This Crop of Players Has Belief. (by Peachesgooner)

So there we were, 10 minutes to kick-off, excited and nervous at the prospect of either holding-on by the skin of our teeth or showing off big-time and proving that the Arsenal are back! Would our smooth silky skills and fast attacking football be enough to dump Villareal out of the Champions League and set up a meeting with either the Mancs or Porto?

A trip to Porto in the spring is infinitely more enticing than Old Trafford – we have to go there anyway in May and this is the Champions League after all, where games should be against foreign opposition.

In the week since Ade scored that wonder goal to give us the edge going into this tie, team selection has been causing us some consternation. Having lost Almunia, Gallas and Clichy from that game and then Djourou on Saturday, our solid back four has been shredded. Having said that, we haven’t conceded a goal at THOF since Plymouth on the 3rd January!!!!!!!!!!!!! Will Cesc play deep or high up the pitch and who will be his partner if we are playing 4-4-2? Theo and Nasri must be a shoe-in and so the final pieces are up front Ade and van Persie.

As usual there was a surprise in store and this time its not Arsene messing around with the team selection – Sagna was out with a bug and fingers are crossed, Eboue would play at right-back…………..and what a treat that turned into! Theo and Eboue were passmasters supreme. They picked each other out at pace whilst totally controlling the right wing.

Song was preferred to Denilson alongside Cesc in the middle and as the teams lined-up it was hard to take your eyes off Robert Pires gracing the Emirates turf – how he would have loved to have played another couple of seasons for us and how we would have loved him too.

I expected us to come out of the traps really fast and Villareal obliged by giving us lots of space to play. We were quite relaxed. Adebayor had his trademark collection of off-side decisions in the opening minutes. Theo and Eboue easily beat their markers and it wasn’t long before a couple of good chances had come and gone. Were we going to rue the lack of finishing? Not for long. Theo floated a stunning ball over the top of the fast approaching goalkeeper that hung in the air for an eternity and nestled in the side of the goal. Fantastic we’d scored in the TENTH minute – dream come true.

Adebayor was his usual very annoying self – lazy and off-side far too often, but it was written in the stars that he would score and he received a great ball from Van Persie with a deft first touch (unusual) and with his second touch he scored (made it look so easy). We were 2-0 up on the hour and his name was sung with gusto around the ground. Love him or hate him – if he keeps scoring, I can’t complain.

I was worried that Song was running up blind alleys and giving the ball away cheaply but he grew in stature throughout the second half. Some of his ball play was stunning. He has skills tucked away that we can only hope that we’ll get to see more often. He dragged the ball back and twisted round, losing his marker in true Henry style. He may be the man to partner Cesc – I’d still rather an experienced DM but I’m prepared to let Song stake his claim on that position after tonight’s performance.

Cesc tried a lot of passes that didn’t come off in this game but on another night he would have been hailed as genius. He could learn from watching how Pires worked the ball making neat intelligent passes rather than going for amazing every time. Not everything was working for Cesc but was he bovvered – I think he wasn’t.

When Theo was brought down in the box and the linesman flagged for a foul Van Persie stepped up to put away a powerful penalty with clinical efficiency. 3-0 and twenty minutes still to go, with Villareal down to 10 men, unheard of for us to be cruising in this manner this season. We could just sit back and watch the football.

The scoreline made it an easy decision to make substitutions. Denilson and Diaby came on for Theo and Van Persie with 15 minutes to go and then Nikki for Adebayor with 7 minutes to go.

What I feel is really important is that this was not an awesome Arsenal performance – we won’t be reminiscing of the day Villareal came to the Emirates and we took them apart to book a place in a semi-final against the Mancs – this was an assured performance by a team that have the belief that they are really very good and that their exuberance, skill and intelligent play makes them frightening opposition.

There are a possible 11 games left for us this season. I hope our young, patched-up neo-invincibles go for glory and bring us back a cup or two……. they can be awesome.

One thing that made last night special was the chance to thank Robert Pires for his years of fantastic service. We had two of the invincibles on the pitch last night and it was significant that Bobbie made a special fuss of Kolo. Most of the crowd stayed behind and applauded Pires off the pitch and you could see he reciprocated the emotion.

Player ratings.

Fabianski 9 Does a solid job as a sweeper too

Eboue 9 This is his position, please Arsene don’t play him anywhere else. His interplay with Theo in the first half was awesome.

Toure 9 Dependable as always, intelligently didn’t go on any runs!!!!!

Sylvestre 8 Did go on a couple of runs!!!!! Played well with Toure and his experience was important in the make-shift defence.

Gibbs 8 Love him, he makes potent runs and has a good shot, left the back-door gaping a couple of times but hey, he’s young and part of the Peachesball revolution – We’re gonna score lots more than you!!!

Theo 10 They’re my ratings and I’ll give him 10 if I want to. He brings so much to this team and last night he scored a peach of a goal.

Cesc 9 A bit quiet, nothing exciting came off for him but he’s our captain and he loves playing for Arsenal.

Song 9 Wow, this guy has come on in leaps and bounds he was everywhere and clearly has seriously silky skills.

Nasri 8 Must have been frustrating for him as all the play was going up the other wing so he had to seek out the ball.

Van Persie 9 I wonder if he was really fit, a bit lethargic in the first half but worked hard for the team. Took his penalty beautifully and deserved a goal.

Adebayor 8 Lazy, off-side aaaaarrrrrrggggghhhh and then scores a great goal, watch it again – his first touch was perfect.

Subs Denilson, Diaby – could have scored and Nikki all had a run-out but the game was over by then.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable night of football and the Chavs to look forward to on Saturday.

263 Responses to This Crop of Players Has Belief. (by Peachesgooner)

  1. peachesgooner says:

    Sorry everyone, this is one seriously long post 🙂

  2. avenell says:

    Hehe.. well done Peaches.. the first of many I hope..

  3. Rasputin says:

    Beautifully crafted article by ‘Peaches the Postmistress’ 🙂

  4. avenell says:

    Hi Ras.. did you go last night?

    Theo got a special passport for one game, allowing him to venture left of the penalty spot..

    OR Arsene reads AR.. 😉

  5. Rasputin says:

    Hi ave – yes I was there. I noticed Theo kept popping up on the left in the second half. I wonder if that was because Nasri was not having a great game or just because he wanted to give their right back a torrid time too 😉

    Obviously Arsene reads AR – he’s on the phone and texting me all the time for advice 😛

  6. Rasputin says:

    On another subject. You do get a radically different perspective watching a game on telly as compared to at the ground. The fact that the camera follows the ball means that you don’t appreciate some of the movement and positional play. My son told me he thought that Ade was superb throughout the game after watching it on telly, whereas I agree with peaches. It was his usual ‘curate’s egg’ performance…… but as she says, if he’s scoring one a game, he’s my favourite player 🙂

  7. avenell says:

    On talk shite this morning. They were talking about Chelsea needing a right footed LB to play against Messi.. We was saying the other day that Clichy will get turned as he is too left footed.. Makes me wonder sometimes..lol

  8. avenell says:

    You had to be at the games to appreciate Ian Wright and the work he put in, the camera’s never showed the full picture.
    But as long as you have been to a few games you sort of know what is going on off camera anyway.. (I hope)

  9. Stringfellow Hawke says:

    How life has changed, fellow gooners.

    Only a month or so ago, even the most ardent wengerite was questioning the great man.

  10. avenell says:

    Mr Wenger always had a OBE on here ..lol

    Hi Mr Stringfellow, are you writing a new post soon ?

  11. JonJon says:

    Adebayor???? 8???? How????

    good post peaches other than that 😉

  12. peachesgooner says:

    Thanks JJ – I was worried he might come and find me if I gave him only 6!!!!!!!! I was impressed with his goal actually – it was a proper strikers goal, not a lucky touch. I gave him an extra 2 to encourage him further 🙂

  13. Rasputin says:

    Peaches has demonstrated her generous nature by scoring everyone highly 😉 – up until Ade scored his goal, I would have given him 5…….

  14. London says:

    Superb Post Peaches

    I really enjoyed reading it; in fact, I read it very slowly twice to savour it.

    I particularly liked effectiveness of the line:

    “A trip to Porto in the spring is infinitely more enticing than Old Trafford”

    Some might say that it is obvious but I know that coming up with what appears to be simple is a bit trickier than meets the eye.

  15. Rasputin says:

    Oh no…..nightmare scenario – Gibbs is a major doubt for saturday with a groin strain. If Sagna can recover, we may see him either at CB and Siyvestre at LB or EE on the left and Sagna at RB. We are at rock bottom in the defence now.

  16. peachesgooner says:

    Its ok rasp I’m sure your son said he’d cover at the back if there were anymore injuries 🙂

    Didn’t someone say that sagna could play at left-back if needed – better to leave eboue at right-back……

  17. squallviii says:

    well sad news is both gibbs and sagna are injured and have low probability to be included in the squad

  18. avenell says:

    I thought Sagna had a virus.. is he not recovering?

    Peaches, Is it okay to come on your blog? 😉 he can play anywhere across the back 4 apparently..

  19. peachesgooner says:

    Hi ave – yes you’re welcome to chat 🙂

    Have you had a nice day – its only just stopped raining.

  20. peachesgooner says:

    😳 I forgot to check the schedule – is it garden time yet?

  21. London says:

    I think JonJon was the first to spot the possibility of Sagna at left back…good idea. I wonder if Gibbs will be on the bench? If he is then he has got a Walcott during the internationals injury. It’s strange we haven’t had news on Djourou, or maybe we have and I just haven’t heard.

  22. avenell says:

    No Peaches.. I went back to bed tbh.. This cold is making me feel like crap..

    What about you.. busy?

  23. London says:

    Peaches

    Can I ask how long the post took you to write? Please feel free to say that you would rather keep it to yourself if you prefer.

  24. JonJon says:

    gimme a pair of shorts and a shirt and i’ll play left back……..

  25. peachesgooner says:

    London – you’re right about it being JJ who flagged up that Sagna might be able to play at left-back – who’d have thought it would really be necessary…….

    Glad you enjoyed reading the post, that line is a little romantic (cheesy even) but I am a girl……..

    I needed to lie down after all that writing 😆

  26. avenell says:

    Jonjon, the shorts are baggy now,, you know you like wearing your Adidas ones from the late eighties..

  27. London says:

    What position did you used to play JonJon?

  28. peachesgooner says:

    London – I did the intro on tueday evening and then wrote the bulk when I got in last night after the game. Did the player ratings this morning and tidied it up before sending it to ave. Probably 2 and a half to 3 hours.

  29. peachesgooner says:

    I’m not ignoring you, just going to sort my ticket for saturday, back in a bit xx

  30. London says:

    Peaches

    Thanks, very similar, I thought it was just me and you were going to say about half an hour.

  31. peachesgooner says:

    Its not really the writing time is it – its more the composing time and fiddling around time……..

    Are you going to Wembley on sat?

  32. London says:

    I am going to the game with 8 mates but I don’t know where I will be sitting, the biggest concern at the moment is where to drink before hand.

  33. JonJon says:

    haha tight shorts, baggy shorts any shorts it doesnt matter…. i’ll be sent off in the first minutes anyway and they’ll be carrying lampard and drogba off on a stretcher….

    london i used to play CM….. still do every now and then when needed but the years of smoking have taken their toll….

  34. JonJon says:

    my team for saturday….

    EE kolo silvy Jonjon

    cesc song

    theo rvp AA

    dudu…

  35. kelsey says:

    Superb post peaches,though I think you have gone a tad over with the ratings.

    Having kept records as when you attend matches,it seems more than a mere coincidence that every time you return another of our players has a groin strain.Any comment. 😉

    Good evening to everyone else if they are speaking to me.

  36. kelsey says:

    JonJon,

    I would play adebayor at LB

  37. kelsey says:

    London,

    just catching up on the day’s events,been very busy.It took peaches about as long as it takes to peel an orange to write that post,and the ratings came out with the pips 🙂

  38. JonJon says:

    LB in the dressing room… hi kelsey.. 😉

  39. kelsey says:

    Clement Freud R.I.P.

  40. kelsey says:

    JonJon,

    you know the bookies always make odds for first goalscorer in a match,and even publish the odds at least a day before,so some players might not be fit or selected.
    I have told many friends who do this bet,always bet on last goalscorer not first(same odds) though whilst difficult to predict who will score at any time,if you bet first and lose, your bet is finished whilst(providing the player you chose stays on the field for most or all of the match) you have a bet running for nearly all or all of the game.

    Another bit of useless information.

  41. peachesgooner says:

    kelsey – where are you now?

  42. kelsey says:

    I amn here and staying here.

  43. chaf says:

    Good evening happy peeps.

    A great read Peaches, but very high ratings, what happens when they play really well! Will they start getting 12 and 15.

  44. kelsey says:

    Chaf,

    nice music on your site.

    Avenell,are the predictions for the chelsea game 90 minutes or the end result.There is a clue in my question.

  45. avenell says:

    Kelsey.. I was going to ask that.. I would say the end result too 90 or 120 mins.. before penalty shootouts obviously..

    Evening Chaf..

    Arsenals CH saviour Kompany made another cock up for Man City.. all those Championship managers who said we should buy him lol..

  46. peachesgooner says:

    Hi chaf

    Sometimes when we play really well we don’t score or win, I was overwhelmed by the winning.

    I’ll try and curb my enthusiasm for the next time 🙂

  47. London says:

    Evening Ave

    Was Kompany wearing his superman cape while this cock up occured. Lol

    Peaches

    Your ratings brought a smile to my face, I had this image, in my mind while reading them, of you realising half way through that you could do anything you liked……and you did 😉

  48. London says:

    I have to help my son to bed: he has twisted his ankle. aaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

  49. chaf says:

    Kelsey – thanks. The music obviously reflects my age!

    Peaches, don’t curb your enthusiasm it might rub off on the players.

    Another question, is your girl one of the two main girls in the band? And I saw your comment the other day about Moss, you must’ve been a Blitz girl…

  50. avenell says:

    Your family is in the wars London.. Your luck must change.. 😉

    Kompany should play with Queens “Flash Gordon” as his background track “saviour of the universe ahh ahh” .. and Cana.. lol

  51. peachesgooner says:

    Hi chaf – actually I met him on holiday in Majorca – we were very young 😉

    Yes my daughter is the darker of the two girls – have you had a listen, they signed their Publishing deal yesterday.

  52. avenell says:

    Alright Chaf.. What projects are you up to?.. anything you can talk about..

  53. peachesgooner says:

    London – what is it with ankles in your family?

    Hi ave – how’re you feeling now?

    I have my semi-final ticket 🙂 Just need a friend to go with now 😦

  54. avenell says:

    A friend.. 😉

  55. avenell says:

    That’s weird I posted those comments the other way around..

  56. peachesgooner says:

    ave – you’re the master of the site………

  57. avenell says:

    You are talking to Ave.. first ever e mail sent in December.. lol

  58. chaf says:

    Peaches

    Yeah I went on the myspace page, sounds good. I saw a quote recently that said music licensing laws are like swimming in jelly, so accurate. They are doing the Camden craw soon I see, I’ll be there at some stage.

    Ave,

    I’m working with a kid called Kris Baya, who is finally breaking through, on radio, big crucial couple of months ahead for him. I’m also trying to write more than do music at the mo. Doing a musical about Brasil ian football (but with an experienced writer)! Thats nearly finished. ( And so am I sometimes!)

  59. peachesgooner says:

    Chaf – i think they are much better live if you get a chance to catch them. They’re very particular about how their music sounds and don’t like to feel manipulated – a producers nightmare I should imagine.

    A couple of bands have wanted to cover their Superman track but they didn’t want to let it go.

    Funnily enough my cousin had the same problem – have you heard of Lewis Taylor, very talented singer songwriter – Barnet boy also………..

  60. chaf says:

    I know him, and his brother who played bass. Wasn’t he called something like magic jack before?

  61. chaf says:

    He also played with the Broughton band

  62. chaf says:

    I loved his stuff. Sort of Maxwell/Prince

  63. peachesgooner says:

    His brother is called Matthew – hes a gooner.

    Yes he did play with the Broughton Band and someone else………..I can’t remember

  64. peachesgooner says:

    He’s become a recluse – very disillusioned with the music business – did a lot of drugs, kinda turned his head – I speak to him now and then, he wasn’t interested in helping peggysue at all even though he had a recording studio…………..

    He did make some very nice music though – now all you can find is Lovelight cos it was recorded by Robbie Williams, I was trying to find a link to put up for ave

  65. peachesgooner says:

    As i don’t have to be the Postmistress tomoro I thought I might sneak up to bed as no-one is around………night night all……..rico if you look in I hope all is well with you…….catch up tmoro……….we’re going to Wembley………wish you better ave xxxxx

  66. chaf says:

    I remember Bob Elms doing a few live sessions with him. What a shame. I saw a show of his and it was fantastic. I did some recordings years ago, and Matthew was the engineer, nice lad, I got on with him, we probably shared the goonerism! I am a tart with that. Hello. How are you. Do you like football….

  67. kelsey says:

    Good Morning everyone.

    Apparently mt co presenter has gone AWOl, nevertheless I will muster on alone.

    Here’s a thought about our keeper situation . I am the first to admit that i have had my reservations about Almunia for quite a while,but i have to confess that he has improved,though in the long term Fabianski,who is a mere child by keeper standards,looks that he may turn out to be our Number O.

    I then look around at the other top sides at keepers like Cech and van der Saar, who are leaking goals for fun.Especially Cech,7 conceded in 4 days.So when we play Chelsea,our best form of defence is to attack,and Arshavin alone can bring something to the attack,that we sadly miss.A guy who can shoot with either foot from outside the penalty area.Nasri started that way,but has fallen into the trap of passing when the option to shoot may have been the better option.

    Chelsea have Lampard,Liverpool Gerrard and United Ronaldo and Rooney.that is one aspect of our game I would like to see improve,so that the inept striking of Ade and Nicci,would possibly have a chance of a goal if the keeper spills the ball.

    I think our tam at least in defence will pick it self as Gibbs and Clichy are definitely out but Nasri,Eduardo and Diaby return.

    Hard game to call,but we got into Chelsea’s face at Stamford Bridge,from a goal down,but we can’t afford to give them that luxury of taking the lead again.

    Prediction,i will think about it until tomorrow.

  68. kelsey says:

    Number 1

  69. peachesgooner says:

    Morning kelsey

    I think the team will be really up for this game tomorrow in a way that they havn’t been up for a game since probably Liverpool at home.

    Its important to get a result against the other three top teams and although we are uneaten in 18? or whatever, this is a juicy game against a juicy side that are leaking goals. In the same way that Robin pounced on them at Stamford Bridge – he’s gonna be up for this and now we have Arshavin too and Theo fit and pacy……..ooooh I wait……….

  70. peachesgooner says:

    Sorry kelsey, really you wanted to talk goal-keepers didn’t you.

    Theres an article in the Times today about the English domination of the Champs Lge again this year and it concludes that after the Pool v Chavs game the other night where the keepers were guilty of blunders maybe teams don’t need a top-notch keeper as much as they think……………

    I’ll find a link for you

  71. peachesgooner says:

    ooooooh I can’t wait…………

  72. peachesgooner says:

    sorry kelsey, I just wrote you a comment about goalkeepers but it seems to have got lost along the way 😦

  73. kelsey says:

    I just read Chelsea want our (s)hit man adebayor.Great scenario,let him get a brace tomorrow,add another 5 million to his price,and sell him,and get someone in like eduardo who really puts the club before himself.

  74. peachesgooner says:

    ……..also Robin is so happy that we’re in the semis of the champs lge hes ready to sign his contract extension………….small pleasures 🙂

  75. peachesgooner says:

    This isn’t funny – my comments keep disappearing – aves gonna have his work cut out when he looks in his spam 🙂

  76. peachesgooner says:

    OK so every other comment disappears !!!!!

  77. peachesgooner says:

    …….and kelsey has disappeared too………

  78. kelsey says:

    Is there a go slow on here,or an Avenell Public Holiday

  79. peachesgooner says:

    I was talking to you……….

  80. peachesgooner says:

    …….and now I know where you’ve been 🙂 ………

  81. kelsey says:

    I am enjoying myself,I fancy a row today 😉

  82. peachesgooner says:

    …..I’ve been out for a walk, are you still with the lefties?

  83. Rasputin says:

    A’anoon Roadsters – how’s it hanging?

    Any news on Sagna’s chances of playing tomorrow?

  84. peachesgooner says:

    Hiya – I reckon its a no no for Sagna it seems

  85. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – do you think my post scared everyone away 😦

    aves not been on all day – hes not well perhaps, kelsey is with the lefties, rico, london, jonjon and chaf are not around either………

  86. Rasputin says:

    Don’t take it personally peaches – they hate me too 😦

    Strange we still haven’t had an assessment of JD’s injury either. AW is playing his cards close to his chest it seems…….

  87. peachesgooner says:

    Did you see what I put up earlier about Robin being happy now that we are in the semis of the champ lge – thats enough to make him sign by all accounts

  88. peachesgooner says:

    Oh woe is us 😦

  89. peachesgooner says:

    My comments keep diappearing, when I go back it says ‘You’ve already said that’ but they’re not coming up.

    Did you see that Robin is happy that we are in the semis – its good enough for him to want to sign 🙂

  90. London says:

    Peaches

    Your post didn’t scare me off, I liked it. I’ve been sitting in the hospital as usual.

    kelsey is dicing with death over there, it’s the cliqueyest Arsenal site around, good main posts though.

  91. peachesgooner says:

    Hi London – how are things going with your wife, is the plaster off now?

  92. peachesgooner says:

    So far today…….

    kelsey has gone to the left

    rasp has answered me once

    london has answered me once

    …….you’re just gonna have to miss me now cos I have to go out 😆

  93. London says:

    Peaches

    Yes the plaster is off but she has to wear a special boot which is painful.

    Rasputin

    Your comment the other day on Song…imperious (I wish I had thought of using that adjective) and the link up play between Eboue and Walcott made my heart sing.

    I think this site has a very good balance, we are able to discuss our concerns about teams selection, players attitudes etc, while also being able to complement them unbegrudgingly when they do well….a healthy balance.

    Personally speaking I think the site would benefit from having a few more people, it will change the dynamic a bit but there are periods of the day when things are very quiet. What do you think?

  94. London says:

    I suspect Ave is either writing a post or working, the latter does annoyingly get in the way of blogging.

    I am suspicious of the lack of news on Djourou especially as he hasn’t been ruled out for tomorrow. My guess is that they must be hoping that they can get him back.

    When Gallas got injured you could see the weight of the Villareal player fall on his leg and twist his knee, it is easy to understand how a ligament got torn but with Djourou nothing of the sort happened I know it doesn’t take much to damage a ligament but the injury looked so innocuous; I would not be surprised if we arrived at the ground tomorrow to find Djourou warming up.

    Failing that I expect that Wenger will play Sagna on the left with Eboue on the right, Wenger has enormous trust in Sagna. I would be very worried about Sylvestre as left back, his pace has gone; he is slower than Gibbs who I know has got a groin strain unless the club have just said that to make us more appreciative of him…. (sceptical Arsenal Fan) I’m not sure about Gibbs…He’s out with a groin strain…Oh no, what are we going to do now? He’s ok…oh good, I was so worried, I feel more reassured now that we have Gibbs back….Alternatively this could all be nonsense and I am just starting to get nervous.

  95. kelsey says:

    I agree london

    sorry to here about your wife.my wife tends to put the boot in.

    I tried very hard to restrain myself with the lefties,but regardless of how many of them post,surely they can’t all have the same opinion,and talking about being rude to others,one site in particular being mentioned, they aren’t any better.

    I read sagna has a serious virus,but that was not a link,just what a blogger sais to another.

    I think all the rest on here have got groin strain.

  96. chaf says:

    Hello afternooners

    I’m passing Sagna’s house later and I’ll pop in and ask what’s going on! I’m also going to Tesco’s so I’ll look out for AA.

    Yes, us supporters not only have to think what team he picks, but also whether a player is really injured, its a football cold war at this time of the year.

  97. chaf says:

    And its the russians we’re playing

  98. Rasputin says:

    Hi London….thanks for your comment earlier 😉

    You’re right about the amount of ‘traffic’ on here. I’m sure ave wishes there were more contributors. The most obvious way to attract people is to make the posts more contentious. As we both know, folks are more inclined to state their views if they disagree sometimes 🙂 If everybody is of a like-mind, it gets very pally (which I really enjoy on here) but that may make it look like a closed shop to someone who ‘pops in’. I first posted on goonerholic – a good site, but I couldn’t get to grips with the virtual bar theme. Ave has stated his terms for the site in the top bar, but above all, I think this site is a characterised by nice people, common sense and an aversion to simplistic over-reactions to a single game or any particular player.

    I was thinking the same thing about JD – maybe he’ll be back sooner than expected.

  99. kelsey says:

    Hi Rasputin,

    Ave’s intention is to get on NewsNow, which I understand is difficult.

    You are absolutely right about headline posts,even if they are outrageous like “Freedie lungberg ate my Hamster” 🙂
    I have just taken a pasting on the lefties site,but all sites regardless of size have clicks within them,and if one says something to another poster,all the rest steam in,even if they don’t actually agree.

  100. rico01 says:

    Hello everyone – nice to see a fine ladies post, get you peaches, please accept a cyber gold star 😛

  101. kelsey says:

    rico,
    you have just been where no man has been before,be careful 🙂

  102. Rasputin says:

    Hi kelsey,

    I only go on two ‘excellent’ 😉 sites these days. It is nice to know you’re amongst friends and its not nice to be ignored. I know what you mean about the cliques that develop on sites. I just don’t have the time to post regularly enough to become part of any group on a big site. One of the important points that came out last week is that it is unwise to comment about other sites as it may dissuade their regulars coming on here, and I don’t see it as being disloyal to post on more than one site.

  103. Rasputin says:

    Hi rico,

    What do ya reckon on Susan Boil? The worst thing they could do is to scrub her up and try to make her look galourous. Her extraordinary talent in everyday packaging is a major part of her charm don’t you think?

  104. rico01 says:

    Kesley – sadly not 😉

    I have just been on left toe, seeing as you all have, I didnt want to miss out, I did warn them though that I post on two sites, and I was even brave enough to mention them…

    😛

  105. rico01 says:

    Rasp – that comment just about sums up what kind of a man I have perceived you to be , credit to you…

    She is such a talent, incredible and the show is Britains Got Talent, Not Miss World – I say leave the lady alone to do what she does best, I was stunned by her voice… She has a very bright time ahead, and its good to see old Piers Morgan lost for words 😉

  106. Rasputin says:

    AAAWwwww thanks rico – and by the way, the missing line from the HC song the other was ‘you sexy thing’ wasn’t it 🙂

  107. rico01 says:

    Rasp – hope that came across how it was meant …;)

  108. rico01 says:

    It was indeed my friend 😉 😛

    I knew you knew it really 😉

  109. kelsey says:

    I hear clichy is out with a cracked vertabrae for 4 weeks,Sagna is feeling worse,and rico named this site to the lefties. HELP

  110. kelsey says:

    rico,

    you didn’t understand my comment at 3.38 p.m. I was talking about the lefties.Mainly Oxford educated,me thinks.

  111. rico01 says:

    There are a few good un;s over there kelsey, when AR goes onto NN, they will all come flooding in 😉

  112. rico01 says:

    Woops – yet again 😳 😦

  113. Rasputin says:

    I hope ave’s alright – he’s not usually absent for this long. I know he’s had a nasty cold.

  114. peachesgooner says:

    Hello – I’m just checkin’ in for the late shift – anyone about………

    ave – its only a cold!!!!!!!!

  115. Rasputin says:

    Hi peaches,

    I’m happy that its not just this site – I’ve just tried blogging elsewhere and been ignored. I think you meet a better class of non-respondant on here. Don’t answer this…. 😆

  116. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rasp – just goes to show how men and woman differ on the touchy subject of a cold 😆

  117. kelsey says:

    Rasputin,
    you couldn’t hold back could you 🙂

    peaches I started a war on ACLF by being polite and 4 or 5 others joined in from the other channel,then it was transmitted to the other channel by those who had joined in.

    So far 8 yellows and 2 red cards

  118. peachesgooner says:

    Well as I spent most of the morning on my own I suppose I have to agree that we are a better class of non-respondant 🙂

    How are you today – have you had lots of rain – I just drove home fighting to stay awake, its so soporific

  119. peachesgooner says:

    I was following your quest for debate, kelsey, with much amusement – once my friend Franchise joined in it became too surreal

  120. Rasputin says:

    I don’t know what you mean kelsey 😳

  121. peachesgooner says:

    Blimey rasp you’re getting around a bit 😆

  122. Rasputin says:

    Peaches,
    I’m feeling surprisingly chilled this close to the game so I thought I’d see what all the fuss is about. As I said earlier, I don’t think I’m being disloyal. Any way, so far, everyone is being nice to me – better not tell any of them what I think of Ade 🙂

  123. peachesgooner says:

    You can tell them what you think of ade – why would they not be nice to you?

    Do you understand where kelsey has been today – hes had a lot of fun 😉

  124. Rasputin says:

    No, whats that old bounder kelsey been up to – upsetting the natives again?

  125. Rasputin says:

    Oy peaches – don’t ask me a question and then go missing…. I’ve learnt some new phrases from other sites you $%^&*£” *&%^%^&&% :!)*^%+ 😛

  126. London says:

    Kelsey

    Don’t worry the lefties don’t travel; you never see any of them on other sites. And to answer your question above: yes, they all do share the same view; they try to focus on the positive rather than the negative. So to say that you do not rate Song, Denilson or Eboue is like a red rag to a bull to them. The example they give as justification of this collective view is that you wouldn’t accept a spud criticising Arsenal players like that so why should it be acceptable from an Arsenal supporter. I understand that not every player can be popular but if we don’t prefix these statements with phrases like “I hope I’m wrong about this; but, etc” or something similar, then perhaps they have a point. The lefties will focus on the improvement that Song, Denilson and Eboue have made this season and hope that they continue improving, and maturing in Eboue’s case, enough to become worthy of all Arsenal supporters belief.

    Personally, I find the lefties too extreme they are the antithesis of other popular sites which I am equally uncomfortable with. I like the middle ground that Avenell Road has to offer.

  127. peachesgooner says:

    I shan’t tell you – somethings in life, you just have to work out for yourself

  128. kelsey says:

    Rasputin,
    you can talk,blogging on 3 sites at the same time,I meant join in on ACLF.

    For someone with no time on your hands,I nominate you to do the next post 😉

    Everyone agreed.

    Yes, all agreed.

  129. London says:

    Peaches

    Ave can’t just have flu, he has been quiet for so long it must be man flu, a whole different ball game 😉

  130. London says:

    Kelsey

    I agree as well.

  131. kelsey says:

    London,
    you are quite right,but the quote you gave about me saying denilson,song and Eboue,was taken out of context and they only focus on bit parts of my various posts.

    one thing i have learnt today is that every post on all these sites are read by many but posted by few.

  132. Rasputin says:

    Its my day off kelsey, I’ve worked all through Easter – the busiest time of year for me (queue the violins) I’m not one of the minted semi retired like all you lot 😉

    I can’t do the next post, I’m not going to the game and I don’t have setanta at home, but I’ve told ave I’ll put my bloggers head on the block when I have time 🙂

  133. kelsey says:

    Question for us all.

    Which defenders will be on the bench tomorrow,I can’t think of one.

  134. London says:

    Fair enough Kelsey

    It was very entertaining though 😉

  135. kelsey says:

    rose minted glasses, perhaps.

  136. kelsey says:

    When ave is not on,
    the comments come on like lightning.Anyone else noticed that.

  137. Rasputin says:

    Pat Rice kelsey 🙂

  138. rico01 says:

    Hello 😉

  139. Rasputin says:

    Hi rico, I’m a virgin multi blogger and apparently I’m on the wrong site but no-one will tell me 😦 My heart is at AR, but our lord and master has done a runner….

  140. rico01 says:

    He is ok though Rasp, i had an email from him earlier, maybe he is just having a deserved rest, you men can’t take a seven day week 🙂 😉

  141. Rasputin says:

    No you’re right rico – we need pampering and looking after….slippers, pipe, shoulder massage, bubble and squeak 😛

  142. peachesgooner says:

    Hiya – i just spoke to our esteemed landlord and hes working hard on the next post – ‘Gimme a break’ were his words

  143. Rasputin says:

    Ah the cornish bard methinks is toiling with quill in hand and a heavy heart. Forsooth he maketh a mountain out of a veritable molehill lest his emissaries grow impatient for his literal meanderings 😆

  144. rico01 says:

    Rasp, nothing like a good pipe 😉

  145. peachesgooner says:

    …..or a good bubble and squeak it seems 😆 ….

  146. peachesgooner says:

    He so cheeky, he was gonna put up NEW POST just after he’d put mine up……….

  147. Rasputin says:

    You can’t have a post post! – that’s pre-post-erous 🙂

  148. rico01 says:

    peaches 😉 how you doing, loved your post – you have set a high standard for the ladies – aka, you and me 😉

  149. Rasputin says:

    I used to think I was witty, but apparently I was only half right 😦

  150. rico01 says:

    Rasp, I dont think you are a ‘half wit’ ….. 😛 😛

    Off for supper, be back soon 😉

  151. rico01 says:

    Rasp, I dont think you are a ‘half wit’ ….. 😛 😛

    Off for supper, be back soon 😉

  152. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – your cornish mutterings are classic 🙂

  153. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rico – thanks, its bloody hard work writing a post as London likes to remind us 😆

    Sorry London 😳

    We should all try and chip in, ave needs a bit of help – where are you JonJon?

  154. kelsey says:

    I repeat to all who are about.

    Which defenders will be on the bench tomorrow,please ?

  155. peachesgooner says:

    I’ll sit on the bench if I have to 🙂

    Seriously, that is a very important question. Maybe he’ll need to use a defender from the reserves as a precaution.

  156. peachesgooner says:

    I saw Paul Rogers and Thomas Cruise last week when I watched the reserves, otherwise the cupboard seems to be pretty bare cos so many are out on loan – its a bit unusual isn’t it?

  157. London says:

    kelsey

    The reason you haven’t had a reply is because it is such a tough question. I’m still thinking 😉

  158. Rasputin says:

    I told you kelsey – Pat Rice 🙂

  159. peachesgooner says:

    The thing is we know that Arsene encourages players to play in different positions so there could be a surprise in store – Ade?

  160. kelsey says:

    Peaches have you just been to the doctor.

    Why ? she asked.

    because every time she goes to bed she wakes up thinking she is Tom Jones.

    The doctor replied :

    That’s not Unusual 🙂

  161. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – that would be too sensible 🙂

  162. peachesgooner says:

    Ramsey?

  163. London says:

    The trouble is we just don’t know the truth as to who is and who isn’t really injured.

  164. Rasputin says:

    and then she thinks she’s a pair of curtains and ythe doctor says ‘pull yourself together’

  165. peachesgooner says:

    kelsey – thats not very funny 😆

    Actually where are all your jokes, you used to come out with loads on a friday 😉

  166. peachesgooner says:

    London – if some of them aren’t really injured then its not a problem is it 🙂

  167. peachesgooner says:

    Well peaches, you’ve hit the nail right on the head, in addition some of your suggestions are quite astute,
    not the answer but quite astute for a girl 😆

  168. London says:

    I still think that Sagna at left back is the better option than Sylvestre. He should be in the middle where pace or lack of it can be hidden far easier.

    Eboue,Toure,Sylvestre,Sagna

    I still reckon they are hoping the Djourou is fit and if he is I would still have Sagna at left back: he can’t cross the ball but he knows how to defend. Leave Sylvestre on the bench, I know he is experienced, but too slow for left back, Sagna all the way.

    Eboue,Toure,Djourou,Sagna

  169. London says:

    Peaches

    The old double negative: it always gets me 😉

  170. London says:

    I’m thinking alcohol is anyone else thinking alcohol?

  171. London says:

    Yes, alcohol it is then.

  172. peachesgooner says:

    Oooh yes please, what are you offering? I have a Shiraz open………..

    Are you going drinking before the game?

  173. London says:

    We sure is Mame, apparently someone knows someone who knows about a Catholic club very near to the ground.

  174. London says:

    I have a rather delicious Chianti on the go.

  175. London says:

    Peaches

    Is Ave having difficulties? How bad is it?

  176. London says:

    Hat trick

  177. peachesgooner says:

    Enjoy 🙂

    I don’t fancy getting caught up in chav cross-fire

  178. peachesgooner says:

    Hes fine, he was the at-home-daddy today so didn’t really get much done

  179. London says:

    They were ok when we were in Cardiff, ok you have to watch out for low flying celery but apart from that it should be fine.

  180. London says:

    I’m off for a while Peaches.

  181. avenell says:

    Evening all..
    London have a look in drafts and see what you think!!

  182. peachesgooner says:

    See ya, catch up later

  183. peachesgooner says:

    Hey ave – you waited till no-one was here I see to make your grand entrance 😆

  184. avenell says:

    Bloody marvellous.. lol

  185. avenell says:

    I’ll e mail it to you then Peaches you can check it..

  186. peachesgooner says:

    ……what a hoot 🙂

  187. avenell says:

    I’ve opened the Stella now.. The post will get more aggressive.. :mrgreen:

  188. kelsey says:

    evening ave and good night.

  189. peachesgooner says:

    kelsey – did you get a satisfactory answer to your question?

  190. peachesgooner says:

    ave – all my posts that didn’t come up this morning did they go in the spam?

  191. avenell says:

    Peaches yes I let them all out though, I don’t know what you have done to wordpress..

    Say hello wave goodbye Kelsey..

  192. Rasputin says:

    The bard appears – about time 😛

    Hey ave, it’d better be good after this build up….no pressure 🙂

  193. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – this hairy guy on Fans forum on arse tv just said what i said about the team being up for playing one of the other top four teams more than the Wigans and the Blackburns – what do you think? I posted it early this morning

  194. peachesgooner says:

    Tony Woodcock?

  195. Rasputin says:

    Peaches – you are the inspiration for us all. I’m off on my second taxi journey. Back in a while

  196. avenell says:

    It has got to follow this one so I have no chance..
    Second album syndrome.. 😉

  197. avenell says:

    Tony Woodcock hasn’t changed ..lol..

  198. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – you are so smooth 😎

  199. peachesgooner says:

    If you don’t have arsenal tv, the fans forum is just being repeated, Tom Watts has just said that 2 things would make him very happy – for Gallas to be fit and Arshavin to play in the champs lge, then he’d put his house on for us to win everything 🙂

  200. peachesgooner says:

    ave – i’ve been spammed again 🙂

  201. avenell says:

    Sorry Peaches.. I was watching.. Tom Watts looks like he’s 94 years old..

  202. London says:

    Hello

    Is anyone there?

  203. avenell says:

    Yeh me London..

  204. London says:

    Ave

    I understand the second part of the title but I don’t understand why the first word is there? Good post though

  205. avenell says:

    It was for your attention 8.22 comment..lol

  206. London says:

    I’m confused, your 8.22 said have a look at the drafts, I just have I then said I like the post but I don’t understand why the first word in the title is there. Still, how are you?

  207. avenell says:

    It was just so you know what one it was.. don’t worry 😉
    I just wanted the Lee magic run over it..

    I’m okay.. angry and excited like a big game from the old days.. buzzing mate..

  208. peachesgooner says:

    Hello, I’m still here too

  209. peachesgooner says:

    Why are you angry ave?

  210. avenell says:

    Just here.. 😉

  211. peachesgooner says:

    Actually, I’m still angry that the semi is at Wembley :mrgreen:

  212. avenell says:

    Peaches.. it’s football .. we have a bit of history.. I hate Chelsea and everything they stand for..

  213. peachesgooner says:

    No, I have to admit to putting myself about tnite – its friday I’m allowed 🙂

  214. peachesgooner says:

    You’re just jealous that you can’t join in 😆

  215. London says:

    Ave Yeah, I know that feeling. I’m happy to go over the draft if you want, I didn’t go through it with a fine tooth comb but I spotted a couple of small things capital letters and small stuff like that, that I can change if you want. But I still don’t understand why you wanted to write London in the title.

    Hi peaches

  216. peachesgooner says:

    Blimey ave I’m with you on that – I’ve been to Stamford Bridge, vile disgusting people!!!!! I never want them to win anything

  217. London says:

    They seem to have changed so much. They are horrible now but they were disgusting then.

  218. peachesgooner says:

    London – I think he wanted to you to know it was for you to look at – right ave?

  219. avenell says:

    London.. I just put London in temporarily (spelling) so you knew it was for your attention..
    Go easy on me today.. 😉

  220. London says:

    Sorry, I understand now.

    Now, It is a great title, haaahhhaahhhaaa

  221. peachesgooner says:

    I was taken to the bridge 30 years ago, it was a real culture shock……..mind you it was a spurs game 🙂

    I’ve spent the years since Abramovitch arrived telling anyone that would listen that to buy a football team is a discrace……..get me on my high horse 🙂

  222. avenell says:

    I never mean’t you hung around Piccadily Circus playing on the JPM’s lol..

  223. London says:

    I’m actually in a calm mood.

    Ok, now we are on the same page after me rummaging through the book for half an hour.

    Ave you seem in a delicate state so what I am going to do is get up early, make sure the post works and tweek where necessary (capital letters, etc) and post it around 9. All you have to do is say OK, now

  224. London says:

    Ave, I didn’t really think you did. I just thought it was another title like Vinigar Strokes that I didn’t understand. Lol

  225. peachesgooner says:

    Kenny Sampson has just been brought to tears talking about how the fans saluted him when he returned to Highbury as a Newcastle player in front of 38,000 fans – imagine how Bobby felt the other night 🙂

  226. avenell says:

    Okay London.. I will put some tags on.. The little blue bit’s that link us to the big wordpress search..

    9 is pukka.. 😉

  227. peachesgooner says:

    Ave – did anyone understand Vinegar strokes apart from you 😆

  228. London says:

    That’s funny…it’s like ping pong..first Vinigar Strokes, that I didn’t understand then Simples that Mrs Avenell had to explain and then tonight. I think I have finally learnt to wait extra long before jumping in as it is so easy to pick up the wrong end of the stick on these sites…..well some might say I am not waiting long enough but at least I am learning 😉

  229. avenell says:

    On Tuesday Arsenal and Liverpool are having a Ray Kennedy day.. A presentation before KO that will be emotional..
    I will do a link to the Ray of Hope fund ….

  230. avenell says:

    Peaches.. some pervert called Ras did straight away…

  231. London says:

    Night night, bring on the RB’s….it’s in the title. lol

  232. peachesgooner says:

    Just heard in these parts that Gerrard won’t play on tuesday

  233. avenell says:

    Cheers London .. nite mate…

  234. peachesgooner says:

    ave – I have some inside info on that – don’t want to reveal too many secrets but you’re wrong 🙂

  235. avenell says:

    Go on then chicken .. spill them!!!

  236. peachesgooner says:

    He has an excellent researcher – guess who 🙂

  237. avenell says:

    Not Jon Moss’s tutor.. 😉

  238. peachesgooner says:

    ………and he was impressed and interested in the results that were uncovered 😆 ……

  239. avenell says:

    Although he prefered the real thing.. 😉

  240. peachesgooner says:

    …naturally….. 🙂

  241. avenell says:

    Think we may of crossed lines there .. 😉

  242. avenell says:

    Two unaturals don’t make a natural.. know what I am saying??

  243. peachesgooner says:

    I’m not really the right person for you to be having a smutty chat with you know.

    You’re right about Tom Watts, he looks terrible.

    I’ve just seen Theos goal again from the other night – hope he scores tmoro – I love him to bits

  244. avenell says:

    You started it.. We need to sell him!!

  245. peachesgooner says:

    You’re wrong – if we sell him it will put our team back into the dark ages

  246. avenell says:

    Rosicky and Nasri are far better Wengerball players.. i’m right..

  247. peachesgooner says:

    I agree but Theo does a different job – and he’ll improve his wengerball skills thats for sure – he’ll end up playing centrally – I’m right……..

  248. avenell says:

    That’s what I have said make him striker or sell him.. £25 million is too much to keep on the bench..

  249. peachesgooner says:

    Nasri doesn’t terrify defenders but I agree Rossicky does – the problem is he doesn’t seem to play or us at the moment 😦

  250. peachesgooner says:

    But hes not on the bench – he has a first team place, when he moves into he middle someone else will have to go

  251. peachesgooner says:

    I have to go to bed ave – I’m going to Wembley tmoro for a very important football match and I need my beauty sleep so I don’t look too crabby with all the worry 😆 😆 😆

    Nite nite, wish you better xx

  252. avenell says:

    Nasri/Rosicky. Fabregas….DM…Arshavin.

    ………RvP/Dudu…. Ade/ Bendtner..

    Theo For Sale… lol..

  253. peachesgooner says:

    We’ll see ave, catch up tmoro xx

  254. avenell says:

    Nite Peaches you know me a bit now.. 😉

  255. kelsey says:

    Morning nobody 🙂

  256. kelsey says:

    Arsenal
    Wenger – won’t sit back.
    WENGER: ATTACK BEST FORM OF DEFENCE

    from football.365.

    he must be reading my comments 🙂

  257. rico01 says:

    Morning all 😉

  258. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters and Roosters, Hi-de-Hi rico, Top o’ the Mornin’ kelsy you blog junkie; 😉

    One down two to go in our pivotal week. We’re gonna win – I can feel it in mi water………

  259. London says:

    I believe Ave has a new post, lets go see, today we will be looking through the round window.

  260. rico01 says:

    Hi Rasp Ho-de-Ho 😛

    Hi London – That takes me back to my younger days of Play School, tv just isnt what it used to be…

    I am very very nervous about todays game, and I cant watch it can you believe, I have to go out!! 😦

Leave a Reply

