Wish our lads well whilst away on duty, our season depends on their safe return…

Not many of us enjoy international breaks especially during the season, more so at the business end of the season. As we all know we seemed to have been cursed as a club riddled with injuries, not just niggling knocks to squad players, but major long term injuries to key players, but somehow against all the odds we find ourselves in a quarter-final and a semi-final of the two biggest domestic cup competitions in the world. Rosicky has been out for over a year, so has Dudu. Cesc and Theo have been out for half the season and we still find ourselves laying in fourth place… Amazing isn’t it?????

By amazing I mean that Cesc and Rosicky are arguably our best midfielders and Dudu is arguably our best finisher, all three of these have been out for a long period all at the same time. If Liverpool lost Gerrard, Alonso and Torres for that period would they struggle?? Probably.. If Man Utd had Ronaldo Carrick and Rooney out for that period, would they struggle??? Again, probably…

Yes we have struggled at times this season but the fixtures don’t lie and we are still in with a shout of all three trophies. OK , the PL is a long shot but the CL and FA cup are still their for the taking so credit must go to the likes of Song, Denilson and Bendtner. Yes I said it, well done boys, you’ve come in done a good job and we are proud of you, even though you get pounded by alot of us every game, you’ve got us where we are and we appreciate it.

Now, the thing is Cesc’s back, Dudu’s back, Adebayor’s back (I hate to say it), Theo’s back, in a few weeks Rosicky will be back and we cant forget the great signing of a certain Russian Maestro…

We are looking at going into the last few weeks of the season-the most important part of the season if your hunting silverware-with a fully fit squad. How exciting is that??? A fully fit Arsenal midfield firing on all cylinders against teams and players that are knackered from having to play all season. It makes me rub my hands together.

There’s only one thing standing in the way of that, the International break. As a top European club its obvious the majority of our squad will travel with their International sides over the next two weeks. Arshavin, Dudu, Robin, Ade, Nikki, Nasri, Kolo, Gallas, I could go on and on(except for Almunia) will all be leaving us for two weeks and our season depends on them all coming back fit.

The next two weeks are crucial for us, wouldn’t it be nice if it was Man Utd’s Liverpool’s and Chelsea’s turn to have all their top players out for once while we had a full squad to play with???

Fingers crossed.

80 Responses to Wish our lads well whilst away on duty, our season depends on their safe return…

  1. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters.. 🙂
    How you all doing?

  2. rico01 says:

    Morning Roadsters, Nice post JJ, and you giving credit to Nik, shame on you 😉

    Morning ave – you are up and about early, thought you would be still snoozing bearing in mind the clocks go forward tonight 😛

  3. avenell says:

    Morninig rico.. I have to get mill ready for daddy.. 😦

  4. avenell says:

    I’ll have to put my clock forward then.. how do you put an avatar forward? ..lol

  5. rico01 says:

    ave – ah, not so good…. 😦

  6. rico01 says:

    Thats funny 😛

  7. chaf1 says:

    Good morning,

    Thanks Ave, I forgot to press the home button, maybe you should just do a page for me to talk to myself, a “Lunatics have taken over the asylum’ page..

  8. rico01 says:

    Morning chaf

  9. avenell says:

    ‘arry could make a living as a Jack Douglas impersonator..

    I just thought no one will know what I’m talking about.. I’ll join you on that page.. 🙂

  10. rico01 says:

    I thought this was Avenell Road, not Asylum Road 😉

  11. avenell says:

    That link I sent you yeterday sent me over the edge.. 😦

  12. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters,

    Good post JJ…isn’t it typically Arsenal that when things appear to be going well, there is always a cloud on the horizon. Not only the prospect of key players picking up injuries in the internationals but the nws that Lady Nina is looking to sell her shares and that could lead to more instability in the boardroom. Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned!!!!!

    Rico – don’t you think its disgraceful that our victorious lady cricketers haven’t received more coverage and accolades for being WINNERS….I have to say that if it was the men, they’d be front page news for the next month. I suppose you could say the same thing about the Arsenal ladies who have dominated women’s football

  13. rico01 says:

    havent had chance to take a look yet ave, but will do later. I popped on and popped off very quickly as I thought I would need to be wide awake to try and absorb any teccy stuff 😉

  14. rico01 says:

    Morning Rasp

    Thats spooky, I was only thinking that today after the boys got totally humiliated again in the Windies – Our girls win the world cup and get very little coverage for their fantastic achievement – its a disgrace!!

    As for the men, they showed no resect for the Windies yesterday, they all got themselves out, they really look as if they dont want to be there, dreadful!!

    GGRRrrRrrrRrr

    Lady Nina – please dont sell to the big chap at red and white!! 😦

  15. rico01 says:

    Got a load of chores to get done guys, be back after they are all done and I will be exhausted 😉

    Have a good day all 😛

  16. Rasputin says:

    Usamov has said he’s not interested in her shares….but who knows?

    I’m surprised there isn’t a ‘fans co-operative’ that buys shares. Maybe the way it is structured prevents this? If each of the 60,000 fans at the Emirates put in £12.50 to a pot every game – that would buy 1 share….I’m almost certainly taliking complete bollox and one of the financial wizards on here will put me straight shortly I’d imagine 😉

  17. avenell says:

    Morning Ras.. I have been down that route on a couple of blogs .. Why not get a fans co operative and set up limited companies to buy the shares?..
    Red and white are just a limited company no different..

  18. Rasputin says:

    Morning Ave,

    How’s the weather down in smuggler’s cove – talking of which, have you ever been beachcombing at Dollar Cove near Helston?

  19. avenell says:

    Sunny and then showers.. no mate never been thare, we don’t go down to the south coast much.. The odd sunday to Falmouth..

  20. peachesgooner says:

    Morning roadsters

    Hows the germs rasp?

    re Lady Nina – the problem is that her share is worth a lot of money and even if there was a collective they would never be able to buy enough shares to make a difference.

    I’m off into deepest Hertfordshire catch up later

  21. London says:

    Peaches

    Sadly you are right of course, David Dein never owned any where near the amount owned by Lady Nina and he sold his for 75 million. In fact, if we knew how many or what percentage she owned it would be fairly easy to work out how much her shares are worth. I spoke to Chaf and he said he could put a tenner in the kitty if that would help?

  22. kelsey says:

    Morning all,
    Lady nina owes either 14.5% or 16% not quite sure,but anyway a sizeable lump.I stated a few months ago,a take over was in the offing,and i haven’t changed my mind.DD has left red and white holdings,so Kroenke a pal of Gazidis would be my bet.The jigsaw is finally fitting into place,we have to have an injection of reasonable amount of money,just to stay in touch.

    London,if you didn’t read it,i apologised about my misinterpretation of ade/togo.

    Chaf,i also wrote you a post aout spain and the dog law.

  23. London says:

    Good post Jonjon

    It captures the mood of the day perfectly.

    I am trying to write something about Adebayor but all I have managed to do so far is to write a thousand words on Queens Park Rangers; it’s as though I have been stuck on a railway line, unable to turn off. QPR, FFS.

  24. London says:

    Kelsey

    My comment on Adebayor was just a general comment rather than a response to any one particular post. I must apologise myself as I did not read the original post you were refering to. Lets just put that one down to experience and carry on the good feeling.

  25. London says:

    And on the subject of apologies. Rasputin, after the Newcastle game you pulled me up over my comment about Gallas being responsible for their goal and that I should watch a replay. I did, and you are write, a lot of the blame should be laid at the door of Sagna as you said for a poor header.

  26. Big Raddy says:

    Morning.

    England this afternoon, sans Theo – should be rivetting (as if). We will beat a very poor side and the media will tell us Capello is a genius.

    Is there anything I need to apologise for ?

  27. avenell says:

    London on your 10.33 comment.. In about 1993 David Dein owned about 43% on arsenal selling 25% to Fiszman.
    I don’t think nina has ever held that amount of shares.

    He sold to Fiszman, he brought the american in and then he sold out to the russian.. not a arsenal hero in my eyes..

  28. Big Raddy says:

    Me too 😦

  29. kelsey says:

    Raddy,
    you can apologise for it being too f…ing hot here today 🙂

  30. kelsey says:

    ave,
    she has definitely got 14.5 or 16 %. No need to apolgise

  31. avenell says:

    The Bracewell family has more than that, there is someone else who owns 5 to 7% too so between them they have about 21%..

    I wasn’t sorry about that I’m just sorry..

  32. JonJon says:

    i dont have any opinions anymore really on the board…..its all behind the scenes bollox and i guess none of us will never know whats going on….

    i think wenger should buy lady ninas shares… 😉

  33. rico01 says:

    Hello all, i feel to be a real part today, I need to apologise 😉

  34. rico01 says:

    And that is for putting one ‘p’ in appologise 😛 😉

  35. avenell says:

    Ahhh rico.. there is life..

  36. rico01 says:

    Hi ave – i am multi tasking, cooking and blogging – get me eh 😉

  37. avenell says:

    Bet you don’t check your e mails too.. 😉

  38. avenell says:

    What time is this poxy england game that is the ruin of all the arsenal blogs??

  39. rico01 says:

    Just saw your email, thanks ave, which beach is it that you are paddling on – you cant expect me to know where it is from my youth 😉

  40. rico01 says:

    5.15 i think ave, i will only be watching if Beck’s legs are on display 😉

    Bet you dont read your replies 😉

  41. avenell says:

    They are both on perranporth beach, where that lifeguard program comes from that was shown in the summer.. it’s just about the nearest to us.
    You probably don’t reconise it as everything was in black and white in your youth.. 😉

  42. rico01 says:

    How rude, but you are right – my parents had one of those grey box cameras 😉

  43. avenell says:

    Nothing like an old brownie.. 🙂

  44. rico01 says:

    Is that what they were called 😉 You had to look through the top to see the picture – i have sent you a quality photo, and in balck ‘n’ white 😛

  45. chaf1 says:

    Just flying by, in between work.

    Kelsey, I didn’t see that about the dogs, I usually glance through, was it a few days back, I’ll be very interested in that. We plan to take 2 dogs and three cats. I will be back later….

  46. chaf1 says:

    Kelsey.

    Just found it, yesterday morning. Thanks. We are really undecided about where to go, everyone has opinions and ours changes every day! Originally we were to go to the Murcia area, then we thought maybe down to Marbella, Puerto Banus, as I know a few people down there, but I want a place away from the hustle, so to speak. I think it will be nearer Murcia in the end, but who knows. We aren’t going until end of September, and we’re going to rent for the year.

  47. rico01 says:

    Evening everyone –

    Chaf, you poor old chap, Saturday night working 😦

  48. rico01 says:

    I’m so alone 😦

  49. rico01 says:

    What a horrid kit England are playing in !!

  50. London says:

    I never bothered reading the story about John Terry’s mother and mother in law being arrested for shop lifting was there any truth in it?

  51. avenell says:

    John Terry said on his pre match last night that his solicitors are dealing with the matter.. so yes..

  52. rico01 says:

    Hi London, hope you are well. The story was true, his mother and mother-in-law were arrested and cautioned, and with all their money you have to ask why ?

  53. rico01 says:

    Ave – Cant see why the solicitors are involved, they have been cautioned, done and dusted – i think its funny.

  54. rico01 says:

    Why they went nicking, not why they got away with it 😉

  55. avenell says:

    What shop was it? not lidl.. oh the embaressment.. 😉

  56. rico01 says:

    ave – it was M&S !!

  57. avenell says:

    Apart from the over sized badge,, I quite like the kit.. better than the tommy hillfiger look-alike last one..

  58. chaf1 says:

    They were probably nicking disabled parking badges for him.

  59. rico01 says:

    ave – its gopping!!

    chaf – thats funny, i must try and get one from M&S, I have a voucher 😉
    Have you finished work, I hope so, its Saturday night 😉

  60. chaf1 says:

    Rico – I’ve abandoned what I’m doing until tomorrow morning. You know when I was young I used to hold friday and saturday nights as sacred, now I love it if I have nothing to do… What a sad git. I will have curry and some cider, and try and find some decent football to watch…

  61. rico01 says:

    chaf – spooky, i am just cooking our curry, the house stinks!! I can totally understand what you are saying, Friday and Saturday for me is a good night if I am sat with a good meal, a glass of something naughty and Strictly Come Dancing 😉

    Ok, that has finished, so a recorded Corrie does the trick 😉

  62. rico01 says:

    Ok all, I am done for the day, I am going off to enjoy a Saturday evening with a sore throat and cold in my bones. I am having a curry full of red chillies to fight any cold that even wants to think about attacking me, and loads of garlic to fight the demons 😉

    Yes I know, I will smell awful, but am i bovvered………….. 😛

    Have a lovely evening everyone, stay safe

    Nighty Night 😆

  63. avenell says:

    Night rico.. speak tomorrow, if you are not in the little girls room. 😉

  64. London says:

    The only decent, competative game on tonight seems to be Spain v Turkey. The rest are too boring and predictable.

  65. avenell says:

    At least ade scored for togo.. should keep his value up.. are you watching milan?..

  66. London says:

    Van Persie scored with his head from a corner! Now there is an idea, instead of swinging the corners into the arms of the goalkeeper every bloody time you take a corner Robin, how about you stay in the box and try and score with your head yourself.

  67. London says:

    Good goal from Togolese titan, incredible cock up from Camaroon at least it wasn’t Song.

    Adebayor is going to come back and make monkeys out of all you doubters. Give him two games and you will all be singing Adddeeeebbbayyyyoooor Adddeeeebbbayyyyooor give him the ball and he will score. Lol

  68. chaf1 says:

    Can’t believe I’m watching repeat of England….

  69. rico01 says:

    Morning Roadsters – The news about Cesc does not make good reading this frosty morning…

    An ‘insider’ says the squad think he is arrogant, and that he is off come the summer to be with his idol at Barca..

    No new injuries to report I think, and Ade has found the net – whey hey, good timing Ade, now you get your backside back here and do the same for us if you play on Saturday 😉 London, great comment about Robin…

  70. rico01 says:

    Where are you all, have you forgot to put yours clocks forward – its 9.20 !!

  71. London says:

    Morning Rico

    Thanks for reminding me that the clocks had gone back I had completely forgotten.
    Which paper is reporting that an insider claims that Fabregas is thought of as arrogant?

    Chaf

    I watched a bit of France and a bit of Spain. Nasri is going from strength to strength. The interesting thing about Spain is that they play like Real Madrid: quite slow, so Turkey upped the tempo, never gave them a second on the ball and almost won it.

  72. rico01 says:

    Morning London, they have forward cheeky 😉

    NOTW and The Sunday People are reporting about Cesc, hope it jsut a load of garbage 😦

  73. rico01 says:

    London – Did Arda Turan play for Turkey please ??

  74. chaf1 says:

    Good morning clock watchers.

    Nasri will be brilliant next season. Song will be there. They are my two top tips!

    Lot of Nonsense about Fab, ‘Arsenal Insider, more like ‘Barca’ insider.

    The England team did look like the Bash Street Kids by the time Crouch got on. Theo will be Lord Snooty, and Rio is definitely Plug…

  75. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters. I had an early night to make up for the clocks going forwards and still never woke up.. lol.

  76. avenell says:

    Haha I’ve been thinking there’s no one on, I didn’t realize that wordpress don’t adjust the clocks automatically.
    I thought I posted at eleven, it was only when I looked it said 10.. lol..

  77. avenell says:

    On the third beep it will be 11.16 lol.. beep beep beeeeeeeeep.. 🙂

  78. raif says:

    morning people.. how u all doing..?

  79. avenell says:

    Hi Raif cool mate..

    NEW POST press your home page!!

Leave a Reply

