The Vinegar Strokes.

Tonight we play Hull City, in the sixth round of the FA Cup. It is one of those games where we are getting close to the buisness end of the season, you can feel elation starting to boil up inside but just take your minds off lifting some silverware and get through this round, we will reach the semi’s and Wembley, I can picture it but take those images out of your head and think of other things. I want to enjoy this one too it will happen but not yet, just make it last that little bit longer, winning will be even sweeter.

This is what supporting a big club is all about, just before the season starts our football juices start to flow as we prepare for the first games of the season there is initial excitement, the expectancy level is high and we want it, but we don’t know what the year will bring.  After a game or two there is a smug satisfaction. then as the season gets rolling we normally get into a nice rhythm, not this year though.

Just before Christmas it began to go slightly limp and Dr Wenger prescibed a Russian to help the club to have the stamina for the run in and it certainly looks to have worked, as his potency at the front has upped our performance levels.

If we get through this round and ultimately reach the final and do the same in the Champions League it will be a very satisfying end to the season indeed.

One of our posters saw Andrey Arshavin walking or limping around his local Tesco’s last night  and he said he was very doubtful for tonight’s game. I bet he didn’t look like one of the usual eastern Europeans who frequent these supermarkets dressed in clothes that would look more at home on an extra from the Professionals, jumpers that could only be bought from that clothes shop at the end of Blackstock Road in the early eighties, who used to survive selling H&J sports socks.

No clubcards for these guys, you can queue behind them safe in the knowledge that just as there shopping is tucked away in there polythene bags (no bags for life) they won’t bring out the dreaded clubcard or the money off vouchers the ones that send you over the edge in anger as you are getting later and later for work.

We seem to have a semi injury crisis again, I hope Theo is given another start he will frighten the Fishermen with his pace along with Vela, It is a shame Dudu is still unavailable.

Fabianski

Sagna…Toure…JD….Gibbs

Theo..Denilson..Diaby..Nasri.

Bendtner.. Vela..

I think we should win this one at a canter, 4-1 fingers crossed, revenge will be sweet..

I’m going back to bed for an hour lol.. Enjoy your day Roadsters!!

322 Responses to The Vinegar Strokes.

  1. avenell says:

    Morning roadsters.. Check the time rico.. 😉

  2. peachesgooner says:

    Morning ave – very eloquently put 😉

  3. London says:

    Morning Ave

    Wow someone has been a busy bunny. Nice surprise, I enjoyed reading it.

    Since one of the vast network of Avenell Road scout’s has spotted Arshavin limping along the isles of Tescos and considers that he will be extremely doubtful for tonight, I am going to have to adjust my team to face Hull.

    ——–Fabianski

    Sagna-Djourou-Gallas-Gibbs

    -Walcott-Song-Diaby-Vela

    ——-Eduardo-RVP

  4. London says:

    I still don’t know why you all think that Eduardo is unavailable?

  5. rico01 says:

    Top of the morning Roadsters,

    I would have been much earlier but I saw what time Ave posted his super duper piece, and I fainted. I was out cold and have only just come to 😉

    Only teasing ave, good read and love the Dr Wenger 😛

    Dispite AA’s little niggle, I expect he will play, but Dudu I think is still injured. I hope I am srong about Dudu though, as he seems to score for fun in the cup games.

    If Nik starts tonight, he finally has to start scoring, his confidence must be rock bottom and he needs a big lift. Yes I dont rate him, but he is our player, and I want him to start getting goals, and show us all just how good people think he is..

    The other player I reckon we will see, Is that 6′ something lump of wood – aka – Ade!!

  6. rico01 says:

    Andrey Arshavin is ‘desperate’ to be fit for the FA Cup Quarter-Final with Hull City at Emirates Stadium on Tuesday.

    The Russian international suffered a nasty gash to his right foot during the first half of the game against Blackburn on Saturday. He had eight stitches at half time but went on to score a wonder goal with the same foot just past the hour.

    The 27-year-old has been receiving treatment ever since and, according to Arsène Wenger, he is determined to make it. Elsewhere, Lukasz Fabianski comes in for Manuel Almunia. This was planned but the Spaniard is out for the game anyway because of an ankle injury and is doubtful for the weekend trip to Newcastle. Kieran Gibbs will replace Gael Clichy, who is rested. Eduardo (groin) is still out and Aaron Ramsey will not be involved.

    “Arshavin had eight stitches in his foot but he is still in the squad,” Wenger told Arsenal TV Online on Monday afternoon. “We will make a decision tomorrow.

    “He is desperate to be involved. He just wants to play. He couldn’t practice today but we’ll assess him tomorrow morning.

    “Almunia is out – he would not have played anyway but he is a doubt for Saturday.

    “Also Kieran Gibbs will play tomorrow night, Clichy is completely rested. Aaron Ramsey is not in the squad too. At the moment he is growing in stature and a bit tired so we will rest him. Apart from that everybody is in.”

  7. rico01 says:

    Big team tonight, Big win 😛

    I hope

  8. rico01 says:

    Gosh was that three in a row ??

  9. rico01 says:

    Maybe Four 😉

  10. rico01 says:

    Five – Are we there yet 😉

  11. London says:

    Morning Rico

    I can’t imagine Bendner having a confidence crisis. Fortunately he is so well established in his national team that he will always be able to lean on that and push himself forward for Arsenal.

  12. rico01 says:

    Hi London – well there must be a reason for him missing so many good chances for us. He seems to have lost that self belief at club football – same with Robin to a degree, they both score for their respective countries, but for us they are poor.

    Me – I would drop him 😉

  13. peachesgooner says:

    Hi Rico and London

    Gorgeous day here in the suburbs. I too hope that Nikki starts firing them in. The more I think about the game on sunday the more influencial Nikki becomes, his link up play with Theo was fabulous to watch. Theo was fabulous to watch – it all leads to the re-emmurgence of Wengerball 😆

  14. rico01 says:

    Morning peaches –

    we have the beautiful sunshine too, its been a lovely fews days –

    I just wish he could score a few goals, he keeps saying how good he is…. anyway, i have done that to death

    Theo – We have really missed him, having him back on the right and AA on the left, the pace and exciting breaks are back, its wonderful.

    Still Ade back soon, he will stop all that 😉

  15. London says:

    Rico
    I wouldn’t disagree with anything you say. Bentner didn’t play badly on Saturday he just missed his chances; on another day, against West Brom for example, he scuffed a shot and it went in for the first goal. To me, he radiates confidence and seems to have the right balance between self belief and arrogance.

    Do you live in London?

  16. JonJon says:

    bendtners crap 😉

    id drop him straight on the transfer list

  17. London says:

    Morning Jonjon

    Is your home phone connection still down?

  18. peachesgooner says:

    Morning JonJon

    Hes not 😉

  19. peachesgooner says:

    I think Ade is – but Nikki isn’t

  20. London says:

    Peaches

    I have a spare, free ticket for tonight, next to me, if you want it?

  21. kelsey says:

    Morning all

    I read your post London re Bedntner,but I feel we have a difference of opinion about him. I think it is highly likely he will progress,and as you say he is well established in his national team,and I believe it is his charachter that doesn’t fit in with others in the squad.He had problems at brum when on loan,he tends to isolate himself,a bit of a loner,and I have no doubt he is trying his best,but for me he would do better at another club.We will have to wait and see with time.Use him off the bench for 20/25 minutes against tired legs,that’s whenhe is most effective.

    On to tonight,as there appears to be a doubt about AA, I will exclude him fom the team I feel Aw will pick,but not entirely my choice.

    Fabianski, Sagna,Djorou,Gallas Gibbs,Walcott,Song,Denilson,Nasri,RVP,Bedntner

    If AA is fit Bedntner will be on the bench with,Vela,Diaby,Eboue and god knows who else.

  22. rico01 says:

    London –

    You should disagree, you know i talk rubbish 😉

    I live in the Royal County, London 😉

  23. JonJon says:

    yes indeed it is so im on at work.

    oh yes he is!!!!!!!!

  24. peachesgooner says:

    Thanks for the offer London but I have a ticket already.

  25. peachesgooner says:

    No he isn’t…………

  26. London says:

    No probs Peaches.

    I’m re-posting this because it took me ages to write and I doubt a single person read it.

    Maybe I’m blind to this matter but I can’t see the problem with Bendtner. The fact that he is our forth choice striker is not an excuse; it reasuringly highlights the depth of our strike force. At 20 years old he represents all that is good about the youth policy at Arsenal. The only debate that I can see is whether you think he will ultimately become Arsenal’s number 1 striker and at the rate that he is improving I find it difficult to imagine that he won’t.
    Whenever Wenger is challenged about Bendner he always states the following: “You have to remember that Thierry Henry was 23 when he arrived” The implication is obvious; Bendtner is doing extremely well at such a young age.
    It’s worth remembering how we have come to the point where Bendtner is referred to as the Marmite Kid.
    Nothing was expected of Bendtner at the beginning of the season; the season was never reliant on Bendtner so he is not to blame in any way for our league position.
    The season started; he made a few cameo appearances in the league and all was well.
    He then played a blinder in the Carling Cup against Sheffield United scoring two goals and expectations soared.
    The next significant event was his poor performance against Burnley away and he was vilified for it. The reason was not that he missed two crucial chances; people turned against him becasue he looked disinterested and worse, he selfishly ignored team mates who were in better positions to score. This prompted the boos and I will not condemn those who did so.
    Bendtner then made some good cameos coming on late in several games and scoring some crucial goals, Bolton springs to mind.
    He was still having problems putting in a full 90 minutes but this changed in the West Brom away, scoring two more superb goals.
    This brings us to Blackburn: as we know he missed a sack load of chances but crucially it has to be said that he wasn’t lazy and he wasn’t greedy and that is why he got his standing ovation when he left the field.
    The improvement in Bendtner from the beginning of the season and now is enormous. To me there is nothing Marmite about Bendner at all, he is our forth choice striker who will one day be our first.
    Super, super Nick, super, super Nick, super, super Nick, super Nicholas Bendtner.

    Queue Jonjon…

  27. rico01 says:

    peaches – yes he is, sell him 😉

  28. JonJon says:

    oh yes he is

  29. rico01 says:

    London

    I have read every word, i promise….

    I think he has an attitude, and he cant score, sell him

    😉 😉 😉 😉

  30. rico01 says:

    Morning JJ and Kelsey

  31. rico01 says:

    JJ

    Ever felt like its you and me against the world ??

    😛

  32. peachesgooner says:

    I’ve suggested to my friend who lives next-door – actually next-door London 🙂 – to Darren Bent that she tries to get Nikki to her meditation teacher. He’s worked some magic on Dazza, even though the spuds still hate him, and maybe he could help Nik.

  33. rico01 says:

    Woops – that should have read JJ & Kelsey 😉

  34. rico01 says:

    peaches – would you like Bent at our fine club ??

  35. JonJon says:

    when you put it like that london its hard to disagree with you

    dont get me wrong, i really want the lad to make it, although i think hes crap i do actually admire his work load, i dont think hes a prat.

    adebayors a total prick whos also crap and i just wanted nikki to prove to wenger we dont need ade any more

    i dont think hes done enough and it annoys me

  36. rico01 says:

    I only ask that as at the beginning of the season, under Ramos he did really well, now under ‘Arry, he has lost his place in the team. I think he can score goals, and I certainly wouldnt be unhappy if he came to us –

  37. rico01 says:

    JJ – Here here, he frustrates me, and bloomin annoys me. Both he and Ade, but London is right about Nik’s work ethic, unlike Balsa !!

  38. London says:

    All done in good spirit Jonjon as I am sure you are aware. I have got a spare free ticket for tonight. It’s a shame you are not a bit closer.

  39. JonJon says:

    hahaha

    london ive just asked for the afternoon off so i could get myself down there. 😉

    alas to no avail, i was going to snap your arm off.

  40. peachesgooner says:

    Hes been treated very badly by the spuds – hes a very nice young man – hes a gooner. The reason the spuds don’t like him is because he came from Charlton and before that Ipswich so they think he can’t be good enough for them. They have ideas above their station and think they should be buying top-class strikers – like us they have standards to uphold. He is probably not a good enough footballer to fit into our team even though he has banged a few in for them.

    Nik on the other hand is a good footballer. His height
    and frame has meant that Arsene is happy to put him up top as he feels he can handle himself. If he’d been 5’10” or less he’d still be playing on the wing.

    Even Thierry didn’t play up front until he was established in the team. I think its unfair on Nik to judge him so soon.

  41. Big Raddy says:

    Morning All

    Rico… did you read my message to you yesterday morning?

    Good Nik argument London. I agrre with all you say, but I have been touting him for a couple of years now, for obvious reasons.

    As to tonight; I don’t mind which team AW plays., but they have to be prepared for another physical onslaught. As such Song is a must.

  42. peachesgooner says:

    Blimey roadsters we’re having a lively debate 🙂

    Morning Raddy, Londons got a spare ticket, quick jump on a plane you might see some goals tnite 😆

  43. Big Raddy says:

    Peaches. I think you overate Bent just because he may be a good bloke. The fact is that The Spuds have seen him play on numerous occasions and we haven’t.

    My Spud friends tell me that he has no tactical awareness, no ability to pick a pass, and has poor first time control.

    ANother reason is that he is such bad value. He cost the same as AA, and AA has done more in 3 games than Bent has in 2 seasons.

    In all honesty, would you like to see Bent in our team?

  44. Big Raddy says:

    If you pay for the flight Peaches 😉

  45. peachesgooner says:

    No I wouldn’t like him in our team because hes not a good enough footballer.

    If people have a problem with Nik cos hes missing chances thats not the only thing he brings to our team.

    I’m in the ‘I luv Nikki’ camp 🙂

  46. rico01 says:

    Morning Raddy

    Sorry, I forgot to reply to you, i have slapped myself very firmly 😉

    I have never been to the deli you mentioned, but I have been told its a pukka place to go but only with a full purse – I just love cheese and eggs, I could live off of them both, sadly though they are both no so go for you 😦

  47. peachesgooner says:

    I didn’t ever say I wanted Darren Bent to play for us the connection was to do with confidence boosting and meditation 🙂

  48. rico01 says:

    ok, i promise not to mention Nik again in a negative manner 😉

    But I do love Marmite 😉

  49. peachesgooner says:

    London – shall I see if Dazza wants to go with you?

  50. peachesgooner says:

    …….I was joking….. 😆

  51. rico01 says:

    peaches – that was my doing, i asked you that this morning without a prompt –

    Its sad that a player gets such a slating from his own fans, as Bent has – especially when that player is a decent human being. I hope Bent moves on for his own sake.

  52. peachesgooner says:

    rico – there are obviously negative things to say about him cos he didn’t finish any of his chances on saturday. But his reading of the play enabled him to be in those positions – thats what he brings to the team.

    I love Marmite too 😆

  53. kelsey says:

    It’s a hard act to follow after TH14,Wrighty and Alan Smith,when we start to compare unrealistically the strikers we have now and then,but at the same time we expect the performance of the team to improve so as to keep apace with the other front runners.Ade scored a lot of goals last season,and maybe he believed his own hype too much,because quite frankly to say he has been a disapointment this season,would be an understatement.I think we have now hit the woodwoork 16 times this season,Nasri hasn’t scored since november,and maybe our goal drought has ended,but for me neither ade or nicci are long term prospects.

  54. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters,

    Interesting headline ave….one day we have the ‘Bard of London’…the next its ‘Viz’ 😉

    Now now kids…stop squabbling over supernik / nick-the-brick. Here’s the challenge, and one of you have to back down and say you got it wrong based on the outcome…..

    Nik currently has 11 goals from 22 starts and 15 ‘off the benches’ – call the off the benches a half a game, that gives him a ratio of 37% = just over 1 goal every 3 games (not top striker stats). He won’t play every game for the rest of the season, but if he bags another 6 goals the nik-the-brickites have to concede that he’s not crap….if he doesn’t get 6, the supernikites ahve to concede that he’s not good enough…….Deal or no Deal? 😆

  55. rico01 says:

    you are right peaches, and i guess no player can be perfect every game – except of course Eboue, who thankfully has now tied up a new improved contract !!!!!!

    Cant believe Ave went back to bed and missed all of this early morning banter

    I am so envious of you all who are going tonight, i must check to see if the game is on Setanta

  56. London says:

    Peaches

    That made me laugh. For a moment the image of Darren Bent sitting next to me watching Arsenal flashed in front of my eyes.

  57. rico01 says:

    Hoorah – it is on Setanta 1, my seat is now booked, and the remote is all mine 😛

  58. peachesgooner says:

    Anyone know anything about goji berries? Theres a great prog on BBC2 called Grow your own drugs and they were mentioned on there. A new super-food that the chinese have been using for centuries – why didn’t they tell us before?

  59. rico01 says:

    peaches – wiki say it’s commonly know as the wolfberry

  60. JonJon says:

    rasp,

    if he can start firing in some goals and keep working like he did against boltburn i’ll change my opinion of him very quickly.

  61. Big Raddy says:

    Peaches. I have just been asked if Simon and Shirley are still alive. Do you know?

  62. peachesgooner says:

    Morning Judge Rasputin

    Seems like a fair deal – I’ll go along with that 🙂

    Seems we don’t all agree all the time 😉

  63. Big Raddy says:

    Peaches… Can you smoke them 😉

  64. kelsey says:

    No Deal 😉

  65. Big Raddy says:

    I thought all top footballers had Sports Psychologists. I would be amazed if there were not any at Arsenal.

  66. Rasputin says:

    Peaches – they’re not like dingleberries are they – I hate them!

  67. Rasputin says:

    You coward kelsey 🙂

  68. peachesgooner says:

    Raddy – yes they are, Shirley has Altzheimers (rasp?) I think but Simon is well. Who’s asking you – I’m so nosey?

  69. peachesgooner says:

    kelsey – thats not very fair minded of you!!!

    Raddy – you eat them, although the leaves might be intersting I don’t know, shall I grow some?

  70. peachesgooner says:

    Rasp – are you being smutty? Ave’s already gone down that road this morning xx

  71. rico01 says:

    Morning Rasp

  72. Big Raddy says:

    A friend form the old Days. His name is David Solomon. Lives in Monaco now.

    Yes. I am sure your kids will try them for us …

  73. peachesgooner says:

    Yeeeeeeeeey 😆 😆 😆

  74. rico01 says:

    Hey, what about the England ladies in the cricket, the boys could learn from them 😉

  75. peachesgooner says:

    My kids wouldn’t do anything like that……….

  76. Big Raddy says:

    I fear the worst for our Boys in Oz. It could be an embarrassment….

  77. peachesgooner says:

    kelsey are you still there? How is Ben today?

  78. Rasputin says:

    Morning Rico……what do you reckon – a hattrick from Nik tonight????

    Peaches – of course I’m being smutty….ave and I have a lot in common 😆

  79. rico01 says:

    Raddy – its in the UK this summer, I just hope the Old Barmy Arm bring the best out in them – to be fair though, the wickets have been dreadful in the WI. I think with a better wicket and the overcast mornings we can get here in the UK, the bowlers should and could get better fortune with a better bounce and more swing – I think, and hope it will be a close contest.

  80. peachesgooner says:

    …..as if I didn’t already know that rasp……

  81. rico01 says:

    Rasp – that would be just wonderful wouldnt it, if Theo can get a few good crosses whipped in onto Nik’s head, oh just imagine how many he could get 😛

  82. Big Raddy says:

    Peaches

    My parents didn’t expect it of me either !!

  83. Big Raddy says:

    Silly me Rico….

  84. Rasputin says:

    The big question in cricket is – will rasp, the Little Munden cricketing phenomenon get his batting average into double figures and claim the catcher’s cup again at the end of the season?

  85. rico01 says:

    Not at all Raddy ………

  86. rico01 says:

    Rasp – where is Little Munden ??

  87. peachesgooner says:

    ……only if they pick him ……..

  88. JonJon says:

    nikki couldnt get a hatrick even if he blogged on here, 😉

  89. Big Raddy says:

    ohh yes he could…

  90. Rasputin says:

    On my Hertfordshire hillside Rico – village cricket is just the best! its full of characters, more competitive than you might imagine and inevitably ends in the village pub that sells real ale served up by buxom serving wenches….my idea of paradise (after the footie that is 🙂 )

  91. JonJon says:

    oh no he couldnt 😉

  92. Rasputin says:

    Come on JonJon, take the bet……I once had a bet that I’d run round the outside of the Emirates naked over an Arsenal players performance and i’d have done it too…

  93. Big Raddy says:

    Sounds fantastic Ras. I am deeply envious.

  94. peachesgooner says:

    oh yes he could……

  95. JonJon says:

    see……

    we have the circus act that is eboue and the pantomime that is nikki

    rasp, if nikki scores tonight i’ll do a write up dedicated to him 😉

  96. Rasputin says:

    JonJon, I had some fun on another site in the summer comparing our players to cartoon characters etc. and someone (I’m not sure it wasnt avenell) trumped me by suggesting that Toure was Foghorn Leghorn (he was not having a good spell at the time)

    So if EE is a circus act and Nik a pantomime character, what is appropriate for Arsene – ‘Gandalf’ perhaps 🙂

  97. rico01 says:

    Rasp

    I can almost imagine it, I played womens cricket in my younger days – Sunday afternoons were wonderful, and when it rained and the game called off, I was so down hearted, I hope we have a lovely summer just for the village cricket 😛

  98. rico01 says:

    If Nik scores a hatrick tonight, I will have fainted twice in one day 😉

  99. JonJon says:

    LMAO

    or basil faulty 🙂

  100. JonJon says:

    i hope nikki does, cos then were through.

  101. JonJon says:

    im not bothered who scores as long as we win

  102. Big Raddy says:

    Arshavin…. ?

  103. rico01 says:

    He is certainly our little ‘master’ Raddy ;0

  104. Rasputin says:

    I’d just like to remind everybody of my prediction of 3 weeks ago – we will meet manure in the CL final (but you can forget it if it doesn’t come true!)

  105. Rasputin says:

    That runt Modric is far more like Gollum

  106. rico01 says:

    Rasp, is that Meet or Beet 😉

  107. rico01 says:

    Song = Troll 😛

  108. avenell says:

    Have I missed anything?

  109. rico01 says:

    Yes Ave – The morning 😉

  110. London says:

    Jonjon…Boltburn…That’s what I was looking for..the joke would have worked then…oh well…we move on.

  111. peachesgooner says:

    Morning ave – that was a bit of a lay-in 😉

  112. avenell says:

    Morning rico its Nita, not sure what happened to ave this morning, he disappeared from bed about 5.30am and then crawled back a hour or so later!! Must have been a rush of blood to the head!! Don’t know what he was thinking, muttered something about got to go and write it!! Then I rolled over and went back to sleep.
    I will be on the girlie bits soon promise but work and home life a bit crazy at the mo.
    I will send the photos that ave promised soon, cause he doesn’t know how too! Nita x

  113. peachesgooner says:

    London – Boltburn – yes it would have worked – even I would have got it 😆

  114. peachesgooner says:

    Morning Nita 🙂

  115. Rasputin says:

    If its non Mr. ‘nalaff, its Mr. ‘nalayin (both prefixed by ave 😉 )

  116. peachesgooner says:

    rasp 😳

    pytos eh riun all yuor bets omments 😆

  117. Rasputin says:

    non = not for the ‘picky’ ones 😉

  118. avenell says:

    Hi peaches – nice to put a voice to a name when you phoned the other day. I am working later today, ave doing skool run, tea etc and he managed to get some of the grass cut yesterday – what fab weather. Nita x

  119. rico01 says:

    Morning Nita – good to hear you on here, I have a feeling though it may be ave, trying to justify a lazy morning –

    Nita – if its you, you make sure that lazy man of yours pulls his weight, and yes, the weather is just wonderful 😛

  120. peachesgooner says:

    Hi nita – its gorgeous here too, just hung out the washing to dry, only I’ll probably forget to bring it in as I’m going to footie tnite 😦

    Are you a footie fan?

  121. peachesgooner says:

    Three girls – its almost a balanced team 🙂

  122. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – do I need to feed my fish? I just pulled a load of that green stuff away from the sides and it occured to me that it might contain stuff that they eat as they’re always nipping away at it. I only think about feeding plants and people 😆

  123. peachesgooner says:

    oooh another 😆 😆 😆 cheap one though I admit 😳

  124. avenell says:

    Yes it really is me – I have managed to steal control of the computer long enough to send a couple of messages! (he is looking over my shoulder though just to make sure I behave – he says you have got the weather and him mixed up the weather needs to pull its weight and ave is wonderful!!!!!)
    I knew nothing of footie until I started seeing ave, and have been taught the ave way!!! – so no I still know nothing! I have learnt to shout at the telly when the ref gets it wrong and watch whilst drinking beer. Nita x

  125. rico01 says:

    Nita – shout at the telly etc, thats really funny, does ave really behave in such a way ?? 😉

  126. peachesgooner says:

    I shout at the telly, don’t you rico?

  127. Rasputin says:

    My telly cowers in the corner when the footie is on…and the cat runs up a tree!

  128. avenell says:

    I’m back!!

    When we won the penalty shootout last week I sounded like Lassie from “porkies” lol..

  129. rico01 says:

    peaches – i sure do, and i seem to be able to use a whole different language for 90 odd minutes – most strange 😉

  130. rico01 says:

    Anyone know anything about mobile phones ??

    Nokia N85 or the Nokia 6210 ?? I have not got a clue 🙂

  131. avenell says:

    Do you sound a bit like that rico? 😉

  132. JonJon says:

    ive smashed 3 tv screens this year already.

  133. rico01 says:

    Lassie ave – i know i am mad, but not barking 😉

  134. peachesgooner says:

    Its very liberating – I can’t bring myself to swear when I’m at a game, too much of a lady, but behind closed doors I find I suddenly have a lexicon of words that I would never dream of using 😆

  135. rico01 says:

    Spot-On peaches, home is a very different enviroment 😆

    ave – i am not going there 🙄

  136. peachesgooner says:

    …….I tried, its not working 😦 ……………

  137. avenell says:

    That word environment causes me servere stress, I had signwritten 3 vans with it on. When the chap went to pay me, it was spelt differently on the buisness cheque.
    panic!!!

    Luckily between the owner of the vans and the bank it was spelt wrong on the cheque.. 😦

  138. avenell says:

    Peaches I made it up.. another j*k*.. 😦

  139. peachesgooner says:

    ave – did you frighten all the boys away?

  140. avenell says:

    I’m beginning to think this site works better without me. 😦

  141. rico01 says:

    mme- where did that come from ave

    so we all know not a lot about mobiles 😦

  142. avenell says:

    My mobile is covered in welding sparks and the screen is covered in overspray. The battery is knackered and everyone who phones sounds like they own a whippet.. 🙂

  143. peachesgooner says:

    What do you want to know rico?

  144. rico01 says:

    ave – thats cool, i will look for that model, maybe i will just type in Google ‘ mobile phone welding whippet’ 😉

  145. peachesgooner says:

    Those must be new designer features ave 😉

  146. rico01 says:

    Which one to get peaches – Nokia N85 or 6210

    I dont want to get ripped off by some dodgy salesman in the phone shop 😉

  147. peachesgooner says:

    Thats very funny rico 😆

  148. avenell says:

    If you google it you will get jonjon’s dog..

  149. peachesgooner says:

    Do you have a contract or pay as you go?

  150. London says:

    Every one who phones sounds like that own a whippet. Lol

  151. avenell says:

    Hi london.. If you had of let me know last night I could have nicked that ticket off you.. It will take 5 hours to get there at least now.. can you give us a shout for another day?

  152. avenell says:

    I’m out for half hour!! tata..

  153. peachesgooner says:

    wow rico, they both look really nice and there doesn’t seem to be much between them. See how they feel in your hand. My phones have to live in my pocket so I like them to be light-weight and slim.

    They are both push-up openers – difficult to text I always find, depends how much texting you do.

  154. JonJon says:

    has anyone seen the setanta advert for the newcastle game yet????

    i swear that was my bedroom as a kid

  155. peachesgooner says:

    London – did you see I commented on your Boltburn 😆

  156. rico01 says:

    peaches – you are a star, thank you. Like you light weight is a must as they live in my pocket too, i dont text a lot really and the one i have is a slide which i get on well with.

    I am on contract, but would like a more modern phone and i am well overdue an upgrade. what I love though is a good camera so i can snatch a photo anywhere and the N85 has a better camera i think – but is a little heavier – gosh, I thought it was only washing machines and dishwashers that were hard to make a decision on 😉

    Mind you, I struggle choosing new Welly Boots 😉

  157. peachesgooner says:

    ……..thats cos welly boots are very important 😆

    I’m rubbish at choosing anything, basically I like a choice of one – shopping for me is a nightmare!!!! I’m actually a dream girlfriend/wife cos I only spend money on going to Arsenal 😆

  158. London says:

    Peaches

    Yes, I saw your comment I am still walking around asking myself why I didn’t think off that? oh well….

  159. peachesgooner says:

    …..and plants and food, have to get the priorities right 😉

  160. peachesgooner says:

    London – heres how it goes – as I’m clearly the slowest to the joke, consider ‘Will peaches get it?’ run it by any 8year old and if they get it I probably will too 😆

  161. JonJon says:

    lol

  162. rico01 says:

    I think it is a good job I dont live in London, as I think my money would be spent on our fine club too – I am a food and animals money waster – and i love it, and of course, stuff for the garden – I am cross as the snow and frost this year seems to have had a bad affect on the Kumquat and Lemon tree we have 😦 They are not very big, but the lemons are really nice

  163. Rasputin says:

    Going back to an earlier topic – are you Rico Heyhoe Flint? 😉

  164. rico01 says:

    Rasp – Not quite, she wasn’t that good 😉

  165. Rasputin says:

    I think we should form an avenell road cricket team – a bit like the Lord’s Taverners….we could play charity invitation games all over the country against the hooray henry’s. Rico for captain – ave for wickie!

  166. peachesgooner says:

    rico – have you got the lemon and Kumquat on a south facing wall? You’re very lucky to get fruit. I didn’t realise Reading was in the Gulf stream 🙂

  167. rico01 says:

    peaches – Both are in pots on the patio, we have had them for two years, last year we didnt get any kumquat, but we did get lemons. I dont know about the south facing, but they do get the sun most of the day, when it shines 😉 Hopefully a bit of food and tlc will bring them back to life 😉 We have a grape ‘vine’ along the fence, which really gives a lot of fruit, sadly though our little blackbirds eat them before we get chance 😦

    Gulf Stream 😛

  168. rico01 says:

    peaches – are we getting it very wrong with them, we were lead to believe they need sun and lots to drink ?

  169. avenell says:

    A.V.E Knott.. 😉

  170. peachesgooner says:

    I suggested a south-facing wall because they are both a bit tender and that aspect provides them with protection. Everything needs water when its in a pot so keep watering and give them some high potassium K fertiliser.

  171. rico01 says:

    Thanks peaches, i am really grateful for your advice, i wasnt born with green fingers really, well not for plants, i am not too bad with veg 😛

  172. Rasputin says:

    Potassium K = tautology…I can be picky too 😆

    Green fingers help with the offspin Rico – mind you AVE Knott would have to be on top form behind the sticks!

  173. rico01 says:

    Rasp – that is gross!! 😉

  174. avenell says:

    i would struggle to get my hands on one of rico’s “googly’s”.. 😉

  175. Rasputin says:

    Not to mention the bouncers 😉

  176. avenell says:

    I could handle a full toss.. 😦 gone to far this time.. 😦

  177. rico01 says:

    Oi – I am still here you know 😉

    peaches – where are you, keep these boys in check 😉

  178. rico01 says:

    Yes ave, you have stepped over the boundary !! ;P

  179. Rasputin says:

    You sure know how to bowl a maiden over!…..I quite like fielding in the slips myself….. Oo er missus! its ‘Carry on down Avenell Road’

  180. avenell says:

    Is it best to come around the wicket or over the wicket?.. 😉

  181. Rasputin says:

    Ave – have you noticed you can’t buy a box in extra large for love nor money?

  182. Rasputin says:

    I like to keep it in the crease….. 😆

  183. Rasputin says:

    We’d better stop now….what would someone who has just visited the site think of us 🙂

  184. peachesgooner says:

    Hey Mr Picky – you can shove your tautology, I was just being helpful 😆

  185. avenell says:

    Experts on bowling Techniques I would hope ras.. 🙂

  186. rico01 says:

    If you boys are not careful, you will both end up with very swollen silly mid off’s 😉

    And a short, not so fine leg 😉

  187. rico01 says:

    You will get more than a bit of swing on your ball, shiney or not shiney …. 😛

  188. peachesgooner says:

    ave – a blue day was always on the cards – vinegar strokes n’all 😉

  189. Rasputin says:

    I never get any complaints about the middle stump – oops…retired hurt 😦

  190. avenell says:

    Peaches it was a test to see who the ladies were..

    i’m sure you had to ask.. 😉

  191. JonJon says:

    LMAO guys

    fellas youve had me in creases 😉

  192. avenell says:

    I was only the third man in all this jonjon, don’t blame me..

  193. peachesgooner says:

    ave – google were very helpful 🙂

  194. Rasputin says:

    Got to break for lunch now – but there’s another 60 overs before kick off – don’t play without me or I’ll knock your bails off…….

  195. avenell says:

    Hows the three kids Peaches? has the one in the states phoned you?

  196. rico01 says:

    😦 I didnt even get it

  197. rico01 says:

    Ah – thats what it means – Google has helped me to !!

    How thick and stupid do i feel 😦

  198. avenell says:

    Sorry rico.. that is comment of the day.. I’m crying now! 🙂

  199. peachesgooner says:

    Clearly its boy thing – I googled it cos I thought it was bound to be a musical reference 🙂

    …….and then he went back to bed 😆

  200. peachesgooner says:

    😳

  201. rico01 says:

    thanks peaches – i googled as i thought it was to do with food – (real food ave!!)

    I think you are right peaches, a boy thing 😛

    Any comment in particular ave, or do i assume the one about not getting it ?? …. 😉

  202. Rasputin says:

    It brings music to my ears 🙂

  203. rico01 says:

    Saying that, I only googled because i didnt know what you guys were on about 😦

  204. avenell says:

    Rico I assumed everyone got it, especially after you commented on the Dr Wenger bit this morning..

  205. peachesgooner says:

    rasp – you are rascal of the highest order 😆

    Out for a bit, catch up later.

    Be gooood ave 😉

  206. rico01 says:

    No ave, honest, I didnt – I just read it and carried on with your post….

  207. rico01 says:

    Have a good time peaches, if i dont catch you later, have a good time at the match – 5-1

  208. Rasputin says:

    Good name for a band….Avenell Road and the vinegarettes

  209. avenell says:

    Thanks peaches..

    Rico..
    I was going to make it more obvious and write after the season went limp Dr wenger prescribed viagra in the shape of arshavin to stiffen up the attack..

  210. avenell says:

    We could play in the chip shop opposite the ground.. 😉

  211. avenell says:

    Highbury.. I forgot we have moved.. 🙂

  212. rico01 says:

    peaches is right ave – you are one big rascal 😛

    got some stuff to catch up and an episode of Loose Women, see you all in a short while

    ave – another MRI looms for me 😦

  213. avenell says:

    be brave my rico.. x

    catch you later, try to get on before the game..

  214. rico01 says:

    ave – its not today, i have had my letter today saying that my consultant is sending me for one 😦

    CL drw is Friday at 10.45

    Talking of Highbury – did you ever go to the Mexican restaurant very near to the ground, it did all food half price between 5-7pm on a saturday ? I used to go there after the game to allow the crowds to go, and usually would drink to many bottles of Nastro Azzurro with my meal, it was lovely

  215. avenell says:

    No, just the chippie opposite Finsbury Park..

    That Nastro Azzurro is another name for an italian beer we don’t drink on here isn’t it.. .. lol..

    If you want a chat.. 😉

  216. rico01 says:

    its different i think ave, it wasnt spelt with a P, i think it is a different brand, I may even have the name wrong, woops, ianother topic i know nothing about 😉

    I have moved on from that beer anyway as my legs give way when i drink it – I prefer the stella 4% of becks vier – or a glass of dry french white, or italian rose that is 2.99 at Lidil 😛

  217. rico01 says:

    Thanks ave – i am not good at burdening others with stuff, but that is very kind of you..

  218. Big Raddy says:

    Rico. I really hope all goes well for you.

    Just couple of hours to kick off and I feel strangely relaxed. Not a good sign. No PMT. I haven’t even had my first tipple of the day, and the sun is well past the yard-arm. Must be the Arshavin effect.

    Bolleaux …. I am going to try a South African White. I am too old to face a Cup tie totally sober !

  219. Big Raddy says:

    And Rico. Sharing ones problems is not burdening. Is it burdening when one of your friends shares their anxieties with you? …. No …. I thought not.

  220. avenell says:

    hi radders.. what do you think the score will be as you are mr confident tonite?

  221. rico01 says:

    Hello again all,

    Raddy, thank you, you have always struck me as a kind hearted man – accept when you told me off once on LG 😉
    My health is a boring subject really, well, I am bored of it anyway 😦

    Moving on swiftly – South African White, now you are talking Raddy – as long as its a dry one?

    I honestly think we are heading towards better times, and a big win is on the cards tonight so I predict
    we will win

    1-0 😛

    I went into Lidil earlier to get a bottle of Zinfandel Rose and in the next queue was a lady and her Ma – the lady was wearing a lovely navy blue jacket – it must have cost an arm and a leg….

    Why rico, I hear you all ask?

    It had a lovely red and white crest on the front and a very subtle The Gunners on the arm i think – that in its self put the price up 🙂

    Needless to say we chatted and have challenged eachother on who can shout the loudest later. Funny enough, we will never know as I havent a clue who she was, but she was indeed a Gooner 😛

  222. avenell says:

    Hi rico its nita, I am not allowed to go to lidl and especially when we had a merc – ave calls it a ‘pikey’ shop (but I sneak, because I too like the vino they sell!!!) and the clubcard thing drives him crazy. Nita x

  223. Big Raddy says:

    Rico.

    I am going for an easy 2-0.

    And I really cannot imagine I told you off. Are you sure it was me ? If it was ….. May I take this opportunity to profusely apologise.

  224. rico01 says:

    Hi Nita – what a snob that man of yours is 😉
    Its not a ‘pikey’ shop, its a ‘Polish’ shop 😉 its an experience, and they sell good wine for good prices – give him a telling off – Its really nice that you are on here, and I have all the clubcards that i can … Tee hee 😛 x

    Off to eat dinner before footie, wont be long

  225. avenell says:

    What sort of polish do they sell then.. Mr Sheen, Kiwi or simonize? 😉

  226. rico01 says:

    ave – i just knew you would come back with something like that………

    Its Pledge – The no smear polish, you need to do more housework!! 😉

    NITA HELP HIM 😛

  227. avenell says:

    Hi rico I am off out for a chinese with a friend for her 40th birthday, leaving ave with milly all tucked up in bed and 6 cans of the stella. You get used to him, he is lovable really!!! Hope they win and its good viewing, post again tomorrow Nita x

  228. rico01 says:

    Have a lovely evening Nita – til tomorrow x 😛

  229. rico01 says:

    I have finally realised which player stops us playing football

    Its Robin and it saddens me to say that 😦

  230. rico01 says:

    WAKE UP ARSENAL !!

  231. rico01 says:

    Studs in the air on Theo, good tackle say the tv pundits – beggars belief !!

  232. rico01 says:

    its getting a little better

  233. rico01 says:

    i bloody well dont like Mr Arrogant Phil Brown – oh i am sitting in the seats until we score…. ffffpppffffgggrrrr

  234. rico01 says:

    Oh – and Riley is a wanker !! Sorry ave, but he is !!

  235. avenell says:

    haha That’s the second worse swear word that I have ever seen you type.. 😉

  236. rico01 says:

    ave – what was the worse 😉

    I am going to bed, i am not going to blog or watch anymore tonight, it seems when i dont we win, and boy i want us to win so – nighty night all, be safe and hopefully i will awake to some very good news at 11pm tonight 😉

  237. avenell says:

    You will miss a Bendtner brace.. I promise.. 🙂

  238. Big Raddy says:

    Not going according to plan so far……

    Come on you Reds !!

  239. rico01 says:

    woop woop, how lucky were we

    Nighty night 😉

  240. kelsey says:

    Mike Riley, reture please.
    We won ugly but so what.
    vela is not ready to start.
    AA is pure class and isn’t even fit.
    Djorou was pityful.
    gibbs solid performance and good crosser
    RVP pops up,right foot again,after a very poor game.
    Diaby was useless tonight.

    Anyway,we are at Wembley and let’s hope thing progress.we need better cover for Tour/Gallas, and a few other tweaks,thats all.

  241. kelsey says:

    Fabregas spat at brian horton,allegedly !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  242. avenell says:

    Ban him for 3 games then lol..

    You won’t hear the last of this Kelsey.. It’s arsenal don’t forget..

  243. Big Raddy says:

    That wasn’t a lucky result Rico. We completely hammered them.

    Hit the woodwork twice, clearance off the line. At least 3 easy chances missed, and a severely dodgy Ref. Plus their goal was a massive stroke of luck.

    No… we won, and deservedly so.

    AA was superb. Song played well, as did Gibbs.

    Only real disappointment was Vela, but this was not his type of game. We stepped up two gears when Bendtner came on, due to his powerplay.

    Rico… you must be warming to the Great Dane ..

  244. avenell says:

    I have never seen mr wenger obe behave like that in an interview.. stressed or what?

  245. Big Raddy says:

    You are right Ave. No-one says a thing when Rooney gobs on people., but IF (a big if) one of ours does it – then a long ban is in order.

  246. Big Raddy says:

    Like what Ave ??

    Not all of us have Setanta …

  247. kelsey says:

    just seen a replay of cesc walking onto the pitch at the end, no where near horton,it’s all bollocks.

  248. Big Raddy says:

    Why would Brown say it Kelsey?

    I know the man is an odious fool, but he must be sure to state it to the cameras. If it is lies, the Arsenal should push for a disrepute charge, You can’t slander a player like that.

  249. Big Raddy says:

    Plus Hull got 5 bookings tonight, and should have had more. The FA should question their tactics…

  250. avenell says:

    They got 6 bookings according to setanta..

    Wenger obviously knew something was going on, he couldn’t stand still and when they showed him the goal he said “gallas got fouled as well did you see that?”

    Jonjon has been on the blower and said bendtner is crap.. 🙂

  251. London says:

    Ahh Thank you Kelsey, so it was all nonsense about Cesc?

  252. Phil Brown thought he was off too Wembley 😀

    Repulsive git, defamtion of the highest order, cesc should sue.

  253. London says:

    What’s all this about not shaking hands?

  254. he looked twice but brown was not coming over, so he went to the dressing room.

    rightly so.

  255. Big Raddy says:

    He must have been on the alcopops again !

  256. very bad losers tonight hull.

    hope they get relegated, phil brown blew it tongiht, that is hull well and truly sunk.

  257. avenell says:

    Stringfellow how are you buddy? 🙂

    London anything going on in that creative dept of yours.? 😉

  258. London says:

    Evening SFH did you go to the game?

  259. evening, ave – very well mate, been incredibily busy of late. great to see the blog flourishing with daily posts. Keep it up lads.

    London, no mate, watched with the missus at home, one hell of a roller coaster of emotions… i think my language and general behaviour throughout the 90 mins has actually disturbed err indoors and she has retired to the bedroom.

  260. avenell says:

    Craig Burley was his usual unbiased self..

    I really could do with a fight at the minute.. lol..

  261. 😆 join a fight club

  262. peachesgooner says:

    Hi all, I’m just in, whats all this about cesc?

  263. avenell says:

    Hi justin.. 😉

  264. peachesgooner says:

    Thats me, Justin, am I free to blog?

  265. London says:

    Kelsey reckons it’s nonsense.

  266. peachesgooner says:

    So, nobody wants to talk to me……..

  267. London says:

    What is the date of the semi?

  268. avenell says:

    Arsene Wenger insists he has been left shocked by Hull City’s accusations that their assistant manager Brian Horton was spat at by Gunners star Cesc Fabregas.Arsenal booked their place in the semi-finals of the FA Cup with a 2-1 win over the Tigers, but the game was marred by tension on the touchline after the final whistle.Hull boss Phil Brown was left seething at the behaviour of the Arsenal players and manager, while he also alleged that Fabregas spat at the feet of Horton.

    But when asked whether he was worried about Horton making a complaint to the Football Association, Wenger replied: “No frankly.

    “It’s completely new to me. I don’t know about it all. I was quite relaxed and I don’t know what to say.

    “It comes as a complete surprise.I don’t know anything about it.”

  269. avenell says:

    April 18th London…

  270. peachesgooner says:

    Just spoke to rasps daughter who said there was trouble in the tunnel – well I watched our players go off the pitch and it didn’t look like they were looking for a fight – something must have kicked off!!!

    That ref was a discrace – but hey we won, I love it when we win ugly 🙂

  271. avenell says:

    Where’s rasp down the rest and welcome I suppose drinking real ale.. ?

  272. peachesgooner says:

    Hes more likely tucked up in bed now ave. Are you writing the post tomoro?

  273. avenell says:

    tbh peaches.. I don’t really know..lol..

    Do you fancy one, one day?

  274. London says:

    Ave I’m writing something. Up until just 5 minutes ago I was very worried but something is coming.

  275. London says:

    Have Saturday Peaches be my guest.

  276. peachesgooner says:

    …..oh no not more Vinegar Strokes…………..:lol:

  277. peachesgooner says:

    ……………. 😆

  278. peachesgooner says:

    Oh no boys, I couldn’t possibly, you guys are all doing a great job 😉

  279. peachesgooner says:

    You know that hat-trick that nikki didn’t get tnite

    😆 😆 😆

  280. avenell says:

    You are taking advantage of london whilst he is in his phone box..!

  281. London says:

    I’m feeling a bit happier. I had envisaged a thrashing and had the post in my head. It was a bit annoying having to completely rethink every thing.

  282. peachesgooner says:

    ooooh does he do that superman thing 🙂

    Wembley is such a rip-off, us and the chavs will receive 32,000 tickets each – doesn’t it seat 90,000? Thats an awful lot of prawn sandwiches……..:(

  283. peachesgooner says:

    London, it can’t really be annoying to re-think a post that was about a defeat to one thats about a win 🙂

  284. London says:

    Ave Im quite embarassed to say this but I don’t know what vinigar strokes means.

  285. avenell says:

    He is lawrie anderson uh, uh, uh, uh. 😉

  286. peachesgooner says:

    ha ha ha best post today, heres the link

    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=vinegar%20strokes

  287. peachesgooner says:

    ave – you are a legend 😆

  288. avenell says:

    please stop i’m waking everyone up!!!!

  289. peachesgooner says:

    I think I probably shouldn’t be here when London gets back 🙂

    I didn’t know either London, I googled it cos I thought it was a musical reference. What I discovered fairly hit me in the eye 😆

  290. London says:

    I’m completely lost. Who?

  291. peachesgooner says:

    Enough sillyness from me – I have to go to bed, night night chaps, catch you in the morning xx

  292. avenell says:

    Goodnite peaches..

  293. avenell says:

    London.. read peaches link.. second explanation down then re read the post.. 😉

  294. London says:

    Ohhh I see. Well I didn’t know.

    Ok I’m getting tired I will start again at 7. I will post it a 9 unless I hear other wise. Good night.

  295. avenell says:

    Good night buddy.. I will look forward to it..

  296. kelsey says:

    Good Morning,
    I clearly belong to the early morning shift.Can’t wait for the NEW POST as i have a lot to say.

  297. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters,

    Last night I was feeling a sense of relief as I walked away from the gaem – this morning I just feel angry. Phil Brown and Brian Horton are just a couple of bitter bad losers. Horton spent most of the game on the edge of the technical area shouting like a demented psycho and once we equalised, Phil Brown came out and started trying to wind up the fans – and probably the bench of players. He was gesticulating towards the fans in a way that could have been interpreted as ‘talking to himself’ but it was clear what he was trying to do. I was 20 yards so I saw all this at close hand. They got 5 deserved yellow cards and since they started time wasting early in the first half as soon as they go the goal, I can safely say that justice was done even though it wasn’t pretty to watch. It would be a travesty if somehow Cesc gets a ban of any kind for the alleged spitting incident. Brown could equally be incited for inciting unrest amongst our fans.

  298. Rasputin says:

    On a footballing note – the diminutive Arshavin was exciting every time he got on the ball. Theo worked hard and stayed wide to send in crosses to no-one! in the first half. I don’t see what Diaby brings to the team. He was ponderous, lacking in ideas and often slowed the game and passed backwards. We came to life when Nasri and particularly Nik came on. Whatever you say about his missed chances, his link up play is good, he gets into excellent positions and his physical presence is improving. He brings balance to the midfield / attack.

  299. Rasputin says:

    I may as well get my hat-rick of rants – I hope Hull go down and its a pity we can’t purge the prem of these non-footballing sides and lump Boltburn, Middlesborough and Stoke with them. W Brom actually try to play football – its a shame they don’t have the quality.

  300. kelsey says:

    Well said Rasputin,especially the 3 rd.post.

  301. Rasputin says:

    Morning kelsey – I should have saved my comments for the new post, but I needed to get it off my chest! We pay good money to watch football in the best club stadium in the country only to have teams turn up and make the beautiful game look like a dismal spectacle….

  302. peachesgooner says:

    Morning rasp thats a catalogue of rants!!!

    Too often the press put us in the ‘bad sportsmen bracket’ but I hope I never see Arsene behave in the same way as Phil Brown did last night.

    Clearly Hull had come to win the game and it was a proper cup-tie. They didn’t allow us to settle at all and chased down every ball. Rasp has mentioned their time-wasting tactics and to think that the ref didn’t book their goalie until late in the game was ridiculous.

    The introduction of Nik and Nasri brought some much needed class – Diaby was having a poor game, I don’t see how he fits into the team, he can win the ball, he can dribble but more often than not he can’t find a pass or dwells too long and it gets nicked off his toe.

  303. peachesgooner says:

    Morning kelsey – r u ok? You disappeared yesterday after I asked about Ben.

    Wasn’t nice viewing last night was it?

    I always knew we’d score though 🙂

  304. Rasputin says:

    There’s talk again of a new European super league – but I’ve got a better idea. We should create a new English sub-league where they play a new game called thugball. That twat Allan Brazil has said this morning that Cesc is guilty because good old ‘salty of the earth, Brian Horton wouldn’t make it up – were you there yourself Brazil you utter *!£$%*& *&^hole….

  305. Rasputin says:

    I’d better slow down typing – too many mistakes…..the trouble is I have the brain of Bergkamp and the fingers of Eboue 😉

  306. peachesgooner says:

    ……..very funny ras, brain of Bergkamp – fingers of eboue 😆

  307. Big Raddy says:

    lol Rasputin

  308. Big Raddy says:

    I am so lucky that I don’t get the analysis of the games, nor the Setanta commentary. From what you write, it must be awful.

    I haven’t seen Brown’s statement, but I would expect him to retract what he said last night. He must have woken up this morning and reflected on a very poor interview. BUT that would require a modicum of self-awareness, and contrition, neither of which are Mr Brown’ strong points.

    Thank Goodness Mr Arsene Wenger OBE has the grace to behave as a gentleman.

  309. Rasputin says:

    True Raddy, generally teams that play thugball have thugs for managers. A guy like Steve Bruce shows that you can be a hard but fair player and a hard but fair manager.

  310. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters..

    London if you are around?

  311. peachesgooner says:

    Morning Raddy

    I expect Hull were really peeved not to have won, their supporters were singing for ages that they were going to wembley – always a bad thing to do I feel.

    I do feel quite strongly that the semis shouldn’t be played at Wembley – playing at Wembley should be the prize for being in the final.

  312. peachesgooner says:

    Morning ave

  313. Big Raddy says:

    I agree Peaches. Wembley should be special.

  314. Rasputin says:

    I agree, but its all about money isn’t it Peaches – Wembley need the revenue apparently…

  315. kelsey says:

    If you look at Phil Brown closely he is THE DEVIL just add a pair of spiked up ears.

    Yet again we can’t put 2 decent games together and what is the point of Diaby hoofing the ball up to a pair of midgets.Gibbs really impressed and in fact on present form is a better option than Clichy.Gibbs can really cross a ball.Diaby,what can I say,I call him the enigma,and yesterday he showed his skill and wastefulness moments after each other.Djorou with either Gallas or toure doesn’t work,he is another “work in progress”AA is absolute clas and he isn’t fit,should have bought him last summer.Vela isn’t ready and is too small for the physical teams up North.RVP disapointed me especially in the first half,yet Song had another reasonable game.maybe luck is now on our side,but why do we literally fall out of the stalls so often.My thoughts on Brown and his motley crew are unprintqable on this site,and Mike Riley tried his best to spoil the game.However Wembley here we come 🙂

  316. rico01 says:

    Morning All – Phew 😉

  317. London says:

    New post…at last..press..home

  318. peachesgooner says:

    Hi kelsey

    I forgot to mention Gibbs – I love it when he drives into the box and has a shot. Clichy needs to realise that he has competition for his place 😦

  319. avenell says:

    peaches new post.. that would have been podium.. 😉

Leave a Reply

