Groguet v’s Gunnersaurus – (Little Yellow against the Mighty Dinosaur)…

Why is it that it is always our players that are targeted by the Big two in Spain?  You rarely hear of a Liverpool player randomly wanted by the Presidents elect of Real Madrid or Barcelona. The Ronaldo To Madrid story broke because Man U would not meet the new wage demands so the agent alerted Real.  It is obvious from his body language he is off in the summer and Man U sorted a one year deal out so they could let Ferguson save face.  Man U are said to be lining up Ribery as his replacement, as JonJon said it would be better if he went to the Spanish giants then their thirst for a big name each can be satisfied and leave our top guns alone.

Do they pick on us because we have the best players for them and it suits their style of football? In the past most of the players that have left Arsenal to play on foreign shores have not really reached the heights that they did  with us. Brady, Van Bronkhurst, Silviniho perhaps are the ones that are exceptions to the rule and recently Henry has recaptured some of his old form. Until we win the European Cup we are seen as easy pickings.

If we win the European Cup our profile as a big club is raised to the top. we are no longer that feeder club that quality players use as a stepping stone. We need to be up their with Madrid, Milan, Barcelona and even Man U when a player looks around for a new club he needs to know he would be taking a backwards step or at worst a sideways one. A small concern though is Mr Wenger obe, will he feel he has achieved all he can at arsenal or can he keep the hunger and desire going to make our club the biggest and best in the world?.

Rico brought up a point while talking about players contracts from yesterdays post “I think Arsene will sign a contract extension in the summer” of course we all hope that he does, but he normally lets his contract go down to the last knockings. I would prefer him to keep signing an extension every year or so because to me that would set a example for the players to do the same. How can you expect players like Flamini  not to not run their contracts down if the manager allows his to. Lead by example please Mr Wenger obe…

Rico has given us her views on tonight’s game.

mascot1

Groguet v’s Gunnersaurus – Little Yellow against the Mighty Dinosaur…

Tonight sees a rematch of the 2006 Champions League Semi final, and my question is will the outcome be the same?..

Villarreal a few short weeks later went on to shock us all, they stole away one of our prize possessions for free. Arsene made him feel unwanted and he felt let down when he was substituted in the final in Paris in front of his whole family. How I have missed those little legs with ’10 to 2’ feet at the end of them, racing down the left, unleashing a fierce shot on goal, the inch perfect pass to Freddie or Thierry and another goal for us to celebrate… Oh happy days they were.

But life has moved on, he now plays for tonight’s challengers, three years older and hopefully three years slower, and I really can’t see him getting the better of Sagna – so I am not going to worry about Sir Bobby tonight.

The ground itself is a little like how ours used to be, their stadium only holds 25,000 fans, and it seems to attract some dreadful defenders to it, which brings me on to another old boy of ours, Cygan. He will be playing against his old club who, unlike with Bobby, I would have given him away, and thrown Eboue into the deal. With Theo he will have his hands full and will have to try very very hard not to make himself look too silly with his lack of pace – and that is not me being cruel, its real, Cygan was poor when he was with us, he must be worse now..

The only other player I know about is Senna – 33 years old and some still rave about him. For me Paddy was always better than him, and when he got older and played against our midfield which included Cesc, we all know what happened, so I am not too concerned about him either. If Song and Cesc play in the centre of the midfield, he will get little joy.

I am sure there is truly no reason to fear our opposition – respect, yes, but not fear.

Tonight is about going to Spain, getting two away goals, and all but killing the tie off. The defence needs to be sharp and on the ball. Dont give them an inch, and I dont think they will. If we defend as well as we have done, we will come away with a clean sheet.


My(Rico’s)  team for tonight would be.


Almunia

Bac  Kolo  Gallas Clichy

Denilson  Cesc  Song  Nasri

Ade   Theo.



267 Responses to Groguet v’s Gunnersaurus – (Little Yellow against the Mighty Dinosaur)…

  1. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters.
    Well done rico.. nice pre match ..
    and you saved lazy Ave from doing it.. 😉

  2. rico01 says:

    Morning Ave, dont you blame me for that poop you call a pre match view 😉 😉

    Morning All again 😛

  3. rico01 says:

    Ave – the reason that RM are not ever after the Dippers player’s is because they are all C**P, the only one who is half decent is Stevie Me Me Me – and they wouldnt want him as they wouldnt be able to understand him 😉

  4. avenell says:

    Morning Rico.. and he is always crap when he plays in a white shirt!!
    I would say Alonso has been there best player this year though.. top of all the stat charts..

  5. rico01 says:

    Ah yes, I forgot Alonso – he would look vey good in our shirt 😉

    And yes, cant seem to do it for his country can he – yet time and time again he gets selected, same goes for Lumplard 😉

  6. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters and Roosters…cock-a-doodle-dooo rico 😉

    Why do I always have the last post on the old blog? – the above is what I posted seconds before this one appeared.

    Excellent averico collusion. I think he’ll play theo right midfield and go for a 4:5:1

  7. avenell says:

    Morning Rasp..
    Rico and me are like Lennon and McCartney..
    Arron Lennon and Benny McCartney.. 🙂

  8. Rasputin says:

    Morning ave,

    I like your Yin and Yang approach. You must have the greatest % of ladies in relation to other sites. Shame QoS doesn’t visit once in a while – I have always admired her comments.

  9. rico01 says:

    Morning Rasp – how are you feeling today, have all your lumps, bumps and bits gone down 😉

  10. rico01 says:

    rasp, I have a feeling you may be right about the one up front and Theo on the right, but I really hope he goes there with the intention to get a couple of goals – we could all but kill the tie off tonight if we dod what we do best –

    Thats why I always prefer us to play the home leg first.

  11. avenell says:

    She’s a bit feisty that one rasp, no she knows her stuff, she is a competitor in the T shirt world though (It’s a small market)..

  12. rico01 says:

    Anyone else feel like today is going to be a long old day, I am so excited about tonight, win for us and Porto 😉

  13. rico01 says:

    QoS has recently become a mum

  14. Rasputin says:

    Hi rico – I look a bit closer to ‘normal’ this morning thanks – never a pretty sight 🙂 Like you, I always get very twitchy leading up to an important game. I am likely to be posting increasingly off-the-wall comments as the day goes on…. I am torn between predicting 1 nil (I’d really go for 2 nil but others have got there before me!) but I can see a bit of a goalfest and something like 4:2 if we score first and they come at us.

    Ave – I’d forgotten T shirts was part of you business empire.

  15. avenell says:

    Ras.. can you check the little widget box and tidy up your score prediction please.. lol..

  16. avenell says:

    Raddy is down for us to lose 1-0 Rasp.. 😦

  17. rico01 says:

    Rasp, so we will have Lennon, McCartney and Michael Jackson then 😉

    Glad to hear you are near to normal – well, as you can be anyway 😉

    Anyone see that dreadful tackle last night, Carsley for Brum – I am surprised he didnt break the Wolves guys leg..

  18. Rasputin says:

    I didn’t expect you to take it literally ave – put me down for 3 : 2 just to be different. Being Arsenal, we can expect to have a nervy second leg, we often don’t make life easy for ourselves!

  19. rico01 says:

    Ave – thats funny, get off the fence Rasp and make a decision.. 😉

    Cant believe Raddy thinks we will lose, and we cant shout at him as he is not reading this while sunbathing …

  20. avenell says:

    😉

    To Villareal rasp?

  21. Rasputin says:

    I would never predict an Arsenal loss – can’t believe that turncoat Raddy would be so pessimistic 🙂

  22. avenell says:

    That’s what I was hoping rasp!!
    It was just the bit about making it hard for ourselves that threw me.. sorry..

  23. rico01 says:

    No peaches about this morning ?

  24. avenell says:

    I got a email about an hour ago from her.. apart from that no.. I don’t think she likes my smut. 😦

  25. rico01 says:

    ave – I am sure that is not the case, no doubt she is busy trying sort Zorba out 😉

  26. avenell says:

    Oh she does!! 🙂 I can carry on then.. How excited are you exactly about tonights game? 😉

  27. rico01 says:

    You wouldnt believe ave, the better one finishes at 5pm tonight so dinner early, chickens have been warned that they need to be up in their nesting bay by 7.30 at the latest, and pigs/hamster will all be fed and watered ready for a 90 minutes of peace. Well, I am not sure that I will be peaceful, I am hoping to be cheering many many goals 🙂

  28. rico01 says:

    So Alan Hansen has a view on our game tonight then, he thinks the game will be won/lost in the midfield, in that he means the battle between Cesc and Senna –

    Well strike a light Hansen, how long did it take you to work that out, and secondly how the heck do you think you have a right to an opinion on our club, you dont watch them, you dont show them on MOTD, so zip your choppers and keep your comments to thd dippers, and get your tissues out because Chelsea are going to knock them out again…

    GGGGGrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

  29. rico01 says:

    Sorry for that rant, but he annoys me so much….

  30. avenell says:

    Did you see them snaking up to Shearer on Saturday? Sickning..
    Lawrenson has great dress sense though.. I base my wardrobe on his style.. 😉

  31. rico01 says:

    ave – I dont watch it anymore, I really cant stand either of them, they are bad enough being so bias against us, but they are ex dippers, and they make me cringe!

    I hope you really are kidding about your wardrobe 😉

    Sky show most of the games which I record, unless its been live on Setanta in which case i record that – Footie First does a whole game replay just after 8pm, often we are there to, plenty of ways to avoid Mr Chips and his two dippy side kicks 😉

  32. rico01 says:

    Arsene is a naughty man, he has bee interviewed and he says we only have a 50/50 chance to come away with something tonight. He is praising up V’Real, good man.

    Tonight we create history Roadsters, we will become the first team to beat Villarreal on their on soil in the CL………….

  33. avenell says:

    They was saying this morning that the small pitch will suit villareal, probably the same people who were critisizing us training on 5 a side pitches playing one touch football. when they were saying that’s why we don’t shoot..

  34. rico01 says:

    ave – it will be like going back to Highbury for us then, small pitch, quick footie, crisp passing ending with slick goals – honest we are going to win this tonight, big time 😛

    Who is ‘they’ ave 😉

  35. rico01 says:

    oops – who are ‘they’ ??

  36. peachesgooner says:

    Hiya

    Just popping in to soak up the pre-match optimism.

  37. avenell says:

    It was on the Ford sponsered drunk drivers show on talk crap rico.. I was half asleep tbh..

  38. avenell says:

    Hi Peaches .. have you sorted that tosser out that is giving you a hard time?

  39. Rasputin says:

    Don’t start with the inuendo again ave 😉

  40. avenell says:

    These girls, they never come on together then when they do they dissapear.. It’s like londons school disco when the girls pop to the loo together all over again..

  41. rico01 says:

    I am here ave, just popped and put some washing out 😉

    Morning peaches

  42. rico01 says:

    Which tosser is having a ‘hard’ time 😉 😳

  43. rico01 says:

    peaches – did you see that luck lady having her photo taken with cesc when they arrived at the airport 😦

  44. avenell says:

    The Vapours with Turning Japanese.. they were tossers..

  45. Rasputin says:

    Do you really think so?

  46. avenell says:

    Hahaha.. out of everyone I knew you would understand rasp.. 🙂

  47. rico01 says:

    Ha Ha Ave/Rasp – I remember that song 😉

  48. avenell says:

    Oh c’mon 7.45…

  49. rico01 says:

    Six and a half hours to go until my eyes will be firmly fixed on the television – my word it is dragging 😦

  50. rico01 says:

    Spooky ave 😉

  51. avenell says:

    Have you moved in? lol..

  52. Rasputin says:

    Do something you really enjoy rico (ironing, tax returns etc) – that makes the time go faster 😉

  53. rico01 says:

    moved in where ?? 😉

  54. rico01 says:

    Rasp – i am watching Loose Women, thats better than ironing 😉

  55. avenell says:

    Moved in to my head rico..
    Don’t you start with the tax return thing Ras.. Just got my 09 letter in my hand now!

  56. rico01 says:

    ave – big head 😉

  57. rico01 says:

    But they dont have to be taxing according to the adverts 😉

  58. Rasputin says:

    I prefer Shameless myself rico – or The Sopranos when it was on……

  59. rico01 says:

    Havent seen either of those Rasp, have also just watched sunday’s Lewis – my word i must be bored………

  60. Rasputin says:

    File it in the bin ave and declare UDI 😉

  61. Rasputin says:

    Did you see Joanna Lumley in search of the Northern Lights rico? The scenery up in the arctic circle is breathtaking.

  62. avenell says:

    I watched Blue Peter when they went up there.. Not recently I might add.. 😉

  63. rico01 says:

    Rasp, haven’t seen that either, I like JL, it seems she has been around for years and years. Was that on tv recently, i will see if its repeated anywhere.

    I seem to miss all the good programmes, and just watch the rubbish! 😦

  64. rico01 says:

    I have found it rasp on bbci – I may just sit and watch that instead of the Clough film 😉

  65. avenell says:

    Hi Stringfellow… 😉

    Yes I have been pissing myself.. it’s getting boring now and it’s my ball lol..

  66. Stringfellow Hawke says:

    You need that guy on here, my word i am pissing myself.

  67. avenell says:

    Bit too much info.. on the earlier comment stringfellow sir..;)

    How are you mate.. have you been busy?

  68. Stringfellow Hawke says:

    Oh crikey yup sorry, forget about all that.

    Yes mate really well, been massively busy setting up a new business. Just not had any time to blog mate.

    Really loving this site, ave.

    you guys have done a grand job 😉

  69. avenell says:

    Not a good day for the edit window to freeze..lol

  70. avenell says:

    It’s enjoyable running it too.. Have you been reading Londons posts?

  71. Stringfellow Hawke says:

    yup, been follwing the site as much as i can when i can.

    will have a lot more time to blog soon.

  72. Stringfellow Hawke says:

    hahahhahaha

    he just killed them off at the end, brilliant, a masterclass in showing them up.

    hysterical.

  73. Rasputin says:

    Let me know what you think rico – happy viewing 🙂

  74. rico01 says:

    Smart move ave 😉

    I will Rasp, think I might just watch it now 😉

  75. avenell says:

    Have you got a match prediction mr stringfellow?
    We have a competition on until the end of the season..
    Winner wins a holiday 22 miles from Reading.. 😉

  76. rico01 says:

    Avenell…….!

  77. Stringfellow Hawke says:

    i go for a 1-1 tonight.

  78. avenell says:

    Yes rico my dear..;)
    ok I’ll stick you in!!

  79. Stringfellow Hawke says:

    cheers ave.

  80. rico01 says:

    I am surprised at how many fans dont think we will win tonight

  81. avenell says:

    Thats because Ade is playing.. 😉

    Oh no!!

  82. rico01 says:

    You still there Ave

  83. rico01 says:

    Ah, you are, I have just emailed you 😉

  84. avenell says:

    A back hand return..

  85. kelsey says:

    Hello,
    for those with time on their hands,try this.I bet rasputin will know all 5.

    1. A murderer is condemned to death. He has to choose between three rooms. The first is full of raging fires. The second is full of assassins with loaded guns. The third is full of lions that haven’t eaten in 3 years. Which room is safest for him?

    2. A woman shoots her husband. Then she holds him under water for over 5 minutes. Finally, she hangs him. But 5 minutes later they both go out together and enjoy a wonderful dinner together. How can this be?

    3. What is black when you buy it, red when you use it, and gray when you throw it away?

    4. Can you name three consecutive days without using the words Wednesday, Friday, or Sunday?

    5. This is an unusual paragraph. I’m curious as to just how quickly you can find out what is so unusual about it. It looks so ordinary and plain that you would think nothing was wrong with it. In fact, nothing is wrong with it! It is highly unusual though. Study it and think about it, but you still may not find anything odd. But if you work at it a bit, you might find out. Try to do so without any coaching!

    THE ANSWERS TO ALL FIVE THE RIDDLES ARE 🙂

  86. kelsey says:

    have you e mailed me,anyone 😦

  87. rico01 says:

    Cross court passing shot Ave 😉

  88. rico01 says:

    Hi kelsey – no emails as you are busy with your family, Ben takes priority for you, you dont want any of my old gossip 😉

    Mind you, I haven’t got any 😉

  89. kelsey says:

    rico,

    what was the name of the place near you werethat man went mad years ago and shot dead loads of people,was it hungerford.

    Ben and his better half have gone to the beach for lunch,
    I think he has been over doing it a bit,so the doc told him to slow down.

  90. rico01 says:

    kelsey, yes it was Michael Ryan in Hungerford, 1987 I believe.

    What are the answers then ??

    Lunch, I forgot the Spanish eat lunch late, did i tell you my brother lived in Madrid for about 6 years back in the 90’s

  91. kelsey says:

    Answers:

    1. The third room. Lions that haven’t eaten in three years are dead. That one was easy, right?

    2. The woman was a photographer. She shot a picture of her husband, developed it, and hung it up to dry (shot; held under water; and hung).

    3. Charcoal, as it is used in barbecuing.

    4. Sure you can name three consecutive days, yesterday, today, and tomorrow!

    5. The letter e, which is the most common letter used in the English language, does not appear even once in the paragraph.

    How did you do?

  92. avenell says:

    It was Michael Ryans mum’s fault.. she told him to shoot down the shops for her.. 😉

  93. kelsey says:

    eat late rico,

    they go out for dinner at about 10.30 p.m. (not for me) but then most don’t start work until 10.00 a.m.

    And Spain make any excuse for a national or provincial holiday,they get 15 extra days off than the UK each year.Unlucky,i am retired 🙂

  94. rico01 says:

    kelsey -I got them all

  95. rico01 says:

    ave – that is dreadful…. 😉

  96. avenell says:

    I’ll be doing the space shuttle one’s next.. 🙂

    Okay then .. How did they know the teacher on the space shuttle had blue eyes?

  97. rico01 says:

    Oh no, I missed a word off of my 3.05 comment, ‘wrong’ should have been after all 😉

  98. rico01 says:

    They found one on the floor 😉

  99. avenell says:

    One blew this way and one blew that way.. 😦

  100. rico01 says:

    That is bad !!!

  101. rico01 says:

    I am off for a while all, got a few things to get done.. Catch you later..

  102. rico01 says:

    Evening all, not long to go…..

    I would like to say Ave, what a fine heading to your post, how did you think of that ?? 😉 😉

  103. kelsey says:

    i would hope you would say what a fine header ade 🙂

    Enjoy the game,can’t wait for the holiday,I presume it’s in the summer in England.Ur what summer ?

  104. rico01 says:

    Todays post I meant kelsey, not tomorrow’s 😉

  105. London says:

    Buenas tardes roadsteros

    I feel unusually confident, I certainly didn’t feel this way the last time we played them, which I went to, and I would have gone to this one but for Mrs London falling down the stairs and breaking her leg (so inconsiderate)

    The key battle tonight will be in the midfield. I know Man City were crap but I thought Denilson and Song were shining more than usual, I put it down to the return of Fabregas, he makes their job easier; they break the play up and give it to our captain. So long as the two guard dogs carry on with the same level of concentration I cannot see how this one can go astray. I mean Cygan, a slower Pires and 33 year old DM in Senna; there just isn’t anything to be frightened of.

    Even Adebayor, if you take the most cynical view possible that he will be wanting to leave at the end of the season then there is no better advert for himself than a good performance in the CL.

    My only reservation is that I have only gone for a 2-1 victory perhaps I should increase that because if the give Walcott space, our butchers dog will tear them apart.

  106. Wrighty7 says:

    Hello all,

    My prediction? 11-0 to Arsenal.

    Nah! Only kidding! Stick me down for 2-0

  107. London says:

    Congrats on the post Rico, has Ave chained you to the keyboard, is he whipping you as we speak 8)

  108. rico01 says:

    Hi London – where have you been 😦

    I am with you, a big game and a big win for us tonight. Cesc will make Senna look old, Theo will make Cygan look worse than he was when we all knew him (not difficult I know)

    Bobby, dear Bobby – he will not be the player we remembered… Still love him though 😉

  109. rico01 says:

    WRIGHTY 😛

  110. rico01 says:

    Thanks London, thats lovely coming from a writer like you 😉

  111. rico01 says:

    London, please, how could you suggest such a thing 😉

  112. kelsey says:

    rico,

    i must apologise,i only just realised that you part posted today’s post.Are we both now freelance Mr.London.

  113. kelsey says:

    Wrighty,
    is that 11 corners,yellow cards,injuries or hitting the woodwork or offsides. 🙂

  114. London says:

    kelsey

    We are all freelance, it’s quite a clever idea really, it breaks it all up and keeps it interesting. I’m not doing this evenings report, I’m having a rest but I am looking forward to reading someone else’s tomorrow.

  115. avenell says:

    Do you want to change your prediction london?

    Hi Wrighty I’ll stick you in.. 🙂

  116. rico01 says:

    no probs kelsey – its nice we all have the freedom to make a contribution, we are lucky that JJ and Ave allow us that 😉 (yes i am a creep)

  117. rico01 says:

    London – I can do tomorrows, the heading will be 3-1 and the Dinosaur won the battle 😛 😛 😛

    Only kidding but we will win tonight or all holidays to Reading – well 22 miles from, are OFF 😉

  118. avenell says:

    Rico..You owe me a whipping.. Have you got any oranges??

  119. rico01 says:

    Ave – no, but we do have some whipping cream 😳 😉

    Sorry Nita 😦

  120. kelsey says:

    Andy Townsend is dismissing our chance tonight, over on ITV4

  121. kelsey says:

    : Almunia, Sagna, Clichy, Gallas, Toure, Denilson, Song, Fabregas, Walcott, Nasri, Adebayor. Subs to follow.

  122. avenell says:

    Have you any cling film to go with that Rico? 😉

  123. avenell says:

    One goal from Ade, one from Nasri and one from Song.. 🙂

  124. rico01 says:

    Of course Ave 😉

    kelsey – Andy Townsend – Who ?? 😉 What does he know !! Guess we are back to talking about tossers 😉

    Are you able to watch tonight kelsey ?

  125. rico01 says:

    So, will we go 1 up front or play Theo in the CF role ??

    Is that not my team selection for tonight ?????

  126. rico01 says:

    woop woop…. come on you Gooners 😉

  127. avenell says:

    On Sky they put Theo left wing and Nasri behind Ade.. lol…

    This holiday sounds better and better rico.. I’ll bring my own oranges.. 😉 (if I win) 🙂

  128. rico01 says:

    But Ave, I got the team right 😉

    Now just sit back and watch our boys fly 😛

    where do oranages fit in Ave 😉

  129. rico01 says:

    Supper now……. wont be long

  130. avenell says:

    Have we all got our drinks?

    Stella and peanuts for me.. yum yum!!

  131. kelsey says:

    rico,
    yes we get all the terrestrial(spelling) channels.Ben and I are waiting with bated breath and the girls have gone out shopping,which means they won’t be back until 3 hours after the game 🙂

  132. kelsey says:

    ave,
    cashew nuts are far better,elivate groin strain and very good for the prostate. 🙂

  133. JonJon says:

    ive been to the shop ive got my tinnies and im ready….

    shit post ave…

    whos excited???

    hello guys 😉

  134. avenell says:

    It’s not on terestrial telly over here kelsey..
    ITV4 is a cable or statelite (del boy spelling)only..

  135. kelsey says:

    I think rico is kidding all of us ,she is in fact Arsene.

  136. JonJon says:

    is 8 cans of carling good for the prostate kelsey???

  137. kelsey says:

    Oh, I get ITV4 on satellite over here.

  138. avenell says:

    Kelsey.. I cannot feel the groin strain the stella’s have sorted that..
    Best I read the comment before the text jonjon..lol

  139. kelsey says:

    No JJ,

    but you might miss half the game rushing to the toilet.

  140. avenell says:

    I hope Rico isn’t Arsene, that would ruin my whipping fantasy.. 😉

  141. avenell says:

    jonjon use the old North Bank trick.. piss back in the can.. 🙂

  142. kelsey says:

    right guys, enjoy (i hope)

  143. JonJon says:

    hahaha i was hust about to say that mate…..

    that build up sent shivers down my spine….that save from mad jens was the best 1.5 mil that wenger ever spent…..

    then we go see a fan put a barca shirt on henry…i forgot about that… 😦

  144. avenell says:

    He will wish he never went when we beat the tossers in the final..

  145. JonJon says:

    well that was a good start…. they cut right through us…hope we sort that out…

  146. JonJon says:

    ade offside from a cross…. OMG

  147. JonJon says:

    the commentator just said lehmann….

  148. JonJon says:

    i thought we are supposed to have 5 men in the middle….

    we are leaving gaps all over the place….

    porto have scored….what did i say about utds defence without ferdy???

  149. JonJon says:

    final ball theo… final ball

  150. JonJon says:

    denilson and song have been all over the place and that goal was coming….

  151. JonJon says:

    maybe that goal will wake us up….

  152. JonJon says:

    if almunia is injured dont piss about take him off…

    n ade better fucking sort it out….or i want bendter on at half time….

  153. kelsey says:

    the commentator called almunia lehmann. i think we have got the wrong boots on,everyone is slipping,and we need to regain some composure quickly.

  154. JonJon says:

    ffs weve had about 5 corners and not had one chance….theyve had one and almost scored….

    what are we playing at… theos been our best player but when your lone striker doesnt know what the fuck hes doing it doesnt give you many options does it…

  155. JonJon says:

    we need to hang in until half time until wenger can lay into them…. maybe knick a goal before then but we dont look good at all…

  156. rico01 says:

    😦

    But hey – I did say 3-1 😉

  157. rico01 says:

    Am I allowed to say that we are pants at the moment !!!

  158. rico01 says:

    Poo!!!!

  159. JonJon says:

    fucking shite….

    allow me rico 😉

  160. rico01 says:

    Flip me, what a double save

  161. rico01 says:

    Thanks JonJon – Theo is the best player on the pitch for us, Ade is….. on the wing!! cesc isnt in the game at the moment and i am very sad 😦

  162. rico01 says:

    But will the Spaniards keep this pace up ??

  163. rico01 says:

    Porto have an away goal, its 1-1

  164. rico01 says:

    WTF is Ade doing on the wing again… GGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

  165. rico01 says:

    Guys, I am booking off for the night, we are heading for a thumping 😥

  166. JonJon says:

    yes rico they play like this al the time they’ll keep the pace….

    denilson and song have been utter fucking shit and ade is back to being a lump..

  167. JonJon says:

    at least fabregas has shown he cant play in spain….

  168. JonJon says:

    the midfeild has lost all shape…

    correction it never had any shape and now has no confidence so we are back to lumping it long to the lump…

  169. JonJon says:

    this is becoming a joke….

  170. JonJon says:

    thank god for that…..

  171. kelsey says:

    Reasons to be cheerful 1-2-3

    answers on a postage stamp.

  172. avenell says:

    I get that feeling someone is heading for a red.. 😦

  173. JonJon says:

    porto have an away goal????

    barca wont want cesc now????

    ades proved hes shit????

  174. JonJon says:

    cesc….

  175. avenell says:

    Exactly jonjon.. They will wind him up now..

  176. John says:

    putain de merde.

  177. JonJon says:

    if i was at that game i would want my money back….

    that was woeful…..

    we can still win this but weve got to start fucking playing and ade better sort it out

  178. avenell says:

    Qui. John.. I had to look it up though..

  179. JonJon says:

    fabianskis been a bright spark….

    definately going to make it big….hopefully next season….

    denilson missed the tackle. song made the foul and injured gallas in the process….

    them two have been like dumb and dumber in the middle…

  180. JonJon says:

    hey there john…. playing well arent we????

  181. Rasputin says:

    Yea roadsters – very poor, a shadow of the team at the weekend but then they’re up against much better opposition. Ade has been continually out of position, offside and given away too many fouls. We can only make one more sub now so that can’t be early and tactical because we could get another injury. The only good thing is that if they love so much playing on this compact ground, they won’t enjoy the Emirates. One nil isn’t the end of the world but we mustn’t go 2 behind. I blame Raddy….

  182. avenell says:

    They play Wengerball faster and better than we do..

  183. London says:

    Arsene will sort them out…. it can’t get any worse….

  184. John says:

    JonJon…………………………………………………………………………………………………………….no.

  185. JonJon says:

    we cant play wenger ball with ade in the team…

    we switch to a 442 and put bendtner on…he wont score but he’ll make chances for somebody who will,

  186. avenell says:

    Can I just say that Rasps.. was our 10,000 comment.. cheers everyone !! Speech please Rasp.. 🙂

  187. Rasputin says:

    Unaccustomed as I am to public speaking, I’d like to thank my mum and dad and everyone who knows me 🙂

  188. JonJon says:

    kelsey i blame ade song and denilson…

    london… it can

    cesc will get a red and the tie will end tonight…

  189. JonJon says:

    shit that mati fernandez is awsome…. villareal are going for the jugular…

  190. peachesgooner says:

    Here I am…….that wasn’t much fun to watch was it?

    Rasp – 10,000 comments eh, I told you you talk too much :lol;

  191. peachesgooner says:

    oh no my smiley didn’t work – this is for you rasp 😆

  192. peachesgooner says:

    Who gets sacrificed for Nikki?

  193. JonJon says:

    never thought id want bendtner on as much as i do but get him on now wenger….we have to risk the final sub before we go 2nil down….

    or before ade breaks the record for offsides….

  194. JonJon says:

    corner… goal….

  195. JonJon says:

    so i was wrong….. did anyone really expect me to be right???

  196. Rasputin says:

    They are going flat out to get Cesc sent off…….

    Nik for Nasri I reckon (shoud be Ade) We are suffering from Hlebitis – scared to shoot in front of goal.

  197. peachesgooner says:

    Where?

  198. JonJon says:

    i think its fair to say we arent creating any chances to shoot rasp…

  199. peachesgooner says:

    I’m afraid nasri is guilty of that – ade is just not up for scoring tnite is he

  200. Rasputin says:

    We need a player to take the game by the scruff of the neck – we look like a disorganised rabble. I don’t know what they are scared of except failure itself.

  201. peachesgooner says:

    Pires is warming up – maybe he’ll pull on the wrong shirt 🙂

  202. Rasputin says:

    Agree JonJon. it doesn’t look like Arsene’s half time team talk has done anything to change matters 😦

  203. JonJon says:

    we finally look to have settled down…we just need to score while we are on top….

    why didnt nasri hit that….

  204. peachesgooner says:

    OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH we got one xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  205. JonJon says:

    ade?????????????????????????????????????????????

  206. peachesgooner says:

    Nah – he didn’t mean that to happen 🙂

  207. peachesgooner says:

    Its OK rasp and rico you can look now 🙂

  208. Rasputin says:

    Would you believe it – we slag him off and he scores a goal like that! Now I want to have his babies…. 🙂

  209. JonJon says:

    no rasp keep slagging him off…..

    ades been shit he slipped and the ball bounced off his foot…

  210. JonJon says:

    ade wont score again

  211. Rasputin says:

    Yea – he’s one of those players who is much better when he hasn’t got time to think…………

  212. kelsey says:

    by the way who are you ras.

    nice comment peaches

    The more we slag him off he couldn’t be playing worse then he scores.

    right let’s have a go at nasri,it might work.
    toure is majestic since gallas went off.

    take another pill,kelsey

  213. JonJon says:

    kelsey they have all been shit apart from theo and kolo…

  214. JonJon says:

    so we take off a player who has been giving them problems and we put on a player who gives us problems?????

  215. Rasputin says:

    You’ve lost me there kelsey?

  216. JonJon says:

    JD’s tackle was the best tackle ive seen from an arsenal defender since the days of keown…. SMASH…take that my son…

  217. Rasputin says:

    1:1 would be a great result in the circumstances, let’s hope we can concentrate and hold on……..

  218. JonJon says:

    1-1 would be an excellent result based on the performance but i want another…..

  219. peachesgooner says:

    Blimey did ade just shoot from distance?????

  220. JonJon says:

    good job that angel went to the same finishing class as ade….

  221. Rasputin says:

    See – I told you it would be 1:1

  222. peachesgooner says:

    You’re such sage rasp 😆

  223. peachesgooner says:

    Well done kelsey – you did predict 1-1

  224. kelsey says:

    excuse me 1-1 as well.

    ras,you thanked everyone who knew you,but i don’t hence the question:)

    I am pleased,but the down side is that the oaf scored a goal which he might repeat once a year.

  225. JonJon says:

    kelsey

    well done mate….

    and i agree with you, ade is an oaf and that goal was a fluke but i bet he gets man of the match for that 2seconds of skill when he was pure shite for the other 92mins 58 secs…..

    for 80k a week he should be scoring goals like that regular…

  226. JonJon says:

    do we do a winner for the score furthest away??? 😆

  227. Rasputin says:

    Duurrrr – sorry Kelsey, I’ve had a pint of Peroni and 3 glasses of Merlot!

    Ridiculously I predicted 3:2, so the honours go to you kelsey 😉

  228. JonJon says:

    bad points….

    we were crap
    gallas injured

    good points

    got an away goal and didnt lose
    manutd conceeded two at home and didnt win

  229. avenell says:

    I’m sure Ade just said he doesn’t know how he scored..lol

  230. kelsey says:

    where’s rico,
    has she fainted

    my MOTM…. kolo

  231. John says:

    phew, what a weird one.
    we were hopeless in the first half and adebayor was of no use for almost an hour but scored an incredible goal.
    i won’t lie; i was praying for wenger to take ade off before he scored too, but he got the goal that gives us the advantage now.
    oh well 😀

  232. Rasputin says:

    Another good point – Ade’s just added another million to his transfer value 😉

  233. avenell says:

    We will know what to expect in the second leg now.. They would have taken most premiership teams apart in the first 30 mins..
    Rico is in hiding she said Senna was finished lol…

  234. avenell says:

    Well sort of.. 😉

  235. London says:

    Told ya Arsene would sort it out at half time 😉

    After asking for more effort from them all he pulled Ade aside, just before they all went out for the second half, and whispered in his ear: “Barcelona are here to watch you.”

    Our leader is so clever.

  236. kelsey says:

    I was one advocating buying senna last summer.we are continually linked with him,what power in his shot,yet he is 33/34.

    downside for me was clichy yet again got caught out near the end,and nasri as usual doesn’t play well away from home.

  237. JonJon says:

    villareal are poor away from home in spain…

    we should finish rthem off and hopefully porto will get a draw 0-0 1-1 or a win 😉

    we should of been given a hiding tonight…just like at roma…maybe lady luck is shining this year.

  238. avenell says:

    Gallas has medial ligament damage.. Silvestre may not be such a bad signing now for under a million squidlies…

  239. London says:

    Ave

    Is that the same problem as Fab had?

  240. JonJon says:

    LMAO london

  241. avenell says:

    Yes I think so, they just said long term..

  242. JonJon says:

    gallas will be out for the season… and i wouldnt mind lehmann 😉 out either cos i want fabianski in permanantly…

  243. avenell says:

    Almunia is 2 weeks..

  244. JonJon says:

    right im calling it a night i got some errands to run before work in the morning so im gettin up super early…night night all..

  245. avenell says:

    Got your message jonjon.. night mate…

  246. avenell says:

    2 weeks Arsenal time is 2 months real time.. 😦

  247. Rasputin says:

    When did we buy Lehman back?

  248. avenell says:

    Commentator made a cock up rasp..

  249. Rasputin says:

    Just kidding ave…. I feel the same way about Fabianski v Almunia as I do Gibbs in relation to Cliche – there’s not a lot to choose between them! We can’t afford any more injuries to our CB’s though because Sylvestre cannot be relied on to stay injury free once he returns. Gallas to be back for the CL final??????

  250. avenell says:

    Clichy is just guilty of trying too hard.. He would be mad as the DM that everyone wants..

  251. Stringfellow Hawke says:

    Don’t forget to add my points aswell, ave 😉

    Stringfellow Hawke Says:
    April 7, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    i go for a 1-1 tonight.

  252. avenell says:

    I may deduct 1/2 a point for being a flash arse mr stringfellow.. 😉

  253. kelsey says:

    Good Morning all.

    Well having had time to digest the game,the key to the rest of our season will now lie on our injury situation.I will be unbiased for once about the players I rate and those I do not.

    Cesc understandably looked tired with only his second game in 4 months,and even Ade who was non existent for most of the game,played better after the goal.Let’s face it,Villarreal did their homework on us and we were very fortunate not to be 2-0 down at half time.Leaving out the usual suspects,I was particularly disappointed with Nasri,who hardly featured,and both full backs are still woeful at crossing the ball.As I said last night Toure was my man of the match,and I feel cofident about the home leg.Games are now coming thick and fast,and team selection will be absolutely critical for each game as it comes.Our cover for Gallas is not great,though fabianski will be good cover for Almunia.I think,Clichy and Cesc maybe rested for the Wigan game and Bedtner and Gibbs will start with Arshavin in the hole.

  254. rico01 says:

    Good morning how srong was I about Senna 😦

    Back in a while

  255. rico01 says:

    hello again – so i got my prediction wrong, we didn’t win, and Senna was ok 😉 But a 1-1 finishing scoreline was not so bad really – we have the away goal, and maybe Villarreal missed their opportunity last night.

    still feel quite confident we will go through, at home things should be a little different and we will know what to expect..

    Imagine how you would feen being a Manure fan this morning, they were lucky to draw according to reports and they face a huge task away at Porto.. Manure were dreadful again, are they doing what we did last year – I hop not in the case of the EPL, but in the CL, I really hope so 😛

  256. rico01 says:

    kelsey – I agree about Ade, one flash of luck/brilliance ?? otherwise he was always in the wrong position. I thought Theo had a good game, but his final ball let him down, and Clichy/Bac’s crossing at time was woeful.

    The defence pairing now has to be Kolo and Djourou, the latter did well when he came on and Fabianski will be Mr Reliable i hope 😉

  257. rico01 says:

    Senna – was he ‘that’ good, or did we just give him far too much space ?? His goal was a corker, but we gave him the room to shoot – Thats when it shows we miss a big tackling midfielder, with speed.

  258. kelsey says:

    rico,
    I just wrote this on another channel,can’t change it,as that is how I feel.

    If you want to critise the performance,we weren’t allowed to settle from the off,a quick tempo on a slippery pitch and i think everyone would agree that we were lucky not to be 2-0 down at half time.

    there may be more,but Senna,Bentley and giovanni have now all scored from a similar position this season,because they weren’t marked .I disagree about Nasri,I thought he was pants,and not for the first time didn’t perform in an away game.I also disagree about Clichy,he again got caught out of position near the end,which could have led to a goal.Toure was my man of the match,and considering he has only played once before in 4 months cesc was OK but may have been sent off with another referee.I am sure everyone will talk about Adebayor today,was it brillant or a fluke.Love him or hate him,we are now in the driving seat for the second leg,but with Gallas out will Djorou or Silvestre rise to the occasion,with games coming thick and fast.I expect Bedntner,arshavin and gibbs may feature against Wigan,the momentum is there but the rest of the season could well be decided on who is fit.

  259. kelsey says:

    Senna is great,that’s why he is still first choice for Spain.We have been linked with him,many times and even at 33 he would be hugely beneficial for a season or two.What power in his shot.

  260. rico01 says:

    I just think it was a typical away performance in the CL kelsey, I also dont think any of our players had a outstanding game – cesc had missiles thrown at him, and yes he could have been sent off, but thankfully the ref didnt fall for the tactics of the opposition. Villarrea were trying to get him sent off, but they failed..

    I still think we made Senna look good kelsey, had a Paddy style of player been marking him, he would not have had all the space our midfield gave him.

    And as you say we are in the driving seat now, and if we dont go through we will have only ourselves to blame. Hopefully a couple of their players will get injured this weekend 😉

  261. rico01 says:

    Where is everyone this morning…

  262. rico01 says:

    Helooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo 😦

  263. rico01 says:

    Is there a new post and no-one has told me, its very lonely here 😦

  264. JonJon says:

    new post….

  265. avenell says:

    Morning all..
    It wasn’t so bad last night . It feels like the great escape..

Leave a Reply

