Lewis v Theo!

I love this time of year when the clocks go forwards, Augusta, The London Marathon and the Boat Race to come, all an indication that spring is here!!

I was listening to the Grand Prix this morning and I remembered this little row up..

A few years ago on a visit to the local with a few friends, all of which had there own little businesses on our  industrial estate. We start talking football, mainly we talk Arsenal. One guy who thinks he is “considerably better than yoh”  is a motor racing fan only. He starts the tutting, the raising of the eyebrows and the turning of the head when the subject doesn’t change ,

Then after 5 minutes, ” 22 grown men chasing a bag of wind about”  The usual retort from the, use your fingers to do the quotation marks.. “petrol head” .. God I hate that.

I have done the “get all your money throw it into a big lump of metal and see who can go round and round in circles the most times, while throwing pound notes in the fuel tank on the way as you go”. argument a few times.

This time I took a different angle to the argument. ” Is it more likely that a formula 1 driver has played football or a footballer has driven a race car?”  The argument being that more people all over the world have been able to try football; therefore, the more people that participate, the higher the standard. Also, a footballer like Theo Walcott  could  buy his equipment off the shelf in Foot Locker, the same as we all could. But you cannot buy a  car that would win a Grand Prix (unless you are Richard Branson of course).

Hence a formula 1 driver is solely reliant on his equipment and finances..

But Lewis came from 18th to finish 3rd today proving he has a lot of skill in the art of driving and nearly ruined my post lol.. Well done Lewis (Gooner)..

Have a lovely Sunday afternoon Roadsters….

196 Responses to Lewis v Theo!

  1. raif says:

    other then finances & equipment in race driving i think u have to have a good sense of anticipation and ability to judge at right times and any given moment. it takes less then a second to see a opening to over take and even less then that to miss its window of opportunity

  2. avenell says:

    I understand there is a lot of skill in race driving but it is just the way these so called petrol heads dismiss football as crap, they don’t understand team games.

    You could put Thierry in a pair of loafers and he would still play better football than me, but if you stuck me in a cossie I would piss Hamilton in a Skoda!!

  3. rico01 says:

    Afternoon all, I really dislike motor racing, its very boring…. vrummmmmmmmmmmmm

    😦

  4. raif says:

    yes Ave i agree. i was chating to petrol head mate of mine whos into bikes. and his view of football is a bunch of men in short shorts kicking a ball in a part. ofcourse his trying to say its gay sport.

    ironicly he also says his grandfather plaid for arsenal. i forget his name tho.

  5. avenell says:

    I thought you always cruised your yacht down from Henley down to the Met for the Monaco Grand Prix picking Kelsey up on the way past rico.. 😉

    How are you today?

  6. raif says:

    hahah rico’s Yacht..

    what name did u give it rico

  7. avenell says:

    He cannot talk raif all those men in tight leathers.. I quite like Valentino myself. :oo

  8. avenell says:

    How the f*** did I do that smiley? ..lol

  9. raif says:

    thats what i said to him aswell.. i also added all there missing is a tash and they would look like freddy mercury

  10. raif says:

    : o

    (without the space)

  11. rico01 says:

    Ha ha ave, you do me laugh!! 😉

    raif – ignore him, its a dinghy I have, not a yacht 😉

    I am good thanks ave, sore throat and shivers have gone as quick as they came, must have been the hot curry 😛

  12. avenell says:

    Haha I meant 😳 oops, I put :opps: opps

  13. avenell says:

    It’s called “Rico’s Ark” raif because it’s old and all the animals are all on it tucked away.. 😉 I love animals creep 😉

  14. rico01 says:

    Sorry raif, i didnt answer you re the name, its called ‘sinker’ 😉

    ave, how much older than me did you say you were !! 😉

  15. rico01 says:

    And yes ave, you creep 😛

  16. avenell says:

    Just a week or 2.. but your the one who keeps talking about it.. 🙂

  17. raif says:

    sinker hahahaha..

    HMS SINKER

  18. rico01 says:

    raif – i haven’t got one really, i was just going along with ave’s very juvenille comment 😉 😛

  19. avenell says:

    It’s like Ade a sub. 🙂

  20. raif says:

    Andrei AK arshavin

  21. rico01 says:

    That was a bit to educated for me 😦

  22. avenell says:

    I’ve been on google.. lol..

  23. rico01 says:

    Waht have you been googling ave 😉

  24. avenell says:

    I’ve even looked in Raifs terminology. nothing in there about it..
    Then again I do write it.. 😉

  25. raif says:

    what u after in my terminology Ave lol

  26. raif says:

    i normaly make it up as i go along 😉

  27. rico01 says:

    off to clean up some chicken poop, catch you in a short while 😉

  28. raif says:

    do u live in a farm by the sea side or a port rico?

    ive never heard of a farmer owning a yacht before 😉

  29. avenell says:

    Oh and another thing rico!! The girls went off this morning and practised the dance routine for before the race for life (cancer charity run)..
    One of the songs is “mama mia”.. mill liked it so I dug out the Abba gold CD for her.. she has played it like non stop for 2 hours and drove nita bonkers.. lol

  30. avenell says:

    Andrei AK arshavin lost me raif..

    Call me a thicko.. “your a thicko ave” cheers.. 😉

  31. London says:

    My brother, apart from supporting Arsenal, is a petrol head. When we were younger I went to see the Sex Pistols and said to myself I can organise shows like that and I did. He went to Imola in Italy to watch Formula 1 and said to himself I can do that, and he did, well almost, he drove formula Ford, which is footballing equivalent of the old division three.

  32. avenell says:

    Hi London how you doing?.
    I was bored and depressed about the Fabregas rumour so I thought i would change the subject and lighten it all up a bit..

  33. avenell says:

    The old 1600 crossflows with 711M blocks, tuftrided cranks.. lol

  34. London says:

    Ave good idea, the Fabregas thing is such a non entity.

  35. chaf1 says:

    Pity he didn’t play us instead of Swindon

  36. London says:

    Ave

    What? Are you speaking in petrol head?

  37. chaf1 says:

    Sorry, so many comments, I sound like a crossword. London’s brother I was referring to. I suppose you had to be there…. and I don’t think I was..

  38. London says:

    Chaf

    ¿Qué? Are you speaking petrol head?

  39. avenell says:

    Arrrr.. caught you out as you understood it.
    Hi Chaf.. er who?

  40. chaf1 says:

    Ave

    You asked me about old cars, have you had any, or do you now?

  41. avenell says:

    Chaf is a clairvoyant now.. or he owns a DMC.. I used that joke last week.. 😉

  42. chaf1 says:

    London

    Petrol Head, saw them at the roundhouse in 1977

  43. raif says:

    Andrei – AK – Arshavin

    The AK-47 of football: durability in all conditions, making it the the most effective footballer from the Soviet Union.

    Reliability? Guaranteed to turn up to a match and not backfire. This footballer can be dragged through mud or sand with no problems of shooting, it can be dipped in water and then play without the slightest fear of jamming.

  44. chaf1 says:

    What car would Nik be, or EE.

  45. avenell says:

    Chaf.. I repair cars and I wanted a car to restore for myself.. Something I had when I was a snapper (behave rico). A RS2000 mk1, 1300E or a 1600E or something..
    I might get a Lambretta or a original monkey bike instead.

  46. London says:

    Chaf

    I’m not sure if you are pulling my leg, it’s a double bluff, I am very naive or you mean Motor Head, the latter being the most unlikely. I feel like I have entered The Twilight Zone.

  47. chaf1 says:

    Sorry Raif, thought you were talking about cars! Shows I’m down on the street, when I think an AK-47 is a car!

  48. raif says:

    my uncle has a RS2000. all locked away and preserved.

    racing gear stick. i cant remember the rest but his saving it like a pricless Antique

  49. avenell says:

    I though AK was real ale from the McMullins brewery.. 😦

  50. raif says:

    chaf1 yeah i was just selling off Arshavin as a AK-47 rifle. the pride of russia LOL..

  51. raif says:

    its just my Terminology!. im wired like that 😉

  52. London says:

    Raif

    That sir, is pure genius. AA the AK 47 of football.

  53. raif says:

    thanks London 😉

  54. avenell says:

    No that’s Guinness. 😉

  55. raif says:

    Ave stick that in the Terminology! section lol

  56. chaf1 says:

    Ave, my Dad died a few years back, and in one of his lock ups is an engine that was going to be dropped into my Riley 4/72 (Large Morris Oxford/ Wolesley) type of car, an 1800 engine. I’ve often wondered what to do with it!

    London, I mean Talking Heads, they got to number 3 in the twilight zone.

  57. London says:

    Raif

    What did you mean by “plaid” was that just a mistake?

  58. raif says:

    ermm i mean like can be plaid in a match.

  59. avenell says:

    That’s a shame Chaf! Is that the same engine as the MGB? That’s an Austin Cambridge Morris Oxford one etc..

    Talking petrol head again..

  60. London says:

    Chaf

    I should have known, I went to it.

  61. raif says:

    selected.

    started .

    what ever suits it better ?

  62. chaf1 says:

    Raif

    By the way, pleased to meet you, I’m new to all this, but seem to have a habit of turning a conversation into a magic mushroom convention.

  63. avenell says:

    Raif is better when I am pissed I understand it more then.. or it doesn’t matter..lol..

  64. raif says:

    Chaf1

    good to meet you aswell mate..

    and no worries about the magic mushroom. were used to that over here lol

  65. chaf1 says:

    Ave

    Its a Morris Oxford/ Austin Cambridge engine. I don’t know about things other than that. I’m a driver rather that a tech. If my car breaks down I’ll write a song about it…

  66. London says:

    Raif

    That comment is too good to have the minutest error. I have worked my magic. In fact, I am going to campaign for it to go into the side bar. It deserves to be around longer perhaps with a little pic. AA holding an AK 47, although that might be a bit tricky to find. His agent has been trying to bury all the evidence. OK, I’m getting carried away. That comment has made my day.

  67. avenell says:

    Chaf..There was only 3 things in life when we was younger. Arsenal and Cars.. I lived about 20 miles from London so I missed out a lot on the music.. a regret of mine.. you are a lucky fella. I am envious.

  68. raif says:

    hahah London ill try and find it if not ill find away of making it possible 😉

    i think it should be around longer aswell hehe

  69. London says:

    Raif

    I love that comment, I can’t stop tinkering with it, I hope you don’t mind.

  70. chaf1 says:

    Ave

    You say three things in life when you are young, and then you said Arsenal and cars. The big question. Is it girls or drinking? Or even clothes? Or did you mean ‘obviously’ music…

  71. raif says:

    naa not at all london tinker away lol..

  72. avenell says:

    Forgot about the beer chaf..

    Never went to enough gigs.. music was always background noise whilst working on the cars..

  73. avenell says:

    Andrey AK arshavin is in raifs terminology.. It will take time to do a widget.

  74. raif says:

    i can sort that out for you Ave if you want.. once i find . make a picture

  75. avenell says:

    Have a “propergander” and sort it then raif..

  76. rico01 says:

    Flippin Heck – seems like I went outside at a good time, you all need the white coat brigade 😉

    raif – its a yacht with a garden 😉

    Funny thing, my younger days were playing footie, cricket and hockey and holidaying in Cornwall 😛

    And then I turned 18!! 😉

  77. London says:

    Raif

    I can’t stop thinking about that one. AK-47…gun… Arsenal..gunners. It just gets better.

  78. rico01 says:

    Talking cars –

    Eboue would definately be a Reliant Robin
    Nik – a Skoda or Proton

    😉

  79. rico01 says:

    Oops, a Robin Reliant 😦

  80. raif says:

    London ur going to love the picture im making

  81. avenell says:

    Already done that one London check raifs terminology at the top lol..

  82. rico01 says:

    Ave – are your fine two ladies running today, or just dancing to Abba songs 😉

    Talking of which, have you been listening all afternoon, sneaky while they are out 😛

  83. avenell says:

    Arshavin is better than a Trabant..

  84. avenell says:

    Rico.. no they was out at 9 and I have had to put up with abba since 11 ish ..

    Nita’s fitness gym thing have a stage at the tesco race for life thingy, they do like an aerobics routine then go off and do a run for charity.. today was practice day..

    There is few thousand women running for cancer research they all have names pinned on there back of loved ones they have lost to that terrible disease. kind of sad but really moving..

  85. rico01 says:

    Ignore my email Ave, AR crashed on me, but I guess it was my pc rather than the site 😦

  86. raif says:

    HERE IS THE PICTURE I JUST MADE.

    LONDON YOU WILL LIKE THIS 😀

  87. avenell says:

    What about AK 23 ?.. Wait until I get my t shirts in the sales widget..

  88. rico01 says:

    My sister does that too Ave, it is sad when you see all the names of those taken by the cruel disease. Strange how other charities havent started doing something similar, I know cancer is one of the biggest but there are so many other killer diseases

    😦

  89. raif says:

    i can do a AK 23 insted

  90. avenell says:

    See what London thinks!

  91. London says:

    Raif

    Whose body is it?

  92. raif says:

    lol god knows i just typed AK t-shirt on google and lookd at the pictures, and thats what i found. and then stuck the up ur arsenal bit on

  93. avenell says:

    There’s a body.. help!! murder on Avenell Road.. 😦

  94. rico01 says:

    Seen this guys,

    Robin van Persie – Played just over an hour before coming off injured for The Netherlands who remain top of their The dutchman scored a wonderful glancing header late in the first half in his country’s 3-nil home win over Scotland. the incident was described as a knock and he was substituted as a precaution. We await further news

  95. avenell says:

    Yea but he looked okay on the bench after he was taken off and bendner got a groin strain or something as well..

  96. London says:

    Im not sure that the comment will work with AK 23 rather than AK 47. What are your thoughts?

  97. rico01 says:

    Ave – who 😉

  98. avenell says:

    RvP damaged his hairstyle.. lol.. Yoh bergkamp “cuts his hair with a ruler”.. 😉

  99. raif says:

    i say AK 47.. is better

  100. London says:

    My eldest son has just begged me to use this computer to get his XBOX working or something. Be back in an hour.

  101. raif says:

    yeah im off for a bit aswell actully. i can hear my xbox calling me to play call of duty 4 😉

    chat soon people

  102. avenell says:

    Cheers Raif..

  103. chaf1 says:

    I’ve never played a computer game. My house is full of them, but I’ve never been tempted. There again my son has never been interested in the washing up..

  104. rico01 says:

    chaf – what is washing up ??? 😉

    Actually, what is an Xbox?

  105. avenell says:

    Hands that do dishes.. can’t play defender. 😉

  106. chaf1 says:

    Ha ha what is washing up. It’s like waking up. I do it every day. In fact its the first thing I do in the morning….

  107. chaf1 says:

    They should have an Xbox game called ‘Real life’. You get points for making the bed, cleaning the bathroom, putting clothes away, cooking, cleaning, not losing your front door keys, putting laundry in the basket, picking up your own possessions, instead of walking past them. Etc etc….

  108. avenell says:

    I going to teach mill Karate .. at least the car gets washed and the fence gets painted..

    And my bonzai gets cut.. 😉

  109. chaf1 says:

    paint brush in one hand and sponge in the other?

  110. avenell says:

    I’m in and out at the minute trying to cut a leyandii hedge with ronco hedge cutters that are about as good as a pair of manicure scissors.. 😦

  111. rico01 says:

    Heloooooooooooooooooooooooooo 😛

  112. avenell says:

    Did you see me in the widget rico?? >>>>

  113. avenell says:

    I’m a headless hansome dude.. 😉

  114. rico01 says:

    what widget ave, i am not pc friendly 😦

  115. avenell says:

    Them little boxes at the top of the page rico.. >>> ^^^^^

  116. rico01 says:

    Which one, I cant see anything 😦

  117. avenell says:

    The one after blogroll.. what can you see??

  118. rico01 says:

    You mean the picture with the shirt ???

  119. avenell says:

    Yea.. that’s me.. XL is a bit of a tight fit though.. lol..

  120. kelsey says:

    Evening all,
    well you can’t win every Final, but it was close.

    Haven’t read anywhere the extent to Bedntner’s injury,any confirmed news.

    Good point about RVP not taking corners after a good header yesterday,was it london who mentioned it.

    Saw Ade’s goal,a complete cock up by the defender and he missed a penalty.

    Who is dead by the way,murder on the Avenell Road Express 😉

  121. rico01 says:

    Get you, and I thought it was a small 😉

    Off to finish off the cooking of sunday lunch – and we may take a walk to our little local – may catch you all later, may no 😉

    You all be safe…

    Ave – thanks for AR 🙂

  122. avenell says:

    Rico we all make AR good you are included in that in a big way..

    Don’t know about dead Kelsey but i’m headless.. lol

  123. rico01 says:

    Evening Kelsey 😛

  124. kelsey says:

    well just read all the comments on the New post and am no wiser than before.Am i missing something. Oh by the way avenell the clocks went forward not back,that might explain why i don’t understand anything you guys are talking about.

  125. avenell says:

    London put his clock back.. I put all mine forwards Kelsey… I had to change the avenell road clock too.. that’s what I was talking about.. the blog clock..

  126. kelsey says:

    By the way if you are still around rico,I saw that 13000 people took part in a charity half marathon in your area.Finished up at the majeski stadium.1 hour 3 minutes even for a half marathon is pretty good.

  127. peachesgooner says:

    Hi all

    I’m sure you’ve missed me – I just havn’t had a chance to sit down all day. Sorry to have missed out on the chats.

    Hope you are all well and have had a lovely day 🙂

    Catcha tmoro xx

  128. avenell says:

    Nice of you to clock in peaches. 🙂 Just a few more absentees to go.. Oh jonjon where for art thou? 😦

  129. Wrighty7 says:

    Yoooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!

  130. avenell says:

    Haha Wrighty I just posted on yours mate.. How are you?

  131. Wrighty7 says:

    I’m good matey! Absolutely cream-crackered though!

    How you doing?

  132. avenell says:

    Bored stiff mate.. Where has everyone gone?
    You been playing footie again?

  133. peachesgooner says:

    Morning roadsters

    Its a gorgeous morning, how are we all today?

    I’m stuck inside designing so you’ll have the pleasure of my company. Where is everyone? Not like me to be the first 🙂

    Theo is given a vote of confidence in The Times as first choice on the wing in front of Lennon and Becks for England. Shame hes injured – England are so boring without one of your own arn’t they?

    When the strikers were dropping like flies on saturday I thought to myself ‘Darren Bent is gonna get a call-up’ and it seems he’ll be there – the power of meditation………..

  134. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters – Peaches

    Its being reported on another site that Nik has a knee problem and is doubtful for Denmark. I hope its another case for the conspiracy theorists of us exaggerating a niggle to excuse one of our players from international duty.

  135. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rasp – just you and me then.

    If Denmarks game is a qualifier they’ll want him to play won’t they? Wheres raddy – he’ll have the inside info on the Great Dane?

  136. peachesgooner says:

    Just noticed yesterdays comments about motor racing – I love F1, mainly cos my dad did so I was indoctrinated very early. I love the vrooooooooom over and over again…………

    …….strange, cos I’m not really that patient 🙂

  137. Big Raddy says:

    Morning….

    Just this

    http://politiken.dk/fodbold/article679793.ece

    As you can no doubt understand, it says Nik is a major doubt for Weds. Which is fairly positive because if he has a chance to play, it means he will almost certainly be fit for the w/e.

    Lots of if’s and almosts…..

    And I love F1. Shame we don’t get the brilliant coverage you get in the UK. Fantastic race yesterday..

  138. avenell says:

    Morning boys and girls!
    I hope Toure is okay coming back from the internationals, what a shame people have to die to watch a game of football..

  139. Big Raddy says:

    I was on the Clock End the day of Hillsborough. Never forget it….

    And who could forget the harrowing scenes at Heysel. Dreadful.

    Strange they chose to play on. It looked as though the players and officials were well aware of the off-filed disaster. Perhaps there was so much pandemonium the officials were fearful of making it worse.

  140. avenell says:

    I don’t know about last night but I think that was why the game carried on at Heysel because there would have been major riots.. I’ll never forget the Juve fan with the scarf over his face and the gun..

  141. Big Raddy says:

    Horrible, horrible night Avenell.

    Have you seen this …

    http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/arsenal.com-qanda-with-danny-fiszman

    I don’t understand Boardroom stuff. Perhaps Kelsey could explain

  142. avenell says:

    Yea just reading it now Raddy.. I reckon he has sold just enough shares so when nina’s come up for grabs the russian’s takeover is blocked..
    I think nina will sell hers to kroenke then he will become the greater shareholder..

  143. rico01 says:

    Morning all, hope we are fit and healthy 😛

    kelsey – The Reading half Marathon is a bit like the London Marathon, (shorter though 😉 ) It takes place every year and runners choose thier own charity if they want to run for a cause. Many though just do it because they are ‘mad’ !! 😉

  144. Big Raddy says:

    Morning Rico

  145. London says:

    Morning Ave

    I think you are probably right. This sale has got to be related to Lady Nina.

  146. avenell says:

    Morning rico and London..

    These silly boring things like shares are probably the most important thing that will affect arsenal and our success in the future..

    Did you sort the Xbox out by the way?..

  147. peachesgooner says:

    Hi gang – wheres kelsey? Hes probably thinking about the share stuff and is going to give us a sensible considered answer 😆

  148. peachesgooner says:

    London – hows the patient – bored with being waited on?

  149. rico01 says:

    If the share sale relates to Lady Nina, and this helps to block Usamonovoffski, thats a good thing isn’t it? I would rather Stan take us over than him, if we have to be taken over at all…

    How’s the weather with you Raddy ?

    Hi London

  150. peachesgooner says:

    I can’t see how it makes a difference overall if Fizman sells his shares to Kroenke if they are on the same side……

  151. peachesgooner says:

    ……except if Kroenke needs a larger shareholding to do battle in a takeover bid by Usmanov

  152. avenell says:

    Because nina’s 15% is up for grabs apparently..

    rico have we fell out?

  153. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rico – how are you, nice weekend?

  154. Big Raddy says:

    Miserable Rico. Grey, foggy and cold. But we had a lovely w/e, not that I saw it. I was helping my Sweetheart’s son fit an Ikea kitchen. Many laughs and much swearing, both in Danish and English

  155. Big Raddy says:

    I can’t see the reasoning either Peaches.

    One advantage may be the £42m in cash for Fizman. It would certainly be advantageous to me.

  156. peachesgooner says:

    Thanks 🙂

  157. peachesgooner says:

    Its funny how he doesn’t draw attention to the fact that hes got the £42m 🙂

  158. avenell says:

    I reckon Kroenke and usmanov are going to go head to head to get nina’s shares..
    If Usmanov wins he would own 41%,, enough for the hammer and syckle to be flying over the Emirates.. 😦

  159. Rasputin says:

    On a more serious note…..

    I went to see the nurse this morning for my annual check-up.
    She said I had to stop wanking.
    When I asked why she said, “Because I’m trying to examine you!”

    I just saw that Harry Potter film.
    A bit unrealistic if you ask me – I mean, a ginger kid, with two friends?

    I had a mate who was suicidal. He was really depressed, so I pushed him in front of a steam train.
    He was chuffed to bits.

    A woman brings eight-year-old Johnny home and tells his mother that he was caught playing doctors and nurses with Mary, her eight-year-old daughter.
    Johnny’s mother says, “Let’s not be too harsh on them…. they are bound to be curious about sex at that age.”
    “Curious about sex?” replies Mary’s mother. “He’s taken her appendix out!”

    I was walking in a cemetery this morning and seen a bloke hiding behind a gravestone.
    I said “morning.”
    He replied, “No, just having a pee.”

    Disabled toilets.
    Ironically, the only toilets big enough to run around in.

    I was reading in the paper today about this dwarf that had his pocket picked.
    How could anyone stoop so low?
    😉

  160. rico01 says:

    Hi peaches – busy weekend, but good thanks and you ?

    Raddy, thats not good ewather, but glad it didnt spoil your weekend, which sounds like it was fun 😉 When does the warm weather begin for you ?

    Morning Rasp and Ave, I havent forgiven you, dispite your creeping 😉

    I really don’t understand the share stuff, just really dont want Usamnovski to take us over. We would be just like Chelsea… 😦

  161. avenell says:

    I won’t correct your ewather then if you hate me.. 🙂

  162. Rasputin says:

    Hi Rico – what have I done?

  163. Big Raddy says:

    What is the problem with Usamov Avenell. Can you explain it?

    As far I can see they are both in after Arsenal for the same reason – a World reknowned flagship for their investment portfolio’s.

    True Kroenke has a history of Sports investment, and has experience to bring to the table, but Usamov will not be a presence at the club – it will be just another investment.

    And it seems hypocritical to climb into bed with the very man that DD got sacked for introducing.

    Both will invest into the club, both will want to show the fans that they are a benevolent force.

    As a man Usamov appears to be a piss-poor specimen, but we are not talking of ethics here, we are discussing the financial future of our club. I have no interest where the money comes from. Fizman’s came from diamonds, which is hardly a clean business.

    Would I prefer the Stars and Stripes to the hammer and sickle? Neither fills me with delight , I am proud of Arsenal’s historical British roots. I still get embarrassed that we play at the Emirates, it is shabby.

  164. rico01 says:

    You Rasp, nothing my friend, its that bad man Avenell ;P

  165. Big Raddy says:

    Rico. Warm weather begins when I go to Italy ! Spring starts in July here …

  166. rico01 says:

    Raddy – he looks like a big fat slob ! 😉 Thats is the sole reason I dont like him 😛

  167. rico01 says:

    Oh yes, i remember you have 18 moths a year in the Italian sunshine – how wonderful, all that lovely pasta and beautiful sauces – i am envious 😦

  168. Rasputin says:

    On the subject of Usamov v Kroenke; surely the political situation is far more stable in the US. It wouldn’t surprise me if one day the oligarchs have their wealth removed by a future administration. Kroenke has to be the safer bet.

  169. avenell says:

    There are a few problems with the Russian I think.. We don’t want to be like Chelsea.. Usmanov and Abramovich are gansters otherwise they wouldn’t have been allowed to make money from Russia.. Usmanov tried to block all blogs etc having an opinion about him buying Arsenal..

    I don’t like the idea of Kroenke either but at least he is into sport and he has built very good clubs in the US in the right way..

  170. Big Raddy says:

    All good reasons to support Kroenke. I am persuaded

  171. avenell says:

    And Kroenke keeps chickens and likes little furry animals.. 😉

  172. Rasputin says:

    I couldn’t eat 18 moths a year 🙂

  173. avenell says:

    They are nicely tanned though.. 😉

  174. Rasputin says:

    No ave – they only come out at night 😆

  175. rico01 says:

    Ave – I knew there was another reson I liked Stan 😉

  176. Rasputin says:

    She’s doing it on purpose now ave…..I’m not as stupid as I look…….

  177. rico01 says:

    Who is doing what Rasp ?

  178. rico01 says:

    Rsp – please tel me 😉

  179. rico01 says:

    Oh I know, its my spelling of month, weather and reason….. tee hee 😛

  180. rico01 says:

    Just been reading about the Ivory Coast game, dreadfully sad news 😦

  181. kelsey says:

    Good morning all,

    I will tell you something that a PL club is only 2 weeks from going into receivership.
    now historically,we (The Arsenal) have always done things by “old school tie method”and respected throughout the world as an honourable club.Now a decision has been made,which i spoke about several months ago for either a takeove eventually to Kroenke and/or a real injection of money so that we can try and compete with the other big three.Being arsenal there are two factors to consider.one is that the Highbury Development(which i personally think in hindsight they could do without) will take longer to sell,prices have fallen about 20% in london,and they are expected to fall further over the coming year before some stability is regained in the market. Secondly the squad needs bolstering to mount a real challenge and the club could be a little strapped for cash.Remember Chelsea and Man u owe about 700 million and liverpool 500 million, and though we have a manageable debt to service,this policy of letting one of our best players go every season and therefore living on a shoe string budget has to stop.I see it as a good thing that Fizmann has sold his shares then add Lady Nina and her relatives who own about 21% and things will happen.Remember PHW our chairman only owns 0.8% and DD has left red and White holdings.love him or hate DD he is true Arsenal through and through.

  182. kelsey says:

    I should add,that as a club we would never allow our debt o be so high as the above mentioned clubs,just a fair amount to compete.
    man city will make a mockery of football with their outrageous bids,yet no guarantee of success.

  183. rico01 says:

    Morning Kelsey – Do you know which EPL club this will be, or is it a huch that will happen, I am hoping it is definate and its The Dippers 😛

  184. rico01 says:

    Oops, sorry, I meant ‘Hunch’ 😉

  185. avenell says:

    Morning Kelsey.. I agree with most of those points, but how would you stop someone unloading there debt on Arsenal like Man U had with the Glaziers? If there was a hostile takeover surely that is out of Arsenal’s control and up to the company/person making the takeover bid..

  186. kelsey says:

    rico,
    there is a club in serious serious trouble,no wind up i promise.

  187. rico01 says:

    kelsey – who, please tell me 😛

  188. Rasputin says:

    Hi kelsey – has your ‘source’ sworn you to secrecy over naming the club in question?

  189. rico01 says:

    Rasp – have you spelt that right ;).. 🙂

  190. Rasputin says:

    I’ll leave the ‘sauce’ to you rico 😆

  191. Big Raddy says:

    WHU ??

  192. London says:

    New Post, I love writing that. Lol

Leave a Reply

