Results Go Our Way

Well the results certainly did go our way didn’t they? At 2:30 any lingering concerns that Everton might catch us were extinguished after they lost to Portsmouth. Then, with our sights now set on third place, our new best new friends from N17 who, not content with doing us the huge favour by beating Villa last week, go and beat the Chelsea.

Greedily my mind raced from third place to first as I suddenly wondered if United kept dropping points at the rate they were doing could we still to win the league? I spent the next twenty minutes studying the table, something I haven’t done since we last had a chance of winning the league about two months ago. Unfortunately, I came to the conclusion that it was still beyond us.

Anyway, while I am doing this, I notice Newcastle are in the relegation zone and wondered what it must be like to be in a relegation battle.

Occasionally, there is a team at the foot of the table that I find myself having a modicum of sympathy for in their fight for survival. A Team, more often than not, that was recently promoted. West Bromwich Albion for example, yes, I suppose I wouldn’t mind if they stayed up.

My sympathy for their plight continues so long as they do the right thing and dutifully hands over all three points twice a year without too much of a fight. I am not best pleased if they only hand over one point instead of the required three and all sense of benevolence goes completely out the window if, for some silly reason, they do not volunteer any of our expected entitlement on the allotted match day.

Newcastle, on the other hand, have never been one of those teams that I have felt any sympathy for whatsoever; they are badly run, badly managed, badly motivated and I simply wanted Arsenal to put them to the sword.

We started the game well in a confident, business like manner. The gulf of class between the two sides was immediately evident and we should have marched all over them from the out set and yet; somehow, as we have done so many times this season, we contrived to make hard work of it.

The game was exciting end to end stuff but the fact that Newcastle were able to pour through our defensive midfield as if it wasn’t there, with only some last ditch defending notably from Clichy to save us, was of great concern to me. I point the finger of blame, yet again, at Denilson who offered no defensive shield whatsoever.

It was obvious that Newcastle were going to come onto us and I still think that Song would have been a better choice. Anyway, Diaby as per usual was giving the ball away as often as Santa gives gifts at Christmas and on the subject of presents, Almunia, making a pig’s ear of a cross, gifted Newcastle a penalty while at the same time gifting his critics a stick to beat him with.

But today was our day and everything went our way. Did you get the impression that Almunia had been practicing his penalties recently? I did, as he saved Martins spot kick well and instantly gave his supporters something to cheer about.

Newcastle decided that as Arshavin had played in the Premier league for long enough and it was now it was time for his baptism. First they worked out where he had his stitches and tried to stamp on them, I winced in pain from my front room; next, as Arshavin was chasing the ball down the wing, Taylor having looked up to make sure Arshavin was within reach, punched him with his forearm in the face. It was a red card offence if ever I saw one and yet Taylor didn’t even get a yellow.

The second half started with more urgency but not a lot more penetration. One thought kept on going through my mind: this is the last game without Fabregas; this is the last game without Fabregas; this is the last game without Fabregas, our captain will return to lead us out against Man City.

Newcastle continued their rugby tackles and brought down Clichy about 30 yards out; Arshavin sent in the perfect cross for Bendtner to head home, it was not an easy header and he took it extremely well.

Before I could even finish my sigh of relief Newcastle equalised but as I said earlier, results were going our way. It helped that they lost their two central defenders not that I have any sympathy for them but can you imagine loosing Gallas and Toure in the same game? While Taylor was off receiving treatment Diaby turned into Vieira for a moment and after the deftest of passes from Van Persie he strode through to score the all important second goal. Five minutes later Van Persie threaded the ball to Nasri who weaved his way through the defence to score a fine goal, low into the corner. The game as a competition was all but over; it was show boating and missing sitters time.

Almunia: hero, villain, hero all in five minutes; in his defence, no keeper goes through the whole season without making a mistake. 6

Sagna: his level of defending is always high but today it was a bit higher than usual; and what’s more, his crosses were slightly better. 7.5

Gallas: a few blunders today, completely guilty for their goal. 5.5

Toure: the central defence was not at its best. 6

Clichy: back to the absolute top of his game, never stopped running, brilliant. 8

Nasri: a common complaint is that he does not travel, well he did today, he was my man of the match; he worked tirelessly, showing Diaby and Denilson how it should be done. 8

Denilson: neither protected the defence nor linked the attack. 5

Diaby: often slow to release the ball but I am sure you like me forgave him everything after scoring that goal. 6.5

Arshavin: a quiet game but still showed some great flashes of brilliance by scrapping the bar with a rasping shot form 30 yards out and sent in the beautifully weighted ball for Bendtner to score. 6

RVP: two brilliant assists and three missed one on one chances with the keeper. The Boy Wonder can do no wrong with this gooner 7.5

Bendtner: held the line well, slow to release the ball, good goal. Adebayor still offers more at this point for me. 6.5

155 Responses to Results Go Our Way

  1. London says:

    Morning Roadsters, If I don’t take my Mrs up a cup of tea she is going to kill me.

  2. kelsey says:

    Firstly,it’s hard to write a post if you are not trained in that field,so I congratulate you once again,,Lord london on a good all round post.I certainly couldn’t do it in such a balanced way.
    Having watched the game it was actually Sagna who was responsible initially for both the penalty and newcastle’s goal,both times he headed the poor sideways into our own penalty area,though having said that Almunia for the penalty and Gallas for the goal,both made a hash of things.I still feel we could do better than Almunia.Nasri,did have a good away game,and that was a positive,Clichy looked sharper and even though AA didn’t have his best game,he has a natural football brain.denilson really was average,and in the first half Nasri,RVP and AA were sometimes deep in defence.Diaby went from villian to hero,with a Viera type goal,and Nic worked his socks off,and RVP good side was his passing and movement,but he tends to be selfish and at one stage Nic had words with him.All in all with Cesc hopefully back for city and possibly Theo,things are on the up.Have a nice day everyone.

  3. kelsey says:

    headed the ball

  4. Big Raddy says:

    Fine post London. You really are very good.

    The Independent made Diaby Man of the Match !

  5. London says:

    Thanks BR

    Diaby MOTM, do they watch the same game as we do?

  6. London says:

    Kelsey

    In response to your 9:08: it’s hard to write a report if you are not trained in that field. Well, I think you are closer than you realise. I have only been doing it a couple of weeks but a couple of things have surprised me. For example, a report only needs to be 600 words long. If you bear in mind that your 9:08 was 200 words then you just need to expand upon it a bit; for example, Denilson was average, if you explain why he was average and do the same all the way through you immediately double your word count, now you are up to 400 words. Then I look for something else to talk about: I have waffled on about the Twelve Pins Pub before and today I was going on about the relegation zone. This takes up another 200 words, making 600. Next, give each player a mark out of ten and you have a post. Then, copy and paste it into word, do a spell check and grammar check and you have got a post. Simples.

    Oh and lastly, have faith in your own style.

  7. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters,

    Good post London although I ‘gently disagree’ on 2 points 😉 … I think Nik offers the side more than Ade and is bno less profligate with chances and I thought Arshavin was worth at least a 7 – Newcastle obviously thought he was a danger as they set out on a campaign of assault against him!

    The point I would like to make is that Diaby is NOT NOT NOT a midfielder….he’s too ponderous, however, his clever skills and great shot make him a very good No. 10 option – again, better then Ade in my opinion. Song is a better midfield choice than Diaby for most games IMO.

  8. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters..

    Good post London as usual mate.. The only thing I would disagree with.. You need to get that missus of yours trained up better, she should be bringing your morning coffee up to you in bed.. 😉

  9. London says:

    Morning Rasp

    Yeah, it’s going to be interesting to see what Wenger does with Diaby and who will make way for Fabregas?

    Adebayor has fallen out of favour with many people but I still think that he has suffered from not receiving the same quality service as he did last season. With Fabregas, Arshavin and Nasri teeing them up for him he should reignite.

  10. London says:

    Morning Ave

    Fortunately she doesn’t read this as I suspect yours doesn’t. Lol

  11. avenell says:

    I also looked at the tables.. we are 10 points behind with a possible 24 to get.. all those games where we never came out the blocks are now costing us.
    I suppose it’s better we do it this way around and finish strongly, than throw it away at the end like last year..
    It will be interesting to see what the papers say about man u if they do what we did last year..

  12. avenell says:

    Morning London.. you know mine reads and posts..but she knows I am winding her up.. she always brings my coffee up though..

    If not I will throw her back on the streets .. ouch!! 😉

  13. Rasputin says:

    Morning London,

    Do you think Adebayor is a top striker? He seldom kicks the ball cleanly (its usually his shins!). I’ve never seen him look up and curl the ball into the top corner. His goal of the season was brought about by a bad first touch followed by a close your eyes and hope volley. He can’t take free kicks and when he’s 1 on 1 with the keeper he usually kicks it straight at his legs…….so as you can see I’m a massive fan 🙂

  14. avenell says:

    I’m with you on this one Ras.. now ade’s workrate has gone, he offers nothing..

  15. avenell says:

    On another point in the post, if arsenal lost there 2 central defenders..

    I don’t think it would affect us too bad, because Wenger has been a bit clever with the total football and moving players out of there so called best positions.
    We had JD on the bench I assume, and Sagna or Song have also played in that position.
    So we had 3 subs if needed.

  16. Rasputin says:

    With the gift of hindsight…. we didn’t need Sylvestre and the ‘Bischoff gamble’ was not a winner. Ramsey and Wilshire need more time to develop, Merida is knocking on the door and we have yet to see how Coquelin will perform with the grwon ups.

  17. London says:

    Morning Rasp

    Just to make my position clear, unlike other channels I like it when people differ with me.

    On to your question. Do I think Adebayor is a top striker? No I don’t. I think I wrote above that at this moment in time he still has more to offer than Bendner. I stand by that.

    As for Sylvestre, I reckon that it is still too early to say that we didn’t need him; as I also wrote, Newcastle lost the equivalent of Gallas and Toure in the same game if that happened to us I for one would we glad that we had Sylvestre.

  18. avenell says:

    I thought silvestre was bought in more as a cover for clichy, either directly or indirectly if Gallas played there.

  19. Rasputin says:

    He is injury prone and a manu reject, so I can’t see he has the quality we require. I know the argument was that he had experience and we were sadly lacking in that department, but I wouldn’t say he has been a huge success for us when he’s been on the pitch. Do we sign players on a ‘get paid as you play’ basis? – I understand that Saha is employed under those terms.

  20. Rasputin says:

    If the rumours are true (they seldom are!), we are interested in Bassong to shore up the defence – I hope that is not as a replacement for Gallas. He was guilty of a howler yesterday but has been our best central defender this season.

  21. London says:

    I have only ever viewed Sylvestre as back for a season or two, nothing more. It has never been suggested that there were any long term plans for him. I find, if you think about the goal he scored against spuds it helps.

  22. Rasputin says:

    Gooed point London – that goal alone was worth his salary 😉

  23. London says:

    I enjoyed that mini debate Rasp. I wish I knew how to use those smiley faces, it seems the right time for one.

  24. avenell says:

    London.. all you do is type:) for 🙂 but leave a gap..

    😉 😳 😎 😆 😀 😦

    ❓ etc..

  25. avenell says:

    Have a look at my comment in dashboard then press edit on my comment.. you will see the codes..

  26. avenell says:

    The kick-off of Tottenham Hotspur’s home Premier League match against Chelsea was delayed for 30 minutes on Saturday.

    A public announcement inside White Hart Lane said the match was being delayed “due to unforeseen circumstances”.

    The Park Lane stand at the south end of the ground was closed to the public while police dealt with an incident outside the stadium, believed to be a suspect vehicle.

    A open top bus!!!

  27. Big Raddy says:

    LoL Ave

    Ade is one of those infuriating players. He has the talent, but it is backed by a truly unpleasant personality. He has lived a life where being good at football has led to his not needing to work hard for anything. Constantly surrounded by fawning acolytes, his every whim is serviced, and paid a fortune to fulfil his every wish

    However this is going to test him. Not only does he have a direct replacement in Nik, he also has a clinical striker in Eduardo,and the coming brio of Vela to battle for first striker position.

    Should he regain his position as one of the most feared strikers in Europe, I will be thrilled.

  28. London says:

    Well said BR

    I just get the feeling that his ego won’t let him fail; that’s to say, he will know there are genuine contenders for his place and because of that he will raise his game, or at least I hope so!

    We will know soon enough because, I would bet Kelsey’s pension, that he will be starting against Man City.

  29. avenell says:

    I feel the pressure on ade will come from the terraces.. If he gets lazy or misses chances, the ringing of
    “super nikki bendtner” will soon be in his ears..

    I hope he improves, but I would still like him sold or used as a plan “B” because he causes us to play too direct..

  30. avenell says:

    Oi London try the smilies.. 😎

  31. London says:

    I went in there but got completely lost. Lol 🙂

  32. kelsey says:

    That’s the second time I have read about my pension on here.;)

    Could you kindly elaborate,as I am not of pensionable age.

    meanwhile raddy,Adebayor has 8 games left to win your holiday in the sun 🙂

  33. avenell says:

    London.. now you have done one .. here’s the rest..

    http://codex.wordpress.org/Using_Smilies

  34. avenell says:

    Afternoon Kelsey.. Is the missus still heading back tomorrow? 🙂

  35. JonJon says:

    Good post London. 😉

    i have now made my mind up after watching diaby many times that he is definately a striker and not a midlfielder or a wide man.

    i also want newcastle to get relegated because of that thug who is also crap that plays in their defence. how on earth was that not a straight red and an automatic 6 game ban. if he would of broke arshavins jaw we would be in trouble again with lack of numbers, im sick of oppostion players being allowed to assault us on the pitch and nothing gets said.

    all week the press have been moaning about a spit that no one saw yet someone can intentionally throw a haymaker at someone in front of thousands of fans and TV cameras and nothing gets said. I know why, i’ll tell you why, because taylors english thats why.

    we are putting a good run together now scoring goals and winning games and if we keep it up and the other teams start to fall away we are in with a great chance in every competition.

    we are going to be like chelsea last year where nobody was watching them and they came from nowhere to almost do it, only difference is we will do it. 😉

    i think a villa pool draw with a few injuries to torres gerrard and young and the weekend has been perfect.

  36. rico01 says:

    Afternoon Roadsters,

    London, you should write a book – each chapter would be gripping 😉

    I am with the ‘Diaby more of a striker’ view, his finish yesterday was awesome, and not for the first time. Also, when he sees a chance at the goal, he seems to up his pace, its really strange…

    Ade or Nik – Neither 😉 😉 😉

  37. Big Raddy says:

    Kelsey. I may be follically challenged, but I am considerably further from my pension than your good self.

    Ade has let me down, big stylee. I could have had a week of sun, sex and sangria (well – maybe sun and sangria !). Instead the great lump has been resting his enormous arse on the physio’s table.

    It’s a fix. Kelsey, you put the frighteners on him 👿

  38. Big Raddy says:

    Rico … I thought you were being won over, but no, it seems you remain on the Darkside !

  39. rico01 says:

    Ha Ha Raddy, that made me chuckle – have to say though, his goal was top notch – I am a bit like JJ, not yet convinced, but really hope I get there 😉

  40. Big Raddy says:

    A draw seems to be the result to assist us best.

    I have a pathological hatred of the Dippers.

    Rico. You said that I had ‘told you off’ once on LG. Say it ain’t so ….

  41. JonJon says:

    nikkis still not doing it for me, but out of the two id rather have him in the side as 4th choice than ade as 1st choice and on 100k.

    they are both the same player only nikki works harder and is younger, so hes got my vote.

    but if somebody came in with a 20mil bid for ade and a 15mil bid for nikki, id flog them both.

  42. Big Raddy says:

    JJ. If we bought a £35m replacment, so would I. Benzema would perfectly suit our game.

  43. rico01 says:

    Raddy – you did, you told me when i first started blogging i was so positive, but when you came back from your 6 months summer break ( 😉 ) you told me i was all bitter and twisted ( well, not quite in those words) 😛

    We may differ about Nik, but trust me Raddy, we are very much together with the Hatred of The Dippers

  44. rico01 says:

    Dippers are 1-0 up !!

  45. kelsey says:

    Diaby as I said yesterday,does have some attacking value to us,he is far more clinical than nic or Ade,but where do you play him.
    Rumours are astir again about Clichy going,,maybe that is wht we have Gibbs playing a bit more,but let’s just hope they are rumours.
    I hope Ade goes in the Summer purely as he is a disruptive player in the team,but what value has he now.Nic has improved,but black on white he is first and foremost meant to be a striker and he has a huge need for improvement.RVP does slow the game down,but he is class,though a bit arrogant and Nic was a bit unhappy with him yesterday.
    The last thing we need are wholesale changes.Bischoff is off,is Silvestre really needed and if Gallas does go we need a like for like replacement.Denilson should be an understudy to Cesc,and I would really like a better keeper,but I doubt we will get one.AA is and will make a huge difference to the team.
    She who must be obeyed is back tomorrow 😉

  46. rico01 says:

    kelsey – where did you hear about Clichy going please ?

  47. rico01 says:

    Dippers are 2-0 up!!

  48. avenell says:

    What are you doing here on your day off? 😉

  49. rico01 says:

    😛 mme, i am being sneaky ave, but have to pop off for a while now

  50. London says:

    Yeah Kelsey, where did you read or hear anything about Clichy going else where?

  51. kelsey says:

    I read it yesterday and today in a couple of tabloids,that the Italians Inter and Juve want him, but i honestly can’t remember which club or which tabloid.i am sure it’s rubbish.

    Well game over at Anfield which could be worth 4 points to us with goal difference

  52. Big Raddy says:

    Kelsey. My comment 3.51

    I thought you would cane me !!

  53. kelsey says:

    Raddy,
    I thought about it,but just looked up the definition of “considerably” which appears to have a different meaning to the way you used the word 😉

    4-0 might as well make it 6.

  54. rico01 says:

    5-0 – and they have all gone home – HOORAH 😛

  55. rico01 says:

    Friedel sent off 😉

  56. rico01 says:

    Now I hope the Dippers lose all their games until the season

  57. rico01 says:

    I dont think Villa will even get into Europe now, their confidence will be shattered and no Keeper to save them 😛

  58. JonJon says:

    Raddy,

    Benzema,Villa or Aguero would do nicely….

    Kelsey,

    ive also been hearing and reading alot of news about milan are after clichy as their new LB. 14mil.
    dont see us selling clichy just yet, wenger normally sells players when hes had their best years or when his hands are tied, neither apply to clichy so i cant see it.

  59. Buy Viagra Online…

    http://url.edna.edu.au/4bbN Buy Viagra Online…

  60. peachesgooner says:

    Evening roadsters

    Hope you’ve all had a fantastic day – I’ve been outside since 8.30 and its only cos its dark that I’ve come in.

    Football eh – 2 weeks ago Manure were running away with the title and now………….Liverpool are only on a roll till the 21st April – I hope they realise that, still it makes it exciting.

    Well done London for learning the 🙂 😆 😉

    kelsey – you’ve have been remarkable while your lovely wife has been away – hope you’ve done all the washing up 😆

    WILL SOMEONE PLEASE SHOW ADE THE DOOR.

    I’m out to supper with no1 daughter, have a nice evening all, catch up tmoro 🙂

  61. avenell says:

    I allowed the 6.41 advertisment on in case it helps anyone..

    The last time I used it I got a bit in my eye..
    I didn’t half look hard.. 😉

  62. kelsey says:

    avenell,
    it won’t help me as that is one department that still functions very well but I here raddy might find it useful.

  63. avenell says:

    I’m very pleased to hear that kelsey.. 🙂

    I was wondering how many disclaimers I would receive.. 😉

  64. London says:

    It’s a bit worrying that someone thinks we are viagra’s target market.

  65. avenell says:

    lol.. London..

    What’s the postage plan then boss?

  66. peachesgooner says:

    That Viagra add must have come on while I was writing my comment earlier 😉

    Evening ruined by no1’s boyfriend – shes done so much crying she doesn’t want to go out to eat so here I am.

    Evening ave and London

    Nice post London

  67. avenell says:

    Evening Peaches..
    Tell No 1 us blokes are all B***ards then she doesn’t expect no better..
    (I bet you may of mentioned that before) 😦

    What’s going on in the garden? .. It must be mint..

    or is it like my car overdue a service? 😉

  68. peachesgooner says:

    Hiya – you’re right I did already point that fact out to her 🙂

    My garden displays all my talents of Planting Design – of course 😉 – but it does need a bit of tweaking this time of year. I’ve been tidying and planting today. Once my work starts I only get to garden at the weekends. With the sun shining it looked really fabulous. I love this early time, each day there are new plants appearing.

  69. avenell says:

    Your right Peaches this is the first year I have taken an interest there are new buds appearing on the twisted willows and the griselenia I have used for hedging.. even my little acer is coming back to life. 😉

  70. peachesgooner says:

    ave – when I leave a newly planted garden the clients are often blase about what I’ve created for them – the joy comes the next spring when they phone me really enthusing about how everything is coming back to life 😆

  71. avenell says:

    The part I find difficult is when things get out of hand and need cutting back…. It looks so bare when it is done.. But then it springs back to life, it never ceases to amaze me..

  72. avenell says:

    Peaches this is a classic.. do you ever watch the secret millionaire.. where a rich person visits a poor run down area..?

    This week he is in northumberland park.. lol

    CHL 4+ one .. 🙂 135 sky..

  73. avenell says:

    Not funny when you watch it thou.. 😦

  74. rico01 says:

    Morning Roadsters – cant believ there is another break for international games, two weeks without club footie, how depressing 😥

    Kelsey – hope your wife gets home safely and you have a lovely day together

  75. peachesgooner says:

    Morning rico – just checking in quickly to see if anyones about. How are you?

  76. avenell says:

    Morning Rico..
    I cannot beleive it either, just when the premiership is getting exciting and we are hitting form it’s like the brakes come on or we run out of fuel.. 😦

  77. avenell says:

    Morning peaches.. you stood me up last night.. lol

  78. peachesgooner says:

    Morning ave – sorry I ran out on our conversation last nite 🙂 How are you?

    Internationals – so boring 😦

  79. rico01 says:

    Morn ave and peaches

    I am good thanks, a peaceful baking day ahead, how are you both ?

    Sorry to hear your No1 daughter was upset last night peaches, how is she doing today ?

  80. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rico – she put on a very brave face and went to work. We watched some of Jades wedding together last night – how quickly that terrible disease took that young girl, its really scary. The nhs don’t offer smear tests until the girls are 25 unless theres family history – I’m sure I was younger than that when I have my first one.

  81. avenell says:

    i’m fine thanks, you just got me thinking about international week and I started staring at the wall..

    Help!! what we going to do for two weeks? 😦

  82. peachesgooner says:

    We could become a retro blog – choose a game from the past to watch and discuss or focus on a player from the past and see where the blogging takes us.

    We always end up talking about food and music and gardens anyway 😆

  83. rico01 says:

    peaches, i am sure you are right, i was younger than 25 too, i must admit, i haven’t watched much to do about Jade, i kind of believe that some things should be kept behind close doors, but i think i am very alone with my views. Personally, being so close to death, i would rather spend what precious time i have with my loved ones than a tv crew – but she was brave, and i desperately feel for her family. Like Jade or not, she has certainly enforced and highlighted a massive issue for all women in relation to having regular smear tests – a friend of mine ignored her ‘niggles’ and ended up losing her life too through that awful disease…

  84. Big Raddy says:

    Morning. Just before cycling to school (being an environmentalist).

    I like the retro idea Peaches. You really are ‘smarter than the average Bear !’ Which game though, or could it be a game a day?

    Kelsey. Who told you ? 😉

    Effing freezing here. Last night was Minus 6C! And heavy snow is predicted for tomorrow. I hate the weather in this country. And Adebayor.

  85. avenell says:

    I don’t really like talking about it.. but It was sad to see Sir Bobby looking so frail on saturday when the camera zoomed in on him..

  86. avenell says:

    We could do a retro day.. but you all have to dig out your Lois cords and Adidas Forest Hills to wear whilst blogging..

  87. Big Raddy says:

    I agree Ave. He was such a fine, strong man. Good for him going to games.

  88. Big Raddy says:

    It would be clogs and velvet flares for me Ave.

    A DeMob suit for Kelsey 😀

  89. rico01 says:

    Morning Raddy – we are also due a bout of cold weather, but -6 in march, thats not nice 😦

    Ave – he looked a shadow of his old self, a lovely man and a dignified man. It was sad to see him, but also good to see him there, if you get my drift

  90. kelsey says:

    It was sad to see Bobby Robson in the stands,but as far as Jane Goody is concerned, though it is terrible for anyone to die so young,it leaves me with a bad taste in my mouth through all the publicity and perhaps i should leave it at that.At least being a cult fiqure to some,it will make a lot of younger women have smear tests.So some good will come out of these events.

    I have cleaned the house,all 4 floors,cleaned the mess in the garden and await the boss.

  91. kelsey says:

    Cold weather,we should get a bit of rain again about November and a chilly 14 degrees in about a year.

    So Mr.Gazidis hopes Mr Wenger will stay for life.Is that a good thing or not ? We are fortunate results have gone our way and it is clearly evident if we had either kept Flamini and/or Gilbero or bought just two other quality experiened players we would be in a lot stronger position.

    The 4 points we dropped at home to Spurs and away to Villa both stand out as bad results.Both games were in the bag.

  92. rico01 says:

    Kelsey – I think that would be a very good thing, I think he is the best manager we have had, even though sometimes the lack of transfers can be frustrating – he has got us playing great football. I can’t see him leaving just yet, he is in the middle of seeing his young crop come of age, and when they do, we will be in for some very happy days. I honestly believe, Sir Alex apart, he will be remembered as one of the best managers in footballing history imho 😛

  93. kelsey says:

    So two week international break,let’s hope they all come back in one piece.It will be intriguing to see if Ade,Bedntner and Eduardo all feature in our remaining games.I am no lover of rotation,but with a fully fit squad,bar Rosicky it will be interesting.Jack and Ramsey have already been confined to the reserves for the rest of the season,Bischoff is leaving,and I hope Gallas gets an extension as Djorou is clearly not ready yet.

  94. London says:

    Gazidis being a good PR man was just offering public encouragement and moral support by saying that Wenger could have a job for life. I always wonder what people would say if Gazidis said publicly that the goal of the club is to win the Champions league and if Wenger isn’t up to it we will replace him. Am I missing something? What should Gazidis say publicly at this critical stage of the run in?

  95. avenell says:

    I read that Gazidis said that about a month ago.. Are the papers/blogs just digging up old news and recyling it?

  96. kelsey says:

    I read it another way, though I may be wrong.I would like Gazidis to say that the club really wish to compete next season by buying some more quality to achieve that,as opposed to saying Wenger can do no wrong,which we knew before, in the board’s eyes anyway.The youth experiment has failed to some degree and I read all over the place that this certain player will come good in 3 or 4 years.We are talking about a lot of players in the current side,and though debatable I think money is available to further strengthen the side by buying a couple of quality players and let the apprentices take a back seat for the while.

  97. rico01 says:

    I am with London on this – there is no way the board/gazidis would come out and say that if arsene doesnt shape up he will be out, otherwise the likes of Real Madrid will start touting him again, and AW would leave before being hoofed out –

    I still cant see him leaving until the end of his next contact, and then he will retire 😉

  98. London says:

    Kelsey

    Some good points, surely you wouldn’t expect Gazidis to make such a statement right now expressing the view that the squad needs to be strengthened if we want to compete next season? The effect would be to undermine the current squad of players as they enter the critical phase of the season.

    I am not suggesting that I disagree with your goal of improving the squad (I share it) but when do you think the ideal time would be for Gazidis to make a statement?

    And do you really want someone who is in charge of bringing in sponsorship money to start sticking his nose into affairs of the playing staff?

    Personally, I want Gazidis to radiate the idea that all is well on the good ship Arsenal while making a load more money available for Wenger to strengthen the squad as and when he sees fit.

  99. rico01 says:

    This summer has to be the time to sort the squad out imho – we need to sell the players who have proved they are either not committed to our club, or just not good enough:

    My definate outs would be

    Ade
    Eboue
    Silvestre
    Senderos

    Denilson ?
    Diaby?

    Nik ???????????????? 😉

    Ins

    Quality CH
    Quality HM
    Quality CF

  100. avenell says:

    I just read that Bendtner is now on one goal less than £30 million pound Berbatov..mmm
    I’d like to know all the stats though..

  101. rico01 says:

    who would you sell in the summer ave ?

  102. avenell says:

    The two players who piss me off the most I guess.. I would out Ade, because i think one lump of a centre forward is enough.. and he ruins our style of play.. and Eboue.. because he is a knob..

  103. rico01 says:

    its funny, two months ago i would have said Song, but not anymore 😛

  104. JonJon says:

    hey guys how are we all???

    rico im with you on ade eboue senderbramblesaurous and silvestre

    byt i reckon we should keep diaby as a backup striker and also keep denilson as he hasnt done too badly, its his first season and hes been an integral part of our 16 game unbeaten run. sometimes he isnt the best but sometimes he shows alot of potential so id keep him for a few more years.

    im still unsure about nikki but as the season goes on im starting to see theres more to his game than goals. hes a Plan B and our 4th choice striker and that what i want our plan B to be, sat on the bench.

    ades supposed to be plan B and hes 1st choice and a lump so he goes. so does eboue cos i agree with ave, hes a plonker.

  105. rico01 says:

    JJ, how you doing, like you i still have a ? over Diaby and Denilson, but three definates speak for themselves really and make strong our mighty fine club… 😛

    Did Eboue sign a contact extension ? I hope so, that means we get a £10.00 Note for him 😉

  106. JonJon says:

    i heard a little rumour that he did rico, but i cant see it. i think even without an extention he still had about 5 years to run so why would we give him an extention?????unless i stand corrected?????

    id have a new CB, and two new CM’s

    and im fine thanks 😉

  107. kelsey says:

    Really you could go through the whole squad and point out various weaknesses yet here we are 4th in the league and in the running for 2 cups.

    in a perfect world i would like to think we could have a better keeper(Given would have been a good buy) but i don’t expect any change there.
    Sagna playing well but not as good as last season (keep Eboue solely as his sub.0
    Clichy back to his best on saturday and Gibbs is good cover
    Toure/Gallas is the best partnership, but will either leave.Djorou still work in progress.
    Fabregas,though we have missed him,we are unbeaten in the league without him,but he is our engine and will hugely influence the game.denilson is his understudy.
    Nasri has been a good acquasition
    Arshavin the same and adds a dimension that we rarely see,a shoot on site policy.
    RVP, considering everything he is a little slow and selfish and can be petulant but a must for me.
    Song to be kept as an understudy to a new buy
    Ade and Bedntner,I may surprise you but one or both will go in the summer
    EDUARDO TO BE OUR NUMBER 1 STRIKER
    THEO(WHO HASN’T SIGNED YET) EVENTUALLY TO BE MORE CENTRAL AND NEEDS TO IMPROVE HIS FINISHING,not the perfect player by any means yet.Some get carried away as he is English.
    Vela,could go out on loan,I haven’t made my mind up on him and i think AW hasn’t either
    Diaby,make him an attacking force,needed somewhere in the team,though i admit he is one I want to succeed.
    Silvestre and bischoff and senderos all to go.

    Just my assessment.

  108. kelsey says:

    Oh hi JonJon,has wilcatt signed his extension 🙂

  109. kelsey says:

    Final assessment for the needs in the summer a class keeper,a better option than Song and a new striker even if that means letting Ade and Nic go.

  110. avenell says:

    A good assessment of where we are at the moment Kelsey.. That was good enough to have been a post..

    I think JJ was talking about Eboue.. I think his contract is on the table waiting for him..

  111. rico01 says:

    what time does your wife get home kelsey

  112. JonJon says:

    dont think so kelsey, i dont think Rvp has either.

    thats why i dont understand us giving eboue one if we ever did.

    i like your assessmant kelsey, we are still in two cups and 4th in the league, after a season of injuries and playing kids. just think if we’d of strengthened in the summer and got the players we needed then, we could be in pole position for the treble……

    we need to keep hold of this team apart from a few bits of deadwood, and get in the players for next year.

    then we will be a work in progress and at the same time be a strong strong force. not just a team whos learning, we will be a team learning and winning.

  113. kelsey says:

    That’s why i posted about Gazidis earlier,I hope he is not another yes man.We must learn from this seasons mistakes on relying to much on understudies if we really want to win silverware

    Rico, 4.00 p.m.our time 🙂

  114. rico01 says:

    Thats not too long now – no wonder you have that huge smile – no takewaway for you tonight then, mind you on the other hand……. 😉 😛

  115. rico01 says:

    I am off the day Guys and Gals – have a fab evening and catch you all tomorrow -stay safe

    😛

  116. rico01 says:

    Blimey you lot, get blogging, the only one with an excuse is Kelsey 😉

    Only passing through, cooking and all that stuff

    Come on you Gooners 😛

  117. rico01 says:

    I see that old

    Wherethefuckarewetribe is back again………

    And here’s me, multi tasking and you have all given up 😉

    Hattrick 😉 😉 😉

  118. rico01 says:

    Anyone see the ‘making of mamma mia’ last night, oh have i been singing all the old Abba songs all day, 1977, what a year for the Swedish band – I loved and still love them 😛 😛 😛

  119. avenell says:

    Have you heard the abbaesq ep by erasure? .. I prefer that..

  120. rico01 says:

    1977 – Didnt we claim second place in the FA Cup Final that year 😉

  121. rico01 says:

    You are so rude Ave, you interupted my conversation, with myself 😉

    No, I love Mamma Mia – where is peaches when you need a ladies view on stuff 😥

  122. rico01 says:

    You should have got out more Ave, you would have loved them… 😉 Ask Nita 😛

  123. avenell says:

    Were those stories true that the Girlie (bird) in abba with the black hair Friedel is it? dad was in the german SS during the war?

  124. avenell says:

    She wouldn’t remember abba she’s a lot younger than you. 😉

  125. avenell says:

    haha I’m abusing my only customer.. lol.. only joking rico.. I have the greatest hits somewhere in the workshop..

  126. rico01 says:

    Ave – thats fine by me, you know I wont fight back, you have too much dirt on me 😉 😉

    Poor old Nita, she missed out then, get that Album out and play it, she will love it 😛

  127. avenell says:

    I’ll put that to the test.. Who is our best striker? ..clue he is a dane… 😉

  128. rico01 says:

    And I thought Eduardo was a Bikini born Croat…… 😉

  129. rico01 says:

    Ah, that lost you for words ave 😉 😛

    Off to eat my supper – might come back for more abuse …………… 😛

  130. avenell says:

    Where’s rasputin when I need him? 🙂

  131. avenell says:

    How does that old beat song go.. “your too nice to talk to”.. 😉

    creep ave.. 😀

  132. Wrighty7 says:

    Wheres my Chinese?

    Evening all!

  133. avenell says:

    Hi Wrighty . I thought you was more into african food now.. and eating with your fingers.

  134. Wrighty7 says:

    Hi Ave,

    You can’t beat African food. Especially Nigerian cuisine!

    Only costs $1800 dollars!

  135. avenell says:

    haha glad your back anyway.. I’ve got monday night international week writers block tonight.. I need to get my head around it..
    have you posted?

  136. Wrighty7 says:

    Yeah mate, posted about Rooney, Cesc and Gallas.

    It bollocks when you cant think of something to write aint it?! Ha ha

  137. rico01 says:

    ave – you need the boys, and they arrive 😉

    I am done – be good, be safe

    Hi wrighty, hope all is good with you

    Nighty Night 😛

  138. London says:

    Ave what is the name of the other ex spud that is charge at Newcastle, Calderwood and ?

  139. Wrighty7 says:

    Its Chris Houghton London.

  140. London says:

    Thanks

  141. London says:

    Ave I have something for tomorrow if you want?

  142. London says:

    Ave go to drafts. It is all ready, just say go and I will post it tomorrow morning.

  143. avenell says:

    Yea go for it london.. I have something, but It’s only in my head and it needs a bit of research..

  144. peachesgooner says:

    Sorry guys, I meant to come on earlier but I’ve been putting the finishing touches to a design.

    Blimey wasn’t it cold today – not as cold as in Copenhagen though I’m sure 🙂

    I see we still have an open debate on whether nik is any good, another 12 days should do it 😆

    See you all tomorrow 🙂

  145. JonJon says:

    are you there ave????

  146. avenell says:

    Just emailed you JJ.. 😉

  147. JonJon says:

    aint got it yet mate????? you sent it by pigeon????

  148. avenell says:

    It got delayed at sheffield the lights are so pretty at night!

  149. JonJon says:

    lets hope it dont go via hull or newcastle, they’ll kill it and eat it in hull and they’ll probably jaw it one in newcastle.

  150. JonJon says:

    yup, definately gone via hull mate.

  151. rico01 says:

    Morning All 😛

  152. London says:

    New Post, I love writing that.

  153. Big Raddy says:

    Morning Rico.

    Just in case you imagine that the Danes are more efficient than us Brits; The weather forecast is for heavy snow today, yet at this moment we have clear blue skies ! True it is bastard cold, but at least the sun shines.

    Something to bring a smile to your faces ….. Tony Adams goal in the 1993 FA Cup Semi-Final v Tottenham at Wembley.

    After the pain of our humiliating defeat two years previous, and a truly awful drive home around the North Circular, it was a moment of bliss.

Leave a Reply

