A Watched Kettle Never Boils

 

This Arshavin deal (no funny names anymore) is another PR disaster for Arsenal and just winds up the fans. Deadlines by Zenit, deadlines for a work permit, it’s Arshavins fault aaaaarrrrrgggghhhhh. This is like the Nasri deal all over again.  At least by 5 oclock on Monday we will be put out of our misery.

It maybe a better money spinner for Arsenal to sell keyboards in the Armoury than Eboue shirts. My F5 key has worn out moving between the Newsnow, Zenit and Arshavin.com websites. But then again this could be the dreaded smokescreen that transfer theorists would like us to believe.

I have noticed that some bookies are making Aston Villa fourth favourites for the league title now and that’s after we are on our best run of the season.

Onto tonights game, we have Clichy back from his suspension and Gallas is fit, but I don’t see either of those making any great improvement over Toure and Gibbs who had a cracking game on Sunday.

Sorry everyone but I don’t think we are going to win tonight. I am going for a 1-1 .

The team I think Mr Wenger will pick is.

                    Almunia

Sagna… Toure….JD….Clichy

Denilson….Diaby….Song…. Nasri

                RVP……. Ade

152 Responses to A Watched Kettle Never Boils

  1. JonJon says:

    hello

    i aint that confident about tonight either, tonight could be the night where we are really made to regret not holding onto that 2 goal lead at villa, like you say ave we are on an unbeaten run, we and we still arent catching up, we need some luck tonight cos everton are a hard team to break down, especially with a midfield containing fellieni, cahill and arteta, if they all play, they will crap on our midfield, especially if eboue plays. its a tough one.

  2. Big Raddy says:

    A tough one it is JJ. And should we lose, the fallout will be horrible tomorrow on LG.

    I prefer to take a long term view. I gave up this season before it even started. It was obvious that we would struggle without signing at least 3 new players. GK, DM and CB. We didn’t and the results reflect that.

    I am resigned to another 2/3 seasons scrabbling around for 3/4/5th place. Until the kids mature. My fears are that the established quality players will not wait for thet time, and move on .( RvP, Cesc, Sagna etc)

    Pray for a positive result tonight and with AA.

    Nice post by the way Avenell -and I love the teapot.

  3. avenell says:

    Hi jonjon. How are you doing buddy?

    Thanks Big R we need a big up sometimes, there isn’t much news about today just the Theo Walcott contract thing and that’s goning to drag on until the summer no doubt.
    As for being an arsenal fan, you are spot on but then at the end of the season we should be challenging for at least one cup.. fingers crossed and if we win this season is a success. It’s a fine line. 4 more wins in the FA cup and we are in the final.

  4. JonJon says:

    hi guys, how are you both, im fine thanks ave,

    i felt the same at the start of the season raddy, i didnt expect anything this season, but as the arsenal runs through my viens you can never say never, youve got to sit and hope.

    at the start of the season i was abit sceptical towards wenger, but has the seasons gone on ive become a beleiver of the fact we have no money to spend, we may have cash reserves but we need them for something else,

    i said id pass my full judgement on this on feb 2, and whether we signed anyone or not,and its looking like we are not.

    i understand wenger saying that he will not allow anyone to leave this window, but the need to strengthen is surely much greater than ever now??? if we dont have the cash, why dont we raise some by selling the likes of eboue ????

    its all abit confusing.

    what isnt confusing, is that if we dont qualify for CL, it could be disastorous for us, financial wise and footballwise.

    i know theres still along way to go, but im not holding my breathe, im becoming more resigned everyday to the fact that our only way to qualify for the CL is to win it this season.

    i hope we win tonight, it will help me to keep the faith, 😉

  5. Big Raddy says:

    I am not conviced about this Financial disater if we don’t make the CL.

    What is the difference between getting to the Uefa Final and the group stages of the CL in finacial terms ? Someone wrote that Rangers earned £28m by getting to the Uefa Final, can the CL be worth so much more?

    I don’t know the answer. But it looks like we may well find out !

  6. avenell says:

    As far as I am aware the UEFA and the Champions League money comes in 2 different ways.
    The Champions League comes in more of a lump sum the further the team progresses. But in the UEFA, the club has more control and gets it’s dosh from gate reciepts etc.

  7. JonJon says:

    i aint sure to be honest, i thought the TV renenue was more in the CL, something like 20mil difference,

    i heard manchester utd got 100mil for winning the double last year too, so the eventual prize money is much more.

    will have to look into it

  8. peachesgooner says:

    Hi all

    That article fairly proves what we thought about money from the CL doesn’t it.

    How are we all today?

    I’m not sure whether to publicise this but I’m going to the Emirates this evening to watch the game in club level on the big screens. The last time I went was to the 2nd leg of the Liverpool CL game last season . . . . . . .

    . . . . . . . . and we know what happened there . . . . . .

    I’m gonna make sure I’m wearing all my lucky stuff – mind you I did that when we played Hull and Villa at home 😦

  9. avenell says:

    Hi peaches, I’m all good thanks.
    How do you get into the emirates tonight? Buy a ticket or are you special? 😉

  10. rico01 says:

    Afternoon All

  11. avenell says:

    Hi rico.. any good news?

  12. rico01 says:

    Its raining – good for the grass !! 😉

    No Arsenal news ave – quite sad isn’t it 😦

  13. avenell says:

    I have just had a walk around the garden, it’s sunny here and all the birdies are tweeting away.. sorry rico.. 😦

    Things look good for your little Theo, your niece had a nice catch with him and we had an insider.. lol..

    Do they keep in contact?

  14. rico01 says:

    Silly girl let him go though! Mind you she told me a couple of things and if they have any truth about them, then i dont blame her…. They dont keep in touch (i think) and she is now engaged so i best she doesnt! His family used to live a few miles away, but they have all departed for the big city i think – he stills buys his cars at a local garage and does a bit for charity around here –

    just think if they had still been together……….. 😦

  15. rico01 says:

    Cant believe you have sunshine ave, hope its heading this way, its really merky, cold and pretty wet here –
    and not a bird in sight either, they must be hiding trying to stay dry

  16. avenell says:

    I can’t believe we have sunshine either, it’s a lot duller down this way than up towards London normally, although we tend to get 20 mins more light in the evening. (I didn’t believe that either).
    We get loads of big buzzards things flying about and landing in the garden and a barn owl at dusk..
    That dudu is a role model.. he said some great things after that reserve match. but I still cannot watch him without being amazed he can walk and run..

  17. rico01 says:

    He certainly is that ave, hope he is sonn playing again and Thomas – if they both get match fit and ready by the end of March, and we are still up there, what a breath of fresh air that would be, and finally some ‘real’ talent in midfield and up front 😉

    I am not so keen on the big birds, we have seen a few sparrow hawks take ‘our’ blackbirds – i know its nature and all that, but seeing it my own eyes is pretty hard to take

  18. avenell says:

    I do hope that tommy G comes back and proves a few doubters wrong..
    I read on that footie doctor site that cesc isn’t ready until the end of april, that’s a big blow we have some big games in april.
    It may not have been updated though.. 😦

  19. kelsey says:

    knock knock,

    can I come in

  20. avenell says:

    Alright kelsey.. whats the weather in your town like mate?

  21. rico01 says:

    got to go and get the better one now, but no doubt will be back to annoy you all later, 1-0 win for us tonight will do me just fine, even better if its a toffee own goal 😉

    Hope all is well kelsey 🙂

    See you all later

  22. rico01 says:

    news is coming out that we have our man………. bet its yet another load of rubbish tho,

    ttfn 😉

  23. kelsey says:

    avenell, it is 22 degrees today,realy quite warm.disregaurd the e mail i will fight on.

    can’t believe what wenger has said today about finances before trophies, actually come to think of it I can.

    is the game on anywhere tonight.

  24. avenell says:

    It’s not on TV over here. You may have more chance at your place.

    Highlights are on at 10.20 ish on football first or it’s search for a stream.

    I’m sure Wenger is right in some ways, but the fans don’t want to hear that. the PR machine is out of touch with reality. He talks to the press like he is in a shareholders meeting.
    Some of the stuff that Redknapp dishes out is too much information too.. You would have thought they got 4th spot in the league last night 🙂
    AR = Avenell Road.. 😉

  25. Big Raddy says:

    Bang on Avenell. We should adopt Fergie’s policy and have others talk to the press. AW tries to be sardonic, and people don’t understand his humour.

    I disagree Kelsey. I cannot accept that AW profits from the lack of success of the club. He is ambitious and wants to win. Always. But perhaps I have the wrong end of the stick

  26. Rasputin says:

    BigR – I generally find little to disagree with in your posts – but do you really think AW was exhibiting sardonic humour? I think it was a clumsy ill-conceived statement, or possibly a slightly more sinister warning of the excuses to come if things don’t work out. I know that opinion conflicts with the general view on here, but I find the whole situation highly predictable.

  27. Big Raddy says:

    Hope you are wrong Rasputin.

    I have the highest respect for Wenger. Not only as a football manager, but also as a man. I ignore the constant sniping at him because it is a sisyphean task trying to protect his good name !!

    I wasn’t referring to his talk of his salary in my last post – more to his general demeanour.

  28. Big Raddy says:

    Can this be true?

    http://www.setanta.com//uk/Articles/Football/2009/1/28/Prem-Rosicky-eight-weeks-away/gnid-37561/

    If so it is fantastic news. Kelsey and I have long held the view that he would never play football again. I cross fingers that he can maintain an injusry free rehab.

    It would be wonderful to see him play this season.

  29. Rasputin says:

    Great use of the word ‘Sisyphean’ – don’t use it on LG, you’ll get pelters!

    I did think you were referring to today’s statement. I agree mindless name-calling and unreasoned criticism of Wenger is boring and vacuous. I believe he is an immensely gifted football theorist and he should always be heralded for the incredible metamorphosis he has produced art Arsenal – the ground alone is a fantastic testament. However, I do not think he is brilliant at everything and particularly not when it comes to PR. That is why the DD/Wenger partnership was so fruitful. They dovetailed brilliantly – DD took care of the PR, buying players, contracts etc. and AW moulded a team admired the world over. The cost of the ground is certainly proving to be somewhat of a burden and so far there is little sign that Gazidis has made an impact, but we have to give him time.

    I don’t know why, but I’m just very pissed off with everything at the moment – perhaps I should save my moaning for LG 😉

  30. avenell says:

    Raddy your link went into moderation..Good news indeed..

    Hi ras!

  31. kelsey says:

    It’s a bit of a conundrum to me. Wenger could literally walk into any job in the world that was offered to him,but i honestly believe he will honour his contract regardless of how the club finishes this season.Having said that i believe he thought real money was available, and now that isn’t the case,maybe due to the Highbury project and their obligation to the council to build an office/gym site in Lansdowne Road.As a decent highly intelligent man he has to now cover up for the board, in other words their mouthpiece.Today we are being offered false hope that Rosicky and Theo will be back sooner than expected,but the fact is every game from tonight will be a battle, to what amounts to be a pretty average team,without leadership on the pitch. my gut feeling is that Toure/Richards deal might go through before the deadline, as kolo is clearly unhappy with Gallas.our attention is also been diverted today about negotiations about extension contract with Theo and the same applies to RVP who also wants to renegotiate.Did you realise Rosicky is out of contract in the summer.

    The board and CO are being far to laid back and passive to what could amount to a disasterous season as we have too many understudies and too many worthless players.Quite frankly we are boring to watch at the moment and though unbeaten in 9 or 10 one never gets the feeling we are going to steam roller the opposition.

  32. kelsey says:

    Having just read the rosicky story, nothing would please me more but I doubt he will featur this season. The official website is very misleading,a few weeks usualy means a few months, though i hope i am wrong.

  33. Rasputin says:

    Kelsey – a very interesting viewpoint. The only thing I’d perhaps take issue with is the assertion that a ‘decent highly intelligent man has now to cover up for the board’. He may be choosing to do just that, and if he is, he is an impossible situation. But where should his loyalty lie? To the board who are his emoployers, to the club and the footballing dynasty he has created and now is seeing crumble, or to the fans who generate much of the revenue but more importantly are the reason for the club’s existence. I cannot speak for Mr. Wenger, but I’d like to think that if I were in his position, I would not just act as the mouthpiece for the board.

  34. peachesgooner says:

    Hi Rasp – so you havn’t cheered up then?

  35. peachesgooner says:

    Evening everyone else

    kelsey – nice to see you blogging

    ave – did you really have sunshine today? I’m so jealous. Good news all round, tickets sold out for the game at the Ems tnite so you won’t be able to blame me cos I’m now not going 😦

  36. avenell says:

    Sorry peaches but yes all day… 🙂

    Put your lucky garments on though.. 😉

  37. peachesgooner says:

    Had to google sisyphean – nice word – aptly describes the task to which you referred.

    I do admire Arsene for the fabulous football he brought our team to, its a great shame we don’t get to see it at the moment. I’m always hopeful that the magic will work again. Maybe tnite will be the nite . . . . . . . maybe saturday. . . . . . maybe next tuesday, its easy to be optimistic 😉

  38. Rasputin says:

    Forgot my manners – Hi avenell, Kelsey, Big R & Peaches

    Nah Peaches I obviously haven’t cheered up – I hope I’m amongst friends so you can all ignore me if I’m OTT. I think I am suffering from expectation fatigue 🙂

    I’m just leaving work now so you won’t have to read any more drivel for a while.

  39. peachesgooner says:

    I’ll make sure all the required items of clothing and jewellery are on me.

    Did you know we got to the champions league final because I always wore the same necklace :0:

  40. avenell says:

    Will you be home for KO ras?

  41. Big Raddy says:

    Rasputin 5.54. Spot on

  42. peachesgooner says:

    thats rubbish :0: maybe its :0:

  43. peachesgooner says:

    come on someone help me, smiley with open mouth??????

  44. Big Raddy says:

    No Peaches. It was my lucky scarf and socks.

  45. Big Raddy says:

    Use the Capital D Peaches 😀

  46. peachesgooner says:

    Rasp how do you do the smiley with the open mouth?

  47. Big Raddy says:

    Read my Lips Peaches. …. !!!

  48. peachesgooner says:

    Thanks raddy, theres another one with blinking eyes too.

    Do you wear your scarf and socks for every game? Same socks . . . be honest now

  49. Big Raddy says:

    Colon Dash Capital D 😀

  50. Big Raddy says:

    No. I have two pairs of the same. M & S bright red silk mix. Been v. lucky for me.

    But now I use a lucky Invincibles sweatshirt. You are fortunate to have an item that doesn’t fall to pieces on you. I think I will get a lucky shell or something like that.

  51. Big Raddy says:

    I would love to join you in Club tonight. Peaches. It sounds very chi-chi

  52. Big Raddy says:

    OK… talk to yourself BR. Always happens to you when you are talking to attractive women. They just walk away.

    Get used to it mate, because it isn’t going to change !

    At least I know that when I talk to myself, the bloke who listens is impressed by what I have to say.

  53. Big Raddy says:

    Who to believe , eh Ave ?

    It is all bollocks. And as I wrote earlier, AA is not the solution to our problems. Though he would be a step in the right direction

  54. kelsey says:

    It’s of real importance but I asked on LG the other day this same question.Why did we not wear our red shirts against Cardiff,personally i don’t like the new away kit with a hint of red.

    oh good evening all.

  55. avenell says:

    There just trying to put more pressure on .. all in public. Arsene must really want this player.

  56. avenell says:

    tbh kelsey I haven’t liked many of the nike shirts. I don’t like the home ones because from certain angles you cannot see any white on the sleeves.

  57. kelsey says:

    Ave/Raddy,
    exactly who does one believe. We have a disturbing habit recently of buying either mercenaries like Diarra,hleb(to an extent0 and Ade, we certainly don’t need another in AA. i think that is most of our problems, we are a collection of players,some or should I say too many with inflated egos, yet we are not a team of fluid passing and excitement as we were some 15 months ago.

  58. avenell says:

    It’s clever how papers and sites can spin the same words to have different meanings.. here’s another.

    http://www.sport.co.uk/news/Football/13405/Arshavin_admits_move_away_is_unlikely.aspx

  59. peachesgooner says:

    Sorry Raddy – I was away from the computer while you were talking to yourself, I never walk away if a nice man is talking to me – I’m very polite 😉

    How optimistic are we feeling? I watched both the everton v pool games and everton looked like a good side. Pool were lucky in the prem fixture to get a draw – and in the fa game there wasn’t much between them even tho rafa said everton parked the bus.

    What we really need is for nasri and denilson/diaby to play in midfield. Actually I loved Geoffs team on lg this morning, if all our players could be trusted we should just go for now – I don’t want us to play boring football and still not qualify for the CL.

  60. kelsey says:

    Arsenal: Almunia, Sagna, Djourou, Gallas, Clichy, Nasri, Denilson, Song Billong, Diaby, Adebayor, Van Persie.
    Subs: Fabianski, Toure, Vela, Ramsey, Bendtner, Eboue, Gibb

    does that kolo is off to city anyone 🙂

  61. kelsey says:

    does that mean

  62. avenell says:

    I was 1 out with my guess. If I was Toure I would say there is a message there kelsey.

  63. peachesgooner says:

    I think that as gallas is fit and not going anywhere he needs to play.

    Rest Toure for saturday

  64. peachesgooner says:

    Except, Toure has been captain hmmmmnnnn?

  65. avenell says:

    So who’s captain RVP?

  66. Rasputin says:

    Hi roadsters,

    Just got in and pleased to see you have been addressing the pithy topic of ‘how do you do the little face with bulgey eyes’ 8-0

  67. Rasputin says:

    OK so that didn’t work – try this 😯

  68. Big Raddy says:

    Prob Almunia. as Capt.

    Poor Kolo. He will not be a happy bunny. But I believe this to be our best CB partnership

  69. peachesgooner says:

    Thanx Rasp xx

    Almunia I reckon will be captain

  70. peachesgooner says:

    I’ve got a problem now, cos I want to watch the stream on my lap-top and Mrs Techno here has it hooked up to her tv – do I hear gasps of amazement!!!!! See ya later xx

  71. rico01 says:

    hello 🙂

  72. rico01 says:

    or Hello 😆

  73. avenell says:

    Ricooo…. I’m a stream hunting have you got? 🙂

  74. rico01 says:

    Hey – Bothroyd has scored for Cardiff 😉

  75. Rasputin says:

    Hi rico,

    Are you watching the match or just stressing over the computer like me?

  76. rico01 says:

    No ave – i just got SS Live on to get the updates – I am watching real TV – Corry 🙂

  77. rico01 says:

    Rasp – Hi there, how are you doing – just the computer updates, I couldn’t cope with the pain 😉

  78. Rasputin says:

    I don’t even know if we’re playing well 😦

  79. avenell says:

    I only know we are the team in red and white.. 😦

  80. Rasputin says:

    What about Masterchef on at 8:30 rico? I gather you are a foodie – although not a kebab fan!

  81. rico01 says:

    we are dreadful according to Sky commentary, but then they hate us anyway 😉

    Oh yes Rasp, Masterchef very very shortly and no kebabs i hope 😉 oh, i think we have last nights to watch yet, so may have to wait 🙂

  82. rico01 says:

    Dippers are 1-0 up, bummer !!

  83. rico01 says:

    HELLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  84. avenell says:

    A rico hat trick.. lol..

    I is here rico.. and I cannot see a thing…. The prem has tightened up on the broadcasting apparently.

  85. rico01 says:

    Hey ave – do you ever check your emails or what, i sent you one 2/3 days ago and you still haven’t replied 😉

    Oh – I am just watching the text updates, nothing exciting

  86. avenell says:

    I sent you one back 2 or 3 days ago I’ll check if mine was the last one…

    Have we scored yet?

  87. rico01 says:

    HT ave – 0-0

  88. rico01 says:

    chelsea – boro – 0-0

  89. avenell says:

    I give up now i’m going to wait for the highlights.. not that there seems to be any..

    remember the days in the old skool yard.. when we could beat this mob 7-0? those were the days my.. Oh back on the mary hopkins thing again.. 🙂

  90. rico01 says:

    Blimey ave – have you checked your emails yet, you havent told me, I sould like the donkey on Shrek

    have you checked yet 😉

  91. rico01 says:

    Oh yes those were the days,,,,,,,, La la la la la la, la la la la la la…..those were the days 😆

  92. rico01 says:

    chelsea 1-0 up, come on you Gooners 🙂

  93. avenell says:

    rico that says everton 1 arsenal 0 on my stream….

  94. rico01 says:

    poop – it is now, cahill !!!! that is not good

  95. rico01 says:

    ave – got to go sadly, i go with my fingers and toes crossed, but cant see us coming back against everton
    😦

    catch up tomorrow – stay safe

  96. avenell says:

    Good nite rico.. sleep well.

  97. rico01 says:

    thanks ave – keep checking !!

    Nighty night to you too, and make sure those lids stay firmly closed and no snoring…… 😉

  98. rico01 says:

    ROOOOOOOOOOBBBBBBBBBBBBINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

  99. peachesgooner says:

    What are we going to do now?

    5 points behind Villa!!!!!

    Robins goal was fabulous but we look so disorganised up front as if we’ve never played together

  100. peachesgooner says:

    Where is everybody – making tea?

  101. avenell says:

    We are depressed peaches.. You must of left a lucky item off.. 😦

  102. peachesgooner says:

    Tried my best, more than I can say for the team.

    Apparently West Ham were awesome tnite, boy have we got problems ahead of us.

    Van Persie and Ade aren’t playing for each other, we need nasri in the middle and eduardo back as soon as possible IMO

  103. avenell says:

    My theory on it all peaches. there are not enough players who can play wengerball anymore.
    when all the outfield players can pass and move collectively we don’t need the best players.
    As we gradually take the technical players out the team and we are only left with Nasri and to a degree RVP. We end up being a long ball team like Bolton.
    No good ..

  104. peachesgooner says:

    . . . . . . . so many long balls . . . . .its so boring to watch. Ade gets his head on them but almost never directs them in any way so that we gain an advantage – sorry rasp – the guy needs to look around him and think where hes going put the header.

  105. Rasputin says:

    Thanks for the acknowledgement Peaches – we agree! It doesn’t seem fair that a player of RVP’s ability should be earning less than Ade.

  106. Rasputin says:

    I think one of the problems with the likes of Ade, Eboue and Song is that they are not intelligent footballers (I’m not calling them thick individuals perse) I don’t think DB was Einstein, but when it came to football, he had instinctive intelligence and positional awareness.

  107. avenell says:

    Rasp.. That’s another of your mate mr parry’s theory’s Rooney is like einstein at football..

  108. Rasputin says:

    I’m not a Mike Parry fan ave, most of the time he gets on my tits. Occassionally he’s amusing, but I think he plays the buffoon too much.

    Its strangely quiet on here. I had prepared myself for a disappointing result tonight so I’m just a bit numb. We’re already at the point in the season where we have to rely on others losing and I find that depressing I must say.

    Tell me ave – hand on heart – do you think the Arshavin signing will go through?

  109. avenell says:

    That was tongue in cheek mate.. 😉 about parry he get’s on everyones.
    I felt happier about arshavin a few days ago …. I’d say 60%-40% yes.

    Do you?

  110. Rasputin says:

    I now think it’s unlikely ave. I’ve stopped asking Michael P on LG what is happening with his promised three signings. I really don’t expect us to sign anyone (spuds have 3 already!), but I’d love to be wrong…..

  111. avenell says:

    My other concern is arshavin is not enough on his own.
    he has got to be a strong player to make this team look any good. he will either make the team or it will break him.

  112. Rasputin says:

    Oh well ave, tomorrow’s another day – who knows what it will bring? I’m off to me bed. Nite nite.

  113. avenell says:

    good night mate .. and thanks..

  114. avenell says:

    After the everton game mr wenger obe said

    “There is nothing new on Arshavin. I have been concentrating on the game and not taking calls, but the deal is maybe 90% completed. However, the final 10% of any deal can be the most difficult.
    “Maybe in the next two days. In this kind of job it can be difficult at this stage because people can change their minds completely.”

    fingers crossed all..

    If i get up a bit later than some Good Morning..

  115. rico01 says:

    We are 66/1 to win the EPL, how tempting is that 🙂

  116. avenell says:

    Morning rico.
    Not good when I put a score on at 20/1…. 😦

  117. rico01 says:

    morning ave – if only i had a spare 1000 pounds i could afford to lose, i would take a chance 🙂

    20/1 – not bad return if we win though 🙂

  118. avenell says:

    It shows that we are still moving in the wrong direction arsenal wise though.

  119. kelsey says:

    Morning avenell,

    just a brief visit will be back later.i noticed JJ wasn’t on last night, is he alright as i believe he had to go for some more tests.

  120. avenell says:

    kelsey hi mate.

    I don’t know where he is I was hoping he just kicked his laptop in and bought a new one and was setting it up.
    I will drop him a line soon. but there is more chance of him coming on here than reading that.
    speak soon.

  121. rico01 says:

    ave – yes we are sadly – cant remember the last time we were 66/1……….. Hey Ho, I actually think we will still nab second place, Villa 3rd and I hope Everton 4th, that would be good, eh

    I must get on with some chores now, so will be back later to annoy you all I hope – Have a good afternoon ave/kelsey

    🙂

  122. JonJon says:

    Hello everyone,

    i wasnt around yesterday as i went to the game, spent the entire afternoon wandering around liverpool trying to get a ticket, then got one at the last hr, phew.

    i’ll tell you what, thank god for RVP…..

    cahills a dynamite player, best player on the pitch by far.

    a 1-1 draw away against a team like everton is a fair result,id normally take that, but under the circumstances, we really needed to win that one, although i take comfort in the fact our next 8-9 fixtures are winnable,and we could take our unbeaten run to nearly 20 games

    one thing i noticed though, other than it being cold, is that we are an average side, we have good individuals,but we are average at best as a team.

    nobody works for each other, theres not enough link up play, no support play, diaby and song were all over the place, they were constantly out of position- theres no intelligence,

    we are still trying to play wenger ball and apart from nasri and RVP, theres nobody in that team whos technical or intelligent enough to pull it off. its fair to say the majority of our players are stupid, 😉

    why for cahills goal was clichy marking him??? cahill was their one man up front, why wasnt JD or gallas tight to him??? cahills lethal in the air and he was left to deal with by clichy, do we not watch videos in training or something????

    another thing that concerns me was wengers post match interveiw, he said rosicky, dudu, cesc and walcott were going to be like new signings…. i cant accept just that, we need these players plus about three signings also and i truly believe we arent going to sign anyone. i hope im wrong.

    anyway how are we all?? 😉

  123. avenell says:

    Hi jj I’m cool.
    Do you fancy a write up?

    I didn’t see much of it I was just half watching a stream and it was shit and we were shit.

    Then I forgot MOTD and football first. So I cannot give an opinion.

  124. JonJon says:

    you didnt miss much mate, i thought everton were the better side, they were negative in their tactics, but it almost worked, they dominated possession, had the better chances and if it wasnt for a moment of genius from RVP we’d of been deserved losers.

    il try doing a write up but im abit tired, so it might not be the best. give me a couple of hours and ill get one together.

    im happy with the result but not the performance, we were outdone, we showed alot of fight to get a draw but that wasnt an arsene wenger side out there.

  125. avenell says:

    Was you :mrgreen: last night jj haha.

  126. JonJon says:

    yes mate i was so :mrgreen: ive been in bed all day.

  127. avenell says:

    While we are doing the :mrgreen: thing. It’s tax bill time for the self employed plus they want half up front for next year.. 😦

  128. Big Raddy says:

    Tell them to F off Avenell. Thieving B’stards.

    Or you could fake your own death. Or declare yourself bankrupt and start a up agian the day after in another name. It is legal in the UK. Not anywhere else in Europe though. But, I guess you are not a Ltd Co. and are too honest !!

    Onto footie. We weren’t THAT bad last night. Apart from Ade, who was a disgrace. AW should dock his wages. Plus he should apologise to the travelling fans.

    Speaking of whom, you were fantastic last night. Did us proud.

  129. avenell says:

    Raddy I was LTD up until 2 or 3 years ago. and VAT reg, too much grief. It’s a waste of time going bankrupt if you have assets so I’ll just pay 😦
    It’s worse where you are by the sound of it though mate.

    jonjon was there, (at goodison) I was just shouting at the computer.

  130. JonJon says:

    the tax man is the biggest :mrgreen: of them all

    hi raddy,agree about ade, what a rip off thats turned out to be, eh???

  131. avenell says:

    jonjon I have sent you a em about the post. 🙂

  132. rico01 says:

    Wey hey – evening all 🙂

  133. rico01 says:

    i have em you ave about absolutely nothing 🙂

  134. avenell says:

    Hi there Lady of the ni… er early evening. I have missed you.. 😦

  135. JonJon says:

    hi rico

    did you enjoy the game yest 😉

  136. rico01 says:

    Hi Guys – I didnt see it but from what i read and hear, a point was a good result….

    For me it was very important not to lose, away at Everton, midweek and an evening ko, so not so bad ….

    How are you two doing ?

  137. avenell says:

    The arshavin thing has gone all quiet today.

    3 1/2 days to go. mmmm.

  138. rico01 says:

    ave – i have replied 😉

    and thank goodness as tommorrow he will sign and one other 😉

  139. JonJon says:

    fingers crossed guys

  140. rico01 says:

    All quiet, so I am off up the wooden stairs 😉

    Night all, stay safe 🙂

  141. avenell says:

    Whoops , just had my dinner nite rico!

  142. peachesgooner says:

    Hi roadsters

    Had a really busy day, first chance to catch up and you’re probably all a bed 😉

    Fair amount of ade bashing going on whoever you speak to – hes definitely not worth his wages, even though he scored all those goals last season I knew that a lot of them were lucky – he should have scored 50 goals for all the chances that were created for him.
    Really bad decision to pay him his wage demands in my opinion.

    Now Robin, we should move heaven and earth to keep Robin – he works really hard and scores such amazing goals. I think he is going to be a great player for us.

    There were glimpes of the team clicking last night but they are few and far between. Maybe they’re saving themselves for WHam . . . . or Cardiff. . . . . or Scummers . . .

    Eternal optimist me 🙂

  143. peachesgooner says:

    Ah, missed rico – catch up tmoro rico

  144. avenell says:

    Evening peaches, have you been doing a bit?

    We have your rain now, gardening is a no no.

  145. peachesgooner says:

    Hi ave – probably missed you too now!

    I’m off to bed, very early start tmoro, need to be a mummycab at 7 to take the boychick to the station for uni.

    Catch up tmoro – oooh we have another game to look forward to 🙂

  146. rico01 says:

    Morning All

    peaches – re Robin, you just want to make sure he stays because he has great legs, and dont deny it, you told me a while ago….. 😉

  147. avenell says:

    Morning all. a new post is on from our roving reporter mr jonjon.

Leave a Reply

