bad news…citeh are apparently after Veloso 😦 and may get him for as little as 15m

    A response to London’s heroic defence of our team selection last night…… Manu, like the chavs weren’t that good. If we’d played an attacking formation, taken off Diaby and Ade when it was obvious they weren’t cutting it and played Cesc in his best position, we’d probably have got an away goal and possibly a draw or a win.

    I doubt our defence will be able to stop manu scoring at the Emirates and then we’ll need three against the best defence in the CL. If they score more than one, we’re out of it…….

  48. rico01 says:

    Morning All, just popping my head in as I have a busy old morning – Hope everyone is fighting fit and healthy and over the Manure pain

    Hi Rasp, I think Rio could be out as he has a rib injury – I pray that is the case as he and Vidic are only good together – one out and the Manure defence has a few cracks and I reckon even old Ade might be able to get himself a goal 😉

  49. rico01 says:

    Santa Cruz – I for sure hope this is for real, I would love that guy on the end of our attacking football – The season is nearly over and Gazidis better be getting his ink ready, we need to get in there and buy early – thats if we are going to buy of course, then sit back and wait for the bids for Ade…. Oh a long summer looms 😉

  50. Rasputin says:

    Morning rico,

    Yea…if Ivan can conjour up RSC, Veloso and a top centreback and I’d be a happy bunny indeed 😛

  51. JonJon says:

    morning everyone

    if veloso is available for 15mil and we miss out to citeh i wont be happy….but i think he’ll join us…

    as for RSC… i think ive had this chat with you before rasp…. id take him anyday….

    rico im expecting alot from gazidis this summer… we need it…

  52. JonJon says:

    veloso RSC and lescott….

  53. Rasputin says:

    Morning JonJon,

    Do you think we’d be able to match the wages citeh are likely to offer Veloso?

  54. JonJon says:

    no rasp… i dont think we can….but saying that veloso has had a taste of CL at sporting and citeh cant offer that….

  55. JonJon says:

    they cant even offer europa 😉

  56. Rasputin says:

    I’ve emailed ave an idea for a post, but with such important games ahead I’m not sure now is the right time….if you’re reading ave, I won’t be disappointed if you choose to bin it 🙂

    I was with a collection of very wealthy, season ticket holding gooners to watch the game on wednesday. After the final whistle, they were obviously disappointed but I was shattered. I had that terrible sinking feeling that stays with me for days – until I start to look forward to the next game, then the optimism retuurns… 😆

  57. Rasputin says:

    Let’s dare to believe then JonJon 😉

  58. JonJon says:

    rasp.. your 10.19..

    thats me all over….im gutted when we lose and im depressed until we play again…..its a horrible feeling….

  59. avenell says:

    New Post up!!!

Leave a Reply

