The Return of Eboue?

 I know you don’t want to read it and I didn’t want to write it but I fear that EE 27 is going to start today against Sunderland.                                                                                  crying

 

Arsene Wenger has been easing him back into the supporters good books on Arse.con, but I feel this could be the last straw for some Arsenal fans. There might not be booing to start with but there will be  plenty of tuts and gasps, then after a while the tension will make the players play worse then it will end in tears again as the situation gets out of hand.

Why risk it?  Mr Wenger may think that Eboue is the best player to play right wing today but a manager has to look at all circumstances, some supporters will feel will should support any team we field, but some supporters want more even if it’s impossible and it will affect the team.

Here we are three weeks after the transfer window shut and we still haven’t seen Andrei Arshavin play yet. There is only two and a half months left of the season so that’s like a third of the time he will be on the bench.
I suppose it will be a good period of time to have him tip top for next year.

The feel good factor of Monday needs to be kept and playing Eboue could destroy that in one hit. Please play Arshavin!

                        Almunia

Sagna…. Toure….. Gallas…. Clichy.

Eboue….Denilson..Song…… Nasri

                 RvP…..Bendtner..

I fear that may well be the team that starts today, If it is I will not bother trying to watch on a poor quality stream, I will wait for the game on sky this evening.

My prediction 2-0 to Arsenal.

242 Responses to The Return of Eboue?

  1. avenell says:

    Hi everyone.. I suppose it’s going to be quiet today as it’s a home game. 😦

  2. rico01 says:

    No No No Ave – No Eboue 🙂

    I think Arshavin will come on from subs bench, just so he can here the very warm welcome 😉

    Nice post 😉

  3. avenell says:

    Thanks rico.. there wasn’t much news about and I felt guilty so I done a quickie.

    When are you going to write one/a bit of one?
    match reports are easy.. well easier.

  4. rico01 says:

    i will email you ave

  5. rico01 says:

    I have emailed you ave

  6. rico01 says:

    Now lets see what Villa are made of ??

  7. rico01 says:

    Shocking ref – bloomin shocky, Heskey is a cheat!!

  8. avenell says:

    Oh yea it’s started.
    I just turned on and villa hit underneath the bar.. come on the draw! 🙂

  9. rico01 says:

    Bet its not full time though ave, its probably a ‘loan deal; 😉

  10. avenell says:

    It says he was allowed to leave though.

    It isn’t a total secret the pitch others obviously know what goes on, real madrid just piss me off with the walk over everyone attitude..

  11. rico01 says:

    i agree, you watching later ave ?

  12. avenell says:

    Do you mean at 3 o clock rico?..

    I will if I can get a stream.. I’m supposed to be working I have a van to signwrite.. I sound like a right jack of all trades lol.. but it’s the same gear as the tshirt stuff sort of.

  13. rico01 says:

    yep ave, 3pm, i will go hunt us down a stream, you do the van later 😉

  14. rico01 says:

    AA is starting ave – yipee

  15. avenell says:

    Great news rico… f**ked up my post.. lol I hate Wenger is so unpredictable.. 🙂

  16. rico01 says:

    http://www.iraqgoals.com/en/ch1.html

    I am going to try this one ave

  17. avenell says:

    This will be us this afternoon rico.. lol.

  18. rico01 says:

    Nice link, I love that song 😉

    So, I now know you have grey hair and beard, and you think i am 5’2″ with big…. feet 😉

  19. avenell says:

    Arshavin looks lively. he’s going to score soon!!

  20. rico01 says:

    This is poor ave, bet we draw again!

  21. avenell says:

    Yea the game is dying out. we need a spark, vela on for song. I bet he swaps arsh for vela though..

    As I am typing this it bloody happens I’m going to post it anyway.

  22. avenell says:

    Oh no!!! eboue!!! 😦 😦

    But it is for song 🙂 🙂

  23. rico01 says:

    Got to go ave – catch up real soon 😉

  24. avenell says:

    No probs rico take care!

  25. avenell says:

    The 2 tossers who keep saying our club has to show ambition miss the best goal chances..
    Why don’t they take some responsibility???

  26. kelsey says:

    Hi ave,

    I really thought we would win convincingly today,after the uplifting performance against Cardiff.Even Lee Dixon said we miss a clinical striker like Eduardo,who has played 65 minutes in a year to the day,that he got his injury.We sorely miss Cesc,and we don’t have a plan B anymore,or did we ever really have one.We have a real fight on just to get 4th.

  27. avenell says:

    Alright mate.. I’m so pissed of. when arshavin had the ball in the first half I thought we were going to be okay today.
    Why he needed to play song and denilson together I don’t know. Both of them put together are not as good as cesc.
    we had like 18 shots and 9 on target, like you say eduardo is the answer.

  28. Rasputin says:

    Hi avenell..roadsters

    You’re spot on avenell. Playing Song and Denilson together in midfield is never going to allow our game to flow with the sort of attacking threat that Cesc creates. We’re in the same sort of period in terms of fixtures as at the start of the season where if you looked at the games it seemed likely we would be top of the prem. Similarly we have or 7 winnable games ahead. Unless we strat turnig draws into wins, we are going to finish 5th 😦

  29. avenell says:

    I’m dreading tuesday now, tuesday is crab day, no arsh, no dudu and he won’t play vela..

  30. Rasputin says:

    True avenell, but hopefully Roma won’t play the negative football that most of the prem teams employ to strangle all the creativity out of the game. We had a lot of players off form today. Just to be boring, I will blame it on a lack of balance in the side leading to good players losing faith in the ‘system’

  31. peachesgooner says:

    Is this the site for desperately depressed gooners?

    What on earth happened today – someone forgot to give the boys their happy pills, they all looked so miserable, hardly any contact between them and a few golden opportunities squandered.

    Awfully depressing.

    Arshavin was lively and when he stood next to Van Persie made him look like a giant 🙂 I really thought he was gonna score. He and Nasri switched sides and then he went quiet, looked like he was limping towards the end of the first half.

    Totally agree rasp that playing Song and Denilson together is pointless. They are very slow, their passes are soft and often get cut out as they’re easily intercepted.

    A much better mid four would have been Vela Song/Denilson Nasri Arsh. Bit short of players aren’t we – he’ll be able to blame the lack of choice for his selection.

    I just hope that Roma give us lots of space and we’re able to convert our chances on tuesday. I love being in the Champs Lge and some big teams wil go out this round. Not us I hope 😉

  32. avenell says:

    I actually thought we was a little bit better today, at least we created the chances. 20 shots at goal is a lot better than in some of the dark days before christmas.
    These used to be freak results that happened a couple of times a season now they are the norm.
    But if we had of scored an early goal we would have stuffed them.
    Are you going tuesday?

  33. avenell says:

    Hi peaches, I was still typing when you posted… lol.

    How is raddy? 😉

  34. Rasputin says:

    Hi Peaches,

    As usual, the immediate post match despair is begining to fade and one or two positives are emerging. Its been carnage on other sites as usual. I do get fed up with people who are so convincingly sarcastic that others that aren’t used to their style believe what they are saying, and then they put them down as if they were stupid not to realise (that’s very long winded but you know what I mean).

    Anyway, all we can do is to look forward optimistically and hope for a win without conceding on tuesday….that’s the lot of a football fan..pick yourself up, dust yourself off an start all over again 😉

  35. peachesgooner says:

    I agree Ave if any of those early chances had gone in we would have stuffed them as they weren’t creating anything themselves.

    Raddy was good, he couldn’t believe he travelled to a game where we didn’t score 😦

  36. raif says:

    hey Roadsters

  37. raif says:

    peaches.

    it was really nice meeting you today.

    im also sorry i didnt get to say Goodbye before the game 🙂

  38. avenell says:

    Raify… I have been chasing you around the sites.. lol..
    I ordered your shirt thursday, but the tossers mucked (with a F not a M) up the order, we cannot sort it out until monday now but watch this space!

  39. peachesgooner says:

    Hi rasp

    Its quite funny the people I was drinking with after the game were all doom and gloom until someone said in an Eeyore kind of voice ‘oh well, I expect I’ll be back on tuesday’ and we all laughed.

    Tuesday is really important – its like a cup game isn’t it, do or die, gonna need the happy pills for that one.

  40. raif says:

    hey Ave.. thanks man. and no worries. i can wait,, as im greatfull already that your doing this for me.

    i need to re-pay the favour for you mate

  41. avenell says:

    Well you are kinda good looking lol.. 😉

  42. peachesgooner says:

    Hey Raif – nice to meet you too, what happened, I was sure I’d not lose you in the crowd in your fabulous jacket 🙂

  43. Rasputin says:

    I must be an incurable romantic or something, but I’ve got this totally ridiculous feeling that we’re going to get through to the CL final against all the odds and come up against manu. It’s obviously bo****ks, but just remember everybody in case it comes true and you can all wonder at my mystical powers of prediction. 😆

  44. raif says:

    haha..

    i think you fell behind when we was walking to the stadium lol

  45. peachesgooner says:

    Rasp its cos your a mad monk that you think you have these powers 😆

  46. Rasputin says:

    I knew you were going to say that….I predicted it yesterday.

  47. peachesgooner says:

    Seriously rasp, not like you to be so romantic and optimistic have you been drinking?

  48. peachesgooner says:

    …….and the next comment

  49. raif says:

    oh and glad you liked the Jacket Peach.

    i always feel peoples Stears burning a hole into the back of my head when im in that Jacket lol..

  50. Rasputin says:

    Seriuosly, we’re going to win something…..it may only be the FA cup, but our luck has to change!

  51. Rasputin says:

    I hate those stears too raif, they’re deadly 😉

  52. raif says:

    Rasputin,, hahaha i agree..

  53. peachesgooner says:

    What do you mean ‘only the FA cup’? That would be amazing, i can’t wait to go to Wembley.

  54. Rasputin says:

    Your next comment Peaches is going to be “I can’t wait for Cesc and Theo to return”

  55. peachesgooner says:

    wrong 🙂

  56. peachesgooner says:

    Ooooh, I can’t wait for Cesc and Theo to come back

  57. Rasputin says:

    OK Peaches, I’m off if you’re not going to play nicely (throws dummy out of pram)

  58. Rasputin says:

    That’s more like it!

  59. raif says:

    can you to stop flirting HAHA 🙂

  60. Rasputin says:

    This bloody time delay in posting is frustrating, anyone would think my predictive powers are deserting me..

  61. peachesgooner says:

    I left my program in the ladies and I’m gutted as the centrefold was Nikki pink boots.

  62. Rasputin says:

    I’m gay raif, I think I’m a lesbian?

  63. raif says:

    ohhh that was ur Program i found in the Ladies Peaches..

  64. Rasputin says:

    If we keeep on like this AR will get top listing for hits today….shame its a load of hogwash! – sorry ave, I’ll take it seriously from now on. Unlike lucky raif and peaches, I had to endure the torment of following the game online instead of suffering the live experience.

  65. peachesgooner says:

    Rasp – you’re a monk

  66. raif says:

    Rasputin,, i thought u was a guy LOL sorry but Lesbian is good

    gotta like lesbians

  67. Rasputin says:

    raif – I’m a guy, 3 kids and a warped sense of humour 😉

  68. peachesgooner says:

    I don’t understand why sometimes Almunia comes to catch and other times he’ll punch something that he could easliy catch.

    Is punching for when hes under pressure from other players?

  69. raif says:

    HAHAHAHAH my bad you got me there. the jokes on me. lol

    and i can relate with the warped sense of humour. trust me

  70. peachesgooner says:

    Rasp – you’re a monk 🙄

  71. raif says:

    peaches

    god knows love. his a plank some times. i thought the idea of being in goal is to Catch when ever possible

  72. Rasputin says:

    Punching is more prevalent with european keepers. They practice it and can propel the ball along way out. Almunia punches when he is not confident of catching and considers it a better option to dropping the ball at the feet of an oncoming striker (I think)

  73. Rasputin says:

    We were spoilt with keepers like spunky and Bob Wilson who were masters at catching the ball. All the best keepers catch the ball whenever possible. I think it shows a lack of confidence in handling the ball.

  74. avenell says:

    Don’t forget ol Pat big hands rasp..

    Hogwash? bloody lovely that is.. 😉

  75. Rasputin says:

    There’s a strange turnaround in La Liga, Barca are losing 2 nil and Real are winning 6 : 1. It’s fixed I reckon!

  76. peachesgooner says:

    Thats why I wondered if Almunia was being clever or cowardly when he punches, he punched a save today that could have led to a real problem – it didn’t but it was a concern.

  77. raif says:

    you what was the highlight for me at the match today?

    it was hearing one of the guys next to me call song.

    the Hunchback of Notre-Cameroon

  78. raif says:

    you know**** i mean

  79. Rasputin says:

    You’re right ave, but somehow I consider PJ to be more of a spuds keeper because he was with them for longer than us!

  80. peachesgooner says:

    I just wrote that rasp but it disappeared – did you steal it??

  81. Rasputin says:

    I read your mind peaches…wwwoooooooooooooo

  82. avenell says:

    I suppose you lived near PJ when you was a lad ras. he lived and still does I belieive live on the road up to paradise park (broxbourne zoo)..

    Still you knew that! Or did you know I was going to say it? or both? or all three? where am I???

  83. peachesgooner says:

    I thought we were gonna score loads of goals today and had planned to sit and indulge myself watching Nasri and Nikki banging them in over and over again.

    I wanted to watch MOTD this evening and the re-run on sky.

    Sometimes my team really spoil my saturday night 😦

  84. peachesgooner says:

    Now look rasp – I’m the witch remember you’re only a monk 🙂

  85. peachesgooner says:

    Rasp – did you realise that you know who came on for a few minutes this afternoon?

  86. Rasputin says:

    White stubbs Lane ave. Charlie George lived in tenniswood road enfield. Kolo lives half a mile from where I work on the same development as Ledley and quite a few players live on the Ridgeway – I think Arsenal own several flats there. Most of the Arsenal players live in and around the area because it is upmarket and convenient for London Colney as well as the Emirates

  87. peachesgooner says:

    Hat-trick 🙂

    Now I’m alone . . . . . . .

  88. Rasputin says:

    EE EE EE EE EE EE’s f****ng useless – you see what you’ve done, you’ve made my nervous stammer recur and forced me to resort to basic english!

  89. Rasputin says:

    Don’t count your hat-trick until its published peaches!

  90. Rasputin says:

    flipping

  91. avenell says:

    I remember when steve archibald lived in ware he had a cool renault fuego.. and that knob of a spud goalie walker lived at poles convent (er hanbury manor now).

    I used to live near the pet shop boy..

  92. peachesgooner says:

    As you hadn’t gone into melt-down I wasn’t sure if you’d realised about him – buttons pressed, action!!!

  93. Rasputin says:

    He of the Booby Charlton haircut – Ralph Coates also lives in Ware. Defoe never sold his big house in Cuffley – must have known he was going to return to THOSF

  94. Rasputin says:

    I couldn’t watch the match on stream at that point – tell me, how did the step-over king perform?

  95. peachesgooner says:

    flipping – of course, I knew that 😉

    He went down inside 2 minutes, I thought he was gonna get a yellow straight away

  96. Rasputin says:

    Ave – the pet shop boy, do you mean in that big mock tudor mansion (it might be real tudor I’m not sure)you can see from the ford at Standon?

  97. avenell says:

    I thought mr coats was a bengeo boy. I know he played for them well into his forties.

  98. peachesgooner says:

    Robbie Keane hadn’t sold his house in Hadley Wood so he could just move back in.

    Apparently Kanu still owns his house in hadley wood too

  99. Rasputin says:

    You might be right? Ray Clemence lives in Broxbourne, he’s actually quite a nice bloke, shame he came from the dark side. Also Gary Mabbut is a regular and I have to admit he’s a top bloke – I can say that now because he’s some kind of footaballing ambassador to the third world

  100. avenell says:

    No chis lowe lived at fabdens manor a mile and a half down that road opp the sow and pigs.
    later bought by nigel hawthorne (spelling?).

    Did you mean standon ford or barwick ford? I cannot picture where you meant.

  101. Rasputin says:

    I thought Kanu’s house was his own personal knocking shop. Pat Rice told me that when he didn’t come back from the ANC with babyaro, they where whoring it up in Africa and would return when they’d had enough….disgraceful behaviour!

  102. Rasputin says:

    That’s right, it was Fabdens Manor. If you got to the Standon ford, there is a footpath leading away from the watermill across the fields and you will see this amazing mansion hidden away in the middle of nowhere. I know someon famous lives there but can’t remember who?

  103. peachesgooner says:

    Its all true, I did some work in his garden and every morning there was a stream of mini-cabs picking girls up – more rock and roll than football I thought 😉

  104. Rasputin says:

    No wonder his legs looked like Bruce Grobbelar’s defending a penalty in that case peaches 😉

  105. Rasputin says:

    Where’s everyone else gone? This is turning into a Hertfordshire exiles chatroom. I suppose the rest of them have a social life on a saturday evening 😦

  106. avenell says:

    I guess it’s better than moaning about arsenal and wenger.. just.. 🙂

  107. peachesgooner says:

    I was just thinking the same – have you eaten I don’t know what I fancy

  108. avenell says:

    Funnily enough I’ve just sent nita to look through the freezer as you said that peaches.. what shall we have?

  109. peachesgooner says:

    Well as its a cyber dinner we can have whatever we want really. Got any lobster in your freezer Nita?

  110. Rasputin says:

    Deep fried marsbar for peaches and cornish pasties for you ave……I’m cooking dairylea on toast with a pint of guiness to wash it down

  111. peachesgooner says:

    Why do I have to have a deep fried mars bar ras? I’m much classier than that. At least I thought i was 🙂

  112. avenell says:

    Not them poxy ginsters things ras.. there the EE27 of pasties. 😦

    deep fried marsbar that’s a scottish thing isn’t it?

  113. Rasputin says:

    Obviously I suggested it for comic effect as it is so far from the sophisticated cuisine you normally enjoy…..but my dairylea is for real. Or I could just pop out and poach a rabbit

  114. peachesgooner says:

    Mmmmmmnnnnnn…….dairylea havn’t had those for years……I liked the chalet cheeses aswell, do they still exist?

  115. avenell says:

    You don’t want to “mix up your toasties”.. rabbit lol boom boom..

  116. Rasputin says:

    There’s a whole mythology surrounding pasties down there in worzel country isn’t there. I thought the thick crust was just for holding onto with dirty hands, one end was filled with meat and veg and the other end had a sweet dessert filling for ‘afters’

  117. Rasputin says:

    Oh yes and they were originally eaten by the tin miners

  118. peachesgooner says:

    The monk has to explain that he suggested it for comic effect – not cool, I might have picked that up for myself 🙄

    Anyone ever had a deep fried mars bar? Deep fried brie is probably just as unhealthy and I have to confess to having eaten that with a rather delicious gooseberry jam,

  119. avenell says:

    I think it’s to do with the crust being on the side so the tin miners grabbed that bit. so raised pasties ain’t cornish.

    “Wurzels” “Hogwash” I must get a card system going on here.. 🙂

  120. Rasputin says:

    See avenell – she’s into posh nosh, unlike us earthy types.

    I only explained peaches because you girlies take offence so easily – that’s not patronising is it 😉

  121. peachesgooner says:

    Poached rabbit 🙂 Very good, I got that one xx

  122. Rasputin says:

    I prefer a jugged hare

  123. avenell says:

    i thought my myxymatosis joke was best.. I’ll get my coat.. 😦

  124. peachesgooner says:

    Oh rasp – very patronising, yellow card for you 😉

  125. Rasputin says:

    My favourite bird is ‘Remiz pendulinus’ the Penduline Tit….she serves behind the bar in the Rest and Welcome…….may as well get done for sexism as well

    Your joke was by far the best ave

  126. avenell says:

    That’s minus one yellow card for rasputin.. 🙂

  127. peachesgooner says:

    My babies loved squishing dairylea in their hands, eating it through their fingers and then rubbing in their hair I vaguely remember

  128. Rasputin says:

    That wouldn’t work for me peaches – I used ‘wash and go’

  129. peachesgooner says:

    You’ve got a mutual appreciation society going on there. Hertfordshire old boys 😉

  130. peachesgooner says:

    It could be nice in other places though – make a change from chocolate 😳

  131. Rasputin says:

    Just back to footie for a minute. Barca lost 2:1. There were 12 yellow cards (6 apiece) and 1 red for Barca and Yaya scored so we won’t get him. I can’t remember a prem game ever that had 13 cards awarded?

    Peaches – you are awful (in the manner of Dick Emery)

  132. avenell says:

    Why am i thinking about this woman.. lol 😉

  133. peachesgooner says:

    Yes I know – I do apologise very poor taste (in the manner of Kenny Everett)

  134. Rasputin says:

    I remember too avenell – Mick Jagger liked his marsbars at body temperature 😉

  135. peachesgooner says:

    Wasn’t there a man u game where they had loads of yellow cards and got a big fine from the FA.

    Could be players have more respect for each other in the EPL – I doubt it.

    The referee was pretty rubbish today actually, van persie and nasri got some pretty poor treatment from him,

  136. avenell says:

    There was 16 yellows in a world cup game once.. I looked it up. don’t know the premiership record.

  137. Rasputin says:

    Didn’t ‘cupid stunt’ describe everything as in ‘the best possible taste’ swinging legs wildly?

  138. peachesgooner says:

    Well I’m glad you pointed that out rasp cos i wasn’t sure where that one was going 🙂

  139. peachesgooner says:

    She wasn’t called that was she?

  140. Rasputin says:

    I’m not sure about this season, but I know in the past that Arsenal have frequently been the team that has been fouled against the most, but where the opposition has received proportionally less cards. Its part of this ridiculous idea that because we play ‘clever football’ (again, not this season) it is OK for the opposition to foul us as they cannot compete technically – it really makes my blood boil.

  141. Rasputin says:

    Yes she was – I’m not making it up! I know it is offensive when de-spoonerised and I apologise.

  142. avenell says:

    The way the refs used to treat vieira pissed me off. he used to get kicked to f**k then one bit of retaliation off he’d go.. “lil angel”

  143. peachesgooner says:

    Rasp – I bow to your greater knowledge – had to google it though to check.

    Today, there were a few tackles that were upsetting, Van persie especially got some harsh treatment – it must have an effect when you’re constantly fouled and not getting any protection

  144. avenell says:

    I’ll back you my fellow hertfordshire buddy.. 🙂

  145. Rasputin says:

    You’re right avenell. If you look at the slomo of the tackle on Van horseface at old trafford, you can clearly see that VN purposely threw himself down on Vieira’s back in an attempt to injure him. There was a concerted effort by the manu players to wind Vieira up and the referee fell for it.

  146. Rasputin says:

    Great link ave, I’d forgotten how funny he was – and risque for his time. I’m not sure that sort of humour would be allowed on the PC TV today.

  147. avenell says:

    That’s right ras.. and razor said to him “patrick what do you do at wine tasting?” it wasn’t pats fault.

  148. avenell says:

    I don’t like to go there ras but.. what would the pc brigade make of captain pugwash?.. lol

  149. Rasputin says:

    On that note, I’m off to let my son on the PC. Thanks for your company ave and peaches. Enjoy the rest of your evening.

  150. peachesgooner says:

    night rasp – you’re gonna watch motd aren’t you 😉

  151. avenell says:

    peaches .. if you would rather talk chocolate and cheese I can put nita on.. we cover everything on this blog.. lol

  152. rico01 says:

    Morning Roadsters, I suppose you lazy tinkers are all having a lay in on a Sunday morning, exhausted after all that naughty talk 😉

  153. rico01 says:

    Thought as much 😦

  154. rico01 says:

    Catch you all later guys, in-laws are coming 😦

  155. avenell says:

    Morning all..

    good early hat trick rico.. 😉

  156. JonJon says:

    hello ppl anyone there???

    thought id pop in to say hi.

    has anyone noticed at the start of the season we were dodgy in defence, and now the roles have reversed to we are dodgy in attack???

    i have a theory, i know we have injuries and i know denilson and song are the best we have at the minute but they are not good enough, the reason being they are not the complete midfielders. they are ok when they have big name players around them pulling the strings, but when they are asked to pull the strings it doesnt pay off, they both have one good game every 5 and its not good enough.

    in the games before we went on this unbeaten run we couldnt defend as we were trying to attack, now we have tightened up in defence but we are failing to create because we cant do both, or should i say song and denilson cant do both. its either concentrate on defending and not score or try to score and conceed.

    song doesnt know how to retain the ball and ends up out of position so many times its unbeleiveable, i saw the game yesterday and there was one point in the game where we lost the ball in the final third and song was stood next to rvp, wtf???? hes not quick enough to track back so why does he continue to push forward so much???

    denilson cant create , his idea of opening up defences is a 5 yard through ball to the touchline or back to gallas or toure, its too much to bare sometimes watching them both cos you just know whats going to happen when either of them get the ball, its so predictible and it frustrates the shit out off me.

    on a positive note the arse shaver had good glimpses, if thats him when hes 50% fit i cant wait to see him 100%, quick feet, dribbling shooting right and left, we seem to finally have a player who wants to shoot on sight instead of setting up a team mate stood on the half way line 🙂

    these draws against lesser teams are going to ruin our season, luckypool and villa both dropped points this weekend and we couldnt take the chance to make up the ground, our season is fizzling out, we are a cup team now and the best we can hope for is the FA cup.

    i dont buy into the fact we should remain positive because we are unbeaten either, would the 49unbeaten game run been as special if we drew over half of them???

    sunderland shood of been a certain 3 points and at least 4 goals added onto our goal difference,instead we have now played them twice and got 2 points from them, thats shit. add that to 2 points from both spud games, 1 point from both villa game, ffs the list could go on and on. if there isnt a major clearout in the summer i’ll be bitterly dissapointed with this clubs lack of ambition.

    this season should be treated as a learning curve, clear out the deadwood and freshen things up cos we are not going anywhere with some of the players we have in this team.

  157. avenell says:

    Hey the wanderer returns.. hi jj! you still about?

  158. kelsey says:

    Ave/JJ,
    Good Evening,I mentioned earlier on the other channel that GG was over here,and I am hoping to speak to him tomorrow,to see if I can get an insight at what’s going on behind closed doors at the club.

    I have been repeatedly saying there is a lot of in house fighting between a number of players,which as you know has been reported several times in the press.I don’t know the wages of each individual,but when RVP reportedly says it is not all about money,but rather which direction and ambition the club is heading,then I am concerned.Forget the stupid posts about the missed opportunities yesterday,the players concerned didn’t do it on purpose.There is an underlying problem which is thwarting our prospects IMO

  159. avenell says:

    Hi kelsey, you are a lucky man. I would love the chance to speak to one of our greats and a hero.. let us know how you get on.
    I said it earlier on this post, I think it is coming together and if one chance had of gone in yesterday we would have scored a hat full.
    Some team is going to get an everton soon.

  160. JonJon says:

    hey ave, im still about, i dont think our midfield is strong enough at all, centrally anyway, we are weak in that area and it shows, when we try to attack we leave ourselves open and when we tighten up we lose our fluidity going forward, like kelsey says there is alot unsettled players for one reason or another and its time we changed it round. if they cant get on then we should get rid, and let the crap go with them.

    ade nikki denilson ebooue song are the plyers i expect to see shipped out in summer. they have no place at this club, id say the same about gallas but hes showed his class and professionalism since what happened and the others should take a leaf out of that mans book

  161. avenell says:

    Hey jonjon I started to reply but I am going to save it for tomorrows post.
    How are you mate? we are still here just, have you a bit more time now?

  162. JonJon says:

    the underlying problem is a player like ade can get 80k a week after one lucky season and our best players are nowhere near that amount, wengers wage structure is fucking this club up, we wont give pires or edu an improved contract even though they were good players with a good few years left but we can give ade a ridiculous payrise. the other players such as cesc and rvp must be thinking wtf???? we treat our better players with contempt and it shows on the pitch.

  163. Rasputin says:

    Hi Roadsters,

    It has become clear that with Arsenal certain players will excel in ‘the system’ and others won’t. Sadly Flamini and Hleb didn’t appreciate how lucky they were to finds a club and style of football that embraced their talents – they’re finding out now that when Arsenal/Arsene gets it right, the football is fantastic. It is a delicate balance that can be destroyed by the loss of a single element. I agree that Denilson and Song are not of the quality required (Denilson may yet reach that level). I wish AW was more adventurous and urgent in his substitutions. We will never know if Little Jack would have made an impact yesterday or if Coquelin’s solid defensive qualities would have released Denilson to be more creative, but time is running out. I am beginning to think that the most important element in our hopes of fourth is not AA or Eduardo, but how soon Cesc can come back and start pulling the strings in midfield again.

  164. JonJon says:

    hey rasp, i agree about hleb, but i feel flam was differant, he was a constistent squad player a good few seasons before his last, he should of been offered a new contract when he played at left back in the CL run and he should have never of been droped for c**tley. im not suprised he left, we gave him the big F.U and when he had the chance he did the same, i dont blame him.

    i’ll have abit of time tomorrow ave, tonight im busy im off soon, but im practically back, im fine thanks, everythings working out thank fuck 😉

  165. JonJon says:

    we need rosicky back too, and to hit the ground running cos before cesc was injured he was struggling himself, our season depends on are unfit players to get back fit before its too late.

    hey ave, i got time, everythings well cheers mate, not about long tonight but as from tomorrow im back

  166. avenell says:

    You were in spam on your own blog jj what’s going on mate?
    Do me an email when you get a chance.

  167. JonJon says:

    it cos i said the c word ave 😉 i will do mate

  168. avenell says:

    No you didn’t 😉 I sorted it lol.

  169. Rasputin says:

    Hi JonJon, I wouldn’t disagree about the flamster being a good squad member – but when you assess his abilities, he was far better than Song even before he became a first team regular. What I can’t get my head round is the fact that I’ve never seen so many Arsenal players who appear not to be trying? I’m probably wrong, but that’s the impression they give. We started some games earlier in the season as if we were half asleep whereas now we also look as though we are just not good enough.

  170. JonJon says:

    haha.

  171. peachesgooner says:

    Hello roadsters

    JonJon nice to see your name – hope everything is going well for you.

    I was thinking – not always a good sign 🙂 – players like Flamini and Hleb would hope to be in their national teams wouldn’t they? If they aren’t playing for their clubs where does that leave them – in or out?

  172. JonJon says:

    totally agree with that rasp, flamster was a better player all round than denilson and song put together imo, he was box to box, could defend and attack, the other two cant do either, its one or the other with them not both. i really thought we were going to kick on after xmas, with a new signing and injured players returning and our upcoming fixtures, i thought we were going to make a charge, looks like we are just not good enough like u say

  173. peachesgooner says:

    Rasp – i agree that yesterday there were a lot of leaden legs. Some players just didn’t bother. The psyche is all wrong – it was a lovely day, no rain, no wind, it wasn’t cold and yet the thing that they love to do and get paid for – no rude comments please – didn’t couldn’t be asked.

  174. Rasputin says:

    Hi avenell, Peaches,

    That french national manager (watsisname) is a bit of a plonker though isn’t he? He didn’t play Clichy or Sagna when they’d had a great season with us. He stuck with the old timers and consequently got knocked out of the euros in the early rounds.

  175. peachesgooner says:

    ‘didn’t happen, they couldn’t be asked.’

  176. peachesgooner says:

    Didn’t they sack him – watsisname the frog

    Also wasn’t Hleb the captain!!!!!

  177. avenell says:

    Are you all reading my tomorrows post? 😦

    Hi peaches.. I think Hleb would be belarus player of the year if he played for dane end united.. lol..

    Flamini just seems to go with the money he has always been happy to bench sit.

  178. Rasputin says:

    The Sunderland players had a huddle before the game and played with the same sort of cohesion that we showed at the start of last season. Kelsey thinks there are still major rifts between the players and that goes some way to explain the lacklustre performances.

  179. JonJon says:

    hello peaches, thankyou,

    i think hleb made a money decision and flam made a decision based on how we treated him, milan have an aging team and flam thought he was the new generation imo, it hasnt quite worked out for him but even if we matched milans contract for him he would of still left, we treated him like shit and he jumped at the 1st chance, it was more of a two fingered salute than a money one, whereas hleb was a real turd who i hope rots on the bench

  180. peachesgooner says:

    I’ve been having tea with some serious gooners this afternoon – not more serious than us but older and their view is that Arsene must go!!!!!!

  181. avenell says:

    When Wenger lifts the Champions League and the premiership next year then I hope they hang there head in shame.
    Wenger has spent less than most of the teams in the bottom 10 what do they expect?

  182. Rasputin says:

    avenell – I bow to your greater knowledge, but I never got the impression that Flamini was happy to sit on the bench. He got us to the CL final by playing out of postion at left back and was dropped for the final, and then we just took it for granted that he would sign a new contract last season. He must have been miffed that we bought Diara who essentially played in his position, and we offered him too little, too late. I’m certain we would be at laest 2nd or 3rd in the prem now if he was still in the side.

  183. peachesgooner says:

    It was a family gathering so there were gooners in their 70’s and 80’s and their sons in their 40’s and 50’s plus a couple of girly gooners thrown in for good measure. Grandsons who were scummers – I couldn’t believe it either – and there was a very lively discussion.

  184. Rasputin says:

    Peaches – do you think another manager could get better results with our current crop of players than AW has?

  185. avenell says:

    If Flamini wasn’t happy to sit on the bench why did he act like a good boy for 3 years and sit on the bench and not transfer request? That was my theory, I never have any greater knowledge than anyone else, just an opinion.

  186. JonJon says:

    i dont think the problems is arsenes, its more the boards, for years the board has been keeping money from the team, wenger has worked on a shoe string from the start and the baord expected him to keep doing it, but footballs changed, the big sides who challenge for top honors spend money and rarely rely on youth, we still do and we get nowhere,

    gazidas was supposed to taking a back seat fo the arsh transfer but ended up stepping in cos friar was going to let it fall through. thats whats been happening for the last few years, wenger wants a player, the baord dont try hard enough and we lose out and wengers relying on players that wont be ready for 2/3 years

    its time we changed the policy, moved with the times and started going for them big players again like we used to.

  187. peachesgooner says:

    I think Diarra was bought because Arsene knew he was a good prospect – you can never have too many midfielders. Isn’t that Arsenes mantra 🙂

  188. Rasputin says:

    I’m not being sarcy ave – maybe he was just hoping to get his chance? It’s true that at that stage, no big club would have come in with a big offer for him because he wasn’t getting the exposure on the pitch. I liked him because he was a good ‘honest’ footballer who always tried his best even if he failed – that’s the same reason that I can’t abide EE

  189. peachesgooner says:

    Good question Rasp – I can’t imagine this team being 5th with any other manager. Arsene still works some magic obviously.

  190. avenell says:

    Ras take diarra and flamini.. chalk and cheese.. flamini was happy for 3 years, diarra was not happy for 2 months.. threatened to not play in the CC, refused to go on loan and talked to the press.
    went backwards to play first team football. flamini refused to go to birmingham.

  191. Rasputin says:

    OK ave – you see you do have greater knowledge, I didn’t know Flamini refused to go to birmingham.

  192. JonJon says:

    i suppose flamini was just happy to be here, happy to play for arsenal and took his chance when he got it and got messed about by the club fo his trouble, dropped for the final, tried to flog him to birmingham,

    flamini just thought fuck u, im off. good pro, didnt moan, took his chances , proved he was a good player and got his dream move, cant complain really, we should of treated him better. not like the shower of shite we have at the minute, pampered over paid pri madonnas,we like the bloody england team ffs.

    gilbertos another example, stripped of captaincy, dropped from the team, didnt moan good pro offloaded to the obscurity of greece so we could give the likes of song and denilson a go, total fuck up. gilberto was ageing, but he was better than what we have now

  193. peachesgooner says:

    Maybe Flamini thought his best chances would come if he didn’t go out on loan. Hes quite academic I think, studied some law I remember reading. Wasn’t there something clever that happened when he moved from Marseilles.

    I loved watching him and cesc together in the middle they clearly loved playing together and had an excellent understanding. Those were the days, a mid-field of H, Cesc, Flamster and Rossicky.

    Sorry rasp

  194. JonJon says:

    weve let our pros leave for the sake of a few quid and we keep the cry babies, and we wonder why we are 5th, cant score and cant play wengerball anymore.

  195. peachesgooner says:

    Did we offer to sell him?

  196. Rasputin says:

    Don’t apologies peaches, I agree that Hleb worked well in that midfield and it was great to see him mesemrising the opposition with his quick feet – I’d take that lineup now. I just think that he could have been even better if he’d not tried to be too clever sometimes and slowed down our attacks….. not to mention his shooting phobia.

  197. peachesgooner says:

    Yes but everyones got the shooting phobia now – Arsh had a couple of shots from outside the box yesterday bet he won’t do that again 🙂

    It was interesting yesterday that Arsh didn’t draw many men to him when he had the ball.

    Oh and Nasri went on a H-like slalom run across the mid-field with the ball at his feet.

  198. peachesgooner says:

    Sunderland weren’t afraid of us and thats whats upsetting.

  199. peachesgooner says:

    Looks like I’m on my own – la la la

  200. JonJon says:

    we offered him to birmingham peaches the summer before the season started, he rejected it and went on to have a blinderof a season.

  201. Rasputin says:

    What’s an H like slalom?

    Its frustrating because every now and then you see glimpses of what could be ahead. I know Cardiff weren’t topdraw but we played like the old Arsenal inspired by Eduardo’s return. I still think that if Cesc can repce either Song or Denilson and AA and Nasri are playing, we can beat most teams. The defence does look pretty solid despite Song’s habit of putting them under pressure, and we will be unlucky if all our strikers miss as many cahnces as yesterday again.

  202. peachesgooner says:

    So, of our sickies – who’s coming back first?

    Theo?

  203. Rasputin says:

    My splelnigs afwlu tinoght

  204. peachesgooner says:

    Your joking with me rasp aren’t you? H used to pick up the ball on one wing and slalom across the pitch through the mid-field dragging the opposition with him – no end product of course but jolly nice to watch 😉

  205. peachesgooner says:

    cahnces – i like that one

  206. JonJon says:

    right its been emotional, haha, im off to get some kip but i’ll speak to yall tomorrow if yall about, night night

  207. peachesgooner says:

    I argrre rasp – wengerball returned on monday. How far off premiership football are Cardiff?

  208. Rasputin says:

    Oh H = Hleb, silly me. I don’t want to talk about Hleb any more in case paulinho finds us and I have another wasted evening discussing that spineless, puny, traiterous weiner – oops, I’ve just exposed my anti-Hleb soft underbelly 😉

  209. Rasputin says:

    Sleep well JJ

  210. peachesgooner says:

    Night JonJon – its like the waltons

  211. avenell says:

    out of them all I prefer “on the naze”

  212. peachesgooner says:

    We got lucky with the everton result today didn’t we.

    Hope Hull stuff the spuds tmoro night – I’m all heart me 😉

  213. peachesgooner says:

    Shall I wait a while before I say I don’t get it?

  214. Rasputin says:

    Walton on the Naze – Essex

  215. peachesgooner says:

    thanks rasp – you are gent 🙂

  216. Rasputin says:

    12 games to go. 6 points behind villa and 2 down in goal difference. 7 points behind chelski and 17 down in goal difference. We still have to play manu, pool and the chavs – don’t want to spoil anyone’s evening, but yesterday was the last time we can afford not to take 3 points against lowly opposition.

  217. avenell says:

    tbh I am fed up with saying next game we need 3 points and so on.. we always end up dissapointed.

  218. peachesgooner says:

    I was just looking at the fixtures in the next couple of weeks – were you doing that too?

  219. peachesgooner says:

    After this season we should learn never to count our chickens and never to say the next game is a must win

  220. Rasputin says:

    I don’t think I could take another season like this one Peaches. I have to believe that we will start next season with a side that has a chance of winning the prem. Don’t forget that Citeh will be a stronger force next year and Villa’s benefactor seems happy to plough money into them – so we could be talking about the big ‘6’. Everything could implode at Pool’ though – they are in dire financial straits and may have to sell to stay afloat.

  221. peachesgooner says:

    But for now – we have to win our next 6 PL games, they are all winnable that takes us up to Liverpool away.

  222. peachesgooner says:

    …..and on an amusing note the scum will probably spend another £50m in the summer and reckon they’ll be in with a chance 🙄

  223. Rasputin says:

    I know its not very sporting, but we have to hope that the other contenders get injuries to their key players and ours return and boost performances. If we field a team that plays like yesterday’s, its all over in the CL race.

  224. Rasputin says:

    They can have EE and Song for £49m

  225. peachesgooner says:

    Rasp – we will very soon have a side thats able to challenge and I’m certain we’ll end the season on a high. We’ll get Cesc and Theo back, start playing 6 up front and bang in loads of goals 🙂

    Lots of optimistic chi flowing round here

  226. peachesgooner says:

    The scummers I was with today think its funny that so much money has been spent on Bentley, Bent and the returning Keane and Defoe.

    How would we feel if Arsene spent a lot of money on a player that was rubbish? Jeffers was expensive – did we care that he was expensive and rubbish or just that he was rubbish?

  227. peachesgooner says:

    Even they thought that the defoe deal was probably really shady

  228. peachesgooner says:

    Did anyone see the Villa v Chavs yesterday, was it a good game?

  229. Rasputin says:

    I’m off to bed folks. Nite nite peaches / avevnell

  230. Rasputin says:

    I’m off to bed folks. Nite nite peaches / avenell

  231. avenell says:

    Cheers ras thanks for popping in.. 🙂

    No I didn’t peaches it was on in another room. As was the man U game, they were lucky as usual too apparently.

  232. peachesgooner says:

    I’m off too ave, nite nite to you and rasp and anyone else who pops in while we’re not here 🙂

  233. avenell says:

    Thanks and goodnight peaches.. you missed rico again.. lol.

  234. JonJon says:

    the title is uniteds, they have that winning mentality, they are solid at the back and always look like scoring going forward and even if they play like shit, teams still dont think they can beat them.

    luckypool chelsea and villa on the other hand have to play out of their shkins to get a win so they will continue to lose games and drop points.

    but that will make no differance to us if we dont start scoring ourselves. i still dont think we’ll finish 4th. even when cesc rosicky dudu and walcott come back it wont be enough and cesc and walcott werent exactly running the show before they got crocked. we are depending too much on the return of injured players and our best chance of silverware is the FA Cup.

    wouldnt it be ironic if after 4 years without silverware and increased disgruntlement of fans for not doing so, that we win the fa cup at the expense of our CL place???? its just like the arsenal way and it wouldnt suprise me one bit.

  235. Matt says:

    Morning All!

    Well that was desperately disappointing wasn’t it?

    Saturday cetainly showed that we are badly missing Cesc.

    We lacked any real domination drive from the centre of the park, and both Denilson and Song had poor games.

    At the same time, we created enough chances to of won the game, which unfortunately is becoming rather a common trait.

    The one positive was that AA showed enough in 20 mins to suggest that he is going to be a top, top player for us, it’s a real shame he is unable to play in the CL.

    I know fear that we are reliant on Villa to crumble to get 4th.

  236. JonJon says:

    morning matt.

    totally agree denilsong had a poor one, but they have them all too often. one good game in 5 aint a good return from midfielders at a top club, thats why we are 5th, and it looks like we’ll finish 5th too.

    i hear what your saying about cesc, we do miss him, but he wasnt playing well himself before the injury, we cant rely on him to save our season, we need to forget this year and get better players in summer cos our squad players cant do it and never will

  237. avenell says:

    Morning gentlemen… new post!.

Leave a Reply

