Holy Moses! The Waves Have Parted.

The FA have rewrote the Cup bible, the road to the semi final is clear, we now know our next three possible opponents in the FA cup and they are very winnable.
We are on our way to Wembley (or we should be).
Mr Wenger OBE has never lost a game to a side lower than the Premiership and as long as he doesn’t start this season we will be  making our first appearance at the new Wembley Stadium. Okay the pitch isn’t as good as ours and the stadium probably isn’t that much better BUT the name Wembley still sends a slight shiver down the old spine.

                                                                                       wembley1

We are so far away yet we are in touching distance of a semi final place, like the stoke games in “71” and “72” or the dreaded Spud game in “91”. It’s funny really if we look over our shoulder we have only seen the 3rd round and we are already talking Wembley.

The more I think about it though the FA cup needs Arsenal as much as the other way around, last year and in some previous years it has been devalued with respect to Pompey and Cardiff they hardly draw big TV audiences.

I would expect a strong side tonight.

                       Fabianski

Sagna……..Toure……. JD……..Gibbs

Wilshere….Denilson….Song….. Nasri

       Bendtner……………….RvP

Or if Ramsey has a late fitness test he will replace Wilshere.

I think we should win 3-0 tonight as well with a goal from the comeback man Eduardo.

The only other headline is about Nikki Big Boots and he thinks he should start every game for Arsenal, sometimes the words confidence or arrogance could describe him. If he gets a hat trick tonight I will call it confidence. I cannot believe he has never seen Arshavin play though, what do these footballers do in there spare time? A little bit of homework on the man and he could learn what the player is all about.

Anyway tonight we progress……

73 Responses to Holy Moses! The Waves Have Parted.

  1. avenell says:

    morning all, at last arsenal are back in action..

  2. rico01 says:

    Woo Woo, afternoon Ave 🙂

  3. avenell says:

    Hey hey! Hiya rico, just been reading the “other site” and your old mate peaches has turned up.. I thought we was rude on here to someone for a moment but we was mistaken for ACLF or some other blog. 🙂

  4. London says:

    Avenell, you old Cornish sea dog, I have just found out that you have your own blog, how very enterprising of you. Just thought I would come on and wish you good luck and maybe add a comment: I can’t see him starting with Wishire; although, it would be no bad thing. This team struck me as being a good option.

    —–Fabianski
    Sagna-Djorou-Toure-Gibbs
    –Denilson-Song–Nasri
    —–Nik–RVP–Vela

    P.S. I know you are not Cornish.

  5. avenell says:

    It’s good to hear from you london, you are one of the guys I miss blogging with.
    It’s a long and a boring story now but jonjon and me have started this off and although it’s a bit new to have constant chat, when we have a good spell it is very enjoyable.

  6. London says:

    I wondered what happened to Jonjon, it all makes sense now. I will add my tupence worth every now and again if you don’t mind. Good luck once again.

  7. avenell says:

    Cheers london ! I will look forward to that.

    Your side makes sense with Bendtner and Vela running into the wide positions. The only thing is we are a bit narrow further back so the full backs would need to push up.

  8. rico01 says:

    Sorry Guys, had my mum over for lunch, so had to stay away for a while – London, you found him then 😉

  9. avenell says:

    Rico, have you noticed shops and things shutting down up your way? when we went out yesterday falmouth was like a ghost town and three or four main dealer garages have closed down in the area too.
    definataly not good down here.. 😦

  10. rico01 says:

    Ave – I have, its sad, No Woolies, a few ‘discount’ shops have now shut, the BMW gagrage in Oxford has cut jobs, its real sad, and a Renault garage which has stood since I have has also closed, its a real old mess everywhere

    Good to see peaches is fit and well, and nice to see London pop over

  11. avenell says:

    Yes rico londons cool, thanks for that. 🙂
    at least there was no agro this morning and everything has settled down between the sites.. 😎

  12. rico01 says:

    my pleasure ave – its good that others can pop over, and i am glad things have settled, cant wait for later, we get setanta so i will be able to watch it live – as long as the other half does’t steal the remote control….

    Bischoof could may well start tonight instead of Ramsey, I look forward to seeing why Arsene took the risk, I have a huch he could turn out well, and better than Song, certainly better than Eboue.
    Might even see Bischoff alongside Song, Denilson on the RM and Nasri on the left ?

    Robin and Vela, or will Nik get another game….

  13. rico01 says:

    Got to dash, catch you later xx

  14. avenell says:

    Cheers rico!! 🙂

    Sea dog? lol.

  15. kelsey says:

    Afternoon all,

    well finally we get to see a game,seems like an eternity.A few goals tonight wouldn’t go amiss,restore confidence.I think Gibbs will play as you do avenell,but we may be stuck with Song.I think Eduardo will feature at some point,and Bendtner has made a rod for his own back,by his comments today.18 league appearances,half as subs,for a total of 3 goals.

    I think Cardiff will attack us and hopefully that will suit us.Been a bit busy the last few days so haven’t posted on here or the other channel until today.

  16. avenell says:

    You been out on the greens kelsey?
    As for pinkie boots, I haven’t got arsenal TVOL I think that’s where most of the crap came from. Judging by the headlines on arse.con it looked quite friendly so it may be the papers being there usual arsenal hating selves.

  17. Rasputin says:

    Hi Roadsters,

    Sorry I haven’t been in evidence lately – just too busy 😦

    I’m going tonight and fully expect us to win comfortably and hopefully in style for once!

    I’d like to see LJ, Bischoff and Merida given some time on the pitch, but will be saving my loudest cheer for Dudu – I hope I don’t have to suppress a boo if EE features….

  18. avenell says:

    Hi ras.. I think you are okay with eboue.. I think he is on a ban.
    have a good one buddy.

  19. Rasputin says:

    Or is EE banned for this game?

  20. Rasputin says:

    Thanks ave – you got there just before me on EE. Banned for life would suit me….

  21. avenell says:

    Cheers, try and get on a bit laters and tell us how it went.

  22. Rasputin says:

    Will do, I’d like to think that this is a start of a new era even though AA won’t be playing.

    Although I’m not too happy to see that Usamov has increased his stake to 25% and will have to launch a takeover bid if he reaches 30%, He’s not the kind of guy I’d like to see controlling our club.

  23. avenell says:

    I’m not sure on the percentages, but I think that 30% just gets the russian a place on the board.

    I don’t think fizman and kroenke would have let him buy the shares so easily if he was going to do a takeover.
    Don’t forget the bracewell smith family and fizman own 45% and if they joined up in a company they could do there own takeover.
    and the russian lost a lot of dosh he isn’t skint but he isn’t as well of as he was. 🙂

  24. kelsey says:

    30% lets him make a hostile takeover bid.

    On the green,is correct,We won the regional 4’s on friday and played another tornament over the weekend.I am knackered.Even bowls has been affected.We usually get a lot of touring parties from England,and they have all cancelled this year.RBOS our biggest sponsor has pulled out(and we are talking small money,maybe £2000. a year),houses that are repossesed are being auctioned off at 50% of their value(if in fact there are buyers) The weak pound is crippling the older brits who rely on state or private pensions and the outlook for this year is that things will get a lot worse before they get better.

  25. avenell says:

    Well done on the bowls mate.

    I was reading about a company that is selling houses in detroit for $2,000 a go and people are buying blocks of fifty.
    Things are definatly not good anywhere!

  26. rico01 says:

    Dudu Dudu Dudu Dudu 🙂

  27. avenell says:

    glimpses of the old days, wtf is bendtner on lol..

  28. rico01 says:

    Borrowed time ave 😉

  29. Wrighty7 says:

    Evening people!

    Eduardo is the strongest player I have ever seen.

  30. rico01 says:

    Sleep tight, i am ker-put xx

  31. avenell says:

    Evening wrighty. this should cheer a few gooners up at last. 🙂

    dudu is a legend already..

  32. avenell says:

    sweet dreams rico. x 😉

  33. peachesgooner says:

    I can see you’ve all gone to bed but I was at the game and am thrilled to have seen Eduardo score his first goals since his accident. The ground was singing his name – what a lovely feeling 😉

    As we walked down the steps we overheard a guy say ‘havn’t felt like this for a while after a game’
    and its true. It was comfortable and enjoyable even with the missed opportunities in the first 15 mins.

    I would give credit to the defence who hardly put a foot wrong – Gibbs should have a special mention, he was certainly solid.

    Well done toure and gallas for putting your differences behind you and being a great partnership.

    See you all tmoro, nite nite xxx

  34. Rasputin says:

    Morning Roadsters,

    I agree with Peaches. The defence looked rock solid, Gibbs didn’t put a foot wrong and reminded me of the way Cashley came into the side. The attack was good, Eduardo looked sharp and Bendtner worked really hard even though he should have scored more, Vela and Nasri were top drawer. The only area that let us down was central midfield (again!). Denilson worked hard and played one or two great through balls. Song gave the ball away by just passing it to the opposition at times, but far worse, he gave away clumsy free kickcs in dangerous posions that would have resulted in goals against better opposition. Fabianski had a good game. A greta result and as I asked for last night – a classy performance.

  35. Matt says:

    Hey Avenell,

    Good to see you started your own blog!

    I will add to my fave’s – maybe on here i won’t get the piss taken out of me for saying Song played OK. lol

  36. avenell says:

    Morning Matt, it’s good to hear from my old blogging friends and it’s really nice that I built up some sort of a name to make a few come over.
    We try not to talk LG on here as we try to get on as best we can.
    I have noticed though that if we all agree there is not much debate and not so many comments.
    Also we are still quite new in blogging time and cannot get on the best search engines yet but hopefully in a few months we can get more peeps to debate with as we all seem to miss each other. 😦

    PS It isn’t the best day to defend song, but cardiff nil means he sort of done his job. 🙂

  37. Matt says:

    LOL – All good Avenell, all good.

    Well i have added you to my faves, and will spread the word.

  38. avenell says:

    Good man Matt. It used to be better early evening but jonjon is a bit busy at the moment and that’s half the workforce gone. lol.
    If you ever fancy a bit of a write up after a game you are welcome as you are a man who attends the games. 🙂

  39. Rasputin says:

    Just for the record, I’m not a Song hater (EE…now that’s another case)I thought Song had a very good second half against the spuds, and some decent performances lately, but yesterday wasn’t so good. I think it is a lot to do with the fact that he lacks pace, and when a player gets past him, he struggles to catch them and often just clatters into their back with his hands in the air as if he couldn’t help himself. The resultant free kicks will cost us goals against quality opposition. I guess the stray passes are just down to a lack of concentration on his part. I’m not sure if either of these flaws can be corrected by training or experience.

  40. avenell says:

    Hi ras. I noticed last night if an arsenal player has possesion song for some reason gets drawn into them instead of moving into space to accept a pass.

    He was a bit wayward with some of his passes as well, I thought bendtner played well though even if I normally slate him credit where it’s due, with dudu and him on this sort of form hopefully ade might get the hump and up sticks.

  41. Rasputin says:

    Exactly right about Song ave – at times, he was almost getting in the way of other players. I don’t really think he has the quality to play for the sort of Arsenal side we all crave, but at the moment he can do a job in certain games.

    I warmed to Bendtner last night. I thought he might have shot himself in the foot with his publicised comments before the game, but he was industrious and threatening at the same time. Unlike ade, I think he can keep improving and who knows how good he could become. It was also significant to see thet he worked very well with RVP when he came on. I’ve mentioned before that I think boy wonder only likes to pass to players who he believes are skillfull enough to return the compliment, and I wouldn’t mind betting thet he prefers to play with Eduardo or Bendtner above Ade.

  42. avenell says:

    As you went to the game you missed the bendtner interview after the match. he said what was in the papers was not true and I think he wanted to explain more, but the setanta bloke changed the subject.
    he also spoke very well about dudu and arsenal and was not arrogant at all.

  43. Matt says:

    Cheers Avenell, i will definately take you up on that at some point, if OK.

    Don’t get me wrong, i do not for one minute think Song is good enough for us if we want to get back to challenging for honours, but the guy has done OK over the last few games.

    He hasn’t pulled up any tree’s, but he does seem to come in for some over the top stick from certain blogs.

    The positive for me at the moment is the fact that with a minor tweak or 2 in the summer, we will have a really strong squad.

    One of the biggest problem’s is going to be who to play when Arshavin, Nasri, Cesc, Walcott and Rosicky are all fit.

    Maybe AW will look to play 4-5-1 in certain games, as he did the other year?

  44. Steve says:

    Matt, most people agreed that Song played o.k.

  45. avenell says:

    Welcome to avenell road steve, you are released lol.

  46. Rasputin says:

    Hi Steve,

    Sorry to contradict you and I know your comment was dirtected towards Matt, but I think it is a question of the standards by which you judge a player – most people I spoke to thought that he played OK but was our worst player. I’m very conscious not to demonise Song on here – there’s enough of that going on elsewhere.

  47. avenell says:

    Lets face it song isn’t great, but we have a shortage of central midfielders without fab and diaby, denilson hasn’t really been the flamini dynamic midfield type so song is one of the only alternatives.
    I would like to see JD given a go but then we are short of CB’s.
    We are going to have to wait for coq au vin or sign someone in the summer.
    I still want alonso..

  48. Rasputin says:

    Diaby is a bit of a conundrum. He’s oviously very skillful and doesn’t seem to dwell on the ball as he used to, but soemhow he doesn’t seem to fit into the team. I think if cesc had been playing last night we could have got into double figures and it would have served then right for their ‘your just a small town in totnum’ chant 😉 Actually, hats off to their fans – they know how to sing and celebrate a 4 nil defeat…

  49. peachesgooner says:

    Rasp – there was a report earlier that the interview that Nikki did had been manipulated by the british press and his comments were not as we read them.

    Fancy that eh?

  50. peachesgooner says:

    I heard it on good authority from someone that lives in Denmark 😉

  51. avenell says:

    Your not getting your hat trick. If dudu can’t you can’t. lol.

  52. peachesgooner says:

    I was just thinking was I gonna get a hat-trick when I pressed F5 and there you were 😦

    I got one already tday anyway XXXXX

  53. peachesgooner says:

    Its rasps fault that I was even going for it

  54. peachesgooner says:

    Out for lunch – catch up later

  55. avenell says:

    What have you done with rico? It seems like you share the same laptop we never see you together.

  56. Rasputin says:

    Yes Peaches – Nik could yet become an Arsenal legend…..he must have been very pissed off that the press made him out to be arrogant yet again – but maybe that was what spurred him on to give such a good performance. At the end of the day, (footballing cliche numver 109) if a player performs well, we fans don’t care how arrogant he is….just don’t wear pink boots and miss an open goal 🙂

  57. avenell says:

    You win.. 🙂
    I’m out for an hour or so too, be good.. 😉

  58. Matt says:

    I’m with you on that one Avenell…

    I’mconvinced that if we had gotten Alonso in the summer, we would be in great shape now.

    Imagine a midfield of Nasri, Cesc, Alonso and Arshavin, with Walcott and Rosicky waiting in the wings….

    Am i dreaming?? 😉

  59. Rasputin says:

    Where’s Vela in your midfield Matt?

    I think we have potential congestion ahead in the battle for the ‘behind the striker’ slot. RVP, Arshavin, Vela, Diaby and Nasri all like to inhabit that area

  60. kelsey says:

    Hello everyone,

    What a great game last night only spoiled by the Setanta commentators being totally biased to Cardiff by keep saying that they hadn’t turned up, when of course he meant we didn’t allow them any time.
    Eduardo has a footballer”s brain,an intelligent player and is as good a header of a ball as anyone.One could tell we were really up for it within 5 minutes,and Bedntner really started well for a change.he is improving and still young.I think it was a pleasure not to have Ade and Eboue on the pitch,as it let others express themselves,and once again our fluidity was there,which hadn’t been seen for a while.
    I think Rasputin summed Song up well.He is bulky and not very quick,but tries his best.We can only play the players we have got available,and it was a good all round team performance.i like fab in goal,he commands the box well,and hopefully he will soon be No:1.Gibbs played really well,as did Toure and Gallas,Vela and of course Eduardo.What an emotional night for us all.He is so low key and a gentleman(the complete opposite of Ade)and above all a natural goal scorer.Those goals will give the lads a huge lift,and I hope AW doesn’t change it round too much for saturday,by bringing back Eboue.

  61. avenell says:

    Hi kelsey. Yea I hate that craig burley commentator when i renewed my setanta I got the address to complain about his anti arsenal bias.
    They spent 5 minuites bigging up cardiffs midfield before the game how good they were against us, then when the game started they said cardiff never turned up lol.
    They are trying to get in the premiership and they are on a good run so they are not as bad as they made them out to be.

  62. London says:

    Song should not be put in the same category as the other players in the midfield mentioned above; he is the only player who can defend, that’s to say that he can play DM where as none of the others are any where near capable. But don’t get confused, would I play Song against West Ham at home when they are under strict instructions not to go past the half way line? No. But if we were playing spuds away and they are obviously going to come onto us then Song would be one of the first names on my team sheet.

    Hi Ave, hope you are well.

  63. Big Raddy says:

    Evening All. I always seem to get the timings wrong for a chat !

    I agree with everything said about last night. It was so good to see that we can still play with swagger and fluency.

    We still have a problem at DM, but the attacking options are outstanding, and I think Peaches plan of playing with 4 attacking midfielders is a definite possibility. Cesc, AA, and Nasri can all tackle. But how to fit in all those great talents. Will Theo be happy with a bench place? Or Vela? Or Ade?

    The only attacking player guaranteed a start is RvP. Still, these are luxury problems.

  64. avenell says:

    Hi London, yes mate I am fine thanks.
    Yes we seem to be over run with attacking midfielders now that rosicky and theo are back soon, add that to the AA man dudu, vela, nasri and even cesc. we are a bit top heavy and like I said a bit earlier denilson isn’t really like flamini (poor mans cesc 😦 ) We are left with song.
    I was one of the few that defended him at the start of the season as he had some half decent reserve games.
    but in the end I gave up as people just hate him full stop.

  65. avenell says:

    Hi raddy, sorry mate i was writing that so i didn’t stick your name on.

    I’m with peaches on the play your best players thing wengerball rules OK.. lol

  66. Big Raddy says:

    What seems certain is that we will shed some players in summer.

    But who goes and who stays will be a problem for AW and not me … Thankfully.

  67. avenell says:

    I think he has 2 problems well probably more than that. but who is going to go and who is going to sit on the bench because we now have a lot of attacking options which is unbelievable when we have played some of our worst football for years.
    On top of the ones we have have in the team we have lil jack and a few others breaking through.
    Arshavin seems a luxury player now, but a few weeks ago I thought we needed him badly. I blame dudu for this lol.

  68. Big Raddy says:

    True Avenell. Who would have thought it !

  69. rico01 says:

    Hello All, how you all doing ?

  70. rico01 says:

    ave – i guess thats why Arsene said our injured players will be like new signings, he wasnt far wrong really was he 😉

  71. rico01 says:

    I will be back tomorrow, night night 😦

  72. avenell says:

    B****ks rico I missed you. I was just writing a new post.. 🙂

    If you are reading hi.. if not good night anyway.

  73. avenell says:

    And here it is.. make the most of it.. lol..

Leave a Reply

