The FA Cup-Myth or Magic?

So, onto the the great footballing tradition that is the FA Cup. Over the last few seasons the money now involved in the PL and the CL has, in a lot of teams eyes, made the FA Cup become less important. We have become used to a lot of the top teams fielding slightly weakened sides, not as weakened as what we see in the Carling Cup, but still weakened.

So bring on the  Burnley a side that was 90 seconds away from knocking the Spuds out of the Carling Cup, but the cup runs have taken there toll and there has been a recent dip in form from them. In our Carling Cup game against Burnley we had 5 good chances to win the game, 3 coming to the man with the touch of a brick wall, So Mr “Brikki” Bendtner today you can make up for some of those. I think we will see a weakened side today and the use of all the subs because of the crazy fixture list. Why we couldn’t play yesterday is out of order, but the TV pays the money TV men shake the stick…

Even before Wenger, this competition has brought us many fond memories.Memories that are still talked and laughed about today, either it be down the pub or on a blog. The FA Cup still has that bit of magic about it for me, this competition and The Arsenal go together like jelly and deels.

Avenell told me what happened to him in 1979    “In 78″ 79 ” it was my first year that I started work, so I went to all the home games from when we played Everton.. In those days there were fewer season ticket holders and to get a ticket to the cup final you had to cut of the little triangle voucher on the back of the programme and collect them all up. I saved up 21 but I needed 23 so I never got a ticket to Wembley. I was gutted.”

“I watched the game at home as pubs never had TV’s  in those days (and I was too young to go in without a adult lol) and it felt like another defeat was coming our way like the year before.”

“But Brady was a battler he seemed to just take the game by the scruff of the neck and ran towards the Man U penalty area, I just knew he would put it right, he drew the defence towards him then passed out to Rixy who crossed in a super ball Alan, Alan Sunderland. back post.. yes!!!”

We always seem to win when we play in yellow!! and we are back in yellow for our away kit this year… So please Miss lady Luck..

Everyone moans about us and the fact that we sold the naming rights to our stadium and on our shirts too cheaply.. I think the same can be said of the FA.. if the prize money was increased from like £1 million for the winner to £5 million a lot more clubs and then the fans would take the competition more seriously….

Under Wengers reign we have been a great FA Cup side, reaching many finals and winning the trophy several times, but since 2005 Wengers priority seems to be elsewhere. We no longer seem to be the force we were in this competition and I feel this is a trophy we should be going all out to win, especially this season.

Let me try to explain.

The FA Cup is the most prized domestic cup competition in the world, in any league. Its renowned for its prestige and tradition in world football. Although the money involved is not as great as other competitions this is not a Mickey Mouse cup, this is a cup that earns great respect and lets face it, football is really about winning trophies and earning respect. Although football is becoming more like a business every day, you are not respected in the game for having the biggest wallet, just ask Citeh!!! You are respected for what you have in the trophy cabinet at the end of the season and our cabinet seems to be collecting dust.

We have a group of young players, still learning and developing their talent and no matter how much they develop their talent on the training ground or on the playing field, the one thing they can never develop is the winning mentality, to do this they need to win something. Football is like many other sports, its all about confidence, you can have the most talented potential in the world but it doesn’t mean anything if that talent doesn’t believe they are winners. They need the right mentality, the winning mentality, Wenger seems to think these players can go out and win the PL and the CL  but i think this is a case of trying to walk before we can crawl. One trophy,  just one, and these players will start to believe in themselves. It could be the start of something special.

I honestly believe the FA Cup is the easiest trophy to go for. The league is not impossible, but its highly improbable.  The CL however is still there for the taking, on our day we can beat anyone and i feel this season we are a better cup side but we cannot put all our eggs into one basket.

Above all the fans have been loyal to the cause, even after all the bollox of this season, we still love the Arsenal to the end, so please Arsene, give us a day out at Wembley this season and lets hope its a successful one at that.

Just a few pics to warm the cockles.

124 Responses to The FA Cup-Myth or Magic?

  1. avenell says:

    Morning Rasp in case you didn’t see it on the last post!! 🙂

  2. Rasputin says:

    Morning avenell,

    I’m at work so won’t be able to communicate much today. We’re going to win – that’s all that matters!

  3. London says:

    Top post Jonjon, top post mate.

  4. avenell says:

    No worries rasp.. I’m working today too.

    Morning london, what time you leaving? I don’t even know the KO time.

  5. Rasputin says:

    Very good post JonJon, no-one in their right Arsenal mind could disagree with your sentiments 😉

  6. Rasputin says:

    Not for the first time this season, I am surprised and slightly worried by the team selection – doesn’t appear to be a balanced side, but our firepower up front should be potent enough. Eduardo captain!

  7. avenell says:

    Hi I’m back for HT, the 2 of the 3 best players on the pitch seems to be the mighty Song and the Wing Wizard Eboue.
    We look bright though, we have come off the boil and we need to step it up again second half, We don’t want Burnley to get a bit of confidence like they did against the spuds because they are a very fit team and the strikers will run all afternoon.

  8. Rasputin says:

    A quote from the BBC website…..

    “Alex Song is having a magnificent game in midfield for Arsenal. By the way.”

    Well who’d have thought it 😉

  9. Rasputin says:

    Oh no….Eboue’s scored…I’m gonna have to eat humble pie!…….bring on Roma 🙂

  10. avenell says:

    2 assists from song and a goal by eboue.. this has turned the blogging world upside down.. 😉

  11. kelsey says:

    Man of the match–Song—David pleat on Radio 5 live 🙂

    I suppose the media will say Burnley didn’t turn (with some of the crowd) and all 3 goals were exquisite,especially Eduardo’s.Eduardo and Arshavin bring a intellectual quality to the side.i thought Vela was quiet until he chipped the ball beautifully.I watched Diaby carefully,he is good for 60 minutes.Good win, not unduely stretched though Fabianski flapped a bit.I suppose we will see a DVD of the build up and movement between Song and Eboue for the goal,something i never dreamed i would witness.Job done,well done the lads.

  12. avenell says:

    It’s good to hear you feeling positive Kelsey..

  13. Rasputin says:

    Ah, but can they do it against better quality opposition ave?

  14. avenell says:

    Do you want pessimistic ave? .. or rose tinted glasses ave?

    Avene Wenger says yes, but you can only beat the team in front of you and this will give us confidence and belief, the strikers will have more confidence from this gams..

    Don’t know ras.. lol It looks better though.

  15. Rasputin says:

    Its murphy’s law ave – just when it looks like we won’t have to rely on messrs. Song and Eboue with all the invalids returning, and they play a blinder….doh!

  16. avenell says:

    Very true mate.. should be a good run in though big, big game against Roma.

  17. Rasputin says:

    I won’t hear a word said against the boys today – it was an excellent performance and result……how many games unbeaten is it now I wonder?

    Yes ave, I agree about Roma, I have a bad feeling about that one 😦 I hope we don’t live to regret the missed chances from the home leg.

  18. kelsey says:

    Positive because i can see other options to ade and bedntner,though I too feel roma will be a very difficult game.

    Stats eboue 89456 shots = one goal 😉

  19. Rasputin says:

    Haha kelsey – unfortunately his misses could prove to be more significant than his hit, particularly the one against Roma…’Arry Redknap’s wife could have scored that one 😉

  20. kelsey says:

    Mark my words,Eduardo will be our number one striker soon and either bedntner or ade will go,because they both will not want to be second in line.Theo will eventually become a more central fiqure and the need for a tall centre forward will disappear.nasri and AA and Vela can all interchange from the wing to a more central role,things look good at least for next season.i do admire eduardo as a person,he is humble,well liked,obviously mentally focused,in fact the very opposite of Adebayor.

  21. avenell says:

    We can stop those stupid long balls in to ade then, get back to having the ball on the deck!!

    Ade out, ade out.. lol

  22. kelsey says:

    ave,
    if you zoom into the picture of Charlie George with the top of the cup on his head,I am just behind him,left of centre 🙂

  23. avenell says:

    I thought I recognized you, you haven’t changed.. 🙂

    I have never seen Arsenal at wembley.. 😦

  24. London says:

    Hi all. Good win today. Things are in hand Ave. Must get on. Later.

  25. avenell says:

    Okay London, no problem mate I have only just finished work.. so when ever you are ready..

  26. avenell says:

    So it’s Chelsea after Hull then.. better than Man U I guess..

  27. kelsey says:

    Not bothered about Hull at all,they had their five minutes of glory months ago.Chelsea is fine,none would be easy, rather them than the mancs.

    Must get a video from U tube of eduardo’s goal,i think it came off the outside of the ankle he broke.I am sure raif can organise that.

  28. avenell says:

    I thought it came off the outside of his left boot, they don’t allow the vids on you tube straight away they get removed.

  29. peachesgooner says:

    Hi guys and gal – if shes about

    I’ve just seen Velas goal (the only goal I’ve seen so far) how audacious was that chip!!!! I love him, hes going to amazing for us.

    All my chicks are home so I can’t get near the tv, who pays for it thats what I say!!!!

    Don’t know what time I’ll get to see the other goals but by all accounts all the goals were fabulous.

  30. avenell says:

    Peaches Haha just posted them for you.. ^^^

    How you doing, did you do your meet up?

  31. Evening all, hope you are all well.

    Great days footie, roll on the wembley semi against the chavs.

    Cesc should be fit by then 😀

  32. avenell says:

    hello stringfellow.. long time no see and all that..

    Yea that’s true i saw the pictures of him training in the week.. Theo looked quick today..

  33. hi ave, been busy mate.

    really wished theo put his chance away, would have done his confidence so much good.

    the conclusion to the season is now looking rosier… as we all suggested with the key players coming back from injury.

  34. London says:

    Ave

    All done. It is in your email.

  35. London says:

    I couldn’t stop laughing when Eboue scored

  36. London says:

    It’s not unreasonable to say that Song was man of the match.

  37. London says:

    Where’s Chaf

    What did you think of the game?

  38. London says:

    I went with my two boys and my Mrs. It was like being on holiday. I have never been to Arsenal with the whole of my family. Probably won’t have the oppotunity again.

  39. London says:

    Someone is going to turn up soon.

  40. London says:

    They announced that there were 57,000, yeah in their dreams. There were bigger gaps than I have ever seen there.

  41. apparently, the attendance figure goes on tickets sold as opposed to how many actually turn up on the day.

    looked about 75% full to me via setanta 😀

  42. London says:

    Hey SH

    Did you go?

  43. no mate, where did you all sit?

  44. London says:

    I was, what would be upper west down by the goal line. I just can’t stop playing Eduardo’s goal over and over. I get goose bumps.

  45. London says:

    Yeh, It does go on tickets sold, Do you live in London?

  46. avenell says:

    London replied to mate..

    You still about?

    Eduardo could teach RvP you don’t need to smash every ball into the back of the net..

  47. London says:

    Hey Ave

    Yeah still about. Good point about not needing to smash everything.

  48. Going to be very interesting to see how the likes of rvp, badey and bender react to seeing some clinical strikes today.

    They need to up their games, for me eduardo has to be the first fit striker whose name should be on the teamsheet.

  49. London says:

    I love that edit button.

  50. avenell says:

    ssssssssshhhhhhhh!! London.. 😉 lol

  51. London says:

    Ave give me more on Eboue. I thought he was pants in the first half.

  52. avenell says:

    I thought he was our best player for the first 30 mins, in total control linked up with Sagna well.
    I don’t like the throwing of the arms in the air everytime he is tackled/dives but I thought he was good.
    What did you think stringfellow he was alright wasn’t he?

  53. London says:

    SF

    There was no way Eduardo was injured. It was a case of simply trying to get his fitness back. I can’t see him playing in Rome. In fact, I don’t imagine that we will see him before Hull. He still has along way to go.

  54. London says:

    I supose the arms in the air is progress from the writhng around on the ground.

  55. True, eddy needs more time before he gets starts in the premier/champs league.

    Eboue was running the midfield in the first half, every time he got the ball he used his power to run with it, and linked well with diaby and song.

    Arshavin was poor for me today, made a good run in the second half but was generally very quiet.

    Vela is just class in a glass, pace, movement, and clinicallness. He came off early, could he be starting against Roma? out wide?

  56. avenell says:

    I hope I am the first to notice. But when you see arshavin run and defend he reminds me of Freddie, add to that the gloves it’s like a ghost has come back.. lol

  57. I would like to see

    Almunia

    Sagna Toure Gallas Clichy

    Eboue Denilson Diaby Vela

    Rvp Bender

  58. London says:

    Well I respect your opinion guys but I just saw Eboue give the ball away. I must admit I haven’t watched the game on telly. Maybe I have missed something.

  59. London says:

    What about Nasri?

  60. london, highlights are on itv1 at 11.15 tonight.

  61. avenell says:

    Did you notice the lack of crab passing today with no denilson? even song passed forwards, and run on to take the one two.. It was a weird one today Diaby was either brilliant or crap. but song was constant.

  62. nasri is better in the hole, he is pretty redundant when out wide, vela can operate as a true winger.

    i would imagine, my team with nasri instead of vela will start.. but would prefer vela ahead of samir.

  63. London says:

    I have got the whole game sky plussed. So when I have a bit of time I am going to revel in some Crozilian magic.

  64. song and vela were the stand outs for me today.

    eboue 3rd.

  65. London says:

    I was looking forward to the Diaby-Song midifeld combo but Diaby, in the first half, was lost; he had no idea what position he was supposed to be playing.

  66. London says:

    I rated Gibbs’ performance, never put a foot wrong.

  67. i find diaby totally frsutrting, just holds onto the ball for far too long.

  68. yes, gibbs was outstanding.

    great back up for clichy, will push him to improve again.

  69. avenell says:

    What did you think of Gibbs?

    I’m sure he is going to be good (and once the press realise he is english “great”).
    But gets caught out of position a bit, but so cool on the ball and great control..

  70. London says:

    I hope Diaby and Denilson can recreate what they had in the first game agisnst Roma. Denilson had the game of the season while Diaby drove everything forward.

  71. gibbs has one lethal strike on him aswell.

  72. avenell says:

    I was typing then lol I must speed up or do shorter comments 🙂

  73. London says:

    We still haven’t seen Gibbs play when he really has to defend.

  74. avenell says:

    Bring on ronaldo in the final!

  75. London says:

    Gibbs

    Very cool on the ball and great control

    Ave

    I get up quite early so I will tweak it and then you can fire it off. I will think about your offer and get back to you tomorrow.

  76. London says:

    Ahh I see. Yes if Gibbs can control Ronaldo and the press realise he is English they will go into melt down.

  77. avenell says:

    I’m not sure it’s an offer it’s what you want it to be.. I’m happy how it is or we can push on.. your choice buddy..

  78. London says:

    So you both of you thought highly of Eboue today. I suppose the other thing is that I am just plain biased. Lol

  79. avenell says:

    Arsenal saviour of england lol,, Wenger next england manager oh no!!!

  80. London says:

    Let me think about it. I am enjoying myself.

  81. avenell says:

    🙂 good don’t let anything ruin that!

  82. London says:

    When Gibbs fills out a bit he could move up the pitch a bit.

  83. he is a winger tbf, was brilliant as a 16yrd old against inter in the 2007 emirates cup.

    we have an incredible history of top notch left backs, its eerie.

  84. avenell says:

    He is moving into traffic there though, he is better for arsenal where he is.. Have we sill got Gilbert?

  85. London says:

    It’s really pleasant blogging without being concerned that someone is about to be rude to you.

  86. nope, we still have traore, who aint going nowhere, another class lefty backy winger 😀

  87. London says:

    Gilbert, wow there’s a blast from the past, quite old now, must be at least 22. Lol

  88. avenell says:

    If they are zap them. you are british gas london!! in control! 😉

  89. avenell says:

    Didn’t gilbert go on loan to southend or somewhere? I lost track after that..

  90. London says:

    I’m still too nervous to go back stage

  91. avenell says:

    I also thought london .. if you added “borough of islington” to your name you are in the title header.. 🙂

  92. avenell says:

    Your funny LBOI ..you don’t need to yet.. just do what you are doing is fine..

  93. London says:

    Avenell Road is a good name. I still miss that intoxicating aroma of horse shit and hot dogs every time I walked down that street. Lol

  94. hahaha

    the hoss shit aroma and the salmonella food was a great mix indeed.

    always got the trots the next day after a burger from those vans.

    the fish n chips at the emirates is the way forward now, the hot chocolate is revolting, like hot dirty water.

  95. avenell says:

    Don’t go down that “road ” too far I have a post in my heeed..

    It’s difficult doing this sometimes before you post as you don’t want to say what you wrote for tomorrow.
    (I haven’t by the way it’s all yours)

  96. London says:

    Ave

    I know what you are thinking it is definitely a post waiting to happen. What time do you think you will up and functioning tomorrow?

  97. avenell says:

    I cannot say as rico will rip the piss out of me.. lol..

    What time do you want me?

  98. London says:

    It’s not important. I will have tweaked the post by 9. So after that it’s all your. I am going to watch MOTD. Speak tomorrow. Good night SH

  99. avenell says:

    Be about around 9.30 then London I have most of the AM to sort it.. night mate.

  100. ok night chaps.

    enjoy the highlights.

  101. avenell says:

    Yea nite stringfellow .. speak soon!

  102. kelsey says:

    Morning all,though I doubt any of you are up,bar rico.

    On reflection I think the best part of the game were the 3 goals themselves.I can’t remember a game for many a year, where all the goals scored had a touch of class.

    Undoubtedly,Song and Eboue,by their standards had a good game,let’s see if this improvement is maintained.Goals and winning obviously lift the players and the feel good factor was apparent yesterday.We have beaten 3 poor sides,so i won’t get carried away just yet,but Eduardo could become pivotal to how we do this season.Someone came up with a good point that RVP is always looking for the spectacular blast when in with a scoring chance,and a lot of goals he missess is by hitting the ball to hard,rather than placing it.Nevertheless he is an integral part of the team.

    I fear we will have a difficult game against Roma,and I think it is impossible to name the team AW will put out,as not many would have predicted the starting 11 yesterday.A draw is the best I can see,though I hope we don’t play for one.On our day we can beat anyone,let’s hope that day is in Rome.

  103. London says:

    That’s another top rate summery Kelsey. I think putting into words the fact that the three goals were the best part of the game is superb. I wish I had thought of it.

  104. kelsey says:

    Thank you London,

    do you fancy e mailing me,as we were once close neighbours.Ave has my e mail if you want to,but I leave it entirely up to you.

  105. London says:

    Kelsey

    That is a very kind offer but I must admit that I don’t think that there is anything that I need to say that I couldn’t say here. I hope I haven’t picked up the wrong end of the stick. Have a great day mate.

  106. kelsey says:

    No problems London,
    I respect everyone’s privacy,it was only an idea,won’t mention it again.have a good day yourself.

  107. chaf says:

    Having mulled over all your reactions I must admit I can’t add much more. For what its worth I thought Burnley were very poor. Song had a good game, I think he has it in him! But he plays better when Denilson’s not there, I don’t think we need them both doing the same thing. But I can’t get on with Diaby. He runs into trouble more than Budgie (older readers), he can’t control the ball, and tries to beat one player too many, too often. Vela and Eduardo’s goals made it worth it, and made me smile, EE’s goal made me laugh. I’m not sure if the throwing up of arms is a religious salute, but Wenger sees something in him that a lot of us don’t, and thats ok with me, as long as I can moan. Generally speaking though its a great result, we know how flimsy the confidence can be, and a clean sheet, which is what I hope I’ll have on thursday morning….

  108. London says:

    Morning Chaf

    For what it is worth…your view is valuable.

    I like the observation that Song seems to play better when Denilson is not there.

    I had the good fortune of taking my two sons and my Mrs to the game.

  109. London says:

    And when someone tips out of bed we will have a new post! Lol

  110. London says:

    Lol = Laugh out loud.

  111. London says:

    Chaf

    “He runs into trouble more than Budgie”, you little author you.

  112. avenell says:

    Morning roadsters.. I’m here London up at dawns crack .. well nearly.

    It doesn’t make you want to fly out of bed knowing you have to weld an escort van up though.. 😦

  113. kelsey says:

    Chaf,
    I remember budgie, wasn’t that Adam Faith

  114. avenell says:

    Yes my mum remembers budgie, or was it my nan? 😉

  115. London says:

    Bitchy, bitchy. Lol

  116. Big Raddy says:

    Morning Kelsey.

    Budgie….. I had forgotten all about it. I loved that programme

  117. avenell says:

    London I have replied..

    Morning raddy, are you off school today?..

  118. London says:

    Morning Big Raddy

    I used to love Budgie it was my favourite programme for quite a while.

    Ave I have replied.

  119. chaf says:

    Yes I got the complete 2 series pack of Budgie for my birthday recently! Who says romance is dead.

  120. avenell says:

    NEW POST guys. press the home page!!

  121. London says:

    Chaf

    Is it still good second time around or does it feel cringey dated?

Leave a Reply

