“We’re on our way, we’re on our way.”

colosseum_03

For years, around this time, if someone had asked me where the final of the Champions League was being held I would not have been able to tell them, even though, Arsenal may still have been in the competition. It always seemed unnecessary information. Perhaps this was the pessimist in me as I never expected us to reach the final and so knowing where it was going to be played seemed irrelevant. In fact, even in the 2005/2006 season when I went to Madrid and witnessed the first ever English team to win at the Bernabéu I still didn’t know where the final would be played later that year. This all changed shortly after with the creation of our great song. If you were lucky enough to go to Villarreal and have your heart torn out when they were awarded a penalty in the last minute, followed by unbridled joy as Jens saved it, then you, like me, sang your heart out for the rest of the night. “Way, we’re on our way, we’re going to Paris we’re on our way”.

This song, as we all know, has become so popular that it is sung from round one onwards with only the minor alteration of last year’s host city being replaced by this year’s. It is difficult to imagine, nowadays, that there are many, like I used to be, who are unaware of where the Champion’s final is being held; but, just in case: Rome…Wednesday the 27th of May. Keep it in your diary..because “Way, we’re on our way, we’re going to Roma we’re on our way”.

Tonight may turn out to be the defining match of our season. With the walking wounded steadily returning, some at a canter and some at a sprint Wenger finds himself in the enjoyable position of having selection problems. There are, of course, the absolute certainties; for example, Almunia: whether you think he is our best choice between the sticks is a debate for a later time, but tonight he will be in goal. Sagna: Wenger obviously has so much faith in his athleticism that he had no qualms about playing him for 90 minutes against Burnley. Toure: back from injury, if you believe that you will believe anything; he was rested for tonight. Gallas: As some clever person said last night “I thought that Chiellini was supposed to be the muts nuts, give me Gallas any day of the week”. Clichy: certainty. Now, Wenger could play Walcott but I think he will opt for Eboue; Roma will come onto us and we will need to contain them early on. We can bring on Walcott later when the game opens up. Denilson: was rested especially for this game. Diaby: if the double D can reproduce what they did at the Emirates we will win tonight. Nasri: although wasted out left he still adds a little bit more defensively than Vela. RVP: It’s show time for the boy wonder again. Bendtner: I expect him to play ahead of Eduardo. If I am wrong, I will be just as happy; although, I expect the Crozilian to be brought on if we need a fox in the box later on in the game. 1-1 we scrape through.

———Almunia

Sagna,Toure,Gallas,Clichy

Eboue,Denilson,Diaby,Nasri

——RVP,  Bendtner

By London..


289 Responses to “We’re on our way, we’re on our way.”

  1. rico01 says:

    First again 😉

  2. rico01 says:

    Hey London – good stuff my friend 😛

    I think we will win 2-1

  3. London says:

    Ahhhh relief. I’m going swimmimg.

  4. avenell says:

    Morning London..

    We have already posted one with that heading.. probably why peeps remeber it..
    I have still to clean this up a bit.. I will chat later..

    Morning Rico and Rasp..

  5. rico01 says:

    Hi Ave, have a good morning, I got to go and see my dear old mum, so catch you after lunch – great day ahead Roadsters

  6. avenell says:

    Cheers rico.. you too. speak soon..

  7. kelsey says:

    Nice post,agree with the team except i believe eduardo will start for bedntner and don’t rule out song,but for who I am not sure.

  8. Big Raddy says:

    Carpe Deum…..

    We can do this, I have a good feeling for tonight. It doesn’t really matter who plays in midfield if we can get an early goal. I hope AW sticks to his word and attacks from the kick off.

    I would however play Ecuardo and not Nik. as we may only get two or three chances during thae match.

  9. Big Raddy says:

    Morning Kelsey.

    Hope you are not too lonely, and were able to make your own breakfast !

  10. London says:

    Morning Ave

    Nice lay out, I’m off.

  11. JonJon says:

    nice one london

    are you saying im a clever person??? 😉

  12. avenell says:

    Morning Kelsey..

    I can see him starting Bendtner because he was rested on Sunday..
    I think it’s to early for Theo to start too, otherwise the team is starting to look good, I wouldn’t believe I would have said that without Fabregas in the side.

  13. JonJon says:

    agreed raddy

    dudu starts, we need to score early to releive the pressure, nik will take all night

  14. Big Raddy says:

    Fine post London.

  15. Rasputin says:

    Nice post London – suitably cautious and appropriately optimistic 😉

    Have you noticed something strange is happening to our fortunes this season….we are ‘righting our wrongs’. So far we have paid back Hull for having the audacity to beat us at the Emirates and will finish the job next week; Eduardo has returned after exactly a year and had an equally positive effect on our fortunes to the negative effect that his injury had last season; after we beat Roma tonight, I’d love to draw pool and knock them out – their luck has to run out….the refs seem to give them every decision!

  16. London says:

    Very clever Jonjon. I liked that comment it hit the nail on the head.

  17. kelsey says:

    It’s not football related,but i mentioned my son had acute glandular fever having been diagonosed earlier in the day with tonsilitis.my wife flew in yesterday lunchtime and the boy was so ill she demanded the doctor reasseess the situation.i might add that the doctor had the blood test results the night before, but wasn’t able to be contacted until the following day.My wife went crazy and went to the surgery where she found the doctor,and as my boy was so dehydarated they took him straight to the local hospital,put him on a drip and various other medications,and thankfully he was a lot perkier late last night.The doctor told my wife that he had thought maybe my boy should go to hospital,but dismissed it.that is the state of the NH service in a good part of london.Hopefully he will regain his strength and will be home soon.Sorry to bore you,but the incompetence is unbelievable,that 2 different doctors couldn’t see the symptoms and help required until they were bullied into action.

  18. avenell says:

    That picture at the top looks like the emirates after a RvP free kick session.. 😉

  19. kelsey says:

    Here’s a strange fact.Our unbeaten run of 15 or so games has been achieved without cesc,work that one out.

    Premenition time,beat hull and roma and then face the chjavs twice,has a familiar ring to it.

  20. Big Raddy says:

    Kelsey.

    It is a horror story, but are you really surprised? The NHS only really works once one is in hospital; Then (in most cases) it works admirably. However, the doctors are under pressure NOT to send patients to the totally overwhelmed hospitals.

    I wish your son a speedy recovery

  21. avenell says:

    Kelsey the NHS.. sent my old dad home from a minor op.. next day he went to the docs saying he wasn’t well, they sent him home again.
    That night he was having seizures and my mum saved his life, but he broke the outer joint of his hip and now cannot walk..
    That was just before christmas..
    It’s fucked mate..

  22. rico01 says:

    Dudu would be my starter thats for sure, Nik is better coming from the bench for the last minute or two 😉 (sorry)

    Ave, thats funny, and no doubt the last bit standing is the area between the posts!

  23. rico01 says:

    I am not going to get started on the NHS – thats mainly due to me being on a waiting list…..

    kelsey, will your wife take your son back to Spain when he is strong enough, or does he have to stay in the UK?

  24. kelsey says:

    It’s the group doctors practice that is at fault.They give you less than 5 minutes,won’t even house visit if needed,and are generally unhelpful.We always go private,but when hasn’t been registered yet.raddy,you are right once in hospital he was taken care of.Rico, the expect a 6/8 week lay off so hopefully he will come over for a couple of weeks in about 10 days time.

  25. avenell says:

    I thought you was off out rico.. I said my farewells and everything.. 🙂

  26. rico01 says:

    That will be good for him, bit of sunshine and pampering will perk him up kelsey,

    ave, i was but got delayed for a while, you know what we women are like 😉

    but i am off now 😉

  27. London says:

    Kelsey

    I am sorry to hear about your son’s illness but pleased that he has perked up. I cannot imagine the relief that must be.

    I’m sure he supports the right team, a good win tonight, best medicine a boy can get.

  28. avenell says:

    That was quick London.. did you just jump in the canal and chase the jason trip boat up to the pirates castle and back? 😉

  29. London says:

    Hi Ave

    You have a great way of making people feel good on this blog. You are able to project a warmth through the internet. A skill I would like to have but have yet to master. It is a pleasure being on your and Jonjon’s site.

    I go to Porchester baths, do 20 lengths, have a coffee, and back.

  30. avenell says:

    London.. Thanks for that ..you are doing fine mate you have chilled out loads since you joined us..

    This is one of the reasons that I am reluctant to jump straight into newsnow, intoducing nice people in like chaf one or two a week may be a better way to go..

    That is also one of the reasons I want your ideas and views on avenell road.

  31. London says:

    On that subject, where is Chaf? What do you think the team will be tonight or what team would you like to see?

    Someone suggested that it would be better to play Gibbs over Clichy!!

  32. avenell says:

    I think the team will be what you have in the post..
    I would like to see dudu but I fear he was played for too long on sunday to start.
    It is a compliment to how far gibbs has come on that fans are happy with his inclusion.
    Also with gibbs snapping at his heels it should make clichy concentrate more on keeping his place which can only be good.

  33. rico01 says:

    Woop Woop, five hours to go, i am so excited…

  34. London says:

    Yep, we are on the same page. The way I see it is that Eduardo and Rvp are our most potent attacking combination and I would be extremely happy to see both their names on the team sheet tonight but I still get the feeling that, stamina wise, Eduardo isn’t ready yet.

    If we need a goal, late on, and we have them hemmed in; the question of stamina wil be irrelivant, we will need someone in the box who knows how to take their chances and no one takes their chances better than Eduardo.

  35. London says:

    Four hours and fifty five minutes now.

  36. chaf says:

    Hello London

    Firstly, a horror story Kelsey, 18 months ago my elderly Mum was at my house and was being sick, in the end I got an ambulance (at 11.30pm, saturday night, West Ham away 1-0 RVP)and they took her in, she was discharged at 6.00 am the next day. They said she had a chest infection. Two weeks later she died. It turned out that she had an internal bleeding ulcer.But she did have Alzheimer’s, so maybe it was a blessing in disguise.

    Tonight. I think the team should be as you said, but I don’t rate Diaby, Denilson or EE. But what can I do! Who is the guv’ner in midfield, who will dictate the play? I’d stick Nasri in the middle and play Song behind him. with EE on the right,(and Theo ready to replace him) and I suppose Diaby (searching here) on the left, (Ramsey looked a bit lost in Europe last time) and definately Eddy up front with RVP.
    Its really important not to let them score first. But until Fab and Rocky come back theres no one to look for. I suppose you’ve heard it all before…..
    By the way I went swimming as well today, and took in a bit of a steam as well!
    Hope everyone enjoys tonight….

  37. London says:

    Chaf

    That is a horrific story: the hospital not finding something as seemingly obvious as an internal bleeding ulcer. Scary. I am glad that you have found some way of rationalising it, rather than letting it tear you apart.

    Please don’t underestimate the value of your comments. They are all welcome.

    I hope you enjoy the game tonight.

  38. rico01 says:

    chaf – that is dreadful, a loss is hard enough let alone under such circumstances –

  39. rico01 says:

    4hrs 9 minutes – my word this is going slowly, if at 8pm we are 1-0 up, i will be over the moon, 😉

    But if at 10pm we have won 2-0 – i will be so so happy, and no doubt we will draw the dippers in the next round again should we go through ….

  40. chaf says:

    By the way looking back there, I said it was the team I’d like, not the team AW will pick..!

  41. rico01 says:

    I think Arsene will attack from the start and try to get the early goal, his i/v suggested he wants to play the way we all know – I reckon

    Almunia

    Bac Kolo Gallas Clichy

    Theo Song/Diaby Denilson Nasri

    RvP/Nik Dudu

  42. rico01 says:

    Its very quiet, so I am offski for a while, have a good evening guys, heres to a good win later 🙂

    Anyone seen or heard from peaches – she hasn’t been around much – if you are reading peaches, hope all is well

  43. avenell says:

    Hi everyone..

    Sorry to hear that story chaf!..

    Some better news.. for the roadsters, we have been lucky enough to have heen put in Arsenal News which is now featured in a widget box on the right. >>>
    He is supporting avenell road so we should return the favour..

  44. avenell says:

    Rico she was on last night.. she’s not okay though she’s been working.. lol
    Rasputin told me to say that.. 😉

  45. rico01 says:

    Thanks ave, catch you later 😛

  46. kelsey says:

    Hello again,

    funny how so many of us say the team we would pick not the team that actually appears.We don’t have to debate again about Eboue and Song,who both shouldn’t even start,but after the wonder third goal against Burnley,will the dreaded duo be given a lifelong Platinum card to always be selected.

    Well done Ave,recognition after such a short time.

    Apparently Boris Johnson was asked peaches to completely re landscape hampstead heath,so she may be busy.

    Ben should be home tomorrow,they have pumped him up,he is now no longer dehydrated,and needs 2 months off,and I am running out of food,and the dogs seem to be pleased they are not doing their twice daily 2 hour trek.

  47. kelsey says:

    has asked i mean

  48. avenell says:

    Glad Bens getting better mate..

    When I had it I could wring my bed sheets out every morning, it was one of the most uncomfortable things I have ever had.. and it took ages to finally get it out of the system..

    Do the supermarkets do home deliveries over there?

  49. kelsey says:

    chaf,
    sorry just read your comment.Death is so cruel,when so unexpected sometimes,my mother in law had alzeimer’s aswell,and was treated wose than an animal in her last days.

    We have a system on the Costa del Sol called Helicoptos Sanitarias,were for example you pay about 50 quid annually each per member of one’s family.If you have a nosebleed,flu or a suspected heart attack they come within 20 minutes,always 3 people and deal with the cae or if necessary transfer you to hospital.GB could do with such a system

  50. kelsey says:

    No avenell,
    but a friend of my wife has said she will get the necessary for me.You have places where you can order over the phone a three course meal,but I don’t trust them,I think they work as a third party earning the commission.

  51. Rasputin says:

    Hi roadsters,

    The usual pre-match nerves is making us all solemn – except Rico (she’s bouncing off the walls 😉 )

    If you want cheering up, ask me the answer to the question “What’s the difference between a bonus and a penis”- apologies to the easily offended 😦

  52. avenell says:

    “Who’s there?”

  53. kelsey says:

    Rasputin is it EBOUE 🙂

  54. Rasputin says:

    kelsey – that’s better than the real answer 😉

    You can get your missus to blow your bonus…..

  55. chaf says:

    Kelsey – yeah thanks, I’m pretty close to coming out to Spain for a year or so in September, its good to know all the little perks.

  56. kelsey says:

    What bonus 😉 Women have a knack of producing an item of clothing from their cupboard and you say “is that new,never seen it before” and always i get “Oh i bought it in the sale yonks ago,didn’t I tell you”.

    The other kind of bonus,i am well catered for,thank you very much 🙂

  57. avenell says:

    Oi chaf.. who’s that band your linked to? I like a bit of ska..

  58. Rasputin says:

    Blimey, its no wonder the stadium’s half empty – you’re all migrating to Spain – was it something I said 😆

  59. chaf says:

    Its called the Dance Brigade, its got Lee Thompson from Maddies in it and Jennie Bellestar singing, and a Brasilian jazz piano/accordianist etc, bit of a mixture..

  60. Rasputin says:

    kelsey – the conundrum of how women’s brains work is all explained here…..

  61. chaf says:

    Rasputin – my son has the season ticket more than me now

  62. avenell says:

    Are you involved in it chaf?

  63. chaf says:

    Yeah I write the tracks and produce it.

  64. avenell says:

    Nice one chaf!
    Are they touring at all I would quite like to see them?

    I am thinking of going to see the specials but they are not down this way..

  65. chaf says:

    Ave

    No touring at the mo, we’re all too old! Its more a ‘cartoon band’, if thats the right name. You can see it on
    http://www.myspace.com/thedancebrigade

    My career highlight was doing the matchday music for Arsenal TV this season, the Blackburn home game!

  66. Rasputin says:

    ave – I think the Worzels are touring down your way soon 😉

  67. kelsey says:

    It’s so weird that many of us on here are or were connected to the music business or landscape gardening.

    Chaf do you live in London or did you mention norfolk ?

  68. chaf says:

    They’d be more interesting than us. I saw them once at Caesars Palace in Dunstable!

  69. avenell says:

    Rasp .. unfortunatly it’s bloody true I think they are at plymouth pavillions lol..

    I’ll check it out chaf..

    I went to see “from the Jam” last year, I missed the Beat because I was working.

  70. kelsey says:

    Worzels, blimey.You remember the Troggs—-Wild thing and the lead singer,forget his name wrote the world wide hit for Wet,Wet.Wet, he lives down here and is big into those designs one finds on hills,like the white Horse.

  71. chaf says:

    Ave –

    I’m a North London man. And funny you should say that but most muso’s I know are gooners, theres loads sitting near us at the ground. Is there a lot of music biz on here then? No wonder everyone’s got a lot of time..

  72. kelsey says:

    Reg Presley was his name,not sure if it was real.Is presley a common surname in Andover.

  73. chaf says:

    Talking of old bands, the funniest thing I heard recently, was I have a mate in Norfolk, and advertised at the Pavilion (or whatever) in Hunstanton was;

    Saturday night, one night only

    Chas and Dave (Not the real Dave)

    and it actually said that on the poster

  74. avenell says:

    A couple worked in record shops in north london(tracks I think), “don’t quote me on that” lol, a few others have connections..

    I was just a labourer for some sound engineers for free beer down at the tollington on a sunday night..lol

  75. avenell says:

    And Chas’s dalmation bit me.. that’s another music connection haha

  76. Rasputin says:

    I played at the Tollington ave – and the Brecknock, The Hope and Anchor, The 100 club – all the seedy dives….

  77. avenell says:

    How long ago was you in the band ras?

  78. Rasputin says:

    eons ago ave – early 70’s

  79. avenell says:

    Glam rock to pond liners.. I bet that’s a story.. 😉

  80. chaf says:

    I played the 100 club last year, still a dive!! The Brecknock, wow I remember that, what sort of music Rasputin?

  81. Rasputin says:

    Actually I caught the end of the glam rock bit and had more success in the punk era! I now use safety pins to keep my troos up 😉

  82. London says:

    Where was the Brecknock?

  83. JonJon says:

    its almost time guys, ive already been to the shop and got my tins in the fridge and ive got my shirt shorts sox and slippers on and im ready for a battle.

    dudu has to start tonight, we need an expert finisher in the team, we need an away goal to make it easier on ourselves. dudu will give us that threat more than bendtner will.

  84. JonJon says:

    im more of a motown man myself, marvin gayes a legend. 😉

  85. chaf says:

    London- down the Camden Road, between Camden and Holloway Road

  86. Rasputin says:

    Brecknock Road – London, N7

  87. Rasputin says:

    I’m off to pick up my son from the station – catch up later muzo’s, gardeners and occasional gooners 🙂

  88. London says:

    I’m trying to stop myself from starting drinking too early. It’s difficult, I’m walking aimlessly around my house; I end up in the kitchen looking longingly at a really good bottle of red.

  89. avenell says:

    Jonjon we have just got accepted by arsenal news, not the one we discussed (widget bar) >>

    but now we have turned the place into a music blog.. lol

    It’s an Arsenal site guys.. 😉 haha

  90. JonJon says:

    get in, things are going smoothly, today arsenal, tomorrow the world.

  91. London says:

    I’ve heard of the Brecknock. I dont know why I never went to it.

    Damm it, I’m having a beer.

  92. London says:

    UUUmmmmm yummy beer

  93. JonJon says:

    dont fight it london, ride it out, just go with the flow, its a CL night, let your hair down fella. 😉

  94. JonJon says:

    there you go fella, you know it makes sense, im having one myself, 😉

  95. chaf says:

    Fasten your seat belts, and start the Jaws theme tune…

    Arsenal are music to the ears..

    Good luck, and London, leave the wine alone.

  96. avenell says:

    What is your beer of choice London.. I am on the Grolsch again.. after 7 though rules are rules..

    Rule 1..
    Only drink before 7 when on the “ride on”..

  97. chaf says:

    You bastards, I’m off the to the offo now…

  98. JonJon says:

    id of had a pack by 7 ave, 😉

  99. JonJon says:

    good man chaf, join the fun

  100. chaf says:

    Thanks JJ, Chaf is leaving the building….

  101. avenell says:

    While all the top blog writers are here.. who wants the post match post.. or we on a share?..
    I’ll leave it to you jj, london.. let me know..

  102. London says:

    I quite like Becks for the first two or three and then I turn into a beer whore and it’s any beer that is going really.

  103. kelsey says:

    sky just said rvp is playing as lone striker with Diaby tucked in behind.Eboue and song feature.No eduardo,bedntner or theo starting. Not confirmed,though.I think I will have a brandy and i don’t drink 🙂

  104. JonJon says:

    as you know ave, i like a good post match report. but i feel that londons post match reports are the mutts nuts,

    ive got an idea for a post this week, not match related, i had a thought at work yesterday and im going to work on it and develop it. it aint match related, so i dont mind if you or london write take this one . 😉

  105. avenell says:

    Sounds like arsene has been on the sherbet.. 😦
    I may have to break rule one or go into the shed and get the mower out lol..

  106. London says:

    Jonjon don’t you like that: who wants to do the post match report? I will leave it to London and Jonjon. Lol

    Ave, I said I will try. But as I also said take some notes because if I can’t, I can’t.

  107. avenell says:

    No worries jonjon..

    Your shout next London.. you can all see the careful planning that goes into this blog.. 😉

  108. avenell says:

    It’s all in my head london .. I have a Arsenal photographic mind..

    I’ll do it now..

  109. JonJon says:

    good man kelsey, join the lads.

    i seen that lineup too mate, to be honest i dont mind that lineup, as long as we take diaby and eboue out and stick dudu and theo in.

    id rather dudu start and theo come off the bench

    and i know im going to shock some of you with this comment but im warming to song.

    dont get me wrong i think hes been pants all season, up until recently anyway, but i never wanted him sold as such, same with denilson, its their first real season so im prepared to give them more time. song is actually getting better rather quickly, its alarmed me

    ade nikki and eboue can still sod off though. add senderos to that too and we have quite a kitty in summer to play with.

    jonjons tipsy already 😉

  110. kelsey says:

    and silvestre and bischoff and randall as well.

  111. avenell says:

    We was told by mr wenger obe we was going to see an attacking approach to the game, but when I saw the line ups I was dissapointed. We started slowly with a lot of sideways passing both team canceling each other out..

    That will do 😉

    Almunia 7
    Sagna 6.5
    Toure 7

  112. JonJon says:

    too true kelsey.

    i actually think bischoffs contract is up anyway in summer, i heard he was signed on a one year deal, but hes done nothing to impress so i cant see him staying.

  113. kelsey says:

    if that is the tea,it is a cautious approach,which makes me nervous.we should have more balance in attack.

  114. JonJon says:

    the omens were bad from the beginning, the plane was grounded the heavens opened, we went 3 nil down inside the opening 2 mins and the italian lions feasted on our seemingly rotting corpses, but in true gladitor fashion dudu popped up with an injury time hatrick to send us through

    dudu 100.

    😉

  115. peachesgooner says:

    Hi everyone

    I’m so upset that havn’t been part of todays buid-up, I’ve been really busy and am now blogging and cooking at the same time.

    Havn’t had a chance to read all the comments, looks like it was busy on here which is really good.

    London – great post, I was there at Highbury that night, we were all hugging each other it seemed unreal.

    I hope the boys have the mental strength for the test tonight – its gonna be pretty intimidating out there.
    They can do it. Maybe Roma will fear us like Real Madrid were afraid of Liverpool last night……and I don’t mind if that lino wants a game tonight too 😉

  116. peachesgooner says:

    kelsey – how are you coping without your lovely lady?

  117. JonJon says:

    peaches, are you getting razzled with the rest of us????

  118. JonJon says:

    im so excited

    roma are going to get their shorts pulled down and spanked hard

    they have mexes, perotta, de rossi, cicinho, pizzaro out tonight and totti and aquilani are still 50/50

    come on bring on the roman reserves hahahaha

  119. peachesgooner says:

    I must be doing something right, that scoundrel Rasputin didn’t call me an occasional gardener 😆

  120. peachesgooner says:

    I certainly am, red wine though, I’m just not a beer kind of gal 😆

  121. JonJon says:

    aahhh ye olde vino, just as good, does the job nicley. 😉

  122. JonJon says:

    hoddles a wanker,’ i have bad feelings for arsenal tonight’

    fuck off spud shitface, just cos theyre shite and your shite and were in the CL and you never will be

  123. peachesgooner says:

    The singing daughter has requested fabulous dinner so I’m being an awfully good mummy and making a rather divine risotto – just the thing against those Romans.

    Shes off to the states on sunday for 3 weeks performing and recording – exciting times for her. She used to come to Highbury with me, it was only when we sold Thierry that she realised that he was the attraction. She was honest enough to say so and now she only has a passing interest 😦

  124. kelsey says:

    same team as first leg, confirmed.

  125. JonJon says:

    id rather see dudu in there than nikki, but lets see what happens first eh

  126. avenell says:

    You would rather see gunnersaurus on there rather than nikki.. 😉

  127. kelsey says:

    ——–Almunia——–

    Sagna-Toure-Gallas-Clichy

    —–Denilson-Diaby—–

    Eboue—-Nasri——Bendtner

    ———-RVP———-

  128. avenell says:

    That’s Londons team in the post.. Mystic lee..

  129. kelsey says:

    i see nordvelt has gone back to norway on loan,another morning glory.

    Eduardo should start,and bring nic on if needed,oh well.

  130. JonJon says:

    if we still havent scored by 75mins and put the game to bed i’ll be upset, roma are there for the taking they have half a team out and have to come at us to score, leaving themselves open at the back and we field no finishers???? we seen what happened at home with the same team, we need dudu in there from the start,

    this better work or i’ll be giving wengers tactics a right bashing if it dont 😉

  131. avenell says:

    If we haven’t scored by 75 minutes we need to bring the Song man on.. The great assister.. 🙂

    I heard that Norveit has gone on loan again.. Do you think he is having problems settling?

  132. JonJon says:

    hes just not good enough ave

  133. avenell says:

    He was mean’t to be the nuts.. a bit short for a CH that’s all.

  134. JonJon says:

    thats what i thought when i seen him play ave, hes too small for a CB, he aint quick enough either

    ive never been impressed by him, by that i mean he aint a ‘starlet’ like some make out he is.

    it doesnt surprise me hes gone on loan again and it wont surprise me if he dont come back.

  135. London says:

    To all those about to die we salute you.

    I got the team right next comes the hard bit: the result. Lol

  136. JonJon says:

    im confident of a result london,

    roma offered nothing in the first game and they have less players of quality for this one, i expect us to take this game by the scruff and give them a large portion right up the @!&*$%£ 😉

  137. avenell says:

    That’s it I have been good… the grolsch is going to pour!!

  138. Rasputin says:

    Oy! you bunch of pissheads, there’s a serious football journalist here trying to post a comment like what you have done….When in Rome………tear them a new *****

  139. JonJon says:

    im on my fourth ave, kronenburg 😉

    no more stella 😳

  140. JonJon says:

    thats the spirit rasp, lets do them on their own patch

    come on you goooneeerrrrrrss.

  141. peachesgooner says:

    hey rasp – pour yourself a glass of something nice and sit down and watch the football 😆

  142. Rasputin says:

    Stella has a reputation for bringing out your aggressive side, I prefer Becks it turns Anne Widdicombe into a 4-pinter 😉

  143. JonJon says:

    im so excited, i love CL nights i get all goosepimply i hope we finish in the top four this year, id miss these nights like crazy.

    come on.

  144. Rasputin says:

    I’m quaffing a glass of smooth Merlot warmed to blood temperature Peaches…..

  145. avenell says:

    Has anyone noticed that they have take 0.2% of the power of the so called “wife beater” juice?.. 😦

    Anyway see ya all at HT..

  146. JonJon says:

    rasp, stella is the devil. never ever ever again will i drink that stuff.

  147. JonJon says:

    RVP was in then, he finishes better with his right, should of just launched one.

  148. JonJon says:

    nikki has no studs

  149. Rasputin says:

    Almunia is looking very ropey! – he’s coming out when he shouldn’t and staying back when he should be claiming the ball…I hope its just nerves and he settles down. We’d be 1 nil up if RVP had a right foot…

  150. JonJon says:

    thats the funny thing rasp, he scores more with his right. when he hits and hopes it goes in the net, when he places it he hits the moon.

  151. JonJon says:

    almunia always looks ropey.

  152. Rasputin says:

    We’re shit…..that was the worst defending I’ve ever witnessed

  153. Rasputin says:

    Remember my prediction Peaches aaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrggggggggggghhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!

  154. JonJon says:

    that was woeful defending.

  155. kelsey says:

    schoolboy defending,but even if roma score again we only need one.

  156. JonJon says:

    denilson needs to calm down,

  157. JonJon says:

    i cant see us getting one now, we needed the first goal to calm the nerves, the kids in the team are going to fall apart under the pressure.

    dudu should of started.

  158. Rasputin says:

    If we keep playing like this we will lose….there’s no composure. We need to keep the ball, move it out of defence more quickly and stop playing speculative through balls and losing possession. Diaby is being particularly wasteful.

  159. JonJon says:

    gallas to make up for the lapse at this corner

  160. JonJon says:

    so i was wrong, sue me!!!! 😉

  161. JonJon says:

    if it carries on like this then three subs required at half time.

    confidence has gone, crowd hostile, make changes.

  162. JonJon says:

    this one 😉

  163. Rasputin says:

    JonJon, you know AW will never make a sub at half time – let alone three….but you’re right. I hate to say it but Song for Diaby might be an idea and Theo and Dudu after 60 mins if we need a goal.

  164. JonJon says:

    agreed rasp,

    diaby and denilson are getting hammered, song in to add steel. ffs i must be drunk

    dudu and theo needed for urgency directness and clinicalness.

  165. JonJon says:

    we are getting fucked

    i told you id go mad with the tactics if we dont win this.

  166. Rasputin says:

    We’re lucky not to be 2 nil down already. I don’t think these kids can soak up much more of this pressure.

  167. Rasputin says:

    Roma are just walking through our midfield at will

  168. JonJon says:

    denilson and bendtner look lost, diaby looks bewilderd, and the defence are suffering under the presure.

    the run of the games with roma, we need to ride it out, get a lucky goal or hang in til half time and make changes

    i no wenger wont do it but we need it.

  169. JonJon says:

    our shapes all wrong, it worked in the first game cos we were at home and roma werent expecting it.

    roma have worked on this formation, you can tell, wenger was stupid to go with it again.

    we need to change it and quick

  170. JonJon says:

    i knew them bendtner eboue fluffed chances in the first leg would haunt us.

  171. kelsey says:

    i am having a nightmare TH14 has scored 2 in 2 minutes.

    We don’t have a forward line,its entirely reargaurd action,something has to change.

  172. JonJon says:

    DUDU

  173. JonJon says:

    and not on 85 mins either

    half time mr wenger

  174. JonJon says:

    aaarggghhh, we have no fucking shape

    come on arsenal

  175. JonJon says:

    close them down, tackle hard ffs, dont let them breathe

  176. JonJon says:

    bendtners pony, roma are not westbrom, the eternal city is not the hawthornes,

    why is he even playing????

  177. Rasputin says:

    Even if he doesn’t make any subs, will AW’s half time team talk put the belief back in these players? We are not as bad as we look, they’re just shell-shocked

  178. Rasputin says:

    Eboue could have cost us the tie with his appalling miss in the first leg, and has just demonstrated the same lack of ability in this game….he’s nowhere near good enough to play in midfield

  179. JonJon says:

    the players heads went down as soon as they scored, ive been saying all day we needed the first goal the away goal, and we would of trounced them.

    but no, we keep our finisher on the bench and now we are getting bummed.

  180. Rasputin says:

    Clichy is very lucky not to have given away a penalty.

  181. JonJon says:

    eboue just plays for free kicks, he’s crap, bendtners just crap

    them misses are going to haunt us.

    if there isnt any changes at half time and the same team is exposed in the 2nd half then we deserve to go out.

  182. kelsey says:

    We lost this in the home leg.almunia all at sea yet again,he never knows when to come out or not.bedntner is playing in defence and quite honestly the best we can hope for is to lose 2-1 and go through,but who will score,we haven’t exactly threatened have we.

  183. avenell says:

    Just stick walcott on with 20 mins to go.. one break bosch!
    It’s the night we need Diaby to become immense “Vieira”

  184. Rasputin says:

    Almunia has been poor, Clichy has been poor and that is unsettling the defence

  185. JonJon says:

    dudu and theo on half time. only way

    this team cannot go out for the second half, we are getting hammerd all over the park and we will get beat.

    why the fuck would you leave your best finisher on the bench when an away goal would win you the tie???

    i was gobsmacked when i saw the lineup

  186. avenell says:

    45 mins to decide the season.. 🙂

  187. Rasputin says:

    Theo will make a difference if we’re not 3 down by the time he gets on. We need a moment of brilliance from RVP and just to have more shots in general.

  188. JonJon says:

    diaby goes missing too many times, good player, but not good enough.

  189. JonJon says:

    rVp is out of the game though, hes playing up top alone and seeing none of the ball.

    hes not a lone striker and bendtners not anything

    big games need big players and these are the games where we see how fragile our squad is.

  190. kelsey says:

    well put,jj.
    theo and eduardo need to come on now.

  191. JonJon says:

    if we lose tonight it will kill this squad.

    bendtner denilson especailly will never recover and end up playing for barnet next season

  192. Rasputin says:

    We have to score the next goal. Dudu must be going nuts on the bench – he’s fought for a year to get back to fitness, how will he feel if we go out of the CL without giving him the chance to make a difference? He is our talisman.

  193. JonJon says:

    theo might not be the most skillfull or lethal but he is a threat on the break with his pace

    putting him on would make roma change their tactics and provide our defence with a breather

    theo will be a threat, even if he hasnt got the ball,

    its all about presence.

  194. John says:

    Arghhh.
    We’re looking lost – what was going on for that goal? Defending was a mess, I swear it went by about 4 gunners players.
    I know RvP is one of our best players but I’m not sure he has the stomach for the fight tonight…I’d like to see eduardo on soon I think.
    At least as the match goes on Roma should tire and the gunners might take over a bit more? Let’s hope. Keep the faith gooners!

  195. JonJon says:

    its like being back at school rasp

    next goal wins 😉

  196. Rasputin says:

    This is a test for Arsene – he has to turn it around and show us what a great manager he is..

  197. JonJon says:

    changes before 55mins has to be

  198. Rasputin says:

    Well so far the second half has been as bad as the first. Eboue is simply shocking.

  199. JonJon says:

    im hoping roma gave there all in the first half and will tire at the hour mark, if its still 1nil we’ll take it but not without subs.

  200. Rasputin says:

    I can see someone getting sent off in this game.

  201. JonJon says:

    eboues a turd.
    so is bendtner.

  202. JonJon says:

    oh my god our midfield marking is woeful

  203. JonJon says:

    resorting to long ball now, we in trouble

  204. Rasputin says:

    He’s warming up the right 3 subs….Dudu, Theo and Song

  205. JonJon says:

    im off, i cant deal with this, i still cant beleive theres no subs. im getting wound up so im out of here before i lose my cool

  206. Rasputin says:

    Van Persi is having a poor evening – he seems scared to shoot….

  207. Rasputin says:

    Subs….. for christ’s sake subs….AW looks like he’s a statue wrapped up in his puffer jacket. Get up man and put some energy into your side…aarrrrgggghhhhhh

  208. Rasputin says:

    At last Theoooooooooooooooooooo

  209. avenell says:

    John sorry mate you were in moderation..
    Welcome to Avenell Road you are free to talk!!

  210. avenell says:

    Thank god I dread penalties since the 1980 experience..
    And dudu deserved that too!!

  211. avenell says:

    Hi john, sorry about the delay.. where did you find us?

    I feel like crying at the moment lol…

  212. John says:

    Wow that was really something.
    We didn’t deserve to win, that was so close to be a disaster. I think I just woke up all my neighbours.

  213. avenell says:

    I just woke up our 6 year old.. what a rush I love it!!!

  214. John says:

    Avenell, you found me!
    You mailed me at Arsenal News 😉

  215. avenell says:

    haha what a pillock..
    It’s really good of you to come on..

    don’t know where the others are.. all bloody pissed..
    🙂

  216. peachesgooner says:

    How draining was that game???????

  217. avenell says:

    Team bonding peaches that’s what it is.. 🙂

  218. peachesgooner says:

    Team bonding – what twaddle is that ave??

    Poor Dudu gets the first pen, surely that should have been Van Persie!!!!

    I have to admit that I couldn’t watch, had my fingers over my eyes – very scary

  219. Rasputin says:

    My cat’s not happy…..

  220. avenell says:

    Left footed players and penalty shoot outs give me nightmares..

  221. John says:

    Peaches it could have been horrible for Dudu, I was feeling bad for him but he won’t care now!
    Almunia is such a comedian! One day maybe he will even rival mad jens – did anyone catch his gamesmanship before a couple of the pens, beast and totti’s in particular? I want to know what he shouted at the beast before his pen.

    I’m doubley happy because I can go back to England next week without catching a massive ribbing in the pub.

  222. peachesgooner says:

    Rasp – what have you been up to 😦

    What you need is a punch bag 😆

  223. avenell says:

    Which one of the dwarfs is he then ras?..

    okay it’s old.. 😉

  224. peachesgooner says:

    When’s the draw for he next round of torture?

    Rasp – you’re right the team will be fit for nothing. Blackburn has 0-0 written all over it now

  225. London says:

    Speachless

  226. Rasputin says:

    We’re not going to strike fear into the other remaining teams, but at least we’ll have Cesc back. The midfield was poor today but the elation that the players showed was tangible and maybe they will start believing. I was worried by Arsene’s expression throughout the game. As a player, I wouldn’t have felt uplifted by looking at Le Boss cowering inside his puffer jacket.

  227. peachesgooner says:

    Where are you John?

  228. avenell says:

    Where are you John? not another Spanish exile 🙂

  229. avenell says:

    I should delete your comment peaches.. 😳

  230. Rasputin says:

    OK…onwards and upwards….who do we want in the next round?

  231. peachesgooner says:

    Good call rasp – Arsene did not look up for this game at all, his eyes were blood shot too – maybe hes not well.

    He should be standing waving his arms around and shouting

  232. peachesgooner says:

    Which comment ave? The draw against blckburn? Just speaking the truth as I see it – hope I’m wrong

  233. John says:

    I’m in France. Before that I lived in Germany, no plans to move to Spain!

  234. peachesgooner says:

    Not Barcelona, Liverpool, Man U, Chavs, who’s left?

  235. Rasputin says:

    Hi John – are you a secret scout for Arsene – I hear he’s partial to a french player or two 😉

  236. Rasputin says:

    Whoever we get Peaches, I hope we have the away leg first…..I think that gives a considerable advantage especially if we get an away goal.

  237. avenell says:

    Just the one you beat me to peaches 🙂

    John how did you end up over there and running an Arsenal site? We have a man in Spain who blogs and another who is having a year out there..

  238. Rasputin says:

    I reckon the Toffees will knock manure out of the FA cup – it could be the year of the underdog, so let’s hope we get Pool….we’ve got a score to settle. We rode our luck tonight…maybe its an omen?

  239. peachesgooner says:

    I don’t know rasp – it felt better today that we’d kept a clean sheet at home and if we scored even 1 small goal they had to score 2.

    When we got to the final we had Real away first, did we have Juve home or away first? and then Villareal away first – that worked out ok

  240. avenell says:

    When is the draw for the next round?

  241. peachesgooner says:

    Probably lunch-time on friday ave

  242. peachesgooner says:

    Theo didn’t get much of a game did he?

    Wheres London gone – bet the match reports gonna be exciting 😉

  243. avenell says:

    I like it when London goes quiet.. 😉

  244. Rasputin says:

    He’s probably in anaphylactic shock…….

  245. John says:

    avenell,
    I moved to Germany for work and then I moved to France to get away from work! 😉

  246. Rasputin says:

    I think London’s post should simply say……”Veni, Vidi, Vici”

  247. avenell says:

    John..

    I have always wanted to get a boat and do the french canals.. I have done some of them in england.

    There is something nice about heading to the med for the winter..

    Where are you based?

  248. peachesgooner says:

    Oooooooh rasp – you’re so clever 😆

  249. avenell says:

    In france like 😉

  250. peachesgooner says:

    Did we have a man of the match d’you think? Nasri has definitely caught hlebitis – he wasn’t releasing the ball early enough 😦

  251. avenell says:

    Gallas held it together well after the goal..

  252. John says:

    avenell,

    middle of nowhere, on the Loire.
    bliss!

  253. peachesgooner says:

    …….gallas needed to, most experienced player in our squad was at fault for the goal!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  254. John says:

    Tonetto was our motm, obviously.

  255. peachesgooner says:

    Does almunia get a small shout out cos he did save one?

  256. London says:

    OOOhhh Rasp that is good. ”Veni, Vidi, Vici”

    I will have something Ave.

  257. avenell says:

    Smithy said he slipped. ..

    I’d say a toss up between Denilson, Gallas and Sagna..

    but I might have to write tomorrows post so forget I said that..

  258. avenell says:

    London.. 🙂 I just knew.. 😉

    Have you met John.. he runs Arsenal News?

    The man in the widget..>>>

  259. peachesgooner says:

    Nite nite guys, I’m off to bed, say hi to rico from me if I’m not around in the day tmoro – I may have some work to do 😆

  260. Rasputin says:

    I’m bushed roadsters – the tension has been too much 😉 nite all…zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  261. avenell says:

    Thanks peaches she said hi to you today too..
    Nite xx

  262. avenell says:

    Cheers ras .. Veni, vidi, vici.. you should have copyrighted it lol..

  263. kelsey says:

    Morning all,

    I wouldn’t like to be the person who writes the post match report.Hard to put it into words,but I feel numb rather than elated,having gone through.We literally got out of jail,when not for the first time the game should have been wrapped up in the first leg.

    I feel it is not necessary to run through every players performance,because everyone underachieved,and at times we looked a shambles against a fairly ordinary Roma side.

    This season we just can’t put 2 decent performances together back to back.The question is Why?.Beating Cardiff,Burnley and WBA means absolutely nothing,in the contense of this game.Every team will want to draw us,and that might just work in our favour.I feel i have to be brutally honest,yet how far we progress from this,is anybody’s guess.

  264. peachesgooner says:

    Morning kelsey

    You’re absolutely right, we’ve gone through to the next round but I reckon we must be the weakest side on last nights performance – how upsetting is that? Theres no joy in winning ugly – I want it all, winning and beautiful football!!!!!!

  265. rico01 says:

    Morning Roadsters..

    What a pile of poo that was last night, and I still cant believe we won a penalty shoot out, FA Cup against Manure spings to mind…

  266. rico01 says:

    My MOM would be Almunia, he made a fantastic double save that kept us in the game, and if anyone trys to tell me Nik has potential i think I will cry 😉

  267. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rico – how are you?

    Theo hardly got into the game which was a shame because his pace would have terrified Roma. Maybe hes not really ready and the players know that.

  268. Rasputin says:

    ‘Salute’ roadsters,

    Its the morning after the night before and it doesn’t look any prettier in retrospect. The good news is that hopefully Cesc will play in the next CL game and I’m also keen to see what frame of mind/work rate Ade will be in when he returns? I’m not an Ade or Song fan, but I would probably have given them a go last night it was so dire.

    My main concern is Arsene himself. The only reason I can think for his personna on the bench was that he may have been unwell, because otherwise his ‘contribution’ to the team effort did not appear to be a positive one. He must be under incredible pressure, and it shows!

  269. peachesgooner says:

    Hail Rasputin

    Good point about Arsene – he looked dreadful and was obviously chilled, he needed an snuggly hat and scarf.
    Spalletti was sporting a rather smart scarf I thought 😆

  270. rico01 says:

    Morning peaches, i am good thanks, how about you ?

    The one thing we got away with last night other than the win, was not being down to ten men, Denilson’s studs up tackle into the chin of the Roma player would have seen a red card in the EPL, he was lucky..

    Theo should have started imho, and set the pace of the game, Roma would not have got their tales up so quickly. Also, Dudu should have started in place of Nik, or even Robin

    Hi Rasp – I felt exactly how Arsene looked, and like peaches, i couldnt even watch our penalties other than behind my hands – we were very very lucky

  271. Rasputin says:

    Hi Rico,

    You’re right about Denilson’s challenge and we could have given away one or two penalties. Its about time we had some luck in the CL (Pool have had our share up to now) Let’s hope we can rely on footballing excellence rather than luck in the bnext round. I’d be very happy to draw Porto.

  272. rico01 says:

    peaches – i went off Spaghetti when the camera homed in on him, and guess what he was doing……

    Getting ready for Red Nose Day, he was certainly picking his 😳

  273. Rasputin says:

    Arsenal must be his ‘bogey team’ 😉

  274. rico01 says:

    Rasp – I agree, we deserve a bit of Lady luck, normally we are on the end of someone elses – Porto would do very nicely indeed. I hope Chelsea draw Liverpool, Manure draw Barca and the other two, Munich and ??

  275. rico01 says:

    Good one Rasp 😆

  276. chaf says:

    Good morning.

    That Spalletti is the most Italian looking bloke ever.

    I just want to say that being on this site last night, and the build up, made the game more exciting. When everyone started talking about drinks, I had to rush out around to the offo and buy some, which was all consumed before the penalties. Worse for wear, and pessimistically worried, I watched the penalties from outside my house, in my front garden, through the window, and then had to be helped upstairs to retire.
    To be honest I don’t think I expected much more than I got, except the result, which of course was brilliant. But this morning I have to clean up and scrub a curry stain off my face, but I’ll leave the smile on.

  277. rico01 says:

    Morning chaf, you bad boy, but all in the name of Arsenal, Take a bow 🙂

  278. chaf says:

    Morning Rico

    Thanks, I will take a bow when I feel better. The Champions League is like a reoccurring nightmare, but I love it.

  279. Rasputin says:

    Morning chaf – you don’t fancy a hair of the dog then?

    Can anyone reach that high note in the CL anthem – its hardly a singalong tune is it? 🙂

  280. chaf says:

    Morning Rasp

    No, the closest I’ll get is taking my hairy dog out for a walk later.

  281. Rasputin says:

    Still chaf – at least you’ve experienced some korma karma!

  282. London says:

    Morning all

    Almunia would be my MOM too, Rico.

  283. rico01 says:

    Morning London – I thought he was very good, penalties are a case of good guess work, cant wait now until the draw tomorrow

  284. London says:

    Chaf

    I have just read your post and the image of you standing in your garden watching the penalties through the window made me howl with laughter.

  285. peachesgooner says:

    rico!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m getting dizzy 🙂

  286. peachesgooner says:

    Have to go and do some work – rasp take note 😆

    Gonna get littlepeaches no1 to show me how to do the ‘blackberry thing’ cos I can’t bare to be out of touch.

    Have a nice day all, catch up later, keep smiling cos we did win and tmoro we’re in the draw for the quarter finals 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Wheres Raddy?

  287. rico01 says:

    peaches – i am here and now you have gone 😉

  288. avenell says:

    Morning Roadsters..

    London has been at it again!!….. New Post!!!!!

Leave a Reply

