In Praise of Silvestre.

As much as it is becoming more and more fashionable for Arsenal supporters to eulogise over how wonderful the Manu squad system is; I would like to remind them that they almost lost the league recently because of their lack of defensive depth. When both Ferdinand and Vidic were injured they went scratching around the barrel and came up with Evans and Gibson, ever heard of them? No.

The idea that they wouldn’t have sold Silvestre if he was any good is a catchy little sound bite but it is lazy and totally inaccurate. I can only assume that the people who trot this out are unaware that it suggests a greater level of nous on the part on the mancs. Now some Arsenal supporters, and I use the term loosely, may be comfortable with that; but to me, this has the same effect as a cats claws being dragged down a black-board.

Here is what I suggest happened. After many years of loyal service the mancs explained to Silvestre at the beginning of the season that his chances of playing were limited and so out of respect they let him leave on a free transfer in order that he could get the best wage deal possibly for himself: very fair in my opinion.

Lots of Arsenal supporters were crying out at the beginning of the season that we need to buy experience; there are few more experienced than Silvestre; and yet, he arrived to a chorus of complaints.

Against Liverpool, he was up against the best centre forward in the world, we know this, of course, because of how many Arsenal supporters sing his praises at any available opportunity. Sylvestre had a torrid time. But it is worth remembering that not so long ago the dippers scored four goals against the chavs and they had Alex playing.

Calls for new defenders are the order of the day but I ask myself do these people actually think of the practicalities of signing more defenders. Take Brede Hangeland of Fulham, a very popular name on the wish list; do you really think he would be interested in coming to a club where he may well be expected to sit on the bench for most of the season?

There was an interesting conversation on the site the other day: someone was stressing the importance of building up defensive partnerships: the names of Ferdinand and Vidic came up; ours would naturally be Gallas and Toure. The point was that partnerships develop over time, they have to be nurtured and persevered with in order to get the best out of them; this is not a radical idea. I suspect that most managers aim to achieve a stable partnership; equally, I suspect that most players understand that that is what a manager will be aiming for. So it is reasonable to guess that Toure and Gallas knew at the beginning of the season that they were going to be the main pairing that Wenger was going to prioritise throughout the season.

So if Hangeland were signed and by some good fortune Gallas and Toure didn’t get injured he could find himself wasting his career away on the bench. Ahhh, I hear you say, but there are always injuries. This is true and if there were then Djourou, who is a far better long term prospect than Hangeland any way, would play.

So now Hangeland has got to sit on the bench and wait for Gallas, Toure and Djourou to get injured before he gets a game and that could easily mean that he sitsΒ there twiddling his thumbs all season long. What self respecting footballer wants to do that unless he is 17 and is prepared to wait for his chance. In short, unless Hangeland was going to replace Gallas or Toure (in a Sol Campbell way) then there is no way, if he has a modicum of self respect, would want to come to Arsenal……..I would suggest that we are fortunate to have Silvestre.

This post is by London!

204 Responses to In Praise of Silvestre.

  1. rico01 says:

    Morning All – Nice read London, but i am one who thinks he was not the best purchase, and would be glad to see him along with a couple of others go in the summer 😦

    We are being linked this morning to a Hungarian and a Russian, and its not even May yet πŸ˜‰

  2. chaf says:

    Morning London

    A well presented opinion. But I want to win the league. I don’t think he’s good enough. If Manure say to him he’s not going to get many games, go and get yourself a good wage somewhere else, what does that make us look like. So we pay him a good wage, and he gets more games than he would there. That says to me that they will finish higher than us…

  3. peachesgooner says:

    Morning all

    When I was doing ‘A’ level economics I was very good at presenting a logical arguement that was initially flawed and thereby although a very good read was in fact not true.

    If the mancs were happy to let Fish-face go then he wasn’t good enough to sit on their bench and by the same token he’s not good enough to sit on ours.

    Why is it ok for him to move to Arsenal to sit behind Toure Gallas and Djourou in the pecking order and not ok for him to sit behind Vidic Ferdinand etc?

    London – you are entitled to your opinion but mine is quite different πŸ™‚

  4. avenell says:

    Morning Rico..
    Morning Chaf.. (what do you mean mumbling?)

    Silvestre was in a similar position to Gilberto.
    long time servant of a club, go and get the best deal you can..

  5. avenell says:

    Morning Peaches. πŸ™‚

  6. Rasputin says:

    Morning London,

    I can only repeat what I have said before – in the modern era, teams don’t win trophies / leagues….. squads do.

    How many times do any of the top teams get to play their first choice 11? If a side has four quality central defenders, it is almost guaranteed that with the inevitable injuries, ‘resting’ of players and tactical juggling, that they will all get plenty of time in the pitch – not be pperpetual ‘benchwarmers’.

    As I said last night, I do not belive that the acquisition of Sylvestre was a master stroke but a late / cheap panic buy. There are ‘utility’ players that can play in several positions – O’Shea does it for manure. Maybe we should sign someone like that as cover. Grimandi did a pretty good job for us in that capacity.

  7. chaf says:

    Morning Peaches, Ave, Rico, Rasp.

    And Stringvestry has been exposed in both the last two games.

    I also think it was a late panic buy, and psychologically it puts us down the league tables. Not many players move aroud the top four clubs for a good reason.

  8. chaf says:

    London

    I bet you’re sitting there smiling, you knew this would get a bashing…

  9. Rasputin says:

    The chavs, manure and pool all have 4 quality centrebacks to choose from….we have 3 and Sylvestre πŸ˜‰

  10. peachesgooner says:

    Come on London – where are you?

  11. Big Raddy says:

    Sorry London, it is going to get another bashing !

    Signing the Manc as cover smacked of desperation. Particularly when allied to sending Swiss to Italy. If we are talking of developing CB partnerships, we have one that has been working together at International level for many years. IF Senderos has improved at AC (and surely he must in such a wonderful environment), he has the ability to become a fine CB, and with JD’s pace, they make a fine team.

    I did not, nor do I now see the point of Silvestre. He has yet to have a decent game for us. Perhaps AW signed him to help in training, with a view to becoming a Coach at AFC.

  12. Big Raddy says:

    Oh, but an interesting read.

    As was Peaches Economics A-level analogy. I scraped a D!

  13. peachesgooner says:

    Morning raddy – you’ll have to excuse my rudeness at not replying to you earlier – theres a lot to tell πŸ˜†

  14. London says:

    Morning Ave

    Well folks, thank you for your polite response I obviously didn’t expect you to agree and it wasn’t my intention to change your minds; a bit of fun really.

    Some good points have been raised. Peaches did you pass your “A” level economics? In actual fact the post has got nothing to do with economics and every thing to do with Manu having Evans and Gibson waiting in the wings at the beginning of the season; we, of course, had Djourou and Senderos but as you remember Senderos was unhappy at the prospect of sitting on the bench for another season so asked to go out on loan. This left us in a situation where we needed cover, someone who would be prepared to sit on the bench for the best part of the season. Enter Sylvestre, who was not, as some have suggested, a panic signing, that my friends is finding a practical solution to a difficult situation.

    Not one of you has addressed the Hangerland hypothesis. Of course it is all about squad but my point is that even the mighty mancs squad is thinner than people care to mention, why? Because it is harder than people think to get players with any self respect to sit on the bench for most of the season.

    Avenell, thank you for your 10.36 comment; that meant a lot to me and Chaf I will talk to you later πŸ˜‰

  15. Rasputin says:

    Congratulations London on sparking such a lively yet civilised debate πŸ™‚

    One last point. Most of us would agree that competition for places is a great way of encouraging players to give of their best. I don’t think having Sylvestre in the background would have spurred on Toure, Gallas or JD as the same way as a younger player with a career ahead of them would have. Like Raddy, I’d have been far happier to keep Big Phil than stoop to Sylvestre…

  16. London says:

    Raddy

    You got a D in economics? Think about it? Why would we want to send Senderos to Italy, it makes no sense, the man wanted to play football, the game he loves not sit on a bench at Arsenal for another season… he obviously asked to leave.

  17. chaf says:

    London

    That sounds worrying, I’m off to the gym to watch people sweat….

  18. avenell says:

    Morning London..
    It is a shame that he hasn’t turned out better for Arsenal. We need more athletic centre backs than Man U as I feel we play further up the field, unlike Man U who are still a counter attacking team who play with holding midfield players.

  19. chaf says:

    BTW

    Don’t get romantic about Senderos, don’t forget the CL quarter final.

  20. peachesgooner says:

    London – I did indeed, I got a ‘C’ – the examiner must have been on the same wave length as me. I could have changed the world πŸ™‚

  21. Rasputin says:

    Oops London, I’ve just read the tone of your response at 11:14 😦

    Luckily I have a busy morning and so do not have time to ‘lock horns’ Not for the first time, you have been patronising towards Peaches (I don’t know if you even realise you are doing it!) And once again you phrase your ‘lecture’ as if it is definitive (sylvestre was not a panic signing- how do you know? )and you are in possession of secret information denied to the rest of us. Are your views opinions, or are you Arsene Wenger?

  22. London says:

    Rasputin you were right in your 11.17

    I haven’t got a clue what you are talking about in your 11.24. Peaches patronising? lecture? Lock horns? You have lost me mate.

    Read the bit were I say it was meant as a bit of fun.

    And by the way you dodged the questions about Senderos wanting to leave rather than being told and Hengerland would not want to come.

  23. JonJon says:

    wow london… very well thought out post…. i agree about handglider and i date really rate him anyway….

    but you knew you’d provoke me with this one didnt ya???? πŸ˜‰

    fishead has been a crock 4 almost two years and manure have ferdinand vidic brown o’shea evans

    the bulbess headed one was surplus to requirements and out of gratitude to his loyalty he was allowed a to do a ‘gilberto’

    but….he was over the hill…..two years out of the game is too long…especially at the rate the PL moves….

    we got him because wenger even admitted at the AGM that where do you find a left footed CB with experience???? silvestre was a stop gap….because the farcicle carry ons in the summer…

    personally… jolean lescotts the man we are looking for… PL experience….big in the air and the tackle and quick…

    been evertons best CB fort a few years and they are organised at the back….

    he will cost money…but with gallas over 30 and lescott only 25/26…….he’ll be worth the dosh…

  24. London says:

    Chaf

    I agree, in an ideal world we need more athletic centre backs, but I have given a reason why the likes of Hengaland would be reluctant to come to Arsenal so why do you think he is likely to want to it on the bench for most of the season?

  25. JonJon says:

    id actually take sendoros back london….

    id use him as a squad player though and only bring him in for the games against teams like fulham and hull and wigan…etc…..

    gallas, kolo, lescott, JD, senderhorse… for next year

    isnt that bad is it….

  26. Rasputin says:

    I can read London and I understand your comments and where you are coming from……

    You didn’t ask me directly about Senderos so I’m dodging nothing. If you read what I said – “I’d have been far happier to keep Big Phil than stoop to Sylvestre” you will see that I was not arguing with your point that apparently he wanted to leave, just commenting that I believe he was/is a better prospect for us than MS. I wonder if like GHleb, with the gift of hindsight he might be regretting that decision although I gather he played 90 minutes the other day.

  27. London says:

    Jonjon

    We are closer in our view than might initially seem to be the case. I agree that Sylvestre was a left footed stop gap, I expect him to be replaced at the end of the season.

  28. Rasputin says:

    Morning JonJon πŸ˜›

  29. JonJon says:

    hello rasp…

    what have we decided on the 4 goal trick???

    london… so do i. πŸ™‚

  30. kelsey says:

    Good Morning again,
    London as i know,it is not easy to write a post,and even if you say it was bit of fun,well I agree with everyone else that it not something i agree with.Fishface was injured for the best part of 2 years,prior to us buying him,and i believe we paid .75 million for him.Hw is absolutely useless,a walking disaster and bought when over 30,going against the great man’s policy.

    As to who should come in the summer,I could reel off a load of names,but it would be pointless,I can only formulate an opinion on the players we have,and if Gallas goes,I for one will be extremely worried.he has been a leader since he lost the captaincy,and even if he stays,we lack quality in defence.I rest my case.

  31. Rasputin says:

    I meant Senderos played 90 minutes – I have no idea about Hleb and couldn’t care a less – he’s a twat! πŸ˜‰

  32. kelsey says:

    apparently in football terms, 4 goals is a double brace.A Wengerite told me πŸ™‚

  33. London says:

    Rasputin

    Your first sentence high lights that you read too much into my comments. As a regular blogger I would have thought that you would have realised just how easy it is to pick up the wrong end of the stick.

    Looking back over your comments I see that you didn’t avoid the idea that Senderos must have asked to leave rather than being told to do so. I was wrong.

    I agree with the second half of your comment.

    Please remember the bit where I wrote “the post was meant as a bit of fun.”

  34. peachesgooner says:

    I’m gutted – my ticket fairy magic hasn’t worked today and I’m ticket-less for the Man U home tie 😦 😦 😦

  35. JonJon says:

    i think i see where wenger was coming from with fishead….london

    send phil out on loan…let him regroup and forget about last year..

    bring in big head and a little experience…until phil came back…

    and we had raised the money to buy lescott….

  36. JonJon says:

    kelsey he must be right…

  37. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Evening all.

    Does anyone have info about when Yo Yo 20 will be back. Interesting post London. I think Silvestre will be released @ the end of season πŸ˜‰

  38. Rasputin says:

    London

    The post was a bit of fun – and beautifully crafted in that mode. Your later response although prefixed with the ‘bit of fun comment’ was not so gracious. Whenever someone talking to me starts a sentence “I hope you don’t mind me saying so”, I know that I will!!!

    Like I have said before, I’m old fashioned, I like to take words literally. We all hear the tone in our heads when we write comments but the reader can only go on what they see – do you get my drift πŸ™‚

  39. avenell says:

    London/Rasp.. That is the problem you are reading into something which I am sure isn’t meant, if you talk to each other face to face as it were, it would probably come over completly different.. and you never know you may even be friends.. lol

  40. Big Raddy says:

    Oh NO Peaches. You will have to suffer at home, like us ex-pats πŸ˜‰

    As to Hangerland. I have friends who are fanatical Fulham fans (and Board members). They say that Hangerland is not good enough for Arsenal. He has little idea of distribution and is not very comfortable running with the ball. They think he has found his level at Fulham.

  41. rico01 says:

    JJ – I agree, I can see what Arsene was thinking when he got Silvestre, I honestly thought he was cover for Clichy rather than playing at CH – it shows that Arsene was out for getting a bargain, sadly though he didn’t bargain for what he did get (hope that makes sense)

    I failed English Language πŸ˜‰

  42. Evo in Oz says:

    gday all

  43. Evo in Oz says:

    big rad – i agree on hangerland on my viewings of him

  44. Rasputin says:

    Veloso is a quality ‘utility player’ with first team credentials who can play as a CD or DM – I guess we couldn’t afford him…

  45. Big Raddy says:

    I watched the Barca game last night. It was like seeing an old lover on the arm of another man – painful.

    TH remains a footballing God. He was fantastic last night, and Barca are the best team I have seen in a very long time. Last night they played a decent Sevilla team and totally humiliated them., and that without Messi and Puyol !

    Hleb played the final 30 min. Had a couple of chances which went high and wide, but looked tidy. Then Silvinho came on – it was an ex-Arsenal show.

    And Thierry …. Please come home.

  46. Big Raddy says:

    Rasputin. We could afford him if we got rid of deadwood. Ade, Denilson, Diaby, plus a few of the kids.

  47. avenell says:

    Thierry going to Barca for Β£16 million was upsetting, especially when he pocketed Β£10 million in his last year at Arsenal.
    I really don’t get the economics of that deal, perhaps this Gazadis bloke will stop it happening again.

  48. avenell says:

    G,day Evo.. πŸ™‚

  49. Rasputin says:

    I’d take that deal Raddy…..

  50. London says:

    Rasputin

    Where do I start a comment with “I hope you don’t mind me saying” I was suggesting that you were reading too much into my comments now I am suggesting that you are making things up.

  51. JonJon says:

    veloso is my number 1 target in the summer… ave will tell you i think that man is awesome…

    and he can play CM CB LB….

    his mate moutinho aint half bad either

  52. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Hey anyone. Whats the latest on JD20 πŸ˜‰

  53. JonJon says:

    hes supposed to be back for the manure match GG

  54. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    JJ thanks 1st leg or 2nd πŸ™‚

  55. Rasputin says:

    London – I didn’t accuse you of starting a sentence with the words ‘I hope you don’t mind me saying’…. I was offering it as an illustration of the fact that simply writing something concilliatory and then proceeding to do the does not work.

    Time out for ave’s sake. Hope your having a nice day. I’d be out in the sun if I wasn’t unbelievably busy at work (how can he find time to blog then I can hear you all saying). I must admit that over an hour on the phone to BT trying to find out why they’d disconnected us has done nothing to improve my mood.. πŸ˜›

  56. Rasputin says:

    that should have read ‘proceeding to do the opposite does not work’…. my last word, promise πŸ™‚

  57. JonJon says:

    veloso has been sportings main man for the last few seasons… he and moutinho are their engines…

    veloso wanted out last summer but sporting refused and he has been unhappy ever since… he was going to join bolton at xmas for 13mil just to get out bit rumour has it that wenger told his agent to hang on until this summer and we’d go for him…

    veloso pulled the plug…. fingers crossed…

  58. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Oh! Shit! I just read the fixtures that the 1st leg is April 29, i didn’t realise it was that soon. I’m all of a sudden getting quite anxious/nervous. I’m glad its up there 1st. 0-0 would do.

  59. JonJon says:

    dunno GG… rosickys been coming back for 18months so it could be the manure game in 2011…. πŸ˜‰

  60. JonJon says:

    i think we’ll get a 2-1 GG and then draw at the emirates…

  61. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    JJ

    I’ll take that we are there πŸ˜† then.

  62. Big Raddy says:

    A 2-1 at OT, would make an old man very happy (not me – Kelsey!)

    And a draw at THOF would make a not so old man delirious

    BTW Kelsey.how was the haircut? A fashionable style like mine??

  63. Rasputin says:

    You’re obviously a Veloso fan too JonJon. I just think he’d fit in perfectly with our style of football and he’s just coming to his peak.

  64. JonJon says:

    rasp…

    id describe veloso as a more physical, more technical flamini….. with a sweet free kick to go on the Cv

  65. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    BR

    You still prepared to walk to Rome if JJ’s prediction comes true πŸ™‚

  66. Rasputin says:

    That makes him about perfect to partner Cesc!

  67. JonJon says:

    GG id walk to rome with raddy on my back if that prediction came true…. πŸ˜‰

  68. Big Raddy says:

    GG.

    Of course I will. Though JJ’s kind offer is tempting !

  69. chaf says:

    Just back and caught up on the proceedings on court number 1. “I put it to you that on the morning of the 23rd of April 2009 you did willfully use the word…”

    “My honourable friends view was distorted by the way…”

    “Was you in the vaccinity of of the dressing room on the afternoon of…”

    Good fun, who needs TV dramas…

  70. avenell says:

    “Judge Roughneck” πŸ˜‰

  71. avenell says:

    Would you or not?
    Flamini ponders return

    Mathieu Flamini has refused to rule out a return to Arsenal in the future.

    The France midfielder left the Emirates Stadium for AC Milan last summer after failing to agree a new contract, but hasendured mixed fortunes during his firstseason in Serie A.

    He told the BBC: “Arsenal will be in my heart forever and I miss my team-mates. I am very happy at Milan but we’ll see, you never know.”

    Or he goes to Man U or The Dippers..

  72. JonJon says:

    id snap their hands off

  73. rico01 says:

    Afternoon everyone, have i missed much….

  74. avenell says:

    Er no!

    Hi Rico, it’s another of those in between days. I’m still a bit peeved from Saturday.. 😦

  75. JonJon says:

    me too ave…. but i promised myself i was going to be positive from now until the end of the season….

    and then i’ll let rip big time if we end up with nothing again….

  76. JonJon says:

    hello my little ray of sunshine…..

  77. rico01 says:

    Hey ave – dont be, you cant change it, but i wish that we were in that final too, we all need that right now..

    Been out for a picnic, it was quite nice sat in the sun watching the seagulls πŸ˜‰

    Please could you put me down for a 5-1 victory on Satuday πŸ˜›

  78. rico01 says:

    Hey JJ – let rip, please dont do that πŸ˜‰

  79. avenell says:

    Okay Rico.. But what about Sunday versus Middlesborough? πŸ˜‰

  80. rico01 says:

    Oh dear me, πŸ™„

    Yes please ave 😦

  81. avenell says:

    I’ll have a change around later and put you in.. Where did you go for your picnic.. Riverside?

  82. rico01 says:

    Its too far to Boro’ ave πŸ˜‰

    To the park bench ave,shoplifted a big bottleof diamond white and a cheese roll πŸ˜›

    Only kidding, to the park and watched the ducks, ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh πŸ˜› What have you been up to ??

  83. Rasputin says:

    A’anoon Roadsters,

    I’ve just spoken to peaches and she’s distraught at not being able to get a ticket for the manure game.

    It seems that there are a significant number of season ticket holders who are selling their tickets to touts for a sizeable profit. We’ve had a lot of discussion on here about what constitutes a ‘good supporter’…. well I can categorically state that IMO you are not a good supporter if you sell your ticket to the most important game of our season just to make a few bob.

  84. avenell says:

    Cutting sticky back plastic and pressing a few caps..
    I have got to finish cutting the grass in a bit when my assistant gets home from school.. πŸ™‚

  85. rico01 says:

    Rasp – that is discraceful, I cant believe real fans would do that, if i thought i could get one with my red membership i would try for her, but i dont think they will have any, rocking horse poop comes to mind
    😦

    happy time ahead then ave, you are lucky, sounds like real good fun, i think we are due some rain over the next couple of days 😦

  86. rico01 says:

    Where is everyone 😦

  87. rico01 says:

    Where is everyone 😦

  88. Rasputin says:

    Hi rico,

    That’s kind of you. There should be some kind of loyalty bonus for fans who regularly buy tickets throughout the season so they have a chance to get tickets for the big games.

  89. rico01 says:

    Off for a while then, catch you all soon

  90. rico01 says:

    No probs Rasp – I will check later to see if there are any going – in fact I will do it now..

  91. rico01 says:

    No chance Rasp, sold out as we thought 😦

  92. rico01 says:

    Almunia, Djourou are back for Sunday – Great News….

    Bad news – Ade is also back πŸ˜‰

  93. Rasputin says:

    Thanks for trying rico. Let’s hope Gallas is back and match fit for the CL final….it may be his swansong….

  94. rico01 says:

    No worries Rasp, I hope peaches finds a knight in shining armour to find a ticket for her – It would be great if Gallas did make it wouldnt it, but in the meantime i am so pleased Djouru is fit again, we need him

  95. kelsey says:

    Just read that RVP is out for the United game,Clichy may play again this season,no word on Eduardo,so i presume he is fit.

  96. rico01 says:

    hi kelsey – how are you doing, read that too, not so good, but djourou and almunia are back, oh, and ade !

  97. rico01 says:

    Missed you today, you been over on that ‘cultured site’ being naughty πŸ˜‰

  98. Rasputin says:

    Hi Kelsey,

    There is no doubt in my mind that the single most significant factor in our success is injuries. We’ve had diabolocal luck ever since we last won the FA cup. I know losing Vieira, Henry et al was also a big blow. I think we used up all our luck in that FA cup final. I’ve never seen a more one sided game. How they didn’t score I will never know, but at least it was fitting that my favourite player, PV, scored the winning penalty in his last game….

  99. kelsey says:

    Rico,
    no I haven’t been on the “cultured put the boot in to anyone who dares enter ” site today.The SS commanders are policing their site,pity because the author posts up a good post.Djorou being back doesn’t inspire me with confidence,but i hope eddie plays.

    rasputin my friend,

    we certainly used all our luck up in that 2005 Final,and two legs against united without RVP and Arshavin,at least in RVP’s case the first leg,is a huge task ahead.Those 2 above anyone else can turn a game around.I still think the loss of Gallas for the season will have a huge bearing on the rest of the season.I also forgot to mention that i thought Nasri had his best away game this season,at Anfield,he has often gone missing.

  100. JonJon says:

    so we have another player out now then???? whats effing new there?

    gallas has been a massive loss guys…..we saw in the massive games how much we need him…. i very much doubt chelsea and pool would of put 6 past us if gallas would of been in the side….

  101. Big Raddy says:

    Agreed JJ. WG is a huge loss and the only top quality defender at the club.

    But JD coming back has to be a bonus. Plus Ronaldo has never done well against Clichy.

    But enough of the MU games. We have the Boro to smash before then, and they have a decent record against us. Still, we owe them a good humbling, and we can help their bid for relegation

  102. London says:

    Jonjon who are you refering to? I’m almost scared to know the answer.

    so we have another player out now then???? whats effing new there?

  103. JonJon says:

    boro have won two on the trot and determined not to go down…. it will be tough….we need to stay focused and composed and that means not playing denilson…

  104. London says:

    Rasputin

    Here is a surprise: I agree with your 4:02 πŸ˜‰

  105. London says:

    So if Djourou is back do we want Sylvestre or Gibbs at left back against Ronaldo ?

  106. kelsey says:

    Agrred,let’s concentrate against Boro first,see who plays and more importantly who comes through uninjured.

  107. JonJon says:

    kelsey….

    theres no point tying to converse with them clowns on the SS site if you are wanting a good civil debate….. the author is very talented and does good write ups…. but those blinded fools think the sun shines out of wengers arse….

    eg…

    they fail to recognise AA’s role in our resurgance this season in the PL….and the sole reason why is because hes 27 and cost 16mil….. ‘well he scored 4 goals but he wasnt very good’ or ‘its hard to judge any player on such a high scoring game’….. WTF….. tripe… pure tripe….

    they beleive in wengers philosophy more than he does himself…….its pathetic….

    they simply fail to accept the fact we have a world class player in the squad that wenger hasnt developed…and it hurts them…..

    its extremism beyond obsession….i dont know how else to describe it…..

    wenger has done a wonderful job at this club…. but so did GG…..

    graham won 6 trophies in 9years after not winning any thing since 79……… wengers won 7 in 13…

    those people who love ‘stats’ should be licking GG arse more than they do AW’s…

    but to follow a man blindly simply because of his philosophys more than his managerial skills is fucking ridiculous if u ask me…..

    i wasnt going to rant but i feel much better now….

  108. kelsey says:

    JonJon,
    can’t disagree with you,though i am surprised that the author doesn’t intervene.They are now using the arguement that because AA didn’t play on saturday as Wenger was weary that Hiddink knew how AA plays,that we should play Silvestre aganst Ronaldo as he is an ex united player who knows their strengths,and Silvestre will be up for it. πŸ™‚

  109. JonJon says:

    hahahahaha…. point proven right there kelsey…

    it doesnt matter how AA plays….how do you stop a player who can score with both feet inside and outside the box…

    in a way hes as dangerous as ronaldo….

    silvestre got made a fool of by drogba and torres… so theres a great idea….let him mark ronaldo in the next game too…. its amazing…..

  110. avenell says:

    Wenger knows how Ashley Cole plays but Hiddink still played him..
    If they really think Arsene would fall for that, that is a bigger insult to Arsene than calling him stupid names..

    Oh and Gibbs to mark Ronaldo, we need a player who has a chance of recovering.

  111. Big Raddy says:

    What is SS , JJ?

  112. rico01 says:

    Helloooooooooooo

  113. kelsey says:

    Raddy, gestapo you git :0

    And while you are on i propose that you do the post for sunday,anybody second that.

  114. avenell says:

    Kelsey.. anything to save me a job.. aye.. πŸ™‚

    Jonjon the rules in boring boring ave don’t only apply to one blogsite..

  115. JonJon says:

    Radders

    SS is the gestapo wannabees that blog on a good site run by a good author…. as kelsey said its a shame he doesnt do more to police it… if you go on with any sort of opinion other than theres you arent even debated with… you are insulted and name called and then they say they are pro arsenal….

    kesley rico and myself have all tried to post constructive comments and the name calling was just like in a playground…

    they think they are ‘the elite’ but they just sniff there own farts….

  116. JonJon says:

    i know ave…. thats why it was a pleasure to give it back… i mullered some of them if im honest…. quite an achievement…with a lil help.. πŸ˜‰

  117. JonJon says:

    so who going to play agianst manure then now RvP is out???

    adebayor alone??? with cesc in the hole???? i take back my 2-1… 😦

  118. JonJon says:

    i dont like it i prefer the yellow one….

  119. avenell says:

    If you keep the yellow one Arsenal don’t make so much money.
    So we cannot afford Alonso.

    Yellow kit.. = Denilson as CM

    Green kit buys Alonso your choice JJ.. πŸ˜‰

  120. JonJon says:

    i’ve ordered three… πŸ˜†

  121. rico01 says:

    Now I like that shirt πŸ˜›

  122. avenell says:

    I need to get a job in the Armoury.. πŸ™‚

  123. rico01 says:

    Go for it ave – dinner calls me now 😦

  124. Big Raddy says:

    No surprise about Mozart is it.

    Still, it will be like a new signing when he returns fit for the start of next season. Not quite sure how he will fit into the team now we have AA, Theo and Nasri but we know he is a great player.

    The green shirt is OK, but it’s not really Arsenal is it? “She wore, She wore ,She wore a ‘green’ ribbon in the Merry month of May”

  125. JonJon says:

    im not sure how he will fit into the team either radders… but thats the beauty of it all…he still fits into the SQUAD

    options my friend…options….

  126. rico01 says:

    Guys and Gals, got to go, be safe and see you all tomorrow

    nighty night 😦

  127. London says:

    Big Raddy

    I’m as bigger Mozart fan as you are, it was very sad to read that he will be out for the rest of the season. I’m now concerned about whether he will ever play again. Tragic, I cannot tell you how much I hate reading the nonsense about how he was a crock when he arrived, how insulting, how hurtful, how ignorant is that description. There are a few things that I agree with the lefties and their abhorrence at that term is one of them.

  128. JonJon says:

    London…..

    im with you on that one…. i never knew he had injury worries before he joined…..as far as i know he was one of the best players in germany and i always thought he’d go to real or barca….

    when we got him for 6mil or whatever it was i thought we’d won the lottery…. im beginning to think though the reason he was so cheap was because dortmand knew something we didnt…. unless there was something about his contract… i dont know for sure….

  129. avenell says:

    These “fans” know far more about sports injuries than specialists at a club that turns over over Β£200 million pounds a year.
    A player who has been out for that amount of time must have felt like jacking it all in many times, he needs support not “I told you so’s”.
    They would have given Eduardo 10x that long because the injury was more visible.

  130. JonJon says:

    even if rosicky never returns…hes a special player and he’ll be one of my favorites of all time…. hes done enough to warrent that in my eyes..

    last years football that we played was beautiful….and he was a major player in all that…

  131. avenell says:

    Arsenal got him for Β£6 million because he had a get out clause in his contract.

    The only other thing I heard was the Czech coach said he had an inbalance in his hamstrings and he will always pick up injuries.

  132. London says:

    Thanks guys

    I hope we get to see him play again….one day….sigh

  133. JonJon says:

    anyways… im off for the night….i’ll speak to you guys tomorrow…

  134. chaf says:

    Is this what i rushed home for…..9.40pm Goodnight?

    Avenell Road Old Peoples Home.

    I suppose everyone listens to music by Grandfather Flash, or Run OAP…

  135. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    G’Day everyone. Now I know its late for u all, but I just thought I’d leave this comment for u to wake up to.

    April 29th is the most important date/fixture of the season. All the talk/discussion/angst about signings/etc. is about to come to the sharp end. This is it people, this is our Big Kahoona, the one we have been wanting all season. At times we have thought maybe nothing good is going to come of this season; or maybe we have thought we’d really love to give manure a real big kicking in some way. Well my fellow Roaders, our destiny is in our hands. When the team takes the pitch, we all take to the pitch. We are all in it together, & when we triumph we will all share in the spoils of victory coz we are Arsenal.

    “Ye may we walk through the valley of death known as Old Cow Paddock, we will fear not Ferguson, coz we are Arsenal”.

  136. kelsey says:

    Good Morning,

    I have had this debate about Mozart(appropriate name) many times before.During his time at Dortmund he hardly missed a game and the only reason we got him at a relatively cheap price was that at the time Dortmund were having financial difficulties.He has had 3 operations,2 in England and 1 in the Cech Republic, as ave said the National coach stated that he had an imbalance in his groin/hamstring area,but it was only noted after the first operation that this imbalance was there from birth.i think Rosicky was wrongly diagoned initially and therefore any surgery,if anything made the situation worse.Why this didn’t come to light earlier in his career if it was a problem from birth,who knows,but between the various medical personel at Arsenal they have treated an imbalance in the wrong way,and why has he had 3 ops and been out for 16 months.I have said since the start of the season that i feared his career was over,though i will make it quite clear I do not wish it on him.
    He is 29 this year and i believe in his last year of his contract,and the club waited as long as possible(too long IMO) and then bought Arshavin as his replacement.

  137. London says:

    Good morning kelsey

    Another fine read if you don’t mind me saying.

  138. kelsey says:

    Morning london,
    yes thanks,but what is your opinion,i have stated some facts as well as my own thoughts. ?

  139. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters and Roosters, – London and Kelsey πŸ™‚

    All supporters are a bit paranoid when it comes to bias in the press and their club’s injury list. I am convinced most of the TV pundits like to see us fail and that we have far more injuries than the other clubs – but that’s probably rubbish don’t you think?

    Are there any opta stats for man hours lost on the pitch due to injuries I wonder. One thing that struck home was said by that wiener bentley – he said that when he left and trained with a new club that at Arsenal training sessions were pretty much non contact. Having said that that, didn’t Theo get injured bt someone coming in too hard on him in England training?

  140. JonJon says:

    morning everyone

    theres not only us who gets injuries….thats true…

    manure have had hargreaves, brown and neville out all season

    chelsea have had carvalho essien and drogba out for a while

    liverpool have been lucky and thats why they are were they are

    even everton played with no strikers for 2 months..

    the difference being between us and the likes of chelsea and manure….although all teams have excellent 1st teams….our overall squad is average compared to thiers….

    and thats where we go wrong…we cant keep blaming injuries…weve been doing it 4 years….its time we did something about it…

  141. rico01 says:

    Good Morning everyone –

    I miss Thomas 😦

  142. Big Raddy says:

    Morning All

    Perhaps this is the reason our wage bill is so high. Another good article from Amy Lawrence whom I recall writing in those early Fanzine days.

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2009/apr/23/arsenal-fa-youth-cup-arsene-wenger

  143. rico01 says:

    Morning Raddy

    I have just read that article, and it bought a lump to my throat –

    Having read the earlier posts, I agree that the press, pudits and such like all love to see us fail, and i guess that is because of the overseas players we have had and still have. To read that 9 of the starting 11 are English, and Londoners is so exciting, and will hopefully soon shut such critics up.

    One question that comes to the front of my mind from this article is ..

    I wonder if Steve Bould will be the Arsenal manager when this crop become part of our firt team??

    I wonder πŸ˜›

  144. rico01 says:

    pudits = pundits 😳

  145. rico01 says:

    and firt = first 😳

  146. Big Raddy says:

    Perhaps Steve will be the next Pat Rice. I hope for an experienced man to take over from Mr Wenger OBE.

    All clubs need a link from the manager to the traditions of the club. Hence Sammy Lee, Phelan and Wilkins

  147. rico01 says:

    Raddy – I wish he would be, as much as is saddens me, Pat Rice is not very affective.

  148. peachesgooner says:

    Morning

    So it seems everyone has gone to play out in the sunshine, which is where I’m going too.

    I’m very cross with Robin – he shouldn’t have played in the Villareal game last week he was obviously injured then. He was supposed to have grown out of telling fibs about being ready to play!!!!!!!

    I’m looking forward to sunday. Boro need the points so they’re not going to able to come and park the bus and we should a long deserved goal-fest. Why should Liverpool supporters have all the fun πŸ™‚

    Have a nice day all, catch up later xx

  149. peachesgooner says:

    …going to be able to come and park the bus and we should see a long deserved goal-fest.

  150. Evo in Oz says:

    gday all,

    paul merson is a cockhead, excuse my french…

    http://www.skysports.com/opinion/story/0,25212,15205_5231427,00.html

  151. rico01 says:

    Afternoon all – its very quiet today

  152. JonJon says:

    hes not the only cockhead evo…..

    the cockheads at the FA have charged cesc over spitgate…..

    its a fucking sham….

  153. JonJon says:

    oh… hi rico… pardon the french.. πŸ˜‰

  154. rico01 says:

    Hi JJ – blimey, is that for real, what bloomin evidence have they got then ??

  155. rico01 says:

    JJ – Sky say he has been charged with two accounts, what is the second allegation – Going on the pitch with a hoodie ???

    What a bloomin farce – the FA obviously have it in for us yet again!

  156. rico01 says:

    I believe in Karma – Hull will now be relagated for this fabricated allegation !

  157. JonJon says:

    they are trying to force him away rico…just like they did with PV…

    they have it in for us big time…

    how can they charge him…. on what grounds??? nobody saw it apart from the people who said he spat…. all two of them and both from the same club….

    no evidence…yet charged,…its a disgrace…..

  158. JonJon says:

    i hope hull get relegated… the humber bridge collapes and phil browns sunbed blows up…with that bastard on it….

    i hope cesc gobbed on horton…. a massive greenie right in hortons mouth…. tosser

  159. JonJon says:

    rico… the two counts will be…

    guilty of being arsenal captain and guilty of playing for arsenal…

  160. rico01 says:

    JJ, thats disgusting πŸ˜‰

    But well said…

    Arsenal will appeal surely, and then the truth must come out.

    wait for the summer speculation about his future after this, you can almost see the headlines 😦

    Where is ave today, is he having a day off 😦

  161. rico01 says:

    JJ – guess so, and as you say, here we go again. I hope Cesc asks for a personal hearing and spits all over the panel members!! πŸ˜‰

  162. JonJon says:

    dunno where ave is rico…. i think he must be still doing the garden…. it is lovely weather and has been all week…..

    youve just got to take advantage of that because you know any time soon it will rain like hell

  163. JonJon says:

    and wee’s and poo’s on them too πŸ˜†

  164. rico01 says:

    JJ – Indeed πŸ˜›

  165. rico01 says:

    Guys and Gals – seeing as you are all out absorbing the rays, I am off for a while – ttfn πŸ˜‰

  166. kelsey says:

    Just got in and heard the news.So we have until 12th.May to appeal. What punishment will Fab get if any ?.he wasn’t playing or sent off,and video evidence in the tunnel,come on.

    Our luck we will finish 4th with a 5 point cushion and get deducted 6 points.

  167. Big Raddy says:

    Oh I’m bored. No footie , no proper news, quiet on the websites. Just the childish Hull bullshit to talk about.

    What a complete bunch of nomarks Hull are. I had respect for them prior to this pathetic nonsense. Can anyone honestly imagine that our great Leader would stoop to such actions? Even PizzaGate didn’t get to the FA. Emotions run high in the tunnel, stuff happens.

    Are the FA going to act upon the Chav’s Obi because he was twice the legal limit whilst driving? It was an off-pitch incident as well.

    Is there a rule that states who is or isn’t allowed onto the pitch after the game? I think not.

    That said, if Cesc reall did spit directly at anyone, he should be punished. It is not the action of an Arsenal Captain. But it is a big If.

  168. kelsey says:

    Fabregas and Brown have until 12 May to respond.”

    Spain international Fabregas faces a ban if the charges are proven and, although that would include domestic matches, he would be eligible for Champions League games.

    “I dont know if we will appeal – I will see what we can do about that,” said his club manager Arsene Wenger.

    “At the start, I am not a great fan of appealing because I said we are very open to co-operate and now I don’t think we should stop that.

    “I am very positive that there was enough evidence in what I have seen that the case should have been dropped.”

    Well how do you read that everyone.Hello Raddy.

  169. kelsey says:

    This is all about Phil Brown,image building including fake tan.Another Allardyce prodogy, he is loving every minute with a pathetic attempt to mix it with the big boys.he lied about the handshake at our away match at Hull, but if cesc really did spit at him,then he is in serious trouble.

  170. JonJon says:

    the hull chairman did a telephone interview with sky sports and he was adament that they had video evidence…therefor he was guilty as thats why hes been charged….

    depends what the video evidence is of though….the fa have charged him of improper conduct…..which is to do with the fact he came on the pitch…if its that then yes the do have video evidence he came onto the pitch……..

    but i thought he’d been accused of spitting????

    if they have nothing on that….we as a club….should sue hull ….for defimation of carachter and announcing it to the world…..the pricks….

    there is nothing in the law book that stops a player….playing or not playing that day….being on the pitch after the game…the only thing i can think of is aggressive behaviour…but if that is the case then its a pathetic excuse to keep hull happy….

    hull is a shite club…..wasnt it hull who wanted compo from millwall after a cup game at their place brought some problems in the stands…it turns out there was damge to the hull ground at they wanted paying out for it….a day later it was revealed that 11 of the 12 people arrested for the damage were hull supporters…..

    shite city, shite club, shite fans, shite, shite, shite…….

  171. rico01 says:

    Hi all,

    kelsey, that is amazing, if Arsene believes the evidence he has submitted is strong enough, then he is silly – if it was Cesc would not have been charged as he has

    Like Raddy, if Cesc has done this then he has to take his punishment, but he has said he didnt and never would spit at anyone – this smacks of a wing and a prayer charge against us by the FA

  172. rico01 says:

    That should have been, like Raddy says, my comment makes it sound that Raddy needs punishing 😳

  173. JonJon says:

    and it makes me angry that the tabloids have ended rosickys career before the specialists have….

    rosicky has been a warrior in his time out and was undergoing intensive training to get back fit….because of the training schedule he has suffered two differant injuries to his original injury, to different areas to his leg…which is understandable after being not able to even walk for so long….

    wenger has made his mind up there is no point in rushing him back like this as he will only be available for the last few games….. is it worth putting him through more hell after all he has already been through…for the sake of a couple of games at the end of the season?????i dont think so…..so im fully behind wenger on that one…..

    the media are a set of vulture circling tosspots….and i want to hurt them really badly right now….. arrrgggggghhhhhh….. wheres rico when you need her… πŸ˜‰

  174. JonJon says:

    there you are… πŸ˜‰

  175. rico01 says:

    JJ – I am here sweetie πŸ˜‰

  176. JonJon says:

    as for the appealing thing…..theres been a few incidents this season where the FA have extended the punishment on the player simply because the club appealed…..this is why i suspect wenger doesnt do appealing….the FA dont need an excuse to screw us over….why give them another?????

  177. rico01 says:

    JJ – They can write what they want, good or bad, but Thomas will do what his body will allow him regardless – Arsene has said he could play this season, but he would rather have him wait, train hard through the summer and be ready for next season – Me, I think he may just come on for ten minutes in our last game this season, for us πŸ˜›

  178. JonJon says:

    hi rico….

    have you enjoyed the sunshine today???? or didnt you get any?? it certainly doesnt seem as though the sun is shining over the emirates at the minute…..

  179. London says:

    Good Afternoon Roadsters, your favourite blogger is back.

    We shouldn’t lose sight of the reason why Brown made the fuss and the spitting allegation in the first place: he was trying to deflect the fact that the team he manages was, and still is, falling like a stone to the Championship. To a large extent he succeeded: he still has his job. The sensible thing for the owner would have been to have got rid of him and got in someone fresh. New managers often galvanise a team and in Hull’s case may well have created enough impetus for one last fight to save their premiership status. I don’t believe for a minute that Cesc spat at anyone and am fully expecting an apology from Brown in the not too distant future. Cesc may forgive him but I certainly won’t; he is a dirty low life scum bag who I hope gets the sack after Hull are relegated.

  180. JonJon says:

    i can second that rico….even if its in goal for 10 minutes i just want to see him back on the pitch….and not working in tescos with elvis… πŸ˜‰

    hi london…

    i second that..im rather riled by it all…i suspect, as ive just posted… that the inproper conduct was for coming on to the pitch…nothing to do with spitting…which what he was accused of……

    unless they have a video of cesc gobbing a big greenie in hortons face i refuse to beleive it….and if they have then good for cesc…he should of pissed on him too while he was there….

  181. London says:

    Jonjon

    I am confused about something, why is there talk about appealing already when Cesc hasn’t been found guilty; have I missed something?

  182. JonJon says:

    no london…. you havent….it was in the wenger interveiw…. the journos were trying to put words into his mouth…again….and asked him if he would appeal…. wenger practically said there was nothing to appeal for….

  183. kelsey says:

    Good point jonJon about not appealing.

    What I would like to know,if I have read it right,where is the video evidence Hull claim to have of the alleged spitting incident in the tunnel.Are there video cameras in the tunnel,and if there are then Wenger can see for himself . it’s not rocket science. and why has it taken so long for the FA to come out with their statement.

  184. JonJon says:

    kelsey… thats what im saying….i dont think they do have video evidence of the spitting incident…i just think they have the video of him coming on the pitch….but he was originally accused of spitting….and has been charged with improper conduct???

    wenger said from what he saw in the evidence he didnt think he’d be charged….

    i dont think he’s been charged with spitting…..

  185. London says:

    Jonjon

    So has Cesc just been charged or found guilty of improper conduct?

  186. JonJon says:

    its just been on sky that the 1st charge is fo coming onto the pitch….

    the 2nd charge is for the allegation of spitting….on the basis of three written reports from three members of the hull team….

  187. JonJon says:

    london… from what i can make out hes been charged…. he hasnt been found guilty… we have until the 12th may and then cesc will go before the panel…

    wenger claims that he still isnt worried…as he himself has seen the evidence and there is nothing there to worry him that cesc will get a suspension….

  188. London says:

    Ok, so he has just been charged. Plenty of time for this one to come back and bite Brown in the ass.

  189. JonJon says:

    apparently browns been charged too for the ‘on the pitch incident’

  190. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    BR

    Re Hull soap opra. The same masses who are obsessed with Madonna, Britney, Jordan, some B grade actor coming out of a pub @ 2 in the morning, who Prince Harry is shagging, who killed Lady Dead, 😳 Di, etc, etc are the only ones taking notice of Hull & its pathetic whinge. For Gods sake we have a CL to win, & Hull have relegation to stave off πŸ˜†

  191. Evo in Oz says:

    what has cesc exactly been charged with and what is the penalty?

  192. kelsey says:

    Good Morning,

    Though I know you are all asleep,except gnarley and Evo.

    I have a story to relate.Will be back later to reveal.

  193. rico01 says:

    Morning all, what horrid weather we had, its cats and dogs 😦

    Hope you went back to bed kelsey, and got some sleep.

    Arsene has said that video evidence will clear Cesc, why on earth has this not been given to the FA prior to now, then if it is a clear as Arsene believes, Cesc wouldnt be charged – however of course he will still face charges of going on to the pitch wearing a hoodie – what a joke all of this is, I hope there is justice in the end, Hull get relegated and Brown gets a big fine for slating the ref !!

  194. kelsey says:

    I hope whoever posts today,mentions that the FA in their wisdom have decided to relay the bog of the pitch,known as Wembley, conveniently after the two best counter attacking free flowing sides got knocked out in the semis.How bloody convenient.

    Morning rico, I am off to bed now for an hour or two,had what one might say a hectic night.

  195. rico01 says:

    Hi kelsey – Wembley, what a joke !

    Catch you later, dream of many gooner goals tomorrow kelsey

  196. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Evening rico

    So Rosicky is cactus for this year then. Will he ever play again? It doesn’t sound too promising to me.

  197. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    ……& evening kelsey

  198. rico01 says:

    Morning/Evening George – From what the club is saying Thomas could play this season, but Arsene has said he won’t because he wants him to continue training and get really ready for next season and he wont be having much of a holiday, poor Thomas !

    My bet is that he makes a cameo appearance in our last game at home, just to remind us all what he looks like πŸ˜‰

  199. rico01 says:

    Sorry to dessert you George, but I am going to try and catch a few more zzzzzz’s now, had to get up for the chickens, they don’t understand that weekends are for a bit of a lay in πŸ˜‰

    Catch you in a while

  200. gnarleygeorge9 says:

    Don’t worry rico, the footy is on tele πŸ™‚

  201. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters and Roosters πŸ™‚

    I couldn’t get on last night, but ‘ve read through the comments re: spitgate. We will never actually have a clear picture unless we can see the video footage to judge for ourselves. Brown was winding up the fans once they went 2:1 down and I’m sure that would have angered Cesc. I posted directly after the match to say that his behaviour was disgraceful and he was gesticulatinbg at us fans directly behind him.

    Cesc was definitely pumped up when he came on the pitch and it wouldn’t surprise me at all if he hadn’t spat out his gum in the tunnel whilst making eye contact with Brown or Horton (personally I felt like giving him the Glasgow Kiss) – but that is not spitting and as has been pointed out repeatedly, the whole fuss was more of an exercise to deflect attention from Hull’s relegation form and to fuel the ego of that dickhead they call a manager.

  202. London says:

    New post

    Rasp may I suggest that you copy and paste that comment onto today’s post.

Leave a Reply

